Fourth-gen Subaru Impreza: Legacy looks, new 2.0L Boxer

You’d have thought amidst the rise of the Koreans in America with their flashy models and the recent troubles faced by the Japanese, tiny little Subaru would have been wiped out, or totally ignored. But the opposite is true. Last year was a record year for Subaru of America – the 263,820 cars they sold was 22% up on 2009 (itself a record year, 14% up in a market that’s down 24%) and 50% up in two years, which is truly impressive.

So it’s no surprise that the fourth-gen Impreza you see here was launched in New York, not Tokyo. While it looks like just another face change, there’s more to it including a longer wheelbase and a new engine. There are two bodystyles – a five-door hatch and a sedan.

Looks wise, the front end follows the theme set by the current Legacy, which is smarter looking than the outgoing Impreza, if a little nondescript. Like its big brother, the wheelarches are given prominence, while the glasshouse is generously sized, unlike many modern cars. Subaru says visibility is a design priority, which is refreshing in a sea of design led products.

Continuing the functional theme, the bottom of the A-pillar has been moved 20 cm forward. This allows for a front door opening that is nearly 13 cm longer for easier entry/exit, further helped by door sills that are 2 cm lower. Rear doors are also larger on both body styles. The wheelbase has been extended by 24 mm to 2,644 mm; this coupled with a scalloped-style front seat backrest frees up 50 mm of rear legroom. Vehicle length and width remain the same

Under the hood is a new 2.0-litre four-cylinder boxer engine with 148 hp and 197 Nm. It’s from a new engine family that uses twin cams and Dual Active Valve Control System (DAVCS). Compared to the outgoing Impreza’s 2.5L boxer, this 2.0 is 30% more frugal and features a longer stroke to maximize low and mid-range torque.

It’s paired to a five-speed manual or the new Lineartronic CVT. Compared to the CVT in the the Legacy, this version is lighter, quieter and more compact. It also has a 6-speed manual mode with steering paddles.

It’s not a Subaru if there’s no AWD, but this Impreza gets two different systems. In manual transmission models, Continuous AWD uses a viscous-coupling locking center differential to distribute power 50/50. Slippage at either set of wheels will send more power (up to 100%) to the opposite set.

CVT models get Active Torque Split AWD that uses an electronically managed continuously variable transfer clutch to actively control power distribution. This system can transfer more power to the rear wheels under acceleration and can transfer up to 100% available torque to the rear wheels in response to road conditions.

The WRX and STI versions aren’t out yet. Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2210]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments on the blog post about the fourth-generation Subaru Impreza reveal mixed reactions. Many appreciate the new design, highlighting the muscular front and the overall breath of fresh air, while others criticize the rear lights, calling them similar to Honda City or other models, and describe the design as unattractive or boring. There's excitement for the new 2.0L boxer engine, though some find it underwhelming without a turbo. Some comments compare the design to other cars like the Mazda3, Civic, and Inspira, questioning originality. Enthusiasts express eagerness for the WRX version and mention that the hatchback looks particularly appealing. Overall, opinions vary from praise for Subaru's technology and design to disappointment with the styling choices.

• the front kinda resembles that of the 8th gen civic.. hurmm..

• Is the Dual Active Valve Control System (DAVCS) same as the Toyota DVVT???
    Besides, the overall look good but the rear light design make it look cheap and lame..

• Fazzurri on May 01, 2011 at 1:22 pm

for me the rear light is look decent and complement the overall design

• Impreza hatch is truly, beautiful.

• drMpower on Apr 29, 2011 at 1:18 pm

the second picture
    i dont know what its called
    but kinda good looking

• toroto on Apr 29, 2011 at 1:23 pm

The side view and internal dash layout is similar to Toyota Corolla Altis while the back looks like current Honda City.

• khairulx19a on Apr 29, 2011 at 1:24 pm

OMG!!!!!!

• We can really appreciate this amazing technology if assembled locally by TCMA.

• ilikesubaru on Apr 29, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Great design Subaru! All the best to this car company !!!! Hope to see more great cars from them.

• Isn’t this Impreza having almost the same front design as the Legacy? Not very appealing to me though, except the neat dashboard and boxer under the hood.

• lonelyobserve on Apr 29, 2011 at 1:35 pm

Good. CVT paired with Subaru’s AWD system. Now is the fuel consumption rate for both manual transmission and CVT.

• shawal on Apr 29, 2011 at 1:41 pm

the rear is not as daring as the front… but overall a breath of fresh air from previous freakish incarnations….

• JDM will take hatch first, sedan later. I wish the new Impreza will be locally assembled in Malaysia, as there is no presence for Subaru here.

• quottro on Apr 29, 2011 at 1:58 pm

decent…very decent indeed

• inspira rims done right

• Unforgiven on Apr 29, 2011 at 5:12 pm

To me the Inspira rims are very ugly, but this is acceptable…

• Wira Tua on Apr 29, 2011 at 2:16 pm

148 hp and 197 Nm..??? No turbo and no ugly looking scoop? Damn… so boring….

• Turbos will coming la… Also there’s WRX STi with Auto Gearbox… but Slower than Manual ones.

• AhBeng on Apr 29, 2011 at 2:18 pm

This one really impreza hor? not Honda city horr? i keep telling myself this is impreza la..

• Jolo Father on Apr 29, 2011 at 2:25 pm

I prefer the legendary pig nose grille… very angrybird-like !!

• woahh thats one hell of a nice hatch!

• Kevin on Apr 29, 2011 at 2:34 pm

cant wait for the WRX version… and YAY! my favourite wide wheel arches are BACK!

• taboogen on Apr 29, 2011 at 2:39 pm

hermm front resemble Inspira ( i mean the bumper)

• btw is it just me or the back lights quite similar to current gen city

• Firman on Apr 29, 2011 at 2:56 pm

Rear end for sedan version is like Honda City…Previous Impreza still the best ever…

• littlefire on Apr 29, 2011 at 3:00 pm

Besides T, H, M & N on the roads.. We need S!!!! Where is Subaru?!? When Singapore is full wif it!!!

• CamPor on Apr 29, 2011 at 3:08 pm

what?…the design is kinda for executive rather than for rallying…

• to it is the current 8th gen civic front with coming 9th gen civic back.

• muddy on Apr 29, 2011 at 4:05 pm

to me, Imprezza has lost its character as a specialty, hardcore, ‘driver’s’ car. Then, it looked cool with the simple but ‘ damn! I want one!’…. Now its diluted to be among the mainstream, general family car design…. Not as HOT as before…

• Naz@AE111 on Apr 29, 2011 at 4:31 pm

its kind remind me of altis when i saw this..

• Rodney on Apr 29, 2011 at 4:43 pm

wow, what a big front chrome grill, so HIGH CLASS…
    sorry to say, this piece of work is really DULL.

• ilovesubaru on Apr 29, 2011 at 5:01 pm

nice muscular front look, but why the rear look like honda jazz??

• nothing much to impress;

1) civic 8th gen headlamps
    2) inspira’s sport rims
    3) current honda city’s rear light
    4) toyota corolla’s siblings
    5) it’s very ford-ish

• pakka on Apr 29, 2011 at 5:56 pm

apakah kenerakaannya ini???

• bmpower on Apr 29, 2011 at 6:16 pm

Now this is the problem when toyota bought subaru.

impreza just begin to be a BORING CAR like any other toyota.

I saw camry, and broing vios in there. See?
    If you dont see… you might be T salesman.

• UGLY!

• patron on Apr 29, 2011 at 6:40 pm

i’m not imprezAtALL… more to luxury design?? y?

• toyota-honda marriage design with mazda interior

• ben yap on Apr 29, 2011 at 7:29 pm

“Under the hood is a new 2.0-litre four-cylinder boxer engine with 148 hp and 197 Nm”.

The new engine is not powerful on paper.

• front look lyke chev cruze…juz put d chev cruz pic beside this subaru n u will c d similarity

• fornette on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:58 pm

Haiya.. why so many complaint abt the design? in standard form, 1st gen looked like uncle’s car. The design improved for 2nd gen, then it went back south during the 3rd gen era. This is the absolute beauty though.. just wait until the add ons..

• Why cant Subaru looked like very aggressive, just like the Lancer? The exterior design just too baggy, almost looked like an eyebag!! Im sure under the skin lies the chassis that is off-road-rally-ready, but the exterior doesnt complement with what the car really can do. If i were given this car, I’m more than excited to keep it though. COME ON SUBARU!! I’M SUPPOSED TO JIZZ IN MY PANTS WHEN THIS COME OUT!!! Right now i’m just sitting in front of the monitor with my left hand under my cheek. Hmm, maybe they want to promote the new Hachiroku first, then they will tone up the looks of the Impreza again, IMHO.

• Is it me or this is plain UGLY?

• Cyberkayu on Apr 29, 2011 at 10:02 pm

finally a good looking subaru imprezza

• Honda Power on Apr 29, 2011 at 10:17 pm

Yeah, the rear lights look like current Honda City’s rear lights. Even the boot lid lines are a bit similiar to Honda City’s. Has Subaru ran out of design ideas?

• nolan on Apr 29, 2011 at 10:32 pm

uglier than sloth in jungle…..

• seriously..the rear looks like shit

• 98tecknik89 on Apr 30, 2011 at 9:19 am

side view – the car looks like grown in size – i like the side view tho

• toyota n suby copied civic design (front lite)..huhu

• urgh, what a mess!

• somehow the interior & exterior remind me the mazda3…
    anyhow, it looks fine~

• mat kobot on May 03, 2011 at 12:31 pm

the front look nice but the rear just like honda city….

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on May 03, 2011 at 5:31 pm

Shame on you…Pretty ugly.Toyota is ruined you scobby!!

• New FT-86 Video… Looks sick

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5JX9UNQt2gA

• ahmed on Jun 15, 2013 at 5:57 pm

for some reason, the model will not be for sale in msia..but they are lauching the SV version..anyway..i have this impreza..and it is a great car..