Ferrari prodigy Lance Stroll beats F1 driver in kart race

As previously reported, Ferrari recently recruited a new member into the Ferrari Driving Academy in the form of 11-year old Lance Stroll from Canada. The talented lad joined the Scuderia at the recent Canadian Grand Prix for a go-kart session, and guess what, he ruffled some F1 feathers on track!

Almost everyone from the team took part in this friendly race where the 12 fastest drivers went on to compete in a final event. The dozen included both F1 drivers Felipe Massa and Fernando Alonso, but Stroll finished the day second! To achieve that, he must have left some test drivers AND one of Ferrari’s two F1 drivers behind in his dust!

Your guess is at good as ours as to who that might be, as Ferrari conveniently forgot to add that bit of juicy information to the press statement. Of course it isn’t exactly a level playing field due to factors like Stroll’s lower weight, but it still gives you an idea of what this prodigy is capable of. We did our share of racing with F1 drivers on karts before, but the best of Malaysian motoring journalists couldn’t come within two corners of the real deal! Read our account here.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• syeliz20 on Jun 26, 2010 at 8:03 pm

owh..:D

• toyotaguy on Jun 26, 2010 at 8:43 pm

lolz la.. i think dat lotus driver faruz fauzi oso lose to dis small kid really shame n stupid lotus waste tax payer money this kid better n many other ppl small kid oso better den him juz lotus coz gt government blind wakakak

• Idiot

You didn’t read the whole thing did you? It was only the FERRARI team who joined the go-kart session

• Lancermania on Jun 27, 2010 at 5:07 pm

Reli shame on u guys la, wat can oso related wif MAS thg, if we talkin bout oters F1 team, sure u guys wil related/compare it wif Lotus F1, if we talkin bout oters cars, sure P1/P2 name wil appear no matter in wat topic, especiali wen a new car is launching, all sure blame gov coz of P1, the price blablabla.. and the list goin on.
      cant u gys just leave thm alone, if u guys are so talented/smart, why dont u all go apply a job on Lotus F1, P1&P2,thn HELP thm make the changes, nt just talkin all tis bullshit here.

• Waiting for Malaysian prodigy…

• look at this two faces.. taking the pic seems so mad and pissed off and sad got beat by a kid.. lol…

• squawk on Jun 27, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Future F1 champ, if nurtured properly.

• everything in future is faster

• From that pic, it seems Alonso is the one who lost, hence the long face. LOL

• netso on Jul 19, 2010 at 9:51 am

the kid is at least 25kg minus than the two other drivers you fools