Mazda3 CKD launched – starts from RM99k for 1.6 sedan

With the introduction of the locally-assembled Mazda3, things are certainly looking up for the Malaysian consumer. The car is available in four variant forms, in 1.6 and 2.0 litre sedan and hatchback guise.

As expected, the pricing of all four versions are lower than previously, when the cars were imported, though whether you think the drop is significant enough considering the CKD/CBU conundrum is very much an individual perspective – there’ll be those who think it’s not enough, but for many, it might well mean a difference in viability now.

Price-wise, the 1.6 litre GL sedan goes for RM99,374 (solid) and RM99,774 (metallic), compared to RM111,249 before. Meanwhile, the 1.6 GL hatchback is priced at RM104,653 (solid) and RM105,053 (metallic), and was RM116,203 earlier.

As for the 2.0 GLS sedan, that goes for RM119,374 (solid) and RM119,774(metallic), more than 10k less than the previous RM131,249. The 2.0 GLS hatchback has the least change, its RM130,274 (solid) and RM130,674 (metallic) price a shade lower than the earlier RM135,999. All prices are retail, without insurance.

Specification-wise, there’s no change to the MZR pots’ outputs – the 1.6 litre unit develops 103 hp at 6,000 rpm and 144 Nm at 4,000 rpm, while the 2.0 litre unit cranks out 145 hp at 6,500 rpm and 182 Nm at 4,500 rpm. The 1.6-equipped versions come with a four-speed Activematic auto tranny, while the 2.0 litre jobs get a five-speed Activematic box.

In terms of standard features and equipment, the word is that nothing has been omitted with going local. With the exception of some interior trim differences, the cars get the same kaboodle of kit.

Common to all the cars are fog lamps, tilt and telescoping adjustable steering, multi-info display, dual front airbags, ABS with EBD and BA as well as an immobiliser and an alarm system.

Besides the above, the 1.6 GL and GLS features a manual control air-conditioner, a four-speaker audio system, and the car comes wearing 205/55 series tyres on 16-inch wheels.

The 2.0 litre variants get more, naturally, and these include bi-xenon headlamps, dual-zone fully auto air-conditioning, a six-speaker audio system, side and curtain airbags in addition to the dual front airbags and an auto dimming rear view mirror.

Additionally, you get rain sensing auto wipers, cruise control, paddle shifters and leather-wrapped steering wheel and gear knob on the 2.0, which has 17-inch wheels wearing 215/45 series tyres.

The availability of a locally-assembled Mazda3 speaks volume for Mazda’s confidence in the Malaysian market – the car’s CKD programme in Malaysia is the first to come about in Asean. Production began rolling out of the production line in January this year at the Inokom assembly plant in Kedah, where output is expected to be 3,000 units a year.

The claim is that the Malaysian-built Mazda3 will have the equivalent quality level of the CBU Mazda3, with Mazda’s production and engineering team working closely with the plant staff at the Inokom factory.

Four colour choices are available for the CKD Mazda3, and these are Aluminium Metallic, Gunmetal Blue Mica, Black Mica and Crystal White Pearl Mica.

The cars are available for viewing as part of the Mazda Motor Show display going on at the ground floor of the new wing of 1Utama Shopping Centre, where it’s slated to run until March 6. Any Mazda models booked during the show gets you the chance to win vouchers worth RM200 up to RM9,000 depending on the model purchased, which can then be redeemed for accessories purchases or offset as a cash discount.

The Mazda3 MPS was also officially launched today, following an earlier preview, and enters the hot hatch arena fight at RM175,109. The Mazda Performance Series gem is powered by a turbocharged MZR 2.3 litre DISI block offering 256 hp at 5,500rpm and 380 Nm of torque at 3,000rpm, working with a six-speed manual gearbox and a torque-sensing limited-slip differential.

Besides the MPS bits, which include a bodykit, red decoration panel, leather/cloth-mix seats and leather-wrapped steering wheel and gearknob, standard equipment includes bi-xenon headlamps, a six-CD in-dash, 10 speaker Bose audio system and 225/40 series rubbers on 18-inch wheels.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• bboyahman on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:52 pm

attractive price , but still consider expensive …… AIKS….

• Razor on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:25 pm

I think BERMAZ went the NAZA way.. they only thing they CKD or local assembly is the Badge/Emblem and voila.. avoid some tax make it cheaper

• agree.. only 10k decreased? from CBU to CKD??? =(
      almost 100k only get the 1.6L, there might still have more better choice..

• Scudd on Mar 02, 2011 at 7:13 pm

Lol..tell me then what better u could have? a honda city,toyota vios,naza forte,or inspira? lol…

• oldman on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:58 pm

fiesta much better….

• Scudd on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:44 pm

Thats even sux only it will comparable to those mazda2,jazz or so…lol..

• fiesta man on Mar 03, 2011 at 10:09 am

wow! fiesta got 6 speed dual clutch…
            this mazda3 1.6 got only 4 speed??…wahh!! so advance maaaa…. better put 3 speed coz it mazda3….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • agreed.. fiesta is better priced..
            this mazda is overpriced

• Diffrent Segment lah Bros.

Fiesta – B Segment like Vios, Mazda 2 & City

Mazda 3 – C Segment like Altis, Civic & Avante.

• actually u already answer for ur own..
          1.8 Grand Livina – if u need more seats for ur family
          1.8 Inspira – if u concerning more on the nation wide sevice
          1.6 Forte – no doubt, it is the highest CP value car in Msia
          1.6 Fiesta – if u always drive alone and need good handling and ride
          1.5 City and Vios – use as normal family car (still the best selling model in H&T)..

select the car that u really needed, but not be a blind supporter, then only u can lol..

• If consider Inspira as Lancer CKD model, then Inspira is best in term of value for money, 30k cheaper for 2.0 model.

• Scudd on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:48 pm

Lol….forget abt the inspira really,i think it oni got the 65% similarity of the lancer..the essence designing languages of the lancer has totally out..where is the proper sporty and aggressive exterior essence of the lancer in a so called ckd lancer? could u find it dude?

• zoomzoom on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:17 pm

good luck BERMAZ with your pricing

• drzack64 on Jul 07, 2014 at 8:26 pm

The Raya Promotion offer for the Mazda 3 1.6 L Sedan of RM93,000 still more than Inspira 2.0 L offered at RM89K… still expensive for the 1.6 L plus the insurance charges….

• i used to owned a 1.5 vtec city then change to civic 1.8. Now mazda3 2.0ckd. its a great car to drive, handling is better. but the back seat is abit less room for tall guys. but wat nice car u can get for 120k? i will say maybe proton inprira 2.0. 92k over 150hp well u just cant compare everything. Go test drive the mazda 3 b4 u say that is no worth it.

• Rgshow2k on Dec 05, 2011 at 12:54 pm

its depending on your budget whether you can afford it or not lor .

• Ali Bin Ahmad on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:54 pm

Nice ~~~ am i first? XD

• endre on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:55 pm

not much different from the CBU in term of pricing

• Very Much different

1.6 Sedan RM 114 K vs RM 100 K
      2.0 Sedan RM 133 K vs RM 120 K

What U expect Proton Price ?? :-)

• Proton consider high price lor in terms of local car which is without tax. Proton cheap meh……no cheap, much more expensive compare to others.

• Eponymous on Mar 02, 2011 at 5:51 pm

Dude, this is a Mazda thread, don’t bloody bring Proton into the discussion….. What the heck is wrong with u? Everytime a thread starts, idiots like u bring Proton up…. Nobody freakin cares!!! Just talk about the Mazdas…. the MPS? Brilliant!!! For 175k? An effing bargain!!!

• Simple, some people expect to pay Proton or Naza price for Japanese car. If they think Naza Forte is a good bargain then just buy it, need not waste time here.

I am driving a Mazda i am sure u don’t.

• Madza is something lower than Honda and Toyota in term of brand name, but they so dare to mark their price higher than these 2 brands, god bless for those Madza owner!!

• PakAbu on Mar 03, 2011 at 10:07 am

Local cars are taxed too.
          Watch astr0 also taxed.
          Telephone line also taxed.
          Income also taxed.
          Makan-makan also taxed.

There’s no free lunch….. :-(

• freedom on Mar 04, 2011 at 8:49 pm

A least the air we breath is very free

• yah, but hospital do charge for oxigen, hefty price too

• nabill on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:55 pm

its like 10k-15k cheaper than the fully imported one….nt much diference at all…dats abt rm250 diference in monthly installment!

could have been ALOT lower than that….

• Tiadaid on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:07 pm

It may not sound much, but imagine saving that difference amount over the length of the loan. Besides, for a C segment car, that’s a competitive price

• Scudd on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:55 pm

When u saying it may not sound too much (diffrence) i would rather pay for the full to get all the full spec and cbu model…considering the average repayment terms would be likely 5 years above…

• disappointed on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:28 pm

agreed, not much difference for the price between ckd n cbu, i see no point to buy ckd since the repayment just lowered by hundred over only

• breaL on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:15 pm

thxs for your “honest” accessment

• What U expect Proton & Perodua Price ??

• DNA Y on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:39 pm

i think not so cheap when compared 2 Peugeot’s price mark..

• ordinaryman on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:00 pm

I thought the PRICE will be significantly lower? I don’t think so this version comes with the Sky Engine & transmission right? If not I will hold my purchase as the current version is comparatively more thirsty then its compatriots.

• zoom-zoom on Mar 02, 2011 at 5:42 pm

yeah man…i was informed that the mazda 3 with skyactiv engine and skyactiv-drive transmission may only be available in malaysia late 2012

• David Wong on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:01 pm

The 1.6 to 1.8 sedan Market just got very interesting. More choices at 100k bracket. T & H better be worried.

• Agreed no way T & H come close to Mazda interm of handling.

• rossi46 on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:58 pm

At this price….u better be really XXX to buy a city or vios…anyway, best deal at the moment at this price range will go to insight/forte

• Scudd on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:39 pm

The whole Architecture of city or vios is really sux compared to this mazda 3….

• peYno on Mar 03, 2011 at 6:26 am

Scudd you mazda salesman? so lame to come spread and defend in paultan

• Kamal on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:20 pm

They won’t as they still have base model of Vios and City for backup

• Patrick See on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:04 pm

Huh? same price as CBU?

• obheng on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:09 pm

Digging their own grave with such pricing. Unless they expect Malaysians to love their cars so much that they are willing to fork out such prices. Good luck to them!

• MPS!!!

• Scudd on Mar 02, 2011 at 7:17 pm

It looks very ugly at front end…puke…like a retarded smiling little shark…Rm175k for this? Hell no…

• mazda 3 cbu on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:10 pm

not much cheaper. disappointing.

• salbadguy on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:10 pm

nice…….

• Another failure marketing from Mazda. They should be more sensible if they wanna penetrate Malaysia market. GLS is simply overpriced. GL is sensible.

• breaL on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:17 pm

more photos would b great

• demio121 on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:20 pm

i’m expecting like 15k cheaper but its only 10k diff. i think the 2.0 H/B is like 5k diff only. not sure abt the spec. if Bermaz manage to squeeze in better spec and accessories, than it might worst the “just” 10k “discount”.

• Any lower and it will kill Mazda2, I guess….

• tikus on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:24 pm

Xpensive lar!! I dont think the price difference from CBU to CKD about 10K-15K. Should be way more or else NAP is a waste.

• Andrew on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:25 pm

Pretty disappointing that the price difference is so little — I am willing to pay RM10k more for a Japan CBU rather than to suffer local build-quality problems.

• trav_da_man on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:31 pm

I was there an hour ago at 1U. While i found the 2.0 is well priced, the 1.6 really needs to reduce up to 5k in order to make it competitive.

• Unforgiven on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:35 pm

Unfortunately the price is on the high side, so I believe the preferred is still T & H.

• Can T & H offer you those spec? NO! All I see is an empty shell with branding logo.

• drMpower on Mar 02, 2011 at 5:22 pm

so what u get exactly from the lowest price mazda?
        the power is less
        the torque is.. although only 1 is the difference…still less
        NOTHING
        NADA
        so at approximately 700rm less to 100k price car
        u get nothing more than 90k car
        which makes anybody buy this 100k car
        is absolute….. retard?

no
        i would not say anyone retard
        no matter how mad they are
        or
        they are saying nonsense like the ’empty shell with branding logo’ crapp

at this point i have to state that i am no T or H fanboy
        although i do own a city
        but that wrong fact u wrote i must correct

as things stand, even for the most addicted mazda-nians
        would have to pay 20k more than the highest specced city
        to get play the paddle shifter
        which for me
        a lot
        of course u get more for the 20k
        but it is the price
        u have to pay for the car to be equipped with the paddle

its not about the paddle actually
        its about correcting some crazily wrong views

• justice on Mar 02, 2011 at 6:41 pm

kinda agree with you..

i.e..
          H.city – ppl will buy it bcos just 90k
          and they got paddle shifter..and full spec-ed..
          also the design (kira okey la tu)

if the 2.0 mazda3 priced at 100-110k surely ppl will reconsider. and push away the T and H

• berza on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:08 pm

U seems like have no idea about the difficulty to make the 100-110k…otherwise u can easily be the best ceo or chairman of bermaz with out doubt…

• drMpower on Mar 03, 2011 at 12:08 am

i dont know about the difficulties
            but what i do know is Naza managed to sell something
            at lower price
            so it is difficult in a way, but it is not impossible i guess
            so if bermaz cant do it
            heck it man
            just pass over to Naza or something like that
            i know it is easy to say than to do

• if mini copper S is sell at 120k….. i will sure to get 1. but waited 4 so many years still sell at 235k….. haiii guess have to stick with japanese car.

• Scudd on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:50 pm

Lol…Dr.M I think u’re the one who’s making some crazily wrong views in fact…are you thinking that all the malaysia car consumer are wanting the only your called so “important” ehh…Paddle Shifter” in steering? Rather than albeit-ing all the safety concerns,size,handling, comfortability issue? How much confidence level do you have for your owned honda city can win over the mazda 3 in above listed criteria? Btw the paddle shifter that found at city is just more like a paddle shifter toy-like shhh in almost all of the car expert journalism review..it’s not even up to the decent par…it’s just a very very budgeted made paddle shifter in every terms particular on the responsiveness…enough said…

• drMpower on Mar 03, 2011 at 12:03 am

no what am i saying is
            with respect to the above person who say something about ’empty shell with branding logo’ or something
            is that the lowest price of mazda still not giving the same specification
            like a 90k car does
            that should be a very simple,understandable thing
            and going by this specification comparison, nobody would want to part 9k more for the mazda
            unless he/she really likes the mazda
            its not because that person thinks any T&H is something ’empty shell with branding logo’ on it

i am not disrespecting mazda
            we did own a 323 before
            and it was fantastic in everyway
            it served us very well till its end of life

paddle shifting is not fun all the time
            but it is fun
            and it is not by any standard the best paddle shifter in a vehicle
            the lag between u push the + and the actual gear coming in is a bit lag
            and it consumed fuel
            but the fact that matter is, with respect to the commenter i responded above,
            the lowest priced mazda is not equipped with this
            and futhermore all the things are just available in a car that almost 10k cheaper!

so it is not about ’empty shell with branding logo’ at all
            it just people like mazda, will make extra 10k effort financial commitment to own such a fantastic car

i rest my case

• talking about power…i feel mazda really under declared the hp and torque figures. just test drive even the 1.6 and you will know what i mean. it easily smokes the much lighter tincan dugong vios.

however i’m still disappointed as i was expecting the CKD price to be around 95k for the 1.6L OTR with insurance.

• hardy on Mar 05, 2011 at 11:27 pm

Vios with 1.5L produce power 109PS@6,000 and torque 141Nm@4,200 compare to Mazda3 1.6L produce power 103 hp at 6,000 rpm and 144 Nm at 4,000 rpm, is it too much different in performance????? Both makan asap!!

• berza on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:02 pm

Lol…Hell Yeahh….the J Spec Vios is simply the best of best man!

• Johnny on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:35 pm

why is the hatch is much more pricey? what are the difference to sedan apart from the body type?

• Hatch back is alway more expensive than Sedan, Becoz it is more difficult to built Hatchback & you need more metal to built an Hatch Back.

• kaisers on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:38 pm

nice price but the spec hasn’t been announced yet… possibly bermaz give us better spec mazda???

i hope they make it equipped with stability control

• Robert Chai on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:44 pm

Wah… 100k for a 1.6 sedan?? really worse than T and H. Syabas!

• asking 99k for an 1.6 C Segment sedan (same class as Civic and Altis) is not really high unless you wanna count Forte in.

• ehem.. on Mar 02, 2011 at 5:19 pm

what about the price of 1.5 honda jazz and 1.5 toyota vios trd? u think their price not worse?

• messi on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:46 pm

Mazda emphazise on showroom display rather than selling car.

Who want to buy a 1.6 car for 100K with the cold brand name in bolehland.

They should price the M3 1.6 sedan below 85k to complete with H&T&Kia&Ford.

M3 1.6 sedan win on design but the 103HP is a failure. Alza also beat them in term of power.

• If you can only afford RM 85 K “Too Bad” then buy that Ugly Naza Forte loh.

• zoomzoom on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:00 pm

U can get forte SX for 93k only

• Hunter on Mar 03, 2011 at 12:07 am

add to that bro, a ‘2.0’ forte SX that is.. ~ under 100K u get a car with better power (but yes, handling so-so), and value for money in terms of overall safety and comfort (6 airbags, auto aircond, push start engine, ABS, EBD, TCS, etc). Yes, lame design, but in a ringgit sense thinking the forte’s price is unmatched to what it can offer when considering our local auto market.

if you plan to loose money to own a car (and you will!) better make a sensible choice..

but still Mazda3 really wins in the looks dept. that i wont doubt..

IMHO, the 1.6 sedan spec should be updated to make the price sensible.. auto A/C? 6 airbags? etc.. 100K for a mere ‘basic’ model comparable to Mazda 2 spec is ridiculous.. better get Mazda 2 like that!

• kaisers on Mar 03, 2011 at 12:35 pm

i found it ironic people make noise when Mazda put 120k for M3 and compare to Forte…

Civic and Altis CKD were here way before M3 CKD, did you guys make the same noise? if no then why the bias towards mazda???

if yes, then you’re making same noise again and again, what have you changed??? pointless laaa

my suggestion, stop making noise about price… better we talk about the car itself of which i’m more interested

• Mr.Wan on Mar 03, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Why? Because they like Mazda but unable to afford one. So they yell, whine and bash to release the frustration. That’s WHY.

• Hunter on Mar 05, 2011 at 12:57 am

bro, this is not bashing.. im merely stating the facts.. a car price over what that car can offer us consumers.. simple as that. We are consumers, its our hard earned money.. is it a crime to recommend better options to fellow readers if i have the knowledge?

im not biased, anti-mazda or what not, but the topic here is ABOUT A MAZDA, so i compare it to a mazda loo.. people already know that T&H are all bullshit cars when price – specs are in concern.. we are discussing now about the ‘underdog-brands’ (kia, ford, mazda, pug) which are in time improving and try to offer us a wider option than T&H, but still we need to compare again between these underdog brands what? is this soooo wrong?

the way u talk shows that u r a blind consumer who only buy / choose cars that makes u stand out of the crowd, and defending such cars may make u look cool to the masses (or maybe your rich daddy buys u one, so u dont mind buying a so-so spec’d car as it aint ur moolah?). It aint a crime comparing an M3 to a Forte bro, they’re in the same segment for god’s sake! Just to prove a point with XXXX amount of money you can buy Y car with sub-par specs OR Z car with higher specs at the fraction of the cost.

• mustafa on Mar 02, 2011 at 2:46 pm

disappointed with the CKD pricing…but lets wait and see what specs are they offering,
    i was hoping that the CKD price will be between 10% – 12% lower than CBU.

• With the new pricing T, H & N will have a tought fight on this, as Mazda are famous for it superior handling & looks.

Imagine Altis still on Torsion Beam & Selphy still on drum brake.

• its means they set Mazda2 at high price early on and couldn’t lower Mazda3 price at CKD ,else it will kill Mazda2? :-)

Still think its wrong price for CKD competitions. . .all this time, still think Naza marketing for 308 is kudas (for a start of “cold brand” in Malaysia)

Anyway, Mazda still NICE…hope i can have a MPS in my garage!

• mamakman on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:19 pm

oh god!!! 2.0L come with GPS and for MPS there is no GPS!!!! hello Mazda put in a GPS lah!

• Leonon on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:39 pm

I wouldn’t want that Caska brand GPS unit in my MPS though….

The Caska unit may work well with the M3 2.0 stock 6 speaker set up but not with the MPS Bose system.

• Marvin on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:20 pm

stupid price..

• hahaha… desperate to own mazda but can afford one?.. go buy any other brand then..

• Hunter on Mar 05, 2011 at 1:15 am

u saying Mazda is for RICH and cool people like u only ka? LoL! grow up la..

• Mr.Wan on Mar 03, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Thinking of owning one? Mazda Astina sure handy. <RM7,000 and it's yours.

• i want 3!!!

• wonder why hatchbacks are more expensive than sedan in Malaysia? really weird.

• Robert Chai on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:28 pm

probably hatchbacks are “subsidising” the sedans… the youngsters now think sedan is “ugly” mah hence lower sale…

• maznah on Mar 07, 2011 at 12:04 pm

People like high butt…not dropped butt….Malaysia weird car market ….

• demio121 on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:24 pm

well, get used to price of car in MY. though i agree that CKD should give more than 10k saving, i am not expecting it.

It’s still a good move by Mazda to go CKD. If i m not mistaken, the new BMW recently launch a 5 series model made in Kulim too (dunnno izit the same plant as the Mazda3) & its also abt 10k saving only. Given the 5 cost more than 300k, 10k saving for Mazda3 looks helluva saving.

• ttooyoot on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:26 pm

1.6= 99k.. attractive price but peugeot 308 vti still a better choice.

• zoomzoom on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:06 pm

kia forte 2.0 is more value for money, what a bad move bermaz

• Wake up Bros. It is “””NAZA Forte”””” not ***Kia Forte***, if Kia Forte u need to pay additional 20-30K, Anyway Korean Car is alway price lower than Japanese car.

No one in the right mind would pay same price for a KOREAN car with Local Badge compare with a Japenese Car.

• no ckd for mazda5 huh ? cbu is to expensive….make la

• still expensive la….thought it would be much cheaper…how to compete with T & H like that. the 308 which is a European brand still looks like a good deal with price and spec offer….looks like mazda still a showroom brand……

• _xXx_ on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:45 pm

Many of us seem to have forgotten the pricey piece of paper – AP used to import CBU cars. The amount reduced doesn’t justify at all…

• ordinaryman on Mar 02, 2011 at 4:42 pm

Berjaya rakes in more profit from this move then. The one we are getting now is one generation behind already. The ones equipped with Sky Engine & Transmission is the latest. :(

• The Sky Actic engine is not even in JDM yet, are u seeing it in yr Dream ;-)

SkyActiv engine & transmission are still in testing stage.

• Redwings on Mar 02, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Good move by Mazda.. Bermaz..
    U think the price is on high side..? But no one complain about Jazz’s price.
    Serious contender to civic, altis and 308..

• Scudd on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:32 pm

Those almost half blind will not really see it…corolla 1.6 E is selling at RM 105,990.00..are they JDM? It’s just from Thai instead..Most of them thinking that if T&H selling at RM105k+ then the other like mazda must sell their car at arnd rm92K then only it called Reasonable price….what a pathetic Malaysian typical thoughts..

• lkf0512 on Mar 03, 2011 at 2:21 pm

some more they think those T & H worth the price…

and how did vios and city come in here?
        they are in different segment from Mazda 3…sob sob

• keta ah beng, T,H,N lagi mahal!!!

• Mattyboy on Mar 02, 2011 at 4:07 pm

I can’t believe people still put up with 4 speed autos on a modern car!!

• Hope Paul et. al. can give us a test drive/comprehensive review of the MPS.

I’m thinking of getting the mazda6 2.5 but the MPS’ spec sheet is tempting!

• Lim Kopi on Mar 02, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Congratulations Bermaz, ur competitive pricing will give you a bright future for selling your car in Malaysia.

U have also screwed over those early owners who have supported you first. :)

• scoobylution on Mar 02, 2011 at 4:21 pm

I think the price is reasonable considering its a c-segment car. compare the price with altis and civic and u will see mazda is alot cheaper. do not compare with vios and city as both are b-segment car.

• elite on Mar 02, 2011 at 4:33 pm

the pricing took into consideration naza peugeot
    don’t hope avante 2011 to be below 100k

• mystvearn on Mar 02, 2011 at 4:37 pm

Hope you can do a shootout between Mazda3 MPS, Renault Megane Cup, and VW GTi. Seems like the Mazda 3 is the cheapest of all the three.

• too bad mazda 3 mps is quite small,though it is a very good car ,lot of spec (10 speakers & powerful engine) and when it comes to handling it is better than any of the D class segments(accord,camry and teana)

• aNTI Proton on Jun 09, 2012 at 11:46 pm

I heard the performance of Mazda 3 is good but 2nd hand value is poor.

• Honda must be shaking with their civic now… hehe

• is the Mazda 3 MPS CBU or CKD?

• Thank you Bermaz for not lowering the hatchback price too low.. lega rasa to know my CBU can still have a good resale price even with this CKD around…

• Lester on Mar 02, 2011 at 5:58 pm

Is there any discount offer for ckd as last month cbu offering 5k discount…

• Downs on Mar 02, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Anthony,
    Last time I checked, the CBU Mazda 3 sold here (at least all in JB) consisted only of Mazda 3 Sports variant. This CKD version seems to be only the normal variant. Is this true? Does that mean they’re missing some accessories?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 03, 2011 at 1:56 am

Actually, I believe that the CKD version is also tagged with a Sports suffix; though the brochure and release don’t mention it, the price list does.

• civic_conscious on Mar 02, 2011 at 6:08 pm

2.0L version of Mazda 3 sedan at around RM120k is way cheaper than the 2.0L versions of Honda Civic and Toyota Altis…so, kudos to Bermaz although the price can go cheaper than that…combined with the 3-years free service + maintenance + road tax, it’s definitely value for money I’d say

• Roy Ho on Mar 02, 2011 at 6:13 pm

The pricing strategy is way wrong from Berjaya! Naza did a better job with Peugeot and Kia CKD prices. It will be hard for them to sell. Mazda3 sedan CKD for 120k? Come on! How to capture the market share from T&H?

• GoMazda on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:24 pm

Who cares? Bermaz don’t care.. why would you? So I can still see less people driving the same car as me while enjoying the great driving and features of Mazda3. Keep on complaing and… ‘Unlike’ my comment becoz I also don’t care that..

• pigsy on Mar 03, 2011 at 1:18 pm

dont agree. Bermaz is a company and its objective is to make money. of course Bermaz care. that’s why they are coming with CKD model. to capture more share of the market.

if they price a little lower, u will see more mazda 3 .. and that will please Bermaz and of course , you will feel dissapointed..

• That is why they CKD to get more profit compare to CBU where they priced at low price to compete!..
          Just compare a Mazda3 CBU was at RM133K vs CKD Civic at 130K – who do you think is expensive? with this CKD… they are getting higher profit at the same time the price is still lower than civic and altis..

• Paul,
    Is that that CASKA in the 2.0?

I think the strategy for Bermaz is correct. While they try to lower the price they also not forget about those early CBU buyer. At the same time the price is still competitive with Altis & Civic (which also CKD).
    It’s not that the Mazda CKD price is high but just that the CBU is too low because they have to compete with T&H initially and settle for thin margin.
    If it’s true Bermaz throw in CASKA set for 2.0, it’s already cost you 3-4K. And if it’s also comes with leather seat.. then I see it’s a better buy than boring Altis and so common and well-know problem Civic.

• Speed Racer on Mar 02, 2011 at 6:41 pm

i still can’t understand the logic of the ckd-ing for the 2.0 hatchback, only 5k diff…..

• I can’t believe my Polo 1.2 is much more expensive than the Mazda3 1.6 but i think it’s very cheap for me ==’ coz that car is so amazing just like my favorite Mazda!good car with good price :)

• love forte on Mar 02, 2011 at 7:17 pm

wow..comel momelz….like to have one…maybe this car compete with under powered cruze??? Note : the Altis is not a CKD

• dun buy dun buy, later sure got 5k special discount like what happened to mazda 2.

• GreenEco on Mar 02, 2011 at 7:25 pm

Are the CKD parts from Thailand? Mazda has just celebrated production line of Thai built all new Mazda 3 at Auto Alliance Thailand (AAT) Plant, Rayong Province.

http://www.mazda.co.th/en/news_detail.php?news_id=222

• Mazda 3 vs Hyundai Elantra which is better ho??
    I’ve seen in you tube the Hyundai Elantra got this auto
    parking system. If got, shiok la..thinking of buying one of them…”)

• Hunter on Mar 03, 2011 at 12:15 am

Korean cars are improving more and more now.. the new Elantra design smokes this aging Mazda design.. summore Kia/Hyundai will surely have far better specs than Jap cars can ever offer at their price.

Not all Malaysian buy their cars for ‘zoom-zoom’ handling you know.. with such CKD price the Mazda brand is truly STILL for enthusiasts and fans only.. oh well..

• why kia and hyundai, cheaper huh?

• Scudd on Mar 03, 2011 at 12:01 am

Becoz ur naza forte coudn’t be better than this 3 almost in every aspect….test drive both u will find out…hope this help clarifying ur question…

• Correction Not Kia & Hyundai Cheaper, But Naza & Inokom Cheaper, Accept the fact no one in the right mind would opt for Korean car if it cost same as a Japanese Car, people choose korean car becoz it is “CHEAP” that all.

Just as people choose Proton & Perodua becoz it is “CHEAP”.

• Rashid on Mar 02, 2011 at 7:59 pm

99k for 1.6, ru kidding me. T & h. Has been bullying us but now Mazda is joining d group with this Ckd crap. Stop supporting them. Mite as well buy a fiesta for 82k, filled with new tech n gadgets albeit smaller. But our arrogant ferns will still support jap for some unknown reason la. Time for a change.

• rayzel on Mar 03, 2011 at 9:30 am

Bully who? You dont like then dont buy T & H. I never bought one and never felt bullied.

• Good jobs bermaz ! with this price will directly kill civic,altis and sylphy.

• I think the MPS can beat the hell of the Megane based on the price. Both have an identical horsepower.

• gen-x on Mar 03, 2011 at 8:22 am

Pls hire the same Singapore driver that drive the Megane RS 250 cup around sepang with 1:43 to drive this Mazda 3 MPS so that we can compare!!!

It’ll be good ad for MAZDA!! (that’s is if they can beat the time)

• the top spec 2.0 sedan is RM10k cheaper than Civic 2.0S, quite a bargain actually. I would choose this over the aging and far too common Civic.

• BN=barang naik on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:20 pm

99k without insurance laaaa…plus insurance its shoots up to 102k!!..less bout 4k only from toyota altis 1.6 dual VVTI that was bigger & powerful…better FC too…and dont forget that toyota altis is imported from Siam..not CKD like mazda 3!…less transport cost for mazda there..if Berjaya could priced it 90k+ OTR,i think mazda can give T & H a hard time…but to spend 102k OTR for a car that was smaller than wira,sorry not for me!

• Mr.Wan on Mar 03, 2011 at 3:12 pm

So what’s so special being from Siam? Sit inside both cars first then post it here.

• Poor Wira Owner :-(

Offcoz not for U Mazda3 = 3 Wira :-)

Altis Torsion Beam (So out dated).

• I really can’t understand most Malaysian here that keep talking about hp..is that all u only look at for buying a car?? Mazda car is about the overall experience on driving. If you read their design objective, its like the car is part of the driver naturally…sad to see so many unintelligent Malaysian…

• BN=barang naik on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:31 pm

suzuki swift CBU bout 81k+….after they CKDed, the price dropped to 71k+…still wanna say Berjaya Mazda gave good price arrrr??…wakakakakaka

• ehem.. on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:06 pm

u’re comparing suzuki swift 1.5 standard spec with mazda 3 1.6 fully loaded? please la… huahua

• pity for the cbu owners…but the price isnt all that cheap anyway plus may throw price later like m2…..how to commit…..

• Coolken on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:47 pm

Actually, i got the CBU Mazda 3 when i heard about this CKD project. Knew it was more expensive, but would still trust Japanese’s workmanship. Good and competitive pricing. If the T&H owners actually test drove this Mazda3 2.0, dun think they would complaint so much. Otherwise, this car’s space is a problem. If u r thinking of family, pls proceed with another car, but if ur major factor in buying a car is driver’s pleasure, pls go ahead and buy this car. 120k for a Mazda3 2 litre is a steal, comparing the rest of the Jap’s brand. I’m definitely not a salesman. Just a Mazda fan.

• zoomer on Mar 03, 2011 at 11:03 am

Agreed with you. But i think bermaz should make some changes between CBU and CKD more visible, afterall this move will definitely affect the resale value for CBU version, dont you think?

• AP = Ayah Pin on Jun 10, 2012 at 12:01 am

CBU is high quality but high price.
        CKD is low price but low quality.
        Both = Unsatisfaction to consumer

Solution
        1) Just import the Japanese workman to work at Kulim part
        or
        2) Every rakyat will be given BR1M (part 2), 1 Rakyat 1 AP. All u ve to do is, Get any car from this world at free tax but ensure U vote BN
        Is it OK to u?

• amirad on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:17 pm

Does this Mazda 3 share the same platform as the new focus? Similiar like Fiesta and Mazda 2. If yes, then its ride and handling is something to look forward to plus reliability.

• huayeang on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:20 pm

Noticed that the headlamps and tail lights design are rather same as US market specs. More orange “reflector” occupied the headlamps’ parameter and more red “reflector” occupied the parameter of tail lights. Just compare previous CBU models and current CKD models and for sure you will notice the differences.

• Malaysian spoil with so many choices now. =D

• i love women, but put several of them around cars (like above) make the women look cheap.. what a shame

• Orzil on Mar 03, 2011 at 12:04 am

U’re having either a very bad or weird senses i guess..whichever applicable…hahahah…

• AP = Ayah Pin on Jun 10, 2012 at 12:07 am

Don’t compared woman with the car or car with the woman, becoz woman is not a car and a car is not a woman.
      Silverstone advertised their tyre bcoz most of them woman wanted to be a tyre. I don;t know how true is it, but my form 6 teacher told everyone of us like this, even though I am fail my Pengajian Am in my form 6 bcoz I can;t remeber what he thought me, but at least I am always remember this even though after 20 years of my STPM, hahaha
      Don;t drive a car but ride your woman

• TopGear on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:38 pm

hope that mazda would CKD the mazda CX 7 suv too …currently at Rm24x K
    is beyond the reach for many people !!! hope they can ckd and sell it around
    RM18x K….

anyway, any idea where is the CX 5 coming ?

• Hold your horses. Better wait until mazda wipeout that silly grin from the current-gen models.

• which variant consist of 2 din display player? 4th row 1st picture

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 03, 2011 at 2:09 am

That’s the 2.0 GLS sedan’s cabin.

• klguy on Mar 03, 2011 at 9:29 am

isn’t the leather seat and upgraded player comes only in the 2.0 hatch?

• Maaajeeedaaa on Mar 03, 2011 at 7:51 am

Mazda ada ummmphhhh!!!!!

• klguy on Mar 03, 2011 at 8:04 am

tot the leather seat and the player comes in for the hatchback model only?

• aww…2.0l hatchback with just 5k discount? might as well go for CBU

• Gunigugu on Mar 03, 2011 at 9:56 am

Hmm..not exactly cheap..but competitively priced..gives us more option in the market which is always a good thing! hope other importers join in the bandwagon too which will make it a much more competitive market

• Maserati on Mar 03, 2011 at 10:46 am

M3 1.6 sedan is very underpower!! Test drove b4 and itis sluggish and not nice to drive.

You just hv to get the 2.0 version if u want to get the m3

• SubbieDoctor on Mar 03, 2011 at 1:44 pm

M3 2.0 version still not “over-power” under full loads (fat ladies) going up genting..

You just hv to get the MPS version if u want to get the m3

• I ve a vios (2008) but I feel cornering is not stable & tend to skid. My friend said Vehicle Stabilize Control & Track Control Needed.
      I am NOT sure Mazda 3 (1.6cc & 2.0cc) CKD has these features or NOT.
      I am interested to buy M3, either 1.6 or 2.0
      In term of design, both are abt the same
      In term of price difference by RM19.5k & mean a lot to me but if it is value for money, I don’t mind to pay.
      Don’t ask me go for TEST DRIVE, becoz I live in Kelantan, even though there are two Mazda dealers (Lee Motor just shup down), P.A Motor not provide me a test drive unless I paid deposit & tested my own unit. I called K.Trengganu dealer but the tel line was cut off. I am very tension!!!
      Another thing is, I called KL dealer & salesman was informed me M3 (1.6cc off RM6.5k & RM7K for 2.0), again when I go to the show room in K.B, the dealer said promotion is applicable in Klang valey. Anyone, advised me pls…..
      Anyone can really advise me 1.6cc is powerful enough?

Anyone can help me

• 1.6 almost 100K for solid? may as well i get Inspira 2.0 full spec.

• johndoe on Mar 04, 2011 at 11:28 am

comparing a Mazda and a Protong car(cut n paste car)……wat a kampung guy…living in denial…

• Ian CHEONG on Mar 03, 2011 at 1:27 pm

Alamak, the CKD 2 litre still more expensive than the FULLY IMPORTED CBU 2 litre 6 speed Forte, which is officially launched TODAY, together with J Lo’s “On The Floor”, but I digress!

• cayangbaby on Mar 03, 2011 at 2:12 pm

which one you prefer? Mazda3 MPS or Golf Gti.. ermm… price not much different..

• you’ll be more unique and save more than 30K with MPS.. at the same time MPS can easily tapau GTI.. go check youtube for the video..

• Tak suka BN on Mar 03, 2011 at 5:48 pm

Mazda 3 is very Niche product. When u enter into this car, u feel inerior space limiting your long travel “Lazying” sitting mode. Maybe love at first sight, but interior space design is worst, the designer of this car enphasize on the driver feeling and sporty respond, not “family all sit in” car feeling is giving first priority. Even now CKD, i dont think a good car for a family of Four. But for single Bachelor!! Trust my word.

• Remember u get the Inspira 2.0 full spec with Proton logo pls check out Top Gear Satria Neo lolx

• JeffLim on Mar 03, 2011 at 10:06 pm

I would say the 2.0 Sedan @ RM120k is Good buy… Note that the Spec is Identical to the Overpriced 2.0 Hatchback. Also, the more basic Civic 2.0IVTEC’s RM131k OTR!!! Altis 2.0 = RM132k OTR (with 1980s Torsion Beam rear suspension)… So only similar priced SYLPHY AND it’s brother FORD FOCUS 2.0 (RM119k) to contend with… Don’t MENTION Naza FORTE and Inspira. Both were “NATIONALISED”…

• i have test drive the mazda3 CBU a week before and i really love everything bout the car except the new CKD price. Well, the performance just like my fren 1.8 inspira eventhough it is 1.6L and dashboard really sporty and look expensive and yet i have no regret to own a Honda due to its low FC.

• 1underground on Mar 03, 2011 at 11:33 pm

I dont get it, some ppl here complain and talk down on certain brands of car just because they think its not worth it…la not enough hp, handling tak baik..la as if they are some kind of car guru ? If tak suka dont buy..la Ppl buy car for their own reason and budget, this is a free market nobody is forcing anyone to buy anything.

• Proton on Jun 09, 2012 at 11:44 pm

we live in the free country, so complains la if not happy. We should complains since 1983 when Stupid proton in the pregnancy & 1/9/1985 we should buang Bayi (proton) yg bila besar amat menyusahkan manusia Malaysia

• I’m glad with the prices. Existing mazda owners won’t be hurt and will still trust the brand here. Will get another mazda after the current one or as an addition because I’m so happy with it.
    Imagine how mitsubishi owners were gutted late last year.. For sure they won’t buy another mitsubishi for some time.. I know 1 owner who doesn’t even want to drive her lancer anymore.
    More mazda on the road would mean better aftermarket parts availability, and maybe cheaper parts as well, a welcomed effect of CKD. But, I do hope that there won’t be too many on the road. Most probably not, Malaysian are so obsessed with the mainstream boring brands :)
    So, win some, lose some.. It aint all bad.

• generalhoho on Mar 06, 2011 at 12:30 pm

Really???? Tell her to give me her Lancer.. I don’t mind driving it.

• Perodua on Jun 10, 2012 at 12:31 am

I understand her feeling, bcoz nowadys ppl who bought Inspira ll convert to Lancer. So, mostly owner of Lancer ll be ask common question like How Much Do U Spend To Turn it To Mitshubishi.
      My advised to your friend is, please continue use it after convert Lancer to Inspira, people ll ask another question, that is… How much U spend to convert Mitshubishi to Inspira
      Man for A Smart Guy or Man for a Kampung Hulu-Hulu Guy

• When will the bermaz introduce the new facelift mazda 3 with the new tech skyactive

• maznah on Mar 07, 2011 at 12:08 pm

BUY Mazda CBU or CKD…..BUY 2nd Hand car……value for money…

• M3Lover on Mar 07, 2011 at 6:10 pm

Great, my favorite car became more attractive to me. And I have already booked the 2.0 Sedan 3. Its real value for money with this level of spec.
    When i was a the showroom, a good handful of ppl have placed their bookings too, and judging by this alone I can attest to the fact that our Bolehland Gov will not stay put and a price increase will soon follow to protect our local prides.
    Even the sales person hinted on this, so I will take this CKD price as just introductory offer. Its not cheap but its still reasonable enough.

• Cheong on Mar 08, 2011 at 11:37 pm

I already booked a Madza3 2.0 Sport Sedan. I have been in showroom for many times even after booking just because to have a look on the beautiful car for few more times. Now i am really looking forward to driving the car. My salesman said will be able to have the car after 2 months from now. Shiok!

• spending 100k to buy a junk of plastic car, too expensive!!

• I booked a Mazda3 2.0 sometime in the month of March, when I placed my booking the sales person and his manager told the car will arrive by end of April even though the waiting period is 2 months. And also said all the car are ready built and ready to roll out from the plant. Now is already end of April, the sales person gave an excuses the car is stuck due to tax clearance but later disclose there is no output from the factory due to part shortages. Until now there is no committed date when the car will be delivered. Those who is planning to buy this car might want to think again, and do not fully trust the word of the sales person.

• Frank lee on Apr 29, 2011 at 6:05 pm

Ckd the pirce is no suprise

• razoreis on May 31, 2011 at 8:14 am

huh?..it takes 2 months for car to delivery???
    plan to have one but…..the q is too long…=(

• The waiting time & the sales arrangement totally fucked up……I never ever seen a company like Bermaz…….its sucked….All the salesman’s word’s untrustable………idiots…….until now I cannot get my car..Mazda 3 waiting for 3 month….upon arrival to showroom…still cannot register

• Perodua on Jun 10, 2012 at 12:37 am

Not surprise to me, bcoz Mazda 3 tell u waiting list is 3 months but Mazda 5, waiting list is 5 months as well as Mazda 6 is 6 months, hahahaha
      Hope this joke create u a smile
      U know what? The salesman ask me to booked this month & get the car this month as well with RM7K off
      Do u think i should buy now or wait December 2012 for better discount, bcoz I think Budget Sept 2012 ll cut off tax again. The gift from PM to rakyat, Hidup Malaysia, 1 Malaysia

• Go n test, then u find what differents. Can’t compare local car,pls considers maintenance cost as well, local car doesn’t cheap at all.