Formula 1 may only be available in HD in 2012

For those of you who have been longing to watch every single bubble pop out of the champagne bottle when your favourite F1 driver celebrates at the top of the podium will have to wait longer, because F1 is not going to be shown in High Definition or fondly known as HD any time soon. This is according to F1 supremo Bernie Ecclestone who confirmed that F1 will not be available in HD just yet. “As soon as the broadcasters tell me they want it, we can do it. I think next year is too soon; we’re looking at more like 2012,” F1’s ‘Godfather’ said.

This is quite a surprise as a recent Formula One Team Association or FOTA-commissioned fan survey stated that 70 per cent of fans would like to see every second of the track drama in HD. Privileged members of the media were also given a demonstration of F1 broadcast in both HD and 3D recently. The footage was captured using a Lotus F1 car carrying a special 3D camera during a practice session at the Canadian GP. We tried to look for this video all over the internet but couldn’t find anything.

HD broadcast is taking the world by storm as it makes Standard Definition or SD look like it is centuries old. HD offers a much higher resolution display compared to SD and almost every major sporting event at the moment is already available in that format. It would be a reward to fans if they have this for F1. Of course to enjoy HD one must have a HD-compliant television set along with a HD broadcaster and relevant accessories. In Malaysia, we have plenty of HD TVs and we also have access to HD content in the form of either BluRay discs or Astro B.yond.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• nighttrain on Jun 20, 2010 at 1:07 pm

Saw Roland Garros in HD.. awesome. Really need to see F1 in HD too. It would be very dramatic.

• nighttrain on Jun 20, 2010 at 1:08 pm

You should take a poll of Malaysian viewers and send results to FIA hehe..

• scanzew on Jun 20, 2010 at 1:33 pm

good news but it’s too late

• nonce on Jun 20, 2010 at 3:07 pm

huh??!then why am i watching F1 in hd on ESPN HD channel??

• Paul Tan on Jun 20, 2010 at 4:18 pm

That is standard SD upscaled to HD resolution without HD detail.

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jun 20, 2010 at 5:09 pm

ha… told some folks that our F1 broadcast isn’t true HD but they won’t believe… will ask them to read this ; )

• chronozome on Jun 21, 2010 at 3:42 am

damn…i’ve been duped into subscribing ESPN HD for F1. Fu*kin A!

• gorgum on Jun 21, 2010 at 6:39 am

wow. F1 in HD with 3D. imagine pit babes in that situation. droll. this is better than watching world cup.

• coolguru on Jun 21, 2010 at 10:42 am

Sigh… becoming another rich-man program then!

Why!? Many people maybe able to afford a one-time payment to buy HD tv or soon it’s a standard feature of all TVs. However, the contents that go through the TV requires a premium to it.

For example, I used to be able to watch F1 on free to air TV like TV1, 2, 3, NTV, 8, etc. Now, all these glitzy stuff are on Astro only.

So if all these move to Astro Byond, and the pricing will definitely high to higher premium soon, it’s soon out of reach even a simple working executive.

Another way to look at it, mamak is here to stay because most of them having Astro Byond shown while selling their teh tarik and roti canai… :)

• Tiadaid on Jun 21, 2010 at 11:51 am

HD’s all good and well, but what good is HD if the races are processional in nature. FIA should take a look at that! I mean, in the old days TV coverage were spotty, but the racing was great!