Gascoyne: Montreal is a possible place to pick up points

Formula 1 is back in Canada after a one-year hiatus, and this weekend’s Canadian GP in Montreal will be the first time rookie teams visit Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, one of the most unique circuits on the F1 calendar. A mixture of long straights, low-speed chicanes and concrete walls, Montreal is demanding on the brakes and rewards confident drivers.

It’s summed up nicely by Renault’s Robert Kubica. “The walls are very close on the exit of the chicanes, especially Turn Four. If you can scrape it by millimetres you will be two tenths quicker than if you miss it by two feet.”

“Canada’s a race we all look forward to. It’s a temporary circuit where you often see quite a few people hit the wall, bringing out the safety car more than it’s usually seen. It’s one of those races where it’s possible to pick up points, and we’ve got to put ourselves in a position to do that,” says Lotus tech chief Mike Gascoyne.

“We’ve got two very experienced drivers in the car which will help us be there at the finish and that’s the primary goal. It’s going to be hard on brakes, but we’ve had no problems in that area. We’re also bringing a few more new parts, including a low downforce package specifically for Canada, so overall we want to build on the performances we’ve been putting in, aim for bullet-proof reliability, and have two cars see the flag,” he added.

Team boss Tony Fernandes pin points Lotus’ main issue. “We have developed well in a number of important areas, but so far reliability is one where we need to work harder – I hope Canada’s where we can turn that around,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Paul Tan on Jun 09, 2010 at 2:30 pm

Hope the hydraulics hold up for Lotus F1 this weekend.

• michaelk on Jun 09, 2010 at 2:39 pm

point scoring position? from 22nd to 10th place? hmmmm…wishful thinking.

• lotus1 on Jun 09, 2010 at 3:05 pm

maybe they are looking for mistakes from other drivers?

• niamafufu on Jun 09, 2010 at 7:25 pm

if got 10 race cats crash mayb v got the chance^^
      tats what dey wishing for

• konek tersimpul mati akibat aksiden merempit on Jun 09, 2010 at 2:58 pm

Typical Basher : Here comes the same old over-confidence and megalomania again…yawnnnn…Zzzzz…

Ah pek tua jalanan : huiyoo..who says lor,…who knows Heikei (in cantonese) kovalainen and trulli will be confered a Latok when they score even 1 point from this race? Latok Hei Kay la..

• Tengokaje.. on Jun 09, 2010 at 3:24 pm

Wish good luck to the team and hopefully they can collect points in Canada without any hiccups.

Salam…

• Tengkurex on Jun 09, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Circuit Gilles Villeneuve is notorious having crazy number of safety cars. Its the second hardest track on the calender after Monaco. Maybe misfortune from other drivers will give a point to Lotus. But surely they have to tackle their hydraulics problem first before dreaming any point.

• Nutty Dad on Jun 09, 2010 at 5:20 pm

“Canada’s a race we all look forward to. It’s a temporary circuit where you often see quite a few people hit the wall, bringing out the safety car more than it’s usually seen. It’s one of those races where it’s possible to pick up points, and we’ve got to put ourselves in a position to do that,” says Lotus tech chief Mike Gascoyne.

I forsee both Lotus to hit the wall ^^ One followed the other…

• Diablo on Jun 09, 2010 at 5:27 pm

Why so? Is it because it brings you a lot of pleasure to see them fail because they are Malaysian?

• FTO_95 on Jun 09, 2010 at 9:10 pm

having ppl like u……we’ll nvr progress any further….come on guyz…this is just the beginning……….well..how soon do aspect to see the results…..we’ll i wud rather recommend for u to bring in one of those modified cars that running across our highways……….

• Typical pathetic rakyat. The drivers are experience racer. They knew the circuit. Even rookie have won there before like Lewis Hamilton and Robert Kubica. I’m not saying bad luck couldn’t happen. But we should give them a morale support not bashing blindly.

• dickybird on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:34 am

@nutty dad, if you dont have anything nice to say dont say la, spoil the mood only.
        wei, apex oi, maybe you can get mike gascoyne to get you an english language parts upgrade. with english like that, susah mau jadi malaysian f1 engineer oh.

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Jun 09, 2010 at 5:31 pm

who made their hydraulic systems???

• dare to bankrupt 2009 on Jun 09, 2010 at 6:25 pm

hydraulic sys tuned by Balakong mari…

• mati katak on Jun 09, 2010 at 6:57 pm

I hope this is just not just hot air coming out from his mouth.
    Let result do the talking please………

Theseday, talk is sooooooooooooo cheap

• i should recommend u to tony to take the lead and set a kpi that i would forsee how soooooooner u cud achieve

• dickybird on Jun 09, 2010 at 9:36 pm

well, even when brawn gp was winning everything last year, you didnt hear Ross Brawn making noises like that.

• dickybird on Jun 09, 2010 at 7:13 pm

good luck to all the teams! lets have a good clean race. as always i am rooting for my boys Jenson and Lewis!

• mohgui on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:48 am

it’s good that Lotus has aims and directions and dreams. what’s the use of moving on when there are no objectives? is it just to make up the numbers?

obviously, when all these new boys joined the circus this year, they are pressured to perform… no thanks to Brawn. but some of us knew that Brawn is not a 6-month start-up team. they have a year of a headstart to get their stuff right. but no… some of you still thinks that Brawn is a newly start-up team and use them as a benchmark for newbies. this is pretty unfair.

but given the time constrain that Lotus had… i’d say that they are more reliable than some of the established teams during the first few races. just that the hydraulic gremlins are scratching at their cars recently. hope they can resolve this soon. by finishing two cars in the remaining races would be an achievement already.

Lotus, to get into the points… first you must complete the race. henceforth… keep on rolling and go for gold!

• dickybird on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:04 am

agreed! murray walker says”to finish first, first you have to finish”.

• Vezeroth on Jun 10, 2010 at 1:05 pm

Agree with you bro, their list of priorities should be:

1. Finish the race… every time (reliability)
      2. Don’t get lapped too many times (improve pace)
      3. Then worry about scoring points… if you can’t do the 1st 2 how to score points?

Also, i think mike should not talk and live in his dreamland so much… come back and face reality and do your best to fix the car and be humble about it! Right now there is just too much talk and no results… I wanna see them finish every race and not get lapped…

• Balikampung on Jun 10, 2010 at 1:19 pm

Ahhh Shut up Mike…

FERRARI team boss says – “NEW F1 teams a JOKE”

That means you! LOTUS, TONY and Mike … The JOKES and JOKERS

• mohgui on Jun 10, 2010 at 4:15 pm

although i support Ferrari… i’d like to say that Ferrari was once a joke and consists of jokers too. and if not for Schumi, Ferrari probably would not have seen its glorious years in racing.

on a high note… every team in F1 was once a joke with jokers all round.

• well said

• dickybird on Jun 10, 2010 at 6:53 pm

aiyo, fren, i remember the time from the mid 80s till they signed schumi, ferari was lousy la. i remember such names as gerhard berger, michele albereto, nigel mansel, haha. those days f1 was fun. turbo and senna and prost taking ppl out.
        the day that Senna died was when the music died.

• what's the fuss? on Jun 12, 2010 at 9:41 pm

People,

Whats the fuss about Lotus?

Why Nationalize the issue? Its only “Lotus” by name sake. Its not even officially linked to the Lotus brand. Its actually the Litespeed entry from UK.

1Malaysia is a business entity that pays for the F1 bills by the people who brought u cheap airline fares and rebadged cars from Korea for the mass malaysians.

F1 is a prefessional competition, not nationalized. The only true nationalized competition is the football world cup.

Just stick to supporting your F1 teams and drivers because of your interest in motor racing and the competition it promotes.

I bet you most of the people who keep on bashing the Lotus team’s performance and relating it to our country’s interest are people who fly air asia and drive kias coz they cant afford to fly MAS and the dont want to drive PROTON yet cannot afford a Honda or Toyota.. Mixing Lotus Racing and 1Malaysia and is misplaced nationalism.

Just enjoy the sport fellas…..