Hyundai i10 1.25 Kappa – Test Drive Review

The Hyundai i10 is one of those talented but overlooked cars in the market. When I first tested the car back in 2008, i was truly surprised at how sophisticated it drove compared to Perodua’s Viva and Myvi. Those who have driven an Atoz before will surely not believe that this is a car in the same segment by the same manufacturer – they are aeons apart!

So it was good to revisit the i10, now with a bigger engine to remedy one of the very few issues this writer had with the car – the leisurely pick up. In comes the 1.25-litre Kappa engine, which has 11 bhp and 20 Nm more than the Epsilon 1.1-litre, which will continue to be sold by Hyundai-Sime Darby. Will this new engine make the i10 the undisputed best small car out there and earn it a bit more attention? We find out.

Continue reading the report after the jump.

You might have noticed the 1.25 designation for the Kappa engine, and while it’s rare for carmakers to state engine capacity to two decimal points, Hyundai doesn’t want to sell the 1,248 cc engine short by calling it a 1.2. They have a point, especially when many Malaysian carbuyers directly equate engine capacity to how powerful a car is, irregardless of tech.

The Kappa doesn’t exactly lack in tech. While RM50K won’t buy you direct injection and a turbo, the all-aluminium engine comes with various measures to improve efficiency and lower NVH. Things like roller swing arm and hydraulic lash adjusters, bee hive valve spring, plastic intake manifold, stretchy accessory drive belt, long reach spark plugs and an offset crankshaft (by 11 mm) combine to ensure that fuel consumption is identical to the 1.1 Epsilon engine (5.9L/100 km combined) despite the higher power and bigger cc.

The 77 bhp/119 Nm Kappa uses a timing chain in place of a belt. The i10 is also the only car in its price segment that comes with electric power steering (Hyundai calls it Motor Driven Power Steering MDPS), which helps fuel economy.

“Big car feel” is a term commonly used in car reviews, sometimes a bit too liberally, but it best describes the experience in the i10 and is entirely appropriate here. This overall impression is based on a few factors, such as low NVH levels and the fantastic ride quality. The resulting refinement and sophistication is almost European supermini levels, and needs to be experienced to believed.

The workings of the engine are kept away impressively – there’s a slight buzziness at mid to high revs but nothing too intrusive – and it’s quiet at a cruise. Similarly, you also hear less of the outside world – wind, other vehicles and the road – than in a Perodua. The impression of being in a more solid, substantial vehicle isn’t easy to express in words; my suggestion is to pair up a Myvi and a not so smooth road on the way to the Hyundai dealer for your i10 test drive, for comparison.

The ride quality excels in both areas. The suspension is firm but never jarring, and it nicely damps away the bumps and ruts in our daily urban jungle drive. On the other hand, the primary ride is very constant and steady, as exhibited in high speed highway cruising. I drove and sat in the back seat at speeds above the national limit, and can say that the i10 had less unwelcome body movements than a C-segment sedan we sampled recently.

We drove the i10 from KL to Port Dickson via B-roads and the i10 held up pretty well when driven at a fast pace. It corners quite flatly despite the height, and body control is good. Once again, the firm suspension shines here – instead of heaving and sagging its way through mid corner compressions and dips, the little Hyundai was surprisingly unflustered.

Although personally I would love the steering could be quicker and feel more connected, the i10 is a decent car to drive enthusiastically. The extra power and torque over the 1.1-litre car is noticeable, and useful in a variety of situations, like when pulling out of junctions or overtaking lorries. It’s still no powerhouse of course, but there are less of those moments when you feel lacking. The auto gearbox meanwhile, doesn’t put a foot wrong in decision making and works unobtrusively.

Hyundai i10 1.25 Kappa – Test Drive ReviewThe A-segment i10’s 2,380 mm wheelbase is just 10 mm short of the Viva’s, and there’s good room for two adults at the back. Knee and legroom is adequate for medium sized adults and there’s room under the front seats to slide feet under. Up front, the seating position felt a bit high (for me), but that’s a good thing for this sort of car. I soon got comfortable and have no issues with the ergonomics. I like the factory radio’s interface and functions (there’s RDS and a night mode that switches off the main panel’s backlight) but the reception was dodgy and the sound muffled.

The locally assembled i10 Kappa starts at RM49,668 for the standard spec, rising to RM52,688 for the high spec. The difference between the two is that the costlier car has ABS and dual airbags. There’s not much else other than electric side mirrors, 14-inch alloys and a rear spoiler.

The i10 is a very good small car that exceeds expectations at this level, but perhaps the reason why it hasn’t been a great sales success is the price. Logic goes with the bigger sized and better equipped Myvi, and the Proton Persona hovers around this price range as well. I guess that in the budget segment, “value for money” appeals more than a great drive, but if your priorities differ…

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1389]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• anonymous on Aug 06, 2010 at 10:54 pm

shitty car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • David on Aug 07, 2010 at 5:56 pm

I think you’re the one that’s shitty. Have you even tested the i10 before? I don’t think so, so go and continue jacking yourself with the other little cars, especially the rubbish Viva, not knowing the fact that you’re missing out on one of the best small cars for the money.

• Izhar on Aug 08, 2010 at 3:47 pm

hei shitty boy. i10 was good in acceleration. I’ve been overtaken by it easily on 120km/h at gambang-segamat route….

• David on Aug 08, 2010 at 11:35 pm

Izhar,

Yeap, agree with you. This 1.25 engine which i tested was so much better than the 1.1 engine. Better pickup, and most importantly, doesn’t feel underpowered compared to the 1.1. But, hey, i think i’m really nitpicking here ’cause this kind of car is for city use, not long-distanced driving!!

Cheers!!

• Stephen Ong on Sep 09, 2010 at 2:14 am

I am driving a i10- 1.1cc. Under power yes. But compared to cars in it’s class. I would be able to point out the PROS

1) Mid-Hard suspension – Notice if the car is on full capacity the gap between between tyre and the mudguard only dropped a little? Very stable suspension used. Great at making high speed turn. (compare to Myvi/Viva, the moment its full load, you will notice the back suspension drops at its lowest)
            2) Solidity when going through bumpy road. Ever notice Myvi and Viva has some plastic and empty/hollow sound when going through bumpy road? Hyundai i10 does not give that kind of driving standard. It’s silent and suppressed. Feels very much like a solid car.
            3) Under power is an issue of course but my personal opinion is that a car needs to be comfortable (regardless is a low entry)
            4) Maintenance. Let’s face a fact, if you want to drive a good car, no matter what brand, servicing is bound to cost. Though its an entre level car (hyundai i10) but the car performance better than that. Thus I would rather pay more for maintaining it.
            5) Finally I WOULD SAY, DONT BUY 1.1CC, GO FOR THE HIGHER CC ONE.

• Rhys Millen on Aug 08, 2010 at 10:59 pm

Have been told by an undisclosed source that the Perodua Viva now has had its side impact safety bars removed to cut cost. Not sure if anyone can confirm this but the news comes from someone who has access to perodua direct. Anyone care to share ?

• David on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:07 am

Oh, and to anonymous, go and test a Viva and an i10, then you’ll see why the i10 is SO much better than a Viva. Here’s my personal opinion regarding these two cars:-

Viva:-
        Pros: How common it is on the roads, resale value, plenty of after-sales service centres, fuel consumption.
        Cons: It’s pricey for what you pay, and a lot of factors count against it. It’s noisy at highway speeds(80km/h), has too much body roll, feels cramped for a car of this size, feels cheaply made, terrible ergonomics.
        Verdict: Selling in huge amounts doesn’t mean it’s a good car.

So, then, we shall move on to the i10:-
        Pros:Oddball looks and design which ACTUALLY works, good amounts of space, surprisingly good to drive, doesn’t feel underpowered unlike the 1.1 engine, decent amount of kit, long warranty, decent servicing costs.
        Cons: Fuel consumption, depending on driving style, isn’t as good as a Viva’s; a little on the pricey side; after-sales service which still requires improvements.
        Verdict: It may be the total underdog in Malaysia, but the i10 is way superior enough to give a Viva not much of a chance to fight this compedition.

• roy_hodgson on Aug 11, 2010 at 3:51 pm

wow….you must be in desperate to secure some sales..eh, comission not enough, meh???? ha ha ha ha ha

• David on Aug 12, 2010 at 8:51 pm

first of all, i’m not a salesman. why is it that when people praise a car, a lot of you will call us salesmen? it’s our personal opinion and doesn’t apply to everyone.

Secondly, i’ve tried both cars back-to back and in the long run, the i10 is actually the BETTER car to live with on a daily basis, as not only it’s more fun to drive, but also feels quieter than a Viva, which sounds like a washing machine. Okay, it may cost more than a Viva, but in the long run, it’s the more comfortable car, it’s the more solid car, and it’s the more attractive car!!

Third of all, why don’t you go and try both cars before you call me a salesman? Calling people a salesman when they make very positive comments about a car is not only immature, but also baseless as well.

• kumar on Sep 14, 2010 at 9:20 pm

then wat u think about HYUNDAI I10 ( AUTO )…..THX

• Stephen Ong on Sep 15, 2010 at 12:21 am

Kumar-
          Okay, 1.1 cc AUTO like I said it really feels under power and draggy. My sales person let me test drive the manual version after I purchase(idiot)… It’s actually much better. At least the TOP SPEED on highway (MANUAL 1.1cc) can go up to 160KMPH.

1.1cc auto can only push maximum up to 140KMPH.

My advice, if you are planning to buy an AUTO hyundai i10, go for 1.25cc

• Engdau on Aug 06, 2010 at 10:54 pm

Kappa 1.25 has won lot of praise from car reviews of world wide

• rain5451 on Jan 06, 2011 at 10:48 pm

i plan of buy a i10 Kappa but afraid of the resale value. Can u give some advice or any idea. Thanks

• good review, thanks Danny! Hope the Hyundai brand will shine in years to come.

• u want to know why they came out with new car very fast??? years ago they support their car brand.. their mentality, even you drive merc or BMW, they dint care! Korean people love their car..

(IF MALAYSIAN PEOPLE LIKE KOREAN PEOPLE MENTALITY, I BET IN 5 YEARS WE HAVE OUR OWN SUPER CAR)

(Please support our Malaysian product)

(cheers!)

• 388900wow on Aug 07, 2010 at 1:33 pm

support malaysian product??

shit u~
        only if the local cars are much better~

or only when our loyal family all drive national car then we will support (by heart) !!!
        those police biker always chase u aside to give way to those big big luxury car that without car plate no. but a big yellow plate !!! (phantom,S class, bently…)

• sx trail on Aug 07, 2010 at 3:37 pm

It’s not that we don’t want to support.Just that it is run by D..heads.Further more y should we support a GLC company that sells cut throat priced products & don’t care about its citizen.

• acerman on Aug 08, 2010 at 8:25 pm

GLC companies are not the best. Here for 5 days, no internet and no phone line. Stupid TM, stupid service. Luckily, able to use my wife’s Broadband. :)

• fuckproton on Aug 07, 2010 at 9:28 pm

it’s ur kind of pp mentality tt make us so primitive! luckily proton current md does not think like u!!!

• SquarePetrolHead on Aug 07, 2010 at 10:22 pm

How successful Proton is to become all depends on how Proton is run. Who this Syaz is we may never know and if you ask me we woulod nt want to know. Malaysians HAVE been supporting Proton you “katak-di-bawah-tempurung”-dork… problem was Proton was taking its customers for granted and being run like a (UMNO-BN) crony company, which it still is BTW… only thing is that there are more savvy, pragmatic and talented people making the major decisions now…. GO PROTON!!!

• Tiadaid on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:20 pm

The truth and yet so many people thumb down?

• neveraproton on Aug 09, 2010 at 8:37 am

Misplaced patriotism.

I can’t understand why a Malaysian MUST buy a Malaysian product. As consumers, we have a right to value. We are not communists!

I have long said I am as patriotic as the next guy but if I am to spend a chunk of my money and live with the purchase for the next 5 to 10 years, it’d better be good quality.

Get back on your high horse Syaz.

• salambangi on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:32 pm

Cakap tak serupa bikin. Your nama also neveraproton.

• Obviously Salambangi doesn’t understand English :)

Go back to class ok.

• notakosong.com on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:12 pm

great review!, im so jealous with the i10 kappa owner…

• paragon on Aug 07, 2010 at 7:47 pm

you must be a myvi owner

• notakosong.com on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:21 am

no, in fact, i drive a savvy then i sold it, bought a myvi, then gave it to my brother, and bought an i10 epsilon engine 1.1, good car indeed, with better fc then myvi, only drawback is lack of acceleration than myvi, better plastic than myvi, but smaller passenger legroom than myvi..

• learner on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:46 am

sound like non of the 3 hatchbacks suit you, why don’t buy sedan?

• notakosong.com on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:13 am

since i10 is still new, might as well stick with it for a few years.. savvy and myvi have been here for more than 5 years.

and yeah, typical malaysian mindset still is korean = low resale, so no use of selling it now if im gonna suffer big loss..

not yet a family man, so my priority is good fc, not a bigger cabin or space yet..

• Stephen Ong on Sep 15, 2010 at 12:25 am

I feel you bro… I am jealous of i10 kappa owner too… cuz I terbeli the 1.1cc… auto..

• Teo2442 on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Nice little car.

• odi862 on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:24 pm

Nice car. The Atos has been with us for a decade. This replacement model is few years overdue. As you said, the price is a bit on the high side.

• mufasa on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:26 pm

this one good sales global,,but not in our land…
    our land our market,,,we should controll ou market… i got no problem with tht

• bystander on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:37 pm

great review! ur effort n sincerity is highly respectable! can’t agree more on ur last paragraph, the worst thing is tt 1 yr later, it sell for used at 35k oso hard to clear stock, imagine wat the dealer is offering…definitely the best small mini in the market but not really “affordable” for the mass! there’s one greatness u din mentioned in the review, the hyundai 5-YEAR WARRANTY.

• nabill on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:43 pm

any comments about interior quality or rattles ??

it suits those who are tired of looking at myvi’s i guess…..alternative to local choices….it should be priced around the saga blm price range rather than persona though….

• Danny Tan (Member) on Aug 07, 2010 at 1:15 am

No rattles. Plastics are hard, but that’s normal for a car at this price

• lolypop on Aug 07, 2010 at 2:55 pm

glad to hear tht no rattling or vibration…my wife’s Viva (1.0AT) rattling like hell when idle.. haizz… during test drive the sales guy told me its only isolate problem on the test drive car.. really annoying with it.. once the car arrive the other person told me vibration is due to 3 cylinder engine placement method which is normal..

• takhabis2 on Aug 07, 2010 at 12:00 am

i10, i like! i think its the best small car in its segment,at least in malaysia…

• Jason aw on Aug 07, 2010 at 12:22 am

Nice car!!

• JACk LIm on Aug 07, 2010 at 12:27 am

the space is small compare to myvi… >.<
    iziit powerful than any myvi? doubting…

• AntiMyVI on Aug 07, 2010 at 8:33 am

No doubt the space is a bit smaller than the MyVi but its an achievement to actually create that much of space in a car that small. If you’re talking about the power, no doubt as a Malaysian you would think 1.3 >1.25 but what about the weight factor? If the i10’s engine performance is a bit lacking in horsepower compared to the MyVi but carries a lighter body than a MyVi, the performance would no doubt be the same.

• learner on Aug 07, 2010 at 9:50 pm

yup, just look at savvy with 1149cc that they called as 1.2L, they (P1 and Renault) suppose to call this engine as 1.15L just like i10 1.25L. savvy with almost same weight as myvi has performance comparable to myvi 1298cc.

• I would love to see how savvy performs compared to the kappa… 1.15 vs 1.25..

• paragon on Aug 07, 2010 at 7:53 pm

horsepower maybe less than myvi.

but acceleration, feul efficiency, ride and handling, may be better than myvi — based on the review above

but i think the price could be more competetive.

• Jimmy on Aug 07, 2010 at 12:39 am

True, great car (tested personally). But the price in Malaysia …..

• A good car based on most UK/euro reviewer, very european supermini like drive (yeap..the huge euro/uk mkt are their main focus)

• John Player Special on Aug 07, 2010 at 12:46 am

same segment as Kia Picanto

• clownhabibi on Aug 07, 2010 at 12:49 am

first!!
    this car is awesome!

• patrick on Aug 07, 2010 at 12:49 am

wow..simple n cute

• alex tye on Aug 07, 2010 at 1:43 am

MYVI SE vs HYUNDAI i 10 1.25 KAPPA,I got these 2 cars !my opinion,MYVI SE worth than i 10.

MYVI SE
    – leather seat
    – air bags
    – abs,ebd brake
    – key immobilizer which cant easy duplicate at out side
    – body more solid ,sound prove nice
    – 1.3 dvvt engine,powerful engine !!
    – got usb player
    – good re sale value
    – we can easily find accessories at outside car shop.
    – warranty 3 years,enough for me….
    – RM 52K ( THE LUXURY CLASS in Perodua MYVI )
    – got full bodykit,smoke head lamps !

HYUNDAI i10
    – fabric
    – no air bags,( strongly recommended car with air bags for the safety issue )
    – normal disc brake
    – old fashion car key,i made 5 keys easily at the roadside key maker,ONLY rm 2 each.
    – feel not so solid,better a bit than kancil
    – not enough power for me,may be more low oil consumption
    – normal cd player
    – 5 years,may be this better than perodua.
    – very hard to find the accessories.
    – re sale value `die ”
    – RM 49K, cheaper a bit than MYVI.
    – no body kit…..

If this is a first CAR u own,better buy MYVI SE.if u feel aiya so many myvi at road,bored for it…may be u can buy this fresh car lo..b4 u buy,think twice !! if i am wrong welcome to correct me….

• 388900wow on Aug 07, 2010 at 1:34 pm

good for you. Myvi fellow~ so lame

• alex tye on Aug 08, 2010 at 2:08 pm

if we talk about oil consumption..i-10 more save oil,but i like more powerful engine can let me overtake the car easily…

• alex tye on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:26 am

oh ya….MYVI is so LAME…..so how about ur’s ride?which is not a LAME car…

• oil consumption :facepalm:

wth are u talking about?
      the thing is, do you test drive the car? or is this just base on that u own myvi so i10 is shitbox?

• alex tye on Aug 08, 2010 at 2:04 pm

i am the owner of these 2 cars….1 for my wife,1 for my sister….why 1 wont buy 2 MYVI,coz my sister said dunt want 2 same car in same house….so i can feel what good or bad between these 2 cars….

• u sure about the Myvi’s car body is solid? Milo-tin solidity?

• paragon on Aug 07, 2010 at 8:11 pm

of course due to high quantity produced perodua can afford to sell myvi at lower price.

i bet if malaysians buy i10 as much as they’re buying myvi now the i10 will be priced much lower and equipped with more safety features and accessories, without sime darby going bankrupt.

also you forgot to compare the ride between both cars. everybody knows myvi drives like a boat in the open sea. so much for toyota gene.

• alex tye on Aug 08, 2010 at 2:22 pm

i tell u…2 gals of my friend want to bought INOKOM i-10, coz of the out looks of i-10,b4 they decide,i let them test drive my both cars….i dint say anything to them….finally they change mind and buy MYVI SE !

NO NEED to bet about it la…i-10 SPECS really sucks !! i bought the i-10 with no reverse sensor…need to spent rm 150 to install for my sister…i feel not happy about it,and the logo! front,back,rims with INOKOM logo but the steering with the HYUNDAI logo…wat the hell man….one car got 2 logo !!

• paragon on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:32 am

wow…the 2 gals of your friend really know how to test drive and review car performance like real men, better than paul and danny tan here.

next time i’m buying a new car i should go get their advice and won’t bother checking out paultan.org reviews.

really good info man.

• alex tye on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:58 am

wow….hold on !! dont look down woman !! now a days woman different !! i respect woman !!

and please dunt pull down PAUL and DANNY TAN….they work hard for paultan.org,i am a fans,supporter of them !!

hey,remember ur mum is a woman….may be she dont know drive but know how to teach u respect all the woman !!

• Ash Menon on Sep 26, 2010 at 6:46 pm

The car is an entry-level, city runaround vehicle. What’s wrong in trusting the opinion of a woman for it? Women drive too, and they may look at completely different factors than the ones we do.

Alex Tye -> the 2 logos part, is not really surprising. The Kia Forte has Naza and Kia logos mixed. I think there’s a minimum badging requirement (probably on the outside, for promotional and branding purposes) that the original car company has to give to the badging company. If it makes my car cheaper, why not? I can always change the logos back. Or put a Lexus badge on it and confuse the hell out of other drivers :P

• Rhys Millen on Aug 13, 2010 at 8:54 pm

So you rather the co. snap on the Hyundai Logo at the front and charge you another 8k extra for it …

• alex tye on Aug 08, 2010 at 9:43 am

if any one is the owner of HYUNDAI i-10,please tell me the how good i-10 better than MYVI.please list out….

• New2Korean on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:35 am

I don’t own or even test drive any of those car, I drive Toyotas myself. But recently test driven Sonata & caught me by surprise, the ride quality is better then my Camry 2.0! So I started looking into Hyundai related reviews in this site, fifth gear and top gear. I noticed i10 is highly recommended in every site I visited but not myvi and savvy. Also i10 have NCAP 4 star rating while the other 2 are not stated. Now if I were to but my money in one of these small car, I’ll go for i10 purely because it has NCAP 4 stars rating.

• I agree wif u New2Korean. I drove the Sonata YF recently and was very pleasantly surprised wif it. Much better than my 2.0 Camry too. I don’t think we should hv a preconception of a car before test driving it ourselves.

I believe wat alex tye said abt his 2 female friends. Their decision to buy may be due to space, resale value.. Wat they decide doesn’t mean they know better than Paul or Danny on handling, power, etc but coz they think Myvi suits their tastes and needs better than i10.

• Alitstar on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:52 am

I have driven both cars, in simillar and various road conditions, the i10 is better than MyVi.

Fuel consumption rating on i10 so far my findings say most reviewers have been ‘bull-$hitting’ through their teeth.

In terms of Sales/Service packages, customer service and brand loyalty, go for MyVi. In fact you will get better attention if you get the i10 from ‘potong-kreta’.

• Shappawi_2012 on Aug 07, 2010 at 1:58 am

Engin dgn gear box boleh tahan….bawak 90km/h under 2000rpm…..
    like cruiser….balik kampung 300km+ dalam RM35.

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 07, 2010 at 2:36 am

Not trying to be nitpicky but they do not have foglamps. Also, is there power windows for all 4 windows? I remember test driving once and the rears are manual winders. As for myvi being noisy, a simple noise insulation job would do the trick

• Srotong Stoopid on Aug 07, 2010 at 4:35 pm

i10 do have all 4 power windows..even for the least spec 1.1 varient

• nishant on Aug 07, 2010 at 4:07 am

Chevrolet Beat for me please. Just too many of these i10s I see on roads in India.

• Ash Menon on Sep 26, 2010 at 6:48 pm

No kidding. When I went to Kerala, these and the i20 were all over the freaking place. It’s Suzkuki vs Hyundai over there.

• screw the taxes killing joy cars for us.
    I’m going to blatantly assume that’s the case because it has always been the case.
    but, if I understood correctly, the imposition of tax in % is higher as the cc increases, why is the difference so profound in a 1.248 cc car?

• Rhys Millen on Aug 13, 2010 at 8:57 pm

It’s a different engine totally compared to the 1.1 not just a displacement difference…e.g. Hydraulic lash adjustors on the valve, bee hive springs, reverse intake manifold, timing chains etc…..

• reuben how on Aug 07, 2010 at 5:56 am

Their lineup is so strong. In some countries, car dealers are now selling Hyundai and Toyota side by side (they are allowed to represent more than 1 make in 1 dealer address). The only thing missing is a hybrid but i think that the i45 hybrid will launch in some countries next year. I’ve driven a vios compared to this, and on acceleration around town, the i10 is much more refined than a vios at almost half the price!!! I know its an unfair comparison (the vios is a class above) but it does tell you that the big T doesn’t always give value for money.

• 388900wow on Aug 07, 2010 at 1:36 pm

no doubt korean is catching up with japs!!

somemore in many korean are here already~~ so go chase for a korean GF~~

let’s step into wave of korean!~~!!

• MazdAstina on Aug 07, 2010 at 8:30 pm

Bro…even Malaysia allows 1 distributor to handle more than 1 brand, take naza motors for example.

• NaSai goes to Harvard on Aug 08, 2010 at 7:39 pm

Bro, Naza in M’sia is different story leh, cannot compare with other countires. They’re the AP kings, very close relationship with gov + politician, thus can be given lotsa of exemptions and still making lotsa $$$. Do u see Tan Chong of UMW handling more than 1 brand? Of course they can handle more than one brand, in fact more to come i guess. But so sad lah, all very refined to drive cars e.g. Peugeout, Kia and Chevrolet but shity after sales services.

Very true indeed that this Kappa powered i10 is a much more refined car compared to the MyVi. Kimchi tech are on par or maybe alrdy better than the sushi’s tech in terms of engine engineering. But M’sian car market is alrdy fixed, korean cars low resale value.Hopefully, that wud change in near future.

Saranghee this Hyundai i10 as much as the Picanto (exclude NaSai Suria’s) and also love the upcoming Avante aka Elantra.

• Rambo Ramsey on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:11 am

oi! Tan Chong handles Nissan, Renault and Subaru ley.. UMW got nothing to do with Tan Chong. UMW handles Toyota Forklift, Perodua (with MBM), Kayaba. DRB got Suzuki, Honda, Merc (Contract Assembly) & SD have Hyundai, BMW, Alfa. Try Oriental – Theyre so shitty and focussed so much in selling car massage seat and body kit they got kick of Honda in the early 2000 – they killed Civic & Accord in one go, later both Hyundai – Accent and Psuedo Jag Sonata with the Accent and now the Elantra replacement. They better stick to Changan or other Chinese brand.

• techboy_88 on Aug 07, 2010 at 6:59 am

I’ve read a review from an Indian website that this i10 does not have a remote boot/rear bonnet release and you have to open it manually from outside. Can you confirm this?

• 388900wow on Aug 07, 2010 at 1:37 pm

dude, hatch back car or SUV normally dun have boot release button in the cabin….

• yup… u have to open it manually from outside…

• jolly_idiot on Aug 07, 2010 at 7:13 am

is it over price for such price tag? korean used to be carry cheaper price tag. if this car sells the same price as viva. i guess it can attract more buyers.

• reuben how on Aug 07, 2010 at 9:16 pm

Hello, please forgive me if I’m being rude but it’s called progress. If you wanted a car make which rarely progresses then you shouldn’t be looking at Hyundai. Call your proton dealer. He’ll be happy to sell you some junk, at a price which would make you smile :-)

• rexis on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:30 pm

If so, Viva will be annihilated.

• Ash Menon on Sep 26, 2010 at 6:53 pm

Actually, if I’m not mistaken Hyundais have always been pricey. For other countries, it works okay, because Hyundai is among leading brands, but over here, where it’s still struggling with image, it’s not the best approach. Ironically, for every pricey Hyundai model in Malaysia, there is a cheaper Kia equivalent. Previously it was meant to be Hyundai = luxury, Kia = low cost, economical. But, now look at Kia designs, becoming more and more upmarket and sophisticated.

• New Hyundai Fan on Aug 07, 2010 at 8:52 am

The car is more catchy than MyVi & Viva when on the road. If HSD is willing to revise their pricing strategy by lowering the price of this car by 8-10K, I am sure the sales will increase significantly. Offering 5 years or 300,000KM of warranty is not enough to attract more buyers as the loss from resale value is still a major factor to be considered of buying Hyundai cars. HSD should realise about that & therefore should seriously revise their pricing strategy in order to get more sales after seeing the sales result of Tucson & Sonata. So far, I have seen only 2 new Tucson & 1 new Sonata on the road. If the pricing was good, more cars of the 2 new models should have been seen on the road now.

• Fyi, both sonata & tucson are selling very good. You can’t see many on the roads now because the Korea factory is having difficulty meeting the huge worldwide demand. (its fully imported). Long waiting period if u book now

• Charger on Aug 07, 2010 at 10:56 pm

The reason that you’ve seen ONLY 2 new Tucson & 1 new Sonata on the road is because HMC wasn’t able to supply enough stock for HSDM to distribute them. A lot of the prospects have cancelled their order due to the long waiting time.

It seems like the problem is not about pricing or what not, but rather the lacked of stocks to meet the high demands.

• wolfsburg on Aug 08, 2010 at 1:05 am

The waiting period for Sonata is 3 months and 6 months for Tucson… You can ask from your nearest dealers…

• Green Fuel on Aug 07, 2010 at 9:09 am

Great car for those with a little bit more of budget and wish to drive a small car.

• mobil on Aug 07, 2010 at 9:09 am

This is the different between korean car and perodua. Overtime we did see they (i10) keep improving their quality. Sadly to see that the perodua is deteriorating. Perodua car seems no intention or incapable to improve further (has been stagnant for sometime). See the myvi for example, they keep selling it because a lot of malaysian buy it. But malaysian buy it because they have no other alternative and myvi is only confined in malaysia only. See the perodua website, only 3 type of cars available to choose. Do you think when the i10 is upgraded or come out its replacement model after few years, the perodua STILL selling their myvi then?

• Keroro on Aug 07, 2010 at 6:32 pm

Maybe Perodua don’t bother now as they have a new 1.5 model coming?

• Mobil, U Talk so much !!!
      It’s Proton that you should benchmark ?
      We still see the Perdana,Savvy, Satria and Wajunk around !!
      Its way past their life cycle almost reaching jurassic status.
      Myvi is nearing its 5th year and already there are plans for a replacement model.
      P2 outsold P1 in term of sales Jan-June 2010 b’cos Msian
      are fed-up with the same Crappy 1.6 engine and 2.0 Perdana gear box problem
      which P1 cannot rectify.

• learner on Aug 08, 2010 at 11:21 am

both 2 x 5 lah

• Tiadaid on Aug 08, 2010 at 11:53 am

Crappy? After having test driven the Persona, compared to my old Gen-2 there’s a marked improvement. Lets face it, people buy Myvi because they equate Perodua = Daihatsu = Toyota, although the truth is it’s hardly the case.

As for the Proton products you mentioned, the “Wajunk” is going to be replaced with the much maligned Wajalancer, Perdana’s hardly sold nowadays, and yet a replacement’s in the pipeline too, and as for Savvy, its the same age as the Myvi so if Savvy’s past lifecycle then shouldn’t the Myvi be past its lifecycle too? Where’s the plans for the Myvi’s replacement model? Hardly seen any concrete evidence. The only thing is the Myvi line’s getting more complicated with all those editions!

• Ash Menon on Sep 26, 2010 at 6:57 pm

There’s a replacement in the pipeline for the Perdana? FINALLY.

There actually IS a strong case for the MyVI replacement, since it’s parent model has had a facelift + stronger engine upgrade. It seems only natural that Perodua would bring it in.

MyVI’s line is also getting more expensive as time goes by…

• mobil on Aug 08, 2010 at 12:01 pm

I disagree with you. I’m not discussing proton because proton is not fit to compare (out of the list). I choose to compare perodua myvi because it has a better quality to compare with the i10. In fact, I did drive both Myvi and i10 and to me, i10 give you better driving experience. I drove from JB to KL at 140 -150km/h and it was still stable. With the name of one of the best selling car from perodua…..do you think they are going to risk the sale with the replacement model? So, when is the replacement model is coming?

Perodua should invest in R&D and not keep ‘borrowing’ their car model from daihatsu. With the issue of global warming and the limited reserve of cruel oil in the earth. The new generation of the automotive industry is going to revolutionalise in the near future like hybrid, electric car and recently methane powered car. At that time, perodua (proton as well) will be phased out automatically from the automative industry.

Part of the reason VW don’t want to join with proton is because proton is having the low quality part suppliers (that is why we see so much problem in proton car). Check the list, some of the suppliers already in trouble like Delloyd Ventures Bhd, Ingress Corp Bhd, Tracoma Holdings Bhd and AIC Corp Bhd as they are highly dependent to the proton.

And proton don’t think in the long run (partly due to egoism). Despite perodua/proton merging, my feeling it only lengthen their lifespan sometime but eventually will be out from the automative industry in near future. Why foreign car maker choose Thailand to set up their factory? Proton so deperate want VW because VW is the only car maker don’t have factory in Thailand.

• Waa, have been waiting for proton demise for long time already. Should’nt they are already RIP long time ago. But they still rolling out new models. So much for the global automotive economic theories. Wait, the govt pump in taxpayers money. That’s why laa. Wow! so much for so long aaa?
          Cud you please give exact time or date the local car companies will die and we cud talk about sometings else rather than giving analisis n predictions, this and that?….

• mobil on Aug 08, 2010 at 6:40 pm

If I can give the exact time or date, I will be rich man already. Please read more financial articles rather that bush out your personal outbust emotion to the proton (please bear in mind I don’t like proton as well). These are some facts about the current situation about the global automative car industries and the situation / facts of the various car makers in the world. If the car maker can’t stand the strict challanges of the global changes, it will be out as from the main stream.

Some of the facts I mentioned were discussed in the event organised by IKMAS in UKM with the title ‘THE POLITICAL ECONOMY OF AUTOMATIVE INDUSTRIALISATION’. The issues has been discussed with 2 professors from Emory University (Richard F.Doner) and Australian National University (professor John Ravenhill) with local experts. Maybe you are more qualify than them….’Prof’ Bobi…..

• klaka seram on Aug 07, 2010 at 9:52 am

this is a good car but with poor pricing
    most will opt to bigger Myvi or Pesona

• alex tye on Aug 08, 2010 at 9:47 am

thats true…over price ! rm 40k below is the better way….

• isean on Aug 08, 2010 at 1:40 pm

Change GOV can get Cheaper CBU car…LOL

• Rhys Millen on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:37 pm

What goes around comes around .. unless you do not own any vehicles now .. with cheaper new vehicles you will then owe the bank more on your car than the value of your car as your new vehicle pricing is now lower your used car value has dramatically fallen … subsequently .. you still need to pay the differences before you can change your car.

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Aug 07, 2010 at 10:15 am

pity its not as spacious as myvi..m’sian loves spacious lil car!

• Keroro on Aug 07, 2010 at 6:35 pm

Malaysians with a bit more money don’t mind the slightly smaller size and slightly lower spec sheet. They prefer not to buy cars for the masses. For those who want the biggest space for the least amount of money with the longest spec sheet… well there’s always Proton and Perodua for you.

• alex tye on Aug 08, 2010 at 10:58 pm

wah…so rich r u !! do u know many DATUK,DATIN rich man drive MYVI? i am sure u dont know !! or u wont said “Malaysians with a bit more money don’t mind the slightly smaller size and slightly lower spec sheet”.what a childish opinion!!if loose of point to support INOKOM i-10 better dont comment this childish opinon…

• neveraproton on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:22 am

Alex,

You are so lame. Just because they have a title, they are rich? God, please…

• alex tye on Aug 09, 2010 at 4:30 pm

neveraproton, as long as they have a little than u!people rich dont red eye la,better work hard for future and dunt always keep complaint to God!

• E Bear on Sep 03, 2010 at 5:30 pm

I have seen quite a few nice car plate nos. on MYVI’s…..so it popular with the rich too.

• Ash Menon on Sep 26, 2010 at 7:01 pm

Lol, rather than let the kids drive the Jag, Bentley, etc, they buy Myvi. At least if accident, the datuk-datin won’t sakit hati.

• alexpoh85 on Dec 30, 2010 at 12:26 pm

hey emo guy….the way u comment and bash out words are like 5 years old kid. Damn it, go learn how to think critically before bashing out craps and nonsenses emotionally.

• Ash Menon on Sep 26, 2010 at 7:00 pm

This comment makes me think of the Hyundai Matrix. That one was just amazing for space. You look at it from the outside, it doesn’t look so spacious, and then you step in it and BAM! spacious gile.

The new Accent also has this “Hyundai magic Space” thing going on. Hopefully the i10 has it too? I haven’t sat inside one, can’t really say…

• One price for one quality.

• JACK HAMMER on Aug 07, 2010 at 10:36 am

200% better than any P2 cars..

confirm..

• daniel on Aug 07, 2010 at 10:46 am

power, isn’t everything. space, isn’t everything…
    if the ride quality i.e. NVH and stability are your thing, you can’t go wrong with this car.

i have a 1.1L i10 and drive it more than myvi because it is so tired to be in a myvi.

• alex tye on Aug 08, 2010 at 9:52 am

power, isn’t everything. space, isn’t everything… ??? so what about the security,safety,re-sale value of INOKOM i-10,NOT HYUNDAI lo……

• Hideaki Rosli on Aug 07, 2010 at 10:47 am

I’ve been driving this little i10 for 2 years, and I found the car is none like it’s direct rival.
    With the car, I’ve travelled to Perlis, East Coast (T’ganu and Kelantan), and to JB… I can simply say, very comfortable!!! Just a bit cramp for your stuffs.
    The driving feel is almost like VW Lupo which I rented during my Europe trip, a few yrs back.

• mufasa on Aug 07, 2010 at 1:16 pm

Thanks for ur comment…i am evaluating this car….for my second car…

• Not surprise coz this i10 main market is UK & Euro…

• acerman on Aug 08, 2010 at 9:01 pm

Not all cars are perfect. I’d been in my friends Swift, the car is big outside but a little cramp in the inside. Maybe not meant for family guy. Anyway, if u want to buy a car make sure, its surf its purpose and not just by its look. For me, the first word that comes to my mind when I buy a new car : PRACTICALITY.

• JonLing on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:14 am

A very good car indeed. Tried one myself last few weeks. Its high speed stability is actually better than Sonata YF (Yeah, even i myself couldn’t believe that is the truth, after tested both of them back-to-back on the same day!) .

But why oh why, there’s no foglamps and reverse sensors installed on the car?? I remembered not long ago, Sime Darby Motors released an “Inspire” version of i10 1.1, got bodykit, spoiler, bigger alloy rims etc., but NO foglamps (not sure about the reverse sensors)! Come on, are they really so expensive that Sime Darby Motors can’t even install them on High Spec models (I don’t think 1.25 Kappa HS got those 2 installed too)??

A very good car but spoiled by lackluster spec list. What a pity.

• JonLing on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:20 am

imagine how much better will the car look if it is installed with 2 foglamps, instead of 2 black plastic “cones”….

• Baldwin on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:21 am

Been driving the i10 for slightly more than 6mths now, all I can say is tht the ride quality, handling, FC are all better than a MyVi.

Less body roll, better NVH and not forgetting the attention grabbing looks (after fitting the bodykits) when parked beside a MyVi.
    Though plastics are hard (common in this category), its definitely looks less boring as compared to its rivals.

Definitely recommend this to those who’s lookin for a small car below the RM50k bracket.

Just like Paul says, do a comparison through a test drive on the same stretch of roads and u’ll see the difference.

• but its not stylish, and not spacious, and has nothing to do with toyota and its kimchi!!

• hanzroid on Aug 08, 2010 at 10:43 am

If we want spacious, buy Hyundai Starex, for stylish, buy Hyundai Coupe, if we can afford it.

• Good for you…..most hyundai are well please wt their ride. Those who condemn hyundai mostly had never owned one. Will definately buy another Hyundai in the future, well built & very2 reliable car.

• hmm… certain angles of the white ones looks like fiat 500.

• this message to alex tye …….features u submitted in ur comment of i10 r tottaly wrong 1 i10 comes with leather seat 2nd it has abs and ebd 3rd……key with my car is nt lyke roadside key maker …its looks solid nd much more good then perouda myvi……myvi looks bulky….and go kart……………………………. i hv i10 and all the features described

• alex tye on Aug 08, 2010 at 2:45 pm

mine INOKOM i-10 1.25 kappa engine is new dark blue colour like previous PROTON PERDANA dark blue,i bought around rm 48k ++ ,may be urs 1 is high spec than me but 100% expensive than me if u have leather seat,abs ebd,sure got air bags too….how much u bought it? the price please…..

do u know about immobilizer ?? our i-10 car key is easily duplicate at out side key maker with cheap price! car key is for security issue ! is not for the looks!! and u say more good than MYVI,so how good ?no immobilizer is good?nowadays all luxury car like toyota,honda,bmw….the car key is not so easy to duplicate….i took the i-10 key go to duplicate,my god !! 5 minutes 1 key made !! so terrible u can imagine !!

• neveraproton on Aug 09, 2010 at 4:07 pm

Dude, you said it. “All luxury car… the car key is not so easy to duplicate”. Err, is your car a LUXURY CAR? Are you an idiot?

• mufasa on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:27 am

his dream is to have car with immobilizer…..maybe for him 40k to 50k is already luxury … different people,diferent standard bro…. when i10 come, it like dream come true,,,,congratealex :P

• Davet on Aug 07, 2010 at 3:01 pm

For 50k market, there are only 2 options, i.e myVi 1.3 and i10 1.25.
    Wut will be ur choice tat u will go for?
    I personally like i10 design but worried about its 2nd hand value……

• scgtimk1 on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:49 am

Wait for Suzuki ALTO that will launch today

Price at the same range…..

• syinteru on Aug 28, 2010 at 7:19 am

sy dah tengok i10 + alto dr dekat.
        but still my vote go to i10.
        sb bg pendapat sy la…design alto nmpak pelik sket dr dekat.
        and then, tmpat duduk belakang i10 lg spacious dr alto.
        lps tu tak suke alto xde box simpan brg kt dashboard tu.
        ade tp xde penutup.

oke itu sekadar pndapat melalui 1st impression.
        huhu

• BrakeFader on Aug 07, 2010 at 3:32 pm

It is a good car but price is too high compared with other spacious rivals. Built quality is definitely better than Myvi or Viva.

A 5 year old Atos is still rock solid after countless of long distance ride and this looks more solid than its predecessor. If you just need a city car and hardly carry passengers behind, this would be a better buy long term.

• alex tye on Aug 08, 2010 at 11:06 pm

i am not agree with the comment ” Built quality is definitely better than Myvi ” !

and u said a 5 years old ATOS still rock solid, so may i know what type of car after 5 years cant used ler….ATOS vs P.KENARI. we also can see many kenari rock solid at road too…

• From a purely Looks point of view. Looks a bit cheap from the back, Getz looks better.

• Baldwin on Aug 07, 2010 at 5:12 pm

how come the rim look like Myvi EE

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Aug 07, 2010 at 5:40 pm

based on the thumb rating..majority loves this i10..but do they dare to buy it?..i really doubt it…no 2nd hand value la,spare part mahal la,sempit la…kalo thumb down berani laaaa…wakakakakaka

• alex tye on Aug 08, 2010 at 5:42 pm

yaya…agree !! ” based on the thumb rating..majority loves this i10..but do they dare to buy it?haha,lets see at road la…1/100 i-10 got 1.MYVI got 99.is it all myvi owner stupid or crazy?

• learner on Aug 08, 2010 at 11:24 pm

majority is always like that lah, listen to people than go buy one.

• Roxas on Aug 07, 2010 at 6:09 pm

i own a new i10 1.1cc,,the only issues is the lack of torque, other than that ,it was a great car, with good quality design interior, low NVH,, compare to viva and myvi ,that sounds so loud when revving like it was gonna explode.
    and this cute little things chuckles along with minimum body rolls and really is very stable at high speed ride~very comfortable car~and quiet interior~ nice design and classy dashboard~ its a little UFO looking car XD
    somehow ,, its really worth the price. Gonna support Hyundai and waiting for the next elantra~
    and one thing about viva and myvi,,’when you stop at a red light, u probably will see a line up of them,its everywhere!!! yuck !!!

• y.c.low on Aug 07, 2010 at 7:38 pm

The early years Korean cars gave alot of troubles and unreliable. The spares were sky high and the general public has a very poor impression on Korean cars. It is going to take time to gain back the confidence of the general public. Sime has to promote this image cars sold are fully backed up. The after sales service must like that of Toyota and the sales department has to be professional in dealing with Hundyai car owners. Poor service will their downfall no matter how good the Kappa engine is. The important thing is reasonable cost of spares and service must be up to expectations of Hundyai owners.

• Best car in its price range, definitely. Pity to boring design. But hey, Myvi is not a looker anyway!

• i10 rims look alike Myvi SE or Jazz one..

• rexis on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:33 pm

When Danny say “to pair up a Myvi and a not so smooth road”, I completely get it.

Seriously, Myvi engine is good and silence, unfortunately, its tires sound like four engines…

• Rhys Millen on Aug 13, 2010 at 9:12 pm

Tyres are good year as well same found in the i10. The differences is that the MyVi sound proofing is very poor so the vibrations travel into the cabin alot more in comparison to the i10.

• Whatever happened to the Savvy? :(
    Is it in a different segment totally?

• harry19 on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:45 pm

well reviewed! no doubt…:)

How come mine there is this USB port which i can plug and play? unlike the one reviewed here only with AUX???

• i recently read an interview with toyota chief toyoda, he was asked whp did he fear most in terms of competition, and he said that the koreans are coming up fast and will soon hit the japanese hard..he was right, the koreans are coming!!

• Roxas on Aug 08, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Hyundai and Kia is gonna rule !!! upcoming elantra/avante is another blast from Hyundai !!
      now the best looking japanese will be Mazda …

• WinterSonata on Aug 08, 2010 at 3:28 am

May i know much do i have to pay for service this i10? there is any problem with the gearbox same as other hyundai car, shift to lower gear at high speed? I have Hyundai Matrix with the gearbox prob, shifting down the gear ‘sukahati’..so tired with the problem.

• Roxas on Aug 08, 2010 at 4:10 pm

ou,,pity for you..this i10 is hyundai next gen, probably wont face the same problem~
      and it will only shift down at if u fully depress the throttle ~it wont simply shift gear de~

• Kambing Gurun on Aug 08, 2010 at 10:12 am

Does it has the manual option for this 1.25 Kappa? Or only Auto?

• Maserati on Aug 08, 2010 at 12:08 pm

I rather drive a Myvi SE than this piece of junk.Just sitting in the i10 driver seat gives me a migraine.

• go get ur Myvi SE lo… Dont bark here… No one really cares what u say

• devilman on Aug 08, 2010 at 9:46 pm

hey,dont attack people like that….he just only express out what he thinking only!

• This world doesn’t evolve around u. So buzz off with ur migraine, no one cares.

• wow..sitting only can already get a migraine..something wrong with u..not the car..

• dun lie!!!

• AntiMyV on Oct 13, 2012 at 11:29 pm

MY V is just a piece of scrap metal – or AKA turtle car. always can bee seen as turtle upside down.

• massfredo on Aug 08, 2010 at 12:39 pm

F C ? anybody….?

• kelvin on Aug 08, 2010 at 2:03 pm

How’s the spare parts? I heard it’s quite costly to replace.. is it true?

• Malaysian will still buy myvi. It has toyota dna in it. And a lot of aftermarket spare parts and accessories. That’s why it has good resale value.

• Maserati on Aug 08, 2010 at 10:30 pm

Haha, so many i10 supporters here. BEt ya if i ask you to buy i10, you wont even get it!

Myvi engine and pick up is much better thn a crappy i10. And looks so much sportier.

I10 has better handlin but I think thts all bout the i10 tht is better thn myvi.

So many ppl jealous about myvi sales performance, if the car is good, ppl will buy no need persuasion from so called i10 supporters here.

For a korean car, its seriously overpriced. Weird how stupid ppl can be by saying myvi overpriced but whn a korean car sells at close to 50k, nobody says its overpriced!

Hv u ever driven a i10? I drove one b4 so besides the handlin and nvh, the rest are just subpar and doesnt warrant any praises at all.

And somehow i hate korean interior design, gives me headaches and always look dull and boring. Put side by side to a jap car and i10 looks stone age.

This is just another crap car which will sell here and there but will never sell well.

Just admit it lah, korean cars are actually improving but they are still light years behind the japs in terms of technology. And oyea, myvi has jap dna which makes it a joy to drive Whether you choose to believe it or not.

Oyea, dan says he doesnt care about my comment and says no one cares, well i dont care whether you care anot , you are just some small fry lah!

• alex tye on Aug 08, 2010 at 11:16 pm

100% agree with u MASERATI !! ur opinion really straight forward to the point ! i love ur opinion ! Malaysian who buy MYVI was not stupid like the person who said people bark here, the comment no body care….really is a looser !!

• paragon on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:24 am

haha..funny but pity these two sad myvi owners and die-hard fan here trying so hard to defend the lousy and boring myvi, especially alex tye bashing this i10 and praise myvi at every opportunity he could find to reply to people’s comments.

perhaps when you guys first clicked to read this topic you were hoping danny would review saying this car is not any better than myvi and a lot of the readers would say so also but only to end up seeing the OPPOSITES..haha! then found yourself in denial and heartbroken writing bitter comments all over the place.

ok maybe if you feel so good about the myvi you bought, that don’t make you much of a looser.

but one thing for sure the much bigger winner is the perodua salesmen who manage to convince myvi buyers that myvi is a toyota/daihatsu car sold at a national car price but better than proton. although the fact is P1 and P2 shares a lot of local suppliers.

bet alex tye is going to shoot this down also..haha! i’m lovin this.

• alex tye on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:09 am

oh ya…. i am happy driving my MYVI SE with my dear…..neh neh neh neh !!

• alexpoh85 on Dec 30, 2010 at 12:47 pm

how old are u? ur neh neh neh sounds like…errr….

• great~ i support you~ those ppl are really so poor thing..haizz..wat can we do~haha~ perodua is stil perodua,,never gonna be TOYOTA-DAIHATSU.
          they are lunatics that dont face the facts..no point arguing with them

• nEUTRAL on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:25 am

myvi and i10 both sucks..nuff said..
      nothing to be proud here if u r myvi owner..

• alex tye on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:34 am

oh ya….u r right ! MYVI,INOKOM i-10,HONDA CITY,sucks! is it mean ur HONDA ACCORD is the best car compare with my BMW…?haha,u ” not believed,i can PM u my picture” too….

nothing to be proud here if u r HONDA ACCORD owner……

• wow.. really… one car enthusiast fren said he don’t make fren with MyVI owners – said coz they ‘berlagak’. (My fren does car show with nice lil’ Kancil). I thought he’s unreasonable… but now I see what he meant…
      MyVI owners are obsessive and unreasonable and yes, ‘berlagak’… urgh.. go to hell la… I so would not join your ranks..

BTW, why your name ‘Maserati’ ? shouldn’t it be MyVI-obsesive-compulsive-disorder or something?

• NoLocalCars on Oct 13, 2012 at 11:25 pm

Fool – MyV 1.3cc hp is 67 only , Kappa engine 1.25cc is 87hp. So who is more powerful. What you mention is just crap. Go and drive back your Mess-erati or your jap cars. You are just another outdated car salesman.

• NoLocalCars on Oct 13, 2012 at 11:28 pm

Go n drive back your mess a rati . bet u are just another outdated car salesman.

• myvi is not original..and stil sell at such price which such low quality..design is more stupid and ill compare to i10. rather buy a proton saga n would never go for a perodua,,which is just a car assembler more than a car manufacturer..of coz myvi engine has better pickup since its a 1.3..did u try the 1.0 myvi? people support coz they are really doin great,and sory?light years behind? ou such a pity..u dont even know wats happening out thre..u just a dungu living in ur ‘toyota ”myvi” .

• alex tye on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:17 am

MYVI is not original ? haha, i-10 also is a fake one ! is by INOKOM !! or why they dunt put HYUNDAI logo in front ,back of the car …..and i not dare to said the design is more stupid,coz i dunt know how to design a car.may be R know how to do that !!

ugly car can sell like hot cake in MALAYSIA ?? so why dont u create a car put logo “R” infront of it…but dont ugly design ya….or i wont buy it lo….

• sory? inokom is not fake ,is the assembler here for malaysia okay.
        ya ugly car like myvi and viva are selling like hot cakes in malaysia.

• Maserati on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:17 am

Haha,Myvi low quality? My 2.5 years old Myvi SE after so much hard trashing and driving over humps at high speeds ,until now not even a single squeak or rattle.Car has never let me down at all.Engine is still fantastic,pick up is brilliant.Fuel consumption is way better than i10,and its more spacious and tons of spare parts and mods you can do.How about i10? Can hardly see any mods for i10 …

For now i have passed my myvi se to bro and upgraded to a Honda City.Both cars are brilliant cars! I dono why,but Japs still make the most desirable and reliable cars on the planet.They not only give the driver the feeling that your connected to the car,but also its design interior and exterior is just fantastic.

Korean cars? Hmmmmm..still someway to go..

Oyeah sorry R ,i pity you too that you can only afford a Proton.Have fun though!

• David on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:20 am

Totally off bro. No offence, but the Japs seem to make white-walled goods these days. The cars they churn out, especially Toyota, are totally off-the pace to drive, looks either generic or plain revolting, and their interiors, sorry, feels like Fischer-Price toys these days!! And don’t get me started that the Koreans do know what they are doing! They’ve not just arrived, they’re already there.

Honestly, i think most people who bash Korean cars are those who never tried living with a Korean car for a few years. The Americans have made them a part of their lives, the Europeans did the same thing as well, and sooner or later, the only places where Toyota will have the share of the lion’s market would be just its home market, and most Asean countries where Toyota is a by-word for cars. Forget Singapore, they’ve shown us that we can be more open-minded towards Korean cars, despite some places giving shitty services(but, hey, not everywhere is perfect right?). Not one, but TWO Korean cars topped the Top 3 cars in Singapore. And they’re much, much better than most of the Japanese compedition (with the exception of the Sylphy and the ageing Civic)

• alex tye on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:48 am

Korean’s car is a good car in the world….but the thing is KOREAN’s CAR always is a looser in MALAYSIA…. what model can let them sell like hot cake in Malaysia?may be is TUCSON and Sonata…..BUT still too early to said that!

• borabora on Aug 14, 2010 at 2:10 pm

agree with u David..all the Hyundai bashers here are too ignorant to the fact that in the States Hyundai/Kia once surpassed Toyota in quality ranking,the most fuel efficient vehicle,has received 10 worlds best engine award,and many more..they just think with sentiments,not hard facts.

• nEUTRAL on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:28 am

OMG.. seriouslt for me Myvi and city both sucks..
      nothing to be proud here..
      Poor guys, only managed to get honda city.. duh..
      I’m accord owner.. not believed i can pm u the picture..

*im not the basher juz piss off when this Maserati show off his poor city..

• alex tye on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:45 am

Maserati is not show off of his city,he is just want to show to R japanese car still a winner compare with Koreans car…..korean cars still need to work hard ! like NEW TUCSON and SONATA !! really great !!

and u said people poor guy,only managed a H.CITY,how about u? accord owner only ar,sumore want to show people picture u got the ride?!okla okla,i trust u ,dont worry i 100% trust u….wahaaahaa,so childish action from the owner of HONDA ACCORD.

i tell u….i am a BMW owner….not believed i can pm u the picture.. ” ei, so familiar.dunt know who talk b4…..oh ya,is him !!

• nEUTRAL on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:19 pm

sure u can pm me the bmw picture..
          pls make sure is the latest bmw.. not the previous generation one..if not i’ll laughing on the floor.. Haha

• alex tye on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:34 am

really…i scrared the time u will crying on the floor….HAHA !

• childish…

• alexpoh85 on Dec 30, 2010 at 12:54 pm

damn it…an adult who actually never grow old, in terms of mind and thinking…

• mr_3m_wancer on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:31 am

You were implying the Myvi is perfect :x

Sorry bro, you are totally wrong. My beloved drove a Myvi and guess wat?? Power window switch died. Driver side and passenger side. This happens only after 1 year plus owning the car.

When i rode my other friends Myvi, i would say 60% of them also having the same thing.
      So what do you gotta say bot that???

• alex tye on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:59 am

no car is perfect in the world !! we r not implying the MYVI is perfect ! if ur myvi face this problem…can consider bad luck lo or how rude u r using it!….my wife’s car ok wor ! if switch die,change it lo…i think PERODUA still have warranty about it….

my sister i-10….,the 1st day i took from the shop,behind the driver power window not work,the salesman bring me to work shop to fix it…..oh dear,they said power window switch not connected….small problem only la…..

WHAT THE QC of this car…..

• thumb down if you agree with me on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:03 am

I kinda feel alex tye and Maserati is a same guy/gals/pondan

• alex tye on Aug 09, 2010 at 3:35 pm

if u not happy with ur MYVI….sell it la !!dont say people like that….we r here to give opinion to the car !

i will sell the INOKOM i10 and get the SUZUKI ALTO !

• Tiadaid on Aug 09, 2010 at 5:56 pm

You’re very, very funny. Myvi got problem, no car is perfect, i10 got problem, shitty QC? Alex, just admit it, you’re a threatened Myvi salesman. So many condemnation over the i10 yet so many praises over the Myvi, people can see right through you!

• bystander on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:46 pm

maserati is so full of shit! there r so many myvi owners out there who u think u r fooling?

• im sory? did u just mention i only can afford a proton? haha..i can even buy a mazda 3 with cash,,n is way better than ur stupid city. poor guy who just dont and wont understand about wat koreans are doing n wats happening to japanese,,,haizz,,…such a pity guy… ur mindset is just set in malaysia~ur myvi is just 2.5 years,,wait sooner n see~ i have bunch of frens driving and all are complaining everything about their “MYVIs”~~~~hohohohohoho…and ,,Proton is also better drive,,say , a persona is better than a vios~just nobody acknowledge,,malaysians are just blind by brands….

• Maserati. Just go and get a stone chip on your City’s body. Then sit back for about 2 months to see how fast the rust spreads. Everyone knows that Honda cars coming out of Pagoh are having this problem.

• Honda City a good car? Gosh, that immediately tells me how ignorant you are.

The Kia Forte will run circles round a City.

I’ve been driving Koreans since 2004. Currently there are 2 Koreans parked at home. No complaints whatsoever. Looking at the i10 Kappa to replace my mum’s crap Kelisa :)

A bit upset that Koreans are picking up in popularity as this only means I pay more :(

• leonardo on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:47 am

When my girl friend of mine got her brand new MyVi 2 years ago, she was very happy and called me up when she took delivery of the car. Just one week later, the car broke down during going home rush hour right in the middle of town. She called me, crying, while waitng for Perodua’s tow truck service.
    After one week in the workshop, she got the car again. The workshop saying there was something wrong with the ‘electronics’.
    A week later, the brand new car broke down again, also during rush hour. This time she was really fired up. Being a legal assistant with one of the law firms in KL, she called up Perodua and threaten to sue them if her car was not repaired to her staisfaction. Perodua agreed to bear all the repair costs, which they should as the car is still brand new, and promise to give a tow free service for one year, if the car broke down again!.
    Conclusion – i am not so sure about the Myvi=Daihatsu=Toyota DNA/Quality crap.

• alex tye on Aug 09, 2010 at 3:25 pm

so pitty to ur gal friend….may be she really bad luck having the BROKEN MYVI.why dont u buy a INOKOM i-10 for her,since so many people said INOKOM i-10 better than Myvi.

• farghmee on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:07 am

oh..patutla byk post.
    myvi vs i10 rupanya..

last time, when i10 was introduced, most of readers here found out that the claimed 4star ncap stuff was for european spec, not malaysian spec.

i hope this time, an “honest” statement is produced.

myvi..ok2 saja utk city drive. long journey uncomfortable.

i10..aku xpernah drive lg.

• Rhys Millen on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:17 pm

While there are no Malaysian governing body to establish the safety ratings of local specification vehicles there are no other point of reference for crash test ratings other than to use other foreign makes crash test ratings.
      Even the BMW Mercedes and Toyota specifications you have in Malaysia are different from those that you have in Euro NCAP. at least they give you a basis of comparison on some of the items like body structure…otherwise you do not even have any basis of comparison.

• Maserati on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:34 am

Hahaha, Vee. Lol really hard whn u say forte will run rings arnd city. It just shws that you never driven a jap car before. Oh wait, you cant afford one. Its ok, work harder and maybe you can be a jap supporter next time.

Ohyea, david why is that we always have to compare ourselves with europeanslah, americanslah. Hv u lived in europe before? Do u know their tax structure there? Damn dumb ass comment!

Any jap car still beats korean arse flat. Will never ever buy a korean cars! Yucks! All these pretenders here, bash jap cars, bet you are driving a car which has jap dna in it. Lmfao!

• David on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:15 pm

Maserati,

Just because i used the Europeans, Americans and the Singaporeans as an example and you’d call me a dumbass? I think you’re the one who’s the real dumbass. Have you even owned a Korean car before? Try to answer that. I have one, and i’m very satisfied with it! I should go on to say that even my college friends said that they’d rather have one of these rather than a Vios, or even a City!!

Secondly, my uncle lives in the Netherlands, and despite their low tax structure, do remember that the running costs of a car is SKY HIGH!! Fuel there is super pricey, at 4-5 bucks a litre. Servicing costs do differ everywhere in European countries, so why don’t you go and get some European car magazines to see how expensive running costs are.

Thirdly, the Japs always whips the back out of Korean cars. Not anymore. The i10 is a deep favourite in Europe, even beating out the Myvi in an Autoexpress UK test. The Americans rate the new Sonata higher then the Camry and Accord. And that’s just for starters. And, Korean cars of the past had Japanese DNA in it. But not anymore, as their cars these days are engineered all by themselves, even though they have styling cues from other cars. But, hey, even the Japs also have styling cues from other cars!!!

In short, people like you are the cause why the Koreans find it hard to succeed in Malaysia. I’m vouching for the Korean brands to succeed in Malaysia, as the latest products from Samsung and Hyundai in my house work so much better than the Japanese stuff i have now.

P:S-Anyone who agrees with this statement, like this post. Show everyone that there are at least people who believes in Korean products, not people who only go for Japanese products and worship them like mad!.

• totally agree with u ^^ not to say japanese is not good.
        but things change n koreans are improving too fast in every aspect,not just in automotive industry..n they pack much better equipment in their cars.
        i have oways read cars magazine n cars review show like top gears n etc..
        i10 is really hot in many other countries, in other countries,, the original DAIHATSU BOON OR TOYOTA PASSO dont even have their footing..no one buys it at all. n even ppl wants to reviews these car..in fact,there are so much review about i10, even china loves it .

• AntiMyV on Oct 13, 2012 at 11:32 pm

Agree to you David. i10 has earned Europe NCAP 4 stars. How about MYV & VIVA, I think not qualified at all.

• Tiadaid on Aug 09, 2010 at 6:04 pm

Bro, just because you drive a City, doesn’t mean you’re king of the world. Don’t be arrogant. You do know that the City’s an entry level Honda right? So be humble. I mean, I too drive a City (up to you if you want to believe or not, all I know is, in my hand is a Honda key), but I don’t lambast other people just because they say other car’s better than city.

Besides, having driven several cars over the weekend for test drive, I must say, Honda and Toyota must work hard to buck up their products. The City & Vios can survive because of fanboys, but be complacent and someone’s going to rush in and topple you, and I think Kia and the Forte can beat the City.

And FYI, I’m trading in my City for a Persona Elegance. Stupid? Hah, living with the City is stupid, having spent thousands repairing all its faults!

• i think the only one supporting u is alex tye..u r here to trash around ppl , n assume ppl cant afford better cars.. then wat about u? U think u get a myvi se and a city is very rich? wat a poor thing..if u think u can afford cars so much,think u so rich, go buy a lexus ls460 or the germans or italians…wat a lunatic. any jap car beats korean flat? u get it wrong.. u are so out dated , for now, most of the koreans wil beat the japs with just a touch,

• New2Korean on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:16 pm

You have never driven Forte before right? Because if you have then you will know your rm90+k City CANNOT compare to rm90+k Forte, it can’t even compare to rm85+k Forte! I’m a Toyota “fanboi” myself and I know it is quite pointless to argue with a fanboi, so… Enjoy your City and bye bye.

• someone just doesnt know in japan or other countries, Honda city or called Honda Fit Aria is just an entry level sedan for them,just like the Proton Saga to us. and he is showing it off like its an expensive car n whoever get to afford it ,he is rich..
      to add things up,, Hyundai i10 is a global world car with world class standard.

• Tsk tsk. I won’t waste time with people like you. I have owned a Honda City VTEC from Nov 2005 till Jul 2008.

• john doe on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:32 pm

Im laughing even harder Maserati!!….ur comparing 2009 world car of the year which is also a 2.0 C segment sold worldwide and has numerous international awards and 5 star NCAP rating…….. to a 3rd world poor man honda(city) which is only a 1.5 B-segment crap made in Indon and assembled in melaka and has nevr seen any part of Japan in its life and sold at the same price and has no proven ratings….cant afford one?…why would someone buy tht when u can get better at the same price….korean cars never got recalled up to millions like Toyo and got their arse whipped in US courts

• New2Korean on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:23 am

“….korean cars never got recalled up to millions like Toyo and got their arse whipped in US courts”

That’s kind of worrying becoz my Camry & Fortuner bofh bought in Brunei and is imported model. So far no recall letter yet but agent assured me our Asian model is different from USA model.
      Let’s just hope it is true.

• orgbiasa on Aug 11, 2010 at 4:57 pm

nvr say nvr. haha. human makes mistakes, agree? hopefully thy won’t have any engineering flaw in future. Sonata is nice looking n offer better specs. whether it is da most worthy car, we dono yet. i blive is a gd bargain at tat price tag as the tech n specs tat it offers. =)

• fazron80 on Aug 09, 2010 at 3:24 pm

Hope i10 can improve on it looks too. Maybe then sales will improve. Pricewise what it offers it’s alright. It just slightly pricier than a myvi. I give i10 handling 2 thumbs up. Quite impressive comparing to the viva or even myvi. It gives confident to the driver. Just nice for a small car.

• S.Roma on Aug 09, 2010 at 6:40 pm

Damn !

The car is good. The thing that is not good is only the price. Sad !

• learner on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:52 am

but not really far apart… during promotion time sure price will drop few thousands…

• arroncyl on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:30 pm

Why the rims look so same as the old Perodua Myvi SE (Silver, not the black one)?
    :)

• my lady has been owning the Viva with lots of frustrations, the engine is noisy, lots rattling sound, the NVH is very poor, she said if this i10 1.25 released like 2 years ago, she surely would buy this i10… nothing is solid…
    she has been regret for buying viva at 40 over K after seeing this i10 also at 40 over K….
    somemore i10 looks better than viva…

i feel that this i10 really suits lady, the safety surelys beat Viva… i drove Viva every time, feel like the door is really like milo tin…the door built of i10 really beats viva…

• alex tye on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:49 am

yup….i-10 is better that VIVA….100% agree !!

• jim khoo on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:29 pm

gcsk,
      my hse has both; 1.25 i10 and a 1.0 viva. what i can suggest is, you can
      advice your girlfriend to quickly get rid of the viva and get the i10. the little
      extra on petrol cost is very much worth it!

• Roxas on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:48 pm

When i was planning to buy car, i planning to get a Saga, coz im afraid that the i10 1.1cc wont do well at highway speed. but at last i stil go for this baby,, and wow,, it really supprise me,,it does not perform like a small car,, it delievers big cars feel..n it really is amazingly quiet even at 120kmh compare to ‘some’ 1.3cc hatch out thre~
    door closing are oso much more solid then the plastic feel in viva n myvi

• orgbiasa on Aug 11, 2010 at 4:46 pm

Value for money, the only issue i k about. So don compare rm39k VIVA wif rm49k cars. Thx

i bought a Persona Elegance manual 49k 2 mths ago. tested myvi n i-10 b4 i made decision too. at 49k, thk we only can afford basic model for these cars. my female fren bought Myvi LE at 58k, after a week i ordered my PE, den i tested her car n compare wif mine. there r pros n cons of cos. so here to share some experiences wif u all, purely personal opinions and have no intention to insult or accuse any other.

1st thg 1st, PE is DIFFERENT wif GEN2… go test drive den u’ll know.

1. PE has irritating engine sound. for me its not thou. sure some Persona driver understand this *wink
    2. Top speed, tried 180+kmph for PE, 165 for Myvi, 140 for i-10 n almost make me n da saleperson throw out from da car.
    3. Cornering, for me PE is way better den the the other 2 at high speed, low speed juz bout da same.
    4. Stability, same as above. Myvi n i-10 is good city driven car so they r gd in low speed cruising
    5. fuel consumption, PE is way worse than other but i enjoy cooler aircon (HAHA), provide tat all in manual. but my manual PE is same as auto Myvi in city, i-10 im not sure so no comment.
    6. design, too subjective. every1 has his/her own preference, juz tat i like PE more. =)
    7. PE is less annoying during high speed bumpy road, no comment for i-10 as nvr tried.
    8. personal experince, smoked (ori) TRD dugong VIOS right after 2nd gear wen test car wif few VIOS frens n vios is nice car but not in value for money =). Overtook HILUXes at 170kmph during trip from Kch-Sibu (borneo expressway). in high speed, aircon is too efficient so u can lowest ur aircon to save ur engine burden n drive in more fuel efficiency n more power.
    9. solid dashboard, roomy, heavier steering gives better road sensitivity, HUGE IMPROVEMENT AFTER PATHETIC GEN2. BUT, annoying sound for signalling, less solid door trim, no alloy rims, bad looking exhaust head, only 2 rear speakers ( i replace ori player), handbrake not tight enough so have to pull a bit harder den other, and service centre charged me rm145 for changing lousy engine oil n prohibited me to bring my own shell helix, long queue in service centre, some of em don speak english n only can speak malay n im not gd at tat part, aircon too cold??

Those r juz my personal views. totally have no insult towards any manufacturers. So i feel like my rm49k is worth as it is my 1st car. =)

NO 1 MAKES THE BEST CAR, THERE IS ONLY UR PREFERABLE CAR. so don argue, win-win for all. KUDOS!!

• David on Aug 11, 2010 at 4:58 pm

first of all, i’m not a salesman. why is it that when people praise a car, a lot of you will call us salesmen? it’s our personal opinion and doesn’t apply to everyone.

Secondly, i’ve tried both cars back-to back and in the long run, the i10 is actually the BETTER car to live with on a daily basis, as not only it’s more fun to drive, but also feels quieter than a Viva, which sounds like a washing machine. Okay, it may cost more than a Viva, but in the long run, it’s the more comfortable car, it’s the more solid car, and it’s the more attractive car!!

Third of all, why don’t you go and try both cars before you call me a salesman? Calling people a salesman when they make very positive comments about a car is not only immature, but also baseless as well.

• orgbiasa on Aug 12, 2010 at 1:59 pm

mayb u should write down da name of the person tat u r refering to, to make him/her realise so. =)

• David on Aug 12, 2010 at 3:35 pm

oh, and this post is for roy_hodgson. Grow up dude!! Salesmen don’t say negative things about the car, just positive things.

• Chico on Aug 15, 2010 at 12:16 am

Koreans products do possess superior quality. Wanna bet? My REALISTICS stereo system which I bought some 23 years ago (in 1987 to be exact) in Canada is still in good shape. My hyundai matrix 1.8 (CBU) I bought in 2002 is still running excellently after 8 wonderful years. Yes…it’s been quite a petrol guzzler lately but can’t really blame hyundai coz the engine was sourced from mitsubisihi. I hv fully settled the matrix loan in 2009 and can easily fork out RM18k-20k if I sell it @ trade it in with any model out there but Im not gonna do it now coz the 2010 elantra/avante looks irresistably sexy n such a head-turner. Mated with 6-speed AT for a car in C-segment is simply outrageous. Hopefully it will reach our shores a.s.a.p. coz I hv no doubt to trade in my matrix with this gorgeous car…hv owned a wira, perdana, kenari, kancil, ford, suzuki, honda n toyota…my heart still goes with hyundai…sorry alex tye.

• supz10 on Aug 16, 2010 at 9:25 pm

anyone who bought this i-10 kappa recently? care to share the price cause im looking for the best price in town and i gonna own this car soon! yay!

• New2Korean on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:18 am

No stock here in Miri, Sarawak. I sold my 10 years old Camry last week and went looking for cars & a 4×4. Yesterday I bought the ford ranger and booked i10 kappa but have to wait 2-3 months! Wonders why no stock here but plenty in west Malaysia!

• jim khoo on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:34 pm

they don’t offer discount for the 1.25 anymore. so, its almost 50k for the std model.
      and the waiting list now at certain dealers is abt 2-3 months long.

• Lasting99 on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:48 am

I m still deciding to sell my Vios and get a Grand Vitara, or repair my vios & keep it and buy an i10…. Decision decision decision…!

• goingtobuy on Aug 20, 2010 at 4:49 pm

went to the 2 hyundai showroom yesterday…the salesman said the Kappa imported from India…all Kappa units are now sold..no stock in Malaysia..the salesman was making a joke, the car sold out was because shah rukh khan was driving the Kappa in the commercial…hahaha

• piplup on Aug 22, 2010 at 8:11 am

anyone knows where to get the ‘inspire’ bodykit for i10?

• I wana know the price of i10, viva & myvi now.. 2010 …tq

• Zuyi Lim on Aug 29, 2010 at 12:54 pm

hi, would like to share with you all. I bought i10 (1.25cc) initially i’m very happy and satisfied on the quality and the speed. I got the car in the month of 23 July 2010. Once reach 1000km, i went for the service. On 20 August 2010, my car air – compressor spoilt. It is very ridiculous. I went to Glenmarie HQ, they told me that they don’t have the part. I need to wait for another 3 days. Therefore, think twice before purchase. They quality is still the same so bad eventho ady take over by Sime Darby.

• E Bear on Sep 03, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Hmmm compressor should be local installed item………Sime Darby needs to do something with sub-con parts.

• jim khoo on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:39 pm

you could be plain unlucky to get a bad air comressor for your i10.

even this things happen to bmw and mercs sometimes. they are
      no good too?

• Lasting99 on Aug 30, 2010 at 12:59 am

Very sorry to hear ur a/c spoiled and have to wait for 3 days for spare part. But it is not a typical problem as I have search the net to find similar problem like yours and found no other. I was worried coz I’ve placed a booking for one. It is frustrating to have your purchase failed on you so fast, i know that feeling coz my Toyota Vios have a faulty left drive shaft when I 1st purchased it and have to wait 6 months to get it replaced under warranty. Some time it is just bad luck but I won’t advise against people to think twice about purchasing Vios just becoz I have bad experience with the drive shaft on my unit.

• Anyone knows whether the upcoming i10 facelift will actually be launched here in MY around this Nov, and whether it’ll come with the newer 1.25cc engine [ it’s already testing in India with the VTVT, some sort of valve timing system ] or not?

• E Bear on Sep 03, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Have not driven this new model but got the last batch of the old Inokom Atos (A) for 37k.

Even that car did not have much rattling noise, pretty well put together.

The only bug would be the resale value and top speed.

Otherwise, man, it is streets ahead of the prev. model P.Saga which has it’s shocks replace with Sachs Super Touring and yet still lose to my 13yr old City….sigh.

• wuawua on Sep 06, 2010 at 2:09 pm

i dah beli kereta ni dapat dlm bulan jun, so far i suka kete ni, apa2 org nak kata bagus ke tak ke, susah nak dapat spare part ke apa ke, dah minat beli je la, hak individu, cuma i punya kete tak ada reverse sensor, fog lamp, air bag, ebd, huhuh kurang tang situ je la, lain2 semuanya puas hati! ;) beli pun dpt harga 47K ! hehehe :P nasib tak mahal sgt salesmen tu bg harga tu! :P

• wuawua on Sep 06, 2010 at 2:24 pm

kelakar pasal kete pun nak gaduh! :P

• JamesL on Sep 08, 2010 at 2:46 am

Hi, I’m selling my metallic blue 2008 i10 auto for 32K if anyone is interested.
    Still got another great 3 years warranty.
    Cant keep it cos buying house which seems to getting more ridiculous in price these days.
    What I can say is that Koreans are par with Jap these days depending on the model.
    The sad thing is that resale is poor since mindset is still with the late 90s and early 2000s Hyundai technology. After testing/owning many cars, some observations:
    i10 rides/handles better than previous Honda City/Vios
    Current Avante rides better and quieter than current Civic
    Kia Forte can’t run rings around latest Honda City(PaddleShift Spec)
    Latest Sonata runs rings around current Camry
    Oh and people who say BMWs rock havent had their electronics/iDrive fail on them

• What’s your mileage on your unit? Does it come with the tachometer and the electric side mirrors? High or low specs?

• you sold your car already?
      What’s your mileage now?
      high or low spec?

• Lil Princess on Sep 13, 2010 at 11:48 am

Hi Paul/Danny,

I’m thinking of changing my car either into a myvi or hyundai i10 1.25.
    In terms of price… i think for a myvi SE is a little bit too over, so i’ll prefer to take hyundai i10. But the problem is… everyone says that all hyundai cars has no resaleble value and will depreciate alot as compared other other cars. Adding up, hyundai cars is a very high maintenance and it’s a problematic car as well. So i went to the hyundai sales center to check out the car and ask about the cars spec and features etc… Most of the salesmen told me that their hyundai car is improving and even the resalelable value for hyundai i10 will markup from this year onwards or maybe the salesmen just wanted to boost up their sales as well.

Will the hyundai i 10 depreciate very fast till it is wortless as just the same like the previous hyundai cars?

• jim khoo on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:49 pm

Lil,
      above post… is 32k for 1.1 i10 2008 model bad?

anyway, if you worry about low resale value of a korean, buy a used
      one. in that case, the first owner made the most lost lost. you’ll loose
      only a little. ; )

• Lasting99 on Sep 13, 2010 at 6:59 pm

I know u r asking Danny & Pual, but please let me put it in different perspective about this depreciation.
    I smoked more than 10 package a week and drank (beer) about a case a week. I spent about rm600/- on smoke & beer alone every month. I spent about rm200/- on smoke & beer related illness every month and spent about rm200 on Toto & 4D every month and so far never strike 1st prize, not even 2nd & 3rd! So basically I’m throwing away about rm1000/- every month for the last 21 years. People say I’m stupid for doing such thing which they are correct, but I enjoy everymoment of every puff I take and every gulp I drank. Now comparing this to the car, it is something similar. It may depreciate like mad or it may not, it may have problems but again it may be reliable – regardless what it may be, I know you will enjoy driving this little car every time.

• Jamez on Sep 14, 2010 at 12:00 am

does the 1.25l kappa in msia has sunroof? if i;m not wrong the uk version has it.
    Advise pls. Thx

• Alitstar on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:32 pm

I have seen Hyundai rolling out cars with designs superseding some of famous European brands. The new Mercedes E-Class in my eyes must be the ugliest car after Cherry. Yet it sells probably because of its reputation in safety, quality and track record. It seems the same building up in Hyundai. Hyundai is progressing well in the world and I am not saying just in Automotive, but also their core industry in engineering and ship building.

Therefore I braved to shift my paradigm about Korean cars, not that I’m disappointed with my Kancil, Saga, Wira, Altis, Camry, Accord and MINI. I have also had an opportunity to drive various models of BMW during my tenure with a certain dealership.

About two weeks ago, I test drove the Sonata, Tucson, Getz and i10. Having satisfied with the vehicles performance, I signed the RCO – for an i10. My wife was nudging me for the Tucson, but I had to later entertain her that we are stepping into an unknown territory, let’s check out what I consider a “disposable” first. While waiting for the delivery, I read some rave reviews of its fuel consumption on a UK site and was waiting in eager to check it out for real.
    THE i10 ALL NEW 1.25 KRAP-PA ENGINE
    To my surprise when I got it, the sound of the exhaust, loyalty of the gearbox and swift acceleration did remind me of my MINI Cooper. I love the gearbox keeping gears in lock; making driving at traffic jams a fun thing and allows engine breaking. But I am not at all impressed with its fuel consumption, getting only 340km with 28 liters of fuel, that’s an embarrassing 12km per liter; my Altis 1.6 can do the same or better. So what was it again the UK reviewer said about the 1.25 new generation Kappa engine?

On other tests, above 120kph I can hardly control the car wondering left and right. Forget taking it to 150kph (which I did), one will have to stop at the fuel station every 300 km, or less. Overall, the car is good – for a City Car, of less 50k. And please get a spare rear windscreen wiper rubber. You need to use it more often than the front. Some smart-alec designs the rear spoiler to channel all the rain and dust onto the glass. Maybe the Hyundai club fans can tell us how much down-force they got from it in their wind tunnel testing.

On my way back from Bangi, I exited to Cyberjaya to get to Puchong. There is a nice, curling turn off to the toll plaza. I heard a soft ‘tick’ noise and when I straightened to approach the toll, I noticed a two inch hairline crack on the front windscreen, just above the rear view mirror. The next afternoon the crack grew about six inch.
    I showed the crack to the technical personnel of the dealership but they claimed it was caused by a stone chip. Pointing to a speck of dot in-between the crack line. So how can I argue?

I do know that the frame of the i10, like most other cars flexed while taking a turn. Windscreen frames and wheelhouse are the most rigid assembled components but they do flex at certain applied energy. Therefore windscreens are normally installed with several rubber buffers over a certain thickness of sealant. Thick sealant when fully cured restricts movement and sometimes cracks a windscreen, during hard turns or climbing steep humps. But my explanation was thrown out and they insisted that I’m hallucinating.

I gave in and opted to have it replaced by was told that my 21 days old car is not insured for windscreen damage. What’s more, the entire car is not insured. The E-cover had no dates because the dealership has not paid the agent for the insurance, although I have paid everything to them. When challenged, the Branch Manager denied responsibility should my car is involved in an accident of any claims against them.

SERVICE APPOINTMENT
    I decided to forgo the replacement until I get the insurance sorted. In the meantime, my car had reached 850 km and its due for the 1st service, in about 5 days (estimated). The dealership was full, so were others in the state. I was given an option to come on Saturday at about 7:30am and wait on a first come first serve basis.
    Now why would I want to ruin my Saturday to wait at a dealership for an oil change? Then I got a shock when I recalled the 5 years warranty.

5 YEAR WARRANTY / 300,000 KM
    Meaning, I have to put up with these nonsense of appointments, weeks ahead and probably spend the whole day at the dealership. Factor in the part where if I were to claim anything on warranty, they I can be regarded as hallucinating for a free job?
    Therefore, will I have the patience for 5 years, to put up with these ‘nonsense’ to be entitled for a possible warranty on my car repairs? It occurred to me not. That in a year or two, I will not be able to resists the fast, immediate and prompt attention of Ah Chong Workshop. In which, will render my 5 years warranty as void. Since I’m not in any better situation now anyway, what the heck. So I said to their 5 Year Warranty / 300,000 KM – up yours!

RESALE VALUE
    I am expecting to lose about RM 7,000.00 ~ 20,000.00 should I sell this car. Most of those who own a Hyundai claim that their legs are chained with the banks. They still have to settle a huge sum before they can get rid of this car. Is it that bad? When I sold my Altis for a Camry, I was delighted by the Sales person in UMW by offering me the best value, overtrade, free this and that that I fell in love with UMW Toyota.
    About this “Why buy a car just to sell them later” that some Hyundai die hard owners brag. Well guys, with an exception to being a millionaire, most of you cannot claim the car you drive is yours, right? It belongs to the financier until we settle the full loan tenure and this maybe 5, 7 or 9 years. We are practically driving cars on lease. And the so called “Our car/my car” is a liability in respect to road safety as an asset. It’s not at all close to being an investment to hold on the car we purchased to last for eternity.
    The average car reaches metal fatigue just after 3 years. Some even after 1 year, irrespective to what the mileages are. Even with regular service, we can extend probably the engine and gearbox lifespan whilst the rest will be taken care by the way you drive (I’ve seen how you drive), climate and the excellent road condition we have here in Malaysia.

Most of us don’t have the cash to buy cars like millionaires do, so we need to dispose the ones we have to get another. Knowing that these cars (European, Korean or Japanese) are unlikely to survive time, we take the longest tenure, lowest installments (save some) and plan to get rid of it after 3 years. Furthermore, by that time there will be new model with greater features to enjoy. Why keep an antique?
    After the 3rd year, just after the warranty expires you will notice the trip to your favorite garages will increase, time spent will be longer and the money you cough-out for your loyal baby will escalate. Plot them on a chart, and you will actually see with your eyes how your wallet thins every year. You want to keep this sentimental scrap metal, be my guest.

That’s why most Malaysians with the buying power (the Uncles if I may) always consider resale value of the car they buy. And mind you, we Uncles so far have been successful in keeping a grip on which car has better resale while the younger goons continue to debate on the dawn of the uncle’s car.

But it’s fine if you were born with a silver spoon and actually thinks those unheard off cars are antiques, please go ahead. Cars that simply overwhelm you with its ‘torque’, monster BHP, SMART Gearbox, TipTronic, HeadsUpDislay, NightVision or simply for the Chris Bangle design, or the Bang Olufsen sound system and the facts and figures of the machine that matches your ‘character’ and success. Otherwise, you must be joking to say your Hyundai (or any other car) is for keep sake, which remotely has any of the latter standards.

Again it’s OK, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, fine. Enjoy yours and thanks for your NEW SCHOOL thinking, you will remain suckers for another 10 / 20 years and continue to make Malaysia a dumping ground for these scrap…plastics.

LESSONS LEARNED
    I have just crossed 4000km on my new i10 Krap-pa engine. I’m servicing it with Ah Chong as I don’t see the point in paying RM 250.00 (for the first service as well) just to be entitled for their krap-pa 5 year warranty, which they will some how find it void.

I was planning to pass the i10 to my son but by now even he is not interested. He wants a MyVi which has numerous service centers in the country and there one just a stone throw from my place. So the lessons learned are that it may be a good car elsewhere in the world, it sure sucks here in Malaysia.

For those who bought the Hyundai, may god bless you. For those whom are planning…please for god’s sake, check out Perodua, Honda, Nissan and Toyota first.

• JamesL on Sep 27, 2010 at 3:58 pm

About the Malaysia car situation, yes I fully agree…it sucks.
      Even the Uncle Camry 2.4 loses 40-50K value in 2-3 years only.
      Therefore, even the Malaysians with money will have to dish out serious money and depreciation for cars which overseas is considered the family grocery shopper. So what do the up and coming youngsters do? Pay 150K for a Golf TSI and when the time comes to sell on, just accept things will never change and migrate. Whats the issue paying a bit more income tax in Europe when you can have a new Golf TSI for GBP15,000? And the government wonders where all this Brain Drain is coming from…..

• How can your entire car not be insured? You need to have insurance before you can get your road tax. Unless you want to tell us that you have been driving around for many days without a road tax!!!!

If you want to make up a story, make sure you plug all the loopholes first.

• (ex-banker and lawyer) on Oct 07, 2010 at 1:46 am

@Alitstar, sorry but Im with Vee and James here ,,,, 1) unless one is born with silver spoon, most of us will stay with the same car for a few years so resale value is not a big problem for me except in a financial emergency, and 2) do make a police report against the SA if he’s ripped you off on the insurance thingy – at minimum you are still covered in case of accident by suing the company or even the insurance company for the actions of their appointed agent … in any case, guess you didn’t need a bank loan cos they would definitely NOT pay the company until basic things like car insurance is paid & endorsed to them :P = 2 sen. Important thing is, we can decide to be HAPPY with a good ride (highly personal) … at a relatively bargain price of RM 47K. Cheers!

• rayhan on Sep 28, 2010 at 9:46 am

i’m planning to buy i10 but after reading all the comment. i’m not so sure

• daniel on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:12 pm

Hold your purchase as the i10 has been improved with higher power & fuel efficient VVT engines and the fluidic design exterior. Only thing SIME DARBY may sleep on it for another year or two. Perhaps you can import direct from India with an AP???

• tempted with the i10 after reading so much good comments and a good review on it. but my only problem, the maintenance. can some i10 owners please share your views on the maintenance like how much is an average servicing cost?

• neyney on Dec 13, 2010 at 5:23 pm

i’m contemplating between i10 and alto.can u gentleman give me the pro and cons of both cars? :) tx!

• Simply me on Dec 29, 2010 at 2:17 pm

i’ve tested both i10 and alto..
    alto is cute..but it is really2 under power and lots of manual things like
    rear passenger window, side mirror..
    i10 1.25 is cute too.. better power..all windows and side mirror are all auto..and
    it has a remote control for the audio unit.. ;)
    although i like the look of alto more then the i10, at the end.. i decided to
    buy i10 1.25 auto
    after a week driving the i10 (not yet the first 1000km service).. would say it’s a good car .. and my fuel consumption is around 15 – 16 km per liter (city + highway). quite good eh.
    the fuel consumption is really depends on the way it is driven ;)

• dicky on Feb 27, 2011 at 10:19 pm

really like the i10.. top speed reach 190km/h… can even beat those civic

• Just wondering if the fuel mileage you got is manual calculation right as don’t see it on current electronic dash option. Heard there is a new darker blue colour i10 coming out.

• junaidi ariffin on Sep 07, 2011 at 6:00 pm

how long got to wait for a new hyundai i10 and do the car assemble in malaysia or order direct from korea

• any i10 user here got update on the fuel consumption? 28 litres can run about 340km is not really good leh…

• i10 user on Dec 06, 2012 at 10:45 pm

hi..im i10 user not more than 1 month. so far so good. here the pro n cons so far.
    pro.-comfortable. fc not bad. feel like sitting in big car.infront seat. handling is good. good interior n looks. differentiation.
    cons- slow pickup.
    overall satisfied

• kappa owner on Jul 01, 2014 at 12:10 pm

Just gonna leave a comment here for those who are considering to own an inokom 1.25 kappa.

Admittedly, I went for the high spec at rm52k with the spoiler and air bags and the whole lot, which was cheaper than an auto transmission myvi 1.5. I wanted to get a myvi 1.3 but with an auto transmission and larger (heavier) body and a test drive, it didn’t impress me. I have friends with myvi.1.3 before so I know how it feels to be a passenger in a myvi–horrible sound proofing, and even the door gives a hollow sound when you close it.

Then I test drove an i10. I drove a Gen2 before so imagine my surprise… less sound leaking in, I can hear people in the backseat talking, beautiful corners, decent pick up when leaving a roundabout/traffic lights. Even when starting up the engine, it was not like a myvi trying to cough up something ugly. The sound of the engine startup is smoother and more silent when the i10 is idle. No rattles also… when the aircond is on but your car is idle, it feels as if it’s turned off
    It is that comfortable.

Now almost 2 years into owning an i10 kappa, I can safely say that fc is average 15sen per km. I know because i only fill certain amount every time so that i can track my fc. Up to date, it’s rm1.5k for 9,800++km so far. Manual transmission cars (such as proton saga) are around 14sen per km for fc… considering this is auto transmission, the value is amazing. And this is coming from a lazy owner who doesn’t always go for servicing every 3 months. Up to date I only had 5 services, yet the car is still giving me excellent fc.

Only thing is my seats don’t come in leather. The only downside for me.

• abas kassim on Oct 02, 2015 at 2:03 am

Saya nak order full bodykits hyundai i10 first model