Honda Malaysia introduces facelifted Accord – and there’s no change in pricing across the range

Honda Malaysia has introduced the facelifted Accord for 2011, with some minor cosmetic enhancements leading the way – the car gets a new chrome front grille, front bumper, a rear chrome trunk lid and a new 17-inch alloy wheel design, the latter to be found on the 2.4 litre variant.

Other revisions and refinements come in the form of front corner sensors, an enhanced interior cabin, and though push-button start ignition still isn’t to be found, there’s a new jack-knife ignition key.

The interior remains very much unchanged – everything, for example, is retained on the dashboard (instrument, switchgear etc) as it was on the pre-facelift model – but there are some refinements, if you like. These consist of a thicker floor mat to reduce the effect of noise, vibration and harshness (NVH), one of the areas which the old car was perhaps lagging behind on, and both 2.0 litre VTi-L and VTi variants now come with a new leather steering wheel, with the latter also getting a leather-wrapped gear knob. No changes mechanically speaking, so the 2.0 and 2.4 litre four-pot units continue as is, with the same numbers.

The nicest news is that Honda Malaysia hasn’t bumped up the price for any of the facelifted variants, so the three Accord versions continue to sail on as such: RM142,800 for the 2.0 litre VTi, RM149,800 for the 2.0 litre VTi-L model and RM172,800 for the 2.4 litre VTi-L model, all on-the-road with insurance.

Five colours are available, these being Taffeta White, Alabaster Silver Metallic, Polished Metal Metallic and Crystal Black Pearl, joined by a new shade called Celestial Blue Metallic. The car’s already in the showrooms, so all you need is to haul on over.

As an aside, Honda Malaysia is presenting a photography exhibition tour in conjuction with the introduction of the facelifted car. The Journey of Ambition will showcase the legacy of the Accord, driven by Honda’s engineering spirit and boundless ambitions.

The exhibition starts off at Queensbay Mall, Penang from April 13-17, then heads on to One Utama Shopping Centre, PJ from April 20-24 and Empire Gallery, Subang from May 25-29 before ending in Tebrau City in Johor Bahru from June 21-26.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• mamakman on Mar 17, 2011 at 12:02 pm

With all the goodies added and yet no price change….. are we expecting “end of life” for the current Accord soon???

• “a thicker floor mat to reduce the effect of noise, vibration and harshness (NVH)”

LOL as if there’s a noticeable difference just by changing the floor mat!

• Brands like Honda and Toyota has been taking Malaysian car buyers for a ride with their cut-throat prices (even though CKD!) with zero to minimum features.

• wolfsburg on Mar 17, 2011 at 2:54 pm

I believe the next Accord will arrive at least 18mths from now… The current Accord is only on the market for 3 years…

• unfitted on Mar 17, 2011 at 7:25 pm

hope the new Accord doesn’t come with the hi-tech function…
        it is called “PROBLEMATIC”…

• turbocharged on Mar 17, 2011 at 5:02 pm

i dunno why korean & peugeot facelift can changed gearbox, retune engine(peugeot up HP) add in so many mind blowing features, while all honda malaysia can do, is to do some visual changes, and so what? the car din increase price, of cos la, they still can feel malu ma.

visual change treated as facelift? betul betul facelift……change the darn key? thats it?

no wonder second hand value can be good, every generation so similar, how to drop price? real smart, really smart.

forte 4 speed and 6 speed gear second hand value sure a big difference. but, hey, arent we suppose to move forward?

• mohsin on Mar 20, 2011 at 1:33 pm

In term of facelift, SAGA FL is better!
        nothing much FL on Accord! Shame on you HONDA!
        Er, “a thicker floor mat to reduce the effect of noise, vibration and harshness (NVH)?”

my dear Proton; pls put more thicker floor mat to all your FL models!

• lkf0512 on Mar 17, 2011 at 12:06 pm

I don’t want jack-knife, I want push button!

• Ash Menon on Mar 17, 2011 at 12:13 pm

I don’t think they could have inserted a push-button feature without upping the price. Besides, isn’t Accord due for a new version soon?

• turbocharged on Mar 17, 2011 at 10:06 pm

yea, a push button is so high tech, they have it in latio, swift, and kia forte. BMW and mercs is out of my league, i dunno.

• Fluid on Mar 18, 2011 at 4:04 pm

A jack-knife is offered to add salt to them jacking us off!

• so-called-not-facelift at all

• That’s why no price increase my fren Xdm …. if it were other T brand, at least 2k increase … haha

Well not too bad considering no price increase ….. good on you Honda Malaysia. Others pls take note !!

• wolfsburg on Mar 17, 2011 at 2:56 pm

If there is no competitor the Accord sure will increase the price one… Now they are facing threats from Teana and Sonata and the upcoming Optima K5 and 508… Especially both the Teana and Sonata are selling like a hot cake now…

• angrybirds on Mar 17, 2011 at 12:13 pm

all these new facelift can be done at ah beng shop maa .. jack knife they can do also wat

• macha on Mar 17, 2011 at 12:21 pm

worst accord eva!!

• Speed Racer on Mar 17, 2011 at 12:22 pm

honestly i cant see the difference

• nebula87 on Mar 17, 2011 at 12:22 pm

Excuse me, wat so special??

• taboogen on Mar 17, 2011 at 12:23 pm

hermm then we know how much we are paying for less… since it has H badges.. why not through away your money…. I can’t consider this as Facelift more to add on a bit only

• captain_gaban on Mar 17, 2011 at 12:26 pm

Honda is out of their mind if they have any intention to increase the price tag with only such tiny-winy-minor-midget facelift…furthermore, this so call facelift is like paris hilton boob job…too hard to be noticed….i would expect something like anita sarawak’s lift….almost at her 60’s…but still look like she was at her late 30’s…now that is really something!!!….hahhahaha…

• vince on Mar 17, 2011 at 12:28 pm

need to wait until next generation to have a push start button….

• unfitted on Mar 17, 2011 at 7:31 pm

dun wait… but if u are those loyal H person who doesn’t mind paying for a Proton quality car… then wait… geesh!

• Grandisan on Mar 17, 2011 at 12:29 pm

Still no projector lights ? hahahaha stingy la u Honda kang aku sumpah jadik Dugong Jongang !

• Tyler Durden on Mar 17, 2011 at 12:50 pm

*yawn yawn* –nap time
    nuff said

• blackcipan on Mar 17, 2011 at 12:58 pm

Wow…seems that the car has undergone a very “MAJOR” facelift…

the rear has gained a whole new chrome strip and…errr…i think thats all for the rear. even the customary change item like rear light hasn’t been changed at all…

at the front, only bumper assy has changed which include the grill. for headlamp, not even internal graphic change honda??

guys, this is the laziest facelift ever!!

• peYyes on Mar 17, 2011 at 1:09 pm

better get a honda… eh? honda thread ?

• Best Accord on Mar 17, 2011 at 1:12 pm

Accord is still the best D segment car to get in totality. Cheers.

• Japancar~~ on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:48 pm

Please improve the cabin sound isolation!!! such a shame for a 170k+ car to have high noise level….yawn…boring~~

• Japancar~~ on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Please pay some effort in “kill” the loud cabin noise, Accord!!!!! Its such a shame for 170K+ car to had a laozy cabin sound isolation!! yawn~~boring~~~

• untitled on Mar 17, 2011 at 1:31 pm

Did April Fool came early? Are you kidding me Honda?

• Hyundai Fan on Mar 17, 2011 at 1:38 pm

Too boring, just very minor changes. May be want to reserve the new features like 6 speed engine, push-button start ignition, panoramic sunroof, LED lights etc for the next generation model. But, by the time all these new features are available in another 2 years plus, these will be outdated.

• wolfsburg on Mar 17, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Accord won’t give u all this because people buying them are buying the logo in front…

• Faisal on Mar 17, 2011 at 1:57 pm

still boring..

• common Honda….a “jack knife ignition key”…what on earth is this…..is this even a feature.

what an exagerated name to this….typical honda exaggeration

hello….europeans already had this way before…jeeeeezzz…..

no wonder the prices didnt increase…….

• pumpkin76 on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:03 pm

My previous car, a Proton Waja, also has this jack knife key that came with the car alarm system laa……. installed at ah-beng shop….

• shanmungam on Mar 17, 2011 at 2:13 pm

still ugly.. better buy new bmw 5 series! way cooler and nicer. thums up

• wat the F on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:08 pm

you wan take bmw 5 series compare with accord?? The PRICE is different so much!!! Please think before you post!!

• Samurai Malaya on Mar 17, 2011 at 2:13 pm

Even b-segment fiesta has 6 speed…Honda too reserved for the new 9th gen in 2 years time..you’re moving too slow honda. Consumers have too many choices now compare too those days. Our TIV won’t we be growing too significant..your market share is going to be sacrificed. Good luck.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 17, 2011 at 2:19 pm

I’m not sure but I heard the CKD VW Passat will be priced around 150k,Camry and Accord will struggle considering the price of the new Sonata and the Passat.

• murad on Mar 17, 2011 at 2:38 pm

I was actually looking forward to the facelift and holding on my purchase since end of last year, and simple things that a facelift enthusiast could wish for are HID lights and probably a GPS navigator with media, so who cares if they bump up the price by 3-4K and put in these goodies, i’m very sure people will get it.

The more you look at it, I had to agree it is the laziest face-lift of all. Even in terms of technology we are looking at yesterday’s stuff comparing to what other car makers now are giving, at least they could give more of a nicer stuff like push start, HID and GPS, for the L model or put in a push start, speed sensitive steering for 2.4 then that will probably offset some who demands everything.

• Nice, solid body and powerful 2.4 I-Vtec, love it very much ;)

• kyoshooo on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:14 pm

WTF, This is so call facelifted Accord?

• seancorr on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:27 pm

A very minor facelift indeed. Exterior did not change a lot and so did the interior. The facelift 2011 Merc C-class on the other hand was a major one comparing to the Accord lol.

Apart from that..congrats to Honda Malaysia for not increasing the price while adding some goodies into the car. I seriously don’t think Toyota would have done the same haha.

The front sensors as well as improvements on NVH was long awaited….

• this model has been around for almost 3 years now, despite the modern design unfortunately it has not age very well. I already thought that this model has too much chrome but they go add some more..

• Accord Fan on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:50 pm

Nice. I like it !

• Well done honda malaysia!

• Simon VW on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:57 pm

Accord is losing sales fast as its design based is not lasting….undated unlike camry sales figure speaks for itself.

Even with facelift and comestic changes will never buy this car…..no substance at all.

Car handling is so bad and can’t handle / absorb our Malaysia road standards unlike Camry.

Honda should really consider changing design scheme.

• pirate on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:05 pm

Has anything been done to address the front disc brake rotors durability? I.e. easy warping >>> juddering during “high-ish” speed braking very early in service life. Hello! Honda Malaysia…are u listening? Jack-knife key…LOL!

• wallstreet on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:10 pm

Jack knife? Even Mazda 2 has that…And those chrome thingy, common…do they hire Ah Beng to do the facelift? Must be…since its a Ah Beng after all…

• Ini Susah lah on Mar 17, 2011 at 5:02 pm

OMG, H.Sonata no need facelifted also can beat this Facelifted H.Accord. haha…

• Suren69 on Mar 17, 2011 at 5:15 pm

As an avid Honda fan i gotta admit i am pretty dissapointed with this so called facelift version. Saying they cant incorporated the push start button without increasing the price is utter BS. Im very sure they will still tons of profit even if they feature push start button in this facelift version. N where the hell is the projector headlamp. Oh come on.

• Vincent on Mar 17, 2011 at 5:21 pm

The module kit of front grill still look better than this facelift grill….

• Suren69 on Mar 17, 2011 at 5:41 pm

Whrs the projection headlamp and push start button?

• Bastardo on Mar 17, 2011 at 5:48 pm

I prefer the front of the previous Accord better. The back maybe this one is nicer than the old. If can get the old front and the new back would be nice.

• kiafan on Mar 17, 2011 at 5:56 pm

The new superb Kia Optima will soon arrived in Mlalaysia by August, and believe will be another hit in Malaysia. Now, Accord must push hard to capture the audience as much as they could before the Korean era taking over !!!

• kitman on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:08 pm

i think honda should copy hyundai design now and gv more feature like sonata,price sell like sonata 2.4 rm 163,888, upgrade the warranty period like sonata 5 year or 300k km,then only can attract costumer……..or not all ppl will gv up sushi and change taste to kimchi

• Mafia War on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:09 pm

Honda is the best, u bring in what ever car in but still cannot beat Honda. Honda has it own class. SONATA, TEANA are far behind and not a threat at all to HONDA. U got money u buy ma, no money buy PROTON looor. No money that why they like to comment much, people goes to Ah Beng are mostly buy cheap car and have a big dream to upgrade like HONDA. and they call it HONTAA …….. LoL

• i love bmw on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:35 pm

same old uncle car

• blablabla on Mar 17, 2011 at 7:16 pm

Nothing much has changed… It seems that facelifting is becoming a pretty worthless practise.

All they did was piss us off cause we got excited and there wasnt anything to be excited about…. LOL.. JackKnife Key? Come on man you can do better than that!

Personally it would have been Better if they would have just Left The Car Alone…
    I guess the saying “If it aint broke then dont try to fix it!” applies here.

• murad…

you want HID and navigator go get a 407….the so called facelift accord is still waaaaaaaayyyy behind the 407 in the equipment and not to mention safety list…..

• murad on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:51 am

yes i agree with you, which is why i put a stop to purchase this HA. For this budget I’m waiting out on what other car makes can offer, will anticipate the 508.

• L-Bird on Mar 17, 2011 at 8:43 pm

still….where is the projector headlamp?!?!??!

• Looks like one huge sweet potato.

• don’t understand the big deal about the push start button.

• murad on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:18 am

it’s not really a big thing, but since the trend is to have push start, DRL, HID, might as well go with the trend. better to have than not to have.Even Mercedes has to follow Audi on the DRL and every car now will literally follow suite.

• waja2007 on Mar 17, 2011 at 10:05 pm

H is for Hyundai, not Honda anymore.

Hyundai has ‘new thinking, new possibilities’ but Honda no longer has ‘the power of dreams’.

Welcome Hyundai, Bye-bye Honda.

If you still want a Japanese car, get a Toyota or a Nissan. Nissan made in Rawang is far better quality than Honda made in Melaka.

• fuel cell phone on Mar 18, 2011 at 7:38 am

imho, honda does have ‘the power of dreams’… unfortunately they keep dreaming the same thing huhuh ;-D

• fuel cell phone on Mar 18, 2011 at 7:59 am

how about kia, with ‘the power to surprise’ ??

imho, their new line ups like optima or cadenza sure can put this new facelifted accord to shame

• redboy on Mar 17, 2011 at 10:24 pm

The sonata definitely took away the accord sale already. Now i think Honda has no choice to wait their next model to catch back the market, Camry buyers will probably stay in Toyota, but I see Honda buyers will be lure away by Sonata, Pug407, …Optima when are you coming!!! Cant wait to see the Feb/March sales report

• Philip J. Fry on Mar 17, 2011 at 10:26 pm

No changes mechanically speaking, so the 2.0 and 2.4 litre pots continue as is, with the same numbers.
    ——————
    A “pot” is slang for cylinder e.g. 4 pot = 4 cylinder
    A “lump” is slang for engine e.g. 2.4l lump = 2.4l engine

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:06 am

Ah, yes, indeed it is, likewise pots for pistons. Too much pot does indeed make one a block, and a rather lumpy one at that. Should have added four- ahead of the pots, many thanks for spotting that one.

• SoMeOnE on Mar 18, 2011 at 3:07 am

this design never really settled the first day i saw it…it tried too much to be a bmw…and this what happens when u do that..due to that the design looks ears older..instead of the 2-3 years it has been with us…the older one use to have such sheer presence on the road during its time (b4 that dumb butt lift ) and still looks good.

…to top it off the equipment list is really stingy…honda’s trying really hard to potray premiumness (e.g stingy standard equipment as to not ‘dilute’ the brand ) but they fail to realize that with the way information is shared these days..even the nube blind badge loyalty malaysians that exist also know the truth.that its just a mainstream brand..stop trying to be what ur not and embrace what u really are honda and delight us with clever designs and stuffed to the gills with equipment and pain free owner ship ala hyundai,toyota,kia etc..that what we really want…(masses) aint thinkin its too much to ask for our cash……

• linear_system on Mar 18, 2011 at 7:21 am

like waja rim je..

• scirocco on Mar 18, 2011 at 7:25 am

i’m puzzled, almost every post is asking for HID lah, push button start lah, no one is mentioning additional airbags and VSC???
    aren’t those things far more important? or is it a case of “gaya mesti ada…”

• murad on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:56 am

They should include, if the CRV facelift gave VSC. Since H and T coming out with cut-throat prices of CKD, imagine if they gave all the features 7 airbags, VSC, speed sensitive steering, direct gear shifts, HID, push start, the car would probably be in the price range of an A4 or VW Pcc.

• HafizJoe Dorifuto on Mar 18, 2011 at 7:46 am

Where’s the projection headlamp and push start button…important THING is MID…MULTI IFORMATION DISPLAYS…

• kuching on Mar 18, 2011 at 9:41 am

not a dream car. too many on the road.

• Ricky Ong on Mar 18, 2011 at 10:02 am

Sonata still the leader at this segment.

• murad on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:26 pm

I test drove the Sonata last year, no doubt, the size, shape, interior and exterior, with the specs it’s a sure winner of all T, H, N but the only setback if would just put more noise dampening.

• lvl_lvl on Mar 18, 2011 at 10:28 am

Correct me if i am wrong, MAA report shows Sonata had a highest sales among CAMRY and ACCORD in JAN 2011.

• Erwan Billy on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Great news at least it does not make me regret buying M6. Thank you Honda

• nonsense on Mar 18, 2011 at 2:05 pm

Dont talk something non related here, if you are proud of M6, go talk to BM forum.

• Fluid on Mar 18, 2011 at 4:03 pm

If you own an M6 you wouldn’t be talking trash here…

• I’m disappointed that H did not put in VSC and additional side airbag as standard for 2.0 version. I think these safety features is far more important than a push start button and other visual accessories. I would think most ppl who can afford RM140k+ do not mind to pay a little more for safety features.
    HID, GPS, reverse camera or even DRL can be install after market, but not for VSC and Airbags. Maybe I should start thinking of selling after market Airbags :D LOL

• no hope, facelift no facelift still ugly. Advise to Honda is better dont facelift if the fundamental design is already ugly. Learn from Potong, if they cant design they copy !

• Fluid on Mar 18, 2011 at 3:03 pm

Is this a “spot the difference” contest?

• galvatron on Mar 19, 2011 at 6:17 pm

worst face lift ever in automobile history

• Pristine on Mar 19, 2011 at 9:49 pm

Honda Accord design is well balanced and stand the test of time. Compared to other cars of the same period, it does not get outdated so fast. Facelift enhance the beauty of car. My two previous accords serve me more than 10 years without any major overhauling. I am not too sure about other cars.

• Pristine on Mar 19, 2011 at 9:59 pm

Honda accord design always stand the test of time. Compared to other cars of the same period, the accord gets outdated slower. The engine can easily serve more than 10 years and is still powerful without any overhauling. Everybody knows it but does not want to admit it.

• Just found out a few not so visible ‘facelift’ items added/removed to the base model (VTi). below are the list. (Add on if I miss out any)
    1. Water Dispersing Glass for Front Side Door Windows (Previously back also included)
    2. Leather Gear Knob & Steering Wheels
    3. Intermittent & Variable Wiper (previously ‘Variable’ only avail on 2.4 model)
    4. Front Engine cover (Bonet?) and rear truck is fitted with sound damper materials

• Looks stark ugly before and after the facelift…