Five things the Proton prototype in Sweden tells us!

1. New Turbocharged Engine

This isn’t exactly something new to us as it’s been mentioned by Datuk Syed Zainal a few times in the past, but just a recap, the next generation of Proton engines will include a downsized turbocharged engine, using 1.6 litre of capacity to produce power equivalent to a 2.0 litre engine, in line with global trends.

Past exhibits of a turbo engine prototype have indicated power figures around 140 PS and 205Nm, with peak torque kicking in at just 2,000rpm. To accommodate the turbocharger, compression ratio has been lowered to 9.5:1, which isn’t really very low for a turbocharged engine. Most of the 2.4 litre engines in the D-segment share a similar compression ratio and they are normally aspirated. This indicates a low boost pressure.

2. At least some variants of the CFE Turbo will be intercooled?

The cutout in the right side of the bumper of the prototype could indicate that an intercooler is hidden behind the mesh. Some form of cooling for the forced inducted air would be something good to have in our hot climate. I’ve had my own experiences running forced induction with and without intercooling and power was significantly better and more stable with an intercooler even though boost dropped a little.

The Campro engine currently has its intake on the right side of engine bay – with the turbo application the air filter could be somewhere on the left, with passing through the turbo on the front of the engine bay, then to the intercooler on the right of the bumper, and back into the intake manifold on the right rear of the engine bay.

3. A new safety feature – ESP stability control

The text “ESP” appears twice in the interior of the car – once on a sticker below the center dash air cond vents saying “P3 – CFE TURBO CVT3 ESP” and once again on a panel below the gear lever which seems to have a lot of red plugs going into it. ESP might just be the reason that the prototype is spending time in Sweden near the arctic circle in the first place. It’s where the Bosch Vaitoudden test center is located, where Bosch engineers test their ESP and ABS systems on the icy surfaces and snowy bends of the native terrain.

I personally feel at least some form of ESP or electronic stability control is a must have for any modern vehicle and it’s good that we are now seeing indications that Proton will be joining the bandwagon. ESP helps stabilize the vehicle by minimizing skids. It automatically applies selective braking to help steer the vehicle where the driver intends to go, combined with traction control which minimizes wheel slip.

4. Future models may use a multi-link rear suspension

This prototype is definitely not sitting on a platform that’s 100% similar to the Exora’s. When the Exora was launched, Proton explained that it was modular and the Exora’s torsion beam rear suspension could be replaced with a multi-link rear suspension.

This prototype uses a multi-link rear suspension as you can see from the image above. Many car manufacturers are moving to torsion beams for almost everything. This might just be some derivative of the chassis of the Proton Persona R replacement model with Exora sheetmetal.

5. New CVT transmission

There are two indications to this – first of all the same sticker that has the text ESP on it also has the text CVT3. And when you look at the gear shifter area, the shift pattern is quite different from the P-R-N-D-3-2-L in the Exora.

Instead, we have P-R-N-D-L which is typical of CVT transmissions – D for drive and L for a CVT shift pattern that emphasizes on engine braking.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• proton now moving forward.. good to hear it.. go go proton..!

• yaa…moving forward with low quality…just to make money..go..go..proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • yaa…proton now moving forward with low quality..and just to make money… go go proton..!

• Johnny on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:54 pm

Moving forward is a must. How fast they are moving is another thing. Better be quick or u loose out.

• Jimmy on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:11 am

Toyota Malaysia doesn’t have ESP and TC in most of their cars/models. Sucking blood, isn’t it?

• littlefire on Feb 23, 2011 at 8:48 am

Toyota does have ESC in their high spec cars like Altis 2.0, Camry 2.4 & even Wish 2.0. But sadly those cheaper spec dont have…

• Johnny on Feb 23, 2011 at 1:02 pm

Some ppl just dont care about ESP or any other gizmo. They just want a car that is reliable. That is what toyota have been offering all these while. Proton used to have the ever reliable wira but not anymore. Hopefully soon we shall have it again.

• But Protong sampah has neither ESC, ESP or VSC at all. Haha.

• Paul Tan on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:13 am

My E39 also no ESP, got TC only. But then again it’s a late 90s car.

• mystvearn on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:18 am

your E39 has 18″ Parallels :P Handling ok on those huge rims?

• motorist on Feb 23, 2011 at 7:45 am

Doesnt your E39 comes with DSC III (which is 1 step over ABS/ASC+T) with CBC?

BMW, like Merc, are usually early adopters of safety features and the 7 & 5 series usually showcase the new technology during product launch.

Case in point (re: early adopters), it is only now, 10+ yrs later that Proton finally adopts electronic safety.

• Paul Tan on Feb 23, 2011 at 8:58 am

Mine is a 1997 model which only had ASC+T, they only added full fledged DSC in later models.

• littlefire on Feb 23, 2011 at 10:47 am

If not mistaken, ASC + T = Automatic stability control with traction control (ASC+T)

It does have stability control but not as advance as DSC..

If not mistaken if fitted wif LSD the ASC+T wont be so effective.. So Paul, do consider that..

http://www.318ti.org/notebook/asc/index.html

http://users.cybercity.dk/~bbo2530/Private/traction.htm

• peYno on Feb 23, 2011 at 10:06 pm

who cares about your cheapo old bmw?

stick to the topic ok?

• Rambo Ramsey on Feb 24, 2011 at 1:42 pm

ini dia punya blog kot bro, dia nak tulis biarlah. tak suka jangan baca ye tak?

• jusoh on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:15 am

Paul, do you know what model this wagon actually is? Is it the new SUV for malaysian market? or new range of mpv exora?

• Paul Tan on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:18 am

No clue man, where’s SiFu?

• taboogen on Feb 23, 2011 at 7:46 am

if you can see the rear window its almost as same as proton tuah… might be a wolf in disguise

• what i heard this is just a mule for persona r. i doubt it’s a new exora because many witness have seen exora T at genting.

• azrai on Feb 23, 2011 at 7:45 am

It is certainly the Persona R mule. (R stands for replacement)

• Actually all current Protong models have that “R” labels. All need to be replaced.

• Cucukman on Feb 23, 2011 at 7:55 am

I heard its just new Exora, with TURBO engine… Exora CFE

• azrai on Feb 23, 2011 at 10:01 am

si-fu said :”1) This MULE has NOTHING to do with any form/version of a new EXORA.”

• lightning mcqueen on Feb 23, 2011 at 8:51 am

Mule car exactly – using Persona-R platform disguise with Exora on top of it…
      Mule –> F stage —> P stage —> PrePro–> Wallah… Launch…

• alf147 on Feb 24, 2011 at 9:30 am

this is for persona R since it shares the same platform as exora.

• mystvearn on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:15 am

A toyota wish size proton exora?

• azrai on Feb 23, 2011 at 10:02 am

si-fu said :”1) This MULE has NOTHING to do with any form/version of a new EXORA.” Aiyoo..

• fazron80 on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:16 am

Traction control would be needed for icy surface.
    Any other benefits for it in our hot climate? Better control driving in the rain?

• Paul Tan on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:17 am

Rain, oil on the road, sand, etc, simple loss of grip

• motorist on Feb 23, 2011 at 7:26 am

… and lots of Michael Schumacher wannabe

• if I’m not mistaken, Australia requires all new car to have traction control. I guess, that;s why Proton need to have ESP. Unfortunately, Proton might decide not to offer that to local market :(

• karim on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:23 am

is it just me… or proton wouldn’t offer the best for local buyers?

• theanswer on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:40 am

msian still prefer to buy non abs or airbag equipped vehicle. what makes u think they know what is esp?

• yes..i totally agree with u..in our market people its not like a British market..where people really care about the car safety feature, as we been hear they want an airbag, ESP, TCS etc..here when u ask anyone. 6 out of 10 people just simply concern about build quality, fuel consumption, the looks and for sure the brand and some of them (very rare to found) don’t even know what is airbag for..

• Johnny on Feb 23, 2011 at 1:08 pm

Regardless of any market survey, safety should not be made an option. But proton did it anyway in the past. Hopefully not in the future. Its a bad CSR.

• peYno1 on Feb 23, 2011 at 10:11 pm

you guys are retarded, come on, the car here is twice the price over there.

and you’re making money one fifth of them,

ESP? airbag? you’re lucky to be driving.

ignorant bunch of clown

• Unfortunately, it is Protong who brought down the entire car industry back to the stone age. Introduction of a very low spec car with less or no safety gears at all. Then charge the rakyat with absurd pricing just for a piece of an airbag. Then another extra charge for the ABS (another old technology). This allows its competitors such as Perodua, Toyota, Honda and etc. to “tapau” the car market with ease even if these import cars are taxed heavily. Protong must be blind and ‘syok sendiri’ all this while.

• Simple no. They do not.

And their roads are safe because people actually obey speed limits.

Fewer wankers on their roads –> and the police do very public campaigns against them, confiscating their cars and impounding them for things like HID lamps (not aligned properly), excessive noise (yes, modded exhausts will get your car impounded), and three speed tickets make you lose your license.

• Fence Sitter on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:19 am

Why do they need to test it all the way in Sweden? As if we cant find it out LoL

• Paul Tan on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:21 am

I guess because that’s where the Bosch ESP test center is.

• mid-income earner on Feb 23, 2011 at 8:40 am

… and maybe they need to test the system in extreme slippery condition, if it works there it will work here..

• wow..cant wait to see the new exora
    berdebar

• azrai on Feb 23, 2011 at 10:02 am

si-fu said :”1) This MULE has NOTHING to do with any form/version of a new EXORA.” one more

• rembau on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:33 am

This is the platform for Proton SUV crossover. They haven’t decide whether to proceed with the project or not. Need more analysis on current market demand. Chaiyok Proton.

• how can you be so sure? isn’t this a test mule for Persona R? care to explain?

• rembau on Feb 23, 2011 at 7:45 am

If you were to test a new platform, you would want to make sure that the test resembles as closely as possible to the real thing, especially in terms of weight and other physical characteristic.

In this case, if the platform was meant to be used by the Persona R, the test mule should have been made very similar to at least a sedan.

I was hinted by some folks at Proton before Paul posted the first take on this white model. Either way, its just my speculation.

• azrai on Feb 23, 2011 at 10:03 am

No lah..si-fu said :”1) This MULE has NOTHING to do with any form/version of a new EXORA.” Is it rembau a.k.a. KJ? :-)

• rembau on Feb 23, 2011 at 11:56 am

When I say that it could be the Proton Crossover, did I say anything about it being a derivative of the current Exora? No. Period.

and NO, I’m not KJ. I don’t think he would even bother to look at local car makes.

Cheers

• Taufik on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:33 am

this is way too cool for a mule

• Hello hello hello there Proton. Welcome to the competition. It’s great that Proton is doing this, with the help of Lotus of course. I sense the future is very bright soon. This is like Hyundai in Korea.

• Peter on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:39 am

Look at the exhaust…

why do it requires dual exhuast in the single exhuast pipe?

• proton conquers sweden..perhaps they got bored with Shah Alam’s B road..with ESP, this will complement their R&H? we’ll see…

• Ash Menon on Feb 23, 2011 at 1:01 am

Woot! It’s nice to know Proton’s serious about competing. Good luck to them, and hopefully their new ventures turn out well.

• wuzere on Feb 23, 2011 at 1:03 am

is this the same engine in the youngman suv?
    the suv spyshot come out already, now testing otr

• huiyoo on Feb 23, 2011 at 1:05 am

we need theophilus chin now

• meane on Feb 23, 2011 at 1:23 am

besides engine improvement, proton need improvement in dashboard design…

• lightning mcqueen on Feb 23, 2011 at 8:52 am

Yup especially replated to plastic pattern… hate the current exora dashboard …. scratch friendly… supposedly scratch-proof….

• PROTON basher on Feb 23, 2011 at 1:35 am

PROTON punya ekzos not nice at all! very damn ugly.. just looking at it i know it will explode and the car will jam!

some-more the lamp look very ugly ugly and ugly!

• farghmee on Feb 23, 2011 at 1:40 am

ur nick suits u very well.
      ok thumb down.

• PROTON basher on Feb 23, 2011 at 1:45 am

exhaust so uglyyyy.. u must agree with me about this.. can sell or not??

• DonkeyKong on Feb 23, 2011 at 2:07 am

Guys, I think he’s being sarcastic by exaggerating the reaction of a typical brain-dead Proton basher such as Lancer GT owners..

• tokmoh on Feb 23, 2011 at 10:36 am

And 9 butthurt Lancer owners thumbed up his comment :P

Anyway, testing in snow is one thing, testing in extreme hot weather is another. I don’t think just cuz it tests in snow, it’s automatically fine in hot weather. Maybe put bigger radiator n other coolants etc.

Gambatte proton! :)

• focus tdci on Feb 23, 2011 at 1:53 pm

just coz its in snow doesnt make it automatically ok. wrc cars also can cook their engine if the snow and ice clog the radiators and intercooler.

• sarcasm on Feb 23, 2011 at 8:28 am

probably just being sarcastic. explains the nick that he put as bashers will bash anything that have got to do with proton without any reasoning (nor knowledge).

• CamPor on Feb 23, 2011 at 10:44 am

just ignore this type of people…they just want to get our attention n get some popularity by commenting about nothing…

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 23, 2011 at 1:50 am

This is a good example of typical basher,this is just a mule,A MULE!!

• the_fighter on Feb 23, 2011 at 2:07 am

….it will explode and the car will jam!…

just by looking at it u know it ll explode?? either u re so smart or too idiot

• Nodame-chan on Feb 23, 2011 at 6:29 am

Yeah, where’s SiFu when we needed him?? Haven’t seen him quite awhile in paultan.org. Provide us a little clue about this prototype will ya, SiFu? :)

And to @PROTON basher, (=_=”)
      You are another example of a so called grown-up-with-childish-behavior who KNOWS NOTHING about automotive world. And yes, another thumbs down for ya… Let us thumb this moron down so his/her comment would be hidden away…

• Alpha on Feb 23, 2011 at 7:08 am

That’s a test mule la pandai.If you don’t know what’s a mule is,jz look in the mirror,kay.

• alf147 on Feb 24, 2011 at 9:39 am

sad to hv this kind of ppl commenting like a upsr student..grow up!if proton quality is poor,then we shud give a constructive criticism and not to bash.

a lot of efforts taken by proton..Persona R is the turning point for proton..they MUST improve the materials quality, NVH and to put safety features on the car.

most of the cars are not perfect even for HONDA n TOYOTA…ALMOST 3000 OF CITY N JAZZ been call recently as to fix the prob.just give proton a space to improve..and not to bash.

• drMpower on Feb 23, 2011 at 1:45 am

great news
    this is second coming
    and where the bashing ends
    truly great achievement and i mean it
    the only way to get level or atleast try to get level
    is to face the competition heads on
    this exora may be the universal model
    just equip it better for outside and i believe it will do wonder
    and not to forget the clients in china
    definitely they gonna like whats what with proton these days
    or the coming days

my heartiest congratulation
    who says proton is not worth the penny?

• focus tdci on Feb 23, 2011 at 2:02 pm

wei dont smell too much of your own campro exhaust fumes, you could get carbon monoxide poisoning as well as getting high coz you sound like you are high on something. geez why cant proton fanboys be realistic for a change.
      we wait and see what this thing is first, then decide to pillory or praise it to hell, ok?!

• PROTON basher on Feb 23, 2011 at 1:48 am

steering design look plastic and so ugly!

i am very sure this will be the words that will come out from Jeremy Clarksson with first time he see this car.

PROTON = PLASTIC = CHEAP = NO QUALITY.

don’t blame me, blame Top Gear especially Jeremy Clarksson.. he said this earlier.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 24, 2011 at 10:35 am

Wei stupid mangkuk jamban… if Proton cars are that bad, then can you explain why Jeremy Clarkson and the gang used the Proton Satria Neo S2000 rally cars in one of the recent episedes of Top Gear to tapau their Aussie counterparts…? Bodoh! Nah, ambik another thumb down for you…!!!

• Razormane on Feb 08, 2012 at 7:59 am

The only thing Proton in the Satria Neo S2000 is “probably” just the chassis..nothing to be proud of!

http://paultan.org/2008/08/04/mem-proton-satria-neo-super-2000/

• don’t wasting any money and time.

• Jalap on Feb 23, 2011 at 3:04 am

why only proton turbo charge models get to be overseas. I hope the proton turbocharge is able to stand Malaysia hot climate

• Cucukman on Feb 23, 2011 at 7:46 am

It is still Exora. But it comes with TURBO version.
    I think the best name to be called is “Exora CFE”.

Huh.. If this TURBO engine fitted with Persona engine bay (maybe Persona R)…fuhhh… speechless..

• littlefire on Feb 23, 2011 at 8:07 am

See.. At last P1 really put in ESC already! Good! At least we bash until P1 got some good safety feedback for the new coming users!

• dukeKTM on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:21 am

umm.. Its ESP bro..

• littlefire on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:43 am

Bro, ESC & ESP is the same… Please do reseach first before saying it.. U make urself funny…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_stability_control

• dukeKTM on Feb 23, 2011 at 1:52 pm

thanks for the info bro littlefire….. yeah its already been 7 years I’m working with systems such as this ESP also ASR, SBC, ABR, ARCADE, ARAMIN and many more…. its a good reminder for me to do research first next time…
          and I like to be funny… :)

• farghmee on Feb 23, 2011 at 11:01 am

bro duke,
        from the given link by littlefire,
        ESC is a generic term for this tech.
        ESP(Elektronisches Stabilitätsprogramm) is a ESC system made by Merc & Bosch.

• dukeKTM on Feb 23, 2011 at 1:54 pm

yup, u r correct bro… Its the same… I’m only saying that Proton is using the term ESP instead of ESC… look inside the link.. it is mentioned there as well..
          cheers… :)

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 23, 2011 at 8:14 am

Good to know Proton is finally upping the spec for cars.

I’d always maintained that unless Proton improves, no one would have the incentive to improve…like Toyota for instance.

The question remains…how long before something like would actually take to hit the streets. If it woudl take proton another few years to get these on the road, then consumers wont really benefit in the near term. I mean, they have still yet to get CPS on all thier campro engines….something that is the norm now.

• Tengokje.. on Feb 23, 2011 at 8:16 am

Interesting info Paul…any news from SiFu… Move forward P1.
    Salam…

• Eyesore on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:06 pm

maybe Si-Fu is done with commenting on PT. Explaining things to basher are like talking to a brick wall…not gonna change….

• I don’t get it, why Proton must replace new Exora in such a speed?

Please replace the Waja or Gen2/Persona first

• rallyfan00 on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:17 am

it might not be an exora.. or could it? i think there is no clarification here from paul and co. we will just have to wait and see.

• Paul Tan on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:24 am

I don’t think it’s an Exora of any sort which is why we have been referring to it as simply “Proton Prototype”.

• azrai on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:59 am

Refer si-fu’s clarification below.

• izack04 on Feb 23, 2011 at 8:54 am

New punch from proton…good effort

• izack04 on Feb 23, 2011 at 8:55 am

Good effort

• Si-Fu on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:15 am

I terdengar nama ku diseru!!! LOL!

Kidding kidding…okey here’s what i can tell:

1) This MULE has NOTHING to do with any form/version of a new EXORA.
    2) P3-XXX is the code name of a new PROJECT
    3) It will be using the turbo engine (CFE)
    4) It will be using an european CVT trans.
    5) The reason why this mule has multi-link rear suspension cause the new Project will be using a multi-link rear suspension set-up.

:)
    Cheers!

• littlefire on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:40 am

Sad to hear that.. Why dont want to improve Exora?!? Should be a better MPV with the turbo engine + CVT..

• farghmee on Feb 23, 2011 at 11:03 am

littlefire?
        i thought in the 2nd quarter this year we gonna have exora turbo?
        but i’m not sure whether this time is gonna have cvt..

• azrai on Feb 23, 2011 at 3:13 pm

Macam la nak beli pun kalau Proton keluarkan..:-)

• Tiadaid on Feb 24, 2011 at 6:51 am

The Exora only needs a new engine. They’re probably killing two birds with one stone here, but the rigorous testing of the mule’s for the Persona replacement.

• alf147 on Feb 24, 2011 at 9:41 am

ive already on exora turbo bro..hehehe….awesome…

• akinablue on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:46 am

bukan exora la..BENDA baru la ni ye? dupdap dup dap(hatiku berdebar).jd apakan menatang ni sbnrnya??

• armandd on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:50 am

sifu, just 1 question: will it come with manual trans?

• b16a T on Feb 23, 2011 at 10:43 am

Welcome back Si-Fu!-mana menghilangkan diri?

abit more clarification if you dont mind

1) what is the car segment/s intended for this new project?
      2) what will be the price range OTR planned for this new project
      3) what is the service interval recommended for this new CFE engine, twin scroll or ball bearing? what is the lifespan on this TC unit?
      4) any option for tranny? or all variant are equipped with CVT or perhaps dual clutch dry system? what is the price/weight/reliability/fuel consumption/serviceability different between cvt and dual clutch system?
      5) target launch in which year, which quarter, which model:-)

looking at previous Exora development program, it will take roughly 6-8 month after road test to put the car on sale. will it be shorter for this project?

i thank you in advance

cheers

• Si-Fu on Feb 23, 2011 at 11:10 am

B16A T,

1) I think by now u should what car is this….:)
        2) Can’t reveal that to you, but it will be competitive (comparing to a NA 1.6).
        3) Can’t reveal that as well
        4) Yes there are option’s for the tranny, having all variants with CVT would be costly.
        5) Next year, around first quarter.

Cheers!

• like button pushed ^^

• Si-Fu on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:20 am

Aik…where’s my comment? Hilang ka??? Aisey man….malas nak taip balik la….hmmm….

• Protonsupporter on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:21 am

As with all new protons don’t be the first to buy. Especially with Turbo engines !

• Johnny on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Right. Once bitten, twice shy. Unless Proton come out n apologize or start giving absolute bargain. Sorry proton.

• dukeKTM on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:27 am

Nice one Proton… slowly improving each every day… they use CAN bus in exora if anyone notice… although its a really basic one….. now with ESP, Turbo…. wow… I like…
    But why CVT??…. I hate CVT tranny…. any how double thumbs up from me Proton…. keep improving and shut the bashers mouth up…

• rossi46 on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:07 pm

May i know why do u hate cvt?…i have a cvt equip car, i much prefer it smoothness/non obstructive nature compared to my other normal auto equiped car.

• focus tdci on Feb 23, 2011 at 2:05 pm

bro, cvt no kick la, some more durability is questionable. better to go double clutch!

• MyDear on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:32 am

SiFu,

Can i assume P3 is persona 3rd generation? P1 = proton wira, P2 = current persona, P3 = new persona replacement model?

• Si-Fu on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:55 am

Dont assume MyDear….assumption makes an ASS-out of U n ME….hahahaha…..the “P’s” just means the platform indication…like the EXORA, the code name was P6-XXX…so yeah!

Cheers!

• WhiteFox on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:42 am

i bet ESP + ABS will only available at H-line model so proton can control price to suit different ppl need.

But still hoping at least M-line also equip with it :)

• Nakal on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:42 am

ESP + Lotus handling = ????

• farghmee on Feb 23, 2011 at 11:11 am

Lotus handling = good handling.
      ESC = to correct untrained ricer boy when good handling is out of ctrl.
      hehehe

mechanical stuff + electronic gadget

• armandd on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:53 am

low boost is very good at producing no turbo lag=)

• Nizam80 on Feb 24, 2011 at 12:51 pm

Agreed. Low boost is also good for city driving. For frequent stop-and-go traffic where good low-end torque is greatly needed.

• not_ah_beng on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:57 am

HAHAAHHAHAHAHA……………….

ESC!??! With POTONG quality?!?

Just wait for the well-known Potong “QUALITY CONTROL” to kick in for your ESC and CVT system. Sure many accident on the highway + expensive maintenance for a dying CVT.

You remember how Previous Gen Honda City had big big problems with CVT gearbox? Honda don’t even have half as bad reputation as POTONG.

This one is good tactic for Potong to subsidise all their “service centres”.

HAHAHHAHA.

• waimak on Feb 23, 2011 at 11:05 am

Not Ah Beng, be careful, bcos more often than not CVT does not come from proton but from original manufacturer who’s supplied to any other automakers as well. So dont simply conclude.

• rallyfan00 on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:20 pm

almost all car manufacturers dont build their own gearboxes.. VW doesn’t do it, BMW doesn’t do it, Nissan dont do it..etc.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 24, 2011 at 10:47 am

Another thing… the reason why there was an issue with the previous-gen Honda City’s CVT gearbox was because of the technicians’ mistakes who filled them with the normal ATF. CVT gearboxes need different fluids and cannot use typical ATF. That’s the reason. Despite that, there are still plenty of previous-gen Cities that work just fine.

• nabill on Feb 23, 2011 at 10:41 am

european cvt?? which means its not using that lousy noisy mitsubishi cvt?

from wat i know…most european cars use double clutch boxes rather than cvt….

i hate cvt

• It using vt3 cvt supplied by punch pwrtrain. It is the enhance version of vt2+. U can google for info on this cvt. It using metal belting,not rubber belting.

• ketelaju on Feb 23, 2011 at 10:47 am

Paul Tan,

U forgot to add 1 more thing, the estimate prices of this car…hahahahaha :-P

• nice analysis Paul.

• puterakupang84 on Feb 23, 2011 at 11:02 am

from what i’ve heard..Proton will introduce their Turbo’s Engine this April..the big ? is wether the Exora Turbo and Normal Exora will be the same car except the engine? Or it will be much differentz

• KENAPA PROTON TAK BOLEH NAK DELIVER PRODUCTS WITH LEATHER TRIM FOR INTERIOR???

• Johnny on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:16 pm

They can, but they wouldnt cuz it will affect their margin.

• rookie on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:29 pm

leather panas la bro sini..
      plus, if using cheap material later u bising leather cracked fast due to our climate..
      if using real leather, u ckp mahal..better no leather pulak..
      u nak leather trim, take h-line or balut sendiri kat luar la ok?
      not everyone wants a leather trim la..

• ayamxxx on Feb 23, 2011 at 10:42 pm

normal answer from Proton Pro/user!!

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Feb 24, 2011 at 11:20 am

proton got many special edition with leather seats in case if u didn’t notice…..

even old perdana v6 got leather seats…

• xix404 on Feb 23, 2011 at 11:11 am

is it could be something to do with replacement model for neo?

• Shhiit on Feb 23, 2011 at 11:59 am

This is how a real car manufacturer test their car!
    Unlike so rebrand CRAP!

• blackjkx on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:30 pm

All good spec. Will consider it later on when the car in the market.

• Johnny on Feb 23, 2011 at 12:40 pm

Finally, a good move. But why la proton is super late adopter. engine turbo downsizing, daihatsu hv been doing it for ages. CVT, ESP, MPI are all current techs which soon might be obsolete. The future is hybrid, GDI, DCT. Proton, u better be quick or ur project will be a dinosaur.

• look like caldina to me..is it caldina version model that tsz said will be release next year??

• prolover on Feb 23, 2011 at 4:26 pm

Si-FU.. btw, i have i question..

Is the phase 2 Inspira are in progress…., ???
    Because i have seen and unknown car with black tape at proton track…

I assume it’s persona R but i been notice that the side view did’t match with current persona and tuah.. it’s more tu Inspaira side profile..

• ah beng on Feb 23, 2011 at 5:08 pm

P3 CFE TURBO CVT3 ESP

no teh tarik holder???
    fffffuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu……………!!!!!!!!1!

• rempp on Feb 23, 2011 at 5:15 pm

hi paul
    glad to read all about this , been waiting for updates regarding turbo engine from proton
    thanks!

• Neutral on Feb 23, 2011 at 8:08 pm

wow the pictures are so real.who provide these photos are surely want publicity for Proton eh? btw good effort but please announce the progress officially in Proton website instead of using Paul’s blog :)

• Proton! we want Start/Stop button!!!! Please consider it! ^^

• Protong with Start/Stop function?

Intriguing as it is, I’m afraid there’s a high possibility it would not restart. :P

• road_chaser on Feb 25, 2011 at 8:41 am

start/stop button will be introduced in next Persona Turbo model which expected to be launched by next year…

• greasemonkey on Feb 23, 2011 at 9:33 pm

when is p1 gonna equip their cars with DSG,trend now a day.

• jimmyc on Feb 23, 2011 at 11:33 pm

Asked a staff from proton about it. They said DSG@DCT is too expensive for proton. Poor proton. Always buys old tech cuz they have no money. Wonder who had suck it dry..

• teamsleepnine on Feb 24, 2011 at 12:00 am

no body suck they dry…..but the cost ie retail price goin to be expensive….

• cengeh on Feb 23, 2011 at 11:01 pm

who the heck reads proton’s website?

• teamsleepnine on Feb 23, 2011 at 11:57 pm

the bosch sweden testing center….fifth gear’tiff needle did have inside look on this place.

not exactly proton(this episodes was few years back)give us some idea how the bosch (and assuming protons) engineer testing the vehicles.
    here is the link.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-hHWSQhKuc

• This is just my opinion. Prtn opt cvt bcoz they also need cvt 4 future hybrid engine. Since p1 is nt a big co,having dual clutch n cvt at the same time wil cost them a bomb. Since p1 only have small capacity engine,so it is better 4 them to have cvt since it is the better bet 4 fuel economy. Your can gogle 4 gen2 eve in lotus website. They used punch cvt albeit older cvt than vt3. It shows that even 4 basic campro couple with cvt,fuel economy by 15% if i not mistaken.
    Even toyota n nissan used cvt 4 their cars to improve economy and reduce co2.
    Even cvt doesnt have the kick like conv auto,but linear acceleration in cvt improve the pickup. Cvt3 has adaptive mode meaning that the boxes will remember ur driving style n patern n select the best ratio to cmplement ur driving.

• “…using 1.6 liter of capacity to produce power equivalent to a 2.0 liter engine, in line with global trends… ”
    Is it really global trend or Proton simply broke to develop new, better fuel efficient engine. Once again Proton shoot itself on the foot.

All of these turbo crap means nothing if fuel efficiency still poor on old Campro block.

Funny when Proton claims car buyers demand more power when in truth most people will always look for better fuel efficient car at reasonable price. And yes with less faulty car parts ie.power window etc.

No wonder with this syok sendiri/bodoh sombong/jagoh kampong mentality Proton will suffer even more excess capacity.

Five things the Proton prototype in Sweden tells us:
    1. Proton still force-fed its own choice, direction rather than what people need (bodoh sombong)
    2. Power for the sake of show-off power (syok sendiri)
    3. Winter testing but how good the export market eg.’winter’ countries (better stay jagoh kampong)
    4. Excess capacity but still introduce more craps eg.Inspira (syok sendiri, again)
    5. Excess capacity clearly a failure signs yet shamelessly ask others to fill it eg.VW (worst bodoh sombong of all)

“To kill Proton is to buy Perodua”

• alf147 on Feb 24, 2011 at 9:53 am

perodua’s quality also poor la bro..sorri to say this..a bit dissapointment for a cmpany supported by toyota.

• Si-Fu on Feb 24, 2011 at 10:04 am

Ajaw,

I usually dont reply this kinda comment….but i’ll make exceptions this time….cause ur typical “i know it all” kinda attitude amuses me! :)

1) How do you know that we are not developing a new engine?
      2) Have u seen our cash flow, financial status or sales figures to know that we are broke?
      3) How do you know that this CFE is not using a new block? (btw this is not CAMPRO)
      4) How sure are you that this engine wont be fuel efficient? Do u have figures to support ur claim?
      5) What proof you have that we force-fed this whole thing? Do you have the data to prove or tell us what the customer wants?
      6) Btw, can you tell exactly what are we trying to “show off” here? Are u talking about the Sweden test? The Sweden test was started since Waja days my dear friend! (wonder whose bodoh, sombong & syok sendiri now)
      7) How sure are you that if we do winter testing means, WE MUST or WE WILL sell the car in a winter country? This test got nothing to do with selling the car in europe or any winter country. It’s a validation/verication test for the ESP system (which is by BOSCH). Its not Proton’s fault if BOSCH’s testing facility is in Sweden. Trust me, Proton got nothing to do in asking BOSCH to create a testing facility in Sweden. :) Now tell me, whose bodoh sombong now?
      8) Do you have our capability and capacity figure to prove that we are running in excess?
      9) Do you have the details of the supposed VW partenership? U read the MOU or the agreement? So how’d you know who ask who?

“To be in a Perodua is to get KILLED”

Guess who shot himself in THE HEAD now?

Cheers!

• dukeKTM on Feb 24, 2011 at 10:54 am

Thumbs up for Si-Fu.. :)

• nak betah ngan si-fu.. kan sudah kenaa.. hahah

• Nizam80 on Feb 24, 2011 at 1:19 pm

Oh my goodness! So it’s true then. It’s a totally new engine block right, Sifu? Not Campro?

• Norman on Mar 05, 2011 at 12:57 pm

Well said si-fu..At least knock some cow sense into their head.Backward thinking minded people..

• SushiburgerX on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:53 am

New Engine block?? Aluminium Campro 2?? If possible drop the word ‘CAMPRO’ and replace with new name….CAMPRO got bad reps….

Thanks for all the news! :thumbs:

• Keatsan on Feb 24, 2011 at 10:37 am

Somehow, this is rather a good effort rather than nothing at all. A small step forward is a step forward nevertheless.

Without Proton existence they’ll be so many people who are using Proton cars beats it hate it or like it, they wouldn’t have a vehicle transportation at the first place.

• some add on from my view

i. It’s for Persona (yerp u all knew it already)…but there’s a sticker there that Paul miss stating “Persona”

ii. Like the roll cage (yeah just in case ESP failed and car turn turtle) :P

iii. Go go Proton

• kerelbort on Feb 24, 2011 at 12:37 pm

@si-fu will there be a car clinic for this model? can i join? hehehe…

something new from Proton and does not mean that it late to the game, the game will always be on, something bad in the past would improved in the future, that how ppl live, improving.

for those who still looking at the history without learning and forgiving is dead in the wood pile.

• wanna be R3 owner on Feb 24, 2011 at 2:02 pm

Wa caya sama lu si-fu….. Proton my pride.. T-Bolt, WAJA, SAGABLM and Coming soon….

• i rather have leather clad dashboard than leather seats like in sports car like mercedes amg or lotus evora, it will improve the looks of the interior without worry about the plastic quality, btw does any shop provide this service

• What sifu said is tiru,the stroke of campro is dif than cfe n also the displacement. Campro 1597cc, cfe 1561cc

• Support Perodua forever!!!Proton hell no!

• Wisdom on Feb 24, 2011 at 9:45 pm

And what’s that got to do with 5-things-in prototype?

• Tiadaid on Feb 24, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Yes, support Perodua forever so that the Japanese honchos can make fools out of you forever…

• Engineer on Feb 25, 2011 at 4:56 am

To a Engineer, testing something in a fridge when it is suppose to be used under the hot sun makes not sense.
    They just continue to do what they do best, going backwards…

• clutch basah on Feb 25, 2011 at 7:44 am

Ahaha..
      To “an” Engineer. You don’t think they will only sell in your kampung do you?
      Try to think big for a change.. typical backward mentality.
      Not sure what kind of engineer you are but they are international standards to follow when something is engineered.

• Si-Fu on Feb 25, 2011 at 12:43 pm

Dude,

Its either u got ur engineering cert/diploma/degree/masters/phd from under a cherry tree or u r not an engineer in the first place! Or you simply don’t understand automotive engineering!!! (Another case of “i know it all” syndrome). Btw its called “AN ENGINEER” not “A ENGINEER”….

Do u think that the 500++ engineers in Proton wouldn’t have figured that out? Thats why i said, in my previous comment this a validation/verification test for the mule (not even the prototype yet!). If u r really an engineer, you should know a test/verification/validation is done at its extreme condition. In this case the ESP. The best and easiest way you can simulate a condition where the ESP is needed is on ice. Same goes to ABS, EBD and TC. Because on ice, the vehicle loose its control and traction the easiest and fastest. If the ESP, ABS, EBD, and TC can work under this extreme conditions, thus it will work in any other conditions!

Btw, do u think, that the test that u see in this post is the only test we do??? (again i wonder where u got ur engineering qualification from…haihhh)

Generally, there are 3 types conditions that we test the vehicle in:

1) Extreme Cold (-30C to -40C) – It covers a huge range, from safety, material, durability,engine and etc
      2) Extreme Hot (40C to 50C) – doesn’t mean that there are no spy shots posted here in Paultan, we don’t do it!!! (the same goes, it covers a variety of test, starting, engine, material, durability, and etc)
      3) Normal conditions – (this is where the vehicle would be driven on normal road, with and without gradient, to accumulate km’s and the vehicle’s performance, durability, component’s durability, nvh, squeak & rattle and the list goes on would be evaluated)

What i mentioned above is under the category of dynamic vehicle testing, where the vehicle would be actually driven, tested, trashed and pushed to it’s limits. Then there’s the static vehicle testing, where most of it happens in our highly classified secret labs in Proton and also outside. This tests are basically done under controlled environment, where parameters like temp, humidity, force, load and so on is all pre determined. This tests usually provides us the baseline data for the dynamic tests.

There are tons more test that are done on a vehicle before its deemed ready for production. Its not as simple as taking someone else’s design, re-badging and claiming it, as their own!!!

Cheers!

• farghmee on Feb 25, 2011 at 5:59 pm

interesting & enlightening post by si-fu.

dun bother that “engineer”.
        maybe he/she is not in automotive field.
        or maybe he/she hasn’t got any BEM registration number? :P

• maybe he/she’s only proton basher who comes from Perodua showroom ..i guest.

• engineer pakai toyol masa exam kat uni mmg ini outcome nyer.hahahahaha

• johndoe on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:27 pm

to the so called self claimed Si-Fu or watever Fu that is….500++ engineers in proton?…really….wonder wat tht many r doin up till nw tht Proton is still using substandard parts that wouldn seem to last….i dont have to lie or BS….just go to any Proton car owners forum and see all the moaning and cursing there…

• Norman on Mar 05, 2011 at 1:04 pm

There’s bound to be sour grapes people especially to criticise National car maker.I got a friend working in Toyota setting up forum to bash Proton exclusively.About the problem in the past regarding power window etc its all about the vendor and nothing else.My Singaporean Uncle has been using the Persona since 2007 and still running strong till now with original parts replace for wear n tear.Even he is surprised..

To Proton congrats..Using ZF CVT is great as its reliable and durable.Most auto buses and trucks use ZF gearbox beside Voith from Germany.

• motorfen on Mar 25, 2011 at 9:12 pm

last year i spot this car around cyber with inspira ( before launch) its dem fast.. test drive but like org mabuk ahaha..

• SushiburgerX on Apr 21, 2011 at 11:56 am

All i want is the Proton Exora Turbo…will it be launch by July 2011??

• a samed on Jul 30, 2011 at 6:06 pm

july already..still no news..