No forced merger between Proton and Perodua, says G’ovt

No forced merger between Proton and Perodua, says G’ovtDespite having signalled the need for a merger in the automotive industry – essentially between Proton and Perodua – sometime back, the government will not force both companies to merge, according to Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed, the Minister of International Trade and Industry.

In a Bernama report, Mustapa told reporters today that any solution or proposal would have to be agreed to by both stakeholders, saying that the government cannot force the companies to make a decision, given the long spectrum involved.

“At one end is loose cooperation and at the other, a merger, which has yet to be decided,” the Minister said today, adding that “it’s a major collaboration and cooperation between Proton and Perodua and not a straightforward process.”

He said that the government would encourage and have talks with both companies, adding that in reality, it made sense for the two companies to collaborate and make the automotive industry competitive.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• ariff on Jan 25, 2011 at 7:34 pm

personally, i don’t want they to merge

• rather than merger…i like them to collaborate to form other car company in which both side not losing their pride wat-so-ever, their shareholders..etc..wat some car maker do

• makoi on Jan 25, 2011 at 11:01 pm

so that P1 fanboy can have a reliable car, and keep the thunder cat logo., lol.

• wat u say is out of context…collaboration better..form a company where p1 n p2(toy) have stake in that company..the new company purpose just built car platform n chasis….p1 take n make their car from that platform, p2 with their parent company spur another model from same platform…n since toyota/daihatsu has stake in p2 they take that platform n make their own model..it a big ambition/dream but not impossible

• PC.OK on Jan 26, 2011 at 3:58 am

i think this makoi guy must have a big stake in p2. at least in his dream.

• alldisc on Jan 26, 2011 at 8:47 am

P1 and P2 should start with platform sharing and parts bin. i remember there was one time when aston martin, land rover were using power window switches from ford focus. no harm, right?

platfom sharing is very common in the industry since the 80s. Rover shared the platform of 400 series and 800 series (incl Rover Sterling) with Honda Civic, Concerto and Accord.

Ford Galaxy MPV same platform with VW Sharan and Seat Alhambra while Citroen C8 same with Fiat Ulysse.

there is no need for merging if both parties refused to, whatmore changing to a total new entity. there is only 1 interest that is to reduce cost of operation to match the low scale of economy of malaysians and lower new car price for the consumers. this matters a lot.

• Once P1 & P2 merged, if it can improve our local car competitive in the open market, and later remove those 65%-105% tax for foreign cars, then this is a good move.
      If after merged, they still keep the same, furthermore there is no more competition between P1 & P2 and this mean they can simply put the price tag for their car, then we will suffer.. sure they will squeeze our last drop of blodd… =(

• autobot on Jan 26, 2011 at 11:29 am

i dont believe those taxes (said 65~105%) can be removed. its such big financial source 4 our G..

• overman on Jan 26, 2011 at 3:47 pm

1st paragraph is our dream
        2nd paragraph is the reality :(

AP guy also eat until dont want to give up.

No way P1/P2 open the market. Period. Not in our life time.

• anti-munafik on Jan 25, 2011 at 7:40 pm

the another flip-flop action

• pokok on Jan 25, 2011 at 7:40 pm

Just close down perodua tu.., no research, no export, just rebadging other cars, what is the point exactly? Any technology/knowledge transfer? Any export made? Perodua is a National Car company that is rebadging Japanese’s car, tak malu ke. Orang jepun tengok pun gelak je.. ini ke NATIONAL CAR diorang? … look very much like our cars la.. why ah? hihihi…

• RadzLee on Jan 25, 2011 at 8:04 pm

the bright side is… we get cheaper cars. other than that, i x think there r any other benefit of it

• nocrid on Jan 28, 2011 at 9:22 am

Competition will reduce the price of the car or increase the quality. When both merged and monopolized the local, you will get shitty product like tmnet and sky-rocket priced astro

• bugger on Jan 25, 2011 at 8:40 pm

just in case, u havent realise… this is a car biz..
      not an educational industry.. sweet hear, thumbs down for u… tq!

• bugger on Jan 25, 2011 at 8:41 pm

ops.. typo..
      i mean *car biz industry & **sweet heart

• I hope both close down. P1 cars are not their own design as well (read since Waja). The styling chassis, they out sourced to design houses. Used to be LG CNS, read koreans. lately, they’ve been going west, read europeans. of course, they just add some shape inputs like wau bulan la, keris la, songkok la etc etc (no pun intended). Any ingenuity in that? Personally, it’s like a kindie kid learnin how to draw/ sketch (read styling the car), however with plenty of rakyat’s money to experiment with. While with powertrain, Campro was mainly the work of lotuses in norfolk, even IAFM & soon to be launch turbo version. Transmissions used to be Mitsubishis, but they are changing that too soon. Oh and it’s not originally msian design of coz. and what that leaves us with P1? Msian design? Really? Since 2000 (Waja), what technology transfer have they learned? At best, P1 is only competitive with styling cues.
      However, I do agree with Pokok that P1 is better than P2, but only in terms of the breath & depth inputs of vehicle development. P1 engineers can call the shots. In P2, Daihatsu are the decision makers. P2 development engineers are just postmens between Daihatsu & vendors, mostly. The real reason BN supports msia automotive industry is political & pride of a race, not nation. Failure to succeed means malu to that race, so the stakes quite high here.

• Tiadaid on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:19 pm

Styling – Koreans hired Europeans to design their car, I’m sure you’re the ones who praise them to high heaven. Malaysian car maker do the same, condemn like no tomorrow.

Campro – yes Lotus had a hand in it, but then who bloody owns Lotus?

Transmission – a lot of companies use off the shelf transmission units. For instance, BMW uses ZF gearboxes, but ZF is not owned by them nor have any link between them. So? Is BMW a failure for not designing their own gearbox?

And what does race have anything to do with the automotive industry? Keep your racist thoughts to yourself!

• abe, jange la maroh. kito mintak ampun. kito ni sokon msia jugok. tapi tengokla dah brp lamo doh, masih lagi tahap jaguh kampong. tu pun dlm pasaran tertutup (protective market). sampai bila? sakit di hati, berair di mata, semua utk msia.

• mamat puchong on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:20 pm

bla… bla.. bla… what the hell are you trying to say… few words enough la…
        membebel…

• p2 do export car…to UK, Singapore, Mauritius, Brunei, Sri Lanka, Cyprus, Malta, Egypt, Nigeria, Senegal, Lebanon, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Nepal and Fiji..don u remember wat Jeremy Clarkson top gear do to p2 car

• And we also remember what Mr. Clarkson did to the lousy Proton Satria in Episode 13 last year season. Hahahahaha.

• autobot on Jan 26, 2011 at 12:16 pm

is it more tragic than what kelisa got?

• No name on Jan 26, 2011 at 8:54 pm

Mr. Suyooh… Sohooh… Syuuhh… whatever… i think u was crying like hell when Jeremy Clarkson blast the Kelisa to the hell.

• my cousin work in perodua factory and just cameback from japan….and he told me that it is more than just a rebadge thing happening there. toyota as the parent company wants to make sure that its product inclusive p2 sync with their product. that is toyota way…make it right the 1st time. certainly you with ur small brain couldnt see this….n never heard platform sharing..

• leong khoi yat on Jan 25, 2011 at 7:45 pm

oh

• vertigo on Jan 25, 2011 at 7:54 pm

do government have to put their head in just about everything?

• shawal on Jan 25, 2011 at 7:57 pm

Tiger eats kancil ….what will be the end result…? just plain shhhhttt….

• Dak's Quacks on Jan 25, 2011 at 7:58 pm

Unless Proton sells 51% of its shares to Toyota/Daihatshu, then they can merge. Otherwise, who wants Proton?

• Tiadaid on Jan 25, 2011 at 8:35 pm

How you know? Proton have Lotus, and Lotus’ expertise is renowned and highly sought after…

• highly sought after, you sure? if lotus were highly sought after, P1 would not out source their chassis styling & design to others. The same goes to IAFM or their soon to be launch transmission. Why P1 could not award the contracts to it’s own technical partner is interesting indeed. Lotus expertise are at sports car/ high performance car, which is a niche market. Not mass market cars. However, I heard they’ve been trying to improve/ learn, from P1 & Youngmen businesses. It was sort of a mismatch between P1 & Lotus. The marriage between Changan & Volvo or SAIC and MG Rovers are more of a synergy/ compatible match. my 2sens.

• well if u not forget lotus is famous for its handling not styling n design….

• Tiadaid on Jan 25, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Is Lotus renowned for its styling or design? No, right. It’s well renowned for its HANDLING, and as plasticky as Proton cars are, people still praised it’s handling.

• makoi on Jan 25, 2011 at 11:05 pm

lotus is the best, thats why it bankrupt and nobody wants it, and cheap cheap sell to proton.

you think proton need to bid to get this funny car company?

you can pay lotus to design anything for you, including your fridge.

if you wanna drink milk, you do not need to buy a cow, you go buy a bottle of milk.
            this also dunno, how to do business? so simple minded.

• agreed lotus is well known in handling, after so many years…. in business. P1 paid 1.6 billion just to have vehicle handling know-how/ tech. transfer, abit pricey i think. As long as they use national automotive fund, from government revenue/ taxpayer’s money, as a rakyat, I have a right to question P1’s decision making. Same as their decision to use Lg cns or others to produce their cars, because we are their main customers/ paymaster. from the current quality of cars produced, it is unsatisfactory as complaint by so many rakyat. We want them to improve fast, in a globalised & fast changing automotive landscape, not at their own sweet time, coz government money should be optimised for msia to be a respected developed nation. If not, forget about develop nation status…. my2sens

• hexagon on Jan 26, 2011 at 2:59 pm

and otherwise, who want the current G? hahahha

• drMpower on Jan 25, 2011 at 8:03 pm

there is no need to merge the two
    we dont need another SimeDarby
    (the energy section kinda suck big time, compare to the other money spinning sections)
    collaboration also i think isnt welcome
    due to the fact perodua only has rebadge engineering

what if perodua do a proton?
    i mean they got their own rnd
    their own products
    of course they now rebadging cars
    but most big manufacturers do practising rebadging engineering

i would say sell the company to somebody
    last i heard someone from inside want to buy augusta
    but some SOBs decided to sell to outsider with 1euro
    maybe that party still interested in doing car business
    or something related to motoring/engineering business

however my point is
    get perodua to do their own product
    get their set up like most car manufacturers
    proper car maker

• Ash Menon on Jan 26, 2011 at 8:17 am

The way you write your lines, in my head the sound is like a pantun :D

• BeemerFreak on Jan 25, 2011 at 8:34 pm

Disagree with the merger too. Prefer Perodua anytime to Proton………..

• lousy company , milo tin product , only malaysia produce milo tin car … peoples life are no value .

• jolly_idiot on Jan 25, 2011 at 8:35 pm

Will we see a Camry with Proton badge near future? Proton Camry. Sounds great. Or maybe Perodua persona.

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 25, 2011 at 8:46 pm

ish ish, this merger was a non-starter. good that govt saw sense.

• If they merge, it will only make the automotive industry less less less competitive.Competitive means both company are rival to each others,if they merge how u determine “competitive” ?Malaysian will try to buy foreign car even harder..

• Just remove the super high tax bracket, then u have competition and proton will have to fight for their lives by improving the QC of their cars = rakyat wins with safer cars

• untitled on Jan 26, 2011 at 12:04 am

and you will fight for your life for money cause other taxes will rise because 1 of the main source of gov income is is reduced/slashed.

• Whynot on Jan 26, 2011 at 12:15 am

Ngan, I agreed with you. Protectionism is only garner failure in today aggressiveness in progress and now that it has caused much inflation to the country. We are not advancing at the pace we should have been advancing by now. You will see much or the problems coming soon as our country resources are depleting very fast and without advancement in the peoples itself spells failures and eventually self destruction. This lies very much with the peoples who started it and somewhere down the line, greed sets in and failure seem unavoidable as time has just run out on us. Panic it might seem, a case of cure rather than prevention which should be the other way around done due long ago. Too sad!

• tranformer on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:01 pm

no org wants to merge with a rubbish company that produce rubbish product and only sell-able thru protection…. when without protection, a Rm1 company…. sigh~

hope, foreign makes shall roam our land one day…

• acerman on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:56 pm

If Proton and Perodua agreed on merging, I would say its a good step. At least we have mix technologies. We may even have more choices by Proton making a larger cheap family cars whereas Perodua makes small cheap cars. Two heads are better than one. Koreans can do it, why can’t we?

• hayden on Jan 25, 2011 at 10:24 pm

i just sit, see & buy. xD

• ppl r talkin bout biz collaboration here…n most just step out to condemn proton…well at least they are making technology advancement although it is at a slow pace…i tink we malaysians are not a stupid race to always follow and just do manufacturing for overseas companies forever without even knowing the knowledge to produce it…wat mostly u guys wan is malaysians to be katak bawah tempurung? if you ppl dont realise being a manufacturing nation without r&d advancement is a large threat to our economy…wen the overseas companies realise the cost of labour in this country rises, of wic it surely does as time passes, they just shut down d company, n run to some place with cheap labour leavin 100k ppl suffering wid no jobs…if we have d r&d knowledge ppl dont make us fools..

n for all d kampungites that blame P1 for makin chassis overseas, designing Overseas,not producing Transmissions?? how stupid can you get…all these are special section in automotive in wic only specific parties have the know-how and manpower on..for every OEM to do it is just a no ROI thing…even large european and jap companies either oup for designing companies,hire consultants or buy over talents and bring them in-house to design their cars…

• scgtimk1 on Jan 26, 2011 at 8:46 am

Why so many people give this guy so many thumbs down?

Perodua ask all their employee to check paultan and give thumbs down to their detractors ka?

• Joseph on Jan 26, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Just like Proton would get their staff and fanclub to come here and give thumb down.

• ppl r talkin bout biz collaboration here…n most just step out to condemn proton…well at least they are making technology advancement although it is at a slow pace…i tink we malaysians are not a stupid race to always follow and just do manufacturing for overseas companies forever without even knowing the knowledge to produce it…wat mostly u guys wan is malaysians to be katak bawah tempurung? if you ppl dont realise being a manufacturing nation without r&d advancement is a large threat to our economy…wen the overseas companies realise the cost of labour in this country rises, of wic it surely does as time passes, they just shut down d company, n run to some place with cheap labour leavin 100k ppl suffering wid no jobs…if we have d r&d knowledge ppl dont make us fools..

n for all d kampungites that blame P1 for makin chassis overseas, designing Overseas,not producing Transmissions?? how stupid can you get…all these are special section in automotive in wic only specific parties have the know-how and manpower on..for every OEM to do it is just a no ROI thing…even large european and jap companies either do their designing outside or hire consultants or buy over talents to design their cars…

• SambalBelacan on Jan 25, 2011 at 10:45 pm

Yap! I don’t think P2 will want to merge with P1. P1’s cars are suck! I own a Saga BLM, Rubber at door panel broken since week 1. At 15000km mileage, IAFM malfunction. Now at 20000KM mileage, chair lose crating weird sound, door panels got soungs, steering senget sebelah.OMG! I just bought the car 2 years and it now drive worst compared to my father 25 years Toyota Corolla and my mom 13 years Iswara.

• Why did u not go for a Viva? Let me see, you wanted something big, something more presentable as oppose to the not so presentable viva.

Not like u don’t have a choice. U choose Saga over Viva. Proton never points a gun at you and force u to buy Saga. Who to blame?

• Edmond on Jan 26, 2011 at 12:45 am

Govt to blame!

• SapuLantai on Jan 26, 2011 at 9:25 am

Just open the market as free as it can be and let them grow on their own.. u don’t spoon feed ur 25yrd old child, unless he’s an OKU…!!! but i dont think Proton is a OKU child of govt.. or they are… and we have been paying thru our nose for a decent car wit safety features in nowadays modern life is a must… 25yrs, going to be 26yrs is a very.. very long time..!

• autobot on Jan 26, 2011 at 11:58 am

unfortunately my saga blm was really good..

better than my fren’s viva and higher price myvi..

that made i think y should keep p1 existence..

• ur bad luck my fren……i do has saga blm auto almost 60k km from 7 jan 2009- till now n still hav 1yr warranty left….but no prob like u mention above..y don u ask them to change the IAFM module..u still hav warranty rite..do u seldom use ur car? mine 60k already, u just 20k? do u sent ur car for service?EON or EDAR or authorized SC?…….

im not blind supporter ok..i think this guy/lady need some help so i given him/her so an advice n many qstion….

• he wrote ” Now at 20000KM mileage” it not 20,000 km but 200,000 km in mileage which is good what???

• autobot on Jan 26, 2011 at 12:34 pm

200000km in 2 yrs.. now im start confuse.. is it typo or he/she really travel that far in 2 years.. in average that car move more than 270km /day..

• ladydriver on Jan 27, 2011 at 2:59 pm

my saga also almost two years..but nothing 1..and u mentioned that the chair already loose and making noises? why? u did something cocky frequently maybe?..or maybe u r just a big size person. whatever the reasons ..i think you should take care of your car more..bring the car to service center lorr..and do some alignment..sure put your steering back at the center one..and avoid those potholes..

• waimak on Jan 25, 2011 at 10:57 pm

Merging two automaker is good in principle I believe. We’ve seen the success of Peugeot & Citroen, Daihatsu, Subaru & Toyota, Holden, GM, Vauxhall and the rest. Our market is getting saturated and the auto community is too small to compete among each other. Well, it’s not easy and it’s not that simple, I know. Maybe we didn’t do this right in the beginning..

• jtiongwl78 on Jan 25, 2011 at 11:02 pm

When such protection are there, they can always protect that two rubbish product. Rubbish + Rubbish = More Rubbish!

Unless Government modify the NAP, which is really outdated. Otherwise, it will continue to be like that. Wait and see, fuel price sure increase this year, but no hope for car price to be reduced..

• Proton+Perodua = ?

Maybe Malaysia should come with a name of our warriors so-called as other successful company is solely based on the name of the founder the car itself. Honda, Toyota, Mercedes bla bla bla whatsoever~

So, Rentap? or Mahathir?

• did u know that ur even nissan get the help from lotus to tune the handling of their GTR!!

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 26, 2011 at 12:41 pm

i saw the natgeo documentary on the GTR and nowheere did they mention any handling work done by lotus. mana?!

• don’t just watch on TV, do some research on the net. Nissan does ask Lotus’ help while developing GT-R.

• ezracopters on Jan 26, 2011 at 2:13 am

1. fully opposed the merger. Proton perhaps was suck big time before, but today they gradually enhancing their quality. and with all the fuss about F1, rally and race i cant wait to see the result on their road legal car… beside, unlike Proton, KLIMS 2010 clearly show the world what Perodua had in mind for the future..another rebadge of Toyota..Benzema ape ntah. on the 1st glance, almost instantly we knew what model it is.

2. Perodua basically own by Nippon. why would Proton wanna pay them more, they conquered and did killing spree us before, and then they flood us with all their over-price products (better support Korean skrg), they make us believe that we are not good enough in everything and anything from Jpn is 5 star rated (perhaps the chicks ok la kot!!)..just recently we’ve get to slap em back a little..perhaps almost unnoticed kot with “smart guys get it”..so i said as long as they want to, just let Perodua be as it does. at least we got to compare Proton’s development with it (since other company playing high stake already, gotta admit this thou, what to do better late than never. still waiting exactly how proton want to tackle Indian market..hmm..).

3. do u really believe that Proton not gonna try to come up with a product like Perodua, small segment engine in the future?? they do in the past with tiara and savvy..yup, tiara which almost 100% citroen fail miserable whilst Savvy quite successful in certain country but in Malaysia, Renault engine parts pretty pricey to chew up by Malaysian. nasib baik (or bad luck..) Agusta dah takde..kalau tak dah lama ada Proton 660cc kot,…and honestly i think the only reason why Perodua so successful with Myvi is not coz of the price or the toyota pesona..it’s the huge cabin design!! and those who care less bout speed, performance and under the radar of parental-guidance were culturally force to bought Myvi.

4. is it wrong if i said i just love reading Proton bashers comment. hahaha.. anyway thank you everyone, i mean bashers for giving quality data/feedback to Proton. u might not own/or even wish to own/or want to touch it, but poor people like me got to enjoy better car (at least better than Perodua cars la..) these day coz of u…ur like Sex Pistols singer Jonny Rotten said..i quote “..one didnt wrote song like God Save The Queen coz they hate their country, it coz they love their country so much..they care more than ordinary people does!!!”

• autobot on Jan 26, 2011 at 12:41 pm

i do believe that p2 more success than p1 was contributed by their good marketing dept / strategy job.. i bet myvi will not sold as much as today if it was marketed by p1.. what they’ve done with kenari prove my word..
      p1 need group greater of greater marketing ppls..

• tokmoh on Jan 27, 2011 at 12:32 am

Good marketing palotak ko…

Admit it. Ppl know P2 is cucu Toyota. Nuff said.

• autobot on Jan 27, 2011 at 11:55 am

so what ?

• tokmoh on Jan 27, 2011 at 5:32 pm

So what? So ppl buy P2 purely bcuz it’s a toyota la, so the only thing those “good marketing dept / strategy job” do is just goyang kaki.

Want example good marketing? DiGi, still famous for worse reception compared to maxis n celcom, but they’re holding up well. Yellow stalker ads everywhere all the time keeps them in the game.

• Hey fanboys on Jan 26, 2011 at 6:38 pm

I did love to read how Proton fanboy defend their favorite brands. HEHEHE!

• kamil azhar on Jan 26, 2011 at 2:37 am

As long as TM and DSZ is at the helm of Proton.
    there will be ZERO chance of even a 0.001% JV.
    Pride and ego comes first
    before any negotiation can take place.
    PM has once again failed to rattle
    our ‘protected” motoring industry.

• rally_fan on Jan 26, 2011 at 9:02 am

do you really think the top management at both companies really have final say over something like this? they are after all, only employees of the company.

• Erwan Billy on Jan 26, 2011 at 7:30 am

Its all abt economic of scale. If its too expensive to produce, we will never enjoy a quality car at a cheaper price.

• AntiStupid on Jan 26, 2011 at 3:06 pm

Woah, thanks! its good to have someone talking good sense here!

• No matter is P1 or P2.
    We stil get expensive car and expensive fuel at bolehland!
    Unless P1 & P2 car price reduce 30% and the fuel price back to RM1.20???
    Else, support barang buatan bolehland pun poket pecah!

• azrai on Jan 26, 2011 at 7:54 am

What’ in for those cronies if these 2 companies merging? I am still finding the agenda behind it. Maybe they will using CIMB for the merging process? So Najib’s little brother suggesting it? Commission..

• Ash Menon on Jan 26, 2011 at 8:12 am

“it made sense for the two companies to collaborate and make the automotive industry competitive”

Err, competitive with WHAT? Do they even know the meaning of the word? This IS Proton we’re talking about.

• makeitmine on Jan 26, 2011 at 12:50 pm

To be competitive, like hiring a good car designer for P1 & P2 global cars or own car design company that can do designs for P1 & P2 and other OEMs. This will not be possible if P1 & P2 operates on its own as it does not has economy of scale.

The world’s best car designers studied at Art Center College of Design in Pasadena, California. At least four of them–Chris Bangle, Shiro Nakamura, Ken Okuyama, and Freeman Thomas–studied there. To send somebody there and return to Malaysia to do designs for P1 or P2 is also not economical. In the end, P1 & P2 can never be competitive – how many new cars can be launched by P1 & P2 in a year?

• Proton would do more harm to Perodua than anything. The perception of quality and durability of Proton cars and service standards still persist. Not to say Perodua cars are any better..but Perodua does a better job and their service standards quite good..at least from my experience with owning a Myvi.

• Neutral on Jan 26, 2011 at 10:44 am

Dear proton,

You have symbolizes a great hope as well as disappointment to Malaysians. I have an opinion for you. Why not you just hire ppl from our own country to design your engine, chassis… etc…?

We do have a lot of “real life experienced experts” on our own road itself. Some “adult kids” are revving their “toys” aka cars showing off their misfiring system, sound system, “weird aerodynamics”… and bla bla bla in the middle of the night. Why not come out with a reality show, hire the eligible winners and polish their hidden potentials?

Merging with P2 will never help as they are not a pure Malaysian company. Money will always be flowing back to that J country.

• makeitmine on Jan 26, 2011 at 11:02 am

The most important thing is that the brand must dominate the Malaysian car industry.

Merger can take many forms. P1 must take some ownership of P2. P1 & P2 should not merge into ONE company.

P1 & P2 must continually justify their existence.

After merger,

1. P1 & P2 collaborate to do rebadging business
    2. P1 & P2 collaborate to do engine manufacturing for OEMs
    3. P1 & P2 collaborate on platform sharing
    4. P1 & P2 collaborate with other companies, eg Toyota, Daihatsu, Renault, Nissan, Mitsubishi, etc. to manufacture parts for global platform cars
    5. P1 & P2 collaborate on marketing/advertising to export cars worldwide
    6. P1 & P2 form P3 JV (engineering consultancy like Lotus) to make national cars for other nations

• No merger please.

Protong just not producing enough profit compared to Perodua (typical case of pHd – perasaan hasad dengki). Protong should know better (by now) why the rakyat willing to spend half of their hard earned salary to buy other import brands/grey importers, second hand imports.

It is not a sin having two national cars (more is better actually). Look at Japan they have; Toyota, Daihatsu, Honda, Nissan, Mitsubishi, Suzuki, Mazda, Isuzu and etc.

What do Malaysians have for the past 25 years? We have lousy Tin Milos made from Tanjung Malim.

Luckily we have Perodua as the second national car maker to provide that temporary relieve of our unfair NAP and AP policies. Yes, the second national car, although the quality is not the best but at least it has the best fuel consumption for a national car. Try to drive the protong’s CPS or the overrated IAFM (that keep on making that tek-tek-tek sound= tetek?) you’ll notice how fuel guzzling that Campro is.

Enough said, this words goes to the people with brains, and obviously does not comply to the “jaguh kampung” who thinks the world is flat.

• mivec on Jan 26, 2011 at 1:36 pm

gud attempt u sound hv 1 point new beside power windows.. wonder why my friend iafm sound silent.. no tek tek tek sound.. like teppet sound from my friend viva??

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 26, 2011 at 8:25 pm

smart guys get what Syoh is saying. proton fanboys are like kataks under coconuts, think proton is God’s gift to msian, what a curse i tell you! and now the price of petrol is going up along with cars. where are the buses and mrt?

• budleee on Jan 26, 2011 at 11:41 am

Merger?
    No effin way….

• Proton sad to say still not a sound buy..Too many people have bought Protons and have to deal with burn-out gear boxes, campro engines with huge dips in power, power windows issues, electrical problems..you just count the number of proton cars with tail lamps not functioning and don’t even talk about the service stations..so pathetic..even their own authorised service agents don’t even use original parts at times..So merging with Perodua may do Perodua more harm than anything..That said, Perodua is only good where you find toyota or daihatsu components. What this two companies need is good competition.

• if they merged ….. possible names
    Proton + Perodua

1. Produa
    2. Peroton

• Kambing Gurun on Jan 26, 2011 at 2:19 pm

P1 + P2 = P3

Then,

1. Savvy + Viva = Vivvy
      2. Saga + Myvi = Myga
      3. Persona + Myvi = Myna / Pervi
      4. Gen2 + Myvi = My2 / GerM2
      5. Alza + Exora = Exoza / Alxora
      6. Inspira + Myvi = Perspire…

• GreenFuel on Jan 26, 2011 at 12:47 pm

Another way to suck our pocket dry. Now the market is very competitive because both P1 and P2 is competing each other in the market. If they really want the market to be competitive, reduce the imported car tax. Let the Vios compete with the Persona for the similar price tag. That will make P1 to come out with good and cheap model.

• DannyLo on Jan 26, 2011 at 1:04 pm

What a load of bollocks, it is because of the existence of Proton and Perodua that the Automotive Industry in Malaysia is un-competitive. The latest news reporting from BBC is very telling. BBC with their British culture of being tactful in their reporting have this to say about proton:”It’s suffered from a reputation of unimaginative design and low quality.”

And that pretty much summed it all up.

• Abuden on Jan 26, 2011 at 1:07 pm

The merged group should be renamed as PotongDua

• lansy on Jan 26, 2011 at 1:32 pm

Should hav jus shut down BOTH company n concentrate fully on the Lotus brand….

• Joseph on Jan 26, 2011 at 2:52 pm

who would marry an ugly bride? Only a village idiot a.k.a Juara Kampung.

• jaybond on Jan 26, 2011 at 2:56 pm

I think the main recipe for MyVi success are :

1) Spacious (minus the boot of course)
    2) Low running cost
    3) Quite nice exterior design
    4) Low price
    5) Reliability

Currently Proton model offered in this segment is Saga BLM I suppose, lose out a bit on no. 3 & no.5 factor (mentality). And no.3 of course is a bit turn off for the female buyers. That’s another factor that sets Myvi apart from the new Saga..

• ProProton on Jan 26, 2011 at 9:02 pm

stupid!

Low price u said?? haha.. 54k for 1.3L compact car?? ilang akal ka??.. u can get persona M-Line 1.6 Litre saloon car for that price… more spacious, more reliability..

• AntiStupid on Jan 26, 2011 at 3:13 pm

Why so many Proton Basher?

Ahmad/Chong/Maniam : Yeah la coz of gov protect Plotong, our imported car prices is higer!

Answer :

I found it nonsensical that everyone blaming Proton for high prices that they need to paid for son of car god – Toyota/Honda..saying that it was to ‘protect’ Proton…hey please screw your brains out! you think gov care about Proton? Proton give profit to government? How much? Hutang banyak ada la! The reason the imprted car is pricier is because they need that REVENUE..it totalled up around billions for jesus sake! So stop blaming Proton and start putting your anger to the gov because utilizing the imported car tax to jack up their coffer!

• Fact – in the 80s, the automotive market in our country is double than our neighboring country, Thai. At that time there isn’t Detroit of Asia. For your info, Thai abolish the tax for their local built foreign vehicle in the 90s which make other car manufacture invest by building their plant in Thai. Now Thai manufacture 1,000,000 vehicle annually, half were exported. Now Thai even produce parts and engine which export to oversea for country like Malaysia to ‘CKD’ their foreign car.

When Saga is launch in 1986, the sales are good but it drop slowly when other manufacture offer newer car n technology at almost same price. So our genius Dr.M impose tax for foreign car, ok maybe he not protecting Proton but just to source another side income for our country.

But what did we gain in return?
      We import parts from Thai and Japan to assemble our foreign ‘CKD’ car.
      We export not even 50,000 Proton&Perodua. Proton&Perodua only manage to built 300,000 vehicle. Did we export any non-local car or parts?
      How many job opportunity did our national manufacture provide if compare to Thailand?

Answer yourself. Peace

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 26, 2011 at 9:22 pm

“Even tho they afford the mother of all car – Honda City/Toyota Vios with 9 year installment, they dont have the spare money to burn.so they need to park their fantastic machine at yellow line just to save RM1 and then create traffic jam at other housing area slip road just to save 90 cent toll” — must be you then since you drive a City.
      why? you got no money to fill up your honda since the price of ron97 went up to 2.30 is it? so now have to bn’s cyber bitch?
      while you blindly bash those who seek the liberty of a free car market, the bn is robbing us blind with their mega-billion projects and white elephants. who want somebody to bash to go bash them.
      hutang?! siapa yang buat negara Msia tersayang hutang keliling pinggang? ask yourself lah! it aint the proton bashers. u moron!

• AntiStupid on Jan 27, 2011 at 2:41 am

Where did i say that i support Proton or Barang Naik gov? I just feel it was idiotic that people blamin Proton for the import car price ..Proton do NOT , i repeat DO NOT give any strategic or monetary value for the gov..its the imported car taxes that they are protecting of..Proton is just a convinient black sheep for stupid ill informed basher

Woah..yes i driving a Honda City LOL..and i blame the import car tax policy but not Proton.

• Rockmebaby on Jan 26, 2011 at 3:30 pm

Don’t worry, Proton will close themselves down soon. Instead of investing $$ in making better & cheaper cars, they spend it on richman game that’s F1.
    The longer the current trend continue, we will see Toyota overtake Proton sales & that will be the end for Syarikat Proton Syiok SDN Tak Terhad ;P

• Siggy on Jan 26, 2011 at 4:27 pm

When to combine two idiots together, you get a BIGGER idiot. Simple logic eh?

• Just P2 on Jan 26, 2011 at 5:13 pm

I have given up hope on P1… since the iswara times, lousy plastics and problematic speedometer which u hv to bang on the dashboard to get it working. then again the power windows become powerless windows just after the warranty expire. how nice. currently i own myvi, my dad drives viva and just this month, convince my wife to gat alza… c all these from P2, no more P1…. just don’t trust them anymore since i hv been taken for a ride….

• Lotus financed by Malaysian tax payers…One always gets the feeling Lotus on the image front not proud of being part of Proton.

• Cowabunga! on Jan 26, 2011 at 8:50 pm

..and SO?…am i getting a more quality and better priced car?..i don’t need a Myvi Lotus-tuned…I want reduce car prices…or stop the retard AP policy….

• Neutral on Jan 26, 2011 at 9:42 pm

pity P2.Will be less support from gov after this? hope gov will be fair to both,for rakyat sake

• Merger news is signalling either P1 or P2 undergoing major change or either one is going bankrupt like KIA-HYUNDAI merger.

My best guess is that Daihatsu may be pulling out of P2 or will be asked to pull out of P2 – the sooner the better. The latest news is that Daihatsu has decided to cease sales of new vehicles in Europe as of January 31, 2013. http://www.daihatsu.com/news/n2011/11011401/index.html

Daihatsu currently sells new vehicles in approximately 10 countries. The decision to discontinue sales of new vehicles in Europe is the result of increasing development costs to comply with regulations in Europe, such as those related to CO2 emissions, and the appreciation of the yen against the Euro, which have had a negative impact on business results and made selling vehicles manufactured in Japan by Daihatsu no longer viable. It was made from the perspective of streamlining operations and focusing on specific areas of business.

So, Daihatsu vehicles are no longer competitive to rebadge in the long run if were to export . Overproduction of non-competitive vehicles in Malaysia by P2 will only undermine P1 position.

During the interim, perhaps P1 will be “coerced” to buy the remaining Daihatsu shares or new players like Renault/Nissan will join in.

Merger is seen here to save P2 rather than P1. P1 does not benefit much from the merger.

Frost & Sullivan partner and head of automotive and transportation practice, Asia Pacific, Kavan Mukhtyar once said, “Perodua currently has full support of Daihatsu’s rebadging business model which in turn is also owned by Toyota. Proton is unlikely to reap any benefits from Perodua in terms of model line-up and there’s no specific technology that Proton would want from Perodua, because it is essentially Daihatsu.”

• The only way to merge is govt. buy shares own by Toyota/Daihatsu in Perodua.

• azrai on Jan 27, 2011 at 7:52 am

or the government sold all proton’s shares to Daihatsu-Toyota…

• ladydriver on Jan 27, 2011 at 3:27 pm

this one…was in the edge financial daily..yesterday

• Gearhead on Jan 27, 2011 at 2:04 pm

Interesting point. How do you “collaborate” and then make the market “more competitive”? Collaborating means antitrust (think Internet Explorer vs Netscape, Intel vs AMD).
    In any good business sense, any collaboration reduces competitiveness (that’s why they collaborate, to reduce price friction/competition). If Intel and AMD collaborated, we’ll all be looking at RM5k CPU chips and RM10k laptops. Same here with car prices….

• So are they selling Proton Myvi now? Perodua Exora? Or new brand altogether? May I suggest Peroton or Produa. =D

• makeitmine on Jan 28, 2011 at 10:18 am

P1 & P2 brand names may be retained like KIA-HYUNDAI merger.

Or like VW and Porsche merger, Porsche’s car-making unit will not be sold to VW, but will retain some independence.

So what’s the merger about?

• waimak on Jan 28, 2011 at 11:32 pm

Owning a Proton or a Perodua is almost the same these days BUT GETTING THE SERVICE AT PROTON (EDAR) is something which keeps me away from PROTON. Sorry (talking from experience).

• mamat on Feb 11, 2011 at 9:20 am

Ramai org tak tahu….. di jepun ada camry, altis dll…. badge daihatsu dan toyota…..Org2 di negara maju mudah bekerjasama tanpa ada kepentingan…. yang mereka fkirkan ialah kemajuan negara mereka.

Di Malaysia…… fikiran masih belum mencapai tahap negara maju…. aku…aku punya …engkau pun…. aku punya.

Walaubagaimanapun P1 dan P2 telah menyumbang kepada pembangunan negara…. berapa ribu keluarga telah dapat makan hasil dari P1 dan P2.

P1 dan P2 boleh berjaya….. tapi atas kekangan politik….. ada halangan…..