Hyundai i10 now comes with 1.25L Kappa engine!

The Hyundai i10 now has an additional variant in Malaysia equipped with the more modern and powerful twin cam 1.25 litre Kappa family engine, which supplements the 1.1 litre SOHC and does not replace it in the Malaysian line-up.

This engine complies with Euro 4 emissions regulations and produces 80 PS and 112Nm of torque compared to the 1.1 litre Epsilon single cam engine’s 66 PS.

There are actually two versions of the new aluminum alloy Kappa engine. One is a lower powered 1,197cc with a shorter stroke, but we are getting the European spec 1,248cc version, hence the 1.25 litre displacement instead of just 1.2 litre.

All Kappa engines are twin cam, 16 valve, use distributorless ignition, lightweight ECOFORM pistons, and feature an EPS power steering system. The engine is mated to a 4-speed automatic transmission.

Hyundai i10 now comes with 1.25L Kappa engine!

The i10 (1.25l Kappa) is CKD assembled and is priced at RM49,688 (OTR) for the standard spec and RM52,688 (OTR) for the high spec (adds 2 airbags and ABS brakes) in West Malaysia and comes with a 5 years warranty or 300,000km extended warranty.

The Kappa model also has two exclusive colours not available on the 1.1 litre – Oyster Grey and Deepsea Blue.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• delio on May 24, 2010 at 12:25 pm

wow . a new engine. but the price is also drops…

• Daniel on May 24, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Mr. Paul,

Old 1.1L Epsilon produces 69PS and not 49PS as reported. Thus you gain only about 10PS. As usual we are real slow in getting the Kappa. Don’t we have any anti-trust laws in BOLEHLAND?? Over to you THE Malaysian BAR. Rgds.

• Paul Tan on May 24, 2010 at 4:49 pm

sorry, i must have mixed up kW and PS or something like that. updated.

• Squawk on May 24, 2010 at 1:02 pm

That’s a big power difference but seems overpriced.

• 4G63tDSM on May 24, 2010 at 1:05 pm

Certainly interesting. Sure puts it on the same price/power as the Myvi 1.3 EZi auto.

Interesting how did they manage the price?

I’ve been seeing a number of the i10 on the road so someone is buying them, no doubt it would be more popular with the newer, more powerful engine…

Probably more fuel efficient to boot as well.

• they will take it back during services and spare parts replacement. you cannot do your service outside as it will void the warranties. that;s how koreans get their money back. But a good thing is, their quality are now good compare too Japanese.

• MatrixLYN on Jun 15, 2011 at 10:54 am

Tell me which car manufacturer allows you to go service outside AND claims warranty if anything happens??? Tell me one. I ‘ll buy that car from that manufacturer who is so kind hearted.

• lemme guess… some of you are gonna ask… “why no DSG?” or “4 speed only ah?”

• pororo on May 24, 2010 at 2:34 pm

nope…. no one asked that……

i10 is a basic car for god sake…..

• thank goodness!!

• Stephen Ong on Sep 15, 2010 at 12:07 am

i-10 indeed is an entry level car. Compare to car in it’s class there’s a huge driving pleasure. My family has a Myvi 1.3 and a Hyundai i10 for my siblings. If you do not mind resell value and pay a little more for maintenance, i10 gives a superb driving experience in terms of quietness and the car undercarriage. (most obvious diff)

• scanzew on May 24, 2010 at 1:20 pm

1.25L is very rare engine capacity

• Nice car compare with tin kosong myvi and viva.
    Raindrop also make the roof very noisy.

• myvec on May 24, 2010 at 6:46 pm

Why all perodua cars like that.. Even Alza seems use atap zink. Compare 2 proton cars not so bising when rain. i’d compare the myvi and saga blm. Myvi more noisy than saga when raining. Why like that haa…?

• acerman on May 25, 2010 at 10:12 am

Don’t forget expensive too for an Alza advanced version almost 70k!

• roof insulation very bad. maybe they use light material like zinc roof.

• The Myvi can be considered quite a big car for its class, yet only weighs between 940-955kg, depending on specs. The weight reduction must have come from lighter materials used for its panels etc. I’m surprised no one ever complained about the Myvi being a Milo tin, probably because it’s supposed to be a Toyota in disguise lol.

• queen on May 24, 2010 at 1:39 pm

CBU or CKD ?

• P4k4bu on May 24, 2010 at 1:45 pm

50k++ with 5 year warranty, not bad. But if lots of goodies thrown in — like 6 airbags, free labour… — even beter.
    ;-)

• theanswer on May 24, 2010 at 3:51 pm

should be enough. if given 6 airbag..then u’ll ask for traction control..8 airbag.. be grateful.

• p4k4bu on May 24, 2010 at 4:43 pm

Be grateful to a car company? It’s not something God gives. It’s made by humans that wants to sell it to you and me in exchange for our ringgit and sens. That’s offer and demand.
        Sheesh…

• well, it is a free country, just reject the offerlah if it is not suitable for you.

• P4k4bu on May 24, 2010 at 10:29 pm

Thank you for stating out the obvious.
            Cheers…

• odi862 on May 25, 2010 at 8:20 am

If come with 5 years free services and parts it will be better…..ha ha ha…..maybe asking for too much.

• sAM b on Jun 29, 2011 at 12:59 pm

no, we have a right for the price we pay. should be at least free labour la. free parts in our dreams maybe.

• vertigo on May 24, 2010 at 1:47 pm

still, a good car to buy if only you intend to keep it. (resale value will burn hole in your pocket)

• pororo on May 24, 2010 at 2:32 pm

yeah….. at one time before you finish the loan the car’s market price will be less than the outstanding loan amount…..

• Rhys Millen on May 24, 2010 at 10:48 pm

With 5 years 300,000 km warranty the car will definately hold its value when P1 or P2 or even the H Freed finishes it warranty at 3 years ..

• acerman on May 25, 2010 at 10:14 am

Really don’t like the front-end. Seems something is missing from the design. Hmmm…

• bobcat on May 24, 2010 at 2:06 pm

hmmm..xpensive

• Vanilla Vixen on May 24, 2010 at 2:16 pm

haha Kappa engine now that’s a good one

• Vincent on May 24, 2010 at 2:19 pm

Good car for your maid and children to drive to market or school…

Dream lar, this is boleh land…car will never be cheap or affortable…

heheheh

• P4k4bu on May 24, 2010 at 3:42 pm

If I have a maid, I won’t even let her drive my 12 year Kancil.

Someone who let his maid drive a 50k car, sure sudah kena her black magic potion….. ;-)

• Prismo on May 24, 2010 at 9:29 pm

not about boleh land.. the car’s itself was expensive….

• clone on May 24, 2010 at 2:33 pm

sorry off topic, please go to this link, it quite shocking….

http://news.malaysia.msn.com/regional/article.aspx?cp-documentid=4106902

• P4k4bu on May 24, 2010 at 3:43 pm

This one deserve a topic of its own.

• theanswer on May 24, 2010 at 3:58 pm

not surprising. the reason is our public transport is so bad. ive been to aus couple of times(holiday)..tho the car there kinda cheap..but the road at the city centre (melbourne,brisbane,sydney) u can hardly see any jammed like in malaysia. most of them use bus and tram..even buses got their own pamphlet with schedule (the time can be trusted too!).

• daiso44 on Apr 09, 2011 at 10:01 am

no need to go aus lah, just go indonesia or vietnam, sure u be GRATEFUL living in malaysia.

• odi862 on May 24, 2010 at 4:16 pm

IMO, the Singaporeans are more fuel guzzler than Malaysians. How come a people from a small country with a godd public transportation consumed 250 liters per capita? Malaysia is hundreds time bigger than Singapore therefore 400 liters per capita yearly with our lousy public transportation is quite fair. Just do the math for our fuel consumption monthly and you’ll see.

• 4G63tDSM on May 24, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Why is this a surprise?

Saddled with bad infrastructure (unplanned roads that causes jams) and the complete failure of its NATIONWIDE public transportation system and clogged with underpowered and ineficient cars… i’m surprised its ONLY 400L/per capita annually.

Technically it should even be more than that, since as this is percapita, its diluted by the fact most people in the rural areas don’t have cars or use kapchais…

If the public can buy cars/bikes/switch to public transportaion which are modern and more efficient – say 10% (not unrelistic) you’d save 40L per capita/year. That is equivalent to some 128,000,000L of fuel saved per year.

Thats some number for you.

• per capita, worst, singaporeans have less in a family, here, average is 4 person,
          meaning per household

singapore household might use 750L
          malaysia household might use up to 2500L

• dream on May 24, 2010 at 2:35 pm

…somebody called me aah?
    …anyway good 2nd car, or 1st car, depending on where u r in life…

• expensive , nope. this is a very good buy car.!

• If compare with Atos Prima 1.1 and Hyundai i10
      which it is better for fuel consumption, handling, performance, spare part, and also for long term use? Please advice…

–YuS

• mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on May 25, 2010 at 12:49 pm

if comparing the one currently have on sale, I doubt i10 FC better that Atos..its heavy in design loaded with all those ABS EBD and Airbag stuff Atos doesn’t have..either more or on par and I saw my cousin i10 and her car use the same G4HG Epsilon engine as atos prima

• theanswer on May 24, 2010 at 3:52 pm

looks nice. my mom n sis love this car..but the problem is not many sc around kajang or bangi. currently mom still using myvi..easier bacause lots of p2 sc nearby.

• DenFire on May 24, 2010 at 4:07 pm

consider this is one of the brand and with our tax structure. It actually is a good deal, and with 5 years warranty, it is just totally worries free. i10 is a nice car but too bad last time they still using the old engine but now with the kappa engine, surely I want 1 for my wife’s daily use. After all how much depreciation it will be since the car is just about 50k.

• Agreed….5 years/300,000km worry free. Anyway, the i10 got a good review in UK as a city car wt good NVH & FC

• 50K + interest after 10 years might worth RM10K for the car.
      1 year rugi 5K average..
      ok wat

• odi862 on May 24, 2010 at 4:09 pm

Impressive power coming from a 1.25l engine but with the car only about the size of Viva and the price of MyVI, only people that are “tired of local made cars'” will buy it. For practical and price conscious buyers, the “beheaded tiger” brand will be the obvious choice. BTW, since this is a compact car geared towards economical use, what is the FC figure?

• for more info :

http://worldwide.hyundai.com/showroom/passenger-cars/i10-focus.html

• the reader on May 24, 2010 at 4:55 pm

this 1 should be faster than myvi….smaller body

• It’s hard to say, cos the i10 is heavier than the Myvi, and the Myvi has the (on paper) more powerful engine (1.3).

• no offense bro, paper works sometimes is just fiction.. In reality.. you’ll figure out when you’re using it.. you got to experience it… plus the myvi bhp’s just slightly more than i10.. anyway gotta try out soon.. gonna buy both of this car.. :)

• Should I buy one?
    Absolutely. If you’re in the market for a cheap, efficient and comfortable city car any i10 is a great choice. And as the cheapest 1.2 model costs just £200 more than the equivalent 1.1, it’s a no-brainer.

“More importantly, the increase in engine size has had no effect on CO2 emissions or economy, which remain the same as the 1.1-litre at 119g/km and 56.5mpg.”

..from UK review

• 4G63tDSM on May 24, 2010 at 5:29 pm

Don’t know this 56.5mpg is highway or city or combined. Bloody impressive.

• yeap, impressive….56.5mpg is combine..

• furthermore…pls refer

www.autocar.co.uk/CarReviews/FirstDrives/Hyundai-i10-1.2-Style/235452/

for full review

• kerelbort on May 24, 2010 at 5:14 pm

really? u need to mention that 0.05? r u that needy to mention that?

anyway, good small car. practical for city driving. not suitable for Malaysian, coz they will buzz this small thang down the road like a sport car because they felt the have move up the ladder by buying non-malaysia car

• staff on May 24, 2010 at 6:01 pm

KAPPA?

the mystic creature from Japan ka?

• Supertram on May 24, 2010 at 9:28 pm

Yup. super weird creature that usually live in a water. Ironic enough this kappa engine doesn’t guzzle fuel like water tho lol

i wonder is the high spec comes with more other then 2 airbags and ABS brakes, coz i swear i ternampak really sporty looking i10 while passing by hyundai showroom.

• mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on May 25, 2010 at 6:53 am

I saw in the NCAP test of i10 in youtube, during frontal crash it seem there actually a side airbag deployed…but I doubt Malaysia will get that..

• Rhys Miller on May 24, 2010 at 10:18 pm

I suspect it derived from the KapChai engine….. hmm!

• think on May 24, 2010 at 9:54 pm

this car is the best car in the myvi and saga range of prices..this car can be perfect to use if hyundai fix it with the latest 6 speed they have…

• acerman on May 25, 2010 at 10:18 am

Can’t compare with Saga. This car doesn’t have a bonnet.

• mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on May 25, 2010 at 12:41 pm

just add in 5AT, enough to beat any competitor in its class

• techart touch on May 24, 2010 at 10:46 pm

its good for long term use but if u plan to switch to another car and trade in the i10…u probably to add ur cash money…because second hand value for korean cars in boleh land drop rapidly…this was happened to my father who brought the CBU matrix was priced 84 k but after 4 years only manage value to 33 k….my father had to add his own money to settle the balance at the bank…but instead of that the performance 1.6 l engine and the mcpherson suspension was really good…the problem to korean cars was second hand value…..so sad….

• mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on May 25, 2010 at 12:43 pm

If everybody is with your kind of thinking..I doubt that problem you mentioned will gone

• Squawk on May 25, 2010 at 1:44 pm

If 2nd hand car dealers see used Korean cars selling like hot cakes, would there be a problem with resale value?

• odi862 on May 25, 2010 at 8:25 am

Maybe the Korean should adopt Volvo tag line…….”Korean Brand for life”. But it and use it for 10 years or more. Then you don’t have to worry about resale value.

• Mr. Roosevelt on May 25, 2010 at 12:40 pm

I just bought the 1.1 ver. FC has been fair, 12-13km / l, after covering close to 3K km. 1st service came to RM 156, which is fair.

NVH is very good, compared to my previous satria. The suspension is simply fantastic. Loved the fact that the steering gets heavier the faster the speed. Impressed with the 4 speakers and built-in stereo, with features like RDS that was not advertised. Just wished that it was offered with ESP/VSC, head lights leveling and extra side airbags just like in UK. :-(

Very spacious interior. Fit me just nicely with my 6.5 ft frame. Very good pickup and somewhat responsive engine. Sometimes it doesn’t accelerate as quickly as I thought it would. Maybe it’s because I didn’t depress the pedal all the way down hard enough.

Experiencing minor rattling noise on the driver’s side window. Have heard rattling noise from passenger but unable to determine the source.

Aside from that, am a satisfied customer. Not too bother about the resale value. Kept my satria, which was a 2nd hand itself, for 10 years before trading in for RM 5K.

Next car, 2011 avante or it’s successor !. :-)

• hehehehe….most hyundai owner won’t mind buying another hyundai and satisfied wt the brand.

Those whom make noise actually have no ownership experience and base on here say only.

• HKS_Kansai on May 25, 2010 at 7:00 pm

I just booked the 1.2l Kappa model. Will arrive early next week and will report back with my first drive thoughts…heh…

• supz10 on May 25, 2010 at 7:38 pm

wow u just booked ?! ya man ! by the way what colour and how much it costs u ?

• Daniel on May 26, 2010 at 9:18 am

HKS_Kansai ,
      Who is the dealer? I did booked one last Sunday. Limited to only 3 colours choice. Needed 1 month plus for delivery of std. specs and months for high specs. Told that have not started assembly of high specs. Got a discount of about RM3800 plus RM500 service vouchers. SA pulled back free tinting because I am not taking loan. Hope that you succeed in getting your ride next week.

• Barrie on May 26, 2010 at 11:45 am

good decision.. power is good, much more better than the epsillon engine. cos i have try the car..

• Alitstar on Jul 26, 2010 at 9:34 pm

OK lah…boleh tahan lah…for a 1.25. Better than the MyVi. The exhaust sounds ‘mature’ as if there is a 1.4 high bhp engine under the hood.

Gearbox is good, very nice with engine braking. Makes KL driving fun. I tested it also up to 140kph and I think it can do 150kph. Got a very nice vibration from the cheap GoodYear tyres, dont know my car was stuck how long in the sun – may be flat spot. Also can pass as a fun drifting car, wont roll over so easy.

But after I came back and took my Camry out….damn, its a Limousine!

• Hi Daniel, which branch u got the big discount?

• HKS_Kansai on May 28, 2010 at 7:41 am

wow Daniel, you got a good deal!! I only had a rm2000 discount plus free tinting and rear sensor. Must be because I am japanese so I got expat pricing. :((
    I muz go back and ask for service vouchers. heh heh. Strange that you have to wait a month…the SE told me got ready stock in warehouse. In fact my white i10 is sitting in the showroom now just waiting for registration and tinting on monday and I should be happily in my car on tues! High spec was told only need 1 month wait….

supz10 bro…I bought from the dealership in PJ new town…its the official Hyundai dealership.

• Daniel on May 31, 2010 at 9:02 am

Kansai Sans,

U have a good deal too. As for me the huge discount given was because of the SA going for his target, therefore he is foregoing all incentives. But wify preferred European made as she was driving the A-Class. We are negotiating for the Citreon C3.
      Booking for i10 is refundable. Do you have a HKS drop-in filter for the C3 or Mercs. W202?

lez,

sorry I cannot reveal the SA as he told me this is against company rules.

BRGds.

• supz10 on Jun 01, 2010 at 7:58 pm

kansai san,do u mind to share the contact number or exact location of the dealer? cause i’m really into this car and i’m looking for the best offer i can get. thanks!

• von RICHTHOFEN on Jun 06, 2010 at 10:46 am

this newly i10 with Kappa engine, does it come with manual transmission?
    I only used car in the weekend, so manual transmission suites me better :)

• I tested, indeed responsive and good pickup than old variant. But drive by wire make it slower response than old fashion throttle cable, you can feel it, about 1s or 500ms. Fuel consumption reported was good but i think manual can achieve this only. Best rate for auto may only got 12 ~ 13km / l. Don’t hope it can give you 18km/l.

Well power reasonable good, cruising 110km/h, rpm show only 3k rpm like 1.5cc car. Considered better than myvi 1.3 cause it was more than 3k rpm when 110km/h.

NVH superb, better than viva or myvi.

Overall was good, don expect it can beat viva in term of fuel, might be same or less…

• Daniel on Jun 08, 2010 at 8:55 am

Eric,
    The i10 you tested must be a special order one as I physically saw the throttle cable on the i10 I test drove. I questioned SA why not drive by wire like the A-Class? Cheap Indian Product for the hungry masses as the price in India is amazing enough to send PERODUA packing if it is the same here.

• steve on Jun 14, 2010 at 9:50 am

Have any i10 kappa car owner here? can share the car performance?

• Alitstar on Jul 26, 2010 at 8:01 pm

I took delivery of one last week and just completed 400km. As for the size, its almost the same with MyVI may be a little taller and shorter.

On first impression I love the electric steering, gearbox and smooth acceleration. A very fun car to trash around the city but lack the robust.

I cant address the fuel consumption yet as it has yet to complete a good running-in. But first impression says, Altis 1.6 has better consumption record (in my book).

For a city car below 50k, very good.

• Alitstar on Jul 26, 2010 at 9:22 pm

Another thing, I dont know who was the joker who slapped a roof spoiler on this i10, the design and purpose is out.

1. First, the car is hardly stable at 140kph with or without it.
    2. Who in the right mind would consider this car as a ‘sports’ I do no…and
    3. It scoops up enough rain water and dust on the rear windscreen. Good thing they installed a wiper there, you need to use it more often then the front. Get a spare rubber in the trunk – you will need it.

• Daniel on Jul 27, 2010 at 9:52 am

Let me give some updates on my booking of the Kappa i10. I finally got my refund about 2 months after requesting for it. A quote to the branch manager to reflect the quality of customer service.
    QUOTE:
    Firstly you sent your e-mail address to the wrong mobile no. When I SMS you to resend, you send me an incomplete address. Now can you have the courtesy to reply that the refund process is in order? UNQUOTE.

Bought a used Italian OMP tuned Fait Punto Nuova Speedgear for less than RM20K. Wify was delighted with it, afterall it is Italian Intel designed. I told her it is like a genuine Italian hand bag compared with a Korean fake. No pun intended. But the fuel consumption is the one that delight me. I read that PROTON is coming out with a CVT gearbox like the SPEEDGEAR for its replacement supermini. PROTON should go for the twin-clutch to be in times.

Also save me RM30k too!! No issue with it after over one month usage.