Honda ends domestic sales of the Civic, new car in 2011

Honda Motor Co will end domestic sales of its Civic sedan as soon as existing stock runs out, according to prominent media group Nikkei. This is in preparation for a “fully updated model” that’s due to be launched next year. The automaker will continue to sell the four-door Civic worldwide though, as the C-segment sedan is still doing well elsewhere.

Nikkei adds that Honda had at first planned to keep the Civic Hybrid on the market, but decided to stop Japanese sales of all Civic models due to weak demand for sedans of that size. In October, Honda sold only 182 Civics and 270 Civic Hybrids in Japan.

This isn’t surprising at all. Back in August, we posted about Honda moving the 8th gen Civic sedan from its car line up page to the Archives section in its Japan website, listing its lifespan as 2007/09 to 2010/08. The Civic Hybrid wasn’t included in that move. Looks like the much awaited 9th gen Civic is really coming soon, although it’ll take awhile for it to reach here after its domestic unveil.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• evoskylancer on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:53 am

coolness…heard that honda malaysia have also stopped taking orders for honda civic hybrid, but that could probably be because they think that the new insight will do better…looking forward to the unveiling of the 9th gen civic next year

• waiting new civic…..

• yay!
    we get the new civic!
    say bye bye to the old civic.
    hehe

• Kambing Gurun on Nov 17, 2010 at 1:54 pm

Looking forward to buy the current one used… at cheaper price.

• Holly F on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:56 am

Although I’m already owned a City 09, but still I can’t wait for the new Civic to hits Malaysia’s market.

• armandd on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:59 am

paul, do u have pics of the new civic? any spyshots?

• wolfsburg on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:20 am

Gen9 Civic was caught in Middle east…
      http://www.carmiddleeast.com/article-1-2079-2012_honda_civic_exposed

• arcana on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:33 am

i’d say that car looks like the one ready for US market…..
        furthermore its left hand drive…..but we shall see, coz i think if that design goes to malaysia, i think thats a step backwards from the current one sold here.

• autojohndoe on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:43 am

If this is true form…

so, graphically, it is like combination of city, civic fn…

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:59 pm

Aiyooo, banyak buruk maaaa…..how to change my Civic ??? Upgrade to Accord??? Cannot, so jimbo……

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:12 am

It’s weird to see that Civic is selling so well in Malaysia but not in its origin country..

• callenish on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:38 am

japan road tax and insurance structure is base on the car size, since civic has grown bigger and bigger, it become less attractive anymore for buyer in japan.

• mr.wiseGuy on Nov 21, 2010 at 4:58 pm

seriously..8th gen civic is soooo ugly
      maybe msian lack of seni perhaps ?

• malaysia prefer sedan more, think bigger is better concept
      japanese prefer small hatchback size or MPV thats why civic not popular

• Any idea when this car will available in Malaysia?

• Anti Proton on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:54 am

wow so this civic only lasted 4 years?

• Kok Chi on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:47 pm

Well… Depends is it reaches here end 2011 or early 2012. So by the time we get it, probably around 5 years.

• xavier lert on Nov 16, 2010 at 9:13 pm

which civic? this one launch 2005 ..and 2006 here.. so 2006 to 2011 isnt it 5 yrs?

• mmouse on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:55 am

Haha new civic almost the same as the current one… Check out the spy shot below:
    http://www.autoblog.com/2010/10/10/spy-shots-2012-honda-civic-sedan-spied-almost-naked/

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:02 pm

Aiyoooo, so fugly, i’ll stick with my currrent one…….

• Kok Chi on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:52 pm

Hard to say which model we looking at… Could be US model or Euro model or even the JDM.

But the features would definitely keep up or exceed the current Altis facelift specs or else it would be left behind.

• Jaybond on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:07 pm

The new Civic should be nice.

• nolan on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:10 pm

Hope the coming Civic will be smaller than the current one……….i love the way they design previous Civic 2.0 RS……

• Primative on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:35 pm

Come now guys, lets be serious

those above links can’t be the new civic, it looks absolutely horrendous. It looks more inline with the city concept. The looks and design concept emulates Honda City all over. The Lights, the back the front grill, the height of the car, the ikan bilis shape that all City models seems to be designed from. Its uncanny.

I can’t believe this is the new Civic and if it is, i really see the Civic losing alot of the mid-range passenger car market share. I remain absolutely convince this has to be the new City.

• cybermaster98 on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:56 pm

Sorry to disappoint but that is the new Civic. It is really bad and is probably a few generations backward. There is no new City being planned. There is nothing to look forward too with the upcoming Civic. Real disappointment!

• unfortunately, it is the new civic.. but i really think that its for the us market. because its ugly just like the previous usdm version…. i really hope that they will change the front and rear for the jdm civic…

• trikfidi on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:49 pm

9th gen civic is already in honda main website, why bother peeping thru other website, geez.

• I’m gonna give you a double thumbs up bro! That’s just awesome..most people just get carried away…

Thanks for pointing it out.

• Civfan on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Bro can please give the link?

• Philip J. Fry on Nov 16, 2010 at 8:57 pm

http://automobiles.honda.com/civic-sedan/

• xavier lert on Nov 16, 2010 at 9:16 pm

haha..this is the same model…its just US market…8th gen

• arcana on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:15 pm

referring to that link, thats the current gen civic being sold in the US
            they refer it as 2011 model……not the new one thats coming soon.

• Hunter on Nov 18, 2010 at 4:09 pm

lol.. ur the one who is carried away.. clearly thats the US market version.. do some research la bro… lol!

• based on the spy shots, the new Civic looks like a version of the elongated Jazz + City. the rear lights design reminds me of the Korean cars i.e new Sonata. just my thought.

luckily, Honda still maintain that pilot-ish dashboard. love it!

• Protong Owner on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:33 pm

looks like next year will be interesting year for Honda to make a move with Insight, and new Civic (hope include Hybrid)

• nabill on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:37 pm

new civic chould do sting about the road noise and some of the cheap plastics inside…

• KOREAN on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:00 pm

thie version of Civic still look good~ at least can last for another 2 years…

if this is from PROTON: “dun care lah~~ since its so good…sure dun bother to change model…keep on selling lah~~, another 5 or 10 years!…. our Proton saga also get it new models after 20++ years what!”

• Based on spy shot… its not impress at all. Korean are doing much better job nowadays. But yet it will still sell like hot cake because its HONDA CIVIC! ma (too overrated in Malaysia). With budget like this you have much better choice now… wake up!

• I wonder if some of the Toyota designers have joined Honda? The car looks like Axio (especially the back)! (from the middle east spy shots) – looked plain and nothing to be excited about…

Good stuff for all current Civic owners. It is really a good design Honda (or rather say the Japs) has achieved after all the other odd designs.

• honda kaki on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:05 pm

So will civic hybrid still availble in msia next year?Paul can confirm on this?

• shawal on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:18 pm

Honda have a tendency to rotate the designs between ugly and pretty , so i think the 9th gen civic is going to be pretty ugly/dull …..so the owners of the 8th gen will look forward to the 10th gen civic which is going to be beautiful… , well, thats whut i think anyway

• waja2007 on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:51 pm

This new 9th gen Civic is uglier than Vios ‘Dugong’. Even the current Altis is much better looking than the new Civic. The upcoming 2011 Hyundai Avante/Elantra is the best in this segment. Honda can no longer have ‘The Power of Dreams’. If you still want a Civic, just get the 8th gen.

• Ichi24 on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Ok now honda malaysia~!! tis time can u pls gv us a choice of manual trans as
    well???? Pls laa ok!!!!!

• mystvearn on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:14 pm

Next gen civic should be a slightly bigger CR-Z with proper rear seats…

• I don’t believe the so-called spy shots. I trust in Honda Engineers. Let’s wait and see!

• hoyer on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:24 pm

isn’t the pic civic hybrid? is it going to be EOL too?

• I wonder why Korean would dare to further their advancement in design and why not the Japanese ? The 9th gen looks too conventional as compare to the coming Hyundai Avante. Maybe the Japanese will only compete when they are starting to lose

• paparazi on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:07 pm

soul-destroying…. if that’s a new Civic Design

• No wow factor on the exterior.. Rear lamp looks ugly..

http://automobiles.honda.com/civic-sedan/exterior-360-view.aspx

• the link u provided should be U.S. version of current Civic. It was even presented in Hollywood Movie before (forgot the name)!

• Sure there is spy shot of new civic, I think current civic looks better than that so called ‘new civic’…

• Carl Wong on Nov 16, 2010 at 9:56 pm

I’m so excited already. Can’t wait to see what it really looks like for the Asian version. Thanks Danny :]…!!!

• local car on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:31 pm

” In October, Honda sold only 182 Civics and 270 Civic Hybrids in Japan.” A country of population 10 times of Msia, that means this car is “no good” ??

• Whynot on Nov 17, 2010 at 12:59 am

I think it is taller, less aerodynamics and its tail a bit funny, don’t you think?
    The Korean seem to be in the right direction of futuristic design. Korean’s once said “We will never loose to Japan” documented in one of the ASTRO chinese program about the korean ambitious about 1 year back as I can recalls.

Lots of Malaysian’s loves HONDA, from bike to supercars and robots. Pls don’t disappoint us!

• yking on Nov 17, 2010 at 1:14 am

Honda is gonna hv a tough time out doing the current 8 Gen Civic…

• Grandisan on Nov 17, 2010 at 3:59 am

Hahaha …the new up-coming Civic will be ugly for sure ..i you notice the recent Honda releases , almost all of them have the same shape headlights , recall City , Stream , Oddysey , even Accord …. Honda designsare becoming too homogenous …. yup i think ex- Toyota have migrated into Honda ‘Power of Wet Dreams ‘

• Kambing Gurun on Nov 17, 2010 at 1:50 pm

Hahahah great post

• zaff1984 on Nov 17, 2010 at 2:52 pm

Can we call that family design…? Vw also does that..

• Dream On on Nov 17, 2010 at 5:00 pm

Yes, all the current Honda models have this type of front design. It’s standard for the whole Honda range just like Kia’s and VW’s front design. The same goes for Toyota too.

• Looking at other auto websites regarding the spied 2012 Civic seems to concur that it looks similar to the one they are testing in the Middle East. The front is taking after the new City and the back is a step backwards. The New Elantra should be the new Civic. Apparently Honda cannot make the Civic any larger but maintain their fuel economy. I am happy I got the last Civic Hybrid in Malaysia and hope they will launched the CR-Z hybrid too.

• Eric octaviano on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:53 am

Guys this the 9th generation civic according woodycar site

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_r64I1hso1xA/THaaAgddt7I/AAAAAAAAERQ/0AM6Pqcp_kU/s1600/2011+Honda+Civic+001a.png

• Hunter on Nov 18, 2010 at 4:14 pm

too bad.. i think that aint gonna be it bro (wish it will be!!).. woody’s car site also has a followup article on that and the actual civic in question will be this one, tested in the ME (F-UGLY): http://www.carmiddleeast.com/index.php/main/gallery/2079/Articles/0

hope that honda will reconsider the design for JDM.. this one just loos like an early 2000’s car design.. if this really gonna be the new civic, then thanks and goodbye honda!

• Eric octaviano on Nov 18, 2010 at 6:42 pm

I agree with you that the Civic they tested in the link is F%$&! UGLY. I would not buy that Civic and it is a big disspointment. I will Mitsu ASX or Juke instead.

I somewhat believe the link I provided is for JDM market which is for ASEAN region and the one they tested in ME is for US market. This is only my assumption because If you look US version of Odyysey the design is somewhat familiar with the civic they tested in ME. Comparing to Odyysey in Japan & ASEAN region is more similiar with the Civic model in the link I provided.

• Hyundai Fan on Nov 20, 2010 at 11:32 am

Cannot fight with the new Avante at all. Sure being knocked out if the design is not being changed like what Altis did in delaying its launching for 2 years due to bad comment in its initial design but still lost to the current Civic. after redesign.
    Altis and Civic will be a loser when the new Avante is on global sales in 2011.

• Maaajeeedaaa on Nov 21, 2010 at 8:18 am

Honda is definitely downgrading the CiViC’s design..what a pity!!!!!!!!!

• Carl Wong on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:51 pm

You never know what the final design looks like, and the design is always different in Asia. For the current version, the design of the Asian version is much better too :). I have faith in Honda :].

• japanese guyz on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:51 pm

Will next generation JDM Civic go hatchback or keep as sedan?

• Carl Wong on Dec 27, 2010 at 4:16 am

I think the hatchback is for the European market just like the current generation and the sedan for us.