Paris 2010: Opel GTC Paris dreams to be hot hatch king

This is the Opel GTC Paris concept car, described as a showcase of how Opel can “dial up” the brand’s design language via a “sporty and emotional interpretation”. This concept previews the upcoming three-door hatchback version of the current Opel/Vauxhall Astra.

Following the likes of Renault with its Megane, the GTC is more than just a five-door Astra with two doors lopped off. Like the Megane Coupe, it’s a compact, rakish and highly stylised three-door. The brand’s recent signature blade sweeps back from the front, like in the Insignia and unlike the five-door Astra. Another design line starts from the door handle flowing back to join the rear lights. Opel says the car has a “bulldog stance”. Short and fat?

The interior has some interesting ideas. The driver’s seat is in red while the passenger’s is in black. They even have calligraphy laser etched on them. The script reads “and the speed was pure beauty”, a quote from Richard Bach’s novel, Jonathan Livingstone Seagull.

Speed wouldn’t be a problem. The GTC has a twin-scroll turbo 2.0-litre with direct injection. This 290 hp motor with double camshaft phasing and twin balance shafts is paired with a six-speed manual transmission. Start/stop is standard, as is a Limited Slip Differential for extra traction. The GTC Paris also features FlexRide adaptive suspension that continuously adapts to changes in driving style and cornering speed.

Nice ingredients for a hot VXR variant. Official pics are here while live images come after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1590]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• so many NEO wannabe

• HirumaKecil on Oct 03, 2010 at 1:51 pm

For me… The best is still VW Scirocco and Renault Megane RS… What a car… Fantastic…
      http://www.google.com.my/images?um=1&hl=en&biw=1280&bih=699&tbs=isch:1&&sa=X&ei=WxmoTLakGoysvgOn5b2TDA&ved=0CCMQvwUoAQ&q=renault+megane+rs&spell=1

http://www.google.com.my/images?um=1&hl=en&biw=1280&bih=699&tbs=isch:1&sa=1&q=scirocco+2010&aq=2&aqi=g10&aql=&oq=scirocco&gs_rfai=

• jisus on Oct 03, 2010 at 3:15 pm

comparing this design with NEO? please dun do tat…neo plain suckz…

• shamazlan on Oct 03, 2010 at 8:28 pm

NEO sucks BIG TIME

• bobdbilder on Oct 03, 2010 at 10:30 pm

EVERYBODY (except for the Germans) forgot the Opel Manta. I read with glee on an article in EVO that tries to remind people that FUN need not be in an expensive car. I can’t have fun taking apexes if I think its gonna cost me an arm and a leg and some other bodily parts to pay for a bent fender. I’d have total fun in a locost coz I know I could fix it myself.

• comparing neo production (year 2006) with the current (2010) and future production 2011-2015 car…itz a really stupid thing to do…OR u guys mmg stupid??

neo rockszz…for hatchback year 2006…..

• If you look at the interior, you can see bloody Daewoo DNA – like Cruze etc. GM / Opel / Opel / Chevy / Vauxhaull terbabas dan lauya like poooootooonnnnnnnn

• Alan Wong on Oct 03, 2010 at 9:58 am

NICE!!!

• Ash Menon on Oct 03, 2010 at 10:04 am

Those rims are CRAZY! But overall I think it looks gorgeous. Lovely balanced interior, and the calligraphy was a nice tough :) I love it when carmakers indulge in their artistic side.

• zimba on Oct 03, 2010 at 10:06 am

cool! with the same design concept as Mazda. this one look more gorgeous.

• raja azhar on Oct 03, 2010 at 11:01 am

A very beautiful and dramatic car. Loving the seats too. :D

• m4xspeed on Oct 03, 2010 at 11:42 am

Super sexy red hot chille OPEL… :)

• Kimmy on Oct 03, 2010 at 2:09 pm

Gti is a hot hatch.haha

• cannonball on Oct 03, 2010 at 3:56 pm

regardless is from GM/Opel/Daewoo or whatever u wanna call, this GTC looks superb and sporty with nice dynamic shape!!
    I’m loving it.

• taufic on Oct 03, 2010 at 4:33 pm

from rear and side, this baby really resemble megane rs

• Nabill on Oct 03, 2010 at 4:41 pm

Nice to see it’s only available with manual transmision,long live the manual !

• asrulasmah on Oct 03, 2010 at 4:47 pm

Great looking car with superb interior

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Oct 03, 2010 at 5:03 pm

had GM made these type of cars earlier

the company would not have gone bankrupt in the first place

like i said earlier

only with a gun on their head they make good things.

auto industry has a simple rule

even if it may not be fast or some engineering innovations, at least make it look cool.

• bobdbilder on Oct 03, 2010 at 10:18 pm

Had GM (and Chrysler and Ford) made these type of cars appealing to their main market; US, things would have been better. Instead they were happy to make guzzlers and trucks and aftermarket parts even though they had all opportunities and resources to do differently.

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Oct 04, 2010 at 2:57 am

indeed

look at hyundai

they have been climbing up.

they may very well beat toyota considering how inert toyota has become

• fender on Oct 03, 2010 at 7:42 pm

very sexy but not as sexy as brera

• Jaybond on Oct 04, 2010 at 8:46 am

The Looks & performance are very cool, but the Opel GTC will definitely face some tough competition from VW Scirocco R & Renault Megane Coupe RS.

• Canaanite on Oct 04, 2010 at 8:32 pm

Hopefully we will see a shootout among Opel/Vauxhall GTC vs VW Scirocco vs Renault Megane RS vs Alfa Romeo Giulietta QV vs 2010 Ford Focus RS.

• familyman on Oct 06, 2010 at 11:28 am

4 doors please…. :P
    then i’m sold!!