Nissan pokes fun at German brands in new ad campaign

Nissan’s new advertising campaign is causing quite a stir, poking fun at German rivals Audi, BMW and Porsche. This was done by releasing print and poster adverts highlighting German brands flaws as compared to the 370Z and the GT-R.

Using such phrases as “The Winner Hans Down,” “The Germans Came Off Wurst,” “Kaisers Chiefed” and “Deutschland Deutschland Über-Rated,” the ad campaign was officially launched in London on a giant 360 degree 47ft IMAX billboard.

Talk about taking it to the extremes!

If you don’t think that’s enough, they’ve even scrawled statements like “More expensive, slower and less powerful than a Nissan 370Z” on an Audi TT-S. Similarly themed slogans can be seen on a Porsche Cayman as well.

Just in case you’re curious they’ve supplied the public with a spec chart comparing all the aforementioned cars, and on paper it does look like the 370Z and GT-R’s are better buys than the German equivalent. It’s also worth remembering that spec sheets can’t describe driving feel and pleasure, which can only be accomplished with a test drive.

Nevertheless Steve McLennan, Nissan UK Marketing Director, is quite pleased with his ad stating “It simply challenges the convention of German sportscars being the only benchmark for performance and quality. Nissan is confident in the ability of 370Z and GT-R to eclipse our comparable German rivals in terms of outright performance and accessibility and it’s now time to shout about it.”

Do you think Nissan has a point? An equivalent BMW Z4is M Sport costs RM598,800 as opposed to a Nissan 370Z which costs RM370,000, while the Porsche Cayman S easily reaches RM640,000.00! Have your say.

High-res pictures are also available after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1356]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• its all depend to the car owner, which brand they want, which brand they prefer, which brand they will to throw thier money into, how many money they have, but not forget the status that the car brand carry with them……

• paultan, cayman s = RM700000??

no porsche is less than 1 million RM. boxster also 950,000.

• bryan.jones on Jul 23, 2010 at 10:41 pm

boxster 950k? nolah! if i’m not mistaken, my last check was 588k.

• Paul Tan on Jul 24, 2010 at 12:32 am

Here’s the Porsche pricelist for you:

http://star-motoring.com/cars/results.asp?make=23

• Harvinder Sidhu (Member) on Jul 26, 2010 at 9:45 am

Boxster – RM498,000
          Boxster S – RM598,000
          Cayman – RM540,000
          Cayman S – RM640,000
          Cayenne – RM626,000
          Cayenne S – RM763,000
          Cayenne GTS – RM861,000
          Cayenne Turbo – RM1,135,000
          Cayenne Turbo S – RM1,350,000
          911 Carrera – RM850,000
          911 Carrera S – RM950,000
          911 Carrera Cabriolet – RM950,000
          911 Carrera S Cabriolet – RM1,050,000
          911 Carrera 4 – RM910,000
          911 Carrera 4S – RM1,010,000
          911 Carrera 4 Cabriolet – RM1,010,000
          911 Carrera 4S Cabriolet – RM1,105,000
          911 Targa 4 – RM985,000
          911 Targa 4S – RM1,085,000
          911 Turbo – RM1,392,000
          911 Turbo Cabriolet – RM1,430,000
          911 GT2 – RM1,720,000
          Panamera S – RM998,000
          Panamera 4S – RM1,118,000
          Panamera Turbo – RM1,398,000

• anonymous on Jul 24, 2010 at 11:31 am

haha.. malu..
        janganla confident.. its paultan wei!

• mr_3m_wancer on Jul 28, 2010 at 10:35 am

Hahaha…

Check your facts before commenting…

• bystander on Jul 24, 2010 at 12:59 am

there’s nothing wrong with this ads, it’s merely a “statement” that’s true being put on the TT, it didn’t say TT’s bad or wat. but i personally feel tt Audi is for luxury showoff n nissan is more of a genre of “the fast n furious” baddie image in US, depends on wat type of gal u’re aiming…

• Jaybond on Jul 23, 2010 at 2:42 pm

German premium/sports cars are certainly overpriced!

• Rauff on Jul 26, 2010 at 2:46 pm

In Malaysia yes…. blame the voted government. :P

• KOROK_MU on Jul 26, 2010 at 6:54 pm

then pay more individual taxes la kid.or migtrate to AUS n pay 40 perc of yr income to the state.Wuteva!!

• ko malu saje... on Jul 23, 2010 at 2:47 pm

why compare an Ah Lian to a sophisticated woman? of course the sophisticated one carries a higher price.

• Vincent on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:47 pm

hahah,

Ah Lian might be more agreesive in bed but not ready can bring to highclass social party right….

It goes the same as the car…In boleh land, you drive porsche to Bangsa is diff compare with driving a Fairlady rights?

And on highway, when loss to fairlady…you can still proufly tell your friend that, my life is more valuable…so I don’t play play with those Ah Beng fairlady…

Hahhahah…end of the day, still the branding playing the part…

• rhys millen on Jul 23, 2010 at 9:24 pm

Now think about it …………
      Which mamasan makes more money ???
      Mamasan of the Ah lian or Mamasan of the sophisticated woman …

• Hairy Ford on Jul 26, 2010 at 10:40 am

The point of the ad is you can get 3 Ah Lians for the price of 1 Heidi and the Ah Lians are still better in bed and more responsive to your commands than plump Heidi. Also the 3 Ah Lians are cheaper to maintain than 1 Heidi.

• Trinity on Jul 23, 2010 at 2:48 pm

Is it legal to name and compare your competitor’s model directly?

• it seems to be the case in European countries and USA to a certain extent..

• pomen_gtr on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:45 pm

i don’t think its legal…(in malaysia AFAIK)

but not sure on the other country or japan where nissan originate from…

• Vincent on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:49 pm

May be not in bolehland….

But in oversea, open market and you can tell the true as long as it is true with facts support.

Before ths drama… Nissan do put up an ad in Euro, mentioned how many time their car beat (taupau) BMW and porsche…

End up, porsche sue Nissan….

Reason been, Nissan is using the logo of porsche, a trademark with did not get approval from the trademark owner…hehehhh

• Trinity on Jul 23, 2010 at 7:31 pm

haha yeah, i can imagine their legal department gets cracking on possible ways to sue.

• aldan niksic on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:50 pm

illegal in msia..but not in europe..US is more open, no need to say brand A, brand B like carrefour and tesco or maxis n digi always done here..

• karim on Jul 23, 2010 at 5:04 pm

in more advance countries, it’s permitted as long it’s the truth… otherwise, they will get sued…

• Not for our beloved country,Malaysia.

• raybrig85 on Jul 23, 2010 at 7:01 pm

they are not like malaysia…its open

• the principle is…..well, dont poke fun at other people. be profesional & earn the respect you deserve if u think u deserve it in the first place…shame on u nissan!

• nighttrain on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:26 pm

the ad was probably directed at the general public.. motorheads, of course no need to tell maa.. some like nissan do it directly, while others indirectly by well, using the competitors corporate colours as the lesser brand X. its all the same with these ad people. As long as it’s the truth, of course, go ahead. One guy who collected a million bottlecaps actually asked for his fighter jet from Coca Cola, I think some years back. As long as you don’t cross the misrepresentation boundaries, Nissan’s okay in my book. Probably that’s why they only compare the spec sheets, not the finer(luxury & workmanship) details

• Thomanic on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:38 pm

Audi and BMW also constantly poking fun at each other until it becomes some kind of competition!…..and Audi also make fun of Merc and Lexus in one of their transporter ads and many more. While i dun think this kind of advertisement material works in Malaysia, it works fairy well in United States.

• Vincent on Jul 23, 2010 at 6:43 pm

I remember years ago, there is an add sound like this:

Brand A advertise to congrate Brand B for getting best car of the year for Europe region. Then put there, from best car of the year worldwide..

Then Brand B congrate Brand A for best car of the year worldwide for year 200X, from best car of the world 200X, 200Y, 200Z…

trying very hard to show who is the best…

• Vincent on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:51 pm

This Nissan boy just want to gain attention lar….

Before this, we do not know the facts of the power Nissan has vs those European car right?

Nissan is very agreesive now..in their marketing ….

• fruit on Jul 23, 2010 at 5:31 pm

Shame on you KK!

• squawk on Jul 23, 2010 at 6:18 pm

If the Koreans come out with a 370Z killer and advertises it this way, they can’t say anything about it. :-)

• dickybird on Jul 23, 2010 at 6:57 pm

hey ! audi did it to bmw with their “Joy is overrated” ad campaign here.

• sudah potong?

• Pay for the name not the specs.

• Peter on Jul 23, 2010 at 2:58 pm

In Malaysia, if you apply this to proton, you’d probably in jail by now. The BN gov’t will apply Sedition Act, ISA, Publishing Act ….. etc. bla bla bla ….. to save their face .

• Tiadaid on Jul 23, 2010 at 2:59 pm

Those ads miss the point. People don’t buy fast cars based on the specs alone, they factor in the brand name too! Having a BMW or an Audi means that you’ve made it, you’re successful in your own way. Nobody buys a Nissan to show that they’ve made something of themselves. They’re paying for the image.

• Steven on Jul 23, 2010 at 6:59 pm

You are very true. But if we always say 1 is better than the other just because of the name when is the lower brand going to be able to be fairly compared to the bigger brand. Just because the brand sounds or show that you are successful does not mean that you have a better car. Is the more expansive Porsche better than the GTR, some say yes because it is more complete but that is only because the car has essentially been in development for over 30 years. How is an underdog gona compete or be better than the top dog if we dont allow it to. The only difference for me is the mind set. Its like eating nasi lemak at the hotel or at a mamak. The mamak I know has arguably the best one around but many wont eat ther because its a mamak. ITS ALL IN THE MIND!!

• Seriously on Jul 26, 2010 at 9:21 am

*likes this*

• Tezza on Aug 01, 2010 at 12:55 pm

I would think that all this argurment keep crossing here is just as simple as the fact that The nissan products haven’t been able to clearly outrunned their higher branding image rivals in most aspect..more often than not, they are just on par with the german’s and or specifically to say that both sides have their High and Low criterias in most examining..therefore only if the jdm have the consistent superior abilities to win over german rivals in exterior,refinement,technolgy etc to a greater extent where they are on now..citing korean stories would be perfectly enclosed the fact in a purest form..Simply put,it’s all about the ‘abilitity” that matters to the fullest…

• Scottloeb on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:05 pm

From whichever angle yo look at it, the 370Z is still a Nissan. Car from the same company that produce Sentra, Micra/March and Qashqai. On the other hand, The Audi TT have Q7/5, A6, A8 & R8. Which one will have better recognition (even if its overated)? How about having Casio instead of Tag Heuer? Both tell time precisely (up to 1/1000th)?

• dickybird on Jul 23, 2010 at 7:02 pm

i would still prefer my casio protrek with compass, altimeter and barometer at a fraction of the price of a Tag which just tells the time, coz it is about preference.
      of course, heritage and history of the brand comes into it, so i would still plonk for a 911 since it is a modern classic eventhough the GTR is also a great performance, she just isnt as pretty or stir the same emotions! to each their own!

• BMW Z4 and Audi TT are no where near 370Z but for the Cayman S, the 370Z is still very far off. Search for Top Gears test review, the answers will be review.

Whereas for the 911 Turbo and GTR, they are still quite neck to neck, It all depends on what you want. For show-off then buy a 911 but if you are young better buy a GTR, if not all the SYT will think you are an old man.

• Steven on Jul 30, 2010 at 1:03 pm

well said dicky…i still wud buy a porche over a gtr….but wud love a gtr for the long sunday drives on B-roads…both r AMAZING cars but just that one is very focus like sum 1 mentioned earlier like a 2f2f n the other is a sophisticated gentleman’s fast car…

• casio vs tag heuer. this is the analogy i’ve been looking for.

the casio might have more function, more reliable, more accurate, and very much cheaper; but if you really LIKE watches (not for functionality like time keeping), and CAN AFFORD it, you are going to get those ridiculously over priced Swiss watches.

the nissan might have more power, lap the ring faster, more reliable, and much cheaper; but if you really LIKE cars (not for functionality like going to work), and CAN AFFORD it, you are going to get those ridiculously over priced German or Italian.

• In 50 years time, do you honestly believe the Porsche brand will have better recognition than Nissan?

• daniel on Jul 24, 2010 at 7:06 pm

Datsun….Sorry typo error, Nissan produced Infinity Q45…

• Honda Civic on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:08 pm

Audi fan boys inside this blog is going to go rage tonight after they see this post !

• raybrig85 on Jul 23, 2010 at 7:05 pm

nah..it is normal though for the marketing purposes…maybe u gonna rage if nissan did it to your honda civic

• Honda Civic on Jul 23, 2010 at 11:26 pm

I dont mind though…If my honda civic is more expensive than a nissan 370z .

• Crasher on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:19 pm

The German carmakers brands are already an luxury, of course it’s more expensive…

Besides, TT is better looking than a 370Z

• dickybird on Jul 23, 2010 at 7:07 pm

subjective! when the new tt came out, it looked to me like a ford focus knock off ler.

• scgtimk1 on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:22 pm

“Less expensive, faster and more powerful than an Audi TT-S”

but it is still a Nissan….

• i think they got the point.. so may be this is the new way to say that u r the best.. LOL
    same like our telco service ads.. but they just use others competitor color to represent them… very brave one.. just my POV..

• This is all because of brand name….. lets say if one day Proton come out with a powerful sports car to compete with mercedes and have much lower price, which will you choose? mercedes rite?

• dickybird on Jul 24, 2010 at 4:34 pm

haha! the way proton builds cars they will be out of biz before even get to building sports cars. even their lotus cars are not selling well.

• T4VR-Ralph on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:42 pm

Audi and BMW always poke at each other, remember the Audi and BMW billboards..?

Now Nissan just want to join them to poke each other, does that make Nissan wrong?

Unlike bolehland, direct comparing is widely seen at other part of the world. Besides this Nissan advert, the BMW vs. Audi advert, i remember there is an advert in taiwan states that “Proton Savvy is better than Toyota Vios” :-p

• razee_hussin on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:43 pm

well guys…if u wanna know..nissan is not the first company who did that..in fact the germans did that before between audi and bmw…where they advertisements poke at each others.

• raybrig85 on Jul 23, 2010 at 7:08 pm

theres so many adverts like this..like in australia where ford did the same thing to toyota..so its not a new thing..it is normal..

• tikus on Jul 26, 2010 at 6:14 pm

Bolehland law tak boleh lar.

• Steven on Jul 30, 2010 at 1:06 pm

yup..love the add by audi comparing the other german brands to them n then putting the the key rings ovelaping each other to make d audi logo….

• nabill on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:44 pm

‘The Germans Came Off Wurst’ , this is the best !

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:45 pm

….to keep it simple.

a 370Z is a Nissan. A Z4 is a BMW, and a Caymen is a Porsche

To some, that might be important enought to pay more.

If it was as simple as that. Why would Nissan come out with the Infiniti brand?

BTW, people so quickly forget Audi and BMW poking fun at each other not too long ago?

• Why Pay More...... on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:45 pm

Its sales marketing and strategy,like giant nike vs adidas,pepsi vs cola……and in Malaysia,Tesco VS Giant in Kinrara,have u seen the ads??…….Always fight and compare…Everyone compare,from buying a handphone to buying a car…No big deal….Good for consumer,an alternative,more choices and the possiblility….Nissan do have a point….Maybe those who are going to buy Porsche/TT might think twice,will i be smoke by GT-R in Autobahn? In the end,still up to the buyer……

• Trinity on Jul 23, 2010 at 7:36 pm

yup, being daring might pays..people might start to notice this car manufacturer from asia that dares to take on the mighty germans.

• blackjkx on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:48 pm

I dont know, i think the fair and genuine comment&feedback about this add shall come only from germans.We have different mindset rite here in m’sia shore.

• dickybird on Jul 23, 2010 at 7:16 pm

yes, ppl here are a bit thin skinned, sikit sikit poke fun pun mahu lawan, mau amok sudah. this kind of mentality we must change lo!

• What are you commentors on about? Last time when Audi and BMW were having their ‘Car of the Year’ advertising battle, the public loved it!

Then recently, there was the fun Mini USA vs Porsche USA challenge which was pretty funny too. Then when Porsche USA turned down the offer, Hyundai USA had the guts to step up and offer a counter-challenge to Mini USA.

About time a non-European brand like Nissan got on this kind of exciting advertising war. Whoever wins, the public benefits most.

• yes, to them it’s the everyday way of life, and as long as correct facts they are good healthy competitions and having nissan start basking in their continents is more than refreshing ;)

• alldisc on Jul 25, 2010 at 12:11 am

i second you. besides, at the same time it makes our consumers think – which many malaysian dont. 90% of car buyers buy because of branding and image. pricing comes second.

example cherry cars – all their models didnt sell well even though they were relatively cheap. but the eastar MPV is doing good. by having our people think, they will come to be a better decision maker.

• Well, it is not conventional … but just take this as another dimension of comparison you find in most of the car magazines. To me, these guys are giants in the car industry, they shall live up to this kind of comments and challenges! Nothing to shame about, it is an open market style of marketing. It is good, we will see more consumers response and paradigm shift..may be!

• The Black Stig on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:50 pm

My respect to Nissan for their engineering and performance achievements, but the compliments stop there.

The Germans will only have one thing to say…

Nissan = Datsun

:)

• gangully on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:54 pm

this is something that the german brands have done previously against each other…

i remember there used to be an old advert during the times of the e46 3 series. Three cars race towards a cliff, a 3 series, C class and A4. at the same points, all of them braked (which we could see by all brake lights coming on at the same time). the C class flies off the cliff, the BMW stops slightly too late and hangs at the precipice of the cliff and the A4 way before the cliff.

so, it is fair game… since the germans have used it against each other… why not someone else use it against them collectively?

• longjaafar on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:54 pm

The Nissans beat all of them of them hands down. But then, the Malaysian market buys cars based on emotion rather than cold hard specs. Some even cannot tell the difference between torque and bhp, and yet pay hundreds of thousands for their ride. It really is a kiasu and uninformed market, and that’s why they pay a premium for nothing. The euro has tumbled by more than 20% and yet continental cars are still sold at a premium, and the local agents and assemblers find no reason to adjust prices downwards because demand is still strong from these buyers.

• bobdbilder on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:54 pm

They can’t sue you if you’re telling the truth. Well they actually can but you’ll lose the case anyway. It actually says a lot about German auto industry. This getting more and more like a case study of American Autos vs Japanese. It was Guzzlers against Efficiency. It happened in the 70’s with the Oil crisis. Now its the EU’s turn after the Greek Shakedown. History repeating itself. When disposable income is on everybody’s mind, selling the Cheap and Cheerful is always a good bet.

• but they can sue for including their products and brands in the ads though..

• budzer on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:57 pm

I think the germans just deserve it. Very well nissan.

• bobdbilder on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:02 pm

I’d just put the pieces together. Nice marketing by ETCM just on the verge of revealing the Teana? Wouldn’t have thought about it if I didn’t see previous posting.

• Aiyoooooooooooooooooooooooooooo, read properly lah.

It’s not by ETCM for Malaysia, it’s by Nissan UK for Europe

• this is similar to the ads in US whereby AUDI and BMW competing each other on their billboard.

• Shame on Nissan about this

• anthony on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:18 pm

wow

• Korean on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:21 pm

The effect of INFERIOR COMPLEX.

• Thinkfirst on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Agree with KK. Nissan design is not as great as the Germans. They should earn the respect themselves. Bad move for Nissan.

• trav_da_man on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:38 pm

This is automotive marketing at a level where there is no more respect and integrity! Bold but dangerous as well.

• Miheo on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:49 pm

Spec wise they maybe comparable.. but I think in today’s world both brands would reflect the type of buyer that they would attract. Someone who truly likes performance cars for what they are would probably choose the Nissan over the Porsche.. for those who just have the money to buy an expensive car and want to show off… the Porsche would be the most likely choice. Just 2 cents… although i got to say those imported japanese sport models turn my head each time and I can’t remember doing the same for a porshe/merc/bmw. ^^

• Chilavert on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:53 pm

another classic coca-cola vs pepsi war ?
    wow good entertainment for us.

• mystvearn on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Reminds me of the Audi vs BMW adverts not too long ago.

• lchan on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:56 pm

i think the 370z is a very beautiful car. Sure the 370Z maybe more power, but power per litre of this nissan model is abit pathetic. Every true sports car should be putting close to 100hp per litre.

• If nissan has remained a totally japanese company as opposed of being owned by Renault, such publicity compaign would be unthinkable to japanese culture. Just look at all the ads by Nissan prior to Renault ownership and you will know what I mean. KIA used to adopt a similar strategy by poking fun at established european marques, looks like the gwailos who used to worked in KIA’s marketing dept has moved on to Nissan now.

• Anti Proton on Jul 23, 2010 at 5:07 pm

audi tt has the best interior

• pultat on Jul 23, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Some people can only look good by putting other people down…that’s what Nissan is doing.

• P1_supercar on Jul 23, 2010 at 5:20 pm

No lah… both r wrong… P1 is d best in d world no one can challenge maa… where can got F1 lotus tuned road legal sport car just over 100 k… only got 25 limited edition some more… where got else where hahaha

PS: just my decent oppinion ;P

• dickybird on Jul 23, 2010 at 7:22 pm

i sokong! p1 will tapau all those audi and nissan when it comes to price!

• alldisc on Jul 25, 2010 at 12:16 am

again, dont forget – not one company dares to poke or making fun of proton cars. not in malaysia.

different case with jeremy clarkson though….

• klguy on Jul 23, 2010 at 5:20 pm

sounds like nissan is desperate. like how a certain political party in an island in a country try to bring down the state govt. hehe

• dickybird on Jul 24, 2010 at 4:47 pm

i thought this certain political party that gave birth to our thoroughly horrid first national carmaker is trying bring down all state govts that they dont control. whatever it is, they sure make lousy cars!

• donadoni on Jul 23, 2010 at 5:24 pm

hail the japs!

• bold move but nonetheless, brands are what the customers are after. not the product.
    being a consumer, its always a different feel sitting behind a Porsche or Audi brand instead of a Nissan brand.

pricing and product is not king, brand is

• Kelvin on Jul 23, 2010 at 5:46 pm

It is cheaper yeah, but insurance is higher on the 370Z to the tune of 800 euros more annually compared to the Audi TT S.

• 388900wow on Jul 23, 2010 at 8:45 pm

when u can buy this car.. why u still care for the insurance price? if so..u better dun but one, bcos, u will have no spare money to change the tire or watsoever~

• alldisc on Jul 25, 2010 at 12:22 am

insurance rating are very different in the western countries. premiums are not only calculated on values but there are loadings imposed on whether the car is popular for thefts, have good security system and whether the car is recording high accident rates involving yound drivers and the likes.
      example a car with immobiliser and rolling code will have a lower risk and thus lower premiums than a car without an alarm system.

in bolehland, its strictly based on a car’s current value over the next 12 month period.

• Tiadaid on Jul 25, 2010 at 5:15 pm

Which makes insurance much cheaper…I mean, look at Top Gear’s attempt at trying to get a car for teenagers. The insurance costs more than the car!

• momocultus on Jul 26, 2010 at 2:21 pm

what are you trying to imply here ? if the white eat their own shit also u will complaint in boleh land u cant eat shit..

grow up asshole

• karnine on Jul 27, 2010 at 7:20 pm

hahaha..check fact before write..
        do you know the insurance in west country is about 1/10 of your car value??

• venven81 on Jul 23, 2010 at 5:53 pm

well no doubt performance wise the Jappie can beat ze German but talking about built quality and design, personally i still prefer ze German. after all, it’s the whole package that matters. end of the day, it all boils down to the individual what he really wants; performance or enjoyment in a more refined machine.

• budzer on Jul 23, 2010 at 5:54 pm

well, germans are not the best anymore, even an octopus knows that.

• audi also did poke ferrari with their r8 v10 cruises through maranello, italy…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B_h1Lnwk8qI

• tokmoh on Jul 23, 2010 at 7:00 pm

Hitler rages about his GT-R’s transmission:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOAXJTTc__w

Heh, like the Germans could care less. They’ll still be laughing their way to banks while the Datsun will only be driven by weaboos.

• Just came from Berlin last month, there’re more Ferrari, Lamborghini, Volkswagen, Bmw, Mercedes, Alfa, Peugeot, Citroen and Porsche driven by junior executives over there and even fresh graduates. Not even one Protong in sight! These people even having small salary can drive these magnificent and cheap cars. In Malaysia, Protong is a crap forcibly to be driven by our executives workers when they can actually afford better quality and efficient cars (many thanks to overdose protectionism on Protong and lousy AP system). Import car makers are utmost welcome to do similar advertisement in Malaysia. I can give them free ideas, “try to wind down-wind up the power window contest”. Let’s see which one works! Kah kah kah.

• Lai Xiang Ning on Jul 24, 2010 at 4:10 am

yawnsss….

• autojohndoe on Jul 26, 2010 at 1:04 am

ONE FREAKIN LIAR….

First, you have a peoblematic waja…
        then, you have a peoblematic persona…
        Then, having a mitsubishi grandis…

all this story came within this year…

suddenly, in berlin… Kah kah kah…

• jamal on Jul 23, 2010 at 7:54 pm

the ads are for me just for entertainment really. i dont think it would affect the choices of people buying rm300k +++ price cars. maybe will effect like less than 5% la. you can influence people from advertisement to buy magee or kfc but not rm300k++ cars.

• rhys millen on Jul 23, 2010 at 9:38 pm

You’re right .. only the advertising agency benefits as they will use it for their next advertising client pitch…. The ad will only get more notice between the two brand but no effect to their sales volume as they will not cannibalize each other.
      If the germans react it would mean that they think Nissan is a threat and bring them on equal grounds .. if they don’t react Nissan would just rejoyce among themselves…. but Germans being Germans .. ego cannot take this kind of association / “insult” by a race which is viewed as more inferior so you will likely see some sort of response coming.

• theanswer on Jul 23, 2010 at 7:57 pm

why worry if nissan feels that their cars are good enuff to compete with conti.

• Campaign not strong enough. A bit hard sell.

You would tell people “I have a Porsche” but you seldom hear people said “I have a Nissan”
    And if you are really filthy rich, you will have none, instead have a helicopter or a jet plane.

• squawk on Jul 24, 2010 at 4:56 pm

You won’t say “I have a Nissan”. You would say “I have a 370Z”.

• …And most people would not admit they own a Protong (at least once in a lifetime). Haha.

• autojohndoe on Jul 26, 2010 at 1:06 am

have you write a book with title:

BROKEN POWER WINDOW: A TRUE STORY

as i suggested to you?

• Tiadaid on Jul 27, 2010 at 5:27 pm

I have had 3 Protons before, and none of them are as problematic as my HONDA! There, I’ve said it!

• its still a datsun

• Well, do you remember what made in japan means now…its the second larget economy in the world and larger than germany…recognise that brands and people improve and progress …unlike proton…same like wise Germans was barbarian and Romans (Italians) civilised them…and now compare italy and germany…so think…

• 388900wow on Jul 23, 2010 at 8:49 pm

nissan sure a nice car~

only problem is our local dealer TC is like old fold doing the biz here~~
    damn freaking boring for a nissan here!!

• Archtung on Jul 23, 2010 at 9:14 pm

it’s time Japanese invade German and Italy.

World War2 whoever is stronger win.

• Tomas on Jul 27, 2010 at 12:45 am

World War 2 already happened. Go buy a history book please.. Read it..
      and come back.

• Average Joe on Jul 23, 2010 at 9:15 pm

For the price of a Terrace house in Bangsar you can buy a triple story bungalow anywhere in Negeri Sembilan, Kedah etc. You pay a premium for the brand name, it an accepted societal norm. The smaller brands will challenge that but given the chance they would price their products exactly the same as those brands they are condemning.

• Yoong Tofu on Jul 23, 2010 at 9:42 pm

i want to drive Nissan GT-R before i meet my maker.

• alldisc on Jul 25, 2010 at 12:26 am

go to naza world for window shopping and you’ll be able to test a GTR – provided theres one in stock.

dont forget to test Naza Forza too! give face to Naza lah!!

• Gajen on Jul 23, 2010 at 10:28 pm

silly move by nissan…they shouldnt have done this,very degrading and immature…just like hyundai making fun of lexus…rivals should be respected

• Tomas on Jul 27, 2010 at 12:44 am

At last, I see some wise words here.
      I agree and share the same sentiment

• Amiran on Jul 23, 2010 at 10:35 pm

Maybe this is a manifest of Jap frustration that no matter how well they’ve done, the German still beat them. All they have to do is to keep it up doing better and better.

• transformer on Jul 23, 2010 at 11:05 pm

few years ago there an ads on BMW E60, eagle eyes staring at Jaguar, that Jaguar emblem looks scared and leap backward…. anyone remember that?

i think paul has that one somewhere…..

• Well, a Porsche is stil a Porsche….a nissan is just a nissan so it is the brand

• Capt Shopalot on Jul 24, 2010 at 12:56 am

Like macbook & normal laptop, the tech spec exactly the same, still many show off guys throwing their money on mac, which Einstein cannot tell why!

• ramunik on Jul 24, 2010 at 1:00 am

Indeed it is a very brave marketing. With glokal spirit, lets see what ETCM is doing…. errr… sentra nismo. is that the best u can do? [big L on my forehead]

• oh well… its a nissan for goodness sake… if you go to a party where brand concious is there , are you going tell everyone you’re driving a nissan while everyone is driving a BMW or Merc ?

• Kotua on Jul 24, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Definitely yes if i’m driving Nissan GTR R35 or Nissan 370z.

• helmi on Jul 24, 2010 at 3:12 am

How fast you can speed in Malaysian highway? ‘Saman ekor’ you cannot escape nowadays. Will cause a lot of headache when to renew roadtax.

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 24, 2010 at 7:41 am

You are missing the point of “how fast can you go”. Having a powerful car doesn’t mean you have to drive like a maniac.

The reason all these recent obscenely powerful force fed cars is not to hit the top speed (most high powered German cars are limited to 155mph anyway). But to get there very very quick and in an unruffled fashion.

A car that can do 0-100 in 5 seconds is a hugh difference in terms of drivability, even if you never exceed the national speed limit. When you have something in excess of that you need, its called an indulgence. And there is no law against that.

• jaguarXJ on Jul 24, 2010 at 5:11 pm

but then,370z roadtax will kill everybody in malaysia.4k++.no resale value

• tikus on Jul 26, 2010 at 6:37 pm

When ppl in bolehland can buy 300k car sure they dont care about 4k road tax.

• 1.The ads main target market is not the TT and the caymen customer or that bracket of customer.
    2.The ads main target market are:
    i.The 370z customer who are already bought 307z.Give them satisfaction.Its something like after sales service,give them comfort and assurance that the money are well spent.
    90% chances they become nissan loyal customer and unofficial brand ambassador in a coffee shop or in the forum etc.
    ii. The general public perception of the 370z and nissan brandname in general.A very small percentage point is scored.Albeit not much but the journey of 1000 miles begin with a single step.

3. The net effect: The 370z that park beside TT and caymen in bangsar have a different effect to the owner and passerby. Everybody knows its inferior brand but the effect definitely different after the ads.

4.The BRAND IMAGE is very difficult to built its take time and money.The one already there know how to skim its to the maximum. BUT remember the brand image must supported by the product itself in order to command premium. You may loss once or twice but if the trend is persistent its will effect the core of the brand image itself.
    Over the long run ,the perception of the brand image may change. Whoever occupy top spot may be not be there forever.

• alldisc on Jul 25, 2010 at 12:30 am

very well said – looking at things from a different perspective point of view. i neva though of this. 2 thumbs up!

• can nissan actually put other brands inside their ad? hmm…

• KCivic on Jul 24, 2010 at 9:49 am

if i can afford an Audi, BMW or a Porsche performance range of cars, i do not mind driving the 370z. The Nissan may be a Japanese, but i imo, i think it has character as compared to the Germans which have been quite common. I sat in an Audi TT S Line Limited Edition of orange-colored 100 units and in the Klang Valley, there is only one orange colored one, and yes, i felt like a nice and performance oriented Audi and the dampers and handling is fantastic. I believe the Nissan would give the same feeling too. Actually I can have access to both cars… haha.. anyways, i gues the Germans and the Nissans are preferred if i can own one meaning i am impartial to whether one is better than the other. Its like wearing a say..Glashutte Original vs. Grand Seiko, there you go.. A Lange is too high up there.. The way Nissan advertised by outright and straightforward comparison with the Germans in their own backyard may just offer a Japanese choice to the Germans who are already very loyal to their own brands. Thus not sure if it will work positively on trying to sell more Nissans there. Well dun forget, the GTR was made by Nissan and it has beat the arse of the Germans many times… The way of the Samurai beating the crap out of Hitler’s machine guns.. or vice versa.. Japanese goes for lighter weight while Germans add weight to their cars.. Japanese petite women vs. German big-sized aunties…

• WKM 28 on Jul 24, 2010 at 4:33 pm

I’ve been in Audi TT and 370z and believe me, you’ll need that extra horsepower when Satria GSR ‘cucuk’ you. By the way, i will stick to my Italiano California. :-)

• E Bear on Jul 24, 2010 at 9:52 am

If you already have the money, I would still prefer a German ride.

German products have inner beauty. The material, the composition of the alloy and safety margins factored in.

The Cayman or new TT or 370Z, I think all 3 are great cars.

• well how do you differentiate a japanese and a german 5 star Euro NCAP star !!!
      Dont talk shit…you are talking just like the alpha fan..when the alpha romeo breaks down …they call it a car having character….for me is lousy engineering…thank god alpha do not make planes…

• Maserati on Jul 24, 2010 at 9:57 am

Those who say German cars are overpriced obviously havent driven one to appreciate one.

Yes the Jap cars are fantastic driving machines,but you pay a premium to get the German badge and of course German driving experience that you will never forget!

• sammy on Jul 24, 2010 at 2:34 pm

Hyundai is the best quality car brand in Germany, so now who’s laughing? In Europe and US, consumers pay more attention to quality, safety and reliability than brand name…compared to bolehland..and they dun pay so much as us too..here, the former E-class and E60 was such crap but our pea-brained apeks and showoffs were buying them in droves, even recond ones..Ever wondered why there were so many recond cars of both brands compared to Audi which never came to our shores as recond except for craps like Q7 and earlier TTs?

My observation, anyway..

• Tomas on Jul 27, 2010 at 12:40 am

Hyundai is the best quality car brand in Germany?
      When you day dream perhaps… ?
      Please link me to where ever you read this….

• Tiadaid on Jul 27, 2010 at 5:22 pm

http://www.google.com.my/search?q=Best+Quality+Car+in+Germany&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

Here’s all the articles proclaiming Hyundai’s the best quality car in Germany. Don’t forget to close your gaping mouth when you’re reading it.

• New Hyundai Fan on Jul 24, 2010 at 3:39 pm

People buy German cars is because they are branded just like Bonia bag compared with LV bag. Different class of people will have different taste. If you can afford to buy German cars, just go ahead, else just buy Japanese cars.

• aggblon on Jul 24, 2010 at 4:30 pm

the only german brand that nissan miss out is mercedez bcause they ar snrt enough to form a alliance with nissan !

• aggblon on Jul 24, 2010 at 4:31 pm

the only german brand that nissan miss out is mercedez bcause they ar smart enough to form a alliance with nissan ! haha!

• aggblon on Jul 24, 2010 at 4:42 pm

no matter how nissan proves how good they are against germans they in the future will have to use german tech from mercedes compare gtr engine and the new 5.5 v8 twin turbo amg which want you rather have ?

• aggblon on Jul 24, 2010 at 4:46 pm

nissan only comparing to some low specs car from the company if given those cars were the tt rs,z4m and turbo s the 370z is faraway. all three german companies have received alot of awards compare to only the fairlady and gtr. vw twincharger to rule!

• Anti Proton on Jul 24, 2010 at 4:54 pm

screw all this. where is my 335i?

• aggblon on Jul 24, 2010 at 4:55 pm

having more power does not mean better and cheaper also might not be good.if wat isaid is false then a wira that produce 500bhp can makes proton said that their car is better than a ferrari in power and cheaper. in real world,porsche,audiandbmw ar consider rarity to most of us but nissan is just like an everyday car! well for us malaysian not everyone can afford a fairlady or a gtr so if a car who is powerful but gains less attention is considered failure

• aggblon on Jul 24, 2010 at 4:56 pm

for now isaw mostly gtr rather than 370z on malaysian road and porsche is even more than a gtr.

• jaguarXJ on Jul 24, 2010 at 5:08 pm

its called perception,if you dive a nissan.people will say

“ala,nissan je la”

if you dive an audi,or a bmw or a porsche,people will tabik u la.lagi lagi kalau porsche

• Elvis on Jul 25, 2010 at 1:25 pm

You give tabik coz the guy who own the porsche will spend a small fortune maintaining his baby

• well we have a lot ou idiots apeks and big ego chaps with pea brain

• Arashikage on Jul 24, 2010 at 7:01 pm

If you can afford an Audi / Porsche / BMW would you buy a Nissan? Even it’s a GT-R?

In Malaysia susah lah, no official Importer for GT-R.

But you can find TT-S, 911 easily.

• Joseph on Jul 24, 2010 at 7:50 pm

Japs/Nips can match the speed, but never the prestige & class of European marks. Toyota may be the world car maker, but its never in the same league as Bentley, Ferrari or Maserati. Substance above all,these is Japs/Nips and Gooks will take forever to understand.

• This is an exact inferiority complex …despite independence from Britian loooo…ng ago the brain is still second class..u can tell these from car owners..

• We have a horde of conti car fans that have the same mentality as the T&H fans.. they are like katak dalam tempurung…do not recognise different way of looking at the same thing ..(eg conti ride .. japan ride…just being different feel and both are of equals in handling …)

• rally_fan on Jul 25, 2010 at 5:09 pm

in general, i always feel conti cars always handle better than their japanese counterparts regardless of whether its a luxury conti or not.

• In general,asian cars are focused in comfort…. if conti and asian focus on ride..asian will be equal if not better..think of …godzilla….conti killer…

• 1kereta on Jul 24, 2010 at 9:36 pm

for those people who can afford brand new sports car (not haggling on the 10 yo sports car), price is not their primary concerns…. it’s the identity these people looking for…some people may collect them all and park at their private parking lot…and they can choose which car to drive at what occasions..

• Arell on Jul 24, 2010 at 9:45 pm

Which is a better car? Audi, BMW and Porsche have been making big money year after year. Nissan has be making loss for donkey years… Now who makes good cars and who doesnt?

• Toyota makes load of money…..that speak by itself…Hyundai is along the way…

• rally_fan on Jul 25, 2010 at 5:08 pm

lotus cars are actually selling pretty well. its just that the whole lotus as a group of companies are not making much money at all.

• Nissan = Apple of the auto industry?

• Tiadaid on Jul 25, 2010 at 10:23 pm

In what way is Nissan the Apple of the auto industry? No no no, the Apple of the auto industry is, uh….I don’t think there’s an Apple of the Auto industry!

• dickybird on Jul 26, 2010 at 11:20 am

u r right there isnt a carmaker right now like Apple that makes a new version of the same product that i would wanna go and buy.

• come on lah boys, its just a matter of value for money maa…

if your concern is brand then buy the brand la… and beware being no brain…

if you are concern about what you are getting for the money then go and test drive kaukau before decide…

nissan, toyota aint bad…backed with successes in history…there are legendary model as well…

dont forget the fact that these cars are so costly, they only driven out as a show off…and yet they break down as well, as compare to the others cheaper work horses, broken into pieces still running on road.

which car is better its up to individual to decide…

• RadarX on Jul 26, 2010 at 12:34 pm

It is obvious that motor-heads at Nissan are nothing more than just motor-heads. They fail to see that branding and brand image is key. It is what the brand represents more than what the product is. No wonder Japanese can never sell premium cars! or anything premium for that matter (Perfume, fashion, watches, jewelery, bags, etc.). I supposed they can fool a fair bit of Ah Beng or the Ah Beng at Heart in Boleh Land but not the true motoring connoisseurs. Like they say, I can take you out of the slum, but I cannot take the slum out of you. Final word to the clowns at Nissan, “Please go back to marketing school” and shame on you.

• Hey, the germans and japanese are making the cars and making money along the way,, but the locals comment as though they have and know all abut cars..
    Amazing malaysians..

• Tomas on Jul 27, 2010 at 12:37 am

Yeah the 370z looks not bad…. BUUUUUT at the end of the day… it’s still only just a Nissan.

It’s not only about speed and price. There are 150 billion other components that Nissan lacks in comparison with a Mercedes.

You cannot compare a donkey with a race horse.

• The fact that this thread got 170+ comments proves Nissan’s point to the core. The people who did that advert sure would like to see such high numbers in the space of 4 days. Awesome!

• Tezza on Aug 01, 2010 at 1:00 pm

I would think that all this argurment keep crossing here is just as simple as the fact that The nissan products haven’t been able to clearly outrunned their higher branding image rivals in most aspect..more often than not, they are just on par with the german’s and or specifically to say that both sides have their High and Low criterias in most examining..therefore only if the jdm have the consistent superior abilities to win over german rivals in exterior,refinement,technolgy etc to a greater extent where they are on now by then i believe that their brand image would be very much raised..citing korean stories would be perfectly enclosed the fact in a purest form..Simply put,it’s all about the ‘abilitity” that matters to the fullest…