2010 Suzuki Kizashi reached 327km/h at Bonneville!

The turbocharged Ferrari Enzo wont be the only thing making a bang at the Bonneville Salt Flats this week. Suzuki America has officially pitted their Kizashi model against the best and most innovative this year. Driven by Road & Track’s Sam Mitani, they’ve successfully attained the title of fastest car in the Blown Gas Coupe Category.

Managing an average top speed of 203.72 mph (327.9 km/h), the figure was made out of two high speed runs. Looking at the numbers produced so far, it is quite obvious that the Kizashi model in question didn’t just roll off the assembly line.

Suzuki kitted up the 2.4-litre four cylinder engine with a Turbonetics Turbocharger and a new ACT clutch. This gave the car a total power output of 500hp and 569Nm of torque. A standard engine wouldn’t be able to take all that power so a new intake manifold, forged rods and pistons had to be used.

The insides were turned into a proper race car as it featured a roll cage, an aluminum bulkhead in the rear, racing seats, seat harnesses and window nets. An air dam, new coil-overs, steel wheels with welded seams, specialised Goodyear Front Runner tires, and a parachute completed the Kizashi’s Bonneville kit.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• m4xspeed on Aug 19, 2010 at 8:37 pm

That is one fast saloon car…

• farghmee on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:10 am

very damn fast MODIFIED saloon car.
      fast only in straight route, right?

• klaka seram on Aug 19, 2010 at 9:16 pm

wow! very fast suzuki there

• it doesnt even have a gt wing… but in malaysia, drive 100km only also need a big gt wing

• branjz on Aug 20, 2010 at 12:38 am

hahaha good one

• DonkeyKong on Aug 20, 2010 at 1:49 am

Some ah bengs should advise them to use GT wing, then.. maybe the Kizashi can hit 300mph with GT wing + vortex generator + ah beng exhaust system?

• tommyButton on Aug 20, 2010 at 2:34 pm

With the GT wing, the suzuki won’t be abled to hit 317km/hr, the result will be a lower top speed. That’s why a rear diffuser is more appropriate in this case.

• malaysian on Nov 28, 2011 at 10:50 am

please la…

dont compare our malaysia ah bengs to american ah bengs..

our humble wiras can fly one you know!

kaka… usually the GT wing fly off without the car..

• nabill on Aug 19, 2010 at 10:07 pm

dats almost bmw m5 numbers , but more torque !

• toyoltak on Aug 19, 2010 at 10:27 pm

Any plan to ofeer to the public as an upgrade kit? :-)

• ZM4Ti on Aug 22, 2010 at 1:04 pm

Yes there are plans for an upgrade kit. Road Race Motorsports is currently fevereshly working on a complete upgrade TURBO and Suspension kit for the Kizashi. Check with their website frequently if you want to know when it becomes available. Road Race Motorsports is a kick-ass company, great cars come out of there! :)

• theanswer on Aug 19, 2010 at 11:04 pm

hurmm..got potential to become fast sal0on car like m5.

• rossi46 on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:38 am

its easy to make a fast car in a straight line…the problem/difficulty lies in making a fast car that can go fast thru corners too

• tommyButton on Aug 20, 2010 at 2:40 pm

i won’t use the word ‘Easy’ to describe the works involved in making a car capable to achieve 327.9 km/h top speed record.

• – off topic –

what is a saloon car?

• 4 door sedan,,, some people call it saloon car.

• tommyButton on Aug 20, 2010 at 2:43 pm

what’s is ‘sedan’ ?

• go check dictionary yourself………….asking me, what is dictionary? i don’t know….sorry

• shuhaimi on Aug 20, 2010 at 12:25 am

there a one thing called as google.. i think u gonna get the answer faster and accurate there than u gonna get at here…

• RMZ23 on Aug 20, 2010 at 2:23 am

It’s the type of car you would pick up in a old western saloon after a few hands of poker and and a trip upstairs to visit Kitty.

• loollool on Aug 20, 2010 at 3:40 am

so get a suzuki today~

• what is google?

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 20, 2010 at 8:22 am

we need this variant badly from the maruti plant in india

• yummy on Aug 20, 2010 at 9:02 am

It could go faster if it have better aerodynamic and GT-wing perhaps…

• Ordinary Joe on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:00 am

GT wings are for down force, for better handling around fast corners. This Suzuki is designed for outright straight-line speed. If it had a GT wing, i’d actually slow the car down…

• valandil on Aug 20, 2010 at 11:08 am

yes, GT wings are for major downforce. At that speed, i reckon it will flip the car dude.

• Bibi Jenny on Aug 20, 2010 at 2:46 pm

Aeroplane also got wings bigger than GT wing but top speed very terror how how explain one?

• beamer28 on Aug 21, 2010 at 3:06 am

izzit just me or the front really looks like the MK5 GTI ?

• Selamba on Aug 21, 2010 at 11:04 am

A sedan car (American English, pronunciation /s??dæn/) or saloon car (British English) is a passenger car in a three-box configuration with A, B & C-pillars and principle volumes articulated in separate compartments for engine, passenger and cargo.[1] The passenger compartment features two rows of seats and adequate passenger space in the rear compartment for adult passengers.

• cucukman on Aug 21, 2010 at 6:42 pm

my ah beng souped-up civic can reach higher than that!

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:39 am

why dont you take your souped-up-civic for a ride

if u think you are so hot

baby show us what you got

• Suzuki Dealer on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:44 pm

We can’t wait for Suzuki Kizashi to be launched and arrived at our showroom. Will be an Honour to have Paul to test-drive it. :)