VIDEO: UDM tagline reintroduced with F10 refueling ad!

Most of us will probably associate BMWs with the term Ultimate Driving Machine, and a lot of owners refer to their cars as UDMs. But we’ve never actually seem the phrase Ultimate Driving Machine used in a BMW ad for a long time, instead these days we usually see Sheer Driving Pleasure or the most recent theme – Joy.

Until now anyway – this new ad for the F10 BMW 5-Series returns BMW advertising to the phrase Ultimate Driving Machine, although the dramatic ad (which features a refueling plane) talks more about the F10’s fuel efficiency than anything else.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• keemo on Apr 30, 2011 at 9:09 pm

Nice.

• Longhitter on Apr 30, 2011 at 9:19 pm

I thought North America is using UDM all the time, may be only in Asia BMW using
    Sheer Driving Pleasure.

• Bob Vettel on Apr 30, 2011 at 9:32 pm

A copy of an ad Shell did in 1997 with the Ferrari F1 Team, but with a twist at the end.

• rexis on May 01, 2011 at 9:20 am

Yea, I was thinking, this car sucks fuel ey? A surprise in the end.

• Thank goodness they brought back the UDM tagline. Joy is more suitable to family oriented compact cars like Kia or Toyota.

I am sure many successful aggressive men got turned off by the Joy thing and went to Audi.

• sick&tired on May 01, 2011 at 6:52 pm

agreed! joy is for pussies who drive myvi,viva,persona, vios,etc

• B33MER on May 01, 2011 at 8:05 pm

Agreed!!! Ultimate Driving Machine will always be THE tagline for BMW … JOY campaign is such a disaster that it dilutes for what BMW stands for.

• pugger on May 01, 2011 at 12:09 am

refill coffee pulak!

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on May 01, 2011 at 1:47 am

SDP or UDM are all marketing gimmick….

The new tagline should be ” All hype with no substance”…

• Gemder on May 01, 2011 at 9:38 am

Your new tagline is more suitable for Audi – The FOUR CONDOM RINGS.

• i dunno which one to choose on May 01, 2011 at 11:07 am

The fact is, when a BMW passes by, people will look at it and recognize it immediately as a luxury car. This is typical. When an Audi A4 T passes by, people will lag for a few micro seconds, then recognize it is one. It’s the image that has been planted in people’s mind that BMW has the upper hand in instant recognition. This applies to Merc as well, BUT not Audi. If Audi has been more active in their marketing, product enhancement as frequent as both of these, I’m sure it’ll have the same status as a beemer.

• Borderless on May 01, 2011 at 11:39 am

I feel sorry for Audi. With BMW going back to their roots, only girlie men will want an Audi now.

• ringoflife on May 02, 2011 at 2:33 am

Yes Audi not doing good in M’sia compared to bimmer but its definitely not girlie men… if you didn’t drive an Audi before don’t says that. If you do one day you’ll know how good Audi is… I’m not Audi fan, just drove a few times… still preferred Merc…

• Only Ah Pek still preferred Merc. Young performer will prefer BMW or Audi.

• yeah dude, Ah Pek drive SLR McLaren and SLS AMG, while young performer drive Audi A8 and BMW 7-series, ACCORDING TO YOUR STATEMENT.
            oh yeah i’m being sarcastic.

• Ah Pek wtf, how many SLR McLaren and SLS AMG on our road?? What I see most are E200s and C180s lah Ah Pek.

• prince on May 03, 2011 at 4:00 pm

lol he might be smoked by AMG recently :D

• rally_fan00 on May 02, 2011 at 3:13 am

having driven current mercs, audis and bmws.. the fact remains.. the merc and audi just doesn’t have any feel through the steering and slightly lacking in driver involvement.

• Kevin Lee on May 01, 2011 at 2:05 am

wouldnt the turbulence from the refuelling aircraft blow the f10 away? lol

• Borderless on May 01, 2011 at 11:47 am

Only the coffee gets blown away, silly dude. The car have to be sideways and the plane must be on the ground with the jet engine exhaust facing the car for it to harm the f10. You obviously slept through your classes in school.

• shawal on May 01, 2011 at 7:26 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DExPu0OQTdw

Old M5 ad

• Van The Man on May 01, 2011 at 11:40 am

UDM is for US market, whereas for UK and AU, SG & MY (psuedo anglophile – commonwealth based) its always Sheer Driving Pleasure. With the rise of yuppies and ladies as the profile customers BMW move to Joy. I’m more incline to SDP, its unique and classy. UDM looks like normal machoistic crap from American psudo tough sport – NFL. Real men play rugby, no nonsense no pad contact sport.

• don’t understand ppl that gives thumbs down to statement that they don’t even understand.