Toyota Camry to be locally made, production starts in 2012

UMW Toyota Motor, distributor of Toyota vehicles in Malaysia has announced the decision of its principal Toyota Motor Corp to assemble the Toyota Camry at Assembly Services Sdn Bhd (ASSB). Currently, the Camrys sold in Malaysia are imported from Thailand.

UMWT will invest an initial RM100 million to set up production for the D-segment market leader at its plant in Shah Alam. Production will start in 2 years time, so we’ll be able to buy CKD Camrys in 2012. An educated guess indicates that this CKD assembly is likely for the next generation Toyota Camry, since the Camry has just undergone its usual 2.5 year mid-life facelift. 2 years from now would be an appropriate time to introduce a replacement.

Despite the arrival of fresher faced rivals, the ever popular Camry still records sales that rival brands envy, and with possibly keener pricing, the trend is set to continue. Facelifted late last year with sharper looks and more equipment, the Camry is available in three variants, starting from RM144,990 for the 2.0E to RM174,990 for the 2.4V. The middle spec is the 2.0G, which costs RM154,990.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kevin on Jul 14, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Hopefully they bring down the price for 5%.

• Hopefully they bring down the price for 50%.

• White Jack on Jul 14, 2010 at 6:55 pm

Price down 5%
      Quality down 20% ? :)

Which you prefer ??

• ditcherkid on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:01 pm

how sure are you that we malaysian are that ill-skilled ??

just because our local car makers gives what is less of you expectation you dun have to belittle everyone in this country you know ?

the local car makers are only the country’s car maker. it doesn’t represent the people nor the standard of the country okay ??

bet you haven’t own a CKD mercedes .

ish…

• Tiadaid on Jul 14, 2010 at 11:08 pm

Never mind. Let him belittle his countrymen. I mean, since he generalize everyone here in Malaysia like that, that means he’s also the same low quality stock!

• OpenMind on Jul 14, 2010 at 11:39 pm

There are fundamental differences in quality between CBU, CKD and local assembly. Why, because it is about the people, the way we handle and address things/work, the skill level, etc.

Technically, it should be the same in term of technical aspect of manufacturing the car but it really takes time to build up the process, improve the yield, etc. So, for a new factory, it will definitely go through the improvement process and the duration is really depending on the people handling the respective work.

Car price is somehow not directly reflected by just the manufacturing cost. If so, technically, we should have much cheaper car than Australia and US. Or, China, being the world factory should have the cheapest car.

If you do local manufacturing, you need supporting industry, because you are not going to import every single components and then assemble them locally (just like lego or Tamiya model car). You will try to source local components as much as possible (only if it is cost effective). Do we have very good supporting industries in car manufacturing ??? Ask these existing suppliers of proton, perodua and Naza. I bet you will need to have the economic of scale to be able to compete on price and also you will need to have various customers base to be able to expose to the high standard or requirement of these car manufacturing….

There are many questions, will they follow just the local spec, e.g. giving a lower quality car body painting (since it is never a big concern here by the way people are buying), cheaper lock, etc….

We should ask the actual reason why this news came out at this point of time? Why only now that Toyota make such decision? is it the quantity is good to do so now? or the bangkok situation is not getting better? Why not they just do it from indonesia?

For us as consumer, on the basis of same car with same quality, we actually dont care where it is being manufactured. This is on the fundamental that the offering is good or of good value.

• scottloeb on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:06 pm

eh, they dont build new plant for CKD Camry lah. The existing ASSB in Shah Alam is sufficient for this. They previously assemble Camry & Corolla until the greedy Thai/Jap thinks that they can squeeze more juice from Thai but Malaysian are very generous, Camry is best selling. people prefer CKD BMW rather than imported 3 series you know, but knot sure about Merc. Heard the SClass is fantastic, they flown from Germany to check on the quality.

• Alitstar on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:35 pm

What is the quality issue one needs to be concerned with? I mean compared to our driving and parking habits?

Assuming the potential buyer actually knows what is quality, I doubt it will be any lesser then the Thailand assembled cars, not with TOYOTA.

• Better dont make la like that. Spoil Toyota name

• Peter on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:54 am

Malaysia actually need to be strict in QCs….

And i guess Toyota make a right decision to let UMW do the CKD job. It will definitely allows more sales due to lower pricing . Its a win win situation for us as well.And in my opinion, i dont see a reason why UMW can’t do CKD…

There are premium cars which have semi-CKD as well…So u saying these cars are crap as well???? Nowadays, the job of CKD is mostly requires lesser labor efforts but rather more QCs….

I’m quite confident that UMW will do a good job. Who knows, if the pricing is right…Maybe i might consider one…

• alldisc on Jul 15, 2010 at 12:18 pm

it seems many of us do not know that ASSB did assemble all Corollas from
            KE30 right down to the last Corolla Altis.

It was the same thing for all previous Camrys – ALL CKD.

Now – only the current Altis and Camry are sourced from Thailand. maybe UMW hoped
            to sell Camry cheap because of AFTA thing but NO the – G wont allow them so.
            Hence the reason why they want to knocked-down the cars again and assemble here.

• arroncyl on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:07 pm

Agree with u
          :)

• you talk like you are running a car company of 200 years old. its toyota laa bro. they know how to make car and they know how to make money out of their car. they only do thing that can make more money for them. you think they so stupid just to invest like that without do study if they can make more money?

• I know that many people out there call it an “uncle” car which is boring and uninspiring.However,in day to day driving,it is comfortable,smooth,quiet and reliable.hopefully QC and price will be good with new CKD models.

• Plz stop! I don't wanna die! on Jul 14, 2010 at 6:12 pm

Really?

I drove a 2.4 Toyota Camry in Perth last year and that thing can hardly move. Even if it does get up to speed, I probably have to worry about it being able to stop. Come to think of it, maybe that’s a built in safety feature to counter the sticky pedal.

It’s more like an electrical appliance than a car. The same can be said of the Prius.

• BMALOI on Jul 14, 2010 at 10:43 pm

Do you own or hire the car in Perth? How was the maintenance of your car? or you pump ron 92 instead of 95 in the car?

Please read the latest post from paul that they have only confirmed the 2 cases which was due to the manufacturer’s faulty, others should be driver’s problem. I guess it should apply to you since the faulty is only applies to Prius and Lexus. Too bad there is none of the camry involved in the sticky pedal so far.

Good luck with your camry else I advice you to change your car as soonest. Cheers.

• It's always the driver's fault on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Of course, it is driver’s error. They bought a Toyota.

• letstorque on Jul 14, 2010 at 6:15 pm

Camry is very good for city driving. But dangerous for sprited driving around Karak highway, and even for straight highway, be extra careful when its raining or crosswind area.
      It’s so well isolated from outside, you barely know what’s the wheels are up to.by the time you lose traction, it’s too late.

• BMALOI on Jul 14, 2010 at 10:45 pm

I would suggest you check your tyres first, then alignment and your absorbers. take care.

• Alitstar on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:50 pm

Always, always spend more on good tires and understand the laws of physics. You should be able to enjoy the ride.

Unless some smart alec wants to do drifting with a Camry…

• Agreed with Letstorque, it has got nothing to do with tyres (assume that it’s already gear up with good performance spec). Camry is not good in handling compare to Accord – I’m a owner of both Accord and Camry.

• Alitstar on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:18 pm

“it has nothing to do with tyres” This is the best expert advise I’ve ever heard.

I have a Camry too, and my brother has the Accord and I have tested both. My opinion; both are the best garbage in the price range of 150k-175k for a driver person if you know what I mean. They are strictly for uncles (like me). I’ve also tested a smarter friend’s Mazda 6 and that my friends is worth the money – to me.

• Alitstar on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:37 pm

Then I must salute all the uncles for knowing what to get on value for money. Let the no so uncle suckers go for Honda, Hyundai, KIA, CHEVROLET, PEUGEOT, etc.

• why call ppl suckers when you can’t buy any of it? So what do you currently ‘sucking’?

• Alitstar on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:47 pm

Currently I suck a MINI Cooper S, Camry 2.0G and a company car BMW 320d. What about you…which car do you suck most?

You guys talk as it you gave birth to the Honda’s and Camry’s, yet can even drive or park car properly.

I bought the Camry 2.0G last year. The lane change is fantastic! Way better then the Transnasional Express Bus…

• letstorque on Jul 14, 2010 at 5:47 pm

I think Toyota should assemble Camry in Malaysia long time ago, since Malaysia is the largest passenger car market in ASEAN.

I was wondering about this long ago.
    Especially when Toyota assemble Hilux in Malaysia,considering Mitsubishi Triton, Ford Ranger (started to be imported a couple of years ago) and Nissan Navara all are imported from Thailand, and Thailand is the biggest pick up market in ASEAN.

• ditcherkid on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:04 pm

yeah, go malaysia!!!

and do bring in the FT-86 !!!!

then no more ppl buy camry all buy FT-86.. haha

• Alitstar on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:38 pm

Malaysia the largest passenger car market in Asia?

• Hilux underpower, expensive, Navara, Ranger & Triton good power deliver, CBU from Thailand, almost same peice as Hilux, Then U think for UMW really profit how much for Hilux Model.

• oec88 on Jul 14, 2010 at 5:53 pm

To be honest, I willing to pay for the price for an imported car. Thailand quality is definitely better as I just own a new Corolla Altis which is also imported from Thailand, so far no problem. Once it has become CKD, more and more complaints will pop out due to our local workmanship quality.

• White Jack on Jul 14, 2010 at 6:55 pm

Normally CKD become worse in quality. There are a few examples we can see here in Msia :)

• klguy on Jul 14, 2010 at 6:59 pm

r u saying that malaysians are not good at their work? i disagree. its the processes adapted to be blamed.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:18 pm

in the least amount of words….. Yes.

Maybe its our “tidak apa” attitude.

No amount of process and SOP is going to ever replace a good attitude….or fix a bad one.

• Ordinary Joe on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:24 am

Tak apa attitude is one thing, but its also compounded by pessimistic everything cannot attitude too…

• BMALOI on Jul 14, 2010 at 10:53 pm

1 Malaysia man….

Biasa laaa, Buatan Malaysia…. which I always tell my friends. hehehe

QC & QA should be the main focus and investment of any of the manufacturer. Without proper QC & QA, buatan malaysia will always buatan malaysia.

Consumers always care about the quality but the manufacturer just ignore. How to succeed with vision 2020 if quality also cannot control properly?

• takeo1070 on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:43 am

guys..you r such a jerk…..even stutgart and munchen hv faith in malaysian. so what is camry.what is important the quality process adopted by these manufacturer….regardless whether its in thailand,bulgaria, yugoslavia or malaysia.

• my myvi also no problem after 4 years and 100k++ km. wat are u trying to tell?

• Someone on Jul 15, 2010 at 12:33 am

The Myvi is based on a Daihatsu, which in turn is based on a Toyota anyway. The problem is with P1

• to be frank the new corolla altis is the worst buy for its price range.

Old engine, old gear box, bad styling.

No wonder it is selling less than kia forte, and any sensible person will look at mazda, mitsu or even kia for its price.

Choosing new altis shows that you know nothing about car, and you have bad taste…

Knowledge lacking is acceptable, bad taste…..is really bad…..

• Well, at least they can folk out the money to buy that. There are lotsa ‘bad taste’ car available worldwide and you just won’t believe how much people are paying to own these so-called ‘bad taste’ cars…

Btw, I ‘thumbs up’ your comments. haha.

• you are correct. we also cannot by any product oce88 since he is malaysian, by default he produce low quality products as well…. this site paultan.org also sucks, since paultan is malaysian, all his postings also rubbish.

• The Loner on Jul 14, 2010 at 5:56 pm

Please reduce the price once the vehicle is CKDed here. Too much profit margin earned by UMW.

• The car eco-system is in Thailand, most of the components need to be imported from thailand, I doubt the price will drop.

e.g. Just like in China, it is impossible for a shoe company to move their factory to a cheaper location such as vietnam or indonesia. The supply chain is in China, from leather, rubber to shoe lace and packaging company, not to mention shipping.

• ditcherkid on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:06 pm

thats what we call CKD.

we buy it from another country and built it…

• tikus on Jul 14, 2010 at 7:11 pm

Bro…I think UMW will increase the price and our rakyat will still buy it. Toyota wor..

• i seriously think greedy UMW will maintain the same price…..cost savings on tax will be added to their fat profits.

hopefully they can prove me wrong…

• alldisc on Jul 15, 2010 at 12:24 pm

all new car prices are controlled by government no matter what.

camry 2.4 without excise duties is only RM85,000. beat that!! cheaper than perdana V6!

• It’s not UMW or Honda or, whatever. It’s Malaysia’s ‘brilliant’ tax system.

• Alitstar on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:37 pm

I think the G should retain or up the briliant tax scheme. Coz, there too many cars on the road. Malaysian dont know how to drive, unable to read “IKUT KIRI JIKA TIDAK MEMOTONG and still dont know how to park a car in the box. Plus at Petrol stations, too lazy to park at the gazetted lot, just block the main entrance and passage ways, agree?

• what you said is obsolutely true Alitstar.. most malaysian still have 3rd class mentallity

• rookie on Jul 14, 2010 at 6:08 pm

cbu cars also got much problem from nowadays..
    now u wanna make em ckd..?

ha ha haaa~

toyota will sink deeper…

• Alitstar on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:43 pm

Is there any car out there, CKD, SKD, or CBU which does not have problem?

If you are refering to those recalls in US, its actually ethical practice to own up. Compare it to other Asian brands, have you heard of recalls? Nevertheless, US have their way to rescue the ever ailing CRYSLER group…

• Daamz on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:56 am

lexus last week recall their 2 model (i gues) in Msia…is it? then??? not a Asia?i don’t know…u tell me la…

• rookie on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:35 am

i know la bro..

just that this isnt a very good time for toyota lately..
        lots of recalls being made..

but now they want to ckd in malaysia..
        i just wonder about the qualities that will came out from our kilang here..

i’m not saying toyota is bad, i’m saying that ckd in malaysia is still not up to the standards..dont know why..shouldn’t some guy from (put company name here) japan will be doing the quality checking before approving anything?

ckd’ed civic also got problems here..and thats to me is strange..

u pay a premium price for imported cars but yet the quality is just..u know..
        malaysian made…;)

• zafedz on Jul 14, 2010 at 6:44 pm

Next…Lexus will be CKD…heh!heh!

• FT-86 please…

• ditcherkid on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:08 pm

ya, pump in the money UMW

then we will have a family of toyotas here in malaysia!!!!

toyota mark 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11… you name it!!!

• Lady CarCar on Jul 14, 2010 at 7:07 pm

will it be good ?

• auto-junkie-but-not-quite on Jul 14, 2010 at 7:15 pm

i heard the new Camry gonna have some strong visual lines from the Lexus 600 Hybrid!
    Hope for better engines and technology too, like 6 speed auto and turbo direct injection 2.0…or even a prius engine in the camry!

• Alitstar on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:45 pm

Yeah, and give it to Malaysian drivers to parade along KL-Seremban highway, that will be really cool noh?

Oh yes, dont forget that cool white/blue LED lights around the number plates…

• sonyman on Jul 14, 2010 at 7:31 pm

CKD in malaysia,,, increase price for camry.. you know why, we malaysia is boleh land can pay for more and get lesss, we a very generous country will pay for more and get less for the thing we pay… yeah thats the UMW way

• Wissh for the better..dual vvti..5speed auto..4airbags..

• jolly_idiot on Jul 14, 2010 at 7:49 pm

Btw, we already have our Accord CKD, so far any complaint?

• Will they be assembling the Camry here or they’re gonna produce it here ? As in each and every parts of the car will be made here.

• accordmania on Jul 14, 2010 at 8:07 pm

what? the production will starts at the end of the world – 2012

• malaysia memang boleh on Jul 14, 2010 at 8:22 pm

The Camry offered in Malaysia is not the actual camry like in the USA and japan,this car is known as Toyota aurion in Australia.

• The Loner on Jul 14, 2010 at 11:28 pm

In certain circumstances, this can be called rebadged Toyota Aurion.

• MazdAstina on Jul 14, 2010 at 8:44 pm

Any1 got pics of the new camry that will replace the current model. Thanks

• huayeang on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Becoming CKD units are not a bad news. Next generation Toyota Camry means newer and additional equipments. There is no doubt that the price is going to be reduced but the quality will definately remain the same as everyone knows that Toyota has good QC. CKD Camry will not lose compete to other D-segments models locally based on her current reputations, not only in Malaysia, but globally.

• trav_da_man on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Its a good move considered Camry is one of the best sellers for toyota here. I expect to be cheaper by 10% at least but there will be worries of QC degrading due to questionable work from local suppliers and workers.

I bet most parts and chassis will be made from Japan/Thailand but just the assembly is done in Mysia. Should save some cost. Hopefully the new Camry will offer 5-6 speed gearbox and better suspension for better handling. Not to mention looking bolder!

• KCivic on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:55 pm

Guys not sure if i will be allowed to post this rather irrelevant question here? I drive a Civic 2.0. Just wanna check with readers and those who own Civic whether 1.8 or 2.0, just a couple of months back when i happened to open my car hood, i found that the decal which says “i-VTEC DOHC” which is on the engine cover, has been “removed”. So i took to Honda Service Centre to enquire whether anyone could had removed it, the technicians and managers checked and informed me no. so i asked myself how could it had been removed or maybe it fell off, so Honda gladly replaced one for me FOC. I thought to myself that maybe someone has cut it off as the joint on the centre appeared to have been removed using a blade. After i got it fixed back, yesterday i opened the hood to refill wiper water (dunno the correct term), again that b*&#dy decal is no longer there. I sometimes allow valet to park my car at hotel or clubs, but cannot be so silly to even steal that decal, do they? Just wondering if anyone had experienced it. I now suspect that it falls off on its own even tho it is glued on cos maybe engine too hot. I called Honda, and the manager asked if i drive fast, and i replied Yes and i asked him, you mean i cannot whack the accelerator? Huh? it will fall off ?? Recently my friend bought the Accord 2.0 after contemplating the Camry. He said Accord more “garang”.

• dude is your civic n your friends accord 5k service interval?

• Dont valet park your car. I have seen many of them taking the car for a joy ride. i have seen once where 4 valet jaga took the 3 series Cabrio for a spin where they took the car to a petrol station to get some fuel. Later off again burning rubber. all these happened when i going on the same way. Im sure those owners will not know anything as they will be out of the club after 3-5 hours later. So my advice, park your car at a safe spot and have it fully locked( steering lock)

• Tiadaid on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:52 pm

Thanks for the tip. Looks like I need to change my job and be a valet at one of those exclusive places where every car driven in are supercars…hehe

• KCivic on Jul 18, 2010 at 1:35 am

mine are hotels , restaurants and nightclubs where valets are too oftern busy… Or if they mess around..it will not be my car but other supercars…thks for the advice anyways, appreciate it…

• die hard on Jul 14, 2010 at 10:01 pm

why our malaysian still have to wait CKD to offer more affordable price, we should deserve CBU quality and price like other country do.

• lorsaa on Jul 14, 2010 at 10:16 pm

i think they worry about hyundai and kia, so they need to locally made, to really bring down the price.

• vbkcheng on Jul 14, 2010 at 10:25 pm

We have to accept the facts taht Thailand made better car than Malaysia…

CKD will bring the price down to RM130K?

By looking at the sales of 10,000 unit a year, I wonder why UMW don’t CKD it early…why wait till 2012?

• alldisc on Jul 15, 2010 at 12:30 pm

doing CKD meaning bringing in assembly machines (jigs & such) which will cost many million ringgit. every car has its own unique jigs.

if UMW assemble the car now with about 2 years of showroom life, they will gain any profit – no break-even neither!!

• crazyboutcrv on Jul 14, 2010 at 10:50 pm

I think it is a good move.cheaper to make it locally perhaps and not compromising its current standard.Thumbs Up!

• gudys on Jul 14, 2010 at 10:51 pm

they are trying to counter the hyundai and kia offering, so they have to locally made ( not ckd and cbu, but made locally), in order to really bring the price down.

If they can bring it down for RM20000, then nothing can beat it. Imagine Camry at RM120,000.

But if they made it local, and did not bring down the price, then, good bye toyota.

Thank goodness we have naza.

• if realy selling rm120000 then honda will probably find their way to ckd accord in malaysia too if not the sales of accord surely drop and soon then all H n T will assembly in malaysia

• Shaycoat on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:44 am

Current Accord are assembled at Alor Gajah, Melaka plant…FYI TT

• potong1 on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:32 am

this is talking local made, not local assembled, means more parts will be made in malaysia, and probably can get tax cut, but, i might be wrong. How can Good car sell cheap in Msia?

Msia= Cheap car sell good. lol.

Good car cannot sell cheap.

• reuben how on Jul 14, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Hybrid camry would be nice….

• Zahar Zain on Jul 14, 2010 at 11:34 pm

My guess is…the Thai factory is gearing “world class” product and quality. Meaning full complement of airbags, abs, dsc, ebd and the works which unfortunately, will eat into the Malaysian distributors profit margins. Malaysian distributors still want the two airbag, watered down products to maintain the really healthy profit margins which the Thai don’t wanna build or don’t have the economies of scale to build in the future. So…kena pasang sendiri la….baru boleh maintain untung maaa…..but that’s just a theory…….

• paparadzi on Jul 14, 2010 at 11:56 pm

Plausible, but hopefully not.

• BeemerFreak on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:48 am

CORRECT, truth always hurt, but truth is truth to those toyota fans out there. You ahve been buying substandard and cheap products from thailand…….

• potong on Jul 14, 2010 at 11:59 pm

faster say good bye to our national car, and prepare to attend its funeral. ( in my day dream)

• It is all because of price and profit issue for UMW Malaysia that tied up by our country automobile policy. With Korean’s attack (aggressiveness), we will see more changes from T and H brands that hopefully will benefit the consumers, if Hyundai to bring in the Genesis with good pricing, I guess it will rock people perception comparing Korean and Japanese, especially pricing.

• Has anybody noticed the paint colour on those Japan import cars is always better than the local CKD model?

• alldisc on Jul 15, 2010 at 12:32 pm

there is no difference actually between CKD and CBU japans. they are using similar paint techniques and material.

but lokk at conti CKD and japan CKD – huge difference. just like conti CBU and japan CBU. got difference also.

• Shift out and back again, wasted money and stupid decision in the past, only think to save cost, at the same time, improve your quality TOYOTA, dun recall and recall back again, why need to CBU in the past? now CKD back again, really a stupid idea to CBU camry from Thailand, CKD and create more jobs for Malaysian, not Thai.

• udasalleh on Jul 15, 2010 at 12:53 am

One thing for sure… this should push Proton to come up with new Perdana model to compete.

• Alitstar on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:34 pm

Having said that, they are already trying to rebrand the Mistsubishi. With its bumpers replaced they plan to introduce a new Waja/Perdana…

• MangO on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:13 am

1. I doubt there will be much price drop to as TYT will maintain the stance the quality is the same. They also can’t go to low because of P1 and P2 and have to take care of other jap makes.
    2. Looking at other manufacturing sectors its a fact we can’t compete globally in terms of quality for most areas. People issue? Technolgy issue? Government issue? Regulation issue? Maybe even more factors.
    3. If you test a CKD, CBU Thai, CBU Japan car you can really feel the difference in fit and finish. Look at those grey imports where they can last many more years. If we export our locally made cars overseas… habis.

• VW_fans on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:46 am

GUYS…..GUYS have u all wonder, why now suddenly UMW wants to assemble back Camry here again. Something fishy going around the bushes???? Is like kids game, now I play, something not right, I quit, now “fren back” I play again.

• creator mind on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:44 am

it would be great to see better bhp and torque from the local assembly camry… bring in some goodies, mr. toyota… the current new sonata beat u flat in almost every angle; same car segment, which on 2.0 liter sonata generates 166 bhp. could the new camry get to this level? how abt 6 speed auto? the 300,000 km warranty? considering for 6 airbags? hopefully no recalls from local assembly cars, or that would seriously damage further ur already tarnished world image.

• I can’t recall when the last time the car manufacturer lower thier car price due to the process change from CBU to CKD. Also, cheaper new model from previous generation.
    What I see , they will kitted up the spec and sell with the same price or higher ( normally for new model).
    Why?
    If they lower the price this will effect the 2nd hand value for the current owner. I am pretty
    sure they will not provoke those loyal auntie and uncle further more those towkey who change car every 3 years……

Those who are dreaming for cheaper Camry……dream on!

• potong on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:27 am

who are u to tell us to dream on?

you’re without dream, without future, now get back to work. and continue driving your piece of junk

• wan_knox on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:49 am

perhaps the price for 2.4V will be around Rm140K :p..

• New Hyundai Fan on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:39 am

Camry & Altis were assembled in Shah Alam plant before & stopped when the current generation released. I think the reason of assemble back Camry here is because the quality has been improved in these 2 years. Price definitely won’t go down if you compared the price before & after they stopped assembling the 2 models here. e.g: Altis 1.8G was priced at ~120K in previous generation & now the current generation is still selling at 118K.

• gavin on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:45 am

“Kuah said its Toyota Vios sub-compact sedan was now being assembled with 40% local content and the company planned to increase this to 50% in the next-generation model.”

people only will hear what they want to hear, Vios already 40% local assembly but i haven’t heard anyone complaining about it also.

• Jimmy on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:22 am

So now they can get extra RM20 000 profit and people in Malaysia (bodohland, not bolehland) will still buy it. UMW, you have NO need to reduce the price.

• saham naik on Jul 15, 2010 at 12:04 pm

Reason why Toyota is parking some $$ here is b’cos of
    the Govt incentives to encourage manufacturers of 1.8 cc and above
    to set up their plants here..
    Hopefully we would get more choices and more affordable cars.
    Its a shame that it only applies to 1.8 only -remember Berjaya group
    wanted to assemble BYD electric cars here but rejected.
    :)

• Sparc on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:08 pm

Toyota Camry is one of the reliable car available in the market. No doubt most of the customer age more than 40. How many youngster afford to get a Toyota camry in malaysia? Most of the 20s will target Vios, 30s will target Altis. So I don’t agree is consider as uncle car, just that some of us may not afford to buy it yet.

And yet, is equipped with some or advance technology in terms of safety and performance wise. Well, I don’t owned a Toyota Camry, but the “Toyota” name will give me certain confidence level that the car is reliable.

Out of millions of car, it may some of us have a bad experience with the car. It may be cause of the QC check not done properly or the suppliers may be at fault. So it is unfair that we blame the whole production line and the brand name just because of few cars got problem out of millions.

And well, most of the electronics gadget that equipped with the car are not fully tested yet. As you can see, most of the problem is due to electrical failure.

The latest introduced technology that also followed by other manufacturer, eg. drive by wire, sensors, electronic injection, etc. How long they develop the technology and test it ? As the electronic thingy will not give you any notice before it fails.

Back to the subject, I still think Toyota Camry is a good car. For sure I will go and get one, hopefully before age of 40s.

• camry is a great. Dad has one, n for long hours its comfortable n fast enough. space is good n it feel smooth n nice.

what sucks is UMW Toyota.

• Alitstar on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:29 pm

I know what you mean, ‘Service Appointment’ Yes? That the trade off when we get popular car (product). The same was with Proton once upon a time.

• edifice on Jul 15, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Yes.Camry is good car

I drive the 2.4V . But I think for such price, it should have navigation system & better sound system . Rear seat is too upright for my taste…front seats are good.

Comfort , high speed cruising and low NVH are strong point. This car is good for highways. 140km/h @ 2900+ rpm

Looking forward for 2012 model

• MarchLover on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:22 pm

Why don’t make Camry Hybrid in Malaysia? Sale of Camry Hybrid in Thailand already surpassed non-hybrid model after TMT (Toyota Motor Thailand) extended warranty of battery from 5 years to 10 years with unlimited mileage for the first 5 years.

Second hybrid car, Prius, is coming. TMT planned to launch Thai made Prius end of this year at Thailand Motor Expo 2010 event after Thai government, TMT and local Thai auto parts manufacturers agreed upon the reduced import tax for 10 Prius parts which not yet able to be manufactured by local Thai suppliers.

TMT will also launch Altis MC next month with dual VVT-i in all models except CNG and Super CVT-i 7 speed gate-type with sequential in 1.8 and 2.0 model. We’d like TMT to put CVT in 1.6 model too.

• So u’r salesman toyota from thai???

• alldisc on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:57 am

camry hybrid is using 2.4 engine and doesnt enjoy the tax free status required in malaysia (below 2.0 only) so no point bringing them in. the price will be sumthing like 200K then.

indonesia has just launched the Altis MC but sadly its using same 4 speed gearbox (read toyota motto : if it aint broken, dont fix it). UMW is deciding to remove the altis 1.6 from its line-up in malaysia due to super low demand and stiff competitors from naza, peuogeot, chevrolet, nissan, mistubishi, mazda, ford and nissan. last time compete with Honda only. now kenot tahan!

• peterchin on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:34 pm

the now RM145000 variant should then be RM120000/- to be same as world market value.

• Honda Civic on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:00 pm

whatever!!honda still the best!!

• Alitstar on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:39 pm

To you may be.

Apparently you have not sat in a BMW, Merc, Peugeot, LEXUS, MarX, Fiat, Audi, VW, just to name a few.

I test drove the Honda Accord up about 200kph. I think its garbage. I also took the Camry down south at 200kph, both cars lane change performed much better than the Transnasional express bus.

• Toyota try to sale camry at low prices becoz they want to counter up coming New Perdana…

• alldisc on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:59 am

will the G allow that? no my friend. camry prices has remained the same since the past 10 years.

Camry 2.2 GX in 1999 – 160K
      Camry 2.0E in 2003 – 140K
      Camry 2.4V in 2003 – 170K

see any difference now?

• john doe on Jul 17, 2010 at 3:43 pm

wat kind of dumbass compares a Camry with a Potong Perdana…..hahaha…….joke of the day…..

• Alitstar on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:22 pm

I noticed there are a lot of experts here on quality. But neither had explained, defined nor elaborated what is about quality of cars that they are concerned with.

I like to learn from you.

• Alitstar on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:25 pm

Let me give an example, if you dont like the way a car handle, is that quality issue?
      Or if a car skids when you take a corner at relatively ‘high’ speed for that given corner, is that quality, safety or stupidity.

Please experts, enlighten…

• hyundai sonata much much better. don’t cheat by its brand.

• Alitstar on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:32 pm

I believe so. I was looking at the i10, Sonata and Tucson. They look great with plenty of features for the price range. But one can detect its plastic muscles and overdone lines on the facia. As for creativity, I believe both the Hyundai and Merc E Class designer must have been born the same day…

It not for the low resale value, I might have booked the Tucson.

• estima778 on Jul 19, 2010 at 11:56 pm

To Whom It May Concern I would like to make a complaint about the car (Altis) i bought 3 mths ago. Before i purchase the car there was no promotion nor free gifts so when the car ready to be collected at about a month later the company then have special promotion!! This is unfair for the buyer like me….I hope that the company will look into this matter cause we the buyer are not satisfied with it.

• New Hyundai Fan on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:04 pm

Lesson learnt: don’t buy car when there is no promotion just like don’t buy clothes when there is no sale.

• Still a fan of camry on Jul 22, 2010 at 4:02 pm

I used to own a ’97 Camry and I still think its one of the best cars in our market.

Perhaps quality is the reason production is being moved back to Malaysia. A Team Lead at one of UMWT’s service centers told me not so long ago that quality has been on a steady decrease since they moved production to Thailand. It appears that while the design is good, the parts being manufactured by Thai vendors was not up to par.

Having studied Toyota’s quality management system before, I’m surprised that something like this could happend. I guess even Toyota is prone to the “gold rush”.

• toyota men on Jul 27, 2010 at 9:51 pm

slame i keje kt pust srvis toyota slalu gk camry model tbaru ni mesti ade mslah brake disc ‘bengkok’ ..when apply brake stering vibrates..mslah len yg slalu i reper steering got squeking noise while cornering..so steering rack 2kar len..after that, while bumping absorber got squeking noise,..so, shock absorber insulator 2kar len..itu sume imported from thai..so, klu made in msia?..more better or what…wait n see j la =)..to toyota owner,slagi ade waranty cek btol2 kete u all,ad prob cpat2 pg pusat servis yg bdekatan.. =)

• Alitstar on Jul 28, 2010 at 6:46 am

Your right Toyota men, Altis & Camry have the same brake disc wapping problem, from those days.

You complain, they keep your car for two days to skim and 3 months later the problem. Complain again the replace the b/disc and 3 months later the problem comes back. And life goes like this.

• toyota men on Jul 28, 2010 at 7:55 pm

aftersales strategies from toyota or what??…dun know lah, yg i tau i have to faced this problem every week at my workplace..(~_~) !!

• secret on Dec 11, 2010 at 2:22 pm

hey hey hey!! many people guess that toyota camry kinda underpower than accord. actually, camry is better than accord. we can drive the camry on the road especially on the highway better than accord. and camry is very comfortable than accord when in driving. good equipment and specification. those like camry look up to mercedes and those like accord look up to bmw but the equipment of the accord is not well equipped as camry.

• any news on the new Camry’s spec and pictures ?