Valentino Rossi moves to Ducati, signs two-year deal

Valentino Rossi moves to Ducati, signs two-year dealThe rumours have been circulating for quite some time, but it’s now confirmed that the seven-time MotoGP champ has left Yamaha to join Ducati, signing a two-year deal with the Italian team. Rossi has been with Yamaha for seven years, a successful period that saw him win four world championships and 45 grands prix. At Ducati, he will replace Casey Stoner who will go to Honda next year. Ducati’s other rider is American Nicky Hayden.

Rumours of Rossi leaving was first heard last autumn, when The Doctor sounded that Yamaha must ultimately choose between him or young hotshot teammate Jorge Lorenzo, as he did not believe in two equal number one riders. He hinted that Ducati will be the destination should he quit Yamaha. Here’s the romantic Italian bidding a sad farewell to his Japanese lover:

“It is very difficult to explain in just a few words what my relationship with Yamaha has been in these past seven years. Many things have changed since that far-off time in 2004, but especially ‘she’, my M1, has changed. At that time she was a poor middle-grid position MotoGP bike, derided by most of the riders and the MotoGP workers. Now, after having helped her to grow and improve, you can see her smiling in her garage, courted and admired, treated as the ‘top of the class’.

“Now the moment has come to look for new challenges; my work here at Yamaha is finished. Unfortunately even the most beautiful love stories finish, but they leave a lot of wonderful memories, like when my M1 and I kissed for the first time on the grass at Welkom, when she looked straight in my eyes and told me ‘I love you!'”

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• intermilan on Aug 16, 2010 at 9:57 am

Great guy!

• Annoy-nimal on Aug 16, 2010 at 10:02 am

What a love story indeed… didnt know someone like Rossi could come up with romantic words like that… :) The Italian leaves his Japanese girlfriend for a local chick I suppose. Its inevitable…
    the Doctor rulez!!!

• Sean ZX10 on Aug 16, 2010 at 10:08 am

damn it Rossi !! why in the world u would go to Ducati? beside the obvious ridiculous sum of paychecks.

I hate Ducati. A bike that sells thru looks but no brain. Agusta is much better with the price region of a Ducati. Rossi should go to Suzuki. Suzuki is the best handled bike in the world witha powerful motor. Bring up Suzuki like u brought up Yamaha.

ops!!…on second thought…don’t go to suzuki. U’ll make more bikers suffer with higher price of Suzuki in future. i’m in dilemma….oh gosh

• razy22 on Aug 16, 2010 at 10:14 am

Am i reading a motorsport news or a romance book?hehehe…sayonara The Doctor

• Rovert on Aug 16, 2010 at 10:16 am

That must be the most dreamy farewell speach from a racing driver/rider ever!

• antaras on Aug 16, 2010 at 10:40 am

Velentino Rossi is class. Pure class.

• satu keputusan yg mengejutkan di kala yamaha sedang berada di puncak kejayaan…..
    walau apapun all the best for the doctors…

• Si Bodoh Tak Pegi Sekolah on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:28 pm

Hey……. Bodoh, Rossi punya nama gelaran “The Doctor” buka the doctors BODOH!!!!!! Dia satu orang. Plural = More then 1. Singular = 1. Jadi Kalau Rossi tu satu orang……. Dia jadi “The Doctor” BODOH. Letak S kat setiap ayat English tak menjadikan dia lebih English Si BODOH!!!!!!!

• pendekaratz on Aug 16, 2010 at 3:57 pm

tak payah la nak bodoh2kan orang..takut nanti terbalik pada kita semula..

di bulan puasa ni kan elok cakap baik2..mungkin dia [email protected] la elok2 k.

dia pon peminat Rossi..kita kawan tak mahu lawan..

• pomen_gtr on Aug 16, 2010 at 4:01 pm

rileks la braders…..

takde matinye kesalahan tatabahasas dias tus…

yg nak mengamuks macam pompuan menopaus datangs bulans nihs kenapes pulaks????

• schumi on Aug 16, 2010 at 4:54 pm

the bloody idiot shows his true color!

• woii lu ape hal..?? MONOPOLES ke..?? idiot.. releks ar..

• Damn.. I wish i could said ‘i love u’ to my kapchai… aiiishh…

• u actually can, just make sure course is clear…

• yeah i really try it hard.. but every time i saw the signal and the front lamp with the black tape.. i just can said ‘poor you’ but at least it have serve me for more 14 years already… (T__T) i need to pimp up my bike…

• trav_da_man on Aug 16, 2010 at 10:57 am

All that sweet valentino rossi……. He really did develop and grow Yamaha from a struggling team to what it is today. This yr MotoGP is currently dominated by his team mate Jorge Lorenzo who should be his biggest rival for next year’s Moto GP.

Its logical to see an Italian moving to an Italian marque. Moreover after he has already done with Yamaha, including developing into a race winning bike as well as a few titles.

• apple on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:28 am

Currently Rossi the best MotoGP rider out there but one major contributer to his success in MotoGP is Jeremy Burgess. Burgess was Honda engineer since Mick Doohan time and when Rossi moved to Yamaha from Repsol Honda, he brought Burgess and co together with him.

I would love to see Rossi alone at Ducati to see what he can do. He said he wants a new challenge right? If he brings Burgess and co to Ducati, it will not make so much different working environment when he was with Yamaha and Honda. Well, he get a new bike to play and learn though.

• Mick Doohan is always the best, he riding style will forever in my mind, last time Doohan & Criville fight for no.1, but REPSOL HONDA didnt separate them with same team but difference garage, but YAMAHA separate them with 2 garage, that why YAMAHA will not get 2 no.1 rider in 2011.

• 20v_ke35 on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:03 am

fuh…. jiwang karat ayat mamat ni…

• Bravo…

• Peter on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:30 am

Still, Moto GP is still dominate by japanese bikes…

• i still remember what happen at Welkom..
    this year he is just unfortunate to break his leg..that’s why lorenzo dominate the MotoGP.

Ducati = always the fastest bikes in straight line for several years in MotoGP.
    Plus Rossi, i think it would be great combination.

p/s: he also leave Honda where he win almost every race with his RC212V.

• matjoe on Aug 16, 2010 at 12:24 pm

yep, i think he try to prove that he himself can make a different. we’ll see how does it goes in the next season

• leonardo on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:38 am

On the bigger picture of sales and loyal followers, i think Yamaha made a big mistake by allowing Rossi to leave. He’s got huge fans not just in Italy but all over the world. This translates into sales, of course not all superbikes, but also the smaller ones including our Kapchais.
    When the Doctor leaves Yamaha and goes to Ducati, so will be his fans and potential buyers, who wants to be like him. But in Malaysia we don’t have underbone Ducatis, but probably his followers will still use his number 46 and use some fake Ducati stickers on their Kapchais.
    No doubt he will use his magic to transform Ducati into a front runner again next year, with full Italian backing!
    Sayonara to his Gaisha…rest assured that she will find many other ‘customers’!

• matjoe on Aug 16, 2010 at 12:26 pm

i think u r rite. me yamaha LC and Lagenda sold than honda dream or 125x.

the rossi effect

• trav_da_man on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:53 pm

Not to worry, Jorge Lorenzo is one one of the best riders in Moto GP and who knows he will be multiple champions like Rossi. He will assure glory for Yamaha.

• Amiran on Aug 17, 2010 at 7:28 am

I think real good racer is not only good at handling a machine, but also good at giving inputs to engineers to improve the machine in all aspects, in fastest possible time. I think this is what Rossi is, and the like such as Schumi, Alonso, Loeb etc. So next season will be the time to reveal the real Lorenzo.

• kambingg on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:50 am

the only question here is,will rossi bring along jeremy bergess and his teams to ducati??

• Jonnie on Aug 16, 2010 at 12:12 pm

Mr Yamaha will say… this is not the same Rossi we know who left… it is maybe the twin…

• pomen_gtr on Aug 16, 2010 at 12:21 pm

yayayaya…
    waiting wether if his mech. team follow or not…..

• Jaybond on Aug 16, 2010 at 12:32 pm

Rossi has achieved huge success with Yamaha, so most probably it’s the right time for him to look out for new challenge and add to his phenomenal carrier achievements and this time with Ducati. Of course Yamaha might lose out a bit in terms of marketing or whatever, but this is Rossi’s decision. Yamaha just have to face it and move on.

• Ducati will be the new fenomena..woo0t woot!!

• pendekaratz on Aug 16, 2010 at 12:43 pm

yesss………………yihaaaaaaaa

• zafedz on Aug 16, 2010 at 12:48 pm

i’m hoping he should joint modenas team in order to boost up modenas sales…

• Norman on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:27 pm

Ducati look stronger next year,Desmodecini GP11 V4 engine is just too strong for the Japs too catch up even with 30% air restrictor.The 800cc V4 churns put 236hp@17000rpm and 146nm@14500rpm with a top speed of 349kmh.Hopes Honda will do something.Yamaha YZR-M1 is king of top speed but need to improve on their Torque.Suzuki need to maintain.Hopefully Kawasaki will re-join.BMW should participate like they did in World Superbike.Aprilia should join too..

• roy_hodgson on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:40 pm

still remember him racing in aprillia 125cc during my univ time. he is a true winner .. doesn’t matter what bike he raced. ducati tried to steal him when they first compete in the motogp, but unselfishly, he decline the offer to finish the unsettle works at yamaha Go rossi / nastro azzurro

• pendekaratz on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:14 pm

Rossi patut dah lama keluar dari yamaha..pasal dah lama sangat..7 tahun..memang dia banyak bantu bina motor M1 dari motor yang langsung tak power sampai boleh jadi juara,..harap dia boleh buat yang sama bila pindah ke Ducati..kalau Rossi pindah ke Kawasaki@Suzuki lagi gempak..

harap2 Petronas jadi main sponsor untk team ni..lagi pekdah dan ada hasil..daripada taja team mercedes gp yang langsung takde hasil..

tahun depan motogp lagi menarik la dengan Rossi tukar team ni..

• Civic1.7 RS on Aug 16, 2010 at 4:20 pm

betul…habis la yamaha…rugi la..Rossi tu adalah ikon yamaha skrg..rugi la..mcm mike doohan ngan honda. rossi ngan yamaha..tp aku rasa rossi blah kerana dia rasa tergugat ngan lorenzo..memg lorenzo laju, pace dia memg mantap..skrg pedrosa je bleh fight ngan dia..rossi tahun ni dah over..dia tak fit…injured sana sini..memg xleh fokus lah kalau byk injured..tp tahun depan rasanya rossi menang..coz setau aku motor stoner memg laju..sgt laju..then kita akan tengok rossi angkat balik ducati…n jatuhkan yamaha..aku rasa yamaha dah jual mahal dah skrg..ayat2 rossi mcm menyindir yamaha team aje..

• aki_zz on Aug 16, 2010 at 6:35 pm

aku setuju…ducati tu mmg laju pun… kalo x laju mcm mane stoner blh mng world champ skali…

• apple on Aug 17, 2010 at 2:09 am

yep, rossi rasa tergugat dgn lorenzo..last year lorenzo byk jatuh patah sana sini, tp this year dia mmg consistent and race pace dia mmg mantap..Ducati dulu mmg pantas kat straight, but this year kurang sket..tp yg masalah dan pelik dgn Ducati ni Stoner saje yg boleh bawak motor ni dgn pantas tp rider Ducati lain semua corot2 ..org cakap Ducati ni mmg susah nak handle..

• kipasrossi on Aug 17, 2010 at 12:02 pm

ROSSI BOLEH HANDEL DUCATI..KALU YAMAHA YANG TAK POWER LANGSUNG PON BOLEH BERUBAH JADI MOTOR JUARA, INIKAN PULAK DUCATI

• hazry on Aug 19, 2010 at 8:29 am

memamg susah nk handle ducati ni bro laju gila aku rasa bila rossi pindah ke
          ducati lorenzo dng dani lg tergugat la sbb rossi kn bekas juara rossi pon dh blh baca
          skill skill dia org misti kena titik punya la…rossi laju moto pon laju abis la m1 dng honda pas ni

• hazry on Aug 19, 2010 at 8:37 am

bkn tegugat bro aku rasa lorenzo punya permainan xcntik kotor la bro cuba lu tngok bila time race misti lorenzo akan himpit rossi sampai rossi xleh nk bergerak..lepas aja rossi jatuh kaki dia patah rossi dh xdk semngt dh tu aku rasa la kalau rossi pulak misti dia akan cari gap utk potong line raider yg lain..tp lorenzo x lu tngok la bila game nanti.

• What a wonderful speech !! Bitter sweet …a true love story ….

• nyan46 on Aug 16, 2010 at 4:44 pm

ducati+rossi dh tentu power tapi stoner pun hebat jugak dgn hrc.

• Mohd Fairuz on Aug 16, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Wherever u go I will continue supporting u.All the best to U friend.

• fatcat on Aug 16, 2010 at 5:54 pm

It’s great to see an italian rider riding and italian bike ! shows those suckers who’s the king of the MotoGP !

• notakosong.com on Aug 16, 2010 at 6:37 pm

the doctor has moved…

im not sure if petronas investment on yamaha moto gp is quite a good deal…

• Zahar Zain on Aug 16, 2010 at 9:05 pm

Wow….such passion, such love for his crotch rocket. Maybe that’s his recipe for for all his successes, be in love with with one you straddle day in and day out…..it will love you back and provide the extra bhp in shove, the extra grip in handling, the extra courage lean further into a corner and brake harder…..
    Aspiring Malaysian Riders- moral of the story, cintai lah motor anda….muahsss!!!

• you can tell he really loves bikes. no wonder he’s the champion.

so we have an italian pro rider riding an italian bike. nice recipe.

• Anti Proton on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:19 pm

italiano numero uno

• awg1031 on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:46 pm

come on rossi!! change those dull faced ducati..make them bright and cheerful!! that’s what most people loves about rossi..he’s character that is, aside from his racing expertise..

• rossi on Aug 17, 2010 at 2:14 am

he’s the best rider of motogp you can get!

• Untouchable on Aug 17, 2010 at 4:51 am

Hope Ben Spies will continue with Yamaha…

• Rossi….125cc champion, 250 champion cc, 500 cc champion, 990 cc champion, 800 cc (motogp) champion……and next 2012 1000 cc champion. Aprillia, honda, yamaha, ducati, michelin, bridgestone…..

You are the G.O.A.T !!!!!!!!!

• alldisc on Aug 17, 2010 at 8:27 am

please remind all those yamaha owners with no 46 motogp colour shceme, by year 2011 such thing is outdated. ha ha ha… if one is yamaha supporter change to lorenzo’s colou scheme. if one is ducati supporter, must sell his yamaha and buy a ducati. if cannot afford a ducati SBK, buy a Lexur and paint it like a ducati.

heh heh..

• lurza on Aug 17, 2010 at 8:47 am

Aprillia(125cc,250cc) = Juara, Honda(500cc, Motogp) = Juara, Yamaha(motogp) = Juara, Ducati = ____________?

• Norman on Aug 17, 2010 at 3:25 pm

Starting from 2012 Moto1 will be increased from 800cc to 1000cc 4 cylinders max.Power output is capped at 255hp/162nm while top speed is governed at 355kmh.

For Moto2 there will be no more 250cc 2 strokes.All is 600cc max 4 cylinders which is limited to 150hp/110nm with top max at 290kmh.Minimum weight is 132kg for 4 cylinders,126kg for 3 cylinders and 122kg for twin cylinders.Currently Honda supplied all the engine based on road going heavy modded CBR600RR.Wonder what is prototype when FIM allowed production based engine to be use on motogp?Commercial or bribery?

For Moto3 there will be no more 125cc 2 strokers.It will be replace by a max 250cc 4 stroke single cylinder engine.Power output will be limited to 60hp/35nm top speed capped at 238kmh.Minimum weight is 83kg excluding rider

• pomen_gtr on Aug 17, 2010 at 4:18 pm

errr… a little bit correction….

1-there is NO maximum power limit on any 3 category…..

2-they did use honda as sole supplier for moto2 because of cost related to R&D for every team….and making this category more affordable….(look moto2 now become more interesting)

additional fact for moto1,2,3

-all 3 category share EXACTLY same bore diameter (81mm)….so we would see some cost cutting measurement here….to save a lot everybody to RND their boreXstroke combo for their respective category..as well as manufacturing cost for the piston since all of them use identical piston…

cheers…

• Wisdom on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:15 pm

I think currently something is not right in Yamaha garage..

Seeing Lorenzo’s and Rossi’s bike perform during race, Lorenzo’s one seems a bit faster and stronger. I have a feeling they detune rossi’s bike due to whatever reason….

• apple on Aug 18, 2010 at 10:21 am

I don’t think so. Rossi has been hinting about the bike setup issues with especially the rear grip. Currently, Lorenzo and his engineers making a better job. For bike riders, other than skills, they must have 100% confidence with the bike to push to the limit to be fast.

• Ah Boon on Oct 08, 2010 at 8:05 pm

i was waiting for rossi to say he had sex with the bike after the 1st paragraph