VIDEO: Volkswagen Passat and a little Darth Vader

This US market ad for the Volkswagen Passat is quite amusing – it showcases the car’s Remote Start feature which allows you to start your Passat from your remote control while you are still outside the car. It’s quite a cool feature if you want your car to start up and run the air conditioning to cool the interior down before you get in and drive off. The Remote Start feature will keep the car running for up to 10 minutes, and if you don’t get into the driver’s seat to begin your journey it’ll shut off again. It’s an option for automatic/DSG transmissions only. Lucky kid – when I was young the only costume I had to play with was whatever I could make from a blanket!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Lim Kopi on Feb 18, 2011 at 12:19 am

Paul …

Never too late, u can still dress up now as Chewie and would still look cool :)

• ADORABLE!!

not just the kid. i’m sure many of us wouldn’t mind getting a Passat with such features (if we do not not take into account the taxes and duties). we all adore it.

and creative advertising too. far cry from the model v model concept taken by Nissan and Lexus.

• artworkz on Feb 18, 2011 at 12:52 am

lol, sum after market product also have auto start function.

• michael on Feb 18, 2011 at 1:24 am

all the time love Volkswagen car… love the designers… wht i can own it soon… i am dieing for the Volkswagen Golf GTI…. will done Volkswagen for the beautiful facelift …

• mystvearn on Feb 18, 2011 at 2:36 am

VW always knows how to make good commercials!

• VoidDance on Feb 18, 2011 at 8:26 am

You guy should see this too..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tM3s37fZZts

The blooper. As funny as the ad itself.

• kelisaowner on Feb 18, 2011 at 10:11 am

very clever ad.. i can afford vw but only in my dreams…. thanks to
    malaysian tax structure.

• carfan on Feb 18, 2011 at 10:53 am

The last part is most depressing.

“Coming soon. Starting around $20,000”

Cost 3 times more in bolehland.

• niuhje on Feb 18, 2011 at 10:55 am

das commertzial

• meane on Feb 18, 2011 at 4:41 pm

family oriented commercial got better acceptance than sexy models..

• Really cute ad. Got millions over views in just a few days.

• Paul, is this the model DRB-Hicom announce recently they are going to assemble in pekan come Nov ?