OSRAM introduces Night Breaker Plus range of headlamps

Big potholes that weren’t there a week ago, silly dogs that dash across the road and foolhardy pedestrians lazy to take the overhead bridge were among the few road obstacles that I’ve encountered over the past week. Avoidable in the day, but can be an unpleasant surprise in the dark. Good headlamps means you get to see further and clearer, lessening the chance of an unwanted encounter.

Those looking for aftermarket headlamps now have another choice. OSRAM, the light maker headquartered in Munich, recently launched its Night Breaker Plus (NBP) range of automobile headlamps in Malaysia. NBP, which is an improved version of the earlier Night Breaker, is claimed to provide superior brightness and longer life, and is hailed as “probably the brightest halogen light in the world”.

OSRAM’s NBP has a special high-output coil and blue ring coating, and is claimed to shine up to 90% more light on the street have a 35-metre longer beam. The light is also up to 10% whiter. The latter is said to improve comfort and reduce eyestrain.

The patented blue ring coating also helps to reduce glare and the focused light beam concentrates the light at 75 m to 100 m ahead, which is the ideal shine area. Figures are compared to standard headlamps.

Compared to the first gen Night Breaker, NBP has a longer lifetime of up to 50%, according to OSRAM. This has been achieved with a new filament design and an optimised share of prime gas filling. On top of this, high quality gold plated contacts provide better conductivity.

The NBP family can be easily exchanged with standard halogen lamps. They are sold in cardboard boxes, blister packs and the DUO BOX. The recommended retail price is from RM149 to RM299.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• lepas ke dengan JPJ ni?

• vision plus on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:43 am

My NB only lasted 8 months ,
    yup it is definately better than the OEM standard headlamps
    but its short lifespan is a big letdown.
    Now on Philips Vision Plus – 6 months and counting.

• shahril on Apr 27, 2011 at 12:56 pm

I’v been used it almost 2yrs.. since june 2009 till jan 2011.. less driving at night

• Tony Choo on Feb 05, 2012 at 11:27 pm

You are right, mine just burned just now and last less than a year. I just fused (you see a flash when you turn the light on and you lose one bulb. Rather expensive and would be better to have fog light.

• NeedForSpeedUnderground_V2 on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:54 am

good stuff …

• Anyone know where to get this bulb? Local accessory shop isn’t having it yet. Just nice that my bulb just went off.

• The Nightbreaker Plus definitely ‘outshines’ the Philips X-Treme Power.

The H4 X-Treme Power bulbs only lasted 23 months. Hope the Osrams will last longer.

You may purchase it at a good price from ebay Malaysia, roughly RM80 including shipping to Malaysia. Make sure it’s the NB Plus.

I bought mine from a seller called autosave-online.

I’m not associated with the seller but have good experience purchasing various items from them.

• Emmett on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:57 am

is this legal?..jpj approved??

• It seems to outshine Phillips X-treme Power that I have.

• squall_shinoda on Apr 27, 2011 at 10:08 am

Mak aih mahalnya for just a piece of bulb… aut at least Osram is a trusted brand for automotive bulbs.

• I wander if it can fit my Honda CRV 2nd Generation headlamp ???

• In the picture, why is there a woman and a child doing at night beside the road in the middle of nowhere? It really creeps me out!!!! I’d rather not change my headlamp bulbs this time, no sir!! Those extra light beam will light up ‘unnecessary’ side of darkness and encounter along our dark B roads to be honest. Joking aside though, I hope the boys at JPJ will approve this product to be installed on our cars, if it ever come to M’sia, or won’t it?

• The woman and child is for illustrations only la…..see 1dt para…
      Proper fitted light bulbs should not glare oncoming traffic or the rear mirror view of the car in front…

• Kaiyo on Apr 27, 2011 at 1:01 pm

Der.. Why so serious?

• TallPan on Apr 27, 2011 at 3:31 pm

Hate these damn lights. they should be called selfish lights. how many ppl would ‘properly fit’ their lights? sometimes i feel like installing high beam lights to point to the BACK of my car, just for these stupid lights.

and JPJ is a big joke. seen normal protons with 120% tint driving around…

• I knew that..

• MCdog on Apr 27, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Pontianak with Children!

• mikasa on Apr 27, 2011 at 10:28 am

Already bought my night breaker plus 6 months ago. better than night breaker

• LE buruk on Apr 27, 2011 at 10:41 am

is it JPJ approve…..they won’t saman us if there is a road block..does it hurt the other car owner eyes …

• rapidshifter on Apr 27, 2011 at 10:45 am

JPJ approve?

• ericmaxman on Apr 27, 2011 at 10:46 am

i wont say they are lousy, but at times when its raining at night, visibility can be hard =\

• is this legal to fit on my kancil…..

• Is this bulb JpJ approved? Will it be too bright for the vehicle infront or on the opposite direction ? Would like to get one of this

• lame duck on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:07 am

nice thanks for the updates.
    Paul are u installing it into ur e30 ?? wonder how much difference would it make in e30s..anyone out there doing the same?

cheers

• it is legal?

• Sorchai on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:13 am

I have been looking for this bulb a few times. Still cannot find it.

I have seen some fake units sold in the market.

Some have prices way beyond the RRP.

• alldisc on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:22 am

Interesting. and i hope if i use this it will be as bright as HID without the glare to oncoming cars and summon from JPJ.

• beware of imitations!

• antaras on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:40 am

guys… you all must understand the difference between halogen and HID. Don’t think halogen can be as bright as HID(might be wrong). Anyway, do understand that those who are causing unbelievable amount of glare are those cars that have illegally fitted HIDs or they are morons who don’t know how to adjust their headlamps. If your car’s headlamp housing are meant for halogen bulps then you are safe with this Osram product.

• rallyfan00 on Apr 27, 2011 at 12:13 pm

these bulbs are also running on the standard 55W as your OEM bulbs.. so no worries there either.

• musalmah endot on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:54 am

JPJ dont even care how canggih your halogen light bulb. What they see is your car light bulb is so bright like HID. Sure they will give the inspection letter. So what is the point of buying bright halogen?? wasting time for inspection every time when JPJ do roadblock..

• bugger on Apr 27, 2011 at 12:19 pm

good stuff… bought this few months back from powerbulbs.com..
    while our local online merchandiser still offering the older generation NB…

• Sean111 on Jan 19, 2015 at 12:08 am

If buy from powerbulb.com, do we need to clear our Kastam ? What are the procedures?

• Toyolta on Apr 27, 2011 at 12:20 pm

I am using Philip Xtreme for 22 months now, would like to try Osram NBP.

• jjsee on Apr 27, 2011 at 12:23 pm

In the second picture, does it make sense that the lady and the child would STILL be standing at the same location, with the same posture, while waiting for the car to change its headlamp to the almighty OSRAM bulbs?

Photoshopped pictures should be filed under misleading advertisements.

• Kaiyo on Apr 27, 2011 at 1:08 pm

Nahh.. look at the back view mirror bro, there’s another car waiting on the line to be tested with different light bulbs installed. So I assume there were 3 cars involved in this testing/ making this advert.

The one should be filed are the ‘Bandaraya’ for the country they shoot this ad.. Why the hell there’s no ‘tiang lampu’ at the whole stretch of the road?

• longer lifespan is definitely a huge welcome.. I’ve been using da previous ver of NB and been replacing it in an annually basis..

• Paul Tan on Apr 27, 2011 at 12:27 pm

I ran my E39 on Nightbreaker (not this new Nightbreaker Plus) before converting it to HID. It is indeed bright! But they burn out faster than normal too. There’s a whole thread on BMWCM on it.

http://www.bmwclubmalaysia.com/forums/showthread.php?26449-For-Those-Who-Don%92t-Want-to-Install-HIDs&highlight=Osram

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 27, 2011 at 1:33 pm

Likewise with say, H4s from Raybrig, which I have used before. Brighter, but they burn out quicker. You get about a year’s use on a pair of such amplified bulbs on the average.

• bugger on Apr 27, 2011 at 4:39 pm

oh well, as per my scenario… i find halogen bulb is not suitable for projector headlamp.. after awhile, i removed it and replaced with HID kit..

• Currently my XC70 is using Philips CrystalVision bulbs including the fogs. Really bright and almost as good as the HIDs in my previous 2.5L X-Trail. The CrystalVision gives similar white light of 4,300K and this is a good compromise. Any whiter and you will lose the distance that a light able to illuminate. This is according to Philips brochure. Wonder the NPB is throwing at what K brightness.

• lame duck on Apr 27, 2011 at 2:04 pm

well seems that NBP is definately better than the already good NB..anyone have any idea where to get em in Sarawak???

or does anyone ship em / send em over?
    cheers

• I have been using Philips Xtreme but it is not up to my expectation, I feel that only the beam is very long but in terms of brightness, still not good enough and the light is yellowish. I still prefer the Crystal Vision which is good, white like HID.

Hope this NBP is better but I don’t see there is HB4 type.

• Not really like it. I always prefer factory fitted bulk, and not really like the after market product especially the brighter bulk, unless the ori from the car model bought which is not well design for certain car model.. usually brighter light from the back it always disturb the viewing for the infront cars. Added more malaysia dont have bad weather all the time, also not many Malaysian know to use of front light level of their cars, neither care of adjust the suitable light distanct for moderate usage.

• Naz@AE111 on Apr 27, 2011 at 5:33 pm

i’m currently been using the nightbreaker for 1 year already.. and i guarantee its much more brigther than the standard oem lightbulb.. althou, its much more pricey than the oem one, but its giving me much more confidence when i’m driving at night..

• BulbSlut on Apr 27, 2011 at 6:14 pm

I used all kinda bulbs b4.. these extended brightnesss ones burn bright, but I’ve got mine failing on the way to kuantan on a trunk road. Short lifespan if u ask me.. I also used hid kits from korea n japan, then switched to a local brothers hid kit costing rm150 BUT with a modification on the light baffle to stop glare reaching oncoming traffic. Tip: hid are definitely brighter n lasts longer.. but u need 2 pair it with proper adjustment and a yeloow halogen fog lamp 2 make it practical..

• nebula87 on Apr 27, 2011 at 7:46 pm

at the 1st picture, the women looks like ghost…

• lalala on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:54 pm

Guys, can anyone describe what the H means? i.e.: H4 H1 etc. or perhaps suggested reading to understand it. many thanks

• Check at mudah u might got lucky. It is only 10% white light which no problem with JPJ and normally if ECE approved means JPJ OK.

• I hate Xenon-based, LED-based and all those High-intensity lighting system that’s flooding our Malaysian roads. The current standard light bulb lighting installed in all cars are good enough to cater our needs. It’s not that everyday you enter the forest at night time to go for Endau Rompin or Pan-Borneo Offroad trip!

Only irresponsible drivers installed this ridiculous lighting system that’s causes BLINDING effect on other road users, causes hazard to other road users and hence accidents.

These type of people obviously have severe eye-sight problem and are NOT FIT to drive cars at night time anymore. JPJ should revoked their driving license immediately.

I suggest JPJ and PDRM to keep an eye for such cars installed with high-intesity lighting system. They’re like road hazard with wheels and blinding people from behind. This people do NOT belong to the road. Time put an end to this.

• totot112 on May 04, 2011 at 6:47 pm

Come to sarawak and you will wish that you have brighter head lamp when there is a lot of roads without lamp post.

• Ultra on Apr 28, 2011 at 2:49 pm

With proper installation will definitely will do for any brand and any type (H.I.D or haloge). I’m a PIAA user, I have been using xtreme force 4150K all this time on all my vehicle which is the most recommend. It can last 2 years ++ and I can say I use it every night an average 2-3 hours driving. I even have been check by JPJ or PDRM during roadblocks, but they just let me go through as they know I’m using halogen bulb. If u guys have an encounter with threaten by them, they just want duit kopi as they know that you don’t know it is illegal or not.

This is just my experience I’m sharing just with u guys. My 2 cent comment.

P/S: I’m currently using northern white 4300K which is just whiter a bit. With after market bulb, u won’t worry about during raining at night time anymore.

• where to get this ??

• I bought mine from this seller
    Airline. Google can osram nighbreaker can find

• Loh Vli on Dec 01, 2011 at 4:13 pm

Hi,

i Just bought a NBP size HB4, it is made in USA as stated on the duo box. is it genuine or fake ? as i see many states it should be made in Germany.

tq

• Manic on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:41 pm

It should be right, since Osram bought over Sylvania which is American in case you dont know.

• luisandro on Mar 02, 2015 at 8:25 am

i just changed my bulb of nb to nbp… Hopefully it will shine brighter n last longer… I got it for rm110 at pasir gudang…not sure being scammed or not but the other shop offer me rm169 for a pair of those thang…