Affected by high oil prices, Spain slashes its speed limit!

Spain has taken an unusual method to counter high and rising oil prices – slash the national speed limit! The Spanish government has lowered the 120 km/h national speed limit by 10 km/h to 110 km/h, which they say will save 15% on fuel bills. The move is temporary, and will stay in place until the end of June at the earliest.

Deputy prime minister Alfredo Perez Rubalcaba said: “We are going to go a bit slower and in exchange we will consume less petrol and pay less money.” The José Luis Rodríguez Zapatero government also introduced other measures, which include cheaper train travel and subsidies for energy-efficient light bulbs and low-rolling resistance car tyres.

Needless to say, the move is not universally popular with Spaniards. Naturally, the fastest man from Spain isn’t too happy. “I don’t support this measure. There are other much more effective measures to reduce fuel consumption than this one. At 110 km an hour, it is even difficult to stay awake,” said two-time F1 champion Fernando Alonso, who hails from Oviedo.

The BBC claims that Spain gets 13% of its imported fuel from Libya, where leader Muammar Gaddafi is currently at war with his own people. Oil production has been affected, and the unrest shaking the Arab world has pushed the price of crude upwards.

Will we see another round of fuel price hikes in Malaysia? The Prime Minister said yesterday that fuel subsidies are estimated to go up by RM4bil this year. Add that up with last year’s estimation of RM10bil (based on US$85 to US$90 per barrel of crude), and total fuel subsidies will touch a whopping RM14bil in 2011.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• azrai on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:09 pm

Maybe our G will inspired by this + more saman ekor also.

• bongek on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:15 pm

ask them to give 50% discount too,,,then we can compare spanish attitude and malaysian altitude on saman payment

• Black Dog on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:33 pm

…and the Govt never mention that Petronas will be making RECORD PROFITS!!!

• Their results are always reported in the news/media. They did make profits and in return they pay tax/dividend/ oil royalty back Government. You should direct your dissatisfaction to the real culprit, Government….Ask them what they do with the money they receive.

• always blame petronas for it???why not other oil company operate in malaysia??do they enjoy price hike? yes they are…but seem nobody blaming them…what a typical malaysian…so sad…..

• Want to consume less petrol?? Simple, stop the selling of Korean’s car especially Naza Ria and Naza Citra.

• RadzLee on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:25 pm

how about the latest models? are they as thirsty as well?

• I think so, like their film stars slept with so many guys in order to get the opportunity to act – recent news from paper.

• azrai on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:09 pm

Then sell only bicycle.

• So you are try to imply there is no other car other than Korean’s car, are you from Mars? or from bawah tempurung?

• TerBaboo on Mar 10, 2011 at 3:16 pm

korean cars drinks a lot was an ancient history laaa…sape yg bwh tempurung skrg??..katak pun dah lepak atas bumbung lah..ceh!~

• aduss on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:14 pm

how about Korean’s EV car.. EV will use petrol 2? cit… apa punya comment..

• armandd on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:55 pm

I’m sure they can get the extra billions through more efficient management, no more middle man in gov contracts, ban contractors who use subcon to conduct work, no useless mega project like 100-storey tower etc etc..

• that 100 storey building not gov money…lol

• azrai on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:10 pm

Yes, it is rakyat’s money actually.

• VoidDance on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:19 pm

Then when it complete, I want a space in it! Just to park my car (which is a tiny Kancil). Serve them right.

• focus tdci on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:29 pm

then apasal announce kat budget 2010 kalau bukan tu bukan termasuk dalam govt spending plans?

• want to give to someone loh the money..mengaburi mata pihak lawan,hehe

• dartz on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:07 pm

the fastest man from Spain said “I don’t support this measure. There are other much more effective measures to reduce fuel consumption than this one. At 110 km an hour, it is even difficult to stay awake”.

i feel the same

• injit injit semut naik bas on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:11 pm

ini suma salah kirajaan juga la sebab tarak plan itu sistem public transport yang menyiluru!
    jikalau ada sistem public transport yang bagus, suma pun sironok.
    suma pun happy naik itu public transport.
    kasi pangakh ini goverment. chaittt!!!

• theboss on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:29 pm

ha ha ha, like a standard six “karangan”. I like it very much, yet it is also a true story

• sukasuki on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:56 pm

itu pasal la 2nd phase LRT tgh buat skrg, lu tara baca itu paper ka? haiyaaa

• squall_shinoda on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:43 pm

That’s why Najib’s gov’t is real serious about constructing MRT networks, because we are left way too behind compared to Singaporeans in terms of public transportations. 8 years of hiatus thanks to the inefficient Pak Lah’s gov’t is way too long. And when Najib is about to construct the Kajang-Sg Buloh MRT line, those rich idiots from TTDI and Damansara oppose it and prefer to burn more petrol with their big gas-guzzlers and become major contributors of massive jams in Klang Valley. So sombong and berlagak, as if they’ll bring TTDI / Damansara along with them inside their graves when they die.

• Lalalaala on Mar 10, 2011 at 3:17 pm

well that’s one thing but i don’t get it why they wanna build the ‘INTERGRATED’ MRT KL sentral station 15 mins walk away from KL Sentral! its such a hassle if ppl hv to walk far from the MRT station and switch to the lrt. should find an alternative or just build underground..if claim no money la expensive la thn don’t build! beef up the bus system then.

• squall_shinoda on Mar 10, 2011 at 3:47 pm

One thing that you should remember is the problems when making underground tunnels. FYI, in Malaysia if you want to construct a tunnel underground without demolishing any building also you have to pay the compensation to land owners, which means higher costs as land in KL is expensive.That’s why the only solution available would be running along road reserves and TNB power line reserves. That’s the reason why the KL Sentral MRT station is located near Muzium Negara and also why the KL Sentral monorail station is located at Brickfields rather than at the KL Sentral itself.

• zainal abidin on Dec 07, 2011 at 5:16 pm

Just a sombre proof and reminder that the world’s petroleum prices are always going up but very rarely coming down again.

And even Johore Bahru people needs this MRT. One line from JB town to Pasir Gudang and the other from JB town to Taman Tun Aminah / Pulai. The sooner the better,please.

• VoidDance on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:21 pm

If they built proper public transportation network which is efficient and widespread, people will not complain so much about fuel price hike.

We are too dependant on our cars and bikes that every single cent increase in fuel price takes a burden on our wallet.

• squall_shinoda on Mar 10, 2011 at 2:33 pm

Slashing the speed limit in response of the rising fuel price is not something new. During the oil crisis in the US in the 1970s, their gov’t slashed the maximum speed limit of interstate highways to only 55 mph (90 km/h). It was not until 1995 that the standardised 55 mph speed limit was lifted, and the speed limit was raised back with different speed limits according to respective states, from 50 mph (80 km/h) in more populated states to 80 mph (130 km/h) in a few sparsely populated states.

• Carl Wong on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:03 pm

Smart move I think, save fuel, money and reduce emissions too.

• use diesel hybrid or electric diesel should reduce consumption for petrol

• Sure it works – lesser speed lower consumption. Done here, another thing is also sure – more saman ekor……

• paparadzi on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:51 am

What we need is a regime of cheap car price and expensive fuel. That way people will buy the most fuel efficient, technologically advanced vehicles and drive o.ly when necessary. The worst part about fuel subsidy as currently practised is that we are paying more subsidy to those driving fuel guzzlers.