Audi Gentleman’s Racer concept – powerful beauty

Audi used to be part of Auto Union, which represented four German manufacturers and was established in 1936. The company, like its German counterpart Mercedes, enjoyed a rich racing history within the Silver Arrows period – named so due to silver German cars’ domination of motoring events. One of the most notable Auto Union race cars was the C-Type. Here, an Audi fan took it upon himself to create a modern interpretation which he called Audi Gentleman’s Racer.

Mikael Lugnegard, a freelance designer, developed a concept inspired by American hot rods. In the concept, he combines design lines that is now synonymous with Audi, along with the most recognizable thing about Audis today, which is their front grille. This shows up in the concept albeit being slightly elongated.

When a design is created in the mind with no regards to financial viability, anything is possible. Thus a performance driven approach was taken and Audi’s lightweight aluminium spaceframe is used for the chassis, Ohlins racing suspension system, Brembo brakes and a body entirely made out of carbon fibre.

Powering this lightweight hot rod, will be the 5.2-litre V10 found in the R8 V10, which in stock form pumps out 525 horses, which will go straight to the rear wheels. A specialised gentlemen’s race car should have the luxuries, and no expense seems to have been spared with the use of carbon fibre, aluminium and Alcantara leather for the interior. Catch more beauty shots of the hot rod in a picture gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1400]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Malaysian on Aug 13, 2010 at 12:39 pm

Classic yet modern.

• slumber on Aug 13, 2010 at 12:59 pm

Either like or don’t like, there’s no in-between.

• mfahd_88 on Aug 13, 2010 at 2:13 pm

cool!
    this is what we call a monster!!

• gaman-kun on Aug 13, 2010 at 2:24 pm

hot rod.

• venven81 on Aug 13, 2010 at 2:43 pm

this Audi fan must be a BIG one! took his time to come up with such design that i personally have no comment. pretty? ugly? can’t decide now hmm… anyway kudos for his love for this marque :)

• carsut on Aug 13, 2010 at 2:58 pm

copy phase form american hot rot.. boring!!

• this is a beauty + beast!!

• doesnt look audi.

• what ? u drive while standing ?

• RAZMAN MAJID on Aug 13, 2010 at 4:00 pm

frankly this car is anytime good looking than what Proton and Perodua can produce, in terms safety too…

• likehondanotsomuch on Aug 13, 2010 at 4:02 pm

why strange car start to show up from the last three post,like paul being abducted by aliens

• fatcat on Aug 13, 2010 at 4:13 pm

Batman Next new ride ” the bat hot rods.” cool !

• Initial R on Aug 13, 2010 at 4:22 pm

Where Chip Foose ?..

• Chris Ng on Aug 13, 2010 at 4:28 pm

They finally turned my favourite monopoly piece into real life. :)

• nebula87 on Aug 13, 2010 at 5:00 pm

Walao…the grill…

• Interestingly, the Auto Union ‘type C’ and ‘type R’ from 1937 were more advanced than Mr. Lugnegard’s creation, they had a ‘rear Mid-engine’ design… ;)

http://i43.tinypic.com/2lv0gz.jpg

http://i40.tinypic.com/2ewzcyg.jpg

• Srotong Stoopid on Aug 13, 2010 at 6:24 pm

looks like it could fit only one person inside?

• looks. old school. likey.
    anyone watched sorcerer’s apprentice?
    loved it. reminds me of the car.

• armandd on Aug 13, 2010 at 11:02 pm

not bad i would say. but chip foose had done this since long ago..

• jazni gani on Aug 14, 2010 at 12:41 am

cant see the beauty, not practical and cant be use on kampung roads. after spending half a million u cant go anywhere with the car.

• Mackironi on Aug 14, 2010 at 9:41 am

As UGLY as SHIT!

• ilikeit on Aug 14, 2010 at 11:49 am

Gani:this is a fan build Audi….not something into production for you to balik kampung…exclude this…which supercar is suitable for kampung road?

this is something cool to me…=D

• nyan46 on Aug 15, 2010 at 10:25 am

monster

• Kambing Gurun on Aug 15, 2010 at 6:10 pm

Mobile barbeque grill…

• acerman on Aug 15, 2010 at 6:32 pm

One “garang” car, like wanna eat u. If this car come from behind you on highway, I thought it would be a Batmobile.

• pdvilq on Aug 16, 2010 at 4:03 pm

This is so special…resembles the Auto Union heritage. When its comes to Auto Union, the standard level is high…no doubt about the design similarity with foose but this monster has it own league.

• hahah audi patah balik ke masa lampau tp penuh tech.. jap lg dia bg chip foose lak upgrade kaw kaw nye ekeke

• Chyan on Aug 22, 2010 at 3:09 pm

I loled at some of the commentors.

This is actually a nice looking design.
    Some people cannot think out of the box. Silly.