Next generation Perodua Myvi spotted on test drive in convoy with JDM Toyota Passo

Reader Piji spotted these two heavily taped up hatchbacks on test en route back to his kampung earlier today. It seems to be like both the original Toyota Passo/Daihatsu Boon as well as the Perodua version (next generation Perodua Myvi) are on test together.

The picture above with the number plate B1322A is certainly the new Myvi on test – compared to the original Boon/Passo, the number plate has been moved up to the hatchlid instead of positioned on the bumper, and the tail lamps have a more vertical shape compared to the smaller Passo tail lamps.

This baby looks like the original Toyota/Daihatsu vehicle, with the trade plate B1331A. Notice the smaller and bulgier tail lamps, the rear number plate on the bumper, and a handle to open the hatch exposed. The smaller tail lamps give the Japanese market look a cuter and more bulbous appearance compared to Perodua’s take on the styling.

Even though the next generation Perodua Myvi is disguised quite heavily in these set of pics, we previously posted another set which features very minimal disguise on the rear of the car, you can check them out here, or in a gallery after the jump.

Look after the jump for the full spyshot gallery.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1923]

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1788]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nabill on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:15 pm

same hello kitty shape…look like a facelify rather than an all new model…

• How come you said that this is a face-lifted one. When Perodua face lifted Myvi , they only change the bumper and grill design and they have done that for maybe a hundred time!

So, this new Myvi obviously is not face-lifted version because look like they also change the rear lamp :-)

• Jongo on Feb 02, 2011 at 10:06 am

Obviously not many see the sarcasm! That;s why the many thumbs down.

• brianjgtc on Feb 01, 2011 at 9:14 pm

This is totally new myvi with new look…who said facelift one?….=D

• bcos cannot see much diff from the photos…. look at the side, it looks exactly the same?

• ladydriver on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:15 pm

i bet it looks great..!

• RON97 on Feb 02, 2011 at 2:57 pm

yes…..for the ladies. but not for guys.. any guys who drive myvi are “aqua”

• myviGSRengine on Feb 02, 2011 at 7:57 pm

ok i’m a man riding a myvi..whats ur vehicle ?
        i’m asking you for a race..serious one

• kamal on Feb 03, 2011 at 3:29 am

myviGSRengine: memalukan btl comment engkau nie

• fazron80 on Feb 03, 2011 at 8:19 am

Don’t take it personal. It is what it is. You can find more than enough people to race you if you want it. But I suggest you try yourself first in a real Touge battle to test out your myvis handling and Sepang drag race to test out your straight speed. Pasir Gudang also have night drag events. Take it there to shut up those who bad mouth myvi. Take your myvi to sepang open day and post how fast is your lap time in your myvi. If it’s better than most car out there, after this no one will say myvi are for sissy drivers. Mind you, my wife has a myvi and I do drove it a lot. I prefer it for short drives. I don’t like it for balik kampung since I find myvi has a very bad handling especially taking corners which make me fatigue faster. Power wise myvi is not bad. The myvi 1.5 will be a nightmare for other cars on the road.

Winning race on public roads doesn’t make your car winner be it a ferrari or a kancil. Find proper place to do it within the laws. I’d be waiting to hear about your myvi.

• rapidshifter on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:24 pm

facelift… hopefully better quality when introduce to market…

• yaHAha on Sep 19, 2011 at 6:37 pm

Proton sale sure drop a lot jugak.. hahaha..

• yaHAha on Sep 19, 2011 at 6:38 pm

I think larrrr.. if proton wanna equal perodua sale lar.. better switch all proton engine to mitsubishi la. Saga fl can put 1.5 dohc enough oredy, maybe 4g91 can b. Persona can put 4g92 dohc (wud b nice if 4g92 mivec). Or maybe Gen 2 wif 4g92 mivec much better. Satria neo 4g92 can, 4g93 1.8 oso can. Inspira?? Bravo for inspira oredy mivec engine.. only problem price still high for some malaysian. If lancer gt 2.0 RM73K at langkawi n labuan, y not inspira 2.0 inside RM70-80K wud b nice.

• nope…. they will not change the design much compared to current myvii design.. but 1.5cc engine sound promising… those round shape rear combi lights will be changed to the one looks like the current myvii shape… and i think the dashboard will be a little bit different compared to the current myvii…. :p i am just guessing….

• r u working with P2 “they will not change the design much compared to current myvii design.. but 1.5cc engine sound promising… those round shape rear combi lights will be changed to the one looks like the current myvii shape” from ur comment can said the new model = nothing special more like a face lift then a new model… how about the price? cannot expensive than the Alza…. bcos the car is smaller… below 57k for the SE model???

• nazri on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:26 pm

tak lama dah.. hehe

• alpha0201 on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Is Toyota officially bringing in the Passo too or some sort of Myvi variant?

• alpha0201 on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:25 pm

What I meant was why did they brought & test the disguised new Passo test together with disguised new Myvi? Are they planning to bring Passo as well?

• aroma on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:30 pm

A NEW Legend begins !! Hope Proton can learn from Perodua. Perodua do rebadge also perform better than Proton.

• Don’t compare with P1 lah… later tone of argument in this blog again, BORING WITH THE ARGUMENT P1 VS P2………. PLEASE Stop compare P1 & P2!!!

• You’re right! We shouldn’t compare P1 with P2. We should compare P1 with a Tin Milo!

• dag372 on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:33 pm

aroma = Perodua Salesman

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFeAi3Vkq9w&feature=player_embedded

• wuzere on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:41 pm

the untaped version of myvi 2011 leaked on youtube 2 weeks ago,
    can see the whole design front and back

• rossi46 on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:45 pm

is the front view is the the myvi replacement one or the passo one? enlighten me.

• rossi46 on Feb 01, 2011 at 2:47 pm

wish can see the front much more clearer :(

• proton is milo tin , perodua also is milo tin , how to perform better ? melt better ?

• already saw it on youtube, just type “Myvi 2011” looks so so “normal” =.=”…. hopefully the SE edition looks better…. the rear lamp design too similar to current model…. not much different….

• Wisdom on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:15 pm

Why didn’t Perodua follow the rest of the world by getting force induction lower displacement engine/ twin scroll turbo? NA 1.5 is with normal valve timing is a thing of the past (10years ago).

Unless they equipped the 1.5 with valvematic…

• twin scroll turbo? u see how much the WV price over 100k for a small car? how many of us can afford?

• At least DVVT is way better than Protong’s DOHC 1980’s technology.

• dag372 on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:30 pm

macam lebih kepada facelift je..tak ada ciri-ciri new model pun, 90% myvi

• YA, Nama Mvi FL later for 1.3L (same k3VE)…then later 1.5L call “Myvi FL Advanced Special Exclusive Edition” =.=” Price RM65k??? P2 these days price always shocking ppl, then salesman always use Toyota quality & fuel Efficient as Selling point (Boring)….

• changed exterior pun nak kene test drive ke?lol

• mfahd_88 on Feb 01, 2011 at 8:55 pm

of cos meh!
      klo tak,xdela msk dlm blog ni sbb xde gmbr
      right paul?
      lol

• stevo on Feb 01, 2011 at 3:36 pm

just another Myvi…>-<
    bored!!

• Prismo on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:15 pm

another boring car…. yawn….!!!!

• raphael on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:23 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFeAi3Vkq9w&feature=player_embedded

• ezracopters on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:29 pm

current price Myvi EZi (On The Road : RM 53,400.00), perhaps Myvi EZi 1.5 they gonna tag it around RM60k to RM65k???

facelift ker aper nie?? Rebadge pun at least show your creativity duhai Perodua, this is your CORE PRODUCT..

• you care what? it’s still the best selling car in malaysia

• care about the price lah!!! prefer the SE model, rumor out on June or July?? Smaller than alza, so normal Myvi or Myvi SE cannot expensive than Alza. Interested with Myvi SE model only… price right can consider…

• learner on Feb 02, 2011 at 7:20 am

this mentality will make them to continue of what they doing, small facelift with expensive prices….. you will never see any major attempt to really make future myvi look less similar that the original model they copy.

• Jimmy on Feb 01, 2011 at 4:41 pm

Cheating money, should have called it a facelift only? No changes in chassis/size?

• Base on the car shape, it’s look like the JDM latest model Passo just announced in Japan few months ago.

• J@CK Lim on Feb 01, 2011 at 5:06 pm

I guess the platform still the same, minor change probably?
    Could it be a huge surprise like BEZZA??

• Mata2 on Feb 01, 2011 at 6:20 pm

Aiyo, where got produa design car? So, rebadged Toyota , no need comment. Just buy and drive girls and sotong men!

• ahmad on Feb 01, 2011 at 7:06 pm

this is just a facelift!! so disappointed with P2..they should have done much better..

• hey guys..from that rear light shape, i guess it wont be any much different with the latest toyota passo..have a look :

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=toyota-passo-2nd-generation&image=gr_va06.jpg

• ntahaaa on Feb 02, 2011 at 12:05 am

B1331A <– omg.. you are right..
      pliz, not that passo..
      better make new facelift myvi rather than the new passo..

• i think i just saw this car earlier this morning in my hometown, Tanjong Karang.

• apesal dorang tak buat Myvi versi sedan? Boring dengan bentuk katak ni.

• estimosis on Feb 01, 2011 at 10:57 pm

Look too sissy for guys, just my cents.

• Nasai on Feb 02, 2011 at 5:17 am

From the youtube links posted by some of the readers here,
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFeAi3Vkq9w&feature=player_embedded at 0.23 (white-coloured Myvi), imo the vertically design rear lights don’t look good. The shorter, bulbous lamps on the Passo/Boon look better than the Perodua’s design. However, the front light are okay, they look like Kia Venga’s trapezoidal front lamps
    http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=Kia-Venga&image=kia-venga-1.jpg

But if put the next-gen Picanto into the competition, even the original Passo/Boon hatchbacks from Sushiland cant match the Korean makes in terms of design & specs. Take a look and compare
    http://paultan.org/2011/01/26/kia-morning-photos-galore-of-the-next-gen-picanto/. It’s just my opinion.

• elite on Feb 02, 2011 at 10:46 am

nightmare continues for proton?
    this car almost doomed proton when it first launched

• woww perodua elite owner is barking like a dog…perodua no match for proton la…proton is far more better u idiot…

• Nothing to be proud of…. just another rebadge…

• I agree with u man..just rebadge head lamp,rear lamp and do slightly touch up on interior design..No new design..Why people in Mesia love to own Myvi??For me, Myvi doesnt have right to be on Mesia road as they are very ugly..Like ‘frog”..damn!!

• when i was still a student, i stripped myvi & viva and test their chassis strength. u know what? as weak as a clay. overpriced & over rated car. feel sorry for the user. P1 is better. why they sell so well? the marketing guys at p1 are genius. selling a wheelbarrow at a price of a car.

• I love the new Myvi!so sporty!

• vw beetle on Feb 02, 2011 at 7:59 pm

Myvi akan makan Vios…

• farmville on Feb 02, 2011 at 8:47 pm

just wait n see lah. u only saw half of the car, already bashing P2 like crazy. i wonder how the interior looks like?

• produa lova on Feb 06, 2011 at 11:12 pm

1.5dvvt cc engine? hope perodua think twice, 1.3 power more than enough now their put litter? damn! sure more crash on highway later to those JDM wanabe..

• Kia Forte owner will crying again. The New Myvi will beat them all! Go Produa

• Hyundai Fan on Feb 07, 2011 at 2:10 pm

Not impressive at all cos it looks more like a facelift model instead of new generation model. The Perodua concept car shown in KLIMS is much more impressive than this & should start production asap.

• nahhhhh..just another rebadged

• Aduihhh on Feb 17, 2011 at 10:27 am

“SMART GIRLS GET IT!”

• muhammad haziq on Feb 17, 2011 at 10:03 pm

i never proud to perodua as they never try 2 build their own eventhough they are above toyota they can build it by their own design

• Eddie H. on Feb 26, 2011 at 10:08 am

new perodua=vw golf…i pray for it

• datuk on Jun 04, 2011 at 6:50 pm

if this is the body shape, better take P1 BLM