BMW 1-Series Coupe & Convertible facelifted for 2011

The BMW 1-Series hatchback was facelifted together with the introduction of a 3-door body back in 2007, but the Coupe and the Convertible bodies are newer than the hatch bodies so it’s time for a mid-life facelift for the ‘booted’ 1-ers. For next year, the 1-Series Coupe and Convertible gets a few subtle updates.

The headlamps have been updated and the tail laps now get LED light strips. The front bumper has also received some modifications that result in an airflow path similar to the aerodynamic “air curtain” effect that BMW has shouted about as a key feature on the 1-Series M Coupe. According to BMW, it significantly reduces drag around the front wheels.

Air ducts that are about 100mm by 30mm in the front bumper channels air to openings at the front of each wheel arch, where it is discharged through a very narrow opening at high speed. This ‘curtain’ of air flowing across the side of the front wheels act as a curtain, reducing aerodynamically unfavorable turbulence around the rotating wheels.

According to BMW, the first example of an Air Curtain application was on the concept study BMW Vision EfficientDynamics in 2009, and now it comes to a production model. If that’s not enough, special Aero Wheels can be specified on the model to further reduce turbulence.

There’s also a newly developed rear differential which runs at a lower operating temperature than the one it replaces, thanks to double-helical ball bearings used in the internals.

Look after the jump for high-resolution galleries of both bodytypes.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1804]

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1805]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• interestingly most BMW car sold in malaysia r the cheapest in ASEAN except indon maybe

eg BMW 3 Series 320i sedan

singapore – $203,800(RM487k)
    brunei – $64,000(RM396k)
    thailand – B2,599,000(RM271k)
    malaysia – RM237,000
    indonesia – Rp519,000,000(RM180k)

• where do u got that?

• http://www.bruneistars.com/Magazine/?p=14174

http://www.oneshift.com/pdb/car_overview.php?pid=654

http://www.bmw.com.my/com/en/general/downloads/pdf/modelpricelist.pdf

http://www.autocarprices.com/bmw_car_price.php

http://www.bmw.co.th/th/en/newvehicles/3series/sedan/2008/introduction.html

http://www.thaicar.com/demo/new_car/detail_all.php?sType=4&band_id=band_id&p1=&p2=&h1=&h2=&type=1

sorry for the conversion error for B$64000(RM155k)

• interestingly most European car sell in Thailand r costly than Malaysia

• since when brunei dollar is bigger than sterling pound?

• Goproton on Dec 18, 2010 at 12:08 am

KZM…this is not the way to convert the price la….
      convert everything to USD to compare….failed your Econ?

• Mata2 on Dec 18, 2010 at 9:05 am

No he wasn’t wrong cause our money is on international market also.

• Goproton on Dec 18, 2010 at 12:14 am

don’t understand why ppl thumb you up….the way of converting is wrong la bro…failed your Econ?

• people here tend to do convert like that from source currency to RM not source current to dollar to RM

• mmouse on Dec 18, 2010 at 11:17 am

Why must u convert into USD? You can convert anything into any currency if you want what. Its only the preference of choice. WTF, don’t act smart la tiu!!

• bien335 on Dec 18, 2010 at 2:39 pm

wow.

you cant compare it like that,

compare apples to apples lah.

for the same amount of our money, say RM5 you can get a decent nasi ayam and drink. same goes for SGD5, you can still get a nasi ayam and drink.

simple.

but when you convert it, then the tables are turned.

the value of the currency as well as buying power plays a vital role, not to mention the taxes imposed.

/end

• wohoo…don mad-mad…i just want to show that european car cheaper in malaysia as compare to thai…at the end i end up putting other country too i think it a waste not putting all of it after 4-5 hr reading, translate, convert, browsing and etc…my goal only to compare euro /jap car in thai n euro/jap car in malaysia..n clearly most if not all european car is cheaper in malaysia..there good source of info for thai car review from “bangkokpost”

• Mercedes-Benz C 200 CGI

Indonesia – Rp539,000,000(RM187k)
    Malaysia – RM256,000
    Thailand – B2,499,000(RM260k)
    Singapore – $204,000(RM487k)

• yewyan on Dec 17, 2010 at 7:24 pm

omg… how come singapore de tax higher than malaysia??
      nt malaysia is highest ah??

• not the tax high but other thing make it very high2..still they not overthrow their gov

• handsome*dude on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:53 pm

omg.. if u earn in Singapore, buying a car is never a hassle.. only to maintain it…

bear in mind, all ur branded wears are cheaper by half~ while u earning the same in the same position in both island~

• Mata2 on Dec 18, 2010 at 10:02 am

You cant imagine how much do they pay the COE. That is why a manager in spore averagely can afford only altis where in msia can easily drive camry

• bobdbilder on Dec 18, 2010 at 9:24 am

Depends if it includes COE which fluctuates as it is a bidding process. Singapore does not have any local natural resource. All of the GDP comes from high value added manufacturing, retail, trade, tourism, financial services and tourism. I don’t know whether to put gaming in tourism or financial services :)

Plus the value of a car goes down to its scrap value after 10 years and taxes on it is higher after that limit. Pay ERP when you go to certain parts of the island. Pay for your own HDB parking space. So you end in a perpetual financing of cars throughout your lifetime.

They’ve also got GST on any thing that is sold for local consumption. In the end, it sort of balances out.

• 1 thing that make me x puas hati is that how the hell indonesia get cheaper beemer n silver arrow…that make me conclude that indonesia is big market after china n india plus they hav many rich people(even more poor people)

• shawal on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:25 pm

Indonesia sells cheap cars but no road to drive them on…

• bobdbilder on Dec 18, 2010 at 2:26 pm

Huh? You’ve obviously think that they are backwards? Try going Jakarta-Bandung on the weekends. Or Jogja – Solo. Go open Google Map for goodness sake.

• Kzm : please use dollar to dollar as comparison and not after converting it..

• i don know..malaysian like to convert like that

• bobdbilder on Dec 18, 2010 at 10:10 am

The product is a foreign product in all countries mentioned. What KZM did was right. Small fluctuations could be neglected such as freight and insurance. Take out all that, you’d get the cost of doing business.

By far Indonesia is the most populated in the region. It also has an alarming level of disparity. But that is the nature of a free market. The one that has the biggest difference between poor and rich has the most growth.

Sebab tu dlm rezeki kita ada hak org miskin.

• Korean on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:55 pm

The front now looks like 6 series…. NICE.

• Mata2 on Dec 18, 2010 at 9:57 am

Why so fuss about the convertion the different is hardly 1% or less than 3K

• Ze Ber on Dec 18, 2010 at 12:22 pm

Of all the bmw’s, this 1 n the X3…..a lot of room for external appearance improvement.

• mitlanevo on Dec 18, 2010 at 8:44 pm

pointless car…

might as well get a Scirocco, SLK, TT or 370Z Roadster……

• mitlanevo on Dec 18, 2010 at 8:45 pm

why all my comments appeared to be empty post??

• Looks like a poor man’s sport car……… everything seems to be so cramped up in this 1 coupe…