A larger EMAS: Italdesign Giugiaro’s Go! MPV for VW

It’s only been a year since the Giugiaro penned Proton EMAS concept made its world debut, but much have changed since then.

At Geneva 2010, Italdesign Giugiaro revealed the EMAS for Proton, but two months later Volkswagen bought a majority stake in the famed design house, which includes its brand name, rights and patents.

At Geneva 2011, Giugiaro will make its debut as a VW Group brand, and will show off this Go! concept for Volkswagen. It looks a lot like the EMAS. In fact, Giugiaro refers to the Go! MPV as an evolution of the EMAS. Here’s what the design legend himself has to say:

“With this exercise I wanted to continue the design of a car able to offer maximum utilisation of its interior. The project started with the 1976 New York Taxi, and continued with the 1978 Megagamma, the 1998 Structura and then came to maturity with the 2010 Emas. The Go! is less than four metres long, but offers more passenger room than that of a large SUV and has a 400 up to 525-litre boot, ideal for city use,” Giorgetto Giugiaro explained.

It’s not a “rebadged” EMAS, as the Go! is a larger version of the max interior space-small footprint concept. The VW is 3,990 mm long (EMAS is 3,555 mm), while its wheelbase is 2,700 mm long, about 110 mm longer than the EMAS’. That’s a Passat wheelbase in a sub-4m car, which is pretty impressive.

The driver and three passengers sit on four identical and electronically adjustable seats. Its designers claim that the Go! has more interior room than a full size SUV.

Like in the EMAS, only the lower part of the windows can be electrically lowered. This solution reduces the weight that the electric window mechanism has to support, and is good enough for toll payment. But while the EMAS has conventional doors, the Go! has an electronically driven system that pushes the rear doors outwards and pulls it back parallel to the vehicle body. We’ve seen this before on VW’s Milano Taxi concept, although that one goes forward, not back.

The Go! sits on the VW Group’s MQB (Modularer Quer-Baukasten) modular transverse architecture. It is powered by VW’s electrical Blue-e-motion system that allows for 240 km in the combined cycle without emitting a single gram of CO2.

The appearance of the Go! and its similarities with the EMAS raises some questions. Who owns the design and ideas behind the EMAS? Is it Proton or VW via Giugiaro?

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2000]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Goproton on Mar 01, 2011 at 2:50 pm

larger EMAS with proton Tuah’s front….
    good job there VW….

• mohsin on Mar 01, 2011 at 4:53 pm

Proton, Please buy VW!

• ibex7 on Mar 01, 2011 at 6:25 pm

This is f**k up. VW f**k proton. Proton have should buy Giugiaro before VW did it. Now VW owns all the designs, patents & everything & I mentioned about this via the comment in this website a while ago when the news about VW taking over Giugiaro broke out…I’m sorry for proton being f**k up by VW. Damn you VW!

• And now what is left to get is the referred as erlier Emas, a silver or may be bronze.Already been to late…

• this is the shared platform between proton and vw. will be built in tg malim.

• Subzero on Mar 01, 2011 at 3:03 pm

Reminds me a VW Space UP!

• Subzero on Mar 01, 2011 at 3:04 pm

Reminds me a VW Space Up!

• nazgul on Mar 01, 2011 at 3:07 pm

would it be ‘Smart Guys Get It’ the sequel 1 year after launch?

• hayden on Mar 01, 2011 at 3:12 pm

PROWAGEN. = )

• So PROTON jus funded VW for thier new model. Hmm

• pity proton…

• what is there to pity,learn from it.Bottom line be good @ what u do & no free lunch.

• no bashing for VW yet?

• linear_system on Mar 01, 2011 at 4:15 pm

if u change the VW to proton then bashers will bash non stop..lol

• Seriously on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:48 pm

Why should there be? It’s VW. Just look at the brands they own. Theres no bashing to do, they’re smart.

• Emmert on Mar 01, 2011 at 3:48 pm

erm….

i would like to bashing…

im not bashing Proton,
    im not bashing VW,
    im not bashing Giugiaro,
    im not bashing italdesign,

just stop being so lazy, designerss….

““With this exercise I wanted to continue the design of a car able to offer maximum utilisation of its interior. The project started with the 1976 New York Taxi, and continued with the 1978 Megagamma, the 1998 Structura and then came to maturity with the 2010 Emas.”

look like some excuses that politicians love to use.. bla bla.. im not refering anyone..

just my opinion…

• Next time if i buy proton Emas,i want to convert it to VW..Looks very expensive..LOL

• mfahd_88 on Mar 01, 2011 at 4:07 pm

can proton sue both vw an giugiaro for this thing?

• Of course they can. But will they win the case?

As the headline says, it looks like a *larger* EMAS.

Mercedes lost a courtcase in Europe against a chinese company, which is copying the Smart ForTwo. The magistrate pointed out, that the chinese Copy is a four seater, so no copycase… ;)

• Why the need to bash anyone when no official statement from Proton yet? Maybe something great is about to happen.

• ya start to do things right.End of the day,its about putting ones back on the job & stop blaming,complaining & act as if the world owe it a living.Rome was not build in a day.Short cut will seem the smartest route – buy technology.Can the ppl whom biught the tech. ever grow from what being bought?.If can then there are millions of Rome about.Actually there are- in the air.:)

• Black Dog on Mar 01, 2011 at 4:24 pm

That’s where the money goes….

• akinablue on Mar 01, 2011 at 4:25 pm

if like this, seem dn’t have any right on the design..
    kalo betul lah..ini satu pembaziran…we ask them to design, pay a lot of money and we dont have right on the design?
    jangan pulak lps ni kita akan nampak proton Tuah ada logo VW..and VW say it is not a re-badge..but an evolution!..WTF???

• proton budak jujur,
    rebadge mitsubishi,mengaku
    perodua budak tak jujur,
    rebadge daihatsu,toyota tak mengaku
    vw budak main kotor,
    beli guigaro, curi design proton
    budak jujur can senyap only

• azrai on Mar 01, 2011 at 4:46 pm

Actually the EMAS design is owned by Giugiaro. Before this, they keep searching for any carmaker who willingly to produced it and Proton come along. So they working together on the EMAS concept. Proton was introduced by EMAS concept when they first engaging Giugiaro to design Persona replacement a.k.a. Persona R. When VW bought Giugiaro, the design technically owned by VW via Giugiaro. So that’s why we keep hearing last few months on Proton to use Nissan March platform for the upcoming EMAS. Maybe it is due to this situation. By the way, I think Proon have a lot of talent to design good looking car. Proton can also use Donato Coco from Lotus for the future line-up.

• messer on Mar 01, 2011 at 5:57 pm

fully agreed!
      donato coco is a good designer.
      proton needs to have its own design language.
      no time to play around.
      to be honest, proton’s design is not strong.
      and sometimes looks imbalance.
      plz dont dislike me :)

• aduss on Mar 01, 2011 at 7:15 pm

proton design is not strong? like new saga BLM? it Korean LG design and still looks imbalance? kereta murah mau nampak mcm BMW ka? event toyota vios pun buruk gak.. adat la kereta murah.. mau cantik beli jer kereta mahal or yg over price ker, mcm viva elit atau myvi LE.. cantik kan? :)

• messer on Mar 01, 2011 at 10:34 pm

halo bro. i dont think the car needs to be expensive something like bmw or mercedes just to have a good look. it is still the same sheet metal.
          dont you think proton’s design is not consistent?
          there nothing that can be recognised as proton just by looking at it. except the front grill. u can see even toyota can be recognised as toyota for all their lineup. toyota design is a bit soft and dull. while honda we can see sharp and sportier lines on its cars. proton? i can say proton is still in the darkness about its design. like i said earlier proton’s design is not consistent. no continuity. im not here to bash and see proton close the shop. i want to see proton succeed. good design means that it will be attractive. when people like to see it, they want to own it. first impression is very important. they dont look at the engine first. i dont know you. tuah concept is quite good but a lot can be improved with its design. some parts of tuah concept looks really 80’s. especially the rear light.

• aduss on Mar 03, 2011 at 5:43 pm

i want to see proton succeed.. thanks to say it,, but it will no to be happen. bcos it proton.. cut cost campny.. saya berani cabar untuk engineer proton tidak buat design yg cut cost.. ia pasti akan lebih menarik.. kalau cantik dan brkualiti org akan beli walau pun ia over price.. setuju ka???

• Pakka on Mar 01, 2011 at 7:25 pm

Its a design study then. I’d guess it is like a titular sponsor thing we’ve seen in F1.

• Proton is getting a taste of their own medicine.
    Like what they are did to Team Lotus.
    What goes around comes around …karma.
    Looks like the biggest loser here is ….no guessing needed..

• nebula87 on Mar 01, 2011 at 5:56 pm

aiduh… Italdesign Giugiaro, u dont have other ideas izzit? oways design the same rear…haiz…

• yamseng on Mar 01, 2011 at 6:29 pm

hahahaha.. the era where gog and magog and the master controlling the world. pity proton. cheated again.

• Volkswagen = Hitler

Volkswagen the world’s largest automaker so Proton kid can’t buy or beat VW Hitler :)

• Dear Proton,

Forget about Italdesign Giugiaro now owned by VW, you have head designer Donato Coco (formerly from Ferrari) now in Lotus.

Most probably, the VW Go! will be in production before the Proton EMAS and will whitewash the original car concept from Proton.

Perhaps, you can create a JV company with Renault, Nissan, etc. to cooperate in design/manufacture future cars.

• I guess it’s the payback time from the previous bad settlement of VW & Proton discussion

• sranua on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:35 am

Its very interesting to get a feedback from dr. M, the founder of Proton on how he ffel about the cheating of Italiano and German Nazi….Damn, in business backstabbing is normal..just like politics…
    Ethics…it just a words..nobody respect and know the exact meaning of its.
    Perhaps Proton should design in-house head by the Mr D.Coco..I believe Malaysian talents is not far or much better from out side design studio. Try LKW students or IPT’s student….

• zanggief on Mar 02, 2011 at 12:01 pm

Instead of pouring money to the ‘bunga teratai’ which is having unknown profit in the coming year, P1 should consider to own a design studio. With that design strength can be fully established for a auto company, the design trend right now for P1 is still lacking.

• it think its really bad news for Proton..
    hope EMAS really2 close to production.

• I would not buy VW for what they did.