Porsche Cajun – name for upcoming baby Cayenne?

Rumours have been going around about the news of Porsche releasing a baby Cayenne for a really long time now, and for a brief moment people were even referring to it as the Roxster. Now Volkswagen CEO Martin Winterkorn has confirmed that a baby Cayenne is indeed on the way, stating that a new entry level SUV is in the works.

They’ve even given a name for it, Cajun. First Cayenne, now Cajun. Sounds like stuff you’d find on a spice rack. Nevertheless the reason for adding an entry level SUV is no doubt to boost sales. People still love their SUVs but they have started downsizing even that bodytype, and car companies are on the ball – just look at the Range Rover Evoque.

I wonder if Porsche will build it on the Q5 platform or the Tiguan platform. A bespoke platform is unlikely. Although you’d expect the almost similiarly sized Q5 and Tiguan to be based on the same platform (as with the Touareg, Q7 and Cayenne), the Tiguan is Golf-based with a transverse engine layout while the Q5 is basically a jacked up A4 platform with a longitudinal engine layout. A Q5-based Cayenne seems more likely.

Winterkorn adds that the company plans to double sales figures of the Porsche brand to 150,000 units by 2013. Porsche is expected to release the new Cajun (whatever the name might end up being) model sometime in 2015.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• mitlanevo on Sep 29, 2010 at 8:20 pm

2015? hopefully our world not yet end by that time…

• by malaysian standard more than 1 yr is outdated..like EMAS concept

• exlive3 on Sep 29, 2010 at 8:28 pm

cajun???..why cajun…

• Anti Proton on Sep 29, 2010 at 8:29 pm

that is a seriously horrible name? reminds me of some cajun chicken dish.

• JasJos on Sep 29, 2010 at 8:30 pm

VW group is really trying hard to over take toyota.

• skiborne on Sep 29, 2010 at 8:34 pm

cajun?, sounds like food. cajun chicken. hehe

• Cajun chicken salad LOL

• mystvearn on Sep 29, 2010 at 8:41 pm

Porche Curry, Porche Kurma, Porche Dall :P lots of names here

• Scuddie on Sep 29, 2010 at 9:15 pm

Porsche is degrading itself….good or bad?

• VW_fan on Sep 29, 2010 at 9:49 pm

porsche is selling more cars and making more money now than it ever did before introducing the cayenne. is that good or bad?

i can imagine a smaller cheaper suv will sell like hotcakes.

• RadzLee on Sep 29, 2010 at 10:13 pm

cajun… jgn makjun sudahhhh

• Lim Kopi on Sep 29, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Gosh porsche …. M sure u have better taste than that – calling your car a Cajun ?

• Hope the car wont be like the same with the name, Cajun… Kinda Korean-ish…

• Certainly this car has good looks, but Cajun?? Sure ar Porsche? Later ‘Caboom’ la u!

• chuakz on Sep 30, 2010 at 12:59 am

stupid name…what next? sambal?

• nabill on Sep 30, 2010 at 1:11 am

first is thy need to get rid of that face , totally boring , that face on a sport car is barely ok , bt on a big fat 4×4 is jus ugly , time for them to change , enough already , 2nd thing is need to change the name , i mean what the heck is a cajun , migh as well jus call it bingbangbong , or tejofaj,or watever u can type! rediculous name

• shawal on Sep 30, 2010 at 1:46 am

Why izzit name after food….?

• Want to LOL. Must be a joke la. Call it Canddy!

• Jaybond on Sep 30, 2010 at 9:47 am

Alang2 dah ada Porsche Cayman, try la Porsche Alligator ke, Porsche Croco ke.

• PakAbu on Sep 30, 2010 at 10:48 am

Re: “First Cayenne, now Cajun. Sounds like stuff you’d find on a spice rack.”

Jacob,

You made very good names that are deep in heritage & culture, sound ‘meh’. :-(

I think it refers to French ethnic/cultural groups rather than food.

Cayenne is the capital town of French Guyana.
    Cajun is the name of French people (were) living in Southern Louisiana.

(Wiki, people, wiki)

• Panties on Sep 30, 2010 at 10:58 am

Why do people even buy a Cayenne? Isn’t it a Touareg in disguise? Seriously, are people that silly and stupid?

You pay a premium to buy a Volkswagen which is rebadged?

Now, they are doing it with the Cajun. Its just mere marketing. This will be a rebadged Q5.

I can understand white people buying Cayennes because the cars are cheap in overseas but in Malaysia, when it cost RM$550,000 and above, can you imagine you are buying a volkswagen for half a million? Or even a million?

The only true Porsche is the 911.

• Jaybond on Sep 30, 2010 at 12:54 pm

As much as I hate Porsche Cayenne (and SUV in general) , surprisingly it was quite a big seller for Porsche. But purists would rather buy Panamera than Cayenne.

• it is not simply rebadged rather, re-engineered. they both drive differently therefore, i don’t think cayenne buyers are shortchanged. they would be if porsche shared the re-engineering with vw for the touareg.

by the way, the project leader for the model was porsche and not the other way round. so it is really vw benefitting from porsche’s development.

• Commoner on Sep 30, 2010 at 5:02 pm

That’s marketing 101. People buy brands, not products.

• Alpha on Sep 30, 2010 at 9:29 pm

do u even knw what rebadge means??

• Banyakboleh on Oct 01, 2010 at 10:40 am

People buy Cayenne because it is cheap (compare to other Porsche). A recon Cayenne only RM200+ K, very cheap.

• my guess is Q5 base! maybe paul can start a lottery for those who guessed right ;)

• xavier lert on Sep 30, 2010 at 11:40 am

cajun jack fajitas….

• wa~ 2015.. it’s 5 years later. too long already. but this is what i like about it.. highly reliable.. not rushing for production.

• Balikampung on Sep 30, 2010 at 5:09 pm

based on all of Porsche designs… best name would be .

English TOAD

Chinese WOOKWAI

Malay KATAK

Indian TAUGELEK

Take a pick Mr. Ferdinand