Honda skeptical of electric cars, to focus on improving fuel efficiency in internal combustion engine

Honda is skeptical of the electric car as the future of motoring. Tomohiko Kawanabe, president of Honda’s R&D unit, said that “they lack confidence” in EV tech. “It’s questionable whether consumers will accept the annoyances of limited driving range and having to spend time charging them,” he went on to say.

“We are definitely conducting research on electric cars, but I can’t say I can wholeheartedly recommend them,” said Kawanabe, who is an engine specialist. Honda will still sell electric vehicles in the US though, but only to help meet California emission rules. From model years 2012 to 2014, the largest carmakers by volume in The Golden State must sell about 60,000 plug-in hybrid vehicles and electric cars combined. Kawanabe stated that their main goal is to improve the fuel efficiency of new and upgraded models.

Honda has been researching battery powered cars since 1988 and started leasing out the EV Plus in the US and Japan before the turn of the millennium. That car used a nickel-metal hydride battery pack which ran 210 km on a single charge, very good even for today’s standards. The company then shifted to hybrids and hydrogen-powered fuel-cell vehicles; Honda believes that the latter is the ultimate zero-emission vehicle.

Honda’s stand is the opposite of what Nissan believes. The Renault-Nissan Alliance is betting big time on an electric future and will roll out 500,000 units per year across the globe from 2012, starting with the Leaf. Alliance CEO Carlos Ghosn said that EVs will make up 10% of the global car market by 2020. Who do you think is right?

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• lance on May 20, 2010 at 10:31 am

um…hard to predict….

Anyway i believe, the technology in EV will keep improving in the coming years…

So my vote still EV…

• paultan fan on May 23, 2010 at 8:48 am

Saya rasa tindakan Honda ni tak bijak sama sekali. Seolah2 cuba ambil langkah ke belakang. sedangkan semua pengeluar berlumba2 bina kenderaan mesra alam spt EV dan Hybrid juga base on solar.

Memanglah skrg demand kurang, tapi saya yakin dengan lebih 10 company dari China dah mula bina kereta EV dan Hybrid, maka tak mustahil kereta mesra alam ni akan jadi popular. Tahu2 lah saja kecekapan china dalam cut cost. Bila China cut cost, pengeluar lain pun tpaksa cut cost dan hasilnya maybe next 10 years, kita akan dibanjiri dengan kereta2 mesra alam ini baik EV, Hybrid, Full Cell EV mahupun solar car.

Imagine jika China ( di bndr2 tertentu ) dah berani guna teksi electric, bus electric, jadi mustahilkah kenderaan mesra alam ini menjadi keperluan satu hari nanti ?

HONDA. ANDA MENGAMBIL LANGKAH KE BELAKANG

• lchan on May 20, 2010 at 10:35 am

I have always thought electric cars are rubbish. It does not solve our current hunger for energy. While it reduces pollution, it just increases electricity power consumption to charge your cars. The carbon footprint is no different. Its tranfering the problem from one source to another. While we have clean energy like nuclear, but over 95% of power plants are either coal or natural gas.

We also to settle with disposing of batteries. Its toxic and expensive. It is a short term view in my opinion because they are betting on the progress of technology over the next decade to solve todays short comings. Its basically the same case as the catalytic convertor. Short term fix.

• Motorist on May 20, 2010 at 12:27 pm

The problem is that consumers buy the marketing speak of the corporations. The actually believe that with EV they will safe the environment by using less fossil fuel.

They fail to comprehend that taken as a whole sum (mining, shipping, manufacturing & disposal), batteries are more toxic than a standard petrol engine. They only see thier part of the equation, that is, the daily usage.

For that, I salute the marketing & advertising guys for a job well done.

Many consumers have good intentions, it’s just that they do not bother to do in-depth research/study, choosing the easier path of reading the brochure (which has gone through the marketing & advertising spin).

• Plus imagine if the battery inside the car explode! We have laptop and cellphone battery exploding, what makes you think that battery powered car wont explode?

• nighttrain on May 20, 2010 at 10:35 am

It’s the issue of the depletion of our natural resources. Once fossil fuel is exhausted, we’ll all rely on nuclear generated electricity, well, in about 100 years, but it’s never too early to start.

• hybrid is definitely a waste of money and time. ultimately hydrogen is the key to the future. not only clean energy, it can be used on a mass scale such as powering energy for cities as well. no doubt hydrogen is the way.

• just me on May 20, 2010 at 11:41 am

im with u, hydrogen is the future!

• paultan fan on May 23, 2010 at 8:59 am

kereta dari China pun dah guna hydrogen

” Fuel cell vehicles (FCV) use fuel cells to produce on-board motive power. This FCV model of Chery is based on the platform of Eastar, and its power system uses hydrogen fuel cell power systems and large capacity batteries, which can not only drive in the electric mode of pure fuel cells, but can also drive in the mixed mode of fuel cells and lithium batteries. This is a very mature and advanced technology solution of fuel cell vehicles in China ”

ini link nya http://cheryinternational.com/en/node/862

• kancilrider on May 20, 2010 at 10:43 am

Let do some Math.. An EV starting price say RM80k. National make petrol car is around RM50k, so that RM30k margin can be used 4 fuel. How long RM30k can be used 4 fuel.. 3/5 years?
    Btw hybrid is the best way to go to the future!

• paultan fan on May 23, 2010 at 9:01 am

skrg ni memang tak praktikal.

Tapi imagine once dah ramai guna EV ( plus byk company berlumba2 buat EV car, hybrid car tmsk China ), so sure2 harga bukan lagi RM 80 k. dan maybe price pun dah sama ngan petrol car

• p4k4bu on May 20, 2010 at 10:45 am

I think, at the moment, full EV is not practical yet. Hybrid is the way to go …. maybe at least for another decade. But it all depends. Probably some governments may want to push for EV, and they provide charging stations (park and charge) or reduces taxes or even subsidize EV cars, or companies like Nissan provide battery changing stations just like fuel stations.

But as it is, hybrid at the moment….. EV in near future — with improvement in battery technology and improve infrastucture ……. and ……hydrogen fuel cell the ultimate dream. But who knows, tomorrow there’s a great breakthrough in hydrogen fuel cell.

That’s what I think ….. but “only fools predict the future.” Smart people get the most out of what they have today and prepare for any possibility.

;-)

• Shaycoat on May 20, 2010 at 12:33 pm

Why not considering Turbo charged…most modern cars such as VW have turbo charged with high horse power even though the engine is 1.3cc

• paultan fan on May 23, 2010 at 9:03 am

kereta dari China pun dah mula teroka hydrogen fuel cell. so I rasa impian ni bukan mustahil jika negara spt China pun dah berjaya hasil kereta cam gini.

” Fuel cell vehicles (FCV) use fuel cells to produce on-board motive power. This FCV model of Chery is based on the platform of Eastar, and its power system uses hydrogen fuel cell power systems and large capacity batteries, which can not only drive in the electric mode of pure fuel cells, but can also drive in the mixed mode of fuel cells and lithium batteries. This is a very mature and advanced technology solution of fuel cell vehicles in China ”

• Techtitan on May 20, 2010 at 10:47 am

Unless the infrastructures to support EV and/or Hydrogen fuel cell are available in Malaysia, it would be hard to judge which will be the right move…
    But so far I think we Malaysian will be more please to have a high fuel efficient engines in Proton cars…

• Shaycoat on May 20, 2010 at 12:31 pm

Agreed! the facilities in Malaysia, such as charging stations need to be done first..Hmm..actually we are on it..

• Squawk on May 20, 2010 at 10:53 am

Honda should keep doing R&D on fuel cells. Let Renault-Nissan improve on the EV tech.

• Michael Ammot on May 20, 2010 at 10:57 am

….Jeremy Clarkson once said that the future of vehicle is the FuelCell..Hybrid or anything electric supproting source is rubish.. . and Honda is the only car manufacturer that already produce the production FuelCell car…Kawanabe also insist that the FuelCell is the ultimate ultimate zero-emission vehicle… the source is hydrogen..where i think it is almost impossible to depleted because we can get the Hydrogen from the water and most organic compounds..way to go Honda!!

• Shaycoat on May 20, 2010 at 12:24 pm

However, it should be mentioned, that Hydrogen needs extra precaution steps since it can be easily exploded compared to other sources

• Cynical on May 20, 2010 at 11:14 am

It’s interesting that bio-diesel isn’t mentioned anywhere in the article. Shows how stupid it is to turn food into gasoline.

• Squawk on May 20, 2010 at 1:22 pm

That’s why the Koreans and Japanese are using non-food vegetation for biodiesel. They plan mass commercial use by 2020.

• altimate on May 20, 2010 at 11:27 am

I think Nissan is on the right track BUT the current solution towards zero emission technology wise has many drawbacks. This needs to be addressed.

Honda’s strategy will be well accepted but not for long especially when the fuel prices sky-rocket in not so distant future.

• mig29ria on May 20, 2010 at 11:30 am

Who do you think is right?

Customer is always right. Anything the product that provide the efficiency and cheaper than current technology will win the battle.

• just me on May 20, 2010 at 12:50 pm

any new technology will become cheaper and affordable, if they mass produce it.
      simple “economics of scale” and “product life cyle” theory.
      but most company want to reap profit the most that they can, so nothing will be cheap.
      the question is who is brave enough to invest in first (hydrogen feul for example)
      and become the market leader in the segment…

i think the technology exist already, but the oil & gas company dont want to commercialize it yet… surely they don’t want their main business (petrol & diesel) to be canibalize by their own other products (EV, hydrogen fuel). this will make the petrol price go down because of competition with EV & hydrogen feul.
      my bet is that oil & gas company will continue to sell petrol & diesel only (with EV, hydrogen-little penetration into the market). then, after the world’s oil reserve is depleted/finish, the will promote & sell EV/hydrogen stuff exorbitantly…
      just my oppinion.

• paultan fan on May 23, 2010 at 9:09 am

I agree with u that PRICE for the new technology ( EV, Hybrid, Full Cell Hydrogen ) WILL BE MUCH CHEAPER FOR THE FUTURE .

China had started exploring Full Cell Hydrogen Electric Vehicle. I thk in the future we can buy this technology at reasonable and affordable price

• bobby on May 20, 2010 at 11:38 am

As an mechanical engineer, i can certainly say that the best ICE can go is no more than 55% efficiency while the best in the market could be 45-50%.

Decades back than, because of engine knocking problem, material scientist introduces lead petrol that could solve the problem. And then, they begin to realize that lead (plumbum) , one kind of lethal heavy metal is extremely toxic to human health and environment. They began to abolish lead petrol.

And then, environmentalist said that even without lead, gasoline will still pose grave environmental problem which is worth concerning. Thats when catalysts converter invented and said to be solve the problem. Catalysts converter is said that can remove most of the residual, particulate matter and harmful gas emission from the incomplete combustion in the ICE.

Decades after, pollution is still the problems even then catalysts converter had been made standard for every running car outside on the road. Where can this lead to ?
    The same pattern occur few back years, hybrid car is the solution. But how far can hybrid car goes because it is still using ICE as primary energy sources.

EV car had limited range,limited battery capacity because world research center had not been able to create a new material that is magnetic enough. That would be the key of battery abilities. Until scientist can develop a new method to come out with better magnetic material and make it economical viable, EV’s future can’t be too far away.

Conclusively, I agreed that Hydrogen fuel cell car is the most prominent future that we can go to. Hydrogen is one of the most abundant element in the UNIVERSE, why not take advantage to that fact. More RND to develop better hydrogen synthesis and more economical viable, we will heading to real green environment in no time.

• Hi Mr Engineer, what is ICE? We are not as smart as you. I think its petrol you meant to say, not ICE (the one that u used often to get high).

• barry on May 20, 2010 at 12:10 pm

This (internal combustion) engine specialist is talking through his anus-hole. His assumption is that there will be no improvements to the current battery and eletric motor/transmission technology; not forgetting renewable energy production capabilities be it solar, wind or others. Another aspect is the electric vehicles with range extenders which can come in the form of a small diesel/petrol engine. EVs have a huge advantage over traditional vehicles in that the electric motor is almost ‘perfect’ ie almost achieving 100% efficiency, plus that they don’t very heavy and inefficient mechanical transmission systems.

• Wan Muz on May 21, 2010 at 11:59 pm

i think you are the who’s talking through your anus hole. hidrogen fuel cell is not ICE technology. it used hydrogen to produced electricity from a fuel cell. so EV electric motor is use for hydrogen powered vehicles also. the problem with hydrogen fuel is how to stored it since it is the smallest molecules ever known. it can leak through any container.

• paultan fan on May 23, 2010 at 9:13 am

China pun dah mulakan teknologi ni.

try baca di bawah ni saya paste

jadi saya rasa kalau China dah ada teknologi ni, so sudah tentu company2 besar lain pun dah serius bangunkan teknologi ni

• hinkaboutit on May 20, 2010 at 12:14 pm

Do u feel annoying when took 2-6 hours recharging the battery? I believe YESSS….

• Shaekey on May 20, 2010 at 3:24 pm

Yes… if you’re sitting in front of the car waiting for it to finish recharge… but then again only mentally challenged person would probably do that :P

• Motorist on May 20, 2010 at 12:19 pm

Honda has seen the light !!! Hybrid / EV is purely an American / Californian thing.

Hydrogen is the way to go for zero emission. BMW successfully ran a hydrogen fleet but somehow abandon it. Cant remember the exact reasons but they showed the concept worked & it not only was environmentally friendly but delivered the power & range as you would expect from a ‘normal’ car.

Americans are too comfortable with cheap gas/petrol. They are not willing to even embrace turbo diesel as an alternative. They barely accept hybrid. There is no way they will embrace hydrogen, unless the US Gov bites the bullet & comes out with legislation. That, in essence, is suicide as the major petroleum corporations are mainly Americans & they will lobby like mad for that not to happen. Thus, the Yanks will forever be controlled by the petroleum corporations.

Sadly, if BMW cant get the German/European Gov to be interested in hydrogen, then it’ll be hard for Honda to do the same with the Japanese Gov.

In order for hydrogen to be a success, the whole world needs to adopt it & for that to happen, will take a miracle of gigantic proportion.

Sad but true.

• just me on May 20, 2010 at 9:45 pm

I have the same idea with you, but you put it in words better than me.
      petroleum corporations can survive if they can produce the hydrogen..

• paultan fan on May 23, 2010 at 9:15 am

even China now expore this full cell hydrogen technology. I thk for the future it will be popular

• Shaycoat on May 20, 2010 at 12:30 pm

In the aspect of engineering, the technology is matured enough. Controlling the motors in efficient way is not a problem anymore. Moreover, power converters and ac motor size have been drastically shrink. This help pull out the weight of the car. The only problem that still arise in EV technology is the battery packaging!.
    We have actually experienced the same problem when the mobile phone technology is emerging. The bulky phone is due to its battery, but now..as we can see, through effort, the battery size has been reduced thus lighter mobile phones
    Think positive Honda…..you may be in the wrong route….

• Skywalker on May 20, 2010 at 1:20 pm

Honda is definitely right but the reason not to go with electric vehicle (EV) is not because consumers will be bothered by limited range and having to charge their cars.

actually, EV does not save mother earth from green house gas. when you charge your EV, where do you think the electricity come from? the electricity comes from power plants which majority of them are still burning fossil fuel.

therefore, the more EV we use, the more electricity we consume, the more those power plants will burn fossil fuel and the more green house gas emission into the air.

clean energy sources like solar, wind, or hydro will take many trillion more years before they can replace fossil energy 100%.

therefore, our future is best rest upon very-high-efficiency fuel burning engine. in other words, the Hybrid engine, who is the real deal. not electric motor.

• Bkt Jambul Joe on May 20, 2010 at 1:34 pm

Trust the Nips to figure out enviromentally friendly cars? When you don’t have the technical advantage, blame it on the effort. When you haven’t made much progress on EV etc, you say there’s no future.

Few days back, Toyota bails out of F1 because it’s seen as elitist. Today Honday bails out of EV, going back to fuel-efficiency.

Bagero Nips…!
    Japs led the auto industry back in the 80’s and 90’s, when the playing field swicthes to enviromentally friendly vehicle, these Nips gets shaky, and when they can’t have control over the industry, they try to make excuses. Bagero.

• Hondas on May 20, 2010 at 5:08 pm

I think EV & hydrogen both have their role in future cars. EV will fast become common and affordable, once the battery become smaller & the charging time shorter. As for hydrogen, it’s still impractical for car owner, coz we still hv to pay for high price for hydrogen if it available in all the patrol station, it’s better we just continue using the patrol why waste $ on hydrogen car . EV is definite will come first. Of course honda is skeptical, he already spend lot of R&D $ for fuel cell hydrogen car, sure he doesn’t want EV to be success.

• Richard on May 20, 2010 at 6:47 pm

A couple hours to recharge a car annoying?! WHAT? $4-$5 a gallon for gas! The
    giving our money at the rate of half a trillion dollars a year to people who hate our guts.
    The giant oil slick in the gulf. I find these things annoying. Wake up people.
    Yes, power plants that burn coal our not by any means clean however, they are at
    least twice as clean as 244,000,000 individual autos. Power derived from nuclear,hydroelectric , wind and solar is clean. A couple of hours to recharge your car
    ANNOYING? WTF! You selfish PIG!

• Squawk on May 20, 2010 at 9:18 pm

Would you guys prefer to drive your EV to a station which takes out your drained battery and replace it with a fully charged one, which you pay a nominal sum for? Better Place is working on that concept of battery swapping instead of having you sit in front of your car a couple of hours and watch it recharge. :-)

I think it’s a workable concept if all the EV makers collaborate to come out with a common battery size and output. An R&D & manufacturing pool is more cost efficient than each company trying to do their own.

• think on May 20, 2010 at 10:09 pm

i agree with honda which knows the future well..unlike other makers who confidentally telling that ev’s are the future, is actually a faulty situation..for around at least 30 years more hybrids are the best for motoring..people are saying that crude oil are diminishing..if everybody starts using ev’s , than who will buy the petrols and diesels..this will cause a hike in electricity bills and very low price for petrol and diesel..this situation will create the difference as such of price of cng and petrol diesel..people will turn back using petrol and diesel engines..eventhough,ev’s are emission free can any one be sure about the price for electricity usage and how many consumers in coming years..in future cars like proton emas.prius and civic hybrid will sell in good numbers and ev’s will be just for technological innovation…my only concern is that,,,a good motoring will only be achived when we start to use multiple of fuels…a petrol station may sell petrol,diesel,hydrogen,methanol and electic charging in future..this is the balanced situation…

• minnow on May 21, 2010 at 2:18 pm

hahaha..wat a joke…just bcauz their EV technology couldnt compete with the others…they come out with such a lame excuse…pathetic…

• ON-OFF BUTTON on May 22, 2010 at 12:01 am

Did HONDA said that “they lack confidence” in EV tech.. OMG.. where is their Japanese hard working culture.. is it gone??

Anyway, Honda is still my no. 1 choice, although the Korean (especially Hyundai n KIA) nowadays looks more attractive, but still, in my opinion, they can’t beat Honda..
    yeahh..
    GO HONDA..!! :-)