Used car parts import ban deadline in June 2011 – is it still a green light or not?

Time flies, and we’re already in the year 2011. The Malaysian auto industry landscape has certainly been more interesting than it has ever been. There are now far more choices available to consumers who are looking to buy a car than ever before. Automotive technology is getting more accessible – VTEC and Turbo was one of the only few buzzwords that we used to have to deal with in the past, now we have direct injection, twin clutch transmissions, CVT, engine downsizing, hybrids, EVs, and etc.

So yes, we’re happy with what 2011 will bring us. Unfortunately there’s also something admittedly quite worrisome approaching – this particular paragraph in the NAP review released back in 2009:

III. Gradual Phase-out of Imported Used Parts and Components

Safety and environmental concerns rose from the practice of importing used parts and components without any restrictions or mandatory tests. The NAP Review is introducing a mechanism to prohibit imports of used parts and components, effective from June 2011.

We may be out of the loop when it comes to matters of government policy but as far as we know the government has been rather quiet since 2009 on how they are going to enforce this ban on imported used parts.

The used parts ban is undoubtedly good news for the official importers of parts here in Malaysia as if implemented properly, will definitely increase their sales as people will be forced to go for new parts. And new parts prices are pretty much unregulated. Parts sales contribute a good amount to car manufacturer coffers and they can be quite expensive.

But it’s a mixed situation for consumers. The government’s reasoning for this move are safety and environmental concerns, but it may just be yet another way to keep our new car sales TIV boosted. No doubt, new parts are usually under warranty and are generally safer than used parts, but raise your hand if under a stressed budget you’d rather go for a low mileage used part manufactured by the original component maker rather than a new “compatible” product?

Do you own an old car because you cannot afford something new and/or do not want to compromise with “downgrading” to a new car within your budget that doesn’t serve your wants or more importantly needs? Ask yourself, when your car breaks down – do you go for new parts or used parts? If you usually go for used parts in very good condition such as from the low mileage halfcuts from Japan, you’re in trouble.

Banning used parts would mean when your 2003-2008 Honda City’s CVT transmission fails, you won’t be able to source a very good condition low mileage used gearbox from a Honda Fit Aria halfcut from Japan. You will always have the option of buying new from Honda Malaysia, but you will no longer have the more affordable option. It’s a good thing my E39 has a manual gearbox now – I don’t need to worry much as it’s known to be quite robust.. As for my own Proton Perdana, its 4-speed auto gearbox is on its last legs of life now and I’m already making arrangements with my mechanic to replace it with a good condition used one before June rolls along.

There will of course be existing stock in the country, but that’s not going to last long. According to Mr Danny of Soon Loi Sdn Bhd in Cheras, their chop shop stock is about 80% from overseas imports and only about 20% from cars already in the country that are chopped locally. Soon Loi Sdn Bhd has been running since the 70s by the way, and suddenly their business will no longer be viable. Where will the families running the chop shops go and what will they do?

According to Mr CM Tan of Happy Auto Parts Sungai Besi, the business of a chop shop is not something easy to do. The relationship with the foreign supplier has to be built over a long time and this can take many many years, which explains why a lot of these chop shops that are surviving have been running for decades. Mr Tan says sometimes even when you come across good cars to be chopped, it doesn’t mean the foreign counterpart will sell them to you as another chop shop may want it as there are so many other chop shops not only in Malaysia but in other countries that will fight for these cars.

You also need a trained eye to judge what cars are good to be brought in as parts cars. These guys are in family businesses that can span a few generations and Mr Tan had an interesting analogy to describe the ban proposal, claiming it was similar to telling medical students who have given their life to training to become a doctor that suddenly they are banned from practicing medicine.

This business is their trade and it is what they do best and when the right is taken away from then, you don’t hear anyone offering assistance for them to migrate to another business like how Open AP holders have an “Entrepreneurship Fund” promised to them once the AP system ends.

To be honest I still don’t know if the ban will really happen in June.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• oldman on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:30 pm

Is this some kind of scheme of forcing people to buy new cars…?

• This is one of the way to protect our lovely proton

• clutch basah on Feb 28, 2011 at 7:23 am

It has nothing to do with proton la, the intention is to have safer roads and better environment. No more of those wira/wajalution and v-tec idiots menacing here an there. Less road accidents due to bad car parts. Maybe you’ll spend a bit more to maintain your car, but who says owning a car is cheap.

• mathir on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:28 am

nah…if the intention is really to have better spare part, safety blah blah blah, they should have banned ALL second hand spare parts, not just those imported. and they should probably have banned all cars above 10 years, banned cars without airbag or ABS…Did they? no they didnt. So dont say it for safety.

• THEY ARE JUST FINDING EXCUSE, BEFORE YOU WANT TO MAKE THE ROAD SAFER, PLEASE MAKE JPJ AND PUSPAKOM MORE RESPONSIBLE !

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:34 am

And thats what? how many percent caused by these improperly modified cars? And you mean brand new cars don’t have accidents? I saw a new BMW go off the road right in front of me, and I managed to not avoid the problem and also steer around him my 15 year old Satria (with plenty of old parts in it)….

And how would that still apply to the rest of the population that intend to keep our normal everyday cars on the road.

Owning a car is not cheap. But have you asked why its not cheap in the first place?

This is nothing but a ploy to get us to buy new cars, preferably from local marques and those from AP holders. Do you think the Government cares about the rice bowl of the chop shop owners? I would think (unfortunately) if the owners of chop shops were of a different ethnic group, the decision would have been different.

If the Government really cars about safety and the environment, there are plenty of things that can be done, like properly enforcing safety belt usege, limiting passengers to available seat belts, mandating proper child seat use, not allowing children to ride in the front seat unrestrained, mandating more airbags, Latch/ISOfix points, improving road conditions (and more importantly better road signage), better traffic management, cleaner fuel…etc etc.

There are 100’s of things they can do and implement (and enforce) before they get down to that list that said “We must elimitate 2nd spare parts for better safety” bullshit.

Remember, you always have the choice to use 2nd parts from new parts. Don’t take that choice from us. There are plenty of spare parts that have nothing to do with safety.

If the government wants us to buy more new cars, they can in no particular order;

1) remove taxes for local cars
          2) improve (or at least try to) service and safety of new Protons/Peroduas
          3) mandate better performance and efficiency of local cars (we all know that Proton’s non-CPS CAMPRO can be quite thirsty
          3) mandate loan interest rates for local cars to be the same
          4) mandate minimum safety levels (what you think a Viva or Saga rates very well in a crash?)

• to improve safety on the road its most efficient to ban these kopi-o license drivers off the road.

• kington on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:46 pm

Agreed.

It’s very obvious what the govt is trying to do here.

Boosting our economy, konon.

Unless the chop shops have decent margins for ALL or SOME to share, it’s not going to go well.

I have yet to be convinced, that the automotive policy is beneficial to Malaysians.

• clutch basah on Mar 01, 2011 at 7:20 am

4G63tDSM,

I think the real focus here are the drivers since they are physically/emotionally/mentally connected to the car they drive. Bad drivers with safer cars are better than bad drivers with rust bucket right?

• gaman on Mar 24, 2011 at 11:30 am

both are bad also dude..when driving should have respect to other road user..

• Stupid Policy Makers. Lets go the VOTE!!! Change!

• BRO, WHEN YOU RUNNING OUT OF SOURCE TO GET CHEAP SPARE PARTS FROM JAPAN , THEN AT THE END, YOU WILL FORCE TO BUY PROTON LO~

• cari makan only on Feb 28, 2011 at 7:17 pm

Hello clutch basah, you said

“the intention is to have safer roads and better environment”

This coconut “NAP review” was suggessted by MITI and announced in 2009 budget. My question is, since when “safer roads and better environment” under the purviewed of MITI?

• clutch basah on Mar 01, 2011 at 7:14 am

Don’t think I have to explain myself. Politics aside I think you are educated enough to see the point here, if you choose to look at things positively that is.

• cari makan only on Mar 01, 2011 at 10:41 pm

That is the point. It is all Politics only, nothing but politics.

• This is definitely one way to make the rich richer an the poor poorer…they can’t do this laaaa..they’re many malaysians who drives datsuns and old cars…lets not make comparison wih singapore..average malaysian salary is no where near singapore..many malaysian are struggle to pay the 9 years tenure of car loan..i think PM’s ambition of making Malaysia a high income nation will not become true..what is the meaning of high income nation everything in the country is expensive and beyond most of the citizens income? just think of how banning used car parts would affect most malaysian..probably it give bad impact even to our economy as when used car parts no longer available in the country, malaysian who seek used part would travel to neighbouring country as it is much cheaper than buying new one..

• littlefire on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:36 pm

Paul… Have heard that there is ‘lubang’ when the parts come in.. ‘They’ will claim the parts as scrap metal.. This is what i heard from some chop shop guy.. They said that the parts will still can come it, but the price for sure will jump up even terror as need $$$ to kautim some ‘guys’.. Malaysia BOLEH!!!

This is the first step the G want to force us to buy new cars as those old cars will not be able to maintain cheaply.. I think in the end, those who suffer are those living in rural areas as i still saw a lot of those old merc, volvo & even datsun still drive around..

• Scrap metal imported to China has to be shredded into small pieces…

Possibly the gov will copy China’s import regulations for imported metal scrap? ;)

• somebody on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:36 pm

Lubang??..kautim some guys?..OK then u will says G are corrupt?????…your idea will drive this country to be like Egypt..

• littlefire on Feb 28, 2011 at 2:34 pm

This way the G officers will make more money from the chop shop guys, coz can earn more extra income.. Dont u get it? Its about the money going in their coffers, opps is pocket..

• wat do u feel if u r Gov officer n unknown people here claiming u doing RASUAH but u not…(i assume u accuse all G officer..u not mention the name of that G officer plus u add “s” there)..i have friends who will kutuk big fry doing bribery but when i say about him kene tahan coz speeding..and he say “i paid the police traffic RM50 so lepas la”…. wat???

if u know any gov servent or any people do bribery please n i say please contact

http://www.sprm.gov.my/

• littlefire on Feb 28, 2011 at 5:28 pm

If report it, even less spare parts can come in… So in the end who will suffer more? Besides that, u also need prove to do it. This is just mearly mouth to ear conversation.. I also dont what what guy they ‘kautim’ but i know for sure some G officer will need to be ‘kautim’ to bring in the ‘parts’ later.. Do u know that even the half-cuts can go to sales first, but their kastam form can only get after a few weeks or months later? Why? Just think about it..

• IF EVERYTHING WE DO IN MALAYSIA ALSO NEED TO FINDING “LUBANG”, THEN I WILL FIND A LUBANG TO LEAVE THIS COUNTRY ALREADY.

• http://www.facebook.com/pages/Can-you-survive-without-used-auto-parts-Malaysia/125062144229618

• tranformer on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:45 pm

i will stay use my 16yrs old nissan until spare runs out…. coz i dun want buy cars to feed cronies & their future gens….

• gaman on Mar 24, 2011 at 11:36 am

i will still drive my 20year old mitsu, for the same reason as u dude.

• nabill on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:46 pm

elections coming pretty soon…so be prepared for alot of lip service in the coming mnths form G to make ppl feel good…..

we all know deep down thy will NOT do it…thy wont get ANYTHING done….thy know it we know it….

• wuzere on Feb 27, 2011 at 11:49 pm

now vtec and evo enthusiast got headache,
    cannot go praaang!

offtopic: toyota got another recall? yet toyota malaysia is always perfect, sigh

• Prices are going up at the chop shops now. Sourced a 4G93t for a ‘ridiculous’ price. Paid 5 figure for it.

• crap
    i need to replace my suzuki vitara’s dashboard
    and its engine came from a very reliable potong shop who sourced a limited edition 180sx sileighty

no wonder i never registered to vote in GE
    hahahaha

• WTF – What The FUNNY! yeah, very funny!

• mdfarizal on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:21 am

it will killed motosport activities in Malaysia…it not all used part are not safety and not environment frieldy…yes used tyres are not save, but how about if ur alternator fall? do you want brand new parts from China? how about if you choose for used part from japan OEM? is it un safety? or it will be polluted our air or water?

• Amin GmbH on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:18 pm

exactly, imported goods are the highest quality from European, US, Japan and Canada because some them are hand made. the rest are made automated and accounted for recalls later on.

• LE buruk on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:26 am

s**t…..just planned to convert my LE to 4AGE… I’m voting for PAS in next GE….

• littlefire on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:36 am

Still affortable nowadays for Toyota half-cut… As a lot of new parts for 4A-GE is still available, affortable (Thailand made) and consider durable.. I said u should go for it ASAP before it ends! Already converted AE111 4A-GE blacktop + 6 speed member here!

• gellardo on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:44 am

wah…i really dont know that PAS can supply us the imported parts…..

now i know why they collect a money for most of every activities they’ve organized.

• perhaps another U-Turn by the govt if too much noise and protest from the grd? :D

• This particular government, is very well known for doing not just “U” turn but also “Roundabout” turn. Flip-flop government. Yes, no, yes, no, jadi, tak jadi, jadi, tak jadi…

• drMpower on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:32 am

i’ll go one better
    i will tabled and pass a law about the acceptable sound degree
    how much decibel permitted of which not hazardous to public
    how much lumen of the headlamps of which not pose any problem to other road users
    and to those who cant agree on me about these
    i will lock them up for a thousand years
    nevermind i might end up like gaddafi or mubarak
    dont care

as for this piece of news
    it has been said that the committee will be reviewing a mechanism to prohibit any of the import of the parts

itula
    people ask to check your car, ask permission to use all those parts
    u people dont want to and start running illegally act like kings and pharaohs
    now that will be ban forever
    and that mean problem to those who really IN NEED of the parts
    those people who really need the parts now can start blaming the people who misuse the system
    ok enough of the blame game
    now the solution

i believe the gomen are not that cruel
    or else they will lose erection big time
    ban the import parts they MAY or WILL but
    they will introduce something like formal ways for the people who really in need of the parts to get them
    the thing is they might be need to undergo thorough check ups on the parts/ vehicles the parts to be assemble to

which means praaang people will all die
    all those waja lution/ mivi pASSot/ etc etc also will die
    the roads will be much better
    and the needy people get their parts

sounds a good solution for me
    go on BAN the import parts.

ps- if u are responsible people, u wont go bash me on this. i am no gomen dogs. i just want the road to be as as safest as it can. and if that includes no more vtec/turbo hogging around, so let it be. get the import parts to those who are REALLY IN NEED of THEM

• ibex7 on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:47 am

U’ll be fine because u’re god damn filthy rich! Not all people are rich to buy original parts. The way to correct this situation is by educating people what’s good & bad for them n let them decide. Banning is just another reason to have more smuggling or whatever method that is appropriate..

• Emmert on Feb 28, 2011 at 2:11 am

lol… educating people? did any of you guys learn? if love to praannggg then praaangg will be… one 1 people can educate this type of people, and correct if i wrong…. the one and only people in your entire freaking life that can only stopping for praaaangg’ers stop prraaanngg’ing is not the Govt, not ur parent, not ur friends, not ur bosses, but ur wife… so, why bother wasting taxpayer money try to educate? and one more thing, the best way to stop all of this is get right to the sources, which is the chop shop industries itself. Puspakom? hissshh… i even saw kancil with 1.3l engine mounted with puspakom approval letter. talking about are you afford or not… i tell you, i have a Opel Frontera, a Proton Iswara, a Perodua Kancil and a Gen2, while my basic salary is just below 2k. i have a happy life, i have a happy family, i’ve provide all my needs for my family. Use your money for the thing that necessary and stop paying for pleasures. drMpower, i’ll back you up~!

• ibex7 on Feb 28, 2011 at 2:51 pm

I never say about using taxpayers money to educate people. The education process can be done my the mechanics of the workshop itself to the customers. At the end of the day, the customers decide which is best for them. That was what i meant to say.

• You own 4 cars with only a 2k basic? Wow.. You must be really old for you to have saved up that much. Do you still live with your parents?

• Emmert on Feb 28, 2011 at 5:45 pm

nope… i already married with 2 kids, and im living in puchong

• Basic <2k per month to pay house loan, 4 cars' loan, a wife and 2 kids?
            If average evenly, housing loan, car loan, each head count only able to have <RM250 per month, wow… u plan ur finance very well !!!

Kindly share how do u manage it, u doing this in great job..

• dickybird on Mar 01, 2011 at 12:12 pm

side business? or side income? maybe his wife earns more than him? all i know is puchong is expensive place to live now, jam everywhere, toll must to go in and out. 2k aint nowhere near enough even for 1 bachelor let alone a family man with old cars to take care of too. sounds too good to be true.

• Emmert says:
          28/2/2011 at 2:11 am

This is the best piece of crap I have heard in my life.

Basic salary below RM2k and yet can still own (and maintain) a fleet of 4 cars. You must be selling “sayur” as part time eh? You know what type of “sayur kering” I’m referring too.

Just tell the truth brother, your car is actually that aged old kancil (which was bought by your papa and pass it down to you), that Opel belongs to your papa, that Gen.2 your mama, and that Iswara belongs to your granny. Owh yeah, you even share that Kancil with your siblings.

Owh yeah, you’re still staying with your parents. So start working hard as you need to leave as soon as possible too (with your kancil of course).

• focus tdci on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:41 pm

this from the guys celebrating the imminent launch of the exora turbo?! LOL. v laughable! but sadly pathetic! you want safe roads, yes by all means educate the road users and the kids, ENFORCE the law to the letter and NO MORE DISCOUNTS! GET RID OF ALL THOSE P1 AND P2 SCRAP OFF THE ROAD! if cars are gonna be expensive then let them be overspecced coz of safety! otherwise, this nothing more than a ploy to force people to scrap their old faithfuls for a locally made scrap.
      and yes, where the help for all these mainly chinese chop shop operators who have been doing this kind of dirty work and paying taxes? the ap kings have their socalled transition fund, why cannot help these chop shop people?

• CarrolSuarez on Mar 01, 2011 at 1:23 am

Yes, the current G lost big time.. Selangor, Kedah, Perak (before they used money to get it back) and Penang.

BIG TIME.

• Paul,

Ask these half-cut chop shops ask from BN government to protect their business. We was screwed up for last 26 years just to support moronic car prices like Malaysia’s. Please do something to protect these businesses and US, poor rakyat.

Buying INFLATED HIGH PRICE CARS mean we’re penalty with high insurance too. Just because some of Malaysians can afford expensive cars doesn’t mean we should buy new car ONLY.

They have no heart and merely use safety as a reason.

• MCdog on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:08 am

MITI’s small kaki > MCA taikor Chua
      http://www.mca.org.my/en/used-parts-dealers-to-discuss-list-of-banned-items-with-miti/

• NAP.

G want to make NAP more attractive.
    to do that, what u all think u should do..

restriction less policy, and tax.. will resulting to low price.

That what the G want to do, ban used auto part import, implement 15yrs old scrap policy, (back in 99, remember?)

but, the domino effect will itself do it, who wanna maintain old car, or buy used car when new one is cheaper, then nobody buy used part, then no more cut shop,…. , then and then..

That what G want to do, kick start the domino effect, before it start it-self.

Just my thought.

• Poor Malaysian on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:47 am

Do you all know why ban Used car part import ban? because now G had no money and our G head also can’t control leg & hand G, that’s why all G dept think very stupid idea to eat money…. You all think if used car part import ban then we have to buy new part and from there G TAX income will be more and more addition this situation is force ppl buy new car from STUPID PROTON or PERODUA. G ! do you think our rakyat so many pocket money as you ???? The car in Malaysia even local stupid proton is much much expensive then other country!!! G !!! Don’t think we will vote for you !!!!

• Archer on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:44 am

If this policy was meant to cause owners of old cars to buy new, then they going about it the wrong way. Why no one ask, for what reason the bank loan interest rates for locally produced cars are higher than imported cars? How come this bank policy considered encouraging car owners to buy local?

How come government don’t provide rebates or incentives for all cars above 10 years old to be scrapped like other governments do, why just give subsidy for petrol & diesel but screw us with high taxes and bank loan interest rates when buying new cars?

Reduce or remove all taxes on all cars, provide incentives to old car owners to upgrade to new not just for Proton or Perodua but all makes and models including motor bikes.

New vehicles that are producing more Co2 should be taxed differently than those that are environmentally friendly, not just reduce taxes on battery powered or hybrid cars but all types of vehicles. There are many ways to improve the NAP but I think this BN government has ulterior motives to support the AP holding cronies when it comes to formulating the NAP instead of looking at the good of the rakyat or environment.

• Dr. M on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:54 am

The fact is we all know who are those in the business of Imported Used Parts and Components. So please don’t take away these people’s rice bowl.

At least, implement to abolish Approved Permit (AP) first, before Used Parts and Components!!!!

Please support. Thank you.

• Emmert on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:58 am

i think you guys are pathetic~! think the +ve side.. improve our motorsport? bla bla bla… dont blame the G for banning the chopped parts. the G is trying to save ur pathetic ass. i see a lot of malaysians love to drive their H’s and M’s and T’s without concern about their safety issues. dont believe me? go and take a look around. lots of accidents caused by motorhead that mod without concern about safety and stability. Then, about the hard to look parts for some rare cars. i owned a Opel Frontera 2.2, trust me… the parts is freaking hard to find. even for a chopped parts. NONE~! but, thats the beauty. enthusiasm for a car. to make it perfect.dont think if someone does something that is not right for you, doesn’t meant it not good for you.
    so, stop buying junk that others people thrown away~! because of crazy modding chop shop parts, i’ve lost 12 of my friends in a car accident… so, think carefully…..

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:05 am

Yes,that is quite true,all those half cut cars will not be save,I think there should be an alternative solution,maybe importing only the good condition parts.

• squawk on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:45 pm

If half cut cars aren’t safe then the US will have a higher accident rate than us since they allow half cut cars (or kereta sambung) on the road.

• Emmert on Feb 28, 2011 at 5:46 pm

yeah~! but have you ever watching how did they to their work? compared to malaysian @ asians… cincai cincai sajalaa..

• squawk on Mar 01, 2011 at 10:17 am

That is another issue. Have you seen how Malaysian drivers drive? Cincai cincai also what. So how? Ban driving?

• hola

if possible, do show me statistics that show majority of accidents that happen in Malaysia IS actually due to cars which are using chop shop parts

what MAY happen from this ban is that some people will continue using their cars, squeezing each gram of life out of their parts until they fail, instead of replacing them earlier with more affordable parts, thus creating other problems, mebbe

Cheers!

• gaman on Mar 24, 2011 at 12:00 pm

so u thinks other car/japan car (specially the old school) owner didnt have the entusiasm in their car?..you’re thinking their car part are easy to find?..u are moron dude..they also want their ride to be perfect..

• i dont want other people parts

• Emmert on Feb 28, 2011 at 2:13 am

yeah~!
      mayb some dude already dead in the car…. then the ‘suey’ will haunted you too~!

• Dr. M on Feb 28, 2011 at 3:28 am

Not finding your spare part in Chop Shop doesn’t mean it is the right decision to close this business!

It’s OK to get replacement parts: simple motors like used air-cond compressor and body parts like windscreen, body panels, lights etc. The risk is when some choose to improve or replace their SAFETY parts like changing to better brake system (brake pump, pad, rotor etc.).

Perhaps, government should think a way to allow only certain Used Components and Parts instead of completely removing this business. A body can be set up to screen out non-conforming items.

Still, there are many other workers in every single Chop Shop! It is everybody’s responsible to keep each other surviving with jobs. We should not be selfish, should we?

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:55 pm

Even safety parts sometimes will benefit from inferior safety parts installed on production cars, as per your example of brakes…..

Just look at the brakes on our Wira (1.3/1.5) and the Myvi etc… what kind of lame excuse you call them for brakes.

I re-did my brakes on my Wira 1.5 with better 1.6 (lancer 1.8L) components, but with new parts like disc rotors and pads, but 2nd hand calipers and booster/master cyc (which were serviced properly before installed). I used to work on cars during my college days so these are routine jobs.

World of difference. I only regret not re-doing them sooner.

There is a difference between blindly modifying (any) system from knowing what you are doing. Does it mean I should suffer the same fate of living with poor brakes which may one day cause an accident because I can’t get better used components?

I understand that there are people blindly modifying parts for use (ie. cutting springs etc) but then again, what about the rest of us?

• Not old or new on Feb 28, 2011 at 4:37 am

used parts from japan are recondition to use back safely. nobody wants to use parts that already rosak broken la or buying gearbox/engine/suspension used that can cause accidents?

only idiots do they cut suspension springs to lower they cars..the springs from their original car ,cut chassis,change the position of the engine mounting or they join back the whole car back together from chop shop..welded back that is dangerous…

• squawk on Feb 28, 2011 at 3:22 pm

If you watched Overhaulin’ you’ll have noticed they’ve done all that except cut springs.

• squawk on Feb 28, 2011 at 3:34 pm

IIRC, even UK allows accident cars back on the road. It’s cheap to buy a written-off car and get it re-done to running condition.

• 101010 on Feb 28, 2011 at 5:18 am

High price, no aftermarket parts, automotive industry dies
    Lower price, no aftermarket parts, automotive industry still dies in the soul. whole world moving on with better luxury and malaysia becomes a dronish stupid backward country
    Lower price, 15 years scrap car, no aftermarket parts, automotive industry still dies and we end up spending too much money on a new car, economy screws up and end up like Singapore.

Lower price, 15 years scrap car plan with conditions to allow continuation, with aftermarket parts, automotive industry stands a chance to go the next stage in evolution.

• When the bill of 15 years scrap cars is not implemented, now the gov want to implement banning of used parts. What a shame.

• clutch basah on Feb 28, 2011 at 7:39 am

Not an issue since I never keep my car too long and never buy used ones. Car maintenance costs thus learn how to live within your means and don’t fall in love with it, if you do they gonna be like mistresses that will rob you blind.

• Mate, why are you on paultan if you don’t love cars?

• clutch basah on Mar 01, 2011 at 8:37 am

Love automotive in general, not any car in particular. I like my car and we just physically bonded no more than that.. and I drive a good car at the moment.
        I’m not like some idiots who polishes their car tyres at 3am in the morning.
        Love my family though.. B)

• Pls don’t put any obstacles on imported used parts, unless you are willing to cut down the taxes. We are still not there yet. Rumah mahal, kete mahal. Mapuh kerah laa gini. Takpun .. ban on parts > than 15-20 years old.. then okla to consider.

• I will support this ban IF and ONLY IF the following is first implemented:-

1) Abolish AP
    2) Cut Sales tax / No more duty on cars and its parts
    3) Reduce BLR
    4) Better fuel

Basically, reduce the cost to buy new parts/cars to compensate the ban on used parts….

• Amin GmbH on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:28 am

so now, the NAP intention on Proton to substitute with original Mitsubishi parts (high import duties, not even tax benefits) could be in disguised of testing/rating agencies’ requirement. Proton should have patented its parts then after passing the probationary phase. the policy should state specifically whether the clause applies only to imported cars.

of course, servicing cars are important but not all customers are up to the fine-tuning standard which means imported original parts are sustainable and long lasting. who can barely wait 2-3 days even to undent and paint car’s walling? another question arises whether standard on build as CBU and CKD should be on par. just tell the governing bodies to use more technical terms to imply they are very serious about the policy

• captain_gaban on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:40 am

aiyahh…just about thiniking to have a recond RB1…but if this is the case..have to switch to overprice stream/wish loh…

• VoiCe of Ppl on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:41 am

if this cuuent G gets too creative, the only thing left to do is to make sure your vote goes to the next G who really listen to the ppl… we r already suffering from ridiculous high priced cars, some more want to ban this ban that… current G, we put u in power, we certainly can put u out of power…. enuf of the sucking from the ppl… make real meaningful decisions now…. enuf is enuf.

we, the ppl of this country will hv the last say, mind u….

• People deserved this since most of us too selfish and we condone bribery in many ways, petty or not.

When they get caught by enforcement officer, they give money. No giver no taker. We, Malaysians has short term memory, Malays forget easily.

• Shaycoat on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:47 am

I agreed with some of the posters in the issue of eliminating used-part of cars from overseas. G needs to re-vamp their ruling policy such as, reduced tax, regulate the house price and many more. Rakyat has already suffered from these high-taxed price of cars, please dont make rakyat suffers more

• Fritz on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:49 am

If I am not mistaken, there is a news from TheStar newspaper weeks or months ago, the used car parts dealers proposed to the government to ban the import of parts gradually by limiting certain parts and this year will start with steering and suspension used parts.

Did not know about the outcome but I guess government will not just completely stop all used parts from importing into our country as this will cause a huge amount of Malaysian to lose their jobs.

• Emmert,

I never bought any used parts in my life because no need for me to do so as l bought new cars so far BUT to assume everyone like us in this auto-crazy country just next to Singapore when it comes to car pricing is simply heartless.

A Kelisa power window easily can cost you RM480 when l asked in 2008 (not working after 6 good years; pretty unusual according to most friends), chop shop can give you far lesser than the brand new parts. This is a big deal for most of oppressed Malaysians given the cool system of Malaysia.

If government really serious make it ISOFIX compulsory and standard item in new vehicle, cheap or expensive.

Country like Malaysia made billions from traffic offense and hardly can imagine if everybody follow the rule, big setback to national coffer l guess.

NEVER ever thinking of Ah Beng when it comes to chop shop’s parts, many rely on them, especially the businesses.

IF you think no point of buying used decent part THEN if you sane SIMPLY STOP AP to AP owners, a massive no point of having hundred thousand RM for 1-6 year old used normal car but PRAISED as luxury car by millions of Malaysians though the price is never justified in the Western countries.

AP business is cancer of nation if not liberated and everyone deserved to have open AP for once in his/her life.

KUDOS Paul Tan, l knew you can afford a brand new car(s) BUT you have had contributed massively to make Malaysians understand their right. Even world highest car price country Singapore adjusted their car prices tremendously, in 1991 Corolla about S$100,000+ now merely S$86,000. WE? Otherwise, even heading further north instead.

1Malaysia.

• Emmert on Mar 01, 2011 at 4:07 am

Karl,

i didnt said that the whole chop shop industries is all cons and none pros. look at the good side of the industries itself. malaysian car industries for me is like a plague, a syndrome, a cancer that slowly eat up the whole industries. yeah, dont put the blame to the BN govt. if all paulrians talking about parts like body parts, exterior and interior parts yeah, even myself give my all acknowledgement to the industries. but we’re talking about unnecessary parts. i mean the necessity parts is good. but not to boost up, cranked up engine parts. if want to go fast, buy a really fast car, not moddy a B or C segment car. darn, that is a family car for god sake~! so, please spare the other life. yesterday i watching 3 student died in a car accident caused by other people. it so sad. it makes me wonder how fragile a life was. anyway, i’ll support anything that the govt will do. because to me, everything that happen will have it own reasons… its a karma, its qada & qadar. so guys, maybe this is the time that we can look, act differently to the car industries…

im just a pair of eyes watching..

emmert..

• Gaddafi Mubarak ben Ali leadership on Feb 28, 2011 at 9:34 am

Government is so moronic if they dare to think about 15 years scrap. Our crazy system forced us to pay 9 good years for most loans, only to find after 6 years when the loan servicing is finished, you going to dumb your car(s).

The rakyat even more stupid if they condone this. No thanks to dictatorship in automotive policy.

• Kevin on Feb 28, 2011 at 9:35 am

Make cars affordable, and no one will be running a 20yr old piece of metal on the road…
    and no one will treat halfcut parts as gold… people turn to halfcut because it is more affordable, not because they dont like brand new parts..
    check singapore, they have a lot of halfcut shops, but i believe they are chopping local cars, and exporting them instead of sending the parts back to the road..

• Johnny on Feb 28, 2011 at 9:42 am

Yeah. Close down all the chop shop business. No more stolen cars. No more being ripoff for crappy parts. No more boy racer road menace. Safer parts, safer cars, safer everyone.

• nadzri m yusof on Feb 28, 2011 at 9:56 am

Positive move as a developed nation we no longer dumping ground. We welcome healthy nation with quality environment, junk parts polluted. Think positive junk operator come on you can do it.

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:47 am

Malaysia a developed nation? Are you posting from the future?

The way I see it, we are at least another 40 years away (if we even get there the way we are headed)… I would probably not live to see it.

Just take a look at the Per-capita income. Thats pathetic…especially we are what? 9 years from 2020??

This is another indication that the guys up top have absolutely no idea what happens down here (or worst, don’t care) as long as we fill thier pockets with our hard earned money.

• nadzri m yusof on Feb 28, 2011 at 5:20 pm

Sorry Bro 4G63tDSM,

Should be read Malaysia towards developed nation…….

• GreenFuel on Feb 28, 2011 at 9:59 am

We will see a lot of car stolen in Malaysia for the parts. And the new spare parts price will rise sky high, especially those imitation parts from China, which is more dangerous than those used parts. At the same time, our Government need to focus more on the quality (most of the owner of Myvi and Viva need to change their power windows switch, and there is no recall, Malaysia boleh!!), price of the original parts, and the availabilities of the parts. Sadly is very hard to get original parts, unless you send your car to their service centre.

• littlefire on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:09 am

Eh, i dont recall my friends myvi got power window switch problem.. What i know Kelisa now kena a lot of the driver main power window switch panel will drop/break off due to the louzy plastic quality only after around 10 years..

• GreenFuel on Feb 28, 2011 at 2:39 pm

A few of my friend who own a viva or myvi had change their main power window switch while the car is still under warranty. A few of the viva owner had change their engine mounting under the warranty. What I want to stress here is the quality of the original parts for our local car is not consistent. I ever encounter spoil original part, after install it the condition become worst, and the parts cost double of 3rd party parts. Not to say that there is full of imitation parts in the market.

• littlefire on Feb 28, 2011 at 5:21 pm

Maybe what u said is imitation of original parts.. That 1 i believe.. As most of my friends they usually change to Daihatsu ori parts which can be bought at a higher price.. Usually the service center u can make a deal with them like change perodua part to Daihatsu with added charges. I would like to say it does last longer then those locally made..

• Tak suka BN on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:02 am

Nice info prediction from paul!!! But why paul want to choose honda city CVT gearbox as a example??? I own this model and the way paul trying to describe is the CVT of city gearbox somehow will need replacement one day,it shattered my confident with this car and knew i will need replacement soon!

• ksthong on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:48 am

you are right…Honda City 2003 – 2008 is famous for their CVT problems, especially if u like to play around with it’s +/- function…go ask your Honda service center, they acknowlegde it…

P/S: Didnt you notice the latest Jazz / City is just using normal auto transmission??

• Wisdom on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:54 am

Your cvt is as good as other autobox. Those with kong’ed cvt was just a bunch of boyracer who always floor the pedal like theres no tomorrow. Now all manufacturer has shifted to cvt (nissan sylphy, xtrail, toyota altis, Mitsubishi lancer, even Proton will come with cvt exora). Its a proven tech. Just drive sanely and follow the maintenance guideline. It should last lifetime of the car.

• Mike g on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:09 pm

As sane driving as you can go .. I know of a old couple with Idsi CVT, gearbox also give way at 125k mileage …

• Mike g on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:59 am

Well… for a fact Honda CVT gearbox new is RM28K!!!! Re-con one is RM3K. It happen to me, I sold my honda City, it broke down at 70k mileage, even though I follow the service according to the booklet …

• Wisdom on Mar 03, 2011 at 9:04 am

Are u sure?

Mine clocking 150K plus still as good as new how come?

• Exedy on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:13 am

hurm…gov. please reduce tax for new car…that is…honda city at rm60,000, proton persona at rm 38,000

• artworkz on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:20 am

Gov can ban as long as gov willing give cheaper tax on new car.

• bobdbilder on Feb 28, 2011 at 10:51 am

This is what happens when there is not enough technical people in the ministry. Instead of taking active measures on safety and its enforcement, they put a blanket ban of such items. There is no way for anyone in this country to say that by usage of used parts, your car is unsafe. Nobody does an NDT test on these items when it is imported. A Non Destructive Test would reveal cracks and signs of fatigue.

They don’t do this coz there is no standard on this. They don’t do the standards coz they don’t have the technical expertise. They don’t have the expertize coz they don’t do human development. Nor does JPJ is an appealing organization for good engineers.

Its not just this issue. The pending Green initiative to have electric vehicles on our road was supposed to be tabled in early February. Now it remains in limbo. Right when the world’s Oil Price has shot up in tandem with Coal. It signals a lack of coordination and alignment of policies.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:59 am

When you mention about green technology, it makes me remember about the electric kapchai by Modenas which was supposed to be launched last August but until now there’s still no updates regarding that. I think it is due to the government’s flip-flop that had delayed the launched for so long. The electric kapchai is supposed to be ready for production, but there was an issue regarding on registration of electric vehicles, whether there is a need to have an engine number for the electric motor.

• Wisdom on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:29 am

Ban the chop shop?

Negative
    -More car will be stolen for parts (domestically)
    -Chopshop organisation (boss, kuli) will close and loss income
    -No cheaper alternative parts for consumer
    -Older cars will be scrapped/ render useless
    -G will loss popularity
    -2nd hand car shop will slowly out of business
    -Under tree mechanic will also affected
    -Public will be forced to buy new cars

Positive
    -No more junk parts import (not all 2nd parts are good)
    -Lower car stolen rate in the supplying country (eg.Japan, SG)
    -No more high performance oldcars on the road (might be safer for the public)
    -Newcar sales increase (especially the lower end; viva, myvi, saga persona)
    -More new car on the road, technically safer road for public.
    -Less junk thrown, safer environment
    -Public will be forced to used their oem parts longer

More or less, the good and the bad of this ban is just equal. It depends on individual.

For typical petrolhead like us, we will oppose this action as we no longer can buy cheap high performance parts/engine to feed our interest. We will reason that those chopshop organisation will loss work etc. but if we loss our work, will we just sit down/ suicide? life must go on.

The rate of car stealing might increase. But bear in mind that before this, some of those cars might also being stolen by these chopshop. Hence the rate might be the same before or after the ban.

On the bright side, people will be forced to buy new cars. There will be less old cars on the road. Technically it should translate to safer road. But how much of the accident rate was due to technical problem? Wasnt it more on the driver’s attitude?

• KelisaOwner on Feb 28, 2011 at 11:38 am

I changed my manual gear box to auto years back after moving to KL. I cost me RM 1800 using used part from Japan. Still running like a mad dog after 3 years.

Please consider the poor while implementing policies. Not everyone can afford a new car / new parts in this 3rd world country !

• KL Stray Cat on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Motor Trader magazine will be thinner since the back pages will be obsolete :-)
    Save the environment as well….hahahaa

• vw_fan on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:14 pm

The government will be crazy to implement this.

1. Not every spare part can be bought new for every car

2. Used parts are not equivalent to being low quality. In fact some new parts have poorer quality.

3. New drivetrain parts can be too expensive and outside of the range of what regular people can pay. New auto gearboxes for example can easily cost RM20-RM40k, which can be 50% to 100% of the value of your car. Fixing them also is not a great option due to reliability and they cost thousands too. So anyone with an older car and a broken autogear box is screwed.

4. Even in Japan people can go to a chop shop and buy parts. So this is not a third world country practice.

5. I would believe that most accidents here are caused by moronic drivers and lack of training from our beloved driving schools.

Ada udang di sebalik batu…..

• somebody on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:32 pm

green light for me if all the parts are in excellent condition with affordable price with this im ok if no more chop shop around..

• squawk on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:39 pm

Why does our government have a problem with used parts when UK, US, Japan, Korea govts don’t?

Is buying new parts more environment friendly than recycling a good used part?

• somebody on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:45 pm

i think G wants us to use public transport..

• droll on Feb 28, 2011 at 12:45 pm

folks, it’s plain obvious. this isn’t about safety. the real upside to this is increased sales of cars to boost the economy.

case in point: i give you the best car in the world (in safety) and you can still kill yourself or people around you.

• squawk on Feb 28, 2011 at 3:29 pm

If the tactic is to boost new car sales then I see one major flaw – the affordability factor for the chap who has to drive an old car because he can’t even afford a basic low spec P1 or P2.

Maybe the govt would rather see this chap ferry himself and his family of 5 on 1 kapchai.

• if the G-man do think about safty for us… easy open the Automotive market, made it a free market not control market. ie a new car 100K vs grey import RM90k… let the ppl chose.

or tell ppl what is call a safe bike helmet, not a helmet w/ SIRIM is confirm safe.

• V_power on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:17 pm

Things are looking pretty bad in the local car industry at the moment.

And imposing a ban on imported parts (if it ever materialises in June) will only add fuel to the raging fires of discontent from hardworking-and-passionate-car owners in our country.

Yes…I do rely on chop shops because obviously there’s a very remote chance for me to get hold of a genuine part for my beloved Honda that is nearly 20 years old. However, I do take offence with some of the comments from people who support the ban, with the unwavering logic and deduction that such a move will inevitably reduce the praaang (vtec/turbo/mivec) menace, as they so nicely put it. Does that imply that those who drive unmodified and sensible cars are NOT hooligans on the road? To my knowledge, these praaang cars have better brakes, uprated suspension set-ups, and grippier tyres and are much, much SAFER than your average straight off the assembly line models. And, not all modded car owners drive like maniacs, in fact most derive greater satisfaction driving leisurely…

The REAL menace for me, are those reckless and dangerous drivers who drive without any thought for the safety of other road users…whatever they drive.

However, if the ban does go ahead in a few months time it will mean us blue-collar and hardworking Malaysians will be the ones to ponder our future. Price of genuine parts (even if one is available for ageing cars) will cost an arm and a leg and beyond the reach of most Malaysians. Sadly, second-hand car dealers ALL over Malaysia will inevitably gulung tikar…all because decisions have been made behind closed doors…without consulting the ones who would be affected the most…the rakyat.

So with all the things that can quickly go south…the G needs to think really, really carefully about the matter…not least, for the sake of the rakyat.

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Good call.

Infact, many of these properly modified cars have much better active safety to allow us to avoid getting in an accident in the first place. On top of that, most enthusiats are often better drivers.

Not everyone that modify thier cars drive like madmen. The aforementioned Wira that I had the brakejob done was for my Wife. She doesn’t drive like a mad women but still can appreciate a car that would stop better.

You can literally have a stock car with completely worn out tyres on the road…. an accident waiting to happen.

• kenot on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:26 pm

i dont agree if the G ban the used sparepart totally. A reason? some of the dealers sell fake car part but claim it was original part. Then how it become safety reason??

• halaluyah on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:36 pm

To My beloved Mr. G,

Go ahead with this plan…

to those who wanna change the govt coz of banning potong parts…keep on trying

• skyblue on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:39 pm

We still need chop shop to source for cheaper parts. These parts could be even better quality and safer as they are original parts.

The Cost of living in Malaysia is already sky high… why burden the rakyat more? Please la, let the rakyat survive with cheaper parts …

BN = barang naik… / banyak naik..

Also if Govt wants to close the chop shop, then provide some assistance to employees… After all Govt is helping the super RICH, AP holders… People deserve a chance to earn a living …

• Izhar on Feb 28, 2011 at 1:54 pm

motorsikal ada kedai potong x???hehhe..

• I think it’s because the CVT on the ’03 to ’08 was one of the pioneers of that technology, and long-term reliability data on CVTs weren’t readily available then.

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 28, 2011 at 3:39 pm

FYI

er.. Honda’s first mass market CVT was on the USDM 1997 Civic HX.

plenty of time to do test long term durability.

The first mass market CVTs came from a Subaru Justy from I remember 1988/89.

CVT tends to have a little difficulty dealing with high stress/high torque application due to its design. They may have improved in the last few years…especially the X-tronic units from Nissan.

…and for that matter, I know people with broken CVTs in thier City. But that is just a very small sample set of population judging from how many City’s are in service.

• goBetong on Feb 28, 2011 at 3:00 pm

This policy will just drives more cars to seek repair across the border.

Workshops at Hatyai are now doing roaring biz repairing/upgrading 4×4 vehicles. They now will expand to do major repair catering for those requiring “organ transplant”.

Without fail, our northern neighbour will be Detroit of the east – not just for making cars, but for repairing them too. Salute !!!

• squawk on Feb 28, 2011 at 3:31 pm

New parts are cheaper in SG too although labor cost is higher.

Maybe once the used parts supply runs out in MY, both SG & TH will see a sudden jump in drive-in tourist arrivals. :-D

• This move will make everyone who drives even poorer,
    Already fuel prices are rising, not decreasing, who know’s how much more it will increase
    with what’s happening in the Middle East with Egypt and now Libya.

With this move of buying only new parts is very costly as some parts
    especially continental cars, cost thousands of ringgit for certain parts.
    Japanese cars maybe not too bad, but it’s not much difference.

Although instead of original parts, the mechanics at shop sometimes say whether you want locally made or original as the price for local parts are cheaper than original.
    But those are the small parts, bigger parts like geabox, etc.
    Cost a bomb to replace a new one.
    My kembara is 10 years old. Just change it’s 4×4 gearbox.
    Compared the prices with new and original. Almost 4 times the price if new and original.
    I still rather buy a used car part. Since it’s reconditioned, and also checked and serviced.

However, people also should find mechanics they can trust, and also learn a how to source parts that are needed. So that, at times costs can be kept to a minimum.

If G, ever implements this plan. Road users have better be prepared to be poorer in case of breakdowns.
    Or better maintain ones car.

CHeers!

• BOYRACER on Feb 28, 2011 at 3:43 pm

Do 2nd hand doors in good quality from chop shop dangerous?Normally 2nd hand parts from chop shop that are worth buying are those the non-wear n tear type eg. doors,bonnet,lights..things that you can inspect visually easily.

I think a ban on chop shop is highly unfair.Not every rakyat can afford new cars and i am one of them.
    Presently i’m driving a 20-year old Saga.If i were to buy a new car, the only car I can afford is a Viva 660.The problem is in my line of work i need a saloon not small hatchback as I need to carry goods around.So how am I going to carry stuff in a Viva?Maybe a 2nd hand saloon is ok.What’s good a Viva when i cant use it?

My point is think of the rakyat before making any decision.Not just simply say this say that.
    Dont forget our country’s per capita income is not the highest in the world (i.m not sure what is our ranking but i know its not the highest)

• looks like an idea to create a monopolistic business plan, soon the chop shops requires AP’s..then u know what lah

• ezracopters on Feb 28, 2011 at 5:31 pm

1. support 100% ban on imported used car part coz their 2nd @ even 3rd hand price nowadays sky rocketed as they please. not everyone is Mechanic, pomen @ had adequate knowledge to assess quality n durability of those 2nd hand part. most of the time, when u change 1 part from chop shop, less than a month later u will need to go there again to replace another part that had been affected by it.

2. this has nothing to do with racist like 4G63tDSM said @ suka-suka messin with others rice bowl. think back, the ban had been on the table since 1999. smart businessman should know better how to plan their future, their assets and their resources. now, 12 years later still babble on the same issues?? there is no easy way out in life la..

3. we are not yet developed nation. and car still not a necessity. UGLY TRUTH here, if u can’t afford it..then work harder, earn it like others @ used public transport.

4. accident statistic clearly shown motorcyclist was the major contributor of our high death toll, almost 65% every year. so, i agree 2nd hand part play little role in these yet still, the risk is higher than using new part.

5. Dasar Pandang Ke Timur had mentally mislead us to assume everything from Japan was perfect. time to chance, new Kia & Hyundai ok ape skrg..or China’s Changan lagi murah!!

6. however, im sure with certain push @ political constrain, this ban won’t be 100% implemented. but i do hope at least out a limit on parts from cars that aged less than 10 – 12 years only!!

7. those praaang2 on the street actually not a real racing boy. others nation teach their kids to be racer by promoting go cart, mini rally etc not selling questionable n slightly cheaper 2nd hand parts. those boys risking not only themselves, but others on the street reckon they’re creative, manipulative n innovative.

8. hate me..but we all knew better…truth hurt.

• many tauke2 in sabah put their beloved ninja 200 series at home n go to ladang with rigid axel vehicle such as LC40, LC60,LC70 etc. latest model pickup dont last that long on muddy road at the ladang.

• dozzyy on Feb 28, 2011 at 6:04 pm

I was told that govt is trying to banned chop shop because majority of the owners are a certain race, but govt realised that many Malaysian can’t go without chop shop as an alternative for cheaper car spare parts.

So soon, govt will impose AP to these businessman for every shipments of spare parts. AP will have to be bought by their cronies.

There will be no banned on the chop shpos. Just that because every shipment needs an ”AP”, The shipment goods will just be increased.

We the Rakyat will still get to buy the parts. But this round, the cost of the parts will be increased.

Since every single item in Malaysia without subsidy has been increased, so next it will just the chopshop parts…

So DON’T WORRY!

• lee kow chai on Feb 28, 2011 at 6:08 pm

What happen to afta? Seems like there will never be free trade in bolehland. We have Proton, AP, P2 and NAZA. AP gets extended to spoon feed more rich and famous. And now the poor’s only affordable resort to maintain their car?

If new cars are cheap, everyone would be more than happy to buy new cars and scrap their 10 year old car. It’s a shame that our rakyat are forced to extend the hire purchase term from 5 to 7years, then 9 years.. some even with 10 years loan. What happen after 10 years owning a car? buy a another new car with another 10 year loan?

• orang miskin gaji 3 ribu on Mar 01, 2011 at 8:09 am

not even 9 10 years…12 years and 15 years pon ada!

ini kan MALAYSIA BOLEHLAND…SEMUA BOLEH!!!

• rookie on Feb 28, 2011 at 6:08 pm

oh man..
    ban used parts eh?
    n wat does a new OEM parts costs are?

tahun ni beli kereta baru, pakai 5thn..kalo ada gearbox kong..
    mati laa..
    car loan pun tak habis bayar lagi, kereta sudah tak boleh pakai..
    gila ke nak suruh ganti dgn new/ori OEM punya gearbox??

that’s only an example..
    i know gearboxes dont get trashed easily..
    but shit happens!!

after this, insurance also sure naik cuz used parts no more, need to buy ori parts..
    insurance also rugi need to repair ur accident car liao..

we’re screwed…

• yyyyyyyyyyy????? sure there is some second hand parts that are broken at the chop shop but one who acquired parts will select a good n useable parts. no one pick the broken one ba….BJ40 still being use n converted to xtreme 4×4 or just restored to standard condition in other country even in develop country there are still BJ40 running around on the road. their G not cepat melatah ba. their technology n know how are lightyears away from us… bla..bla…bla. people from other country that read this issue sure senyum-senyum and think what the hell. even 30 years if road worthy why not.

• Naz@AE111 on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:00 pm

i think they will implemented this act if the BN surely win this General Election next year.. if they cannot achieve 3/4 parlimen seat next year surely its a 50/50 for them to implement it..

• Rakyat on Feb 28, 2011 at 8:29 pm

No article on the Motor Insurance increase next year?
    Everybody willing to pay more, so that a few can claim faster (that is the promise; true or not…nobody knows).

• squawk on Mar 01, 2011 at 10:24 am

I guess everyone who is supporting the ban on used parts is ready and willing to pay the exponential increase in auto insurance premiums since all accident repairs will only be with new parts.

• Wisdom on Mar 01, 2011 at 10:58 am

As i understand, all insurance claim will only use ‘original parts’ new. These original parts can be OEM original (more expensive) or equivalent parts (cheaper option eg. Taiwan, usually used for older cars as the market value no longer cover OEM).

Those insurance cover which source parts from chopshop could be somebody getting some ‘free dough’ from the claim.

• Even Canada got chop shop. Their car prices a way cheaper than Malaysia. A used current model Camry in this region at RM46,000 for 2008MY, slightly higher than US at RM39,000.

http://www.japandirectjapanese.com/product.php?productid=458&cat=6&page=1

Let open market dictate, when it comes to car.

• The G should remain the chop shop would benefit old car owner to the get their spare-parts but also u have think that those chop shop owners also is big time crocodile the part price were increasing without thinking .

• Wisdom on Mar 01, 2011 at 10:16 am

The problem is, these chop shop been sucking our blood all along.

Imagine 1 container full of chop parts cost only few K, once they opened and dismantle everything, every single part will have margin up to 500% or even more (dont believe me, ask your chop shop friend. do some study).

Another problem, seldom we come across neat and properly organized chop shop. They usually situated at the deserted land, unpaved, dusty, parts are scattered, oily, messy, didn’t really have a positive appearance. More like a business run by gangsters. Quotation of parts also not consistent, sometimes dirty cheap, but most of the time blood sucking (why so expensive? its a usepart you idiot).

I think its not suitable to ban the whole business as we are not there yet, but its good to have a more proper, clean, professional chopshop where everything is organize (including pricing) just like what they have in Japan.

• squawk on Mar 01, 2011 at 10:30 am

You said it right. Chop shops here fulfill a need but they also need to be more professional like those in UK, Japan & Korea.

And I think they are able to price it higher than it should be as new parts cost even more. But they are still cheaper than new/ OEM.

• coco_nuts on Mar 01, 2011 at 2:12 pm

Spot on, Wisdom

Malaysian, being the Zee Generation does not need gangster paradise junk shop who terrorised the enviroments with cheap imports and exhorbitants price to ply the business. Weed out the culprits and give the licence/ funds to genuine enterprenuer to commence SMI spare parts industry. No more dirty engine parts oil, grease being dumped on the mother earth without 2nd thoughts, rusty parts left to idle unchecked that may containminated the very water source, shabby and arrogant attitude of the complecent businesses. Let make it less one more headache that thriving at the expense of the poor motorist who are subjects to various counter productive ordeals from the various angle, be it cost of holding, cost of handling or cost of maintenance.

We need organise and systematic 2nd hand shoppe, with offering just like the current customer friendly spareparts shoppe with proper storage and proper packaging. May be centralised warehouse, regulated the processing area such as dedicated industry zone with bonded checking, survelliance and governance.

Any parts which does not meet standard should be re-exported to appropriate countries. Spare parts price should also be made public at website with comparison between Original, Generic, 2nd Hand and Overseas prices. The source should be provide mandatory by all the market players.

Coco or Nuts?

• s.ong on Mar 01, 2011 at 12:28 pm

If it is implemented, the question is how are these people going to survive e.g servicing their existing loans, children education, housing loan & so forth. Can the govt comes out with a plan for them? If not why burden the people in the first place! More people will be jobless & there is no unemployment benefit here in malaysia to depend on. Please defer it until some concrete solution is found.

• 1) The government is VERY eager to implement this ruling (like other new absurd rulings before this).

2) They will NOT be able to initiate this ruling before the next General Election. As this will cause them to be very unpopular (currently, they are not popular too).

3) The government must know how to play game the “win-win situation”.

4) If the government wants to BAN second hand parts; the government will need to give the rakyat something equivalent or better in return.

5) The government will need first and foremost LIFT (remove) the veil NAP protection which does NOT benefit anyone (except the “atas angin” cronies/vendors making money out from thin air). Remove the absurd NAP, then everybody can ‘cari makan’. The government will definitely get their votes back.

6) Don’t forget to remove that ridiculous AP-king system. It is ridiculous, import cars with better engine and green technology are taxed heavily, when our very own “national car” from Tanjung Malim is a fuel guzzler.

7) Also, the government will need to compensate the abovementioned “chop-shop industry” with good alternatives so that they too can ‘cari makan’ and feed their families. Some commentators up there thinks that it is relatively easy to find jobs in Malaysia. Well think again, in Malaysia, even if you have first class engineering degree, belum tentu dapat kerja lagi. Every year, assuming university convocation is every 6 months, imagine how many millions of people with Degree/Diploma are out there? Let alone this chop-shop people who had only be doing this type of business for years. Majority Malaysians are working in the Private Sectors, so Public Sector (orang Gomen) dia orang nak risau apa? Kerja malas mcm mana pun gaji dan pencen masih masuk.

8) Rather than banning (as we can see it will create other nasty problems), another alternative is too set up a government agency to regulate car/motorcycle/used parts. For example, every year the Mexico-US border are crossed by thousands of illegal immigrants and have you seen the US closed their borders? Instead, the US border enforcers beefed up their effort and equip themselves with better technology and tactics. In other words, to our very own enforcers (Miti, JPJ, Puspakom etc) perlu kerja rajin sikit, jgn ingat nak kerja senang jer. Sikit jer masalah, terus nak ban. Apa ni?

• a bunch of people hiding behind enviroment n safety excuses write something as policies n hurting a lot of other malaysian . 15 years vehicle go to scrap metal so what about 1998-2000 model year ninja 100 series (king). Now bought 150k -170k n after 2,3,4, or 5 years goes to scrap metal just like that. if the chop shop we say gangster what do we call those who made the policies? its not extreme if we call them butcher. they butchered a lot of average or poor malaysian.

• This is obviously the greed of Malaysia Automotive Manufacturers/Assemblers/Authorised Dealers of spare parts. Consumers have been shying away from buying from them once their new cars’ warranties expired because can no longer tolerating and enduring ridiculously high labour charges and expensive spare parts. With this rulings, they expected a handsome increase of profits and govt can look forward for income earning. But actually, every ruling has its weaknesses, I can see one at the moment time i.e. the incoming of cheaper new spare parts from cheap labour costs countries. I wouldn’t be surprised that one day proton gen2 power window are made from China instead of Malaysia…sorry…they are here already and cost 40% cheaper. Surprise!!!!

• KL Stray Cat on Mar 02, 2011 at 12:23 pm

Don’t worry lah…the G will flip, then flop on this issue.

Q. What is a dirty four letter word ?
    A. GOVT !!!!

Get your minds out of the gutter ;-)

• i support the new NAP. move all junk out of the road (old car). 5 years old or 7 years old longgest scarp n recycled. surely i agreed for safety reason ONLY IF i can afford to buy new car CASH la or afford to service my loan in 2-3 years time only then i will agree. one KL duds back in 2009 say even toyota’s not built to last more than 5 years. so if according to that KL duds toyota last 5 year only so tauke-tauke sawit in Sabah bought TOYOTA JUNKS when they buy recond NINJA KING (LC 100 series) year 2002 for 145K. a lot of duds wrote this n that when comparing owning a car in europe and how high the figure to purchase car in japan but no duds mentioned or compare our Annual Gross Income when comparing us to the european and the japanese….. or compare our salary

• S.MONG on Mar 04, 2011 at 11:55 am

Well, if it is enforced, definitely the popularity of the ruling party will drop. Imagine how are all these people going to survive? Housing Loans to service, family to feed, children education to pay & so forth…….At least the govt shud come out with some plan for these business man……maybe give them AP to bring in cars to sell or issue out taxi licence to all those affected for a certain period of time.

• S.MONG on Mar 04, 2011 at 12:02 pm

Well if this ruling is enforced, the popularity of the ruling govt will be negative. Imagine how are these business man going to survive…all are family people & many still have loans to service, family to feed, children education to pay & so forth. What the govt shud do is to come out with some backup plan for them i.e issue AP or taxi permit for certain period of time until their loans are fully paid. Otherwise, how can malaysia achieve the 2020 dream with so many jobless around.

• Damn policy makers…. They don’t care bout us who can’t afford new parts and flashy cars!
    Lets go to the polls!!!

• Auction Goods on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:27 pm

I do not even know the way I finished up here, but I thought this post was once great. I don’t realize who you’re but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger in the event you are not already. Cheers!