Mitsubishi showcases electric vehicle concepts at KLIMS

After bringing you live coverage from the world’s top motor shows this year – Detroit, Geneva, Paris and more recently Thailand – browsing through our own motor show felt rather strange. No running around halls in chase of world debuts (Proton and Perodua are neighbours) and with so little fresh metal to gawk at, KLIMS 2010 is a long way from being an “International” show. The Europeans, except for Naza handled Peugeot and Maserati, didn’t bother, and occupied floor space has declined from the last show in 2006.

That said, it’s still the best we’ve got and the show has to go on. Fortunately, some brands took the effort to bring in concept cars to make the entrance fee more worthwhile. Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia outdid its peers by bringing in two concepts showcasing its EV technology. Both the Concept PX-MiEV (from Tokyo 2009) and i-MiEV Sport Air (Geneva 2009) preview not just emissions free motoring, but show that future green motoring need not be boring.

The crossover features S-AWC (Super All Wheel Control) that controls torque and braking at each wheel for optimum traction. S-AWC incorporates the electronically-controlled E-AYC (Electric-powered Active Yaw Control) which uses a differential motor to control rear wheel torque split. S-AWC also exercises integrated control over the ASC, ABS and E-4WD systems. Sounds a lot like Evo trickery, doesn’t it? Paul has a comprehensive post on the Concept PX-MiEV here.

The tiny Sport Air uses a more powerful version of the i-MiEV’s permanent magnet synchronous electric motor – 60 kW/230 Nm versus 47 kW/180 Nm. Weight, distribution and centre of gravity was the focus for this concept – the floor pan location of the Li-ion batteries, EV components that are put as low as possible, a plastic roof and aluminium rear suspension were among the measures. The result is 50:50 weight distribution.

Check them out at PWTC’s Tun Razak Hall 4.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• seriousSAM on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:35 pm

Now this is what we call concept car
    unlike P1… showcase the re-bardge car as concept.. WTF?

• mivec on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:54 pm

unlike P2.. i corrected for u bro incase your keyboard have problem with 2 key.. :)

• Karamsinking on Dec 08, 2010 at 1:46 am

atleast there’s tuah & emas.. give’em a chance la.. p1 only 25 yrs old.. mitsu motors 40, but their engineering experience is 140.. since mitsu is already around since 1870.. they even make aircrafts..

• donno on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:45 pm

A bit dissapointing KLIMS…

No Audi, Alfa Romeo, Volkswagen, Suzuki, Subaru, BMW, Mercedes, Mazda and Ford… And what is it about the highlight of the show, the wonderful cardboard Batmobile…

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:53 pm

agreed man

• kimi_ on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:32 pm

Because they know cars in Malaysia taxed heavily and priced ridiculously that little will buy it. So, no point to display it.

• let it be , they cannot win the local market wih their prices factor, so why bother to show? if they want it, they have to think other way s(such as ckd) or just find bigger market than malaysia

quality wise , jap and local cars are improving, nothing is impossible,euro cars can be sent back balik kampung (to europe) in the future, majority won’t buy it here anymore, lol

• GoProton on Dec 07, 2010 at 6:26 pm

see how they look down on us…our market….
        not many are interested in Malaysia market…
        who to blame?haih…

• Critique on Dec 07, 2010 at 8:31 pm

Look down on Our Market? No’larr. Its attractive, though it can be even more so with a level playing field :)

• Government

• makroman on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:48 am

more like the economical system… but if we use capitalist system like the US then the rich will become richer and the poor will become poorer..

• yeah couldn’t agree more, somemore the gals r mostly sub-standard…zzz….

• Jimmy on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:29 pm

Yes, Range Rover Evoque.

• OoooH! I like the cute little blue car. The car’s shape is all about Bernouli’s Principle.

• Anti P1/MMM on Dec 07, 2010 at 2:11 pm

whatever concept lah, dun trust mitsubishi oled since re-bagdge done. Concept???at the end still sell to P1 for rebadge concept one, save the energy lah for showing whatsoever concept car!!! Customer no more trust and royalty like last time oled lah!!!

• kacak on Dec 07, 2010 at 3:14 pm

erm..

why that mitsubishi remind me of proton emas?

• Fayzan on Dec 07, 2010 at 8:26 pm

I went there and was disappointed as there’s no Land Rover, no VW, no MercedesBenz, no BMW…

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:32 am

Sport Air lookslike the 1950s BMW Isetta.

• TK Ong on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:30 pm

Yes, I couldn’t agree more with all. I have visited every KLIMS without fail since its inception but the 2010 was a BIG rip off! I walked out feeling disappointed and cheated i.e. styrofoam/cardboard displays of the Batmobile and a solitary Transformer on display when it was supposed to share the highlights of the show? Besides, I was expecting to see Ford, Mazda and Volkswagen. But alas, they chose to stay out of the show. I was also wondering why Sime Hyundai chose to exhibit the new Avante at a corner, all locked up, when it’s supposed to be their next big launch after the Sonata & Tuscon.

• Carl Wong on Dec 08, 2010 at 5:02 pm

There are a lot of competitions already for the Electric Vehicles, keep it up Japanese giants :].