Civic Type R hatchback to be discontinued in Europe!

It looks like the Civic Type R Euro hatchback will follow the path of its larger sibling the FD2 Type R Sedan – Honda has decided to discontinue it in Europe. It will not be phased out altogether though, as Honda will continue to sell it in certain European markets as well as some markets outside Europe such as Japan.

It will disappear from most of its core European markets thanks to the car’s high-revving 2.0 litre engine not being able to keep up with rising emissions regulations, with the most recent being Euro 5. Honda should just switch to a smaller turbocharged engine to keep up with the times. Perhaps it will finally do so with the next generation of Civic Type R, which should be hitting the news in perhaps 2 years.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• theanswer on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:55 am

so sad..anyway it’s time to move on..honda should follow vw..smaller engine. no more vtec besar..hahaha

• patriot on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:07 pm

what is the deal with vtec besar? All i know is turbo “kecil” will kick vtec besar everytime.

• Facebook_User on Aug 11, 2010 at 4:53 pm

Never.LONG LIVE IVTEC@VTEC

• jolly_idiot on Aug 11, 2010 at 7:35 pm

Different exp bro. Vtec gives high revving with NA tune driving exp. Turbo has limited rev and different driving exp. I personally preferf NA. No replacement for displacement when it comes to NA.

• 388900wow on Aug 17, 2010 at 6:48 pm

well said idiot, u r truely idiot

btw TSI engine rocks!

• Kapunek on Aug 23, 2010 at 8:16 pm

You moron. Campro CPS is the best than B16A 7 B16B VTEC.

• @Kapunek: Tell proton to sent the CPS engine to 3rd world country! Hahaha..Anyway B16A & B16B are last 10 years technology…But still it is better than CPS! Hahahaha

@388900wow: Don’t say idiot to other peoples. I bet u only owned a 1996 Proton Satria..please don’t talk smart like u really know K20A & TSI engine…Hahahaha

• carsut on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:56 am

sad news though.. love this car

• Fithrie Z. on Aug 11, 2010 at 10:10 am

Poor Honda. They design a nice looking car but not an environmentally tolerance engine. But I am still going to use my Civic.

• JenggaJengga on Aug 11, 2010 at 10:10 am

just thought bringing the car back to Msia.

• lance on Aug 11, 2010 at 11:59 am

I saw this civic type R twice in msia..

Both diff color but the rear design seem ugly to me..

• trav_da_man on Aug 11, 2010 at 10:17 am

The days of high revving VTECs are numbered. Its time for small turbocharging engines or 2 engines hybrid based performance.

• akupunya on Aug 11, 2010 at 10:40 am

ugly car. poor engine.

why honda engine has hig revv?

even the city compared to vios, city revv can be hear clearly inside in the cockpit.
    emm…

• Madbul on Aug 11, 2010 at 6:31 pm

Poor engine??!! Are u kidding me?!

The K20A engine is an engineering marvel! Although it’s only a K20Z3 in this FN2, it’s still a K series engine for god sakes!

The only quelm about the FN2 is the rear torsion beam configuration.

Quiet & comfort, stick with the city, it’s about Type-R legends being discontinued here…..

• scooobydoo on Aug 12, 2010 at 10:17 am

K Series engine, well the initial base engine design / platform was built by Powertrain Ltd, an MGROVER company, way back in 1988. Its an old engine, way past its lifecycle. Honda acquired MG back in the 90’s to acquire the engine as part of its plan. In fact, in the early 2002, MG ROVER was talking to Petronas to acquire the EO1 engine developed by Petronas and Yamaha Engineering Design to replace the K series engine …initially meant for PROTON, dont know what happen there….reasonbeing K series engine was not even EURO 4 compliant, but the E01 was…..in short, HONDA using old BASE engine, but upgraded, yes….but the K Series engine, like all engines, have signiture characteristics, good and bad

• apple on Aug 12, 2010 at 11:36 am

Where you got Honda K-series engine is based on old and problematic MG Rover K-series engine from? Source?

• scooobydoo on Aug 12, 2010 at 3:43 pm

I got it during my tour of the Longbridge facilities in Birmingham UK. It can be observed why the ROVER 216 i believe and Honda City or was it Civic of the 90s shared same platform and engine

• Ordinary Joe on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:17 pm

hahahahahah…. u are so way off track. Wrong googling…
          Yes, there is a k-series rover engine, but that an entirely different engine from honda’s k-series jem…

• 388900wow on Aug 17, 2010 at 6:51 pm

wat so good about Honda engine~~ it just better than Proton..but never can beat the Vw…

• jolly_idiot on Aug 11, 2010 at 7:38 pm

Sorry to those who don’t know engines. K20A is a state of art masterpiece. It’s comparable to Toyota VVTL-i in Celica. You have all pack in one (Variable Valve timing (Intake/Exhaust, Variable Valve Lift (Intake/Exhaust). Most VVT-i or i-Vtec on Honda or Toyota only comes on intake. I love this engine. No beat even for Mitsu’s new Mivec.

• torque on Aug 12, 2010 at 2:07 pm

U’re rite there bro! I for one love the K20A series engine but couldn’t afford the Integra…mahal masa tu. So, I settle something similar which is Toyota co-develop with Yamaha VVTL-i Celica, also a marvel! The TRD Sports M itself could attract 210bhp from it’s 1.8liter engine. Now, again with Yamaha…Toyota produce the marvelous LFA 4.8l V10 NA engine.

Anyway, I feel sad for Honda…one after another share the same fate (*end production). Hope it won’t last long…

• 388900wow on Aug 17, 2010 at 6:52 pm

LFA ? stupid race car wanna be… Skyline smoke it anytime~

• @388900wow: Don’t just condemn…see this for your self…. Please see the result of the best lap created by cars like Skyline, Evo & etc compared to FD2R…amazing!
            http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ndaUTJUEzDg

• JonLing on Aug 11, 2010 at 11:13 am

wat a sad news to hear. hopefully honda will come up with more “enviromentally friendly” Type R in the future. maybe matching a small turbo engine with a electric motor or something, to become a true high performance car like the current Type-R’s, and yet emitting half or even less CO2 and consume much less petrol (a diesel version will be even more awesome!)……

• (a diesel version will be even more awesome!) That is a very good option. FD2 chassic with turbo charge commonrail diesel injection with VNT. Let our dream come true Honda.

Hi Paul,
      Possible for you to pass the suggestion to Honda?????? :)

• here comes the next gen..1.5L ivtec with electric motor?..possible..no more big high revving engine guy..huhuhu..love vtec high revving sound…

• wolfsburg on Aug 11, 2010 at 11:39 am

Poor Honda… It is quite weird that such an expert in engine can’t meet the Euro5… They seems to be so proud of their VTEC and don’t wanna use the new A-VTEC which was announced 4 years ago. Even the Korean is coming up with the CVVL+DCVVT+GDi engine…

• normal_user on Aug 11, 2010 at 11:44 am

Honda is now pressured to increase its R&D activities to come up with a greener high performance engine.

Sad story indeed. Both cars are legendary, and its rarity will surely make them a collector’s item.

• Espresso! Quick! on Aug 11, 2010 at 12:20 pm

you can still get this model here!! grey importers have them and if you can’t afford the Type R, the Si is available at around RM145k to RM155k. get them while they are still available!

• ericmaxman on Aug 11, 2010 at 12:51 pm

screw euro regulations. they only kill more and more good cars.

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 11, 2010 at 1:00 pm

What a twist of fate.

Since as far back at the mid 70s, where almost all the manufactuers have problems with new emission laws, Honda benefited from its highly efficient and clean CVCC engine and carved a whole market share for itself.

Fast forward 30 years and you have one of Honda’s most potent engines falling afoul of emission regulations.

Oh how the mightly has fallen….

Turbo charging has always been the most efficient way of making power. Never been a fan of Honda engines.

• millimeter on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:02 pm

Well at least this honda gearbox is built tougher n much more reliable than the over-rated VW DSG gearbox….DSG is extremely unreliable, it’s proven worldwide, google it.

• VW_fans on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Perhaps they just use hybrid technology to make sports car, just like Honda CR-Z. Maybe another 2yrs time, such green technology able to soooop up the hp but use less fuel.

• bystander on Aug 11, 2010 at 3:03 pm

heartbreaking news, now become collector’s item ledi…maybe the next type R will b 1.6 supercharged like mini s? miss the day of ori ek9 n dc2 when it was affordable n practical performance sports.

• nighttrain on Aug 11, 2010 at 3:43 pm

they can start selling the car here at dirt cheap prices, y’know..

• Unfortunately, that will not happen. Especially when you still have that NAP bitch and diaper-protected Protong around.

• if any of the lamborghini there met the emission?

and last time toyotas vvti-L is banned for that reason, because of that L.
    but lotus exige is using toyotas vvti-L supercharged.

• All Lamborghini meet the emision targets and all Proton cars sold in the UK too: Gen2, Savvy, Satria Neo and Persona (Gen2 sedan in the UK).

This leads us to two possibilities:

-Proton’s engineers are better in engine design than their counterparts from Honda & Toyota (because Proton cars meet the Euro 5 emission targets without problems)

-The “Emission” reasoning is just an excuse. They stop sales of this cars for other reasons… ;)

• Honda cannot keep up with rising emissions regulations?

Haha, it’s just an alibi… The true is, that the Type R cannot keep up with it’s european rivals and thus the sales numers in Europe are dissatisfying…

Wikipedia: “However the television show Top Gear criticized the car. Jeremy Clarkson said it “just doesn’t feel that quick” and that “all the poise and control you used to get from the old car is gone”. The car has met with criticism from Evo Magazine, as well, who complained that it falls short dynamically when compared to rivals like the European market Ford Focus ST, Opel Astra OPC/Vauxhall Astra VXR and the Volkswagen Golf GTi particularly in the areas of steering and chassis balance”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honda_Civic_Type_R#Reception

• Wikipedia, the most f**ken unreliable source from the internet. Honda had always put up a good fight at Europe. Even the “problematic” Toyota is still No.1 car in the world. How about Protong? Makan asap weihhhh! Muahahaha.

• jolly_idiot on Aug 11, 2010 at 7:41 pm

Power doesn’t comes with Eco-Friendly. As 70’s to 80’s they phased out carby engines and move towards injection. I can see the world is changing again, probably this time is petrol towards electric?

Wonder if electric motor driven car will give the same driving experience as petrol engine? Miss the engine revv sounds.

• the spoiler cuts through your vision of the rear window.
    its a looker, that’s about it.
    since when does Honda had emission problems. excuse much. the pr guy knows as much as my mum about the company.

• mitlanevo on Aug 11, 2010 at 10:10 pm

definitely 1 of the BEST looking hot hatch!

• Anti Proton on Aug 11, 2010 at 10:37 pm

thanks you very much. the japanese type r is much cooler.

• If i’m not mistaken, K20 engine is still without direct injection technologies.With direct injection they should meet the Euro 5 reg. So maybe honda will introduce a new high revving engine for their hardcore car……….long live VTEC. (hoping for it)

• Civic EK on Aug 12, 2010 at 9:16 am

yeah vtec engines d best! :D

• Sasuke Racing on Aug 12, 2010 at 10:35 am

Hope next generation TypeR come with more powerful VTEC and DSG gearbox.

• Ordinary Joe on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:25 pm

Its not that honda does not know how to build engines that are compliant. The k-series in the type-R is admittedly coming of age already. Its a great engine, super duper reliable 2L giving out 200++ bhp. It just begs to be trashed. NEW regulations have caught up with this engine… honda can(if they wanted to) make that engine compliant, but you wouldn’t get the desired performance la, so what the point?, time to move on la… thats all…

• With all the f**king negative comments here and there, at least Toyota, Honda and surprisingly even TaTa are way better than Protong. So live with it Protong Fan Boys! Muahahahaha.

• Lorne Marr on Aug 14, 2010 at 3:39 am

If I wanna afford to pay double the price for a regular small car that is kinda sporty, why not just buy a proper sports car for a little extra anyway? I don’t know how the regulations apply to car categories, but I cannot imagine Bentleys will stop selling because they spray gas on the highway when flying 300km/h.

• ihmatrix on Aug 14, 2010 at 6:23 pm

oh my.. ordered one already.