Perodua to develop a 2-cyl direct injection turbo engine – plans to produce electronic-automatic transmission locally

p2 engine

Perodua is certainly ramping things up, by the looks of it – besides the Bezza concept car, the company presented a glimpse into its technology plans for the coming future at KLIMS, with an engine development road map working towards the eventual introduction of a Precious Metal-free Liquid-feed Fuel Cell-based vehicle.

The company says that for the immediate term things will be based along internal combustion engine lines, which of course it will be working on with its technical partner Daihatsu.

p2 engine 1

“As a compact car manufacturer, we choose this path as the internal combustion engine still has a lot of life in it and we believe that the reduction of our carbon emission by producing more efficient engines that will be more cost effective and will leave a smaller carbon footprint to the environment,” Perodua’s managing director Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said.

“In order to provide compact cars that are affordable by the next generation, we are pursuing the ultimate of conventional technologies rather than hybrid technologies that tend to be too expensive for the average motorists,” he added.

p2 tech 1

With the first stage being mass-produced engines with DVVT, the second stage is where it gets interesting – the next generation eco-engine that it is planning will be a 660cc inline two-cylinder turbocharged engine with direct fuel injection, offering 63 hp at 4,500 rpm and 100 Nm of torque at 1,500 to 4,000 rpm, and P2 says that this one will offer a 30% improvement in fuel efficiency over a current similar displacement block. The engine is something that Daihatsu has announced before, so I suppose this confirms that it will eventually trickle down to Perodua usage.

It will also feature ultra high-volume exhaust gas recirculation as well as a new active ignition system, the latter having an ignition plug with high-frequency, plasma-assisted voltage to strengthen the first electric discharge. The company says that the new block will offer three major advantages – improved combustion, reduced power loss and a flat, high torque curve.

p2 tech

Further away in the distance, the final destination of this green engine roadmap is the Precious Metal-free Liquid-feed Fuel Cell, which the company says is the best alternative for the internal combustion engine as it does not use precious metals and produces zero carbon emissions.

Meanwhile, on the drivetrain front, the company also announced that production of its electronic automatic transmission (E-AT) system locally is targeted to start in the next couple of years. “While the technology is not something new, we will be the first in Malaysia to produce the E-AT system,” Aminar said. The E-AT transmission is currently incorporated in the Myvi and Alza. It’s basically the 4-speed gearbox.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• turbo on Dec 06, 2010 at 1:09 pm

Good

• Cucukman on Dec 06, 2010 at 2:06 pm

Perutdua should go for EV’s car already… waste a lot of money for so called RnD..

Better rebadge Tata Nano.

• bobdbilder on Dec 07, 2010 at 7:43 am

Daihatsu won’t get the EV tech from Toyota. In their product lineup, Hybrids and EV will only show up on Lexus and Toyota brand. People pay more for this two marques.

• zonan on Dec 07, 2010 at 2:50 pm

well done perodua, keep up the good work.. now you teach proton a good lesson that people dont need the powerfull engine or higher torque of rpm, people just want environment friendly.. after this proton will say, “we are proud to show u our environment friendly car” all the proton knows are only copying statement from perodua..

• Hello!

Proton Turbo engine produce less emission and more power, Thats what is the turbo for!! get your facts straight then talk sheeshhh

• zonan on Dec 08, 2010 at 1:25 pm

want laugh for your statement vyn… less emission, ok.. more power, ok la.. proton win.. but save fuel? proton most worst.. sorry.. still not support proton, enough my father and sister in law buy proton.. quality out!!!! I plan to get cik aleeza for future car, or mpv.. still think inspira but, but, but, maybe in a decade.. by that time perodua maybe produce hibrid engine or EV.. can’t wait perodua using latest technology from toyota.. don’t be angry with me proton supporters, I write this for sake of proton itself.. if not they don’t know what people want..

• be4 perodua go far with new engine technology..them should improve with the quality of assembled of perodua car.. here is my complaint to perodua base from my alza experience…

Problem on perodua alza

1) Pintu berbunyi2…ratling noise…bunyi cermin pintu bergegar dengan part power window mechanical..bile tempat x rata..lagi kuat. bunyi

2) Dashboard berbunyi2..bunyi2 yang x kuat tapi halus…tapi rase annoying bile tngah drive lame n tempat begegar

3) Absorber ader keluarkan bunyi halus..macam bunyi papan yang renyek…bila pusing setereng ke kiri n kanan pada kelajuan perlahan around 20-40km.

4) Brake pad gune murah..akibatnya..tayar depan cepat kotor..2 hari after cuci je da start gelap rim taya…

5) Tempat simpan emergency tool ..jet tyre…disimpan dalam bekas yang tidak kedap pergerakan tool tersebut..menjadikan bunyi bergegar n barang dallm tool box melambung2..bila melalui bumper or lobang..sebab xde bende pengikat bende tu semua…

6) Very less sound insulation material …kedekut insulation material…bumbung berbunyi kuat time hujan..sebab nipis sangt insulation tu…pntu kereta terasa macam tin kosong masa nak tutup pintu kereta..bunyi dari luar dengar amat kuat..
            bila driving more than 60-100km/h…kedengaran bunyi tayar yang sedang berpusing amat kuat….why?..because less insulation

7) Stering rack berbunyi krutug’ krutug ‘ krutug’ bile lalu tempat yg x rata..mcm nk tercabut..

9) Penggunaan warna yang salah untuk ruang dalaman…plastik bahagian bawah pintu and plastic antara pintu dengan carpet menggunakan warna yang cerah dan material cepat kotor..so menjadikannya mudah kotor dan tercalat bila terkena kasut..tu la..PERODUA main tiru je…bende ni pon diorang x research..aperlaaaaaaa

now there u know..be4 perodua improve engine technology..they should improve this thing..this is not from other people statemnt..this is my experience,,,my alza experience…

• 6 cylinder:beemer on Dec 09, 2010 at 11:42 am

to cucukman: EV in Malaysia!!! do you know that electricity in Malaysia coming from where..80% from charcoal burning!!! bro,,,do you know what its mean…So ev is not a good recommendation in Malaysia until govt do something about it…
          At this moment NGV is the best..lots of reserve in Malaysia…then Hybrid..then fuelsel..main bedalll jer..hehehehe

• rexis on Dec 06, 2010 at 5:52 pm

Definitely a good move, burners are going to be around for a long long time. I think it is more practical then forcing in a forklift motor and batteries into car.

• ray_jay on Dec 06, 2010 at 1:10 pm

hmm… no wonder P2 don wan to combine with P1…

OK lah… P1 and P2 compete… we rakyat can get competitive/cheaper price.

P1 & P2 just improve on the built/assemble quality.. then im sold.

• “working on with its technical partner Daihatsu.” u mean, rebadging the daihatsu engine??

• practical on Dec 06, 2010 at 2:07 pm

Was part Daihatsu 2009 Tokyo Motor show presentation.

• totally rebadging
      [1] http://www.daihatsu.co.id/home/02_media_review.php?id=565&h=other&page=1
      [2] http://otomotif.antaranews.com/news/1279888561/daihatsu-kenalkan-3-teknologi-mesin-konsep-eco
      [3] http://www.webcg.net/WEBCG/autoshow/2009/tokyo/zettai/i0000022074.html

• Nakal on Dec 06, 2010 at 2:47 pm

Perodua

if it is a new technology by your own , then i starting to like you even you got endless turbo lag problem.

But

if it still a rebadging engine, then sorry. No support.

• No matter is rebadging or self-invention or whatsover,so long the consumer benefits from it.Who cares about rebadging?

• Prismo on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:00 pm

so many peoples cares when proton doing a rebadging.. kalo perodua, senang2 je org kata who cares?

• reader on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:14 pm

Both P1 & P2 is rebadging. The point here is P2 is sounding like R&D by themself by using some nice words although they are not. But P1 is willing to inform the entire world that they are rebadging. Are P1 said they are developing a CVT in Inspira? No, this is their honesty.

Ali san, thumbs up for ur comments.

• Protong on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:30 am

Proton also rebadging Mitsubishi Lancer and Lotus Europa yo!

• Mozilla Chrome on Dec 07, 2010 at 2:11 am

But at least they don’t hide about it and claim that as their own product..pffftt~

• bobdbilder on Dec 07, 2010 at 7:38 am

On the Europa; Proton owns Lotus. If you don’t use all your assets to achieve organizational goals, then you are not efficient.

P2 has no development on product lifecycle. The only development P2 does is bodykits. Once they get the outsourced bodykits, they’ll increase the product’s price (and their margins). Oh come on, you seriously don’t think they’d do their own bodykits do you?

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:46 am

Nothing wrong in supporting it, as long as it is good for us. If it gives us good performance and excellent fuel consumption, who gives a rat’s ass? If Proton or Perodua (or any Japanese or Korean marque for that matter) suddenly decides to adopt VW’s TFSI engines, are you going to say “no” to it just because it’s a licensed design (or in the words of bashers, “rebadged” engine)?

• of course not. dont think that malaysian are unable to work together to built the engine. Like F1, not all parts were made by the foreigners, Malaysian got involved too.

• negative thinking from u..i couldnt imagine if have a million ppl same thought like u,what will happen to bolehland then…

• rosdi on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:00 pm

Of course… what else can Perodua do? I still remember of one Perodua chief once said Perodua’s engine is almost 100% made in Malaysia… while in fact what he meant was ‘manufactured’ in Malaysia. There is huge difference there.

• rexis on Dec 06, 2010 at 5:36 pm

It would mean something like avoid redesigning the wheel and not to make something as stupid as cam-notso-pro.

• it is nice to see our automakers trying 2 prove themselves

well hopefully it runs smoothly.

• kentot on Dec 06, 2010 at 1:33 pm

developed by perodua??not daihatsu or toyota eh??gelak guling2 aku dgr

• bikinpanas on Dec 06, 2010 at 1:40 pm

hopefully it will sucess…go p2…

• raoul on Dec 06, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Yup exactly like Proton’s inspiration to re badge Lancer.

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:49 am

Then please don’t stay in any new house or condominium, because the design language of current Malaysian architecture are largely borrowed from other developed markets abroad. Why would you want to live in a “rebadged”-design house or condominium? Continue living in Malaysia-style attap house, isn’t that better?

• callenish on Dec 06, 2010 at 2:13 pm

as long as they give a good product with reasonable price, we will support…

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:55 am

Absolutely! Perodua should do something about the inherent chassis strength of their cars, though.. Without Ultra Racing fender bars or other such reinforcements, the fender panels buckle in towards the doors too easily even in moderate impacts. They should also improve the sound-proofing of their cars. Proton’s Persona Elegance has a pretty tangible improvement in NVH compared to the Gen-2 and earlier Persona. Perodua should aim for better NVH like Proton, although it’s a bigger challenge to accomplish on a short-wheelbase hatch.

• ultraman on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:26 pm

You must be one of the Ultra Racing buyers who got suckered
        into believing that a darn piece of besi buruk would do wonders !!

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:25 pm

Nope. Not suckered. The first time I had a major crash I found out first-hand that those bars worked as advertised. My front end got smashed but none of the impact affected anything beyond the 3-point fender bars and 4-point strut bar.

What have you got to back up your statement?

• Mohammad Suhaimi on Dec 06, 2010 at 2:46 pm

pelan2 belajar…

dulu2, Sharp pun rebadge AT&T Calculator

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:56 am

Huawei pun rebadge Cisco punya router dan switch, tapi sekarang Huwaei pulak salah satu competitor terbesar Cisco kat benua Asia..

• nazri on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:47 am

after how many days they still rebadge.. unlike p1 showing progress..
      2 thing p2 good.. marketing and talking..

• working together eh?

sound fishy to me..

• Ha Gnih on Dec 06, 2010 at 3:05 pm

still stuck with a 4 speeder. Bila lagi lah nak improve ko org nih ?

• amirullah on Dec 06, 2010 at 3:43 pm

At least some technical know hows is channeled to P2 & P2 gets to manufacture them.
    Good on you P2 as you have a vision for the future.
    Unlike your big brother who has 101 dreams but nothing to show for
    except to rebadge the Inspira. Just concerntrate on what you are supposed to do.
    Rally/F1/Lotus will drain their resources.
    That is why Idris Jala & PM is calling for a merger of P1 & P2.

• jgn lah kecoh sgt.. nampak tak logo sapa kat model tu..

• Prismo on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:06 pm

Proton has nothing to show? This guy still sleeping perhaps…

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:50 am

got stuff to show but all second rate and not as promised. that is why proton will have a hard time succeeding as they can only talk big and not deliver. even with the inspira, how many owners are going to buy now with the fuel price hike and there will be more hikes in future as subsidies are done away with. and how many inspira owners are gonna keep the proton badge when those who claim to want to buy it, say the next thing they are going to do is put a mitsu badge on it.

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:03 am

“Better to be thought of as a fool than to open your mouth and cast all doubts”.

So, P1 has plans to deploy the turbocharged Campro next year, and use CVT transmissions. Their Hybrid Exora managed to beat all other competitors in a shootout in UK. P1 has developed the Emas hybrid/EV platform and will be pushing towards manufacturing it and licensing it to other car makers. BUT, P1 has NO VISION.

P2, as usual, utilizes technology developed by Daihatsu and Toyota as a result of their partnership, but they have A VISION FOR THE FUTURE.

P1 rebadge Inspira, so what do you call the Kancil, Kelisa, Kenari, Nautica, Rusa and Myvi?

• y€ah, agr€€ with amiru££ah. P2 ha$ a bright vi$ion of th€ futur€.

• err… what happened to people’s sense of humor?

• exJAVANESE on Dec 07, 2010 at 7:54 pm

hmm…correction.. Toyota is actually leading the future..not P2.. its hard to say this, but it’s true though..

• racing crazy on Dec 06, 2010 at 3:47 pm

good job P2. At least u don let the P2 fans down…keep it up!!!

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:06 am

Good going P2, Please rebadge the Vios too so that it can finally be rightfully called Perodua Dugong

• exJAVANESE on Dec 07, 2010 at 7:59 pm

I don’t wanna P2 rebadge The Dugong’s..i wanna them rebadge FT-86.. Ada bran??…hohoho

• nocrid on Dec 09, 2010 at 1:39 pm

I really don’t mind that… Vios is a good car and will be cheaper after rebadging.

You can call it what you want as long as you engine don’t die when you make a turning. Because when it does, all the who is ori who is copycat, blah blah is just bunch of bull-dung for self comfort…

• 2 cylinders? what a joke!!! better make a 2-speed auto box next time…

• sixtythree on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:02 pm

the phrase ‘no replacement for displacement’ is getting outdated nowadays… hehe…and i even remember 15yrs ago ppl saying turbo is yesterday tech, vtec, vvti etc is modern….and now? turbo is the wayy to go!

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:09 am

Lotus was pretty visionary back then. When supercars were being fitted with V8s, V10s, V12s and even V16s, they made do with an intercooled turbocharged 4-cylinder engine and yet managed to keep up with the big boys.

Hopefully it’s this Lotus DNA that is trickling down to Proton’s Phoenix project!

• nazri on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:05 pm

why daihatsu logo at engine cover?

• observer on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:29 pm

later will rebadge lah!

• Icecold on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Read the line “it will be working on with its technical partner Daihatsu” so your guess is as good as mine…

Also read reply from Ali above –

ali says:
      6/12/2010 at 2:46 pm

totally rebadging
      [1] http://www.daihatsu.co.id/home/02_media_review.php?id=565&h=other&page=1
      [2] http://otomotif.antaranews.com/news/1279888561/daihatsu-kenalkan-3-teknologi-mesin-konsep-eco
      [3] http://www.webcg.net/WEBCG/autoshow/2009/tokyo/zettai/i0000022074.html

• exJAVANESE on Dec 07, 2010 at 8:02 pm

aaaa..ahh don’t worry dude.. they will change it later..as usual….

• e-tique on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:23 pm

simple job, goreng whatevar DMC have in store now…

• Mozilla Chrome on Dec 06, 2010 at 5:43 pm

At first I wanted to support…but then some of the commentator gave the links to other articles about Perodua borrow Daihatsu tech..I changed my mind..why they dont just tell the truth?
    Pffttt~

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:15 am

But if it’s good, why not. Perodua hasn’t been as honest as Proton all this while. Proton openly mentions the Mitsubishi underpinnings of their vehicles. They even openly mention the gearbox and engine models, and specify the manufacturers of these components.

Perodua has never been as forthcoming, perhaps that’s their corporate culture. If this 660cc turbocharged engine can give you 25km/litre and an output of 90bhp & 100Nm, will you say no to it just because Perodua did not admit that it’s a Daihatsu motor?

• a liar is a liar…. if they quote 25km/litre that is also a lie!!

• YourMama on Dec 07, 2010 at 8:09 am

If its that good. I will go for it any day of the week. Now is fuel efficient engine time.

• rexis on Dec 06, 2010 at 5:48 pm

Downsizing and turbocharging, hopefully we don’t need RON97 for that.

• http://www.daihatsu.co.id/home/02_media_review.php?id=565&h=other&page=1 …….. fail!!!!! im reposting this because some off u might miss it n trus ckp proton loserr…

• seancorr on Dec 06, 2010 at 7:01 pm

Have to remember that P2 is working WITH Daihatsu and not copy & paste. Going alone for R&D will kill P2’s finance so its better to work with other manufacturers like how the rest of the world is!

• why do u think daihatsu needs to work with P2? they have all the engineering knowledge they need and P2 has none. the only thing P2 can contribute is money, call it what you want but it is all copy and paste, nothing more nothing less.

• peYno on Dec 07, 2010 at 7:53 am

somemore.. the money from P2 is come from us rakyat…
        goverment give NATIONAL car status to daihatsu (perodua)

If daihatsu has no national car previlage from gov.. do you thing they want to business with PERODUA????

• bobdbilder on Dec 07, 2010 at 7:26 am

I wont give a thumbs down for you or a thumb up either. They have been No.1 best selling car in Malaysia for a long time. Money gone outside of the country. They should invest more here. More worthwhile investment. Not just some Corporate Relations program. Some real human capital development.

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:56 am

haha, alot more of our money has gone outside the country because of other ppl, if you know what i mean. p1 was rebadging the saga and perdana along time before p2 came along, how much money was paid to the japanese?

• sweltering on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:46 pm

yes see Daihatsu in malaysia except for lorries n vans showrooms so plenty, P2 different than P1 ? P1 needs mitsubishi n lotus…and it happens Daihatsu have toyota ..since toyota is the one of top car manufacturer at present time which going for compact car segment n Dathatsu n P2 are its R&D for compact cars segment.

• cheaper toyota on Dec 06, 2010 at 7:41 pm

Perodua = Cheaper Toyota for the local Malaysian…….

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:41 am

If that’s true then this “cheaper Toyota” is absolute crap. What sort of Toyota are they emulating, the 1960s Toyota??

• peYno on Dec 07, 2010 at 7:50 am

u are wrong… perodua is daihatsu….perodua use taht words for marketing strategy only as toyota name. is stronger than DAIHATSU..
      if u said perodua is cheaper toyota.. then tell me which toyota model that perodua VIVA come from????

it come form Daihatsu… not Toyota

• Halleluyah on Dec 06, 2010 at 8:03 pm

yea saw the link from daihatsu website and those tech are actually the same in that website, shown with vehicle prototype/concepts.
    dissappointed after rebadging daihatsu for so long and earn so much money from rakyat and cant develop 1 single thing.
    Even proton already developing green tech and have good result from UK.
    EV saga and even the new model displayed in KLIMS 2010.
    now P1 is going the correct direction, improvement still needed.(quality improvement must increase even MORE)
    P2….please….. the ceo do smthg rather than just keep rebadge rebadge rebadge…. how many car have P2 rebadged? since kancil?

• banko on Dec 07, 2010 at 6:36 am

kesian ,tapi that how major sharaholder use their power…. the japs …money come as many as p1 ,… the same amount p1 able to bring some tech ,,, but at same amount they not allow p2 create any tech ,,,, instead all thing/product must buy from their alliances….

• awg1031 on Dec 06, 2010 at 8:32 pm

still, it’s a good move..at least u learn something..and i don’t see anywhere in the article saying that it is Perodua owned engine..the word is to ‘develop’ the engine which is owned by Daihatsu..read properly

• MoFaz on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:24 pm

but for perodua, to ‘develop’ means to ‘ask parent for help’.

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 07, 2010 at 6:23 pm

that is still better than the proton version of “develop” which means “ask govt for RnD money”

• Mozilla Chrome on Dec 07, 2010 at 2:25 am

Just be honest..what the 1st thing crossed in ur mind when u read the term ‘develop’?
      I’m sure u was thinking that p2 is building their own engine..
      They shouldn’t use ‘develop’..they shud use ‘pinjam skejap utk motorshow’ instead..

• Icecold on Dec 07, 2010 at 5:38 am

Yeah rite…you think P2 have the capability to develop an engine, come on even Myvi also they say develop with Daihatsu….What do you get, Passo wannabe only on the road.

That statement is just another soft word for….you guess it….rebadge!

• tokmoh on Dec 06, 2010 at 8:48 pm

Lolwut? Giving fancy name for a 4-speed auto and make it sound grandiose? ROFLMAO

• for perodua, 4-speed auto is already considered very very the advance. best on class!!

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:43 am

Same as one of its parents, Toyota. Still shoving 4-speed autos into Altis and Camry even until Q3 2010 but luckily, they have stopped doing that.

• tokmoh on Dec 07, 2010 at 8:04 pm

Very soon, we might hear Perodua producing super advanced electronic automated glass carrier… which will turn out to be power window. Then Japmobile fanboys and Proton bashers will cheer it as God-send

• Electronic Automatic Transmission/EAT.

dude, i ROFL-ed as soon as i saw the name. my 4 year old cousin just called it ‘eat’ (makan) lol. that would be the crappiest name ever given to a 4-speed auto.

• Naz@AE111 on Dec 06, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Perodua owns by UMW.. Perodua same as daihatsu.. Daihatsu own by Toyota corporation.. just the same.. but different badge only..

• it’s toyota’s marketing strategy to rule the world.

• peYno on Dec 07, 2010 at 7:46 am

yes.. but Totoyat corp has nothing to do with perodua…
      see.. why don’t perodua develop TOYOTA engine??? coz perodua= daihatsu… not Toyota

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:15 am

Hello, please do some research. Perodua, Daihatsu and Toyota are in the same boat. Myvi = Daihatsu Boon = Toyota Passo. Didn’t you see the resemblance of the Perodua Nautica and the Toyota Rush? Daihatsu’s DVVT engine was developed by Toyota.

• peYno on Dec 07, 2010 at 5:42 pm

perodua= toyota is used by peordua salesman as toyota brand is stronger than Daihatsu

if u said perodua is toyota.. then tell me which toyota model that perodua VIVA come from????

• DonkeyKong on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:55 pm

Hello, which part of “Perodua, Daihatsu and Toyota are in the same boat” don’t you understand? Perodua is not just sharing technology with Toyota, they’re sharing with Daihatsu too.

In other words, Perodua=Daihatsu=Toyota. Understand now?

• peYno on Dec 09, 2010 at 6:23 am

u are wrong again.. my point is Perodua has nothing to do with Toyota…
            perodua rebadge model from Daihatsu and not from Toyota

In Malaysia perodua ppl promote peordua=daihatsu=toyota
            \but in Japan Daihatsu(DMC) is under Toyota and toyota don’t care about perodua

heheh

• yippi33 on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:17 pm

hope with p2 manufacturing the EAT locally, they can supply it to p1 at a reasonable cost which will further benefit both entity…i fully support these type of collabs in the future..its a symbiosis..

• bobdbilder on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:41 pm

Of all the P2 cars I felt the Kelisa was a promising platform. It was a fun car to drive. It had the right stance. I wouldn’t criticize P2 so much if it had developed it further. But the world is full of missed opportunities.

• din aman on Dec 07, 2010 at 2:00 am

all people comments makes me laugh 24-hours…
    they comments the malaysian cars lacks of idea-lah, copy from other cars-lah….but they do not know they’re still using malaysia cars…kancil 660…proton saga….when petrol price is rise and rise and rise…malaysian was transformed to HULK because of that…be thankful because peolple in malaysia not all of them is rich….

• peYno on Dec 07, 2010 at 7:44 am

perodua develop engine??
    prrrrtfhhhh
    don’t cheat people la… Daihatsu develop it.. perodua later assemble it

someore.. WTH 4 speeder??? other manufacturer oredi CVT, 5 speed, 6 speed..

• Jimmy Dean on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:01 pm

Not cheating lah… Perodua is not a national car maker, just a bastard child who can claim anything made by Daihatsu as righfully their own.

• Goproton on Dec 07, 2010 at 8:30 am

bro did his hw and submitted….after awhile the little bro took it and tell everyone it is his work….
    what a perodua….

• mohdjiman on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:26 pm

ah…they want to ‘develop’ something? we will see…

• autojohndoe on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:29 pm

“working with” or “working for”…

• Perodua to develop a 2-cyl direct injection turbo engine – ???

huhu what a joke huhu

• wan300 on Dec 17, 2010 at 12:14 pm

dam…. wat the perodua R&D do…. just take daihatsu technology n show it to malaysian ppl…..

• meet_the_zonan on Dec 21, 2010 at 11:13 am

wah, so many proton salesman lah on this site.. all thumb down and give bad comment to p2 like usual..