Suzuki Swift named RJC 2011 Japanese Car Of The Year

suzy swift

The new third-generation Suzuki Swift has bagged the Automotive Researchers and Journalists Conference of Japan (RJC) 2011 Japanese Car Of The Year award. The car won in the domestic category with a score of 288 points, ahead of Nissan’s March at 258 and Honda’s Fit Hybrid, which scored 215 points, and in awarding it the title, judges praised the Swift’s excellent interior quality as well as its driving stability and comfort, among other things.

It’s the second RJC Japanese COTY achievement for the Swift, with the previous incarnation winning the prize in 2006. The RJC is a non-profit organisation established in 1990, and made up of Japan-based automotive critics and journalists. Each year, the organisation bestows Car of The Year awards for both Japanese and import models, as well as for the Technology of The Year.

Incidentally, the Volkswagen Polo won the Import COTY title with 294 points, finishing ahead of the Citroen C3, which managed 223 points, and the winner for the technology award was Subaru’s EyeSight driving assistance system as found in the Legacy.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Lappy on Nov 22, 2010 at 12:49 pm

Another award goes to Polo!!! 2 thumbs up!!

• rosdi on Nov 22, 2010 at 1:00 pm

Is the Polo sold in Japan the same spec with the one sold here?

• When will suzuki will bring this car to Malaysia? They still sell the old switf here……finish up the old stock…..

• rosdi on Nov 22, 2010 at 8:52 pm

Why shouldwe buy a swift when we can get ford fiesta at better price?

• Tiadaid on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:43 am

Well, Swift’s selling at 72K. But equipment wise, Fiesta’s a better buy

• bobdbilder on Nov 22, 2010 at 9:49 pm

The new one looks like the new one. So where’s the attraction? How would you know that its new?

• mr_3m on Nov 23, 2010 at 12:25 am

same goes to the Mini… how do you differentiate the R53 and R56 and the latest facelift?

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix them…. so if the new Swift looks the same, it is just testament to how good the original design still is…

• bobdbilder on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:14 am

Yeah just like the Vios which makes you pay more for every facelift. The Mini still has that big round thing stuck in the middle with some LCD in the middle now. You’d expect something different for every revision other than bodykits. That’s what revisions are for. So after nearly 5 years, what is so exceptional about the Swift that it warrants another COTY title?

• koing on Nov 22, 2010 at 3:26 pm

why so many dislike??

• Paul,

Any idea when will this new Swift be in Malaysia ?and how much ?

• carfan on Nov 22, 2010 at 1:26 pm

When is this new model coming here? Jeremy Clarkson seemed to rate the new Swift highly.

• Bob Tan on Nov 22, 2010 at 6:29 pm

who’s jeremy clarkson? one of the retired F1 driver izzit? sorry i m new in auto news…he must be a talented driver huh?

• Michael Ammot on Nov 22, 2010 at 1:44 pm

paul..which one is correct? your or this –> http://vtec.net/news/news-item?news_item_id=935962

• tupak on Nov 22, 2010 at 2:11 pm

way to go suzuki, wonder when SMA will import this new model..

• comrade on Nov 22, 2010 at 2:13 pm

where’s lancer??

• apexg2 on Nov 22, 2010 at 2:19 pm

Proud of swift!One of the owner!

• swifty on Nov 22, 2010 at 2:44 pm

Bravo to Suzuki for another feather in the cap for the Swift.

Paul, perhaps you can write about the VW Polo winning the award in another article and tow lappy’s comment to its rightful place? Thanks in advance.

• kecy82afr on Nov 22, 2010 at 7:30 pm

I think the link below is the news on polo winning one of the award.

http://paultan.org/2010/11/10/honda-cr-z-is-japan-car-of-the-year-polo-is-best-import/

• luckyboy on Nov 22, 2010 at 3:05 pm

The ZC21S and ZC31S are both great cars. They are not supercar, but I would call them sportycars…….it has its own personality, dynamism……I am now driving a new M3 and Golf GTi Mk6. I still miss my old ZC21S which I totaled. I would get this as a run-around car, when it is launched, locally.

• longjaafar on Nov 22, 2010 at 4:36 pm

You have BOTH the GTI and an M3! You must be a real enthusiast. I wish I can afford one.

• the juke on Nov 22, 2010 at 4:54 pm

u r indeed lucky

• since you like the suzuki so much, go buy one, i’m sure you have space in your garage

• Zidane on Nov 22, 2010 at 3:18 pm

Congratulations Suzuki.

Again you impress us

• RON97 on Nov 22, 2010 at 3:29 pm

pre-rebadge Inspira (lancer) = 0 points

• Polo is available in Malaysia, but it is too expensive for a small car.

• mr_3m on Nov 22, 2010 at 3:37 pm

JC loves this car too (3rd gen Swift, 1.2 SZ4 cooking version…), a well deserved recognition for the Suzie!!!

• Unforgiven on Nov 22, 2010 at 4:16 pm

I would like to see my children, fresh grad, college students (parents bought) to be able to own a Suzuki Swift and Volkswagen Polo at the price of RM40k.

Meaning an entry level car price globally…

• niuhje on Nov 22, 2010 at 4:17 pm

why hate? polo good car wat?
    btw sx4 as good as swift?

• asujin on Nov 22, 2010 at 6:13 pm

Great! Really looking forward for this swift 2011. Anyone here know when is the official date launching in Malaysia? I almost buy the current swift 1 month ago.
    cheers!

• bryan jones on Nov 22, 2010 at 7:37 pm

looks identical with current swift for a blink of an eye.. well, i guess they’re taking the safe route..

• peYno on Nov 22, 2010 at 7:44 pm

where is Myvi aka Passo best selling Malaysia?? only can sell in Bolehland???

prrrrtfhhh

• baka peyno on Nov 22, 2010 at 9:40 pm

hey phui-no, since when r we talking about sales here? get yr “atama” checked pls…

• peyno's mom on Nov 22, 2010 at 10:52 pm

peyno is always busy about perodua myvi. :) he is a proud owner of one.

Peyno, let me tell you, there are some great cars out there too, you need to keep your eyes open, like 308 turbo, or even honda civic.

btw, your myvi looks good in apple green ;) pls remove the go-faster-racing-stripe ok? :P

• trav_da_man on Nov 22, 2010 at 9:12 pm

Despite looked almost similar with the current suzuki swift in mysia, at least it has newer engines for the european market, and it retained its fun to drive factor too.Let’s see when DRB Hicom will release the new swift in Mysia.

Jeremy Clarkson did a review on the new swift in his weekly times car review article and he loved it. 4 stars our of 5. Brilliant!

• bobdbilder on Nov 22, 2010 at 9:46 pm

New-smaller-less-CO2-emissions for UK. JC thinks its good. Same like what he said bout the Multipla. Remember?

Hang on, its five years and still look the same! Does it still wobbles when you power out of a turn? Coz when I drove my friend’s 1.5 Auto it did. Felt tidy and planted in a straight. But less admirably when a set of curves pops up. Even less so in a chicane. So, if the new one does pop up, lets see it with better road holding ability.

• mr_3m on Nov 23, 2010 at 12:21 am

Why do u power out of a turn? It’s a front wheel drive car for god sake… not a rear wheel driver…. and what do you mean by wobble, the chassis? the tyre? is it because of wrong tyre size?

I know the 2nd gen Swift, for some reason, it was difficult at one point to get its OEM tyre size 185/60/15… a lot of people had to put 195/55/15 and that affect the handling in some way…

you should try another Swift, just because you tried a 1.5 Auto doesnt mean that all Swift are the same… you could be unlucky to have tried a bad example…

• bobdbilder on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:01 am

I do it coz its fun. I live for the corners. And you can do it in a FWD car. Its no big deal. I always, on a daily basis, slow down before entering a corner, try to get a better line in, drop down a gear (or two) and gradually exit out at max torque rpm. And its only a Waja. Try it out yourself. Pushing limits while being fully aware of those limits makes life more interesting. And I am not just talking about driving.

It would be a problem for cars with less traction though. The route which I took was a normal route in good ol’ Putrajaya. Its not a track. It was a section with a left exit, down a short slope followed by a left and a long right over some scenic view.

The Swift would be a fun car with a 1.6 Manual. I agree. But the Swift being produced for Europe (and eventually the rest of the world) has a Myvi engine. A nicer suspension setup would compensate for the loss of grunt. Regardless DVVT or not.

• transformer on Nov 22, 2010 at 11:29 pm

what would it be if VW put a 1.4L TSI heart to it….?

another GTI maybe? cool……

• whatever on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:50 pm

WHY CAN’T SWIFT RETAIN ITS AWESOME GOOD LOOK EVEN AFTER 5 YRS? PORSCHE HAS DONE IT FOR MANY, MANY LONG YEARS? RECENTLY NISSAN DID THE SAME WITH THEIR BEST SELLING X-TRAIL. THOUGH THE SEXY LOOK REMAINS UNCHANGED IT’S BIGGER IN SIZE NOW……IF DRIVING A SWIFT IS A CRIME, HV ME CONVICTED PLEASE….

• Marvic on Nov 29, 2010 at 12:05 am

I’m VW owner but it catch my eyes when Swift pass by. I more prefer Swift Sport Version more nicer.