Land Public Transport Commision – making public transport a desirable option for you and me

Did you watch Episode 7 of Driven, where our Harvinder used public transport to race from one point of town to another with Sharizan and Alis? Actually, race isn’t the right word, as the man and his umbrella was nowhere as quick as the the bike and car of his co-hosts in completing the route. He lost of course, and didn’t save that much money compared to Sharizan’s Kawasaki.

Land Public Transport Commision – making public transport a desirable option for you and meI myself am no stranger to the KTM Komuter, which surely is the worse rail line in the Klang Valley. You look at the timing board and it reads “Rawang 1730” but when the countdown to 5:30 stops, the train doesn’t appear and the board recalculates, adding another 20 minutes to the waiting time. And when it finally arrives, getting into the coach is like going to war. If you prevail, pray hard that the four persons glued to you don’t have body odour. Had a bad day at work? Rest assured that the journey home will do its best to add to your misery.

I’m sure that many of you have similarly bad experiences or even endure it everyday. Some have it better than others, depending on the location of your workplace and home, and which rail line/bus you depend on, but I’m sure everyone will agree that Klang Valley’s public transport system is nowhere near world-class and desperately needs an overhaul. The Government knows this for a fact too, which is the reason Suruhanjaya Pengangkutan Awam Darat (SPAD) or the Land Public Transport Commission came into existence.

Headed by former Home Minister Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar as Chairman and special adviser to the Transport Ministry Mohd Nur Ismail Mohamed Kamal as CEO, SPAD will draw up policies, plan, regulate and enforce regulations concerning public transport. To do this, the commission will absorb existing bodies such as the Railway Department and the Commercial Vehicle Licensing Board.

Currently, there are 15 government agencies and departments with a say in how public transport is run. SPAD will solve this overlapping objectives and powers and introduce integrated policies and regulations. “We want to get away from the ad hoc-ish style of solving problems and want to have a holistic view of the matter,” Mohd Nur Ismail said. SPAD, which will “champion the public transport cause” and try to get us out of our cars and bikes, will assume powers in September 2010, when the Road Transport Amendment Act is gazetted.

SPAD, which reports directly to the Prime Minister, will carry out initiatives for the National Key Result Area (NKRA) focusing on the Klang Valley. Their goals appear highly ambitious: SPAD aims to raise Klang Valley’s public transport usage from the current 12% to 25% in 2012 ad 30% by 2015 (for comparison, cities such as Singapore, Hong Kong, London and Paris have a figure of up to 70%). How are they going to achieve this will be of interest to stakeholders such as you and me.

Remember the days of the Bas Mini? I remember taking No.32 to school; they were driven like hot hatches by hooligans, but at least they were frequent, fast and dependable. Do you know that public transport usage then was three times higher than the current figure? One of SPAD’s big tasks is to transform bus services, and Mohd Nur Ismail says that it’s vital to “rethink the economies of the bus industry” as some routes are overlooked by operators because they are unprofitable, which leads to zero bus service for that unfortunate area.

There’s also a possibility of Bas Mini style transport making a comeback, but only as shuttles within residential areas and to train stations, not to the city. It’s still early days of course, and we hope to hear more from SPAD when their bus plans are fleshed out.

Bus is the short term solution. Rail is the future, and increasing ridership for the existing rail lines is the first on the plate for SPAD. The Kelana Jaya LRT line (formerly PUTRA LRT) has seen the introduction of newly delivered four-coach trains. 35 of these driverless sets have been purchased from Canadian company Bombardier for RM1.5bil. Both Kelana Jaya and Ampang lines will be extended by 17km and 17.7km respectively, with 13 new stations added to each line. Work is expected to start in November and will go on for three years. There’s also a proposed MRT system under the 10th Malaysia Plan.

Fortunately, the KTM Komuter is not left out. The much criticised rail line does not have enough train sets at the moment, but has placed an order for 38 new six-car sets that are expected to arrive in 2012 (current EMUs are are three-car sets). This will triple the line’s capacity from the current 100,000 per day.

Many of these plans are already in place and it’s SPAD’s job to be the captain of the ship, so to speak, steering the various plans and initiatives in one integrated direction. For sure, many will sneer at it (indeed, journos at the briefing gave the panel a tough time), but it’s only fair to give SPAD some time to prove itself. “Public confidence is low, to put it very mildly,” Syed Hamid Albar said, adding that one of SPAD’s biggest challenges will be to deal with other government agencies and departments.

More information as it comes our way, but for the meantime, share your experiences and suggestions, have your say or rant away (you never know, someone might be taking notes), but keep vulgarities for private teh tarik sessions!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• KL maa!! traffic jam, even commuter also trafic jam (?)

• This problem cannot be solved as long as there are vested interest in certain parties wanting to make money along the way. Direct nego or under table is always the order of the day.

• Motorist on Jul 03, 2010 at 12:40 pm

Too bloody true. Every crony & his dog has vested interest to enrich themselves at the expense of Joe public.

Remember the mini bus? Remember Hup Seng bus company & many other Chinese owned bus companies? All of them were FORCED to sell to crony company (who had ZERO experience in running a bus company). Yes, these Chinese company were not the most efficient nor had the newest / cleanest / air-cond buses, but they were consistent & delivered the service without fail.

Then lets not forget the fiasco of appointing different crony companies for EACH line of the Mass Rail Transport. Non of the crony can agree to share interchange stations, they overcharged Joe public and blame Joe public for not wanting to use mass transport. A few yrs later, they went tits up, had to be rescued with Joe public money but the damage has been done.

Now they have Syed Hamid Albar in some committee. Might just as well pay him large amounts of money & be done with it. We all know NOTHING will be done, NOTHING will be solved, NOTHING but talk cock will come out of his mouth.

• qozh moreno on Jul 03, 2010 at 4:06 pm

hehehe… i like your words mate… till when this thing will end… public transport suck bigtime forcing ppl to buy them self cars… when there’s lots of cars, traffic jams is inevitable… so there’s an excuse for them to build their mothers hiway just to fill their pockets… so solution is join politics, be a crony or a dog to counter this matter all of us please & thats d FACT!

• Inderaloka on Jul 07, 2010 at 4:15 pm

I totally agree with you. And I hate them (cronies) of doing this to rakyat and our country.

• Chilavert on Jul 02, 2010 at 5:48 pm

LOL
    nice introduction danny

• Henry on Jul 02, 2010 at 5:50 pm

With the above two deadbeats running the show it will take a miracle for the scheme to succeed.

One thing is for sure, a lot of $$$ is going down the drain.

• teacher nur on Jul 06, 2010 at 9:10 am

which two deadbeats r u referring to? do u know them enuff to judge them? give us a break!

• This clearly shows that fuel price in our country is cheap compared to other country, that’s why people prefer to drive their own car. Long live Mr G.

• daniel on Jul 03, 2010 at 9:02 am

Please don’t get it wrong, we are forced to drive by the tyranny Mamakkutty’s pet project by the name Proton. How to meet yearly production quota which sole depend on domestic market? Th e answer is to screw, cajole the rakyat but are we gullible enough to deserve this, right?

• niamafufu on Jul 03, 2010 at 12:36 pm

tats y u very day jammed in traffic,good country shld have good public transport system.pls dun satisfly jus bcos u own a car and using cheap petrol,not everyone lyk u owning a car.pls think far

• PakAbu on Jul 02, 2010 at 5:57 pm

Please do not forget ‘ulu’ places like the city of Ipoh.
    The express bus terminal is located at the busiest main road. The entry & exit are weirdly arranged.
    The city/local bus is still located at another place but still at another busiest place in Ipoh. No shuttle service between the two terminals.
    The local buses are 30 years old. I wonder how they can pass Puspakom inspection.
    Actually only students & poor people take the bus. Maybe that’s why authorities don’t really care.
    Yes. Sad. Very sad.

• Tommy on Jul 02, 2010 at 8:32 pm

Hey, Perak now days have Perak Transit. and dont call ipoh hulu. Its not as hulu as Kota Baru or the east coast region cities. It takes time to alter what’s used to be good before and useless these days.

• Tommy Ulu on Jul 03, 2010 at 3:10 am

I understand that you are sad that Pak Abu said Ipoh are “ulu”,but please,dont used Eastcoast region as an “ulu” example…have you yourself been to eastcoast region?actually is not as ulu as you think also…& is Kota Bharu,not Kota Baru,check the grammer before posting any comments… : )

• PakAbu on Jul 03, 2010 at 7:24 am

Tommy,
        I went to school in Ipoh. And now living just outside Ipoh.
        In terms of public transport, Ipoh is ‘ulu’. 30-year-old busses, haphazard planning (no planning, rather), poorly maintained bus terminals; old, cekik darah taxis (aren’t they all?) etc.

I don’t know what you mean by Perak Transit. I still see the same old busses.

I don’t mind real ‘ulu’ places. In fact I prefer them over big cities. But a ‘city’ like Ipoh, should have facilities like a city. What’s the use of having the title without the basics in place?

FYI, even busses in Rantau Panjang look better than Ipoh’s.

• Horny_James_H on Jul 03, 2010 at 9:47 am

Wah u marah ka org kata Ipoh ulu?maybe he meant the transport only lahhhhhhhhhh

• Oh, you mention something that reminds me of the taxi.
          Taxis in Ipoh are mercedes and toyota you know???
          Though it is those old mercedes… The oldest you can get is the 1 without air-cond, you can see a mini fan inside the car. Haha.
          Oh, by the way, not a single taxi have a meter!!! Travel 5KM they charge me RM20…
          Zzzzz

• youngbags on Jul 02, 2010 at 5:59 pm

headed by these jokers? another sitcom pi mai pi mai tuttut..

• davechia on Jul 02, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Well, there is nothing impossible. IF and ONLY IF, the fund allocated is REALLY spend on the interest of people, not to the big sharks.

• Jacky Yong on Jul 02, 2010 at 6:44 pm

I am one of the unlucky daily user who commutes using the dreaded KTM line. Imagine having to exchange bodily fluids (sweats, what were you thinking?) with a total stranger, and coming back smelling like you have done a 10 km marathon everyday! The best part would be the waiting for the train, cause that’s when you are spared the customary squeeze inside the sardine can. And they could help the commuters by opening the windows, cause the inside air is stuffier than the hot air outside!

Let’s see if the additional coaches really arrives as promised.

• Rocky Balboa on Jul 03, 2010 at 2:36 am

get a motorbike..drive carefully..it should be okay..

ya KTM very crowded everyday.. especially with foreign labour.. always need to be aware..

KTMB gains no profit since they provide komuter..so service become the worst.. to fix this issue, KTMB should privatise this public transport.. also need to double charge for foreign worker/except foreign student to pay for the ticket price..

• klguy on Jul 03, 2010 at 10:15 am

isnt KTM privatized alredi?

• Motorist on Jul 03, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Will there be ANY difference between a crony company run with the mentality of civil service and the civil service itself?

• yeah starting 1991..
          its mahathir idea to privatized all rakyat importance such as water, electricity and telephone to make a huge income to gov pocket.

• mohgui on Jul 03, 2010 at 8:58 am

i personally think that the trains used by KTM Komuter is of badly designed. one coach is long and the entrance/exits are at both ends. just imagine if you are caught in the middle and trying to get out. with a coach that long… they should have at least put three or four doors to it. it will make moving in and out faster.

then again, maybe the existing Komuter trains are not supposed to pack in people like sardines. just imagine if an accident were to happened. there would be tremendous chaos. but our clever thinking people just don’t give a crap about the safety issue.

• valandil on Jul 02, 2010 at 6:46 pm

i would feel better if this whole SPAD thing is fully contracted to Singapore’s LTA/ SMRT. i also expect gradual/ staged planning instead of an express plan.

remember that rome was not built in a day.

• eric_chia on Jul 04, 2010 at 11:55 am

y u always think Spore the best…. u xsuka u keluar…

• valandil on Jul 04, 2010 at 4:55 pm

dun like that lah… i still like malaysia very much and hope to be in it till the day i die.

my point is to gain from their experience, background and their cultures are quite similar to ours instead of paying a lot more for ang moh consultants from european countries. you think gamuda-mmc jv will only employ local talent to run this job?

• gudys on Jul 02, 2010 at 6:56 pm

for the past 10 years nobody is doing their job? only now?

• selekohboi on Jul 02, 2010 at 9:25 pm

cz they have 15 body doing the same thing same time…lol

• Thats right! no point talking so much. Nothing is really working. u get so many plp involved but nothing comes out of it… First thing is instead of building white elephants around. Rapid KL being a GLC should make those buses low fare or no fair during peak hours to encourage people to leave their cars behind for it. Have double deck buses with well trained drivers and not those from Metro bus drivers.
      Taxis i dont bother, they rip u off later by telling you a sad story of themself.

• niamafufu on Jul 03, 2010 at 12:41 pm

double decker i thnk cannot,sure a lots of accidents happen,c our road design….

• Spongbob Seluar Kotak on Jul 06, 2010 at 2:23 pm

Better late than never bro…

• I shall start off the rants.
    “Public confidence is low, to put it very mildly,” Syed Hamid Albar
    To rephrase, public confidence is zero.
    If i go back to my hometown, est. 350km by public transport i expect to spend at least 3 hours collectively waiting for the ktm, waiting for the bus, while the fail bus companies like transnasional wait 1 hour at the same spot to pick up more people in other places, if the bus is not full. taking the long route where lorries clog up the roads to avoid a few bucks of toll.
    There’s no other word for it, utter garbage.
    sorry i had to resort to vulgarity to express myself correctly.

• drMpower on Jul 02, 2010 at 7:10 pm

i must congratulate the Driven production crew for making such ‘race’ episode. this is the way of getting the message through to the party responsible. and the weight of such practice is anyday better than mumbling/ rumbling/ stupid longkang words at forums. or blogs.

this way, the amount of pressures directing to the commission surely are unbearable. atleast to those people. not only they cannot say the ‘race’ is impossible to be done (because Driven had just done it), the rakyat also can point out that, although the ‘race’ is not scientifically accurate, but that what is happening these days. and normal people.

the problems with these high level people, regardless of which political party they are from, are they not in reality with whats happening to the people.

i am not taking sides here but the states government in selangor also having terrible times dealing which things they say ‘easy’ when they were oppositions few years back.

kudos to Driven and i really hope they will be coming back for the second/third/fourth seasons. sponsors oso must back them. if no how to shoot the episodes la?

hidup brasil.

• Thats why most ppl ride a bike to wk in KL and leave their cars at home…..public transport, forget it

• the government only comes with proposes all the time to create hype among rakyat…then it just go down the drain…this is one of it i guess….

• that so -ve thinking…then when they can do jobs if u said all just to create hype? u n i as citizen should contribute idea to G how they can improve trans problem not just guessing it will fail….
      i want take bus to work but cannot do so cause bus system shah alam to port klang little to non..if i given a choice bet ride bus/mrt and drive car ..i choose bus/mrt cause i can sleep n malas to drive..

• actually im around damansara area….so have to face heavy traffic jam along the ldp daily…few years back the Gov announced they to buil lrt extension from kota dasara to cheras which is extreamly populated….then i dont know what happened to that plan….they said the gov is lack of fund….why plan to build lrt if you know there is no fund available?…everyone can talk….but i prefer action….besides that not only damansara need lrt…the whole klang valley needs an integrated lrt system…why cant they appoint well established companies running the business?..our neighbor Singapore plans things ahead while in our country we build then plan and then reconstruct….total rubbish

• Previously pak lah said when he want to increase the fuel price in 4 June 2008, he confidently phrased that removing a fuel subsidy its a brilliant idea to channeled the fund for improving public transport but until now the public transport is such a crap!

• fadman1 on Jul 02, 2010 at 7:22 pm

I watched in the Driven website and found the editing to be tacky and so ‘layu’. Why can’t Malaysian reality series have editing like Bravo’s Top Chef , Celebrity Apprentice or specifically Top Gear? Theirs editing are so much more taut then Driven.

• every time there’s a change of ‘tokok’ king getting this position, they cockadoodledoo a while just for the show. Next thing u know, he’s goyang kaki’ing and toking kok in parliament while stuffing his pocket full of our moolah till the next tokok king replaces him.

• Motorist on Jul 03, 2010 at 12:48 pm

OMG… can you imagine Semi Value instead of Syed Hamid Albar in this committee.

• why don’t those two joker try our own public transportation at peak hour by themselves to get the better picture before they create a body such as SPAD? prfhhh

• Sokong !! Ask ALL Ministers including PM to take public transport for a week (with only 1 body guard n no fanfare) to go to work. I’m sure they would rather take annual leave than do that ;p

But then again since most of them stay in Putrajaya n work in Putrajaya, should be no sweat..

Poor rakyat have been suffering for sooooo looong. Will it end during my life time??

• limsk on Jul 02, 2010 at 7:36 pm

Quote “Both Kelana Jaya and Ampang lines will be extended by 17km and 17.7km respectively, with 13 new stations added to each line. Work is expected to start in November and will go on for three years.”

Ooh..no take into account of project delay, can be due to following factors and this factor does rings bells becos they are repeated over again:-

Foreign worker freeze becos of abuse / inhumanity / salary adjustment
    Foreign worker not getting salary (recall Istana project story), Just do an illegal raid and deport them so to avoid paying their salary. Get fresh foreign workers and repeat the above.
    Sub-con declare bankrupt spent on building own “castle” instead salary to workers
    Sub-con suspended due to sheddy work for cut cost and maximize profits.
    Main-con delay project
    Received law suites (resident file suits for property damages due to flash floods)
    Raw-materials cost increase (transfer cost to the commuter)
    Budget-OverRun (recall Bukun Project) solution transfer cost to the commuter or Govt bail-out
    Public Commuter still persist with similar complain about maintenance (train and stations, self-service machine) and services.
    Residents will endure bad roads conditions or more pots holes (due heavy vehicle operating in that area) or traffics redirections (delays / longer distance )

Quote “Syed Hamid Albar said, adding that one of SPAD’s biggest challenges will be to deal with other government agencies and departments.”

He was with Govt service during Dr.M. that a lame statement. His biggest concern should be about public commuter persistence of the same old story about crappy management, maintenance and services. He should be benchmarks our public service against HK, Japan, and Singapore and that your biggest challenge.

I’ was on KTM commuter (Kajang-Sentra, 3.00pm) the air-condition system malfunction, and what make matter worst it an evening heavy rain downfall, so most people got wet and perspire this get stuffy inside. Joy comes when KTM stop at every station and fresh air comes in from opening of doors (windows condense with water). During my long stay in Tokyo, Japan the commuter service is amazing and it first class by standards.

• i used to it..kl – shah alam in 1 1/2hour..everyday…wtf..

• Tommy on Jul 02, 2010 at 8:34 pm

i cant agree more about the ktm. KTM should be replaced with any other trains. and, heard that sapura build trains few years back, it might be cheap for the new train though. maintenance will be cheap too.. i guess…

• mohgui on Jul 03, 2010 at 9:01 am

the current trains used by Komuter has safety issues if packed to the brim with people.

• eposuer on Jul 03, 2010 at 12:38 pm

agreed..they should benchmark themselves against the likes of HK, Japan..at least S’pore..15min walking to access public transport in big cities @ japan is no-no..!!

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 02, 2010 at 8:02 pm

And this is Klang valley. So what about the rest of the Country??

You cant even get the various operators to play nice with each other.

When I am abroad, I have been using public transportation or just walking even when I have a car, simply because it is more convenient and often faster…..not cheaper. Even their slowest trains zip at 150km/h…When in France, my main mode of longer travel is by TGV….zipping at 300 in silence and comfort.

Do you think I would bother driving to business meetings from Ipoh to Kl and Penang when we have good public train system that gets me there in 1/2 the time and less costs?

Malaysia is a loooooooong way from something that resembles effective public transportation.

Where did all that Tax money gone? How many AP millionaires did we make? What sort of public transportation would we have now with all that “investments”?

• Elvis on Jul 02, 2010 at 11:42 pm

Agree…

• don u remember our G run in defisit..from last time bajet..thats mean tax tarak cukup maa….

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 03, 2010 at 10:31 am

Indirectly, government also run a deficit by subsidising AP Millionaires.

Government also run a deficit paying for bloated contracts and lack of due diligence in its accounting and procurement/contracts.

You got a brain, You can think.

• dickybird on Jul 04, 2010 at 12:00 am

no money?! so who is paying all those floatmarines? that new istana in hartamas? or planning to move Parliament out and renovate the old building? or put kids aged 5 years into school?
        hey bro dontcha know, reading the MSM, watching rtm and tv3 will give you brain damage and make you a vegetable?!

• biggie on Jul 03, 2010 at 6:40 am

How much do you pay for the TGV ride? When I was in France I opt for normal train, slower but much cheaper.

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 03, 2010 at 10:47 am

The TGV (High Speed) rides are not necessary more expensive than the slower trains (most top 160km/h anyway). “Ten” trains(Run by TGV) are perhaps 10Euro less for the same trip, less if you take ones off peak time, something I unfortunately don’t have the luxury off.

The problem is the French high speed TGV doesn’t service all routes.

I usually fly in to Paris and my usual route is Paris Nancy on 1st Class at 100Euro, 2nd Classe is about 60Euro. Which is very resonable in French terms. Takes 1hr 30min (Distance about 300kms) and always spot on time.

The real expensive one is the Eurostar. That one is a killer.

The ordering process is so easy as well. Go online, book your ticket and pick it up at the station.

If we can get TVG level of service and speed from Ipoh to KL for $100 per trip, I would be glad to pay for it. Ipoh -> KL in 1 hour. Whats not to like?

• mystvearn on Jul 02, 2010 at 8:20 pm

Bas mini-no aircond. Took about 2 hours from TTDI to original globe silk store shop. Packed.

There is no incentive to take public transport. The coverage is thin. Even if coverage in the city is OK la, but only limited to areas where the LRT serve. No one wants to take a bus to town. People prefer LRT and KTM komuter. If take bus-still stuck in jam.

2nd thing. There are no proper bus stops or website showing bus routes. If people know where the bus catchment area, they may be tempted to use it. All you get at bus stops in KL are just bus number and frequency. Very rarely you see a bus route map with all other bus numbers. I have not see one myself. I have seen LRT/KTM komuter map. In Kota Bharu there are not really any bus stop. You just “tahan” the bus anywhere you want and the bus will perform an emergency stop sending shockwaves to people following the bus at the back

• tokmoh on Jul 02, 2010 at 9:15 pm

BLA BLA BLA BLA

Govt talk cock again. How many times they tell us they’ll improve public transport? Lost count? Me too.

The only thing I’m looking forward to is the next announcement or pledge to upgrade the public transport. The figures always increase, maybe we’ll hear govt gonna pledge RM1 trillion to “improve pub transport” next?

Well, with that botak as Chairman, I suppose next thing we hear is some opposition fellas get ISA-ed for criticising the pub transport. Or journalists get hauled up for “their own safety”.

• Rocky Balboa on Jul 03, 2010 at 2:42 am

how to improve? govt no money at all. everyone not willing to pay for tax.. the money only goes to big company…they collect tolls everyday, gain more profit..
      the only thing is to privatize it..

• if privatize the rakyat will suffer because the company want to profit rather than welfare!

• tokmoh on Jul 03, 2010 at 9:47 pm

No money eh… why, the new parliament and istana negara sounds very much like a govt with tonnes of cash to burn… what is that if not money?

• InGeniEuRs on Jul 04, 2010 at 1:52 am

you know what we called as PFI? Private Funding Initiative??

Govt ask private company to do it with their own money, then Govt pay to them.
          In this case, PFI like borrow private money, then pay slowly. using bon or whatsoever..

this is about contract.. Turnkey, Built Operate Transfer, bla bla..

let say for MRT project..only MMC Gamuda got money to do it.. because they gain billion profit every year..

what say u?

• tokmoh on Jul 04, 2010 at 2:58 pm

You replying to me or Rocky?

Your point? That the govt really have no money and all including wasteful projects are done by private companies? Including the new parliament and istana negara? “PFI like borrow private money, then pay slowly”, so from whom do they collect the money to “pay slowly”? MPs? Agong?

I don’t know much about Gamuda’s accounts except but to hope that it will be stronger than previous jokers who built Star LRT, Putra LRT and monorail. Looking at track records… meh.

• pirate on Jul 02, 2010 at 9:48 pm

This commission should have been set up long time ago and the LRT should have been extended by now. Today we are still in the planning stage! We’ve heard the mention of improving public transportation in national budgets over the years but nothing ever came out of it. The public keeps complaining but it all went to deaf ears.
    Lets see how long more we have to wait for a better public transportation.

• Elvis on Jul 02, 2010 at 11:05 pm

Here we go again. Gomen on ‘Public Transportation”, after decades of sweet lip services turn sour……..over and over and over again…like the sayihg, order chicken porridge, we get plain porridge and we are paying for pork porridge and the cook saying,”You so ungrateful, give you first class porridge but asking for third class price”. Well…what can i say…

• kancilrider on Jul 02, 2010 at 11:39 pm

(Negative view) Good way to siphon public fund… over budget, over investment, after quiet sometime, $$$ but not so much achieved.
    Few years ago, more than 1k buses dumped, while many were still in good running condition.. and buy new ones.. with d cost of ?

(+ve) Please, restore our confidence as soon as possible

• Nicheadison on Jul 03, 2010 at 12:07 am

KTM Komuter = nightmare :-S

• 13G-E-is-COMING on Jul 03, 2010 at 12:23 am

The same government talking about rakyat’s difficulties, when they are the one that created this problems…. How much more public funds should go to the drain? Believe me, the only thing(s) that they interested is how they going to justify billions more ringgit for the project and how much each and every one of them will get out of this project..

Malaysia.. what a remarkable country… the leader do as they pleased, and the voters collectively agreed… so, don’t complain..

• Just copy whatever Singapore or Hong Kong have. Their system is not the best but at least the authority of transportation do care on ensuring punctuality of trains and buses, comfortability of the ridership, safety of passengers and efficiency of contingency plans.

As KL is a big city (as it’s bigger than Singapore), more connecting buses and trains are indeed very urgently needed. Most residents come from suburb of KL not City Centre. Commute the residents to the nearest train stations or bus hubs has become the utmost importance and should be considered as the priority. E.g. assign more feeder bus routes for residents in Sec. 14, 15, 16, 17 in PJ to bring them to the nearest LRT stations i.e. Asia Jaya or Tmn Jaya.

Next, encourage people to take trains and buses by giving more incentives at the initial stage when governments are implementing the scheme. 50% discount on fares can be considered at first but slowly decrease the percentage once things are getting better.

Also, information on the public transport should be made available throughout major hot spots. Bus route together with the fares imposed should be shown clearly in all bus stops. Ensure no vandalism on the route. Upgrade current bus stops, train stations or facilities to something that is acceptable, usable and functional.

• Motorist on Jul 03, 2010 at 12:59 pm

HK & SG know that public transport will be a loss making venture BUT it is a necessary public service responsibility.

• this public transport are so suck… 1st is rapid kl.. i as a student and don’t have own vehicle.. so i used the rapid kl bus 405.. the waiting time is like one hour per bus.. and it really annoying… plus the ktm.. i never take ktm if i got other mode of transportation.. i was waiting for 30 minute.. then it came an announcement that the train will come late cause got technical prob bla3.. then it add 20 minutes to the waiting board.. then come a train.. that is fully full.. u not even cant squeeze there… sardin in a cane got better place to ‘live’..
    then come another train.. also cant squeeze.. it take me 3 hour until i get into train.. n guess what.. i was standing in front of the smelly and stinky toilet.. the train can even closed it door because it stuck… and i really2 dangerous.. i feel like i in india train like the one on the tv…

• out of topic but still related….
    1 thing always happen when traffic jam in klang valley or any other road in bolehland…people become inconsiderate, lawless n shameless…and thus cause severe traffic jam

1.thinking only they r late for work or go home
    2.drive at emergency lane
    3.memotong that cause other car at back to brake more thus even slower in traffic jam
    4.give no signal to change lane although they hav side mirror signal light (a waste to buy car with signal light but not use it)
    5.drive to kill themselves n other people
    6.follow ambulance
    7.don beratur when come to toll area..without shame give signal (this time very clever to use signal light) to overtake other who beratur
    8.drive slow at fast lane
    9.drive at bus lane

all this directly or indirectly contribute to traffic jam becoming even worst

• lanwm on Jul 03, 2010 at 8:18 am

agree!

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 03, 2010 at 11:05 am

Off topic then how related?

The topic at hand is public transportation, more notably KTM Komuter and the other MRT/LRT Railed services.

Regardless of if there are traffic jams or not.

In a city like Toronto where most people drive sensibly, you still get gridlock during rush hour due to the volume of traffic.

The point here is get people out of cars and into railed alternatives.

• bryan.jones on Jul 03, 2010 at 1:57 am

back to square one – the town planning dept is sleeping for all this while!!!!

• goverment mentality
      sleep all the time!

• dickybird on Jul 04, 2010 at 12:07 am

actually i think if we give town planning to a troupe of monkeys from FRIM and give them a few peanuts, they would do a better job than so-called people town planners. plus we would save on paying all these “monkeys”.

• Rocky Balboa on Jul 03, 2010 at 2:27 am

Danny,
    Privatisation is the best solution for KTM commuter issue.. the services should be better than current service..

In RMK10 plan, our PM said that MYR 30,000,000,000.00 proposed for MRT, Mass Rapid Transit .. i think it can become another alternative for rakyat that commute using public transport for daily use. The cost of MRT itselt very HUGE amount because it need more land acquisition, and of course the land in Klang Valley very expensive..

p/s: i think the tickets for malaysian and foreigners must be differ, and of course the foreign user must pay more. letsay malaysia paid rm1 for ticket, the bangla/nepal/negro should pay almost double or triple of the ticket price.. so, they will prefer not to use public transport, so we as a malaysian will get the benefit..

• dickybird on Jul 03, 2010 at 5:30 pm

wei RMK10 is a just a suck money out of the country before the opposition takes over plan bah.

• InGeniEuRs on Jul 04, 2010 at 1:58 am

talking like stupid..
        all the project Privatized, not using govt money.. later big2 company will collect money from us.. the main profit goes to them..

but thats ok..later the private company can hire more people… i hope it is not foreign worker as usual.. MP should change the policy to use foreign workers… all the mega project Industrialized already, no need kongsikong at all..

• Rocky Balboa on Jul 03, 2010 at 2:50 am

The most best thing is to settle all the issue.. all the government building in KL move to somewhere..develop new place..

what will happen later?
    the traffic jam will reduce, the land market price will reduce too..
    governmt servant no more want to rent the house nearby, because their office far far away.. the company will set up their new building next to govt office.. especially food services etc etc etc…

so, the impact for all this change..KL no more crowded like now… this is what happen to Putrajaya.. if they didnt build Putrajaya.. a very MASSIVE traffic jam occurs every second in KL..

so, ask govt to move their building to another place loh

• PakAbu on Jul 03, 2010 at 6:50 am

Rocky,

You’re contradicting yourself.

Stop watching the rtm/tv3 news. If you keep hearing the same bullsh*t over & over, you’ll start believing it. You’ll even start believing your own lies.

;-)

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 03, 2010 at 11:18 am

LOL, you only think Government offices and staff are the primary cause of all these jams?

• PUTRAJAYA
        is such a crap!
        wasting a taxpayer money!
        traffic jam also happen at putrajaya!

Mahathir thought the putrajaya is brilliant idea to reduce the traffic jam in KL but it wont settle until now!

• It won’t surprise me if you told me you really are rocky balboa.
      the retard who boxed his own brains out.

stop listening to the BS in RTM 1.

• whodz on Jul 08, 2010 at 11:36 am

Rocky2..such an ambitious idea. Live n earn, then talk.

• cinaman on Jul 03, 2010 at 3:54 am

some of senators from dewan negara came to czech rep. last year. we asked them to try out public transport service here. i dont know if they really try it. it is one of the best and cheapest in the Europe. all integrated mode of transport. from bus, tram, metro, and even train network. to plan your journey, all you need to do is go to idos.cz , you would need starting point and where you want to go. also what time. they would provide you accurate time departure even transit walking time if you need to change line A to B of metro or to catch up the tram on the ground. all the service is punctual unless some break down of course. not even london’s tube have that kind of service at that fraction of price!

• Motorist on Jul 03, 2010 at 1:36 pm

They were there foe Lawatan sambil Kongkek lah bang. Where got time to take public transport. All they had eye for was for the blue/green eye blondes & brunettes.

• PakAbu on Jul 03, 2010 at 6:34 am

Oh yeah, one more thing.
    The 2nd bridge @ Penang should have included a train line all the way to the airport. Why build a fancy bridge that just bring in more cars into an already congested island? It’s like pouring more water into a bottle full of kicap.

• neo_77 on Jul 03, 2010 at 7:29 am

before i had a car, i travel to work from shah alam to subang jaya via komuter. by the time the train arrive to shah alam from perlabuhan klang, it is jam pack and very difficult to get in. sometime i have to fore go a few trains before i can even get in. the current lines are bottle necks and are not enough to cover the population’s transportation needs. KTM should build more lines to cover more areas to lessen the bottle neck.

• lanwm on Jul 03, 2010 at 8:16 am

35b for mrt is huge $!

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 03, 2010 at 11:07 am

I think you forgot to put in the crony Tax.

After which the number doen’t look so big.

• If indeed people on top is listening (I certainly hope so). Then I have a few suggestions – On the proposed MRT championed by Gamuda-MMC consortium.

Why not allow the existing operators of LRT to form a consortium on their own to take charge? Sure, they have their medium-term and long-term plan in their pipeline. They have been in this business for quite some time. Of course, they should understand more on the culture, the nature of our rail transport industry in Malaysia. The Klang Valley have about the same population as the whole of Singapore which has their own MRT. Why wouldn’t be unfeasible economically.

Trust me, it is better this way to have a unified rail operator instead of smaller contract given out to multiple companies. We don’t want the MRT operated by Gamuda-MMC to compete with the rest of LRTs. Truly, the end result is that the public will suffer tremendously.

We already know the outcome. Look at the connectivity between Putra, Star, and the Monorail. The Monorail is worst – The train terminates outside KL Sentral, and you have to walk a good 300 metres to the Sentral station to continue your journey. Don’t even mention about KTM Komuter.

You know, if you use the London tube and Singapore’s MRT, you would not face this kind of issue – apart to worker’s strike which is very common in Europe. You would have 10-coach train stopping at every station at any given time; direct connectivity with another train instead of having to walk-out the station, cross the road to another one. You’d be lucky not to get mugged along the way.

So, solution – a unified MRT for the whole of Klang Valley, Feeder System using Rapid Buses (but they seriously need to improve their service), and Mini Bus style operations out of Housing Development or Suburbs. All with ample access for the Handicapped.

For the LRT operators – upgrading work of their stations and their rail line must take place to cater for the additional passenger load. For Monorail operator, technically speaking, I don’t know how else, it’s going to stick out like a sore thumb one every other operator has been reorganized. Their rail is too small to upgrade, plus the design is very different. Probably others have a better plan on how to deal with them.

Government must learn from the current situation and they must learn quick. The people are watching closely.

• dickybird on Jul 03, 2010 at 5:38 pm

yes, i am sure you are the only 1 in this country who has ever worked in a world class public transit authority. but this govt is not about to do anything that does not line their own pockets and i am not mistaken the LRT lines are now owned by Prasarana negara but they seem to be nowhere vis a vis the new MRT proposed megaproject.

• what’s with the sarcasticism? everybody deserves to voice out their opinion, rightly or wrongly.

• Iskandar on Jul 03, 2010 at 8:38 am

Some ministers are so damn stupid, they ask you to “use the public transportation” to solve KL traffic woes.

Don’t they realize the public ARE USING public transports to the point that we have to fight out way into the coaches?

Whenever a new Transport Minister comes into power, he’ll talk about KLIA and Port Klang. But none never walks into a KTM commuter station somewhere in Rawang or Bandar Tasik Selatan alone and fight with the enormous crowds who are already waiting agitatedly for their train.

And I bet he never stopped at Batu 3 station to go to one of the factories down there where a taxi will never use a meter. And he’ll be ripped off RM15 from his pocket for what was supposed to be a $5 fare.

A transport minster must go to work using public transport. If he can’t do that, don’t call yourself a minister. Better call yourself a sucker.

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 03, 2010 at 11:38 am

Up there is probably the best post I’ve read all day. Go ahead, rub it in thier faces.

Bravo.

Isn’t he the guy that been hauling up people with ISA for thier own protection?? Wow, if he is, I have no such confidence in seeing anything happen…….

• Hi Paul,
    Have u hear anything about the relocating of the Tanah Merah Railway station to Singapore Woodland? Just talking to a friend in singapore that our government can consider using a MRT system that transport people from Johor Iskandar Custom to Singapore Woodlands Custom and for those who want to go KL or Penang will be able to do a transfer to another train that go on long distance. Those that do not want will get onto the the taxi or any buses and head to the places they want.

• klguy on Jul 03, 2010 at 10:26 am

i used the komukuter only once is 2001. waited for it for about 20mins. got in the sardine can just to see an indons head fill with dandruff. had to bear that for 30 mins + from kajang to KL. gosh tat was a nightmare. nowaday whever i need to go KL from Gombak, i will sure take the Putra….so far the best service in town. mayb kommuted can learn somethin frm putra. oh i know y…putra is automated….

• dickybird on Jul 03, 2010 at 5:41 pm

putra better but still a joke, look at the length of the platform and the left of the coaches?! wtf!

• Peter on Jul 03, 2010 at 11:06 am

Forget about public transport la…

Last time i remembered taking the KTM….

Old, dirty and also so packed…

I would rather drive my own car around…..

• tanos on Jul 03, 2010 at 11:23 am

WALK THE TALK – current system works, BUT people are just not doing the WALK. Check the root cause of the problem. Use P-D-C-A cycle. We’re usually good at P, but usually fail at D, and worst at C and A. If new system is needed “Do not reinvent the wheel” – copy from others that have succeeded

• BeemerFreak on Jul 03, 2010 at 11:35 am

i would really love to take the bus around town but i dont know wich goes where. There are such lack of display boards showing bus destinations and fares. worse still companies like Metro divert anywhere they like, how can we trust them to be reliable. Kong Cho Ha should start doing something before he becomes another ‘white elephant’.

• Motorist on Jul 03, 2010 at 1:17 pm

Back in the early 90’s, I was living in Three Bridges (Crawley, West Sussex) 26 miles from central London, where I worked.

I took the train into Victoria station, then by Tube to Picadilly Circus station (sometimes, bus from Victoria to Shaftesbury Avenue). Only on the few occasion will I be late into the office. Driving was totally unnecessary.

The trains leave & arrive bang on the dot. A late arrival of even 10 mins will mean apologies announcement by the station master and the train driver.

Hell, I even know of ppl living in Cambridge, who commute daily by train 50 miles to work in London.

• Motorist on Jul 03, 2010 at 1:20 pm

Oops, Crawley should not be there. That was my next lodging. Still able to commute daily into central London via good ole (now defunct) British Rail

• squawk on Jul 03, 2010 at 2:51 pm

I just hope whoever’s in this council take the politician/businessman out of their soul and put back the rational Malaysian.

I was a frequent LRT and bus user when I worked in KL but I had to start driving again since I moved out of that area. I prefer to use public transport but there were none to efficiently serve my purpose.

Here’s where you can get real-time bus arrival times on your mobile: http://www.publictransport.sg/publish/ptp/en.html

• Dear PaulTan.org and Driven,

Brilliant public transport news coverage.

Few more points that perhaps Driven were unable to conclude (due to political and sensitivity);

1) Foreign Workers’ Public Transport
    Our public transport especially the BUS and KTM are meant to cater for foreign workers such as Indons, Banglas, Nepal, Indians (from India) and etc. There are several occasion I saw these people (not all but the numbers are rising) committed a lot of criminal activities such as pick-pocketing, blackmailing (especially lone traveler), SEXUAL harassment (harassing our young aweks and amois – damn I just want to punch these people) and the list just goes on. Actually how many Malaysians really do benefited from the usage of public transport versus these foreign workers?

2) Lack of Security
    Due to the abovementioned issues, security measures and the safety of commuters will need to be beefed up by having The Police (not the Bangla or Nepal pak guard) doing foot patrol on constant (permanent) patrol on each train.

3) Increase the number of Ladies Only Train Couch (KTM)
    Out from this chaos, KTM manage to salvage the situation by providing Ladies Only Train Couch. This is definitely a good move and KTM should get more safe couch and reinforced these rules properly. As we don’t want any loose sexual-DRIVEN-predator foreign commuter to taint the only safe and civilized train couch in the industry.

4) Return the public transport management to government control (de-privatization)
    While it is good to lessen the government’s budget by promoting privatization (not crony-isation), perhaps it is a very good idea to return public transport to government controlled. As I don’t see any of these so called “private operators” (aka cronies) can actually do a proper work managing this public chaos. These greedy and incompetent operators are causing more harm than good to the public. Let go of these hopeless people and get someone that can do the job. In fact, we do have a lot of potential operators (even before Rapid KL took over) but there were denied of these responsibility. Under government controlled, everything would be made public and transparent (at least theoretically) rather than covering everything under the banner of “private company” – so everything are kept hidden under carpet.

5) Please REDUCE the OVERPRICED public transport tickets!
    For those who have been to Singapore and ride on their MRT, you’ll be surprised how damn CHEAP their public transport. You can in fact travel back and forth the whole island with only SG 8 in your pocket! For instance, if you guys are lucky enough to stay in a porch neighborhood such as TTDI, get a ride on U82 bus Rapid KL (ticket RM2), once you’ve reached KL-Sentral take Putra-LRT to KLCC (another RM 4.60 – please correct me if I’m wrong) and try to do a return trip and you’ll end up with more than RM10 per return trip. Not to mention other complication when riding the bust and Lrt. Not many people are lucky enough to stay at close distance to the main city.

Conclusion, so dear government please stop harrasing the rakyat with your excuses and start improving the public transport like, NOW.

• InGeniEuRs on Jul 04, 2010 at 12:19 am

Ya, to make sure the “Rakyat Malaysia Di Dahulukan, Pencapaian Di Ultramankan”..
      hike the price for all facilities only for FOREIGN WORKERS.. they have to pay more for the public transport that they use..

we, Malaysian must fight for our right..

• valandil on Jul 03, 2010 at 9:01 pm

just look at how people across the border make comments. CEO of SMRT also go down to ground zero and take trains all the time. This is what i call powered response.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1067236/1/.html

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jul 04, 2010 at 3:15 pm

Cannot do that….bcoz he is already given a luxury limo to commute….

• transformer on Jul 03, 2010 at 9:18 pm

those foreign worker also do those bad things at pasar malam… doesn’t anyone seen any before… especially those pasar malam near industrail areas ones…. these foreign worker hand are so itchy… they even use their body to squeeze girls… as they come in groups… no ones dares to fight them…. i guess police should roam all pasar malam…. only pasar malam….

i also notice quite a lot of photo taken of male in KTM’s women coach…. I suggest to PAINT ALL THESE COACH IN PINK! HELLO KITTY PINK TO DETER MALES ENTRY!
    can someone fwd my little suggestion…?

• apeman on Jul 03, 2010 at 11:14 pm

CORUPT!!!

• YeapyEvo on Jul 04, 2010 at 12:20 am

Fuiyoh, Penang got the highest amount of vehicles per km or road, so proud la :p.

Anyway Penang do have more motorbike, and a Honda Ex5 can travel to your destination faster than Ferrari in peak hour.

I am sure this is just a show by the gov, if improve public transport Proton sales sure drop, since Proton is the national “pride” it is not allow to fail, hence no way gov will improve public transport. It is just one way or another

• mata katak on Jul 04, 2010 at 1:31 am

hahahahahaha…..
    What a joke, Land Public Transport Commision

Whatever you called it, it is STILL A damn bloody failure.
    A failure then , now and the future becoz of those bloody cronies involved.

• SBB_CFF_FFS on Jul 04, 2010 at 2:50 am

Go to Switzerland, observe their transport system. This is how people do efficient public transportation.
    Do not even use “not enough money” as a reason, because the government has lots of money to do dump into useless projects.

• mugen on Jul 04, 2010 at 2:52 am

Dear All,

I think that the root of the problem for traffic jams, sardine packed trains and buses is because only KL and Selangor is developed. Therefore, most people from all over the country will come to these two cities to cari makan, shopping, holiday, entertainment and business meetings and so on.So its not only the roads, highway and busses and trains which is packed but the whole Klang Valley is packed. I think its time that the G should start developing other near cities like Seremban for example for work & business opputunities, places to stay & play. But this should be done with careful planning with the future in mind (We dont want another Klang Valley do we?). This is to divert all the ants (we the public people) to work, live and play in other cities besides Klang Valley. This suggestion may take like 15 – 30 years with careful planning. TQ.

• PakAbu on Jul 04, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Should I say that’s what Pak Lah tried to do with his corridors.

Actually not his idea. Some kind of a major planning called ‘National Physical Plan’ has been proposed. ( www.townplan.gov.my/english/service_dev_npp.php ) He changed it to corridors. :D

Pak Lah is such a wonderful but misunderstood leader.

:lol: :mrgreen:

• rickyll on Jul 04, 2010 at 9:03 am

The public transport systems in Malaysia are just hopeless, be it in Penang or KL. I use to travel from Penang to KL every now and then. Once I was in KL, I would park my car at the hotel and go to the various places in taxi, monorail or LRT. Normally i would stay at Vistana Hotel becasue it’s near to the Titiwangsa Terminal. I would try as far as possible to avoid going out at peak hours. Just a fortnight ago, I had the misfortune of venturing out at around 5.30 pm and the monorail I took was jam packed. I over heard a Englishman telling his son, “Poor Asian”, that sort of summed up what a generalisation foreigners have on our country’s transport system.

• xavier lert on Jul 04, 2010 at 11:25 am

let them ride it and the’ll know it….

• ah long2 on Jul 04, 2010 at 1:34 pm

Until the project is completed than only i’ll believe these guys.
    All talk will get you no-where. Remember the rail electrification project ?
    It’s still on going untill today!.
    And even if its ready i doubt its CF standards. ie. Trengganu Stadium Roof,
    High Court leak – here leak- there workmanship and lastly,
    since this is a major project so expect major cost over-runs too. ie Istana.
    Bring back the good old Bas Mini (BMW)
    Why did they scrape it when it was working so well.
    Run privately ,they were the most efficient mode of transport
    -masuk masuk dalam dalam !!!
    Current consortium type- no one is motivated to work – not comission based.
    Work hard / lepak oso get same salary
    Until then good luck !!

• This sort of thing, no need to even announce. Just do.

It depresses me when I take public transport in other countries.

It is not difficult at all, when you think about it, as long as the objective behind it is clear: “Efficient, affordable and all-round kick-ass transportation for the people”.

I agree that MPs should take public transport, at the very least once a week. All it takes is that “Omg its Monday tomorrow, I got to take public transport waaaaaa” feeling, and hopefully finally there will be a genuine want to improve the transport system.

How to get that feeling when in a chaffeur driven car, with outriders, pushing everyone out of the way?

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jul 04, 2010 at 3:12 pm

Same shit face, same shit problems, only different day….if u look at the facts also u know, it is not related…..they are there to make money, the numbers can be altered later…….

• sranua on Jul 05, 2010 at 11:16 am

Last two weeks saw this mule car being tested on the road from Yong Peng To Segamat. Perhaps to test on its capability to basorp road imperfections and many potholes….but since JD are travelling by Camry..he don’t even realise it.

• sranua on Jul 05, 2010 at 11:17 am

Aiseh..wrong threads..sorry mods.

• What is our gov doing, took another 5 year to increase public transport to 30% only. I think it will took another 15 years to reach 70% of wold class standard. That time i am already 60years old…

• ceearkay on Jul 05, 2010 at 11:57 am

Syed Hamid is the worst person for the job. He was terrible as the Home Minister. What they need is a relatively young and dynamic person, a Idris Jala type.

• eposuer on Jul 05, 2010 at 1:40 pm

seeing his (Syed Hamid) face..i have no confident at all the public transport transformation is going to work..agree with you, we need Idris Jala type of person to head this Commission..whose really professional n doesn’t really care much about politiking..

• PakAbu on Jul 05, 2010 at 4:17 pm

I wonder why they didn’t pick Shahrir Samad? I think he’ll do a better job.

Idris Jala will not survive the heat. They’ve already put him in cold storage together with Tsu Koon. Assigned them job that sounds great but nobody really care about.

Politics, dirty. Unfortunately, necessary.

• squawk on Jul 05, 2010 at 1:26 pm

If they’re going to spend e.g. RM1b on our public transport system, just make sure it is WORTH RM1b. VALUED at RM1b doesn’t cut it as we all can guess how the values are by reading the annual Auditor-General’s report.

• MBX Boy on Jul 05, 2010 at 5:30 pm

BUILD MORE LINES! In developed countries, their railway systems look like cobwebs. Ours? One batang Port Klang, one batang Seremban. Railway IS the future! Because unlike buses, rails are free from jam and that is the reason why it can keep to its schedule. Plus, our trains need to be longer. Malu lah Malaysia! How to be MAJU like this?

• MBX Boy on Jul 05, 2010 at 5:37 pm

I used to be a KTM commuter for about a year. If you try to board the train from KL Sentral in the evening to go home, or from a packed station like Serdang to go to work, I assure you, you will have the “most wonderful” experience in your life, and all the “beautiful” characteristic of humankind will all surface for our eyes to see.
    If you try to get on the train in the evening from KL Sentral to go home, don’t get your hopes too high if you are one of the early ones! Pray hard that when the train comes, the door actually opens near you! Otherwise, u might want to wait again another 30 minutes for the next train, and again pray for the train door to be not far from you!
    Maybe I’m not sooo patient. I gave up on this KTM service quite some time ago.

• MBX Boy on Jul 05, 2010 at 5:50 pm

I believe if you can spend so much on building flyovers and unnecessary constructions, you can surely spend a bit by building more train lines and making our trains longer. Malaysia should aim towards achieving good public transport. A citizen can just walk out of home and hop onto a public transport service easily until destination point. KL will be a wonderful place to live in if this is achieved. Learn from countries with good public transport systems, I’m not gonna mention, u know which ones! If I’m not concerned and longing for change, I wouldn’ t have bothered to type so much here.

• talk like shit… u know how much Land Acquisition cost??? And how much time to solve the land issue?
      Rubbish statement..

• MBX Boy on Jul 07, 2010 at 7:41 pm

Maybe it has not come across your foul-mouth puny brain that highway construction also involves land acquisition? Furthermore most successful railways will run underground near the radius centre of the city. It’s not too much to ask considering the construction capabilities of our current government,

• MBX Boy on Jul 05, 2010 at 6:02 pm

For LRT services, politicians need to realise that EXTENDING an existing line will not help! That will only jampack the existing line further. Instead, additional lines should be constructed, whereby these lines are intersected at a central/popular destination (e.g. KLCC). With the Klang Valley population increasing at a near exponential rate, if we stay idle in regards to this issue, then we can start to call KL: Bandaraya Sesak.