What? The Honda CR-Z hybrid not fun to drive? Says who?

Well, you can’t please them all. Despite having made lots of new friends and bagged awards, there’s at least one publication that doesn’t quite think the Honda CR-Z hybrid quite cuts the cloth – in the US, Consumer Reports‘ has carried out a test of four different fuel-efficient cars, and the car was part of that test group.

Despite achieving a 35 mpg overall figure and having a crisp manual transmission, it seems the two-seat hybrid hatch scored too low for the publication to recommend it, and the vehicle ended up as the lowest ranked of the four fuel-efficient cars on test for the January issue.

While CR said the car handled nimbly, it wasn’t very sporty otherwise – other points were that the ride is choppy, visibility is lacking, noise levels are high, and on-limit handling can be tricky, though the six-speed manual transmission and braking were plus points.

Meanwhile, two of the other cars in the group, the Ford Fiesta and Mazda2, fared very well, both achieving ‘Very Good’ ratings; the rag said they are both fun to drive and deliver impressive fuel economy. For the Fiesta, its agile handling, relatively quiet cabin and composed ride were high points.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I believe with looks that good, noone would really mind ^^

• Mofaz on Dec 09, 2010 at 11:53 pm

Is really annoying when heard something negative impression about CR-Z, still it earn rate high value for personal myself, At sema auto honda show up crz type-r probably K-20A2 will plant into it, fiesta and mazda never get their way in hehehe.

• comrade on Dec 09, 2010 at 1:51 pm

so this means fiesta better than CR-Z? how bout test by our dear paul or danny??

• vincent on Dec 09, 2010 at 1:52 pm

throw in a 1.6l turbocharged mill n it’ll give its competitor a run for their money..

• donadoni on Dec 09, 2010 at 1:54 pm

honda is dying

• jay8393 on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:00 pm

Well, it’s true that the CR-Z won’t be pleasing everyone.

• comment on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:12 pm

who cares about that report. i would still choose CRZ over Fiesta & Mazda2

• Gabba Gabba Gabba on Dec 09, 2010 at 6:25 pm

Good choice! I agreed…Juz get this CR-Z and swap with K20 or “B” series engine…

• bryan.jones on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:15 pm

ahbeng car, only ahbeng love to drive it.

• Anyone know when this beauty will be coming to Msia?
    I’m very keen on this car.

• Alpha on Dec 09, 2010 at 4:02 pm

somehow even without tax i don’t thnk Honda Malaysia will bring in this car.If you notice,mass producer like Honda and Toyota never brings anything that they cant sell in bulk.Ths CR-Z won’t be a strong seller due to the fact it’s a 2-seater.unless it’s a 2+2 seater like a Mini,then ppl will think of buying.And remember,it’s still a B-segment car.

*Get a DC5 like I did.Best money ever spent!!XD

• http://www.honda.co.jp/CR-Z/webcatalog/type/

It seems a coupe 2+2 for JDM. USDM got 2 seaters.

• I tend to agree with Consumer Reports. This CR-Z is a crap car to drive in GT5.

It’s just an Insight with two less doors lah.

• You missed out mentioning which car came out tops in the report. The VW Jetta TDI came first. Give me a good diesel anyday over a hybrid. Pity our Euro2 diesel here. A Jetta or Golf TDI would be a great buy, especially if you drive on the highways frequently.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:54 pm

Indeed, though it was a manual Sportwagen version of the car – the publication was testing out the stick shifter variant, having already done the auto version previously.

• Jimmy on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:35 pm

It look nice but 2 seater not suitable for family unless got another car and use CRZ as 2nd car or for dating purpose.

• Hunter on Dec 10, 2010 at 5:29 pm

for sure ppl wont buy this car to cater FOR FAMILY…duh..

• Hunter on Dec 10, 2010 at 5:29 pm

for sure la bro, no need to stated the obvious…ppl wont buy this car to cater FOR FAMILY…duh..

• wisdom on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Lets buy Fiesta then…

• wolfsburg on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:50 pm

35mpg is very poor for a Hybrid… The latest Elantra 1.8 easily gets 40mpg in US… No wonder CRZ is so badly fared as the Insight by consumer report and both CRZ and Insight are selling so slow in US… Now is November and still got 3000 CRZ sitting in their inventory… Good luck Honda…
    http://www.autoblog.com/2010/12/06/cr-z-crosstour-insight-sales-hurting-odyssey-lone-bright-spo/

• 40mpg highway and not combined. but true, 35 is low for hybrid standard, even more to say from honda which dominates the 90’s and early 2000’s fuel consumption… pity them, hope to see new line up of engines from them and also may their new hybrid system be on the play soon…

• Calvin Foo on Dec 09, 2010 at 3:30 pm

I want to see it in Malaysia!

• whocares on Dec 09, 2010 at 3:36 pm

im not surprised with this..honda b-segment isnt the best in ride comfort nor ultimate handling. end of the day, its looks, tech savvy and ivtec performance will buy the customer hearts..

• Tiff of Fifth Gear fame also mention the same thing. The hybrid system only hinders the car as there won’t be any motor assist for speeds above 50 kph.

• rossi46 on Dec 09, 2010 at 4:45 pm

yeap…for a performance bias Green car…a diesel is more satisfying, Huge torque but still less fuel consumption and less CO2 …be green and have fun too!

• Gabba Gabba Gabba on Dec 09, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Buy this CR-Z and swap with K20 Engine…habis cerita~! LOL~!

• Anti P1/MMM on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:02 pm

My uncle own CRZ in SP, i curi curi test the car. I found is good at the first sight, but not practical vehicle as the model is just for race purposes. Acceleration also so so only.

• sagarian on Dec 10, 2010 at 11:38 am

how a race purpose car not good in acceleration? coz suppose great not so so ..

• bobdbilder on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:06 pm

Americans. After years of chugging down the world’s oil, selling based on debts, NOW they become the experts in efficiency? They recommended the most expensive car in that bunch. Has it not struck it to their brains already? With the lending rates now? They are just asking for another recession aren’t they?

• M-mealin on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:17 pm

Ford fiesta u.s made and the report was made by consumer which is American…bias loo…its seems like put an apple and durian on d table…

• Michael Ammot on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:23 pm

CR-Z …world car of the year in japan …but lowest ranked in CR…

car journalist not much different from pop artist journalist..they can write and talk what they want…

• mystvearn on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:44 pm

Everyone has their oppinions. You cannot please everyone. Not really bothered cause its just one article in a country where they have huge roads, gears mounted at streeing wheel…

• jackie on Dec 09, 2010 at 6:12 pm

the real fun can be obtained from the one who sit next to you inside the CRZ… not the car …

• This is a damn stupid report. there is no need to be genius for one to admit that Honda makes fastest and stronest cars in the world. CRZ is just portion of them. We all know how simply civic 2.0 can smoke Scirocco and how strong iVTEC over double vanos, ecotec or TSI engine. Look at sales chart as proof. And here come a review putting CRZ LOWEST in the rank! Only buffalo would believe such news and only buffalo would go for fiesta rather then CRZ. Malaysian ppl are not buffalos and every single of us drives Honda in town and know its might. Wanna drive fiesta…not here in Malaysia as you will be seen as mentally retarded ass in a sea of Honda drivers. I own Honda not sell Honda so i know the demonic speed it has…..

• you are truly a blind supporter of Honda….

• a normal civic can smoke a Scirocco?
      Are u kidding me dude.

Are you talking about 1.4 TSI Scirocco?

• i think that boy civic centric..u read his comment before…its really-really funny n stupid

• mutyr on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:01 pm

ok ok civic 2.0 can smoke scirocco

in your dream! lol

• Apple to apple comparison. scirocco 1.4 cannot even come near to Civic 2.0. We are comparing 2.0TSI scirocco of course. it doent have iVTEC technology, what do you say? If true scirocco is more powerful than why we rarely see one OTR compared to FD2? Think….

• you make ivtec sound like it’s the best engine series in the world. people are laughing at you.

• a mere civic cant compare with Scirocco or Goft GTI. Totally different class.
          Dude, dont be over confident with Honda.

• Jonnie on Dec 10, 2010 at 10:25 am

Alo, my FD2.0 even loose to Focus2.0 la.. but then maybe I am a lousy driver.. ka ka ka… FC also very high when floored

• mmealin on Dec 10, 2010 at 6:30 pm

scirocco 2.0 – 265 ps
            honda civic 2.0 – 155 ps
            civic type R – 225 ps
            dude u gotta woke up 2 c this fact…

• s60..

Are you Volvo?

Anyway, you as just stupid as….you are.

Just to recap
          mmealin says:

scirocco 2.0 – 265 ps
          honda civic 2.0 – 155 ps
          civic type R – 225 ps
          dude u gotta woke up 2 c this fact…

The only contender for scirocco is Ford Focus RS and Renault Megane Cup 250 RS

By the way..I really like CR-Z. So don’t be an AH for Honda’s driver.

• rambl on Dec 10, 2010 at 4:40 pm

civic is not meant to be used in race, i mean the plain one, not type-R
      so when cannot smoke other cars, that’s not bad
      bigger boot, adequate engine, just enough for family man,
      why want so fast to drive if with family, where to go, drain?

scirocco is different class altogether , cannot compare with civic
      3 doors, smaller boot, sportier body,turbocharged 2.0 engine
      so different

• Hunter on Dec 10, 2010 at 5:41 pm

Oh please la dude.. I also drive an FD2, but i dun hv the guts or the nerves as you to state such bold (stupid?) statements like those..

kamon la bro, a lot of FD1/2 or any other hondas on the road (sea of hondas T_T;) doesnt mean it has the ‘MIGHT’ u so blindly support. i-vtec is a good engine, but by far not the BEST as u so crazily support..

dunno whether ur just being a troll and on purpose make urself look as a dumb person to fire up the conversation.. oh well.. good luck with ur awesome civic (if u ever own one that is..lol)

• more people attend KFC than A&W. Means A&W is much more delicious than KFC??? WTF…

• John Cooper on Dec 12, 2010 at 1:07 am

I’ve seen more MyVi than FD2, Scirocco, Golf or even Veyron.
          Based on your logic, is Myvi the greatest car of all time?

• Maserati on Dec 09, 2010 at 6:18 pm

Stupid Americans as usual.Know nothing about cars.

Never ever trust an American review website on cars.

They are either bias ,or they really duno nuts about cars!

• bobdbilder on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:03 pm

Ever notice that there is not a single car mentioned is made in US? The Fiesta is European.

• u hate american don’t u….

Let me ask u something…
      What movie u like to watch bro? ..are u watching American movie or Japanese movie.
      Where u children like to go? … KFC/McD or Sushi King.

If ur answer is American movie and KFC/McD…. the ur stupid just like them.

• that is the reason why toyota can be no.1 in america

• there’s rumors goin on honda msia will bring this in sumwhr in Q1 2011.jz wait and see

• woozy on Dec 09, 2010 at 6:45 pm

I have rode inside a crz before and it is GOOD. There is a quality feeling to the interior and the exhaust note from low rpms is just great! I think that is partly due to how the intake manifold. You have to see the car in person to appreciate its looks. Just needs slightly more power though. I hope Honda Malaysia brings it here, it will definitely turn heads. But I can imagine the crz being more of an ‘accessory’ as it will definitely be priced higher than your average City albeit being less practical etc… but dont we malaysians like accessories…..

• Hunter on Dec 10, 2010 at 5:50 pm

True that bro.. even the stupidly priced jazz (can consider as accessory or not?) also got buyers.. CRZ if sell at 108K (*price hint*) will surely sell..

enlightened guys who read & study car reviews b4 they buy will maybe think twice before forking out such money for this CRZ.. but i assure u there will be a whole bunch of rich uncles & auntie that will surely buy this car for their snobbish son or daughters… lol.

in malaysia, car looks and brand play a major role in the market share, not tech/handling/build quality.. so dont bother of how crappy the review was in the US coz, “in Malaysia a Honda (or Toyota) will sell like no one elses business.”

• miopi on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:35 pm

buy honda if you want to:
    1. turn some heads, only some, ok
    2. modify it to be to R-type lookalike
    3. have quite good resale value
    4. feel like quite rich man
    5. run from buying local cars even if you have to eat maggi everyday
    6. feel like driving a cbu car while it’s assembled locally
    7. ride a car that has so so in ride and handling

• A turbocharged hybrid engine would be awesome for this car , and a revised suspension which uses the old Honda civic type-r tripod suspension .. then it will sure outperform the Fiesta and Mazda 2

• honda fanatics all pissed. hahaha..

time for you people to really consider the ford fiesta.

• I test drove the Fiesta last month. Damn awesome car. People should stop buying the egg-shaped Jazz and buy Fiestas just because for the simple reason that it is BETTER!

• Jonnie on Dec 10, 2010 at 10:20 am

I also tried Fiesta but from the passenger side… The seat are so small and uncomfortable, having the door and centre console wrapping you all time is no fun for long drive, like kancil… Jazz is better in that department.

• sagarian on Dec 10, 2010 at 12:10 pm

yeah…dont buy fiesta if u want sit at back 4 rest of ur life..

• Hunter on Dec 10, 2010 at 6:03 pm

Dude, he’s just pointing out his personal opinion on the car.. of course, the fiesta has awesome ride and handling compared to such a plain ol’ vanilla (and overpriced!!) Jazz.. but in terms of ergonomics OF SPACE, the jazz may be a bit good. It has ample (not perfect) headroom and movement space within the cockpit where u fell less ‘congested’ when u sit in it. This is a PLUS factor to some people you know.

Older people may feel less comfort in a tightly wrapped cockpit of a sporty interior like the Fiesta, but feels orgasmic for young ppl u maybe. Ppl just dont buy cars for the sake of MOVING ON or SITTING IN THE FRONT u know..

but hell, the jazz is still a crappy choice of a car! :)

• eurocarnut on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:45 pm

Saw it at KLIMS. Looks good.

Bring it in but keep the price fair Honda Msia and it will sell….

US price starts at $19,200… about RM60k.
    UK price starts at 16,999 pound sterling with 20% VAT.. about RM65k.

Price in Msia… Insight at RM98k, CRZ price?

Tax free but not profit free!!

• Carl Wong on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:40 pm

Who are the testers anyway? Price for Honda Crz here?? Might be RM 75,000-90,000.

• eurocarnut on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:14 am

Unlikely…. Insight price in UK is two thousand pounds less then CRZ, so if Insight is selling for RM98k, expect CRZ to be RM10-20k more…. if its brought in.

• Hunter on Dec 10, 2010 at 6:04 pm

ur in the right dept. bro.. it wont be sold less than 100K for sure. I think this will cater for the Civic Hybrid they’ve discontinued. im gunning for the 108K figure!

• mitlanevo on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:52 pm

they butthurt bcoz their own national car sucks…

put asde the brilliant technology involved, the appearance of CRZ is enough to attract buyers…

• altecs on Dec 09, 2010 at 11:43 pm

The crz looks are awesome indeed,
    Although it’s allure will unlikely succeed,
    Because it saddens me the performance blows,
    If they put in a k20 i might consider though.

• Lassana Diarra on Dec 10, 2010 at 9:32 am

All this talk about power in a car and how high the hp can go is not practical in Malaysian roads. What’s the point of having a monster under the hood but the fact of matter is you wont be able to show it off?

Oh yea that’s right, it only gives you some bragging rights at mamak and kopitiam
      or the ability to syok sendiri by burning some rubber near your housing neighborhood.

That’s all to it.

• Hazeman on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:28 pm

Well im now currently driving a 155hp car and i drive my car everyday, it does not mean that i race it everyday tho. What i want from my car is actually drivibility and also for me to enjoy the occosional hard driving. I dont think that the measly 122hp engine +13 hp electric motor can provide the adequate acceleration to the 1300kg body. And honda dare to market it as a sports car? If this is the future of ‘sports’ car then the future sure looks bleak. With 0.11hp/kg it really does not look that fantastic. Just my opinion

• Ash Menon on Dec 09, 2010 at 11:45 pm

Generally even the British reviewers found its acceleration to be lacking. Seems a bit unfair to be comparing a hybrid and then saying its power output isn’t up to par, doesn’t it?

• Hunter on Dec 10, 2010 at 6:10 pm

well said bro.. u cant compare the CRZ hybrid to other sports cars and it shouldnt even be marketed as one either… just treat it as a ‘hatchback’ version of the insight, same car diff version.. Honda should just market it as a sporty looking hybrid, not a hybrid sports car right?

• SoMeOnE on Dec 10, 2010 at 5:25 am

judging by the above new i knew the comments is gonna be filled with honda fans trying to defend thier product…well they may have a point in the ride and handling department becoz mazda’s and ford’s are one ot the best handling mainstream cars this side of lotus…i think honda was more intrested in giving a competant package as a whole…thats what Honda are more into these days…giving a car thats competant but not explosive in any one area..does this sound familiar??( maybe toyota? ) IMO u tend to mirror ur competitors if u focus too much on them.,.i truly miss the honda of 90’s and early 2000s

• Maserati on Dec 10, 2010 at 9:58 am

Watever it is, if this is sold in msia at the right price, its going to sell like crazy!

• Hazeman on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:07 pm

I think you guys should open your mind a bit. If its made by honda and its a hybrid dosent make it automatically good. In my opinion the crz really has an identity crisis. It does not know what it wants to be. A fuel saving hybrid or a sporty performance car because you cant be both you know. It does not even excel as a fuel saving car or even a performance car. And really spec wise a 122hp engine doesnt really put it near to any sports car category. Honda can call it anything they want with this car but if you want to call it a sports car then put in the k20 series engine inside. Then we can talk. Cheers!

Oh here is some review for you guys to read.
    http://www.autoblog.com/2010/08/31/2011-honda-cr-z-review-road-test/

• budleee on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:12 pm

have you guys actually read the magazine itself? they are quite brutal, very very picky on the selection of cars

all they want is function over style, durability and quality over design,

a tough cookie to crack…

although CR loves Subaru, they recommend all of the Subaru models, in the USA.

• just take advantage of the tax incentives. everyone will be happy.

• Funny looking car?

• LoongHK on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:55 am

Errrrr, isn’t the Mazda 2 and Fiesta supposed to be compared to the Honda Jazz / Fit?

• LoongHK on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:58 am

Isn’t the Mazda 2 and Fiesta suppsed to be competing with the Honda Jazz / Fit.

*how come my comment doesn’t show up