VIDEO: Lotus Elan Concept Instrument Panel Graphics

We managed to capture this video of the Lotus Elan‘s full colour digital instrument panel when we were at the Group Lotus headquarters earlier this week. It basically consists of a few LCD screens – one large one in the middle flanked by two smaller ones by the side.

The large central LCD shows a big rev counter that changes its orientation according to what mode you’re in flanked by various other readings such as fuel level and oil pressure. Right smack in the middle of the rev counter is a digital speedometer. I can’t really see what’s on the right smaller LCD panel but the one on the left seems to show what’s playing on the entertainment system – they look like album cover images.

If you take a look at the previously released concept images of the Elan, the right LCD panel shows the outline of a track, I presume this can also be used to show navigation instructions when you’re not on a track.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• niceee,

• justsomeone on Jan 23, 2011 at 7:37 am

B.O.X.

• jolly_idiot on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:06 am

Future is coming, I foresee more and more meter will be replaced by LCD since the cost of having LCD today is so cheap and yet reliable. I can say the cost of having LCD to display all meter is even more easier than having individual dials. LCD basically have no limitation on what you wanna show.

• pomenGTR on Jan 24, 2011 at 1:09 am

small bike in 1995 already use full LCD display…

by suzuki fxr150 (yep…150cc upperbone bike like yamaha rxz styling)

so this was nothing new…its just the design concept of car maker to choose and use for their product…..(lcd not that famous on cars before this)

• alldisc on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:58 am

the japanese used to make cars with LCD instrument meters, in my memory early 80s Mitsubshi Lancer C10 (that became 1st gen Proton Saga) and Ford Telstar TX5, sold in mid 80s. not to forget, Knight Rider??

with time come more high technology that make LCD more user friendly and more reliable. but Head-Up Display offers a worthy alternative that is also attractive in its own way.

• coool…..but looks like lexus lfa (the lcd)

• slemkuzen on Jan 23, 2011 at 11:42 am

While being a big fan of Lotus, I am quite disappointed at the LCD indicators.
    It looks like a video game!

I’m all for the old-fashioned gauges: it always looks more serious but especially clearer and less loaded with information…

My 2 cents though…

• i like video game indicator dials..but this look more awesome than game dial eg F1 2010, race driver: grid n dirt 2

• the interesting part is that all 3 game some parts r made in Malaysia codemaster studios in kl

• frossonice on Jan 23, 2011 at 12:19 pm

Well, it is a nice looking instrument and everybody is moving on that direction anyway; Ferrari is doing it, Lexus LFA is doing it.

But for me, I still love the old classic mechanical speedometer and revmeter on a supercar dashboard. It show pure and raw energy of the car. Not some digital witchcraft with multicolor rainbow on it.

• hazwa on Jan 23, 2011 at 12:58 pm

love it.. nice.. hopefully the sales will give best profit for proton..

• tezza on Jan 23, 2011 at 1:19 pm

Nice… but i lie the on lexus lf-a…

• Yup, its definitely album covers, cause I see Muse album at 0:48, but the left LCD seems to change, at 0:34 it shows the cars seats, maybe something to do with the seat warmers or something? And at about 0:52, it looks like some sort of night-vision view of the road ahead?

• Emmert on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:42 pm

wow~! night vision view?
      that tech for daily use car?
      that tech so far ahead….
      mayb 10 – 20 years..
      a real night vision, not just some cam with infrared…

• junloong on Jan 23, 2011 at 2:19 pm

LFA has better meter cluster

• shawal on Jan 23, 2011 at 5:13 pm

LF-A cost 7 times more…!

• Emmert on Jan 23, 2011 at 10:43 pm

agreed… more expensive than other supercar…
        even lambo, ferrari, porche is much cheaper than LF-A
        but i admit, LF-A digital instrument panel is more aggressive,
        agile…

• Kokopai on Jan 23, 2011 at 4:00 pm

ispired by video game? Honestly.. it looks awesome

• Where is my comment? I typed it out like 2 hours ago.

• shawal on Jan 23, 2011 at 5:15 pm

Cool, plz….plz let it come to our shores at a reasonable price …..rebadge pun rebadge laa…, ( only they only change the badge…nothing else…. DUNT WANT LOCAL SHITTY CONTENT!!!)

*On the smaller left screen i can see Muse’s Absolution album cover…. hahahaha somebody got good taste…

• autojohndoe on Jan 23, 2011 at 8:27 pm

if your already working.. means that what you work on is shitty also la?

please dont belittle our own so much, can you?

• shawal on Jan 24, 2011 at 12:55 am

D local content means d components is local made, i have the right to say its shitty because i’ve owned a saga, wira ,waja ,n now savvy, theres always something wrong with them all.., i dont mind if this car is CKD tho

fine…i wont say shitty…. i’ll say substandard quality….happy?

• Amin GmbH on Jan 23, 2011 at 7:27 pm

hopefully LCD panel can withstand heat in extreme hot weather condition because such situation is a sad parable happened to most digital camera .

unless the panel is combo’ed with cryogenics autocooling unit (liquid nitrogen lasts as long as engine is off) to illuminate sensitive parts for long hrs (8-5 job, leaving your car heating alone in parking lot or treeless house/just a porch), LCD meter is plain risky.

• freeze on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:52 pm

What’s so great? This is not connected to any engine. I too can make an application that looks just like that, and play it on an Ipad and stick it in a MyVi.

• overman on Jan 23, 2011 at 11:21 pm

its changing to digital world…but 2 things hopefully wont happened:

1) no blue screen :P

2) not our normal LCD since when sunshine on it….cant see clearly what is the display…:P

• droll on Jan 24, 2011 at 7:55 am

omg what a long delay before it starts being responsive. does that mean i have to wait that long before driving the car?