Proton Exora Range Extender Electric prototype tested

Here’s something unexpected. We’ve not only got up close and personal with Proton’s prototype Exora EV, we’ve driven it already! And this wasn’t at a Proton event, but at the iGREET (Information on Green Technology) seminar series on green technology organised by Cyberview Sdn Bhd, the landowner of Cyberjaya. Proton was invited to this sixth and last iGREET session to talk about its foray into the electric vehicle scene.

As most know by now, Proton will roll out green cars in the near future that are often dubbed as “hybrid cars” by the media. In actual fact, the cars coming our way aren’t hybrids in the mould of the Prius or Civic Hybrid, but electric cars powered solely by batteries.

Proton’s Green Project Team is working with UK-based Fraser-Nash Research, Lotus, Imperial College London and Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) on a Range Extender Electric Vehicle or REEV – Proton is currently testing the REEV Exora with and without the range extender function, because it’s just a matter of switching the engine on or off.

Some of you might wonder what a range extender is? One of the main drawbacks of an EV is the limited range, and the RE engine takes care of this by providing the battery with juice when it runs dry. So you can reach your destination safely before plugging the car in. The Chevrolet Volt also uses such a system, where its ICE engine doesn’t power the wheels. The experimental RE in the Exora EV prototype is a 400 cc rotary engine with 50 hp. The mass production model most probably won’t come with a rotary, but the target is minimum 50 hp.

There are two electric motors powering this Exora – one for each front wheel. Each makes 35 kW to make 70 kW in total, while torque is rated at 220 Nm combined, available from rest. Proton has decided on the use of lithium polymer batteries, which is more advanced than the lithium ion variety, which is already better than the NiMH packs used in today’s hybrids. Targeted charging time from 10% to full is 6-8 hours while fast charging takes 30 minutes. Proton is aiming for 140 km/h top speed and 140 km range on the Saga body, so we’ll presume that the figures will be slightly less for the Exora.

A charging infrastructure is obviously needed, but at least EV drivers won’t be stranded due to the range extender engine. The REEV Exora is heading to production as early as next year, although nothing is confirmed at this point, which is why we don’t have a detailed technical analysis.

What we have however, is driving impressions of the REEV Exora. We drove the exact same car that won the “Best Range Extender EV” award at the Royal Automobile Club (RAC) Future Car Challenge in England earlier this month.

Brief driving impressions of the REEV Exora prototype

We got to drive the REEV Exora on the empty roads around the Kelab Komuniti Cyberjaya. It was a very brief run, but enough to get a feel of what it’s all about. As is the norm for EVs, starting the car is a soundless affair that one might need to get used to. Twist the key and the instrument panel will light up, as will the central LCD screen showing the battery charge state and temperature. A few seconds later, a “Ready to Drive” alert will tell you that it’s ready to roll.

Other than P, R, and N, the gear lever has two drive modes – D and S. Put it in D and the MPV rolls off silently like a big golf cart. There’s a faint whirring noise that the accompanying Proton engineer said was the fans cooling the battery. Pick up is good, as you’d expect in an EV, but speed is limited to 50 km/h in D, which should be the equivalent of ECO mode in a Prius.

Shift to S and the difference is as clear as night and day. Besides being able to hit a top speed of 140 km/h, the rate of acceleration is multiplied. I took it to around 120 km/h with ease before running out of road. An Exora with torque steer? Believe it!

These prototypes feel very far from being a finished product though. Throttle response isn’t close to immediate – back off the pedal and the car feels like it’s hit a speed limiter, step on it again and there’s a long delay before power gushes in. The steering is also heavier and less intuitive than in the standard Exora.

The rotary engine which provides the “extended range” in the name only kicks in when battery charge falls to about 30%. One can manually start the engine via the touch screen, which will change from “EV” to “HEV”. We tried, and boy was it loud. The soundproofing and exhaust system for the engine was probably not of a production grade as it was a prototype. Who knows, there could have been no exhaust system at all. Proton is still experimenting with the type of engine, but it’s most likely that the production model for consumer sales won’t feature a rotary.

How does this feel in comparison with say, the Mitsubishi i-MiEV? It all feels quite crude at the moment and is clearly work in progress, although it looks promising. They are after all just prototypes undergoing testing as we type and I’m sure the final product will be much polished.

If all things go as planned, Proton will be the first in Malaysia to sell an electric vehicle by 2012, and the targeted price of below RM100K will mean that it’s not something that’s way out of reach. Here’s something to look forward to.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• DaveDiablos on Nov 25, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Dashboard looks so plain…

• aiyoo..it still in prototype phase!! but i hope proton must make sure that that system is water proof since malaysia is very prone to flood and flash flood..13.3V is no small can fry us in n out

• MoFaz on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:30 pm

u mean, 294V right?

• maybe la kot total volt ..

• MoFaz on Nov 27, 2010 at 2:48 am

50HP = 37kW, and Exora need 70kW for both motors. means that the motors would use more power from the battery, while the battery receive only half of the required energy from engine. so, battery power could be depleted while the engine is running to charge it?
            but, it’s safe to assume that the 70kW is maximum power of the motors, and if you drive slow, it won’t consume 70kW, maybe only 35kW if you drive at 70kmh (half of the top speed 140kmh). correct me if I’m wrong here.

• Tony Dymoke-Bradshaw on Feb 20, 2011 at 5:22 pm

Top speed scales as the cube root of the power. At half power the top speed is reduced to 79% of the peak power value.

• pomen_gtr on Sep 30, 2011 at 1:41 pm

mofaz…don’t get it wrong….50kw for the internal combustion engine is the power alone to drive their generator….but the generator output power is unknown….so your equation is not applicable at this moment,,,,,

TQ

• mozaks on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:06 am

its a DC voltage… 13.3V is nothing to worry about…. normally they will install safety device like a fuse for short circuit protection… otherwise the car design itself cannot meet any safety standard and cannot be appproved… nothing to worry..

• so now we know the supporter all did not finish university, and failed Form 5 physics. lol

baca buku la kawan. kesian la.

• rite? so based on ur comment i can predict that you are scientist rite.. phd rite? duh..

• RON97 on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:47 am

Not suprised. Proton models are all plain.
        But they did a good job with this trial…at least to show to PM & all Malaysian that they are busy doing something, after doing copy paste Inpira.

• Yeah… been thinking about that too…. how about make it amphibious…. keh,keh,keh…

• anonymous on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:03 pm

its current that matters

• car_fan on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:34 pm

you are right…..typical style…..

• honda hybrid also, ppl worry about rm11000 battery, and scare resale value drop.

With proven technology, ppl still worry, so, proton need to at least keep this on going for 10 years to let ppl have confident in it.

sustain, just sustain. keep improve and keep selling them.

• Joe Chloe on Jan 11, 2011 at 12:09 pm

lol…still prototype la…

• in one of those pics.. 106.3km/L?

LOLWTF HOLY SHIIIATT. it’s official, Prius is dead :P

• Shappawi_2012 on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:24 pm

Honda Wave 125 only get 50km/l……betul ke ni?….

• pomen_gtr on Dec 09, 2010 at 11:10 am

kapcai honda wave125 can get 80km/L brader…i own one..(back then when all of the engine was factory spec.)

that exora doesnt use the petrol engine for moving the car…but if use the engine for generator…similiar to pasar malam generator where ppl use to power the light of their stall…

• don’t talk like idiot la brader.. this is car matter, with wheels, you kapcai boleh buang dalam laut la..

• pacifictuna on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:58 pm

it’s an EV. if the range extender did kicks in you can in theory get infinite km/l figure….. prius still need petrol to run.

• that is in exora. i wonder what the figure will be in saga. double?

• Najibest on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:01 pm

nah not yet…it’s just like the volt…unlimited km/L on battery and the km/L only starts when the battery drains and the engine kicks in…but then again this is agood step in the right direction…hopefully we can have a proper RE vehicle in the future soon….(i’m still hoping that the chevy volt would reach our shores someday but then again a Proton RE would be good as well :P)

• Wait, if these EV cars brake down, where shuld i bring to? Workshop or accesories shop?

• Come on … you think toyota will let P”rotten just trash like that ??? Prius do have EV version …

• those Prius are just hybrids and EVs. not Range-extended EVs like this Exora.

• Yeah yeah …. proton will provide repair-extended services for his so call EVs …
          wear a rubber suit to drive it ^^

• MoFaz on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:26 pm

if based on RAC challenge, Exora consumed 2 litres for 100km journey. and someone mentioned before this that it’s using rotary engine, so now we know it’s true. i wonder how he know about it when there’s no info on web regarding Exora R-EV at that time… insider perhaps?
      now i wonder why not using Lotus Range Extender? Lotus engine has 1200cc, compared to Exora’s 400cc only. so maybe that engine is for sport cars only..?

• maybe they want to reduce weight even more n use even less fuel when charging battery..i read fr somewhere that saga ev in that competition actually win but ditarik coz protest from other car maker …source confidential la hehe

• MoFaz on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:14 am

i’ve been searching for that ‘protest’ thingy too. what’s the story that led to the protest? tell us laa….

• scgtimk1 on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:48 am

Well I heard that they protested because the driver of the Saga EV was not Journalist but Frazer Nash himself…. so ‘they’ protested.

• power on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:25 am

yea right. the car maker that cannot make a decent car, and can hardly sustain in their home market, will get protest from other car maker?

you seriously think the P1’s R&D is competent? they can barely design a good looking or good quallity car.

hybrid? come on. they can hardly make the campro engine working right.

where do they get the battery from? China battery maker i suppose.

• Mr Power: any problem with u?
            hope u can do some homeworks and come out with some facts.

let’s have emotional talks only at mamaks, and have factful discussion here.

• Power on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:32 pm

China does have a few car battery maker ( not the yokohama car battery), but the battery for electric cars, remember Berjaya group got the license to make it here not long ago.

So, yea, definitely they are getting the battery from china. Funny Dumb supporter all.

• duh.. there is one thing that so popular in internet right now.. and it name is google.. where u came from? stone age? go google yourself.. there was plenty in the internet about that protest..

• realistic on Dec 05, 2010 at 7:21 am

why don’t u apply to work with Proton R&D or Power Terrain or Design Department? Then let see if they take you in with your competency. If you get in, then let see what difference can you make. Impress us if you can…! Came on la, be constructive commenter! If u condemn, give facts or suggestions to improve. It’s not always cloudy out there!

• Care to share some info about the matter?

• why dont proton just improve on the existing campro/cps engine, to improve the FC and the ride quality la?

is the petrol in this country so expensive?

• Daniel on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:28 am

Hi bro, I think Campro is not meant for good fuel efficiency. The bore & stroke ratio looks more like a racing engine…short strokes for high RPM & huge power but low on the torque side. In order to make it more fuel economy for urban driving, use a longer stroke so that mixture is compressed better & longer time to burn which gives more torque, but torque will drop off very quickly & of course lower max hp. Proton is smart to use rotary or even better use Atkinson cycle engine like in Prius which has a longer power stroke than other strokes to ensure all fuel is properly burnt.

• power on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:32 am

you can write 200km/l, but if toyota, honda cannot do it, P1 has no hope doing it.

• yippi33 on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:50 am

congrats!..youve just been picked as the best new basher of the year!

childish comments..grow up!..just becoz other people cant do it doesnt mean that u cant do it..go and finish ur degree first boy…

• Power on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:37 pm

yea i got my degree 5 years ago. how bout yours? you can start by taking a cert and then diploma, then degree. Try finish it in 10 years, ok?

• Initial R on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:47 pm

Have degree but talk like form 5 student.

• jengong on Nov 27, 2010 at 1:19 am

nothing wrong start from cert-dip-deg. i’m 1 of them.. at least we try. what kind of deg r u? secretary perhaps..

• farghmee on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:35 am

offtopic>>

ways of getting a degree is another diff story.
            hardway: cert-dip-deg.
            normal: spm-deg.
            very easy: spm-paid deg.
            the important thing is: getting a deg.

next,
            if one with deg. talks like a secon. school student, then it’s a shame.

dun worry la..deg. also got class.
            which class. were u graduated? 1st class? i doubt it ;)

• lol, it’s a fact that the Exora REEV prototype already beats the crap outta those Japs/European hybrids and EVs, and you posted such pessimistic comment.

You claimed that you have a degree, but you post useless and nonsense comments like a damn 10-year old kid trolling in Youtube. you only made yourself look stupid. dude, I’m just 15 and I can write a hell lot better than you.

damn, what the heck is wrong with Malaysians nowadays?

• Power on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:38 pm

tell me 1 thing that P1 does better than Toyota and Honda? Hire more bumi salesman?

• autojohndoe on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:18 pm

your emotion very Power…

Admiring Honda Toyota so much eh?

• virus on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:44 am

hahaha its end 2010 already, and still u think like u from 1511… btw, u know what 1511 mean to m’sia??

• 1511, is when the history of this country started when some indon guy came and rule this country?

• now i know why they want history become compulsory in spm.. coz malaysian like u simply didnt know your own country history..

• ichi24 on Dec 10, 2010 at 2:53 pm

this is where Malacca submit to the Portuguese lol

no wonder Malaysian always think history is sucks

and yet keep the same shit that history has told over and over again.

:x

• Kampret on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:30 pm

that reminds me to Bumiputra Rockers song ‘1511’… portuguese rite?

• Initial R on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:46 pm

Who said other’s can’t do it ?. If you have resource then do it. Honda have it but they put in secret, Toyota in other hand just want your money only. Proton however now do they homework with this tech as it mean on the future more care used electric with extender, not hybrid as it old already (toyota like to give the supporter the old tech)…

• Notoriez on Nov 27, 2010 at 3:43 am

Degree??? Bought your degree ar??? Talk like a KID

• power> if u are in the proton management team, we will be the 1st person to bury u with this kind of mindset !
        Silly boy. Proton is doing a good job in keeping up with the international competition in the green tech.
        If proton was still in the old age management = (ppl like u), gone already.

• pijan on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:48 am

noo.. with this mindset don’t even qualified to become cleaner.. loud talk no action.. even his toilet is dirtier than public toilet..

• Civic_RS on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:07 am

ya..not bad…not bad at alll!!its a big move by proton..cammon p1, this is how auto comp do the biz even though its look like abit late but who care….i can feel in the next decade is the ultimate period for P1 to establish their technology and i hope in the next 5 years there is no more issue about wiper, power window, noisy sounds! thats wat we call an improvement.

Another 1, please improve the look of your SC. SC building is one of main P1 image. If you change the look, build the healthy and nice view of it, i believe your image will rise a little bit more..At least you keep improving, no worry how much it is, even a little ppl always see it..

Gud luck

• TIGER - Esso, Maybank, (deduct) Proton on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:15 pm

prius is a hybird not EV…if wana compare wait toyota come out EV then it correct to compare apple with apple…Hybrid & EV are totally different things…that why they mention it in different word term…EV pls go compare nissan leaf or mitsubushi colt…proton cannot match japanese car…

• rally_fan on Nov 26, 2010 at 6:54 pm

you forget, hybrid, EV and Range extender EV (like this exora) are all different things. so even if toyota came out with an EV, it still cannot compared apple to apple with this proton.

you cannot match facts.

• dragster on Nov 25, 2010 at 7:24 pm

should i say well done p1?? how long the batteries can last???50k or lifetime??

• Whynot on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:09 pm

Soon in the next 5 years, you can have the new waves of Lithium Ion Air batteries that can last up to 1000Kms per charge. The new batteries will probably last about 8 to 10 years. Better get ready to sell those CO2 polluter, we r already reaching the limits mother-nature can no longer bare any more. We already tasted the bitterness of it. Let’s not talks only but truly walks the talk………

• Angku on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:58 am

bro, I also hope its as easy as you said.
        This is bolehland and major part of our revenue is still from Petronas.
        Unless Petronas start producing Lithium Ion Air Battery.

Look at wat TNB has done to us? None of us in Malaysia are energy friendly because of our own law makers

• shooter on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:56 am

so that gives the green light to blame others and just sit by and not do your part or to be proactive? you’re LAME…

• bobdbilder on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:29 am

Its always their fault. Its always somebody fault.. Never our fault. You think Petronas so holy ah? Come lah do trading in O+G and see lah. You want these people in Auto industry?

• sepucps on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:13 am

what is TNB has done to us?please clarify..

• Whynot on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:27 am

I absolutely agreed with you guys! We know that Oil Companies has a great and powerful says in politics. If that is the recent, then we must voices it out to our leaders or perhaps in the next general elections. There is nothing much we can do as a commoner’s. But hey…….wait a moment, this is a democratic country. We have the power to put what leader we want up there and why can’t we made a change!

This many be offensive to some but no heart feeling please. We only want what mother nature deserve. Because our existence depends on her mostly from history, now and the future to come…………

• there is battery that can last more than 20yrs..Ni-iron, Li titanate

• Whynot on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:31 am

Must respect you! Any news when will be developed and mass produced?

• proton supporter will create fact/hoax and defend proton to the death, too bad they cannot afford the inspira, and they are not smart guys also, lol.

• linear_system on Nov 25, 2010 at 7:27 pm

u are one lucky guy danny!

• Gavin on Nov 25, 2010 at 7:28 pm

Sigh…….goodbye green diesel and awesome turbodiesel engines

• littlefire on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:33 am

Not really, currently turbodiesel engines still have minor advantage at having cheaper maintenence cost compare to EV or hybrid as they have less parts. The only drawback is emission is sure higher.

Only in Malaysia we have low quality diesel, whiles others is having EURO4/5 standart & also bio-diesel… Where is our bio-diesel coming out? 2011?!?

• Initial R on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:02 pm

It not our diesel are problem, the industry manufacture have to blame on this coz they dump all EURO3 and below to Asia country. No point to produce EURO4 or higher if it just only used by 1% of total diesel engine in Malaysia. If all willing to change the engine to EURO4 class then it worth it… Please think other people role also. If you only throw the aluminum can in the place but other just throw at aside of trash can so it still no point…

• Daniel on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:34 am

You are wrong bro. Car manufacturers has been lobbying for Euro4 or even 5 for a long time. BMW especially has been bugging the govt to introduce higher grade diesels here. But Japanese manufacturers (which holds the market & has good rep with govt) bug our govt not to…well obviously coz Japs are not so keen on diesel until recently we see newer models starting to introduce diesel for EU markets…they realize that hybrid is too expensive to maintain vs a diesel.

• good job proton.but hope they can do a bit more on the meter design

• aki_zz on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:20 pm

yeah i agree…it looks like a meter from a locally made scooter…hopefully they will change it on the final product…

good luck proton! :)

• holycow on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:22 pm

i was going to say the same thing.

• Naz@AE111 on Nov 25, 2010 at 7:30 pm

use batteries only? no hybrid that can charge by itself like the prius and civic??

• this is EV! not hybrid lor…

summore have range extender if battery flat…

good job proton!!!

• what wrong with people nowadays? there is a very clear statement about how range extender work.. and yet they still asking about it…

• linear_system on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:12 pm

i’m sure Naz@AE111 doesnt know anything about this Range Extender tech…

hybrid = more than 1 source of energy to run the car

Range extender = energy comes purely from the batteries.the rotary engine is just to charge the batteries when needed..

• jtiongwl on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:49 pm

May I know that what is being use to power the range extender? as it is an engine, what type of fuel it use? Gasoline? Diesel ? Or even is a fuel cell runs on hydrogen supply?

Anyone knows?

• Najibest on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:03 pm

it’s petrol of course…don’t think proton would put a diesel engine as range extender since they don’t have 1…..read some more about the chevy volt….it works kindda the same way

• maybe they use E85 fuel???? like wat nascar car use

• some ppl read the whole article, some ppl just look at pictures… hehe..

• MoFaz on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:06 am

and some people will read the title only, they will also bash immediately when they see ‘Proton’ in the title… sometimes not even related to the article.

• Initial R on Nov 26, 2010 at 6:04 pm

Hahaha… when come to P2 more of the keep it mute… hahaha

• Wisdom on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:48 am

They cant accept the fact that this promising vehicle called Proton.

If its T or H, they sure licked it…

• Tengokje.. on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:24 pm

Agreed with you. It’s clear regarding the function of range extender from the writing.

• nolan on Nov 25, 2010 at 7:38 pm

WOW…..later pasar malam seller could afford an EV…..nice Proton .

• vincent on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:32 pm

just had a thought, pasar malam sellers may no longer need to haul their heavy generator units to power their stalls. this time they may plug in to their Exora REEV. lol

• I believe what will happen is the opposite way. They will recharge their Exora with the power generator running by petrol. So when there is no petroleum left anymore, we will riding a horse again…. :-)

• it’s extended range EV my friend, or in other word, series hybrid.. it totally different prius and civic hybrid as they are parallel hybrid.. please do some study b4 comment.. =)

• Whynot on Nov 25, 2010 at 7:50 pm

Proton seen getting their head straight for now. Need more actions than talks! Do not wait. Time waits for nobody. The faster the better for Proton to move ahead of the rest.
    If Proton release EV cars then it is going to be the end for others. Proton will once again lift their heads high. Trust me. We have no choice but to move one more step ahead to gain back trusts and confident amongst our own 1Malaysian. Only doubt is the outlook or the exterior of the car. More improvement needed. Get all 1Malaysian futuristic designer to enter a Proton Car design contest and get the best voted design by all 1Malaysian and start making it from thereon. I am sure 1Malaysian will be very happy indeed from hereon!
    Never ever forget – Malaysia BOLEH! We either respect ourselves here in Malaysia or we will all sink like the great TITANIC!

• jtiongwl on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:53 pm

I agree with what you mentioned. But from my point of view, we shall be prepared to sink like the great titanic. I am very pessimistic about this..

I am curious how the engine will run for the extended range… What type of fuel they use to support the operation of charging.. Remember in our science that, energy cannot be CREATE and cannot be DESTROY.. It can only be change from a form to another different form…

• Whynot on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:32 pm

If we do some research by ourselves, we noticed that there are many new and better inventions already been made but not really mass produced. Most recent technology adopted in the hybird car by the Korean or Japanese uses both engine and batteries to drives their car. As we all knows that having a restrictive force (weight of vehicle and payload) on a particular combustion in the cylinder of an engine basically reduces the efficiency of the combustion itself. That means the present efficiency of burning petrol in a car can only average up to 30 – 40 percentage. This is consider inefficient if you can use it in a larger scale like what TNB or Electricity Utility can do that is about 80% and above. That is why burning fuel in engine is inefficient and lots of CO and heat is released to kill mothernature. Proton EV by not using engine to move the car is one way of saying having better efficiency. It will be soon before all engine is consider history when new batteries technology like the Lithium ION Air batteries hits the market in another 5 years from now. Be a bit patients. Don’t jump buy any hybird yet if your budget is tight. Make a careful evaluation if you can use your car for a little bit longer. It saves and helps build mothernature back as that is what matter most to us.

• TurboMan on Nov 25, 2010 at 11:35 pm

Agree.

However combustion efficiency of normal petrol engine is from 8-15 percent oni to the wheels.

The efficiency of a typical coal plant would be in the order of 40-50 percent, and even that, not all power from malaysia come from Coal plant.

Hence, EV do save the environment. However our power infrastructure can only take so much, before major upgrades are necessary.

• Question on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:33 pm

But how much does that efficiency are lost during transmission in the power grid?

Would our power grid be overloaded with the electricity demand from EV?

• Proton the best!

• MoFaz on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:09 am

not yet.
      still have many rooms for improvement.

• champion on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Proton is really the best of the best…..please let them fight on equal ground. They are ready

• jimbo on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:20 pm

well it not finish yet..like paul tan said,its just a prototype..
    of course the design is awful..maybe after p1 finish their R n D the design can be more stylish..
    nyway good job Proton..keep it up!!!
    save the world from pollution..hehe..

• Shappawi_2012 on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:21 pm

If the steering is heavier and less intuitive than in the standard Exora, put the electric motors at rear wheel…….

Baru boleh jadi first EV drift car……..

• For me, i personally think the outlook doesn’t matter in the design for a EV or Hybrid car. What’s more important is to design a body with lower CD (coefficient of drag) and lighter weight so as to gain in driving range/distance. Good job and Good luck to Proton

• Whynot on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:49 pm

It really does matter with the outlooks and even the interior itself. We do not want any JUARA or TIARA around anymore. In order to make car more efficient, the engine of the car has to be totally removed. Any cut down in the weight of the car will be a new source of materials inventions which I will doubt it will be cheap at all. If they (manufacturer) start to trim down more weights, then the safety is compromised. It is the storage bank or batteries is the most vital or of the most important.
      I had clarify on Paul Tan comment for several times. -Lithium Ion Air Batteries. It might not come cheap initially but I am sure if it gets into China Markets, then it will be affordable. But then again quality does matters too!

• karateboy on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:25 pm

there are a lot of poor people out there who can only afford to buy 2nd hand tiara..becoz its cheap ,though the spare parts are expensive but it last longer than those Japs car parts. Not to forget, tiara’s engine is one of the efficient engine which has been recorded in Guiness book for its low fuel consumption.Btw, in order to reduce current exora weight, composite such as carbon fiber can be used to replace current body material.

• a very very good news.. good job proton.

• vincent on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:34 pm

paul, any idea how are electric cars going to be taxed? the same ol engine capacity?

• MoFaz on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:41 pm

no import & excise tax for hybrid cars as for now. or do you mean road tax? you pay the same amount for this Exora as you pay for Viva: RM20 per year only. Civic Hybrid = RM70 per year, Prius = RM280 per year.

• lappy on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:45 pm

I hope it’s unfinished,coz the dashboard really looks like CARTOON!!!

• love proton on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:58 pm

it’s just prototype….still not finishing….

• will u please read the whole article and not just browse the pics only….

• greasemonkey on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:58 pm

good job!

• meane on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:01 pm

+ve= good tech to bring in market..
    -ve = interior should be better… not like a cheap van..

• cenima on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:09 pm

proton please make it 600km per charge for exora

• bagus tu,,,tapi nak charge kat ner? kat umah ke?

• freddie on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:41 am

If you understand English, it says in the article above that this car does not necessarily have to be charged. It has a small engine to charge the battery. Imagine like the small generator at pasar malam.

• love proton on Nov 27, 2010 at 7:17 pm

engine yg akan cas bateri tu…plz read carefully the article boy =)

• lancer nation on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:22 pm

One doesn’t really need to look far into what types of engine would be in the future. Look at the oil and gas marine industry. New ships are adopting turbo diesel electric engines as the way forward. Tried, proven and green method.

Turbo Diesel hybrid with range extender. That is the way forward.

• Whynot on Nov 25, 2010 at 11:53 pm

Diesel is one of the massive contributor towards pollution. If we are not the devil ourselves then we can use nuclear energy propulsion as in warship – USS George Washington.
      But then again it is not. We know that lorry, ship or heavy machinery at the present moment cannot rely on batteries power. But then again LPG is consider better or less polluting than diesel. There is magnetic motor technology in its infancy development stage. This is the ultimate technology of the future to come. Cross your finger n hope God drives us more with better ideals to save mother-nature!

• masterjedi on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:25 pm

If proton use Apple concept, it willy beakaway from any brand in the world. create more hightech feature in vehicle that will create more demand. a large volumn sale will reducing part pricing. willing to give only can get the pay back.
    Past many year proton js thinking to make profit, but loose the basic thing ppl need. Quality car. Hope they will make a difference! …will our HOPE taken too long time?..

• shawal on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:37 pm

Now that is what I call People’s Car…Save the planet while saving the wallet

• altimasss on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:52 pm

very good effort.. job well done to Proton so far.

hope PT can keep a tab on the progress of this project from now onwards.. I’m sure many readers here are interested as well.. after all, it’ll be our own Malaysian product :)

• CHONG KAT on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:56 pm

god. my free rm20 electric will gone. should buy or not. ahh. tensionnn.

• MoFaz on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:51 pm

not yet launch, you already tension?
      electric vs petrol, you choose which will save more la..

• Initial R on Nov 26, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Hahaha… willing to pay more on petrol rather than electric…

• Kamil on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:03 pm

Put it in D and the MPV rolls off silently like a big golf cart. !!

This is pathetic and yet everyone thinks it is a victory for P1.
    Still lots of work needed cos the Exora is just too heavy.
    If smaller EV’s can reach 150km i bet the Exora can only cover half the range.
    Hybrid is still the better choice ! We don’t want 50km/h Exora’s on our highways
    as well as stalled ones!!!

• MoFaz on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:48 pm

50km/h only in D mode. probably for city driving. change it to S on highway and you’ll get 120km/h. 140km is the range on battery alone, the engine will extend that range further. Danny already write nicely and it’s easy to understand. do you want me to translate it for you?

• amranS'gor on Nov 25, 2010 at 11:35 pm

Danny also wrote nicely that
        1)Its a golf cart.
        2) Throttle response isn’t close to immediate – back off the pedal and the car feels like it’s hit a speed limiter, step on it again and there’s a long delay before power gushes in.
        3)The steering is also heavier and less intuitive than in the standard Exora
        4) It all feels quite crude.
        5)Proton is aiming for 140 km/h top speed and 140 km range on the Saga body.
        I suggest P1 go back to the drawing board,
        get the car right before even letting anyone test drive it.

• farghmee on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:34 am

do u really know the meaning of ” PROTOTYPE”?

sigh..

• linear_system on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:35 am

lemme explain to u

1)Its a golf cart – mean its silent and move quickly

2) Throttle response isn’t close to immediate – back off the pedal and the car feels like it’s hit a speed limiter, step on it again and there’s a long delay before power gushes in – this is what RnD for – RESEARCH AND DEVELOPEMENT!

3)The steering is also heavier and less intuitive than in the standard Exora – again RnD!

4) It all feels quite crude – it is prototype!do u know what prototype means???

5)Proton is aiming for 140 km/h top speed and 140 km range on the Saga body – means for exora maybe it can be 120kmh and 120km range.isnt that good???

why need to go to drawing board?its all part of RnD.they just let danny feels the prototype of REEV.and i’m sure danny feels very proud of it.

• MoFaz on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:46 am

1) -> 4) do you even understand what “PROTOTYPE” means?
          5) letting someone, or critics to drive the car during development will enable proton to get early feedbacks. that’s the purpose of manufacturers building their prototype and concept cars.
          nak cipta resipi kek pun kena cuba 5-6 kali, inikan pulak nak cipta kereta…

• elpaciko on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:49 am

i cant believe how blind you are… how come you missed the part when he said..

“I took it to around 120 km/h with ease before running out of road”

I bet you didnt read the article till properly because you really eager to bash….

Typical blind basher….

• kozekx on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:52 am

Danny also wrote nicely that
          1)it looks promising
          2)They are after all just prototypes undergoing testing as we type and I’m sure the final product will be much polished.
          3) the MPV rolls off silently like a big golf cart.

Please learn how to read and understand English. I suggest you go back to school and learn English properly before letting yourself comment. Else, you just make yourself look stupid.

• i think u fail to understand the title itself

• reDalerT on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:27 am

nak quote orang utk backup diri sendiri pon agak-agak ar.. baca la artikel tu betul2.. ni pakai main tembaaaaak je.. padan muka tembak kaki sendiri

• pijan on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:04 am

surely u never play golf and never drive golf cart.

• Wisdom on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:04 am

Plain ignorant.

Read:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prototype

Cant believe that you was the best swimmer last time.
      Life is too cruel to you i guess…

• MoFaz on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:21 am

and while you’re at it, give la some contribution to wikipedia so that they could remain free :)

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:53 am

Haha,this is one of the typical bashers out there.

• maybe Danny should have wrote it like this to make sure people like u understand really what he meant:
      “Put it in D and the MPV rolls off silently like a ninja.”

remember the keyword is “SILENTLY”.

• Selamba on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:49 pm

Congratulation to PROTON… Develop a great group for great technology & innovative,. Please test properly before commercial it. Don’t let consumer as R&D team.

Tahniah Again & Kept a good job….

• udasalleh on Nov 25, 2010 at 11:03 pm

Great job P1..! Can’t wait for it…

But… please do something about the meter cluster… get a better design… think of something different like perhaps a totally digital cluster… that would be uber cool..!

• rannylau on Nov 25, 2010 at 11:09 pm

hai …mr paultan.some question ask paul.is it toyota car in malaysia quality?

my toyota car got problem…..alarm,noisy,asorbar,cooler motor fan.just 2 year car.

thank you paul…

• Refer to toyota service center …… “they do have their standard here”

• any transmission on the car ?

• MoFaz on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:56 am

electric motor could increase or decrease power easily. take ceiling fan for the simplest example. gearbox is not needed, means lower maintenance cost.

• Initial R on Nov 26, 2010 at 6:13 pm

Not mistake P1 do some R&D transmission gearbox for this EV to save more energy. Correct me if i’m wrong.

• MoFaz on Nov 27, 2010 at 2:38 am

the concept is, the engine would be used to charge the battery only. there’s no need for gearbox as you only charge the battery at constant rate. or to put it simply, 1 speed only. that’s what i understand from range-extender concept.

• Initial R on Nov 27, 2010 at 9:07 am

I know bro, but i have read some where (forgot already) that have some research on transmission gearbox to save some energy & make smooth ride. Think the gear for D & S maybe have function on that related with it but maybe i’m wrong on it.. So forgot it as my mistake…. :P

• farghmee on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:44 am

frankly, i love the way of humble conversation like this.
      keep up the good manner guys :)

• jaguarXJ on Nov 25, 2010 at 11:17 pm

but still.exora does not have the power to move it -.-
    so effing slow.

• MoFaz on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:01 am

it’s good that they develop the tech for the heaviest model (exora) first. to implement it into a lighter model would be easier. if you develop a lighter car first, maybe you’ll need to develop a whole new system for heavier model later.

• i’m sure that 220Nm of torque is more than enough to move it. most ppl don’t drive MPVs at 140km/h anyway.

• Whynot on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:00 am

If anyone could do some research about EV, you will notices that there is no engine or large gear box. Advancement in the future EV does not adopt any engine at all! So you see from here there is a tremendous reduction of dead weight – eventually calculated to power and efficiency. The only reason why Proton still wanted a mini engine inside the Proton EV is because you can still use petrol fuel with the small engine to charge the batteries if you should runs out half way between your travel destination without looking for batteries stations. And that is why they called it Extended EV……..

• congratulation to P1…it’s time to turn ‘green’.
    don’t bother the stupid basher frm T,H & P ….
    fool to those who don’t appreciate the effort tat has been dun by P1 …

• Mickey on Nov 25, 2010 at 11:20 pm

Let’s hope they will be careful and test the car to the limit before launching the first batch.
    By 2012, a new facelift should be introduce.

• DA RIMS SO small on Nov 25, 2010 at 11:27 pm

i am sad.. the rim n tayar so small sure pancit after 1km drive!

………….. look like the car not balance at all, i am sad :(

• ‘brilliant’ one aren’t u..

• Wisdom on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:09 am

When basher have no point, they usually reacted like this ;p

• apebende ko merepek neh.. dak tadika pun lagi pandai dari ko.. lolx

• the car is still in refining process…tat why they called it ‘prototype’…
      sick basher….

• Initial R on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:58 am

You know meaning of PROTOTYPE right, it mean it still basic form with testing part on it… get it ?.

• drMpower on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:31 am

one little thing i want to get it clear here is that electric vehicles, apart from teslas and very few others built for speed, are meant to be driven at a comfortable speed.

there are a few comments regarding that 140kmh top speed on this REEV on exora. i think the commenters should check whether it is possible technically to get it run faster, and whether there is a need for such matter. i have nothing against that 140kmh, infact i duly agree it is a good speed it can produce

• Lembap on Nov 26, 2010 at 6:14 am

Kenapa? Tak percaya? Ha ha ha ha

• drMpower on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:25 am

hahaha

which one u say tak percaya? 140kmh or whether the car can run faster or what?

actually these green bandwagon means DRIVE SLOWLY. or DRIVE CIVILISED-LY

• squawk on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:56 pm

I hope no one hear has the intention of putting their families in an MPV and going 140km/h or even 160km/h to race with express buses.

• fique d on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:52 am

yup 140 kmh quite good for me. Unless u want 2 be ev sunday racer or what.

• good job proton. please release asap.. .dont let P2 take over. I’m sure Perodua has their own plan when seeing proton has EV car. What if Perodua one step ahead of proton by release EV car earlier… lol … all p2 user will come to bash this…

• comrade on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:50 am

yeah .. perodua will ask T for a copy … no need R&D

• JamalPakTongko on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Not really, my friend. I got a Myvi. It’s just that Proton does not have similar product offering in its line-up apart from the Savvy which is a tad smaller. My Myvi did 130,000 km and still going strong. The only breakdown was battery kaput.

On the contrary, my bro’s Waja 1.8 (before 2000) keeps breaking down even when he’s driving (can you imagine that!!), and the problem was not fixed until his warranty ran out a year later. Since he changed the engine bought from a half-cut Mitsubishi, everything went smoothly.

Lots of Malaysian want to give Proton the chance, but Proton just have to prove that it’s product is up for consideration. All those bad experiences consumers got, it sure does have a lasting impression on them. Well, Proton has a mountain to climb. It is good to see they making effort now.

• peYno on Nov 27, 2010 at 3:47 am

ppl keep telling old story about 2000 year waja. wira…
        and its unfair to compare new model myvi with old proton model. waja etc.. compare it with new model saga BLM, persona, exora… and i do believe, new proton car owners happy with their car

• Carl Wong on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:01 am

It’s a new form of hybrid that I have never seen, I support the idea :). Keep going Proton.

• When will u test-drive the Saga EV ?

Hope to see Proton EV- and Hybrid cars in Europe from 2012 !

• MoFaz on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:00 am

the same concept is being used in Chevy Volt / Vauxhall Ampera. so, in term of ‘form’, it’s not really new… but Exora already beat Ampera in the RAC challenge by a very far margin. Exora = 136mpg, Ampera = 62mpg.
      now, for a 25 years old company, to beat another company which already has more than 100 years of experience… is something which you could be proud of.

• madimat on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:36 am

Ignorance. They came, they scan, they see that word ‘Proton’ and immediately they shifted to auto-bash mode. Not even dare to read the whole article, what else to understand it. Try replace the big ‘P’ word with the T or H or M or other brand and they will lick and suck it clean to the bottom of it!

• fique d on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:29 am

nice… Instead of charging facility why dun proton setup pre charged battery rental station . So charging time can be cut short. same concept with ur cooking gas. U just xchange it when empty.

• MoFaz on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:33 am

battery is expensive. if Proton make it swappable, it might be in the ‘hot list’ of stolen items from cars in the future. if your sport rims are stolen, u only need less RM2k to replace the whole set + tires. but u need RM10k for battery.
      plus, those batteries are damn heavy. we may need more Bangladeshis in the station to help us swapping the batteries. but i won’t say it will not happen. battery size do get smaller & lighter as the technology keep on improving.

• mzack11 on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:21 am

PROTON is dare to try something new (in malaysia consider very new), they willing to try although they know typical malaysian thinking.

This is what automotive company should do, not just following the market trend WITHOUT ANY OWN INNOVATION to maximize profit ( u know which company).

GO FOR IT PROTON!

• SupportMalaysian on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:31 am

Proton’s long term strategy is a radical departure from Tengku Mahaleel’s style. Thank goodness he is gone. Remember the Savvy ads on how the car being thrown by a monster and still in one-piece? That was really insulting to the consumer’s intelligence.

Anyway, it is good to see they are starting with the MPV for the range extender. What better way to start selling car with good excellent fuel consumption than to sell it to the ‘people mover’ who are obviously cost sensitive.

Next step they should do is the put the RE in their EMAS concept car and sell it as 4 doors. That should take away the market lead from Perodua Myvi. Who wants a car than go from JB to KL and back and still consume half tank? I’d take this EMAS anyday. Hahaha.

Then put it in all their range and change that bloody Perdana model. It’s been there for ages!!

Anyhow, good luck proton!!

• T4VR-Ralph on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:42 am

Hybrids ain’t green. They use batteries, which is not green, just like CFC back in the 70’s.

batteries cause more harm to the environment, especially those disposed batteries.

You wanna go green, get a smaller displacement car, or dont drive any at all.

• nah, just hug a tree and it will be all fine.

• JohnDeep on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:31 pm

Don’t touch anything on earth, use only fallen leaf, you will preserve the green earth.

• Whynot on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:44 am

Lithium Ion Polymer can be recycle if we hv the proper equipments and tools! It is possible to recycle disposable batteries too! The recent why we do not adopt this technology is because it is not profitable. Soon the future will have to change that. We will be changed too! Hope that we won’t be so robotics by then……………

• the future is now. 20 years ago, your father drive a fossil fuel car. now you drive a fossil fuel car.

• biggie on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:42 am

its not going back to the drawing board; the car is still on the drawing board.

This is actually the main reasons why most manufacturer will not let reporters touch or write about their prototype model. Too many gullible readers around (some dont even bother to read)

• yc.low on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:48 am

I am glad Proton also jump into the bandwagon in experimenting electric hybrid. But the question is whether with such small market locally; is it feasible considering the huge amount of money in R&D. Normally the four wheels are powered by high torque motors -what is the advantage of just having powered the front drive? Great! looking forward to Proton Green cars! Saga or Inspira or Exora…?

• cikgu skolah on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:50 am

it just a matter of putting solar system to harvest sun energy at home. Then charging exora in your garage will have noTNB power required. Please proton 2012 is a bit far off can it be 2011 perhaps?

• Whynot on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:36 am

Is an added advantage to hv a Solar Panel to be build at the roof top of Proton Exora if possible.

• MoFaz on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:38 am

correct, but maybe you’ll need to ‘convert’ the whole roof to solar panels to get the energy needed to charge this car. the initial cost is high, but you get to travel for free and not worried about petrol price hike.

• farghmee on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:49 am

may be can utilize “thermocouple” concept to harvest more energy from the sun?

• elite on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:00 am

i think the designers of the EV component want to use exora to achieve better results because proton vehicles are known to have a lighter body.

• Doubt so. An average proton is heavier than it’s competitors

Persona – 1215kg
      Altis – 1210kg
      vios – 1020kg

• scgtimk1 on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:19 pm

Saga 1020kg

• inspirasi on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:39 pm

vios sure ringan..tin milo…
        sekali berlanggar..hancus..
        but many malaysian blind..selalu kne tipu ngn T :-)

• If vios is tin Milo then Saga is kertas kosong.Try it before you comment!

• Power on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:14 pm

lets all go buy waja, solid.

buy saga, solid.

• sean ZX10 on Nov 27, 2010 at 1:44 pm

obviously u never had your “dugong”: crashed. Saga is strong even it looks female. I’ve crashed my saga to a highway divider on a velocity of 140km/h…did not even lost control. The feeling was like hitting a dog. new front side panel and a door costs me RM1000. TRY THAT WITH A DUGONG!!!

• kozekx on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:07 am

I am very happy with this news. Wanted to buy an exora. No urgency yet. For family and my mom and dad. When heard news about the up and coming turbo, decided to wait for it. Worried about the fuel efficiency tho.

Now with this, I’m willing to wait a bit more, up to 2013 even, for this REEV. Am very hopeful it will cost less than RM100K. Please make it so, Proton.

• Mr.Bily on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:06 pm

RM 100k to buy a plastic toy car ? the quality is too bad. feel very sad for this kind of national car

• JohnDeep on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:36 pm

I am sure that you never sit in an exora. Plastic toy is in P2 cars!!

• Power on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:14 pm

lol. Exora. How come i see less Exora than Alza?

Ada alza, ada gaya?

Ada exora, ada susah?

• autojohndoe on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:33 pm

price makes the different la… logic also cannot think… and you said you are a degree graduate?

i feel insulted…

• Initial R on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:52 am

No problem at all with Exora… Having fun with family since it can pack more luggage at the back event not cramping inside. Last time holiday drive to Kelantan with cruse speed 100km/h, relax & easy. My cousin follow us drive Alza have to pack one of his son in my Exora coz his son complain feel bumpy & cramp… Alza maybe have “Gaya” but “ada aku kisah”.

i feel insulted to since I also degree graduate, but the way you think like form 5 kid’s.

• watever on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:03 pm

my cousin’s Alza overheat otw back from kedah to KL. So ur point is ?

• jl@ipl on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:33 pm

I just “tumpang” a “client” 1st generation Exora Hi-line. He book before launching. A very happy exora owner, clocked 55,000km for the last 1.5 years. Trouble free.

Very smooth ride, spacious, comfortable. Seriously consider buying, but, same as kozekx, no urgency yet. Furthermore, CFE CVT coming in, plus this REEV. Must wait.

Why i’ll never choose Alza? It is because of my disturbing discovery under the Alza hood. Not the engine, but the chasis. Forget about what their engineers told me (my wife’ s friend), i don’t thrust him.

• skudai89 on Mar 06, 2011 at 1:18 am

eh? how come i see more Exora than Alza nowadays? And those with Exora always has big family to carry.. Alza is “big”? I am not so sure… I love it when i got a ride in Exora once.. Compared to Alza, I am a bit dissappointed.. Sorry to say.. Not being biased. It’s just the truth..
            Plastic toys? Are you one with the money that can buy yourself a BMW with expensive materials inside? If so, then I can see your point.. But if not, I rest my case.
            Please open your eyes, and speak not with your emotion.. When you want to throw your comments, use your heart+brain.. Or else, you will be the eyesore in the community.. *shakes head.. just a sharing..

• eimsperfume on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:09 am

“its about time for our national carmaker proton to surpass or at least stand at the same height as toyota in green technology”

how do u like to hear that :-D

• Goproton on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:35 am

Malaysian don’t like to do R&D…I remember I read from somewhere that Proton is the only company who willing to invest lots of $ into R&D….there’s a statistic but I don’t remember the title…..
    how sad…Malaysian just like to take everything from outside….
    go go proton keep up the good work !!!!
    hope to buy a proton one day…a nice one…never own one before…parents just don’t like it….==’….

• autojohndoe on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:34 pm

yes… thats the prob with our industry…

more to manufacturer… waiting others to make it…

• allen on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:50 am

oh sh*t…..the interior look like 20 yrs ago my those cheap toy which is made in china one….

• downs on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:00 am

@ Danny,

May I know why they chose to use an Exora instead of other, smaller models like the Saga or even the Persona? Just curious, but Kudos to Proton for the effort.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:14 am

Proton has been working on an electric Saga as well. But since the standard Saga is a cheap entry level car, it will become rather expensive as an EV, and they’re not sure if say…an RM80K Saga would be well accepted.

• 80k saga? come on. extra rm40k over the cheapo saga? rm40k petrol can last a life time for you la my fren.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:55 pm

Not sure if you understood my reply.

That’s exactly why it’s a concern on their part la, my fren!

• downs on Nov 26, 2010 at 6:33 pm

Actually what I meant was…why did they use the Exora for the competition (maybe I should’ve asked this in the other post instead of this one to avoid confusion). I understand the logic of creating an Exora EV, just curious why they used it for the competition. Nonetheless, they won anyway.

• watever on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:05 pm

Proton did use a Saga in the competition. But that is another category coz the Saga is EV. No engine/range extender. It got 3rd place but other competitors protest

• Initial R on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:39 am

Bro… I think much batter they start with big size for tech since it EV. So for starting go for exora first coz it fit’s to people mover (7 ppl can fit in there). So for smaller model after that are more easy to produce. Just my 2 cent…. :)

• senzu bean on Nov 27, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Proton also sent the saga for the competition. I hear the news in other blog said that it actually win and it beats VW bluemotion that in the same category. But the the others competitors made a complain since Proton car did not use journalist as the driver of the EV like the others. So sad if this is true.

• hijau on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:03 am

wonder how it looks under the bonnet…
    why there is no pic of it?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:08 am

We were not allowed to.

• gen2lama on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:21 pm

but i think proton did show it during COTY carnival …

• watever on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:06 pm

correct. Im sure u can get the engine pictures from someone. Or just wait for KLIMS

• scgtimk1 on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:17 am

Someone took the picture and posted it at this forum

http://www.tranungkite.net/v11/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=2440&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=45

• 4x4Fan on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:04 am

Apa pun..good improvement..keep on works dude…!

• Beggar_Banquet on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:12 am

I foresee lot of burning EV Exoras on M’sia roadside expecially during midday with bright blue sky…Just my little worry…

• MoFaz on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:43 am

wah, you’re great!! can you tell me what’s the lucky number for this week Magnum 4D and Toto?

• Whynot on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:01 pm

After bitten and getting twice shy, I personal don’t thinks Proton will do such a silly things like that! In my entire life I had seem numerous new cars with a temporary hanging number plate got burned down on a busy street before even reaching the purchasing owner’s. There might be possible a few to agreed upon your worries but then again failure is one man negligent in quality controls. This happens in all automobiles manufacturers too, mostly wiring errors causing shorted circuits or leaky fuel pipes but very seldom engine overheats. Unless you have a major engine oil leaks being known but totally ignore about it for weeks or months…….

• I’m looking forward for this….
    No more expensive petrol to pump in…
    yeah!!!
    EV rocks!

• rexis on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:37 pm

Now, I want to know the size of that battery.

Is it too big until it took up all the spaces and no engines other then the rotary engine can fit in?

• rexis on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:43 pm

If this thing can go 100km on two litre of fuel for the first 100km. Then the battery can last up to 60-80 km.

If it is 60km for the battery, the car is pretty economical that even on petrol mode, it can go 20km/l.

If it is 80km battery range, the car do 10km/l on petrol mode, which consider as normal consumption.

Anything less its not worth mentioning.

• MoFaz on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:08 pm

it’s still a prototype, we might see some differences in final production model. wait next year until official tech spec released. current figures are ‘best guest’ only.

• anonymous on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:46 pm

why I didn’t read a single word about regenerative braking in this Proton EV? It’s quite common technology in nowadays hybrid and EV car. yes, Solar panel on top of roof is another idea but uncommon due to its cost. Another source of power is from the shock absorber which is currently developed by certain company. Since malaysia road got so many holes and uneven surface, I think Proton Lithium ion battery can get 600km on single charge without petrol. Just a humble suggestion to Proton. I really appreciate the effort you have done after so many year.

• squawk on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:09 pm

Regenerative braking isn’t effective at all speeds and could be extra cost.

Anyway I’m glad to hear Proton is on par with the Koreans on the use of LiPo batteries. The Japanese are only just starting to use lithium.

• farghmee on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:00 am

“Since malaysia road got so many holes and uneven surface, I think Proton Lithium ion battery can get 600km on single charge without petrol”

i like this joke :)

• watever on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:12 pm

The car has regen braking

• anonymous on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:52 pm

oh another suggestion is change all the light bulb in the interior and exterior to LED to further save the energy. aerodynamic also important, design a low center of gravity car, not like alphard, like a big elephant on the road. Proton is good in designing family sedan car, suitable for 1 family.

• inspirasi on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:56 pm

err…mana radio n CD player? impossible if they dont put those thing…viva bulih la wat camtu..
    but, tiz is prototype rite? i think they gonna change the dashboard design too..otherwise, mana nak letak radio?kan kan?hehehe

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:58 pm

The central LCD screen is multi purpose

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=Proton-Exora-EV-Prototype-Drive&image=DSC_0711.jpg

• inspirasi on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:10 pm

ooo..tq danny..
        however, where to insert the CD?or this one only play MP3?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 26, 2010 at 3:27 pm

The testing is focused on the REEV drivetrain. I’m sure when the hard part is done, things like integrating a proper audio system for the production model will follow.

• jl@ipl on Dec 02, 2010 at 2:09 am

@Danny,

Just wonder about the A/C…………noticed that the windows were opened and the switch was off………

• yeah..hope quality is good…sure i buy 1

• Initial R on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Sorry to elaborate some misunderstanding.. But I put in Bahasa Melayu so some of us can understand a bit… :)

Hybrid= Bermaksud pengunaan motor elektrik untuk kelajuan dibawah 50km/h, jadi bila kelajuan meningkat dari 50km/h maka enjin asal akan mengambil alih untuk lebih kuasa. Enjin asal hanya salurkan kuasa elektrik pada motor ketika masa bersedia (idle). Saluran kuasa ke motor elektrik akan dihentikan bila kelajuan meningkat. Efectifnya jimat minyak dibawah kelajuan 50km/h.

EV= Menggunakan kuasa elektrik sepenuhnya untuk menyalurkan kuasa kepada motor elektrik yang memacu tayar. Kuasa elektrik ini tersimpan dalam bentuk bateri. Walau bagaimanapun terdapat had penggunaan yang mana teknologi sekarang kalau tak silap jarak dalam 300km dalam sekali charge. Kurang fasiliti untuk “charge” adalah kekurangan tetapi teknologi terkini bateri boleh “charge” penuh dalam masa 30 minit.

EV + range extender (enjin kecil)=Range extender adalah penambahan untuk menjana kuasa elektrik terus ke bateri bila kuasa elektrik yang tersimpan dalam bateri menurun hingga ke 30%. Pada masa itu enjin kecil ini akan dihidupkan secara auto atau juga manual bergantung kepada keadaan. Kelebihan menggunakan Range Extender ini adalah kenderaan tersebut tidak akan terus kehilangan kuasa elektrik untuk jarak yang jauh serta tidak perlu risau tentang fasiliti “EV charger”. Perlu di ingatkan lagi bahawa enjin kecil ini tidak disambung ke motor elektrik seperti Hybrid tetapi ke bateri.

Prototype= Hanya mockup yang hampir sama dengan produksi asal atau yang akan dikeluarkan. Ianya juga adalah produk ujian untuk tujuan melihat kelemahan dan untuk memajukan produk keluaran massa.

Itu sahaja secara ringkas, Kalau ada sesiapa nak tambah lagi silakan… :)

• u hav done a really gub job in traslating the meaning..
      hopefully ppl will understd the differences…
      maybe the noob/bsher will understand….

• Fridz on Nov 27, 2010 at 7:31 pm

Hello, you are wrong..

Hybrid means the vehicle use two or more power source to move that vehicle. For example, rather than use petrol, hybrid car can use NGV. Like our Saga BLM taxi cab. Lotus Exige 270E Tri-Fuel is an example of hybrid of three fuel being used-petrol,ethanol and methanol…

This Exora is not a hybrid vehicle..This is Electric Vehicle..100% move by electric motor. While the small cc engine just to charge the batteries.

• Initial R on Nov 28, 2010 at 7:57 am

Sorry Bang, did you read the explanation or not. About Hybrid also can Google it or go to wiki to find out more detail. I just put simple explanation in Bahasa Melayu for some of us that not really understand in English.

• Fridz on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:19 pm

Alamak dik, saya faham awak nak translate hybrid, tapi maksud utama mengenai hybrid awak tak explain..Kenapa orang xpanggil kereta yang equip NGV itu hybrid? Sbb mereka masih tak faham apa itu maksud hybrid.

BTW thanks, you are the first to explain. I’m sure lot of ppl out there still thinking Prius and Civic. While this Exora is EV..

• squawk on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:00 pm

This is a series hybrid as opposed to parallel hybrid like a Prius.

• Zakster on Jan 05, 2011 at 3:53 pm

REEV is also known as a SERIES Hybrid, similar to GM’s VOLT. Its good to get this cleared up. If to make it even more pallatible, in evolution sense, the REEV would sit in between the Parallel Hybrid and the Electric Vehicle…word

• Nasai on Nov 26, 2010 at 6:59 pm

Just came back from the Malaysian Innovative Festival 2010 in Bkt Jalil.

Saw this Exora EV on display. They also display those cars that were developed by the Proton Engineers in conjunction with their Family Day Event (Proton’s Invention & Innovation Competition) held in Proton’s Shah Alam factory where staff of Proton came up with “concept cars”. It was posted before by Danny Tan in January. The link:

http://paultan.org/2010/01/10/proton-employees-show-off-creative-concepts-at-its-2010-family-day-celebration/

No EMAS on display, only in KLIMS according to the proton staff/exhibitor.

They also displayed a clay model of a design in the size of 1:3 scale. The Proton staff/exhibitor was explaining to me at that time on the process of designing the clay model. I didnt take a photo cuz i thought it should be the same as the one posted previously in this link:

http://paultan.org/2009/12/09/mysterious-clay-model-in-proton-rd-video/

But it looked a bit different. He said it will be the 2012 Persona model, the one also designed by Italian design house Italdesign-Giugiaro. Btw, today it’s the last day for this innovative carnival and the proton’s next exhibition would be in Shah Alam stadium. They were loading the cars one by one to the trailer when i was there.

• Mori2 on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:06 pm

congrates proton!
    at least we are as malaysian have also involved in green cars technology.
    good job and keep improving your product especially this exora :)

• emosi glock on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:11 pm

this type range extender same as emas concept,petrol engine use to charge the battery,less complex than hybrid system,that why no regenerative braking on exora,this solution gives better fuel consumption

• Whynot on Nov 27, 2010 at 6:39 pm

This is just a prototype. If you have really confirmed that they do not use regenerative braking on Exora then I think proton has to further improve more a bit. This is the tip of the iceberg for Proton new strategy. At least we r happy for the moment. What I hope Proton can do to satisfy all Malaysian is to further improve and improve and has to accept new comments from all Malaysian for now on. Let us not bash Proton at this moments. Wait and see. If we r not satisfy, then we can bash Proton together. These EV technology has just starting to heats things up – I meant – Really heating things up! So stay steady for the present moment pls. So you have just score 1 from me……

• watever on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:29 pm

the car does have regenerative braking

• firza on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:19 pm

what a great job this is….well done proton…hopefully the gov will provide recharge station or some sort of infrastructures since this is the future……

• Kanang on Nov 27, 2010 at 7:39 am

Proton give me the spec, hopefully I can open the recharge station business.

• i like the way you think…opening a recharge station will soon be an equivalent of the traditional petrol station…

• ezracopters on Nov 27, 2010 at 2:27 am

Good job proton..

• Initial R on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:40 am

Say… If that small engine use NGV, i think it more effective compare to petrol & diesel. Clean, easy maintain & less noise even very low emission.

• farghmee on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:08 am

1. lotus range extender can cater bio-fuel (kalu xsalah, refer paultan’s post on lotus re)
      2. ngv akan makan space, tp ok je kalu kita tgk saga teksi tu.

• Kampret on Nov 27, 2010 at 3:07 pm

Too heavy la I think… NGV tank + battery summore

• Initial R on Nov 28, 2010 at 8:28 am

Just thinking only coz it just small gen set + maybe can used small canister for NGV that can generate for few hundred km. Rotary engine think was good idea also coz it more compact but can generate power like Big cc engine (Mazda RX 7 & 8 for example). But it just my 2 cent only. :)

• kalau letak kat Proton punya prototype yang macam Caldina tu pun ok what!

at least, save the planet while driving a handsome car!

• water on Nov 28, 2010 at 6:06 pm

Do Electric Cars Make You Worry About Toasters in Bathtubs? Flood.!!
    watch a EV car Gets a Bath in the Water Trough Test..
    Just to see how a EV car do tested with water so one might know its safe.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hkIrE89a1xU
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YUJDrZT5LCA
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HNDHknGi-N0

• Park Du Bor on Nov 28, 2010 at 6:53 pm

yawn.. tuunggu Prius mpv hybrid yang orijinal la

• apexg2 on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:16 am

than after sales!people will put the ‘save energy’ gadjet!haha, like people always do, put volt stabilizer…guessing wut would be happen then!Nice effort proton, but please make it mass production as earlier as u can coz, there are alot of hybrid car will line up to enter malaysia market as the tax cut announced!if put in the ‘caldina wannabe’ model sure will tip top sales!

• Ash Menon on Nov 29, 2010 at 3:30 pm

Interesting! I think focusing on the Exora and Saga in terms of EV possibilities is a good idea. The performance of the S mode comes as a surprise. The interface, of course, is plain jane at the moment, but hopefully Proton takes interface design into consideration. Lots of good examples already on the road.

• arifrazr92 on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:20 am

im confident with proton now…

• jl@ipl on Dec 02, 2010 at 3:06 pm

It just me or, this exora lowered?

• Suparman on Dec 08, 2010 at 4:12 pm

I love to read all the negative comment..They all talk nonsenses.. I’ts good to see this kind of ppl to come up with lousy negative comment..hehehe

• Majority rakyat in major cities (KL, Klang Valley) staying in high rise condominiums, apartments and flats.

Let’s say, Encik Al-MoFaZ, a proud owner of one of these battery cars, staying at 27th floor at some high rise building, how he’s gonna charge his Electric Toy Car? Use extension wire all the way up from 27th floor?

Furthermore, its a milo-based cars. You don’t drive one, you actually drink one. And its delicious!

Ghahahaha.

• Gerrard on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:13 pm

yeah true.. cafes and restaurants (starbucks, ipoh white coffee, coffee bean, etc.).. watch out for those daily kucingkurap 1-day-1-cup of coffee customers with laptop. Look for those power cord extenders below their tables.. perhaps you would find the cord extending all the way to their ‘Green’ Exora extenders parked just across the pavement…

PS. by the way – go find out abt Malaysia’s Coal Powered plants.. u think u will be saving motherearth by charging your green car with dirty electricity? Go figure!

Nikola Tesla rules – free energy is here but the world is not ready for it.

• Peminat Toyota on Jan 13, 2011 at 1:34 pm

MR Syoh…

I think you’re low income people….. Can afford only flat house and driving kancil (or maybe motorcycle). That why you’re complaining rumah tinggi and tin milo. Takde duit jgn komplen mcm2 yea…. You pay low so dont expected to get high quality. durable, shining star and yadayada…..

Malaysia is not ready yet for EV vehicle. Thus hybrid is most suitable now till next 10 years. Buy Prius la….. Value for money in terms of quality and fc. Stop buying P1 or perodua and komplen mcm2….

• Peminat Toyota on Jan 13, 2011 at 1:43 pm

To MR Syoh

Let me correct you. Those are living in high rise building in KL are low income people. If high income, they tend to buy bunglow or double storey house. If low income dunt buy this MPV la. Buy Kancil or EX5. I perceived you also low income. So dont ckp2 tin milo la…. high building la…. You should think do you have a penny now to fuel up ur EX5……

People….. Wait mid 2011. Toyota will launch EV in Malaysia…..

• support_national_brand on Jan 08, 2011 at 8:28 pm

I am wondering why so many people bash Proton, without even testing and trying it for themselves first.

I am proud owner of Exora MC, it surely feels good. I have consider Citra, Rondo, Grand Livina, Avanza & Innova, but I chosen Exora due to its value for money. And I am still proud I make the correct decision :)

Feel sad because could not afford Exora REEV later when its released, sure its far more better than the standard one (way fuel saving too.. )

• Hafidz on Jan 27, 2011 at 3:42 pm

They love and dying to see Proton dies..

They dont trust Proton coz they are Malaysian too who dont trust other Malaysian did for them which is they ‘dont believe in themselves so why must they believe other Malaysian too’ attitude…

Malaysians dont want to see progress type of people..they value end products, and they dont believe in technology need improvement and progress..they just believe its ready and things they buy will not be ‘rosak’ until they die..

Malaysians are good in mouth-to-mouth marketing sales effort and easily be cheated by such propaganda and un-truth stories..they love gossips so much they tend to believe gossips rather than the real story or even trying to find out the real story behind em..

so this is the true story of your question..

Thank you.. :)

• Joe Chloe on Jan 11, 2011 at 12:08 pm

PROTON IS THE BEST..IM PROUD TO BE MALAYSIAN!!!

• Mr. Omar on Feb 07, 2011 at 2:45 pm

if they produced bad cars all time, would u still be proud???

• Mr. Omar on Feb 07, 2011 at 2:39 pm

c’mon guys, just buy the car worth with ur money. even this newly mpv hasn’t got statistics in term of safety and quality, so why u’re complaining, be realistic la. let the owners share their story. if it is bad then say bad, don’t sell the pride just bcoz it’s local brand. proton is improving, but why ur mentality isn’t improving…

• Razmi Ihsan on Feb 25, 2011 at 6:35 am

1. i hope someone from proton read this blog entry because they could learn something from it

2. i think this is a very good development. i strongly support this. but the thig that proton always overlooked are things like quality, durability, reliability and the small things such as cup holder, folding sided mirrors; good things that other car makers put in their cars that make them convenient. i think it’s to copy from others as long as they good and you dont get sued for it.

• silver on Sep 28, 2011 at 12:28 pm

i think finally proton is heading the right way , now all they need is to improve their design BIG issue . they should maybe consider hiring and outside firm to do the design and set a copmany design profile cause i dont really see much similarity in all the cars at all. Till then don’t think i will get a proton anytime soo…