Honda recalls around 127,000 City and Fit models in Brazil

honda city

The recall season continues, this time over in Brazil. Late last week, Honda issued a recall on close to 127,000 units of its City and Fit models made by Honda Automoveis do Brasil over potential problems with accelerator pedals that could lead to unwanted acceleration.

Specifically, the company said that dust particles might get inside the accelerator pedal’s sensor, causing the pedal to become stuck in some cases. Though there would be a noticeably higher than normal engine RPM, the driver would be able to maintain control of the vehicle and brake safely to a stop, the company added.

honda fit

A single accident has been reported related to the defect, though there were no injuries. The cars being recalled, 126,774 in total, were assembled in Brazil from May 2008 to October 2010 and were sold only in Brazil, so the recall doesn’t apply to cars in markets elsewhere.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Malaysia thailand city so lucky!!! no affected although so many problem.

• banko on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:55 pm

see aa..
      we dont have recall…. also have many problem
      what about this brazilian with recall? …lagi byk problem ooo… problem sampai matikk
      :P

• vezeroth on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:30 pm

i dont think so that all our cars are so perfect, if they cant get the build quality and panel gaps right, what makes you think everything else is ok? Its just that they never do a recall, afraid of bad press, and malaysian dont care…

• aku rasa on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:12 am

wuhuuuuu bila nak recall civic di malaysia… steering rack problem!!!

• aper la honda…

• Thirtyone on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:24 am

Could this be related to the recent strings of Honda City accidents locally? 14th October in Taman Connought East-West Link where 2 Hondas crashed into each other and burnt, last week when passengers were fatally burnt in Kampar when their car crashed and yesterday near Senawang on PLUS where 3 Superbikes crashed into a City when it suddenly ‘u-turned’ while on the highway?

• squall_shinoda on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:49 pm

Those fires are caused by the breaking fuel injection rail caused by the collision impact. Actually, not just Honda City which is vulnerable to this kind of fire; any car model whose fuel injection rail is at the front side will surely face this risk. The inlet manifold do provide a natural protection for the fuel rail, but if the collision impact is too great then the manifold will break and so does the fuel injection rail.

• BadBET on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:13 pm

If the steering rack is at fault, honda must quickly recall it back. Fire is the aftermath of collision, I wont blame honda for it. Even a million ringgit car also can burnt.

• thirtyone on Oct 18, 2010 at 5:50 pm

I was not referring to the cars catching fire but more of unwanted acceleration that led to the crashes, which started the fires.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 18, 2010 at 6:21 pm

In cases like this, the firemen investigate through the remains of the burnt car to find out the cause of the fire. Until now none of the investigation reports from the firemen and the cops that states about the unwanted acceleration as the cause.

• squawk on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:21 pm

How would they determine unwanted acceleration from speeding?

• don’t buy honda
      nuff said

• dragster on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:24 am

we can see not only T got recall for acceleration pedal then….the moral of the story is “nothing is perfect in this world”

• FAReast on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:25 am

Well we can say honda malaysia do better (quality) job than honda brasil…

• Whattttttttttttttt??????????????

• fridaylover on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:28 am

as always Malaysian market won’t be affected…

• srx116 on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:28 am

i don’t owned any Hondas but this year can be declared as a year of car recalls. Signs of bad manufacturing quality.

• namerku on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:42 am

bash honda…bashh!!

• S.Roma on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:49 am

1st !

Wah RECALL SEASON !

• huh, just taken delivery of my wife city. ma, she will make me going crazy over this

• my friend please banned honda city and jazz for a while!

• anti-cheater on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:09 pm

all honda fun….so what u says?

• It’s the perception.. People think the non-national car is always better. But it seems that those brands also have so much recall. BMW..Benz..Toyota..Honda…

well.. non-national car may not be better.. there’s not much difference between them and P1 and P2. Only one things differentiate them.. The interior quality and feature.. About reliability.. P1 and P2 is not loosing is any sense.

so. to those national car basher.. rethink twice~ P1 and P2 do provide a good car yet fuel saving to transport you from a point to second.

• carsut on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:53 pm

jz want to add recently Ferrari also got recall, not to mention RR I supposed..

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 18, 2010 at 6:46 pm

rubbish! if that were the case then there would not be any need for the tariff protection that p1 and p2 get.

• choose one
      1. p1 / p 2 – so so build quality and save life
      2.oh-not-rich-but=pretend-to-rich-guy-car – just a tad above average build quality but killer

i dun want to die in “expensive” cars
      lol, i hope it’s sarcaastic enough

• Tiadaid on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:13 pm

They may be made in Brazil, but the design is surely the same, isn’t it?

• Ash Menon on Oct 18, 2010 at 5:05 pm

If you’ll notice, the recall only applies to cars manufactured during a specific range date. This probably means that a batch of a specific part was faulty. It’s not likely to be a fault of the design itself. If design fault, surely we would have seen a ton more accidents.

• batwing on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:20 pm

there it goes again =)

• PutraRocker.Com on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:30 pm

nice

• Honda City has a poor materials built quality after all.

• Guest84 on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:58 pm

I wonder how will the Honda dudes react to this “Acceleration” recall as compared to Toyota’s? lol

• freeze_sr on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:05 pm

Hahaha. Go dai City. Go dai pls.

• Izhar on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:10 pm

acceleration pedal problem again???
    hope other manufacture recheck their pedal too and no other country affected after this…

• S.Roma on Oct 18, 2010 at 6:34 pm

acceleration pedal problem again???

(No its not, its the problem for the sensor, not the pedal, read is to the end pls…)

• Izhar on Oct 19, 2010 at 10:48 am

pedal joint to??????………………………..sensor ….
        if pedal dun joint to sensor…how come sensor will read the angel of pedal????
        then how can the processor can read the data???
        dust in sensor make it cannot read well the data….so the processor misunderstood and make the fuel injector inject more fuel and make the rpm rise up…..
        so…..what i mean pedal and sensor was in same set….

maybe u r honda fans….i dun care..i didnt blame on honda…coz all car manufacture have thier own problems…..it’s common…we are the tester….

try study a little bit about sensor…..there are many type of sensor and every sensor have their own disadvantages…..

so keep ur car clean to avoid dust enter ur acceleration sensor…..

• what happens if:
      suddenly going into the road when a big vehicle is coming fast
      suddenly going into ravine

DIE

• klguy on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:11 pm

i bet the malaysian city/fit/jazz wil not be affected.

• Why don’t they recall all affected model manufactured for all countries? Does the design differ for country A to country B? If dust particles may get inside the accelerator pedal’s sensor for Brazil’s car, same condition may also happen to Malaysia’s car, but they do not issue a recall.

Hahaha OEM sama je.

• shamazlan on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:33 pm

coz malaysia boleh…..no problem

• Zidane on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:45 pm

OEM local parts can be from that country.

It is like Proton inspira’s local content of 20% and they are going to increase to 65%.

Both parts can be OEM but still different quality.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:53 pm

Not really. The OEM parts for a car is not necessarily sourced from a single manufacturer, as it will make CKD models costlier in certain countries far from the home market due to transportation costs of the OEM parts. Therefore, the affected markets will be limited if there are such recalls. However, if there are certain design flaws that will be fatal if not being rectified then we can expect a global recall.

• My guest is for production in different countries, car manufacturers source out from different suppliers for their parts simply for cost cutting measures and logistics. That is why you see that most recall specifically says cars from which period and place, except for those really high-end cars produced in low quantity and in one place like the recent Ferrari worldwide recall.

BUT, strangely, Malaysia is one of the least affected by all these so called worldwide. This can only mean that we are just lucky or our suppliers here are good. I would like to believe the latter but that would makes us wonder why P1 could not get the same quality.

• chris on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:13 pm

where are all the proton bashers?
    ah bengs cars got problem now…
    its time to bash ah beng’s car…=)

accident sure mati kaw kaw…

• Road Thunder on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:18 pm

But as usual, we don’t expect Hondas assembled here to have any “problems”, right? The Power of “Dreams”. Imagine driving something that can kill you…literally…without being hit by another vehicle on the road

• the season is now~!^^

• nabill on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:34 pm

thy should have recalled the previous generation city and jazz big time , my friend change that nasty cvt gearbox two times already , and we all though perdana v6 have gearbox problems , wait till u read abt honda’s cvt horror stories…

• autojohndoe on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:21 pm

will they talk about it?

once, they condemn perdana so much…

but, when their honorable jazz got same issue… will they talk about it?

• Tiadaid on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:49 pm

Changed 2 times? Ouch. I’ve changed my CVT once already, but now the dreaded signs of CVT problems is rearing its ugly head again in my City!

• squall_shinoda on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:57 pm

Agreed, or at least they should allow the older City owners to change their CVT gearbox to the new City’s 5-speed auto gearbox. At least normal auto gearboxes like in the current City and most other cars are easy to maintain and reliable (in general, just don’t think about the Perdana V6’s famous gearbox problem).

• Can tell more about Honda’s CVT story or not? Now seen like is a trend to have CVT, Toyota Altis, Nissan Sylphy and our dear Inspira all with CVT.

Which CVT have most problem?

• squall_shinoda on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:53 pm

The old Honda City, because the usage of wrong gearbox oil.

• Can tell more about Honda’s CVT story or not? Now seen like is a trend to have CVT, Toyota Altis, Nissan Sylphy and our dear Inspira all with CVT. Which CVT have most problem?

• Ash Menon on Oct 18, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Wow, really? My sis drives a prev-gen City, I think should be almost 3 years now. So far absolutely no problem (except for the rubber lining on the window came loose, nothing major). I suppose we can consider it luck, then, looking at how many people have problem with CVT.

The new City doesn’t have CVT, correct?

• Tiadaid on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Nope. As for your sister’s car, tell her to maintain it good, don’t send it to those bawah pokok mechanics. The CVT problems often occur after 4-5 years, 4 in my case.

• ayamterbang on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:45 pm

Any of those affect Malaysia?

• First, Toyota moving forward…unwanted. Now, Honda also moving forward…unwanted

• norik on Oct 18, 2010 at 2:19 pm

bad news for honda

• We should do the recalled of the year award~

• hetfield on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:01 pm

No recall in Malaysia as usual

• Mienzz on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:13 pm

‘Drive By Wire Technology’ problem….

• Damn.. sounds scary. just take the bus only la.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Take the bus also scary what… remember the un-magnificent pile-up at PLUS highway near Alor Gajah on 10-10-10 that claimed 12 lives? Pity the victims… seeing those scary pics had made me to taubat not to take express bus anymore…

• Ash Menon on Oct 18, 2010 at 5:09 pm

Work from home is probably the safest, then? Even then your kipas can fall on you.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 18, 2010 at 5:37 pm

That’s right. Accidents can happen anywhere, even at home. So we should work hard, play hard and pray hard.

• namerku on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:40 pm

final destination!!.hehe

• Balikampung on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:21 pm

BETTER buy new PROTON !!

• banko on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:43 pm

they all tiru p1 , my country the greatest!!
    ~sorry, i am 1malaysia minded :P

• Ash Menon on Oct 18, 2010 at 5:09 pm

I have to give you thumbs up for being semangat enough to say that!

• linear_system on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:53 pm

yeah..when proton recalled, proton bashers said proton tiru..for gimmick..when honda and suzuki did,they just being silent..hahaha..typical bashers!

• carsut on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:49 pm

Malaysia car are always perfect.. no need to recall!!

• squall_shinoda on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Proton also recall what… at least during the current DSZ era. During Mahaleel era there’s no such thing as recalls, even though the quality of Proton cars during that era was extremely terrible.

• Tiadaid on Oct 18, 2010 at 5:19 pm

Eh, the Savvy, Perdana & Waja recall was during Mahaleel’s time what…

• squall_shinoda on Oct 18, 2010 at 5:35 pm

Oh really…? I thought those recalls were during DSZ’s era…

• Tiadaid on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:53 pm

DSZ only started in 2008…the Savvy recall was in 2007. I remembered it because I accompanied my friend who went to send his cousin’s Savvy at EON SC in Glenmarie (before they tore down the SC) and skipped my uni class :D

• Fridz on Oct 19, 2010 at 12:18 am

Nop..

Savvy recall was around 2008. That was DSZ time. Paultan also posted this matter in 31 March 2008. Browse yourself.

Jangan buat2 xtau pulak.

• Tiadaid on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:08 pm

It’s 2007 la. I clearly remember it was 2007. Late 2007.

• learner on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:33 am

yo, who care when P1 recalled the above cars during TM or DSZ era. the facts is P1 really recall the affected models. not like during TM era that saying ‘tidak apa’ or ‘not affected’ when problems arise. i do think that many auto companies in malaysia currently still living in the ‘TM era’ by saying ‘not affected’ when global recall happen to their models. in this case P1 is actually ahead of them.

• scanzew on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:49 pm

Haiyo..severe short memory disease LOL…at 8 oct proton recall gen2 and satria neo…

• I believe what carsut trying to say is..”all cars in Malaysia are in a “good condition”..no recall as usual although the car in Malaysia might be affected..”..ah you know..sarcastic..hehe

• OnyxDragon on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:53 pm

city is a rubbish car. almost lost a limb because of the steering

• trav_da_man on Oct 18, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Recall is the new pink!!!!!

• petrol head1 on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:04 pm

whaa so many unit, dulu toyota now honda

• learner on Oct 18, 2010 at 5:49 pm

judging from all the posting above and in other previous topics relating to recall, the only daring and honest auto company in Malaysia to make recall is P1!!! the rest just saying ‘not affected’…………

• honda-the power of dream,dream about power steering???

• Mori2 on Oct 18, 2010 at 6:24 pm

I think if a car been equiped with defected component, they should recall it back. Forget what people will said, it is a responsibility.

It will be more appreciate if they have identify it earlier… for safety reason

• zimba on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:38 pm

A single accident has been reported related to the defect, though there were no injuries.

…I dont think this sentence doesnt indicate that there’s only one accident has happened. BUT there’s only one man who fail to aware that defect that cause that very one accident. All others may be aware too and they manage to control their can in time.

• altimate on Oct 18, 2010 at 6:35 pm

If they recall, ppl say wah so many problems.. lousy..
    If they dont recall, ppl say wah they are not responsible..
    Humans 101

Although I’m not a Honda fan, they decided to recall even if there is only one reported case.. thumbs up !

In my opinion, recall is a good thing.. as the manufacturer’s are taking responsibility over their own fault.

• zimba on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:40 pm

single accident has been reported related to the defect, though there were no injuries.

…I dont think this sentence doesnt indicate that there’s only one accident has happened. BUT there’s only one man who fail to aware that defect that cause that very one accident. All others may be aware too and they manage to control their can in time.

• I think its only 1 single incident reported. How many of us can even acknowledge if our car got defect, after spending 90k on it, haha. It probably goes like ‘ohh damn u brother/sister/wife/mum!! why not u step on the brake!!!’ haha. Everything u buy is perfect. blame urself for it.

• ismazri on Oct 18, 2010 at 6:39 pm

The pedal of death saga continues..

May force be with them.

• Michael Ammot on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:14 pm

did someone aware that the City’s fuel inlet is on the front fender?…what is that?

• Tiadaid on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:51 pm

How do you think they manage to make the car so short? The last generation City’s fuel tank’s right in the middle of the car, under the passengers.

• the cars itself are not safe
    how to safe souls?

• skatax on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:46 pm

recall story aside, does anyone realize this City’s fuel lid is located at front fender???

i wonder why. kinda weird~

• Today sent my civic to skim disc at honda sc. Problem.. strong vibration during braking especially driving downhill eg; at lebuhraya timur barat (grik~Jeli). Ask for new replacement but sc said after 3rd time skim dics if happen again then change new..i think if I complaint during 3rd time the warranty already expired. Sc said Accord have same problem. Honda shall recall all accord and civic…

• walao on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:04 pm

so many honda city sold in brazil!?

• Mata2 on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:06 pm

I bought my accord in 2006, only 2 months old had a brake problem due to severe vibration after braking hard at 160km/h. That year or may be earlier most of SCs are well known this common technical problem. They replaced for you the rotor and the pad foc but the minute you drive at that speed your brake will vibrate again. End up I changed myself with after market pads and till now its fine. 2 Years ago they ractified the problem that due to low melting point of the pads.

The brake problem may cause serious accident but no official recall, quietly replace for you.

Honda owners, don’t be fooled of no recall means everything is perfect in our market.

Another piece of advice for Honda owners, if you have any problem with your expensive parts after your warranty expires file your complaint with its HQ, sure you will get your part replaced. What you have to do is keep on servicing your car at the SC.

• vincent on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:04 am

Mata2,

how do you complaint to HQ? please share in detail. i wanna make complain.

• “The brake problem may cause serious accident but no official recall, quietly replace for you.”

calling for basher…where r da basher.. ???

• H-disappointer on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:11 am

I m owner of 2 H-city, 1 2008 version , n 1 2010 version. all i could say, the built quality is getting poorer. regretting to get the 2010 version. already went for claim n complain (2010 version) for 3 times within the 1st yr.

• A lot of new vehicles will have some gremlins here and there. I do not know of
    any new car that comes without any issue whatsoever. These recalls by some
    manufacturers are probably genuine customer care with some publicity stunt thrown in. Is there a perfect new car out there, I wonder?

• Steven on Oct 19, 2010 at 12:15 pm

If you don’t own a Honda car, please stop bashing Honda. Even Mercedes cars are being recalled. So what’s the big hoo ha about City and Fit/Jazz being recalled in Brazil? Proton also recalled Satria Neo and Gen2. What’s the biggggggg deal?????? Come on, Honda owners, speak up and show them The Power Of Dreams. Blind bashers!!!!!

• MoFaz on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:57 pm

double standard. it’s ok to bash proton, but it’s not right to bash honda & toyota?

• JohnDeep on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:30 pm

I am one of Honda owner. No big deal bro, don’t get frustrated when reading those comments. Everybody knows that Honda cars are better than Proton cars but they are not perfect too.

Nowadays forget about brand loyalty. Buy thing that worth for your money. I used to loyal to National/Panasonic brand. But now I have almost every brand in my house and they’ve served well for the function that I need.

• samyon on Oct 19, 2010 at 5:18 pm

yup, don’t get frustrated, just sit back, read those comments and relax~~

• Izhar on Oct 19, 2010 at 4:00 pm

hahahaha…rilek lah bro…..

• Tiadaid on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:11 pm

I own a Honda City, so I am allowed to bash Honda then. And I do. Man, my family drove Protons from the 1st Saga to the Wira & then Gen2 for a while now and not one of them had as much problem as the damn Honda! No power window problem, no gearbox problem nothing!

• the failure of drive by wire technology

• wazza on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:16 am

you pay for what u get. ntg need to make it big hoo haa.. not like your going affected, unless your the owner what. its a good thing if they recall, at least, they are correcting their mistakes. tak recall bash.. recall also bash.. apa ko mau nie..

• Pietro on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:18 am

I have owned 2 Protons in the past before deciding to move on to Toyota Altis 1.8G this year. What a big mistake! Non-stop problems with my Altis. In comparison, my 2 Protons gave me 12 yrs of reliable driving experience despite my aggressive driving.

• Seriously Dont buy Honda.
    its a piece of crap.
    from crv to city to accord to civics
    all got problem one.
    like crap.

• summore the price is very high.
    better buy proton or the new VW 5 year warranty and unlimited milage.
    which mean they are confident about their VW parts.

• alldisc on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:14 pm

the extra 3 years warranty are good enough. it covers only mechanical aspect of the car. absorber leak in 4th year, not covered. water entering into headlamp – not covered. believe me…

dont fall easily into those traps like Kia’s staggered financing for Kia Spectra some 5-6 years back…. many owners are frustrated as they are being made to pay high instalments now but their cars are ageing with low resale values while being problematic.

• Muserella on Nov 01, 2010 at 1:06 pm

http://www.hmetro.com.my/articles/Nyarisrentung/Article/

Honda City with brakes problem>burned.