The Fast and The Furious 5 movie confirmed!

Good news for fans of the ever popular Fast & the Furious franchise. They’re making a fifth instalment of the movie that features fast cars and the glitz of the underground racing scene. The movie is reportedly being shot in Puerto Rico and Brazil and may be called ‘Fast Five.’

Returning for the shoot will be the usual bunch of racer boys including Vin Diesel, Paul Walker, Tyrese, Sung Kang (Han) as well as the introduction of Dwayne Johnson (The Rock). For some reason in my mind, I have a feeling Dwayne Johnson will be playing either a baddie in the form of a lawmaker or a ‘pimp-like’ good guy. Also judging by the line-up, the movie will be a prequel to Tokyo Drift but definitely a sequel to Fast and Furious (4th one) as there is no mention of Michelle Rodriguez.

The franchise is a successful one as you can tell, but obviously not for its engaging dialogue or award-winning acting. It was all about fast cars and even faster women. Up till now there have been an exotic variety of cars featured within all four movies, and we would be hard pressed to select the best, thus I’ll mention a few that stood out in my mind.

First and in no particular order, would be the Dodge Charger seen in the first film, that came to its demise at the end of the first film. Next up is a firm favourite among tuners, which was the Nissan Skyline GT-R a vast in most of the four films. Let us not also forget the beautifully kitted out Mazda RX-7 of Han in the movie Tokyo Drift. Han goes up in a ball of smoke along with his beautiful car.

Other noteworthy cars include the Toyota Supra Turbo which Paul Walker’s character used in most of the first film and the Mitsubishi Eclipse which had a good dose of Nox when and where it was needed. Last but not least was in the Tokyo Drift film, a perfect fusion of east meets west in the form of a 1967 Ford Mustang Fastback with an twin turbo straight six engine from a Nissan Skyline.

Where would you say each car comes if put in a list graded in terms of desirability? Do you think there are other cars that are worth mentioning? Have your say.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• jaycho on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:21 am

can’t waited for the moment it being launch…!! best of five COOL…

• michelin on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:26 am

gonna leave loads of burned rubber marks on the street, I’d say..

• F&F has done justice to street racing cars, esp the Japs. Civic-R, Skyline, Evos, etc and with a mix of Muscle Cars. But perhaps, they should feature some ‘real’ sports cars like the Ferarri, Porsche or even some exotic supercars like the Zonda, etc.

But one car that F&F should realy feature is the Ford GT.

• pomen_gtr on Jul 22, 2010 at 7:44 am

ferrari once shows up during “brian” with “toretto” testing their newly built supra….

and put to shame….:lol:

anyway..always enjoy the movie…

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 22, 2010 at 9:22 am

Do justice?

I remember seeing the green eclipse and thinking to myself. WTF…they used a non-turbo FWD base model.
      Of course, This is coming from someone who daily drives a 13 second tuned turbocharged 4WD Eclipse………

Seriously, real street racers never tart their cars up like that. All that money goes in the engine bay and for all intents and purposes, you’d want to keep as low profile as possible driving a highly modified vehicle, instead of a mobile bill board shouting
      “hey look at me” to the cops and smog police.

But it was the first in its genre, and therefor gets the props anyway. Like everything from Hollywood, everything is overly (or overtly) glamorized.

But as car movies go, the old classics are still hard to beat, like the Mini’s in the Italian Job and Steve McQeen’s Mustang Fastback in Bullit.

Interesting to see how revision 5 is.

• zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz………………….

• How do you define ‘real street racers’?

I think everyone has their own opinion on what a an ‘ideal street racing machine’ should be. If it is fully modded inside bearing low profile exterior, so be it. If they want to juice it up with NOS, so be it. If they want to smear their cars with decals, neons..well you get the picture.

Also, the culture in America is different than us over here. We don’t tend to be flashy with our racing machines. :)

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 23, 2010 at 11:30 am

Haha… we tend to be or don’t tend to be flashy?

Real street racers, be it America or everywhere else are those that are really serious about winning a race, ….regardless of whether money is involved.
          You wont race, if you think you can’t win.

You wont be “serious” if you start outfitting your car with extra weight like bodykits, big rims, hugh drag inducing wings, hugh stereo systems, neons…etc…..

Any true racer will understand. Weight kills performance.

I have no problems with NOS. I used it myself for one of my customer engine builds.

There are show car enthusiates and there are street racers. Not the same bunch. And thats how it is defined. Pretty clear cut no matter where you are…. regardless even if you drive a Yugo or BMW.

Street racers are people who actually RACE TO WIN, just not look good sitting by the wayside…..watching other people race.

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 23, 2010 at 11:39 am

During my days,

There will be one or 2 flashy ones with something to back thier looks up, but most of the case, we don’t worry about them and leave them alone. Sad thing is, its THEM who wants to play with us thinking their cars are anywhere near fast.

But when you are 5 car lenghts ahead by the 1/8 mile marker, the’d just give up and you’d get plenty of excuses.

We usually play with the V8 guys…definately a more matured and friendly bunch…Quite the different from your usual filter and exhaust modded 4 pot honda.

ahhhh..those were the days…. :D

• carlos on Jul 22, 2010 at 4:50 pm

nahh.. id say to stick with the imports and muscle.

• ericten on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:31 am

*drools*

• messi_mess on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:32 am

how about satria neo lotus in the fifth installment of f n f ..
    ;-)

• gtr blogger on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:35 am

This sounds really good!

• Ridz1 on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:41 am

GREAT!!! :-)

• Where”s the Nissan GT-R R35, Lexus LF-A, Honda HSV-GT, or the Pagani Zonda R

• Anti Proton on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:42 am

why no european cars?

• woah bile kuar nih tak sabar dah nak tgk

• leonardo on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:50 am

A Lotus Evora? It will be good for global branding.

• iverson#1 on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:51 am

hope fast and the furious 5 will be long hour to watch….more excited than the fast and the furious…!!!

• mitlanevo on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:52 am

wow, a good morning starts with this awesome news!

would love to see the veilside rx7 and the r34 from f&f2 :-)

• jules on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:58 am

Since when Golf Mk V was featured in the films?

• gaman on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:05 pm

cant wait for it..hehe..

• Cant wait for this!!!…

• Aman Shah on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:10 pm

Why dont they use Supercar like Pagani Zonda F? :p

• paultan fan on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:14 pm

maybe put a Lotus R3 Satria, Myvi or Kancil there :-)

• yeah…Myvi aka passo wannabe really looks sporty and ‘garang’ here.

• Barkcrack on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:17 pm

Pertamax!!!

No Proton Car??? No wonder

• Tiadaid on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:39 pm

Not a big fan of modded cars. In my mind, If a car is meant to go fast, then it’s designed from the outset to be able to drive fast. Given a choice of a Ferrari or one of these cars, I’d pick a Ferrari anytime

• eheng on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:44 pm

This would be fun!

• nabill on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:45 pm

this is becoming a movie to show case latest cars rather than a movie with a storyline….bt stil , cant wait !

• Continental driver on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:46 pm

Needless say much, the stock Bugatti Veyron is a Must to put in the show against heavily modded GTR.

• damn. there is no nissan gtr.

• tokmo on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:49 pm

kancils…… yeahhhhh

• speechless.. haha.. but i’m a great fan of Fast&Furious.. hv watched all, the first til the fourth and tokyo drift too.. many times! :D

• satria neo R3 lotus

• V12Kompressor on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:58 pm

Isn’t the Mustang in the FnF Tokyo Drift is powered by the SR20DET from the wrecked SIlvia?

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 22, 2010 at 9:08 am

no la bro.. from skyline, rb26dett…

• The silvia was running a skyline engine. That’s why it’s the Monalisa. Certainly not because of the graphics, I hope. haha.

• alvinthv on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:59 pm

Yeah, cannot wait the see this movie…….

• sky3727 on Jul 21, 2010 at 1:02 pm

“Let us not also forget the beautifully kitted out Mazda RX-7 of Han in the movie Tokyo Drift. Han goes up in a ball of smoke along with his beautiful car. ”

Jacob, i thought in the movie Han keep saying its a Hyundai… not RX-7… or is it not?

• orido on Jul 22, 2010 at 4:10 pm

he said Hyundai as a mock to the brand. watch and listen carefully. or you just read the wrongly put subtitle from pirated DVD?

• JustinRX-8 on Jul 21, 2010 at 1:03 pm

no Michelle Rodriguez, no see. I love to see what cars they use i but love my tough girl hottie more.

• Looking forward.

• Swift on Jul 21, 2010 at 1:10 pm

Hope they ditch the R34 and use the R35 instead.

• Vincent on Jul 21, 2010 at 1:19 pm

GTR35 vs Porsche 911 pls…

• _GHOST_ on Jul 21, 2010 at 1:28 pm

why no Ferrari?

• mokkf82 on Jul 21, 2010 at 1:59 pm

Where’s that Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution? Knocked pretty badly in Tokyo Drift.

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 22, 2010 at 9:14 am

yeah !! we want jerung this time !! (or maybe helang lebuhraya) :P

• azrai on Jul 21, 2010 at 2:10 pm

This will be the best insipration for yusof haslam son. Evolusi KL Drift 3. :-) Maybe Korean cars can make foray into Fast 5.

• Adam Johnston on Jul 21, 2010 at 2:10 pm

Paul, I thought those were your buddies!

• theanswer on Jul 21, 2010 at 3:00 pm

superb line of actors..hahaha

• Senjo on Jul 21, 2010 at 3:10 pm

No Proton Or Perodua Cars??? Hehhehehe

• louis?????

• analyzer on Jul 21, 2010 at 3:55 pm

Oh gosh, they’re milking the franchise. Kill it already!

• Partikel on Jul 21, 2010 at 4:06 pm

I would love it more they feature more european cars or exotic to the scene… Muscle cars and mod jap rockets just doesn’t cut it anymore… But heck, I will still watch it…

• confirmed already??? yearghhh… looking forward to this movie though last 2 movies from this franchise kinda disappointed me… maybe i just put too much expectation on them… they’re good but not good enough to satisfy me… XD

I wonder what’s the storyline looks like… since this movie has the collection of the franchise past actors… Paul Walker, Tyrese, Vin Diesel, Sung Kang and Ludacris… it is said Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson is playing the cop that’ll chase down O’Connor and Toretto…

I would grade the Skyline from 2F2F as the most desirable for being simple yet devil… next would be the Lancer convert Evo7 from the same movie… then go for Han’s RX7… and I think the Han’s Silvia (the Mona Lisa) that guy wreck are noteworthy too…

• Jaybond on Jul 21, 2010 at 4:28 pm

Would be great if there are also the new generation of muscle cars – souped up Ford Mustang GT500, Chevy Camaro SS & Dodge Challenger R/T.

• shawal on Jul 21, 2010 at 4:32 pm

Story has never been a strong point in this franchise and people don’t care…
    My favorite car movie has always been ‘Fast & Furious : Tokyo Drfit’ , and jackie chan’s (thunderbolt)…

“there is no mention of Michelle Rodriguez.” …she died in the fourth movie….

Anyway, Looking forward to F5 , just hope that they don’t replace actual stunts with CGI

• Vincent on Jul 21, 2010 at 5:37 pm

thunderbolt… war, last time when I was still at school time, the FTO is my dream car…

Now, after have another look, so so only..hehehe

• yea!thunderbolt!!!damn miss tat movie…the rebuild of the evo3..all mitsubishi….

• brossprocps on Jul 21, 2010 at 4:34 pm

Like. Whoaaa….The Rock is coming back…Mati keras kipas.

• drivesmag on Jul 21, 2010 at 4:35 pm

must have exo-lution :-)

• shawal on Jul 21, 2010 at 4:39 pm

I’ll have Han’s Veilside RX-7 , Han’s Silvia, and the Ford Gran Torino that belonged to the baddie in fast furious 4

• droll on Jul 21, 2010 at 4:51 pm

eh?????/ do i spy a volkswagen in the picture??? a 2 door golf gti mkvi?

• Dynamike on Jul 21, 2010 at 5:01 pm

Han’s Silvia and Sean father’s 1967 used RB26DETT……Godzilla…..sick

• Silvia S15 the monalisa but sadly.. being wrecked~

• Ill take hans rx7, vins rx7 then if possible shelby gt500 from gone in 60 seconds hehe.

• T4VR-Ralph on Jul 21, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Veilside RX-7 from TD, Supra and Dodge Charger from the first, and hopefully they include some new cars like 2010 Ford Mustang or Hyundai Genesis Coupe…

The Rock with Police-style 2010 Ford Mustang anyone??

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 22, 2010 at 9:38 am

i think the rock shud drive ford pick up truck hehehe…

• Who is that at the second from right? Ludacris?

• xavier lert on Jul 21, 2010 at 8:11 pm

legendary rx7 …

• MyFoot on Jul 21, 2010 at 8:17 pm

Mayb a heavily converted & modified Proton Juara convertible together with a pimped up Proton savvy for the girls!! Who’s with me???

• WOW. Can’t wait to watch it. Hopefully there is more High Octane burning and more extreme driving skill. F&F Rulzz!

• mizandude on Jul 21, 2010 at 8:24 pm

love the slick mustang……a real american hero :)

• Nazif19 on Jul 21, 2010 at 8:29 pm

for me skyline 2f2f was the great one..
    waiting for new legacy of skyline in diz movie..nissan gtr r-35…

• Mr. Konoha on Jul 21, 2010 at 8:36 pm

I have this trailer already…anyone?

• jaguarXJ on Jul 21, 2010 at 8:53 pm

i thought han died already in FF3.haha
    the veilslide rx-7 is a killer and the muscle cars :D

• just me on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:05 pm

i would love to see Paul Walker racing in the new nissan GTR, Vin Diesel-chevrolet camaro (bumble bee), Sung Kang (Han)-toyota FT86,

i think they should also feature the EVO 10 & lotus evora! =)

• zafedz on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:40 pm

the same things follow will go to our KL drift part 3…..ha!ha!ha!

• WinterAngeLs on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:52 pm

The mean looking Subaru Impreza in the FnF4 and the sweet looking pink Honda S2000 from FnF2. xD

• wishy on Jul 21, 2010 at 10:20 pm

yeah he was in the 2nd movie remember? thank god that “suki” girl is not in…she looks weird…and was abit annoying in the movie…btw joanna brewster was confirmed for fast five if im not mistaken…read about it at imdb…as for the cars, han’s rx7 is top in my list =D

• Lets hope that they will bring the Skyline in 2F2F, Veilside Rx7 in toky drift, and other cool cars, the best of all fast and furious together, Wooot!

• Kambing Gurun on Jul 22, 2010 at 12:09 am

Tokyo Drift is the best. The 4th one put me to sleep. 1st & 2nd ones still okay.

• org biasa on Jul 22, 2010 at 12:14 am

i want more skyline gtr!!!! :-D

• arnold on Jul 22, 2010 at 12:49 am

How about a bugatti…..it’ll be cool

• HANtu on Jul 22, 2010 at 7:46 am

Han dah mati…camne bleh idup semula?..

• watever on Jul 22, 2010 at 5:50 pm

tu la lain kali baca article tu sebelum komen. haihhhh

• review kata.. storyline cerita ni sebelum tokyo drift. so.. thats y han masih hidup… p

• Hurm is stoopid thumb down if agree on Jul 22, 2010 at 7:53 am

should feature Satria Neo limited edition with Nos…vrooooooooooooommmmmmmm

• using European can is only affordable by rich ppl only…normal ppl like us in malaysia with AP controling and sky high tax will never get to own 1…by using JDM will get to the point where F&F movie wont be spoils by rich and famous taglines…

• It’s a prequel to Tokyo drift, Han hasn’t died yet.
    There were never any “HOT” girls in FF. Vin has weird taste in girls.
    Only hot girls were the ones in Tokyo drift and none of them got any camera time more than 2 seconds.
    DODGE CHARGER THE BESTTT.

Btw, if you follow Vin on facebook, FF5 was announced unofficially and that dwayne was also brought in months ago.

• Fast & Furious should use Proton cars for low budget stunt works. As Proton chasis could be easily torn apart when flown from a ramp. But never ever use Proton during chasing scene as I’m not sure 1.6 Campro can actually chase those Muscle Cars. Hahaha.

• haha… very funny.. joke of the century. macam bagus jer bro ni.

• zaidgsr on Jul 22, 2010 at 11:30 am

a lot of lame comments tried to be funny.. proton la.. perodua la..just shut up and watch the movie if u are the fan of F&F.. if dont.. just watch disney’s

• durian on Jul 22, 2010 at 12:32 pm

come on.. dont be ‘too matured’.
      we’re just wanna have fun.
      think the unthinkable

• Thristhan on Jul 22, 2010 at 12:44 pm

This going to be so cool. The first 4 series were superb, hopefully the 5th gets better.

• Why no Honda EX5??

• razzack04 on Jul 22, 2010 at 4:38 pm

The movie is about street racing.. it’s like the movie version of Street racing games. I personally like to see more modified european makes.. not ferrari, lambo or mercs but the hot hatches, peugeot, citroen, fiat and some beemers and audi sedan too.

• carlos on Jul 22, 2010 at 5:07 pm

well.i thought that if the fifth movie.was being filmed
    in brazil then they should at least make a sixth movie leading
    up to tokyo..dont you think so?..fast n furious !!!
    yuuhhh!!

• MyFoot on Jul 22, 2010 at 7:21 pm

Kereta Lembu noz!!

• mata katak on Jul 22, 2010 at 9:16 pm

I wanna see Proton saga in the movie……

The standard gaban version…..

• Andrew on Jul 22, 2010 at 11:36 pm

Fast and Furiwhat???

Whatever, I’m sick and tired of Hollywood action movies – most of them feature action scenes that defy the law of physics.

• igormanson on Jul 23, 2010 at 7:20 am

well thats what fast anf furious is all about.nissan silvia,skyline,evo,rx7,i would love to see a rx8 and the new mustang.they had 1 on the faf4 but nobody drove it.i would love to see 1 of it been in action.eclise is welcome aswell.

• skhan1 on Jul 23, 2010 at 2:42 pm

Where would you say each car comes if put in a list graded in terms of desirability.

• jay8393 on Jul 24, 2010 at 11:48 am

I have to agree with Jacob Alexander. It’s hard to pick one car from the franchise which is my top favourite. But the Mustang Nismo (the name of the music that was played in Tokyo Drift during the Mustang’s built-up) left a significant mark in my mind as it was the first East-West automotive fusion I have ever heard of.

• Put Evo X &GTR R35 inside to the movie!!!!!!plz!!!!

• mikey on Aug 11, 2010 at 11:52 am

the car that i like is Sung Kang rx-7 bad ass
    i have a 85 rx-7 with a 350 lt1 still working
    on it cant wait thats what i want to see in
    the movie and there making it in puerto rico
    thats where im from even better

• skyLine4ever on Oct 19, 2010 at 5:04 pm

i like skyline in f&f 2…
    also han veilside rx-7 and the red evo 7 in tokyo drift….

• Need4SpeedUnderground on Nov 11, 2010 at 11:37 am

I like … I like … cant wait to see ….

• muhamad ferdi on Feb 17, 2012 at 11:58 am

amazing…..