Nissan and Mitsubishi expand scope of cooperation – next gen Triton and Navara are set to be twins!

Mitsubishi and Nissan will expand their current scope of cooperation, and the joint projects “will further strengthen mutual competitiveness”, both carmakers have agreed. The projects will range from JDM mini cars to Thai made pick-up trucks.

Nissan and Mitsubishi already have several OEM agreements for the domestic market, mainly for K-cars (MMC for Nissan) and commercial vehicles (Nissan for MMC), and this relationship will continue and grow. Nissan will provide a light van/wagon to Mitsubishi for the Japanese market, while Mitsubishi is to provide an SUV to Nissan for sale in the Middle East. There’s no mention which models these are. Both parties are also in talks for Nissan to provide Mitsubishi with “upper-end segment models” for the domestic market.

As for the new developments, a 50:50 joint venture company will be set up for product planning and engineering of mini cars for the Japanese market, reads the official statement, although Bloomberg reports that the fruits of this JV will be sold worldwide. The current arrangement is mainly of Nissan selling rebadged Mitsubishi K-cars.

The other big news is more relevant to us in ASEAN. Both parties are looking at moving production of the current generation Nissan Navara to Mitsubishi Motors’ plant in Laem Chabang Industrial Estate in Chonburi Thailand, which churns out the Triton. This move will of course benefit both parties in terms of cost.

In the longer term, the two companies are looking at manufacturing and engineering collaboration of a new generation one-tonne pickup truck. If this takes off, the next generation Triton and Navara could be non-identical twins underpinned by the same platform and rolling out from the same factory, like how Ford and Mazda do it in Thailand. The Mother Trucker’s drivetrain paired with the Triton’s style and cabin doesn’t sound too bad, does it?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Wisdom on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:18 am

Seems like the majority of automotive manufacturer and assembler going to Thailand. They could’ve come to Malaysia if we have slightly open automotive policies….
    Few billions worth of automotive business opportunity down the drain.

Thanks politician!!

• scgtimk1 on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:43 am

Well in Malaysia we ‘welcome them with open “arms”‘ but in Thailand ‘they welcome them with open “thigh”.’

Guess which one will you choose?

• motorist on Dec 15, 2010 at 9:07 am

What kind of crap comment is that.

That’s stereotypical saying all Thai ppl are prostitute.

Have some respect for the Thai ppl.

• Critique on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:36 am

That was uncalled for !

• tustus on Dec 15, 2010 at 9:20 am

What to do.

If malaysia policy can be open as thailand, can malaysian rakyat accept salary low as thailand to replace bangladesh, indonesian, nepal, etc.. foreign workers?

• proton supporter will say this move can justify P1 Inspira, everyone do rebadge!!!!

• You’r right, the idiot just think for his pocket, if have a chance to change, i hope the new gov will think for the rakyat.
      May be proton will share the model from Perodua in future.

• ibex7 on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:44 pm

u r right! this country is governed by crappy clown ass politicians! They only care about ‘nation pride’ thus no letting other auto players to setup their base in this country.

• rally_fan on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:54 am

you are only half right ibex. the govt allowed perodua, kia and peugeot to setup their “bases” here, and get full national car status like proton but with very much less local content and without spending on development or infrastructure in our country.

• Wuuuu. Interesting. I want the next gen triton

• mmealin on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:43 am

love it dude…Trivara…

• ko malu saje... on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:47 am

the clash of both angels and devils!

• Panda on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:46 am

nice !!! can got the nissan powertrain in mitsubishi body!!

• Nice~~!!!Time to fight the HILUX!!

• Nice~~!!time to fight HILUX!!

• haaa~~~ any basher wanted to bash Nissan AND Mitshubishi?
    there also have collaboration in the design of their vehicle too….same goes to p1 with Mitshubishi

• So is this good or bad (of course is GREAT) :D

Anyway, I will be Mitsubishi crazy soon. Muahahahaaa

• I guess I will be Mitsubishi crazy as well. Muahahahaa

• alldisc on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:32 am

re-badge engineering is the ‘IN’ thing to do now…

proton better be fast – get more companies to copy proton’s model and make easy bucks!!

• comrade on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:33 am

is inspira and lancer can be consider twin??

• taboogen on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:48 am

typical malaysian… mahu di jajah oleh jepun lagi… nanti lepas ni makan lah ubi kayu.. mmg kayu betul malaysian nie

• Wisdom on Dec 15, 2010 at 9:06 am

What is the relationship between malaysian and JV between Mitsu & Nissan?

• Outdoor Person on Dec 15, 2010 at 9:23 am

hey bro, wat do you mean by di jajah? look around you, the appliances u haf like tv, playstation, yur hp and many other are mostly design by the japs..without them i think u still need to start fire the “primitive” way..grow up man!

• mr_3m_wancer on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Hmm

May i know what car you’re driving now? What electrical appliances you using now? What model handphone you using now?

Bash without BRAINS is a big sin LOL!!!

• soon they will launch the Nismolution GTR :P

• andymervingeorge on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:57 am

The Navara engine with the Triton body AND the interior of the Ssangyong Actyon Sports~ ahhh.. now thats what I call the perfect match in Hell, er, i mean Heaven! :D

• squawk on Dec 15, 2010 at 9:46 am

Next up… Proton talking to Nissan about rebadging. I can think of an aging P1 executive model that needs replacement, where news of one has died down.

• NeedForSpeedUnderground on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:15 am

GT-Evolution R

• Great news. Always wanted a Nissan engine for my Triton.

Now, if only I could stuff a V8 into the Triton’s bonnet… that would be cool…

• whitefox on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:27 am

so soon that will be godly tracker or gtr-evolution

owning………

• curly on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:55 am

what if we end up w mitsu drivetrain and nissan body???

• mitlanevo on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:56 pm

hopefully it will be Mitsu Navara instead of Nissan sissy-Tigaton

• moha3774 on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:03 pm

Proton-Nissan-Mitsu collaboration is not impossible…since Proton already have ties with Renault which supplies engine for selected Proton models which by the way owns Nissan..

• squawk on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:46 pm

Having seen how Proton went about the Lancer rebadging, should Nissan owners start peeing in their pants? :-)

• NOOOO!!!! I want the next Mother Trucker to remain with a masculine, macho body! Boo to sissy triton styling!

• peter32 on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:37 pm

Well, masculine truck with only 3 star safety crash test and uncomfortable rear seats need some input from Triton in this respect.

Gotta admit these marriage does sounds like a great fit to me. Just make sure they do not follow the Navara’s interior space management and its older delayed airbag deployment !

• hahahaha on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:52 pm

i wish proton will rebadge a Murano. hhaa. & price it below 100k :))

• change is inevitable. rebadge business will soon be a standard venture. stop complaining and grow up.

• japanese guyz on Dec 17, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Paul and Danny, the Mitsubishi Triton sold in Singapore will be priced from SGD63,988 to SGD90,988 (Approximately RM153,354.92 to RM218,063.66), this is more expensive than in Malaysia. Why compared to Mitsubishi Lancer, the Triton is cheaper in Malaysia but more expensive in Singapore? Why Nissan Navara (aka Frontier) is not sold in Singapore?

• vw beetle on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:44 pm

People says pickup turcks are no good for singapore, and the government add tax to them, because the pickup trucks cause parking problems and traffic jams in singapore. and there is no market for the pickup truck.

• Navman on Feb 25, 2011 at 1:41 pm

Hopefully the Navara will get the drivetrain warranty offered by Mitsubishi. That will make alot of people happy.

• Thank you for the very useful information once