Hyundai-Kia to use dual-clutch gearbox, CVT from 2011

Hyundai-Kia to use dual-clutch gearbox, CVT from 2011The dual-clutch gearbox, popularised by Volkswagen and adopted by the likes of Ford, Volvo, BMW and Porsche today, will find its way into Hyundai-Kia vehicles from next year. First out with be a six-speed unit, followed by a seven speeder, supplied by Germany’s LUK and branded as Parallel Shift Gearbox (PSG).

Like VW’s DSG, PSG has two computer operated clutches, one handling even gears and the other odd gears. Compared to a torque converter automatic, shift speed and efficiency are improved, but it’s the latter Hyundai is chasing after. “To improve our fuel economy, we are aggressively trying to apply various technologies,” Dr Woong-chul Yang, president of Hyundai-Kia’s R&D division said.

The “various tech” mentioned includes the continuously variable transmissions (CVT), which will be introduced in smaller models to boost mileage. In the US, Hyundai has announced plans to lift its corporate average fuel economy rating to 50 mpg (17.7 km/l) by 2025. Four upcoming models including the new Elantra (Avante for us) will get at least 40 mpg or 14.2 km/l on the highway. Transmissions are key, but other measures include direct-injection engines, turbochargers and hybrid tech.

Reports from Australia say that the recipients of the PSG will include the ix35 and i45, which we know as the Tucson and Sonata respectively.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Maaajeeedaaa on Dec 14, 2010 at 2:26 pm

wah…everyone is turning to cvt ka???

• someone on Dec 14, 2010 at 2:49 pm

VGA taking lead and everyone is follow, in future, more turbo charged vehicles more dual clutch vehicles. Hyundai-Kia, hope we can get at least one dual clutch hyundai or kia model here next year, I’ll definitely go for one.

• Jericho on Dec 14, 2010 at 2:54 pm

i hope the new avante will have a twin clutch transmission instead of cvt..

• Melissa on Dec 14, 2010 at 3:01 pm

I am First !! Hoo HAH !!!

Triple-Clutch is coming soon from merc next year too!! Hoo HaHh !

• campro shud meet twin clucth tranny instead of mitsu auto, perfect couple

• DonkeyKong on Dec 14, 2010 at 4:20 pm

Proton is going for CVT for the next Persona anyway

• salim on Dec 14, 2010 at 7:30 pm

That’s the problem with P1 and their ball carriers,
        engine not out and yet they boasting on how good
        their engine will be like etc etc.
        Penat-lah of all the empty promises !!!
        Way to go Kia/Hyundai !!

• what engine?(P1)

• bobdbilder on Dec 14, 2010 at 10:11 pm

Dey whaaaat la? nmh recommended it. DonkeyKong said it. Not an official press statement from Proton. Aren’t we a wee bit trigger happy these days?

• DonkeyKong on Dec 14, 2010 at 4:22 pm

So what happens to Hyundai-Kia’s in-house 6-speed auto transmission? Just deployed for this round of Hyundai Sonata, Hyundai Tucson, Kia Optima K5, etc. and then its product lifecycle is over and they’re replacing it with externally-sourced CVT and twin-clutch gearboxes?

• wolfsburg on Dec 14, 2010 at 6:11 pm

They are going to have all 3 types of gearboxes but on different application…

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:49 pm

They will have different gearboxes.

Twin clutch systems usually done for efficiency due to no loss on the torque converter and fast shifts on sportier cars.

Other wise, a normal 6 speed auto by default is smoother, handle more power, and ultimately cheaper to make.

• comrade on Dec 14, 2010 at 4:33 pm

hopeful there will no problem after sales..

• JAYMEN on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:45 am

Hi Bro,

I used to own P2, and now i own a kia, the service is good, as par as p2. NAZA KIA has done a good job.If you have any doubt please visit any of the kia service centre and you will know what i was talking about. Just to share

• J@CK LIM on Dec 14, 2010 at 8:31 pm

what is psg? will cvt better than it?

• no more joy driving car then… sighh..

• bobdbilder on Dec 14, 2010 at 10:17 pm

Yeah quite true drac. I dunno to give u thumbs up for you being right, or thumbs down for agreeing that it really sux. If they do give the PSG a go on smaller cars, they should just have paddle shifts.

Don’t folow stooopid Ford who does a Powershift and think it’s ‘Gimicky’ to have manual overide.

• alldisc on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:36 am

VW used to patent their DSG so no other company can produce a gearbox with similar operations. once the patent term expired, many companies including ford/mazda and now hyundai are venturing into the same.

but VW will still be the pioneer!!

• road runner on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:41 am

CVT? DSG? PSG? Dual clutch?
    I ve test driven Sonata 2.4 (i45) claimed 6 speed AT Tiptronic which comes with ‘ALL BLACK INTERIOR’ instead of ‘BEIGE’ like most EXEC car
    1) Y all black yet d pamphlet comes with beige interior for 2.0 hi-spec n 2.4
    2) Tiptronic…
    I drive Accord 2.4iVTEC with 18″ wheels n softhard hilo for stiffer handling s d standard suspension not up to my expectation (personal comment) s I used to drive 328i E36 with Eibach proK n Bilstein B8 ….. damn good car but sori to say BMW (Bnyk Mkn Wang) — slingan je
    Back to work… d test drive was from Glnmrie to Subang Terminal 1 rndabt back. Quite heavy trfc evntho it was Saturday 1100hrs. With all stock n equip with Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC), its handles d curves on Holiday Inn-Subang well – throat with low gear n snap. Felt d diff. D shiftronic again…
    Let say for eg. 1st gear ranging 0-50kmh
    2nd gear 50-100kmh
    3rd 100-150kmh n so on
    If let say u r@160kmh u cant forcedrop to 3rd gear
    the gear can only be dropped when u r blow 150kmh
    Frthrmor…
    If let say u r@130kmh n on 3rd gear, enjoying d performance (u can feel d power) n accelerating… u ll b surprised when d gear AUTOMATICALLY shift to 4th gear
    Think of get rid of my H@Jap to H@Kor for d seek of 4AT to more advanced tech yet new car next year
    Any1 giv me advise pls s
    1- really look 4ward to shift but
    2- asked d Sales Specialist to update me it it comes with BEIGE Interior n
    3- any1 out ther ….. day by day telling myself “pls Y d shifter works such way, I 1 dis 2011Sonata… ”
    4- What abt d dual clutch… will it equip dis Mamamia
    5- How to overide dis prob
    6-Does it comes with timing chaim
    *Paultan n d gang update me please, TX

• JohnDeep on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:50 pm

Honda 5 speed AT with paddle shift works just like that after few seconds you are in manual mode without flicking the paddle, it will automatically change to auto mode. This is to avoid frying the gearbox for a longer distance in case the driver overlook or don’t notice that he has changed to lower gear or thought he is in the right gear but it is actually in lower gear than suppose to be.

• Dak's Quacks on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:20 pm

Any idea for those that had ordered the ix35 this year and to be delivered next year will received the PSG?

• shooter on Dec 17, 2010 at 5:37 pm

i hate CVTs, i swear i will never be caught driving any vehicle from any brand, that has a cvt tranny, so help me God…imho all car manufacturers, all of them east n west should just swap to dual clucth type trannies in all of their models, preiod. supplier pun tak pening kapla, suma buyer pun happy- auto and sequential manual in one.

• rossi46 on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:46 pm

i luv cvt for its smooth shifting, no jerking/gear changes is felt. . .very2 smooth. . .i like it scooter like transmission . . .felt like a gearless engine, anyway depends on yr preference but i like cvt

• shoot_back on Dec 18, 2010 at 12:10 pm

Not everybody like the jerk gear changing and some love a smooth silky ride of their car…and CVT offered this…so don’t be so self-centered

• anonymous on Jan 08, 2011 at 4:29 pm

And not everyone like CVT too, as it give a sense of powerless engine, thats why the new Honda City reverted back to conventional AT, which is a smart choice.