Third-gen Ford Focus will get torque vectoring VSC

To go on sale in the US early this year, the third generation Ford Focus will be available with a brand new vehicle stability control (VSC) system that will employ torque vectoring to improve handling. Apparently, inspiration came from downhill skiing and snowboarding techniques!

“The new Focus is the first North American Ford vehicle to offer torque vectoring control. This is a technology that has been offered on high-end sports cars, yet Ford is making it standard on their new small car,” said Rick Bolt, program manager for the Focus.

He added that torque vectoring will be included across the range. “Torque vectoring control elevates the dynamic capability of the entire Focus model range, from an S series sedan through a Titanium Sport Package hatchback.”

The principle is simple. The system will apply slight braking on the inside wheel when the Focus takes a bend; this prevents slippage as it then travels a shorter distance while doing the same speed as the outer wheel. It’s not very different from what a mechanical limited-slip differential does, but this is a cheaper solution. Another inexpensive new car that has torque vectoring is the Nissan Juke with All-Mode 4X4-i

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mazdAstina on Jan 03, 2011 at 10:01 am

the triangle in the bumper should be filled with a spot lightlike the UK civic coupe.

• kicap on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:02 am

…and after that you will curse them because of copying civic design…good!

• This is good. New technology into cars at afforadable price. Just like BMW and Mercedes putting technology it accquire from F1 on to their cars. Good for us consumer as Ford car is not as pricey as BMW & Mercedes.

Peace

• armandd on Jan 03, 2011 at 10:28 am

wahh, cheap LSD.. this is good! I hope ford include the Revo-Knucle (found in Focus RS) too!

• Lim Kopi on Jan 03, 2011 at 10:34 am

Agree, this is a good car at affordable price.

Just that in Msia there is a major brand issue for Ford …. resale is one of the most terrifying …

• rifle on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:06 am

wah..i think the new focus really has it own focus now..

• Vince Chong on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:33 am

Im really looking forward to the new Focus as my next car. But I was told recently by a current owner of a Focus that the after sales service is still as bad as ever. Sime Darby is still not up to par with Naza (and Naza still has more work to do!).

Can anyone confirm this?

• budleee on Jan 03, 2011 at 12:08 pm

Yes, I read this feature on many cars…

If I am not mistaken, some called it Electronic LSD, by using the computer that controls the brakes to apply the brake to the spinning wheels, so the power will go to the wheel with better grip.

If I am not mistaken, the same system that controls ABS, EBD, BA,TC, and VSA..
    (Anti lock Braking Sytem, Electronic Braking Distribution, Brake Assist, Traction Control, Vehiscle Stabily Assist)

• agreed. Any car with Electronic Stability Control just need to be reprogrammed to include this feature as they already have enough sensors (i.e. all 4 wheels speed sensors, accelerometer, yaw sensor and steering angle sensor). Instead of engaging after the car start to losing control (in case of ABS & ESP), the system now engage every time when you turn your steering wheel.

But, for me it vector differential is a way better as it transfers the torque to the outer wheel instead of brakes the inner wheel which will make your car go faster around corners, saves your brake pads and keeps your rotor cooler.

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 03, 2011 at 12:42 pm

I don’t think this is new, unless I missed the news blurp.

Honda had a similar system back in the 1997 Prelude SH called the ATTS (Active torque Transfer System) which eventually made it to the a splatter of Honda/Acura’s SH-AWD system..namely the Legend/RL

Guess that the SH suffix for that Prelude model with ATTA was for? Super Handling would be my guess.

• NO, it’s not a new concept. It is the trend. New technology/concept are first introduce to flagship/expensive car and as the tech get cheaper and cheaper it will find its way to lower entry/class car. Maybe in 2020 Proton Saga (4th/5th generation ?) has carbon fiber parts and body panel if the tech is cheap enough to be mass produced

• riswanrahman on Jan 03, 2011 at 1:12 pm

now the question is went this new focus will arrive at our shore with diesel engine

• OOT: where is the story of perdana replacement using nissan fuga as a rebadge car?

• Creative Mind on Jan 03, 2011 at 2:55 pm

Yes…this is the way to go for consumers alike. Bring in the new tech but minimise impact on prices. Motoring should be fun and to be enjoyed by all, and if Ford continues on this trend, they have my preference first choice when i target to change car next round…

• I want to buy a 3rd gen Ford Focus when it comes in end of 2011.

Problem is: they dont hv enough service centres in KL/PJ

• Vince Chong on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:42 am

Hey Mike,

Im of the same mind. Refer to my comment above, what do you think?

Would appreciate some info if you have any. Thanks.