Nissan planning to produce second eco-car in Thailand

The Nissan March has been a success in Thailand. The first eco-car to hit the market, the March propelled itself into the top ten vehicle sales chart of 2010, despite not having a full year of sales (it was launched in March 2010). 18,367 units of the bug eyed hatchback found new homes in 2010, making it the fifth most popular passenger car in Thailand, trailing only the Vios, City, Altis, Civic and Mazda2.

Thanks to affordable pricing, the March’s popularity shows no signs of slowing, and we reckon that Honda’s smaller Brio won’t be doing too much harm to Nissan. Now, Nissan wants to repeat the trick. A report by Bangkok Post says that the automaker wants to produce a second eco-car in Thailand.

“We expect to launch a new model this year after the March’s debut last year,” an exec at Nissan Thailand told the paper, adding that once the new model’s production starts, Nissan’s Thai output of eco-cars will top 100,000 units this year. With that figure, Nissan would have met the eco-car project’s volume requirements. Production of the March will be sustained at 80,000 to 90,000 units, including Japan bound cars.

“The parent firm is about to start production of this new model in China, but those they are going to produce in Thailand will be for export to Japan in addition to the domestic market,” she added, noting that existing production of the March platform in Thailand eased the deal.

Shared platform with March and production in China? Smells like the new Sunny! We were at the Sunny’s world debut at Guangzhou last December, one of the few English language publications worldwide to cover it live. Click here to read the report and view the gallery.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Unforgiven on Apr 13, 2011 at 3:43 pm

Nissan March, Honda Brio… Do you want to sell it in M’sia?
    If yes, you better badge it as P1/P2 or Naza (CBU).
    If not, you better sell it above the price of P1/P2 or Naza.

• Unforgiven on Apr 13, 2011 at 5:19 pm

This is part of the protectionism, so that I’m able to change to the F30 next year…
      At least I don’t buy the F12 640i…

• squawk on Apr 13, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Savvy has lost it in Thailand.

• bourne on Apr 13, 2011 at 4:23 pm

savvy already 6 years old. proton should make the replacement for it. no more renault engine. nissan march engine perhaps?

• william wong on Apr 13, 2011 at 4:48 pm

haha Nissan March rebadge as Proton is considering buying March platform what !!!!

• That will be perfect!!! Sure buy P1 march, please price it same as Saga FL…. sure beat Myvi Sales!!!

• kev_413 on Apr 13, 2011 at 6:46 pm

i think proton rebadge will do better than TC ckd, look at the inspira, they are doing very well…fed up with TC always outdated and offering lower spec, new model always delay…i had no regret to sell my latio sport after 18 months, there are so many new and updated models out there

• Nissan will offers this model, but more than MYvi price BUT most probably not up to previous generation Micra bought direct from Japan. If ETCM is not greedy or Malaysia authority not afraid of March will eat up their market share, RM50k-65k is more than feasible.

• If 50~60k for a Sunny is good buy, if 50~60k for a March, I prefer new Myvi SE…. Bcos Myvi SE offer more accessories & looks better from leaks photos….

• Meesai on Apr 13, 2011 at 10:29 pm

Oi..come lah to M’sia..

If this is a good for environment why don’t G bring it here?Aside of protectionism could it be the G are not serious on the so-called green environment?

• GreenEco on Apr 14, 2011 at 3:57 am

Spy shot of Nissan second eco-car parked along side an Izusu D-Max. Compare the size with the pick-up. This is the biggest eco-car ever built.

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/217659_10150213122621874_152220966873_8321792_5520543_n.jpg