New cars – now, why can’t they be fueled up upon delivery?

So there you are, taking delivery of your spanking new car. You’re excited about it, of course, as you drive off from the showroom, but instead of pottering around discovering more about it or just enjoying the moment, you’re more likely to contend with looking for a petrol station nearby, because the fuel tank is just about empty.

It happens with virtually all new cars, no matter what the brand. So, yes, I’ve got a gripe about it, and my question is, why can’t you (who sell those cars) put in at least half a tank’s worth of whatever it is the car needs to run on, so the new owner doesn’t have to do the “must fill petrol” bit for his/her first act with the car? Intimacy is one thing, but can you allow us a bit of time before penetration with a gas nozzle takes place?

I picked up my new car yesterday, and there was enough to get me out of the showroom (and back to the office, which is nearby enough), but with 40 km to empty when I started off, pushing on merely delayed the inevitable.

A friend, who recently bought a new sedan, had pretty much the same experience, and she took delivery from a showroom in an area she wasn’t familiar with, so she gingerly drove back towards a more familiar area where she knew where the stations were. Grappling with the unfamiliarity of a new car doesn’t need more, ahem, fuel to the fire, no?

The cost of the car doesn’t matter – if you believe service comes with the territory, well, perhaps, but not where a filled tank is concerned. Another friend took delivery of a car some time back, and while it wasn’t a half a million bucks worth of moving metal, it was still a considerable sum (well, RM250k is not inconsequential). The readout on the car’s computer said 11 km to empty, so the first thing he had to worry about was whether he could get to a petrol station before the car simply ran out of puff. Not exactly the funnest thing to start off your new car experience with.

Yes, one can always argue the fact that gas costs money, and a tankful of it can eat back into a car company’s profits, but it’s pretty much all about that, money. The argument that filling up will add in the mileage in a new car (because the car needs to be driven to the station) doesn’t cut it – with Puspakom inspections mandatory for new vehicles, the car usually gets driven there anyway, so why not fill up say half a tank on the way back? Petrol vouchers? Why can’t you do it instead of palming it off, eh?

The idea that owners don’t appreciate seeing more than say, 20 km on the odometer isn’t an excuse either. Yes, there are those who will complain, inevitably, about a high reading (all subjective, depending on individual), but imagine this: the sales advisor telling you, ‘yes, we’re sorry that we had to clock in another five km or so in your car, but we’ve gassed it up with half a tank of gas, so don’t worry about the fuel for now, sir or madam.’ Are you going to get pissed off, or appreciate the gesture? What do you think? I’d like to hear your thoughts.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go to the petrol station to gas up the new ride.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• GDC7688 on May 05, 2011 at 11:52 am

Oh well.. get a car from c&c. They give half tank , a box of free tissue and if your’e nice perhaps an umbrella.

• engdau on May 05, 2011 at 11:58 am

Perhaps we have get used to it whenever we receive new car. In fact, owners of new car are often fascinated with the “smell of new cars” more than the feeling of “pissed-off” with too little petrol left in their new ride. Lol….

• Niner on May 05, 2011 at 11:58 am

My experience with 2 new cars has been good. My Naza Ria in 2003 and Honda Insight this year all been filled to 3/4 tank by the salesman. I think we buyer should insist on that.

• sixer on May 06, 2011 at 11:49 am

Lucky you, Niner.. I just got my Insight with empty tank.. Not even a free gift given.. It’s my first Honda btw, probably my last.. Sigh!

• onda onda on May 06, 2011 at 3:30 pm

ya same too me while i took my civic around sept 2008.(my very first and last honda)..the tank was empty…but 2 days back i pick up brand new scirocco from FA Wagen Glenmarie…its half tank full.

• PapaG on May 05, 2011 at 11:59 am

Normally I just ‘pao’ the salesman full tank la….. the same thing my sister oso ;-p

• micheal dunno to rock on May 05, 2011 at 12:00 pm

don’t need to tell how much you clock in as long as get the half tank filled, then im happy.

• I had a good experience when I bought my car from VW Wearnes in Bangsar. My sales advisor took the courtesy of pumping in a full tank of petrol for me when I collected my car.

• autojohndoe on May 05, 2011 at 1:52 pm

maybe because they happy make a lot of money out of your purchase.

• icecold on May 05, 2011 at 7:15 pm

Well that’s the idea, when you appreciate your customer and they are happy with your service, don’t you think that they might became a repeat buyer the next time they consider of trading for a new ride.

Or at the very least they might give you free advert or promo by recommending you to their friends or contacts when they talk about their new ride. One question will surely pop up…”bro where did you get this baby…” and tell me what will the answer be….

Now that’s the power of leveraging on good PR skill, which I think most of this country customer service or sales person failed to tackle or take advantage of.

• i got a full tank of fuel with my new gen2 recently. salesman said it was company policy to fill up for customer. i’m happy with that… at least didn;t need to see the pump for a whole week.

what car did u get, anthony?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 05, 2011 at 12:27 pm

Good to hear you got a full tank.

As for the ride, you’ll know soon enough! :D

• tokmoh on May 05, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Alaa… Anthony ni teasing betul laaaa…… ceciter ceciter ceciter keter baru :P

You used to have Focus 1.8 rite? Manual? Did u sold it off?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 05, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Yes, it was the Mk I C170 Focus Zetec 1.8 manual, and yes, it’s gone from my hands. It was in great running condition (the money I spent on it!!), so the new owner is very much smiling. Sold it to a friend, who bought it for his son.

• well, now your friend’s son will be enjoying the car… so, did u sell it with a full tank of fuel? hahahaha! just joking pal! :D cheers!

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 05, 2011 at 6:07 pm

There was half a tank of fuel in the Focus, now that you’ve mentioned it … :D

• skiborne on May 05, 2011 at 7:56 pm

poyo la tony. lol! cakap je lah

• ilyasadam on May 06, 2011 at 3:31 pm

Actually there is a very interesting explanation to that. Part of the reason why its never a policy for showrooms to keep the cars with a full tank is more of a risk management issue. If the the customers car happens to be stolen, the thief cannot run far as he will run out of fuel before he gets anywhere. I think we have seen this in the news a few times when a thief tried to run away with a porcshe from Naza in Penang.
        If SA really want to provide a full tank the best time to fill up is 10 minutes before the customer arrives, to reduce the risk.
        Off course we can argue that cars now have high tech security systems etc, but if we talk about showrooms, ppl come in and out all the time, its as simple as grabbing the keys and off he goes.
        I guess for that reason, filling up for the customer has become more of an exception rather than the case, I guess Wearnes may have a good way of managing this risk.

• Klbloke on May 05, 2011 at 12:01 pm

Well.. New car dealers don’t make much profit compared to second hand car dealers. With such a small margin, normally they would do anything to keep expenditure & cost down – in this case, save more than RM100 on fueling petrol!
    If you ask, they might oblige. If not, they’ll act dumb :) as simple as that!
    My experience – so far all my cars come with full tank of petrol because I have thick skin

• Black Dog on May 05, 2011 at 1:35 pm

Don’t make much profit??? And they built multi-million centres!!! Most are public listed too. You must be making more than them?

• InfiniteLight on May 05, 2011 at 10:19 pm

The bosses make big profits, but the salesman has to cough up the money for the new car’s petrol and polishing. If you were the salesman, what would you do?

• I’m just in the middle class income group :) Actually, I’m just doing comparison between new and secondhand car dealers…
        I know those who actually built those you sdo-called multi-million centres! in business it’s important to think of long term profit… in this case, the centres don’t just merely provide sales but also after sales service.. just look at those 3S or 4S centres sprouting up in Klang Valley. Selling cars are thing of past… they know that they can make more $$$ through servicing and spare parts. Ever wonder why Toyota Service Centre parts are 30-40% more expensive?? I got cheaper price through my regular mechanic… after the free service period ends, I’ll take my car outside to be serviced

• Sashi Rao on May 05, 2011 at 12:01 pm

Paul, wonder wat car did u get? -bad start huh> with RON97 up

• muzamil on May 05, 2011 at 12:02 pm

My experience so far with full tanks(Toyota)

• endre on May 05, 2011 at 12:02 pm

To my supprise the Toyota sales lady gave us RM20 to fill up our brand new Vios, I couldn’t understand why she can’t fill it up before the pick up.

• deftones on May 05, 2011 at 12:35 pm

do u want other ppl to drive ur brand new car?
      moreover he/she does not have insurans cover..u dont know wether he/she might crash ur brand new car while filling up petrol..that is why they dont dare to drive

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 05, 2011 at 12:40 pm

Well, trade plated, someone drives the car to the nearest Puspakom centre for inspection – doubt that every new car gets sent there in a transporter, and in any case the car has to be driven in to the centre.

• squawk on May 05, 2011 at 5:03 pm

Sometimes it’s not how far they drive, it’s how hard they drive it. I’ve seen some cars for delivery zooming past me at high revs to get to the showroom. They were obviously helping the owners break-in the engines. :-)

• Jerry on May 05, 2011 at 12:06 pm

I’d sneek the cost of a full tank of premium into the purchase price and put a smile on the customer’s face who is being none the wiser. Tee hee!

• Ordinary Joe on May 05, 2011 at 12:07 pm

Well, i think kedekut and malas about sums it. I mean the sales dude is not gonna see business from you for maybe the next maybe 4-5 years? Maybe even more. Ok maybe u got friends and family whos gonna buy a car, but get real la. It not like u have 10 friends or famliy all wanting to get a new car at the same time… In short, its not really to their benefit, so why would they bother…

• shamsul on May 05, 2011 at 12:08 pm

same things happened to me when picking up my Honda City in 2007. Had to pit stop at a nearby petrol station just to fill up the tank.

• aksMs on May 05, 2011 at 12:09 pm

I agree. I wonder what the fuss is all about. They can put in expenses! I remember taking delivery of our new Pug 407. The dealer filled it up at least a quarter of the tank. And they did this to all new delivery. Treat the customer right.

And they’re not Nassim.

• Alex Khoo on May 05, 2011 at 12:11 pm

Our BMW came with full tank of RON97 petrol. =)
    Our SX4 came with 3/4 tank of petrol but I dunno what grade. =)
    Both when the car was delivered to us.

• blackjkx on May 05, 2011 at 12:15 pm

Story no. 2, so difficult to find any petrol station in town?
    anyway, my exp 3 yers ago when pick up my new car.
    The SA drove me arround prior to hand over, final check, lastly drove to petrol station and fill rm50 of petrol. Happy negotiation and relation is key here.remember.
    Back to showroom.18km on the odometer.Sign the document, drive off.Happy customer until today.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 05, 2011 at 12:30 pm

It’s not that, blacjkx. The car was picked up right in the heart of town, and she wasn’t familiar with the area. Plenty of traffic (Sat afternoon, smack in the usual KL jam) and unfamiliarity with new car was quite frazzling, that’s all.

• Saleman/girl always want to gain more and more profit…..for full tank ,cost no more than RM100.00

• it doesnt happend to me tho. got my car with full tank. maybe depends on the place u get ur car. some have the courtesy to fill in the gas for their customers. and i expect this post would be informative but it looks like ur blog of complaints. lols!

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 05, 2011 at 12:25 pm

The idea is to find out if such practice is the usual, or dependent on dealership/distro. I believe it’s down to the individual (SA or dealership) whether you get gassed or not. And that last line can be taken both ways! :)

• squall_shinoda on May 05, 2011 at 12:19 pm

When my younger brother and I collected his Honda City in Segamat last year, the salesman filled up RM30 for the City, which is just enough to go to KL. Thanks to his excellent service, as well as other staff at Honda Segamat, I am planning to buy a Honda Insight there within this year. Plus, the salesman now becomes my close friend.

• mnazri.tan on May 05, 2011 at 12:21 pm

back in 2005..i was pissed…bought a proton…how cheapskate,
    fact is – 2km away there is petronas petrol station
    and the car delivered to me was filled with no more than rm5 i think…
    how kedekut

then i realize, not only proton….many others….sigh

but i thought BMW would fill in full tank for you ? and buying a half million car like Range Rover , they would fill up for you ? no?

if no, then they are as good as proton …hahahah
    just kidding

• mdfarizal on May 05, 2011 at 12:22 pm

huh…when la i can get my GOLF GTI…my dream car…imagine if it doesn’t come with enough petrol…because my 1st plan once get my new car i’ll strait away go to long journey like traveling to West region (kelantan, terengganu, pahang.)

• notorius on May 05, 2011 at 2:51 pm

why have to imagine? i see u go straight to petrol station la :p

• tokey insuran on May 05, 2011 at 3:32 pm

kelantan, terengganu, pahang = west region? don’t say u r planning to drive all the way from sabah/sarawak, lol

• I’ve same experienced with my MyVi 2 years ago.. Luckily I have money to fill and petrol station is about 10km..

• Really? when i bought myvi 2 years ago, i was given free 5 items.. full tank petrol, touch n go card, tinted voucher, stering lock and 1 more… cant’ remember..

• OH, wen i bought my BMW Z4 recond 4 yrs ago i got full tank as well and i actually ask the salesman to filled shell V power for me.;)

• remy martin on May 05, 2011 at 1:39 pm

What would you expect from a recond car salesman ?
      Their margins are darn good that giving you V power is nothing !!
      Anyway 4 years ago V Power sap-sap soi lah
      even motorcycle using it !!

• squawk on May 05, 2011 at 8:11 pm

Did you verify if it really was V Power? :-)

• Cos..They hire Morons to run the Sales Dept…On company wise, cut commission make more profit…who cares about filling up Petrol!!!!

• Evoque on May 05, 2011 at 12:47 pm

I collected my new car last Nov, and it was filled full tank with Ron-97. I am impressed but shame too. He can just pump in Ron-95. I then wanted to pay him back but he refused. All he wanted… referrals from me!!

• rickyll on May 05, 2011 at 12:56 pm

It’s quite heartening to hear that some get full tank for their new cars. Actually it all boils down to the mentalities of the salesmen. What is 20-30 ringgit of petrol if the customers can have peace of mind driving the new cars without worrying about getting stranded.

• If the fuel is very low, most likely it will damage the “Fuel Catalyser” and Fuel Pump (rather than passing fuel to the engine it’s passing air instead). Looks like whoever likes to drive their vehicles with a very low fuel warning might suffer from this misfortune and it ain’t cheap!

• TurboMan!! on May 05, 2011 at 5:33 pm

Yeah.

My fuel pump burned off once when my missus drove it to zero fuel and stranded.

• lucifah on May 05, 2011 at 1:04 pm

most of the time, i haggle with the salesperson to agree to a full tank of petrol

and when they agree, i’ll counter and ask for RM100 off the car price instead of the petrol in the tank

so in the end, i got an empty gas tank but extra rm 100.

i know it doesn’t serve any purpose, but whatever sen that i can reduce from the hire purchase amount is some money i saved (int% x years of loan x rm 100). u get the idea…

• Tony,

Kudos 4 the brand new car. What car?

• Tengokje.. on May 05, 2011 at 1:18 pm

May be the it depends on the salesman/women. They got their commissions when the customer agreed and signed the HP doc. for purchasing the car. if they want to create a long and good relationships with the customer…they can fill up 1/4 or 1/2 or 3/4 or even full tank..or may be each branch can create their own policy that they will fill up till 1/2 tank or RM50.00 for every new car that being brought from their branch…
    Salam…

• last time when i bought my kelisa, I asked the salesman to fill it up for me and he really did :) … but half tank only lah…. better than nothing lah..

• rikjai on May 05, 2011 at 1:29 pm

throwing up a fuss always work.
    the SA’s mostly have some kind of fuel card or claimable expenses.
    unfortunately this is not part of the dealer’s checklist prior to the customer’s delivery.
    don’t know why but this is a worldwide problem.

persist on the SA, i got mine, so you should get yours too.

• It depends on d sales person.

A couple of frens got a full tank for free, some courtesy of the sales guys, some after haggling b4 signing on d dotted line. I remembered when collecting my in-laws new Saga, d low fuel warning light was already on after ignition.

But then a few years back during d fuel crisis, quite a number of dealers threw in a full tank as a default especially for those fuel guzzlers like d Naza Ria.

• when I bought my Latio 4 years ago, it had just 17km on the ODO, but basically I also had to get myself to nearest petronas to fill fuel. No free stuff either, because salesman damn stingy.

Good thing I got a good deal for trade-in because my ex-iswara was just almost going to fall to pieces.

• ah thank gawd this is finally being mentioned.. I’ve had the same experience and i’m at my 4th new car. Nothing has changed for the past 15 years!!! trust me … once you signed on the dotted line and the car is ready to be collected, there goes the service level too. (now maybe certain premium make would treat you better but that’s another point)

and … the punchline. I remember a friend told me why the dealer did not fuel up for his new car … “We dont know what (fuel) brand you want to use!!!” …. nuff said …

• i’m not bashing proton or perodua even as both of these 2 cars i’m about to say are doing well for 7 years and 1 n half years respectively.

i just had a not so good experience same as Anthony, my grandfather wira bought at 2003 and when the Salesman delivered the car to our house which about 25km away from his showroom, the fuel meter was already wayyy down with the low fuel warning light came up. while my viva elite, i took the car from the showroom and the moment i got the car the low fuel warning light was already blinking. lucky me i was on the very familiar place so finding the fuel station wasn’t that hard ;).

• When i bought my suzuki the sales lady was kind enough to fill it up FULL and delivered the car to me ! I think it was very considerate of her and for sure I will recommand business to her in the future.

• Isaac smith on May 05, 2011 at 1:47 pm

Very good article.. Well I guess it all comes down to the SA.. If you can sweat talk the SA I believe most stuff can be done!! Agree??

• Dr. M on May 05, 2011 at 1:49 pm

This is not an issue, so long the fuel is good enough for 30km travel before the fuel indicator light is up.

There are more other aspects ought to improve for Car Salesperson than harboring about not having half or full tank of petrol. A rule of thumb, fuel of about 30km travel is good enough to locate the nearest (or your favourite fuel brand) petrol kiosk. Just do some homework prior to collecting the car.

Have a nice day.

• You can play nice, and hope he fills up your tank.
    Or you can start a casual conversation about you being a contributor at paultan, imputing that you’ll talk jack about his outlet if he doesn’t put in a full tank. xD
    (which you should, where is this cheap-ass outlet?)

• Cutester on May 05, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Nice topic to discuss here. The first thing after I got my new car was to fuel up at the nearest petrol station. Somemore first time driving a new car after got a driving license really makes me nervous during that time. At least the sales person should give half tank of petrol.

• Cutester on May 05, 2011 at 2:01 pm

By the way, what car is that from the picture of the fuel gauge above?

• when I bought a brand new Mazda2 in Australia, I got a full tank of petrol and free window tints. The salesman was kinda new in his job I think, I also slashed about $2000 off the official price, which was about RM6000

• objectivism on May 06, 2011 at 12:51 am

where did their profit margin go? I know someone who’s a sales agent in Damansara selling Jags and their commissions are on average a little more than 5000 per car.

• todin on May 05, 2011 at 2:23 pm

i think we can get the SA to fill up for us… since they get commission on the sales… so fill up rm100 not a burden for them right?

• I got a full tank of fuel and free window tints when I bought my Mazda2 in Australia

• TFazuin on May 05, 2011 at 2:35 pm

Man you guys sux at negotiating, I got full tank on a purchase of a Saga SE, initially I also recieved RM50 worth of free TnG and when I recomended another person to purchase I got another RM50 added on. That excludes the two pick up and deliver for service to my home by the Sales Advisor. I don’t know wheter that is normal practise but I am happy to oblige. Did I buy anything extra, no, its just one car and one recomendation that translated into another sale. Was I pushy? Look I know how much these people make from selling low end cars, so I was within limits.

• DewaSemut on May 05, 2011 at 2:40 pm

Bought 2 Protons in the past… on both occasions I had “pau” the salesman for full tank, okay jerr…. simple as that, if the carmakers won’t fill it up… ask the car dealers..

• imjohnn on May 05, 2011 at 2:46 pm

i collected my saga FL from the showroom @ sri petaling 4 months ago. when started the engine, it had 7km on the odometer, and left 1 bar on the petrol tank. guess it had about rm10 inside. and the thing was, it was a big turn at the shoplots to enter into the showroom, and the entry to the turn in the shoplots, there got 2 petrol stations. hmm. but i got a free steering lock & touch n go preloaded with rm10.

• I got full tank RON97 when I collected FD2 and of course this is part of the deal with the SA.

• slave on May 05, 2011 at 2:52 pm

The salesperson@Euromobil actually fill the tank up upon delivery of the vehicle. I believe it is a company practice. Yes, I do agree that new car should be filled up with full tank of gas upon delivery, as a good customer experience, which shouldn’t cost a bomb to the company itself.

• kOrOx on May 05, 2011 at 3:04 pm

before signing the HP doc, i did make a free gift contract wit salesman and i was so lucky to get all of the below items as agreed in the contract:
    1: full tank ron97
    2: smartTAG
    3: Touch n Go with rm10
    4: Tint Film voucher worth RM150 (if below RM1k) or RM300 (if above RM1k)
    5: Umbrella/Plate no printing on all windows
    6: Discount RM500 from car price
    7: Commission to my friend RM150 for taking me to the showroom

• johnson L on May 06, 2011 at 1:00 am

kOrOX, wat car u get ????
      Im sure this SA sure leaving this world soon……
      Full tank RON97, smarttag with TnG somemore,Discount 500 ?? Commission to friend who bring u there??? Tint voucher useless la bro…do u think tinted company donno how to do business ?? Pls bring this voucher to the shop ask them fix those tint same amount of the voucher…umbrella expensive ?? need to take from them somemore ?????
      Pls ler…let the SA survive, nowadays SA really hard to get sales …they also got FAMILY to take care..
      I agree wat surf dude said ~

• surf dude on May 06, 2011 at 6:15 pm

could be a new or young SA,desperate for sale so throw all this.shame on the buyer for taking all this from the SA.poor guy down to left with his underwear

• surf dude on May 05, 2011 at 3:09 pm

the salesman bears the cost for full tank.company does’nt cover the cost.thats why most places salesman avoid giving full tank,especially cars with big tanks.its really burden,if within a month deliver few cars,each car give full tank.salesman no need to eat lo.what about other things requested by customer,ie smart tag.all need money wat

• ah lau on May 05, 2011 at 3:14 pm

when i got mine ride from Puchong showroom, same thing. a few kms more before i run out of fuel. i asked the salesman why never fill up? answer was…oh already 10 ringgit. aiyaa…why you’re so kiam siap kui? he said…oh this car very efficient 10 ringgit enough…don’t worry. :-(

• Bought a civic this year.. and yes nearly empty tank, and the sales person kind enough bring me to the petrol pump only across the road and he fill it with rm20. But my new proton gen2 don’t get any free items or free petrol. They left with really2 nearly empty tank.

• 4g63tdsm on May 05, 2011 at 3:37 pm

Ultimately it depends on how well the salesman appreciates you or your future business.

skipping something this simple and “cheap” is sure way of killing your own business. if i get a new car with no fuel, i will guaranty i will never patronize that establishment. Even my 2nd hand cars come with 1/2 tank of fresh gas….not the crap that has been sitting in the tank for months.

Car salesmen make more than you think. Not only they make body commissions, they make commissions from the accessories package items you get (tint- you really think all the 2000 you pay for good tint all goes to the tint shop?, foglights, etc.), they make from discounts/extra incentives the company gives if they does not pass all of it to you, and they make commissions from the hire purchase contract.

$50 for 1/2 a tank of gas is just good business sense. Any salesmen that fails to see that is not fit for business.

Thats my thought anyway, and fortunately I have never had to deal with empty tank.

• yc.low on May 05, 2011 at 3:38 pm

I picked up my brand new Proton Inspira 2 months ago; excited I wanted to take a ride with my wife to the next town but the minute I turned the ignition key; the fuel warning light came out – zero fuel. I suppose the commission for the salesman is low but at least fill up 2 liters of fuel so that I can reach the nearest petrol station. On the clock it was 15 km. So I suppose the manufacturer had put in less than 1 liter of fuel. The car costs more than 90K, surely they can spare us 2 liters of fuel!

• gtmaniac on May 05, 2011 at 3:50 pm

When we collected our Exora last year at Melaka showroom, the saleswoman was a bit busy with other customer who is also picking up his new car (i’m not complaining -got my car in 3 days as promised). Before i even asked, she took out RM70 from her wallet AND apologised to us that she couldn’t fill up the tank at that time. She even asked one of their staff to fill-up for me, but i politely refused and told her i’ll fill up myself.

At least i got it right for the first time, on which side the filler door is!

• satrian on May 05, 2011 at 3:55 pm

Hmmm…for me…i just bought brand new car for my wife (H. CRV)…..and the sales men fill up a full tank for me with a FOC tender number and polish voucher on top of some cash discount which my frein took a same car delivery but he get none…….the sales men told me my frein very fussy and blood sucker…….

• P1tak boleh pakai on May 05, 2011 at 4:01 pm

You are of no value to the salesperson after
    the h/p and contract has been signed cos you will
    not be seeing him, ever again.
    Salesman attitude is always like that , ultra friendly & nice
    b4 sales made but after that its speak to the customer service rep pls !!
    I have never come across any salesperson who would call you say
    a month after delivery to check if everything is okay even a merc salesman/woman
    – reason is b’cos you’ll be asking for trouble cos the owner will bombard
    you with a long list of complaints !!

• Got my Suzuki Grand Vitara with an empty tank.

When I ask “Why you didn’t fill the tank?”, The SA said, “Sorry boss, it’s not in the package.”

….. Wha? That’s pretty rude answer. You can’t give a customer just a mere 3/4 of the tank just to have a peace of mind for a day ride? Not even any free goodie. Either I’m not lucky to get that sales person or is it Suzuki is so kedekut?

• Imran on May 05, 2011 at 4:20 pm

I recently bought a car for my mother, using my sister name and pretended to be a broker. They gave me RM200 for broker fees. I think the issue here is not about the money. Its all about PR. Throw some goodies for the customer… did we all love freebies?..

• blue sea on May 05, 2011 at 4:33 pm

buy proton now, they will sure filled up full tank for you.. several of my friend dapat, but you have to make a deal la with the salesman.. sure punyer la..

• shahril on May 05, 2011 at 5:06 pm

I got my toyota’s with 1/2 fuel. no Problemo. Then, you must be unlucky that day

• C.P.Gan on May 05, 2011 at 5:10 pm

Yes, my bad experiance with Kah Motor, i get my Civic 5 years ago, the moment i get my dream car, it was almost empty. The sales man even tell me ” You must refill at nearby station AHHHHH !” SHIT………………

• be cool on May 05, 2011 at 5:22 pm

just asked a proton salesman, i wanna buy a saga exec:
    -get a full tank of petrol
    -touch n go RM50
    -tinted voucher RM200

• Vincent on May 05, 2011 at 5:38 pm

My case, in the past, either new or used car I bought, I negotiate for fuel tank petrol.

My reason given is, I want the luck, let teh car come in full load of fuel…heheheh

• MyCarMyLife on May 05, 2011 at 5:48 pm

Ha , The joy of owning a New Car !! but remember the saying ‘Yeong mo sang hai yeong sun seong ‘ and if you don’t ask you don’t get.

Note :Ever heard of car buyers ( of a very popular make sometime back ) get a free ‘ride’ courteousy of the female SA on signing Sales Order !!!

Ride on

• linkinstreet on May 05, 2011 at 5:48 pm

I think it also depends on the dealer. I recently bought a Proton Saga FL, and the guy I deal with was a really nice old gentleman who not only fuelled the car before he gave it to me, but he handed me another RM50. I was quite surprised (nicely I must say) by his gesture.

While I know he does this because it will also mean people will recommend him, I must say compared to other places (I followed my friend to buy his Myvvi, and the dealer was quite a stingy person) what he did does go a long way

• alxand@peugeot on May 05, 2011 at 6:11 pm

most company dun pay for petrol, n most of the time it’s the salesperson who fill a bit, half or full tank on good will, or as a free gift to customer :)

as a salesperson, i normally pump at least half, or full depends on the agreement with customer, normally if customer is ok, i’ll fill full tank, or if customer asked for too much discount out of what given on paper, then we the salesman got no choice but to save on every other thing :)

so in the end it’s the bargaining game, if customer don’t ask for too much out of salesperson own pocket, then i think the salesperson should have the gesture to fill some petrol, maybe not Ron97, at least Ron95

cheer ??

• Just P2 on May 05, 2011 at 6:19 pm

got my myvi 3 yrs back, the deal is full tank petrol, fuel lock and number plate sand blasting. when i collect my car, the salesman gave me RM100 to fill up the petrol, which was more than enough. i would appreciate it if the car was filled up when i collect it, not given money to fill up. it is the worry of being run out of petrol feeling but the salesman was very confident i won’t run out of petrol…. the nearest station is just 2 km away.

• Van the Man on May 05, 2011 at 6:32 pm

I bought my Civic on January and manage to get full tank and a tint. The salesperson even assist me in booking for my service appointment for 1st 1,000, 5,000 and soon 10,000km. I’m surely gonna recommend this lady to any friends who is looking for Honda and she delivers all her promises – the delivery time that is.

• When i bought my VW Polo in Jalan Ipoh,they fill it up for me only half tank and without any gifts :( lousy

• therisingfuel on May 05, 2011 at 6:44 pm

not just collecting my new wira 12 years ago i hv this problem but also when i test drove the exora the other day at kulai… how can i test drive the stupid big heavy exora with the orange light on?? to me, this is the sale person’s problem for both cases…

• Walle on May 05, 2011 at 6:49 pm

I got mine frm wearnes bangsar,they fill full tank for me when i get my car…^_^

• u need to request. i walked out of showroom when the sa said no to full tank when i was looking for myvi for my sister last year. got one who said yes to full tank, so on the day to collect the car, the sa drove to station to fill up.

• most car dealers have a policy where they barely put any fuel into the car. this is a security measure designed to ensure that when a car is stolen, at least the car cant be driven too far; or so i’ve heard.

…but then again it’s no excuse for them to not ultimately hand you a full tank upon delivery.

• zarim on May 05, 2011 at 7:25 pm

Got my Civic in March, got RM90 petrol voucher, the petrol pump is just few hundred metres from showroom. Even my mom got a free HONDA bath towel…

• skiborne on May 05, 2011 at 7:55 pm

itu employee mesti dah lenjan kereta, sebab tu empty! tgk la cars yang dengan trade plates (usually) with another 2-3 of same models/brands, drive laju kot…

• Rulered on May 05, 2011 at 7:56 pm

If it’s the company’s policy to fill fuel before delivering the car, then obviously the money used is from the company or at least the SA can claim from the company, that’s easy enough to understand right? The question is if it’s not the company’s policy to tank up a car before it’s being delivered, then it’s up to the SA’s perogative right? Just take for example car rentals, some car rentals insist ( as a policy) that the customer returns the car half tank or as it was delivered, then the customer have to fill up fuel before returning the car right? Similarly, if the car rent company don’t insist the customer to fuel up upon returning the car, how many of you guys fill in fuel before returning (as courtesy) or rather how many will ‘lanyak’ till the last drop? ; )

• Fashionistic on May 05, 2011 at 8:33 pm

Urm.. Makes me think alittle and my guess would be they dont want to loiter with the cars and avoid any unwanted incident to happen just in case?

• Speed Racer on May 05, 2011 at 8:58 pm

stingy dealers

• Ash Menon on May 05, 2011 at 9:14 pm

“Intimacy is one thing, but can you allow us a bit of time before penetration with a gas nozzle takes place?”

Oh my, Anthony. Oh my.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 06, 2011 at 2:33 am

Not exactly allegory, but yes, Ash, you can now add “gas nozzle” to the long list of ‘descriptors’! :D

• al-loooooong on May 05, 2011 at 9:19 pm

full tank of the car is salesman responsibility. If the salesman say no full tank, look for other salesman. Competition is competitive .

• hero86 on May 05, 2011 at 9:40 pm

well, just pow the salesmen la.. sometimes, it’s include in the package ma.. i got, almost half tank and u are right.. people will always care about “bau kilang punya” then to think that they need to go find petrol station.. kete baru la katekn..

• We at Honda Global Amity has been doing the ‘free full tank of fuel’ for all new cars for the past 2 years!

You’ll get a bunch of other goodies too … at no extra cost! :)

• chidori on May 05, 2011 at 9:51 pm

my dad got full tank petrol upon picked up his new proton plus touch n go summore with rm30 reloaded :D

• alvin on May 05, 2011 at 9:55 pm

What car brand did u buy? It is up to the salesperson to provide a decent amount of fuel considering that they are getting commission..

• Carl Wong on May 05, 2011 at 10:08 pm

I’ll be REALLY HAPPY if my new car have a tank half full. The new cars I got always had empty tanks so I always had to find a petrol station. I think they’re a little stingy..

• crazerlapd on May 05, 2011 at 10:27 pm

My new nissan Teana that i took last week got half tank of ron97… Not bad Tanchong.

• torque on May 05, 2011 at 10:42 pm

Fact first, I’m a car salesman…quit my job as art director / web designer and be in the car line for 1 main reason…CAR!!! I just love cars but after reading this thread…I just got 1 thing to say…STOP ASKING FREE THIS AND THAT!!

Be in the car line for more than 2 years…I learn 1 thing…no matter how rich or how poor Malaysian customer is… majority MUKA TAK TAU MALU…asking us salesman to give the heaven and earth. Doesn’t matter buying cars under 100k or 250k or more…ask for free PAYUNG la, free T-Shirt la, free KEYCHAIN la, free TINT la, free SPECIAL NUMBER la…go to UK or New Zealand and FOR GOD SAKE see the customer ethic first!!

If you could afford a car like 250k, tell me this…u don’t have enuff money to buy payung ker?! That is just so F*ckin’ sad…seeing people walk in the showroom and buying ten of thousand of ringgit cars, asking for this and that…don’t you know the more you asking or should I say…pressing the salesman, you actually taking a portion of his / her commission that is deservely for his / her family and kids.

I always pump at least 3/4 to my LEAST favourite customer and full to customer that never ask more from us salesman. For those customer…I SALUTE YOU!

• cool bro. it is a malaysian culture. try be nasik lemak salesman like me… ask for sambal lebih, telur lebih.. pay tak mau lebih…. some more want to drink teh ais… but ask for teh tarik, then ask for ais, but when charge price for teh ais dont want to pay, saying drink teh tarik and ice should be free….
      so when i walk into showroom, i ll ask for free smartag, free petrol, free payung, free tint, free t shirt, free towel, free cap, free car air refreshner, free aid kit, free jumper cable, free shampoo, free pen, free organizer, free bookmarker, free kfc voucher, free kipas kertas.

• nahhhhhh……from ur attitude…..i’m sure u one of those bloodsucking salesman….those who will suck u at each opportunity…had bought few cars myself and helping aiding others buying car tought me a lesson to avoid people like u…..usually i’ll ask and bargain for few freebies just to see their response and from their answer u know whether they are a born natural liar or the trusted one….trust me getting ur car from these liar is risky bcos they do shabby job just to finish it off and u may end up doing more paperworks or visiting ur service centre prematurely………my advice it pays to shop around seeing few salesman at different branches bfor buying ur car…….u will notice that some of them trying to fool and suck u up……….no matter wether it is just a 40k or 1 million car it still ur hard earn money………

• johnson L on May 06, 2011 at 1:48 am

lina,
        Go around to survey is consumer rights…but hope that u r not the one “STORY CREATER”
        With this kind of attitude, it consider like killing SA life…
        ” adding sand in ppl rice bowl”….make the whole market bad…this kind customer survey all around is ok..but the create story to SA…” that ppl give me another 500 discount wor..how about u ?” bla bla…..
        When the moment u buying new car, don bother how much it discount or how many freebies they offer, if u think that u can afford n u like that car so so much, just get it…
        if u worry ppl suck ur blood…can the money follow u when u leaving this world ???
        Pity u ler, buy a car also that much worry n tired…worth it ???

• no need pity me……… please la wtf i need to create story……my pays good enough and who the hell gonna pay me to CREATE STORY unless it’s a potential best selling novels….go around ask around plenty of bad stories even in this blog u find alot……..and i dont mind adding sand to these lying blood sucking SA….and i’m sure the money they suck not following them when they leave this world either…..i buy the car i like from the good honest SA i like and i’m sure not worried and tired ……..and it’s worth it………..just wondering why are u so flamming mad …….mmmm are u eating any chillies lately ?

• johnson L on May 06, 2011 at 1:39 am

Cantik la Bro….hahaha…
      I agree with that too although im not SA…..hahaha

• crv owner on May 05, 2011 at 11:46 pm

Honda Global Amity is the best Honda dealer. i salute them. my next Honda definitely will be from them. looking forward for their new B.B.Bangi 4S!

• HK Tan on May 05, 2011 at 11:48 pm

Well, I have similar experience before. It apply for Proton. Honda did filled up half a tank, for my previous two deliveries. But when I got my Lexus CT200 last week. They filled up full tank for me. Yes is FULL tank. There are more surprise: they have wax the car too.

• Seatux on May 06, 2011 at 12:12 am

I was probably more pissed at Aiman Motors PJ for not delivering the car I asked that was already sitting in their lot faster than 2 weeks than the almost empty gas tank. At least Petronas is really a stone’s throw away.

• rebadge on May 06, 2011 at 12:19 am

when i bought a Viva for my wife, the tank is almost empty BUT the salesman gave me RM50 cash as ‘duit minyak’…

• Syahril on May 06, 2011 at 12:27 am

Our new Honda Insight came with full tank of gas and a free umbrella

• Wisdom on May 06, 2011 at 1:20 am

Sure worth it. That petrol will bring u up to 700 plus km. Cheers.

And a big umbrella isn it?

• Carl Wong on May 06, 2011 at 2:11 pm

Then you can go for your first service after the first full tank straight away at around 1000km LOL :).

• amatku17 on May 06, 2011 at 12:39 am

I bought my P2 Alza last year from Nibong Tebal Branch. The SA give me full tank petrol + window tint voucher and some other goodies. This uncle was very nice (already forget his name). Never ask for extra sambal but still got it.

• no u-turn on May 06, 2011 at 1:10 am

torque,
    don’t tell us sad stories.
    you get your cut from
    1) banks – 9 years loan.
    2) insurance co’s .
    3) a percentage of the trade in value.
    all we asking does not cost you an arm & a leg
    buying cars nowadays is like making a long term commitment
    so at least appreciate your customers and give them something
    in return. The way you put it is like you are losing money
    from selling cars.
    this is a business bro – win-win lah and not only you win !! :)

• torque on May 08, 2011 at 9:46 pm

Wow…no u-turn, u r 1 smart kid, ain’t cha? I DARE u to be a car salesman for at least a year…then baru tahu langit tinggi rendah!!!

Let me answer your GENIUS statement:

1) Bank only give the salesman RM600 handling fees, half the co. takes it…everyone knows that unless u still in high school n didn’t know that?! U think RM300 can cover a FREE TINT REQUEST from u BLOODSUCKING customer who want a good security 4 mil tint?
      2) You think we always get FULL insurance fees? Hello, ever heard of NCB transfer? Again, I assure u it never reach 1 grand for a car!!
      3) Percentage of trade in value? Come on, if u ever work in any car company that DOESN’T have a overtrade…guess again bro, it ain’t honeymoon la!

However, I do agreed with u that there’s always losing money in business but u go try to haggling over the top in any wet market or kedai runcit, they ALSO will tell u go fly kite bro…

…my point to u n lina is please…don’t come up with a ONE side of a story!

p/s: Read carefully, I’m a High Diploma Graphic Design holder who had 10 years experience with last payment up to 5 grand, be in car line b’coz I love cars n for ur info…I had experience my booking fees car salesman bawak lari…I be a car salesman so no one will experience that like I did but I also learn 1 thing too…there’s also a cut-throat customer…shows in u too…well, siapa makan cili…

• whose cut throat who la……..customer cut throat???? do u know how to run business or not..the money is 100% from customer…it’s our right to get the best deal cos it’s my bloody money……and definately not coming from ur throat or a$$……who are u anyway….there is alot more good honest SA that i’m feel happy to do business with………..

• johnson L on May 06, 2011 at 1:12 am

Sometimes we must understand SA situation too, they also need to survive, since we can afford a new car or recond car, why just wan to ‘kira’ with the tank of petrol? Just had a deal with SA “don let me feel shame with my brand new car after leaving ur showroom n my way to home or work “!!
    Umbrella expensive ?? Need to ask from SA ?? FOC touch n go n smartag somemore, dont u have 1 now ? need to get 1 more set for standby?
    SA also have family to take care too..pls considered SA life sometimes, not all SA stingy sometime….let ppl earn some money, if u feel that cant let ppl earn ur money , pls stick back with ur old old car…

• I agree.I picked up my new Mazda 3 in PJ last week with 0km left on the onboard computer. 0km!, can you believe it. The salesman told me to go to the nearest brand X petrol station asap but I preferred brand Y. So I ended up with my GPS looking for the next best brand Y petrol kiosk while in fear of the car dying on me along the journey.

I love the car but come on, what is RM10 or 20 worth of petrol? Would it really do that much harm to your margins? What start to an experience to owning a new car, especially in a brand that I’ve not owned before..

I was thinking of recommending my brother to a Mazda 3 but I’m now thinking twice

Thanks so much about having a good sale experience..sheesh…

• torque on May 08, 2011 at 9:50 pm

That I’ll stand by u and say u don’t deserve it…picking up a new car must at least have a half tank bro!

• SoMeOnE on May 06, 2011 at 1:55 am

if im not mistaken the part of the money used to fill up a new car usually comes out from the salesman’s commission in most car companies…the provision is there but i guess every dollar counts for a salesman….

as for my experience..which was a mazda6 (back in the cycle and carriage days) the guy was so glad i went against the tide and bought what was a rare model (mk1) and is still a niche brand here… that he filled it to the brim…infact friends of mine that bought a less popular brand seem to get a decent ammount of fuel in thier tanks as opposed to the ones that went for the usual ones….im not reading into anything but thats my experience…as for the going against the norm and getting that car?…apart from the parts being a lil higher than the usual suspects…i have no regrets….the long service intervals kinda justifies the cost….

• johnson L on May 06, 2011 at 2:19 am

Dear all,
    Don’t u feel that nowadays all SA here doesn’t feel like want to give customer a FULL FULL tank of petrol ? R we need to think about this Q here ????
    I met a few SA before, what they share with is…
    p1 p2..SA earn 450+ per car ( customer usually ask for”” EXTRA”” discount around 200-300)
    And all the Nihon jin Mr T , Mr H and Mr N more or less SA get around 800+ per car( all the customer ask”” EXTRA”” discount 400-600)
    Nowadays can these SA easily sell 5-10 cars per month ?
    Beside that, usually SA earning some accessories commission too, but i don think these all SMART customer donno where to fix right? Accessories comm also hard to ean …market price is OPEN …
    How much does the SA left? Wat if customer like some of u , ask smartag, T&G, FULL tank petrol RON 97 somemore ( now RM2.90 per liter, P2 tank almost cost them RM 120, no need to mention about Japs car lo.. )
    Do u all think before, as a sales person, this small little figure can survive ??
    Costumer feel happy la with wat they got, wat about SA ? Sayang SA(depend on situation) when you buy car from them, they can feel it……we need SA help sometimes,
    —>U WAN A HORSE RUN, BUT DONWAN TO FEED THE HORSE, DO U THINK THE HORSE WILL WORK FOR U ???
    Please think twice….

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 06, 2011 at 3:32 am

Of course it’s not fair for the SA to take the money out of his/her own pocket to gas up a customer’s new car, especially to the brim, and that’s not what someone like me would expect, or accept. But would it be an acceptable thing for a company to do so? I think most people are a fair lot – not expecting it to be filled to the brim, but would it be unreasonable for say at least 30 or 40 bucks of petrol to be put in so the first thing new owners don’t have to do is scramble to visit the petrol station?

When the other half bought a new 3 Series years ago (an E46), the low fuel warning light lit up a few km after we drove out of the dealership. She remembers that there was some petrol voucher that we could use, but it was a token amount. In more recent times, someone I know bought a F10 5 Series, and for more than 300 grand being forked out, that one had a quarter tank in it on delivery, decent but by no means anything worth writing home about, given the cost of the car.

Yes, we all know that a large bulk of the money in a car sale doesn’t end up with the retailing company, but it doesn’t mean the sale is also worth peanuts to the company either, especially with higher end offerings. Everything should be commensurate – if you buy something like a 5er, the tank should be filled, and the cash shouldn’t be coughed up by the SA.

Not asking for a free tint film job, wax job, SmartTag, super plush carpet mats or payung, those things I can very well fork out for on my own (though all power to those who do manage to negotiate such things). I didn’t ask for my car to be gassed up, because it’s not in my nature to demand (never crossed my mind at that point, actually) – certainly not holding it against anyone, just venting on what is simply poor practice, in my humble opinion. Just a fair amount of gas at the very least, without prompting, so one can enjoy the new ride without the distraction of eyeing that fuel gauge in the first few hours of the fresh relationship, that would be nice.

• if u buy a mercedes….they’ll give u a full tank. that was 2 years back when i got a C200K. I’m now in aussie….all cars sold are delivered with a full tank of petrol. enuff said.

• i got SAGA LMST 5 years ago with blink fuel indicator… so, drive quickly to petronas to fill petrol..guest what, my fuel cap cannot open..%^#%$ Proton…

• mr buru on May 06, 2011 at 8:14 am

just got my wife’s santa fe petrol last month …SA gave us RM200 +full tank fuel…last time, my car H**** also the same…nice SA…

• razee hussin on May 06, 2011 at 8:28 am

i just bought an alza..and im proud to say that my SA filled up my tank in full for free…:P

• lchan on May 06, 2011 at 9:09 am

sorry to say….one in a hundred car salesman are tight arses and know shits about customer service.

• be cool on May 06, 2011 at 9:16 am

if u go to proton, they will straight away said the freebies, no need to ask.. so no issue of kesian kpd SA.. customer x mintak pun, it is in the package.

• I got my Captiva 3 years ago at pantai bahru. Before we agreed on term and condition we demand something as a gift and finally we got an umbrella and a full tank of fuel upon delivery. And I think the fuel cost come from salesman pocket!

• coolcar on May 06, 2011 at 10:53 am

i got my audi in march, tank is full, so don simply accuse that all SA did the same

• ahmad on May 06, 2011 at 11:11 am

Two years ago, i took delivery of my rm300k car with a 0km to go…but the sales advisor offer to belanja me a full tank of petrol at the nearby station while she explains to me the many electronic functions in the car. Yesterday, I got another car (this time a national car) the car came with half a tank fuel with 8km mileage. I think im lucky hehe.

• Randy on May 06, 2011 at 11:26 am

I just took delivery of my Golf GTI last weekend from FA Wagen in Glenmarie, and my sales adviser handed me the keys to my car fully fueled – thanks Kiran! It’s a great feeling to know that you can just enjoy your new ride and not worry about refueling it right out of the showroom. I’m not sure what the company policy is regarding this – whether the company or the sales advisor pays for it – but I absolutely agree with Anthony that it makes perfect business sense from a customer service perspective for car companies to ensure that their customers are not left high and dry the minute they leave the showroom. After all, all other fluids (like motor oil, brake fluid, etc…..even wiper wash) are included with the car to ensure proper functionality…so shouldn’t fuel be too? And I think in all fairness, the company should be the one to foot the fuel bill, and not the sales advisor.

• torque on May 08, 2011 at 10:01 pm

Dear Randy,

I’m glad that u receive ur GTi with full amount of fuel and the services of dear Kiran…I assured u that half portion of the full tank comes from her own pocket!! Trust me…

• calvint78 on May 06, 2011 at 12:18 pm

i gt my new vios on last month with full tank. Thanks to the salesman for the courtesy of fill up full tank but NO thanks to his pity face. The sales always show some kesian face when we ask got free this free that, want ur to kesian them.

• Well, if the car is to be filled by the manufacturer, it is impossible.
    My myvi for example. Miri, Sarawak. The car needs to be delivered by road to peninsular port, by ship to sarwak port, by road again to my dealer.
    One full tank is 40litres. Just assume the weight of petrol is 20kg (not full tank) per car. With 100 cars, thats 2 tons. Almost 2 myvi !!
    If you are the transport provider, will you be happy ?
    But I agree that the local dealers should fill up the car upon delivery.

• shchoy on May 06, 2011 at 1:58 pm

Here i am thinking that “asking for a full tank” is the norm for Malaysians who
    buy a new car.

When i got my new 3008, I received the promised Smart Tag and Full Tank of RON 95.
    (+ a written agreement that i got my car within 2 months)

Guys, always ask for a Full Tank of Petrol. It’s a no-brainer when negotiating for the best deal. Not telling you to be cheap and ask for Umbrellas and Key-Chains… ask for the necessary and relevant.

• Walter Wolf on May 06, 2011 at 2:00 pm

Story 1: Customer asked for free SmartTAG, full tank of fuel, steering lock, boot liner, T-shirt, umbrella, tint and discount. SA obliged and gave him all the freebies and RM1000 discount. Customer went home happy and started telling everybody how he managed to ‘pau’ the SA kaw-kaw.

Story 2: Customer did not ask for any freebies, but SA liked the customer so much because she wasn’t fussy that SA threw in full tank of petrol….on top of the RM2500 discount that company give.

Moral: If you think it’s your god-given right as a consumer to ‘pau’ the SA, the SA is justified to ‘pau’ you back. If you’re happy to demand that the SA takes money from his own pocket to buy you gifts, don’t be surprised if you one day discover that the SA actually took that money from the discount that was entitled to you in the first place.

• moral of the story use ur phone and call showroom all over the country if u want…..just need ur voice and phone bills………..ask and survey all the SA whats the latest deal……….the truth will come out which one is the sucker which one earn an honest living and bargain what ever both party satisfied and agreed upon………

• torque on May 08, 2011 at 10:11 pm

Well…it’s ur right to call the WHOLE country lady as long that’s makes u happy and do u know what’s makes me happy?

U R NOT MY CUSTOMER!!!

• Story 3. Customer did not ask for any freebies (usually a newbie, lady) SA liked the customer so much because she wasn’t fussy that SA decided to pau the RM2500 discount that company give. the money from the discount that was entitled to her in the first place…..mmmmm is it u torque??

• torque on May 09, 2011 at 7:32 pm

Sorry lady but u obviously shooting blank!! I have nothing to do with story 3 that u just mention…why? B’coz my company is not CAP AYAM company…if I keep the discount to myself…the company DOESN’T give it back to us!! Might as well throw all la lady….adoiii…talk so much…quit ur job la…work with reputable car company…then u know la how most Malaysian customer look like. Sheesh! :-(

• mmmmmmm on May 10, 2011 at 9:40 am

reputable car company but the sa might not be…hehhehe……if with cap ayam company maybe can tapau a bit only but if with cap golden rooster maybe can tapau a lot more…………..a lot lot lot more

• torque on May 10, 2011 at 8:23 pm

Of coz if u r among the dishonest SA, no matter where u go no use wan lar…talking about an SA which is sincere and willing to fill up the tank up till max but how to do so if the some of the customer also cap golden rooster wan…u think most SA is the tapau type wan meh…no type customer tapau kaw2…SA also human, customer also human…think all customer is better than us SA…we SA that low is it?

• Carl Wong on May 06, 2011 at 2:12 pm

Hey guys, how should we drive the new car for durability until the first service of 1000km?

• Creative Mind on May 07, 2011 at 11:59 am

if u r refering to p1 and p2, it is best to let the engine run-in. do not go above 100km/h for first 1000km. for continental cars, u dun hv to worry, can push to the redline. my audi is fine, can hit the redline no matter at what milage. and the engine’s great until now, still giving great performance

• Carl Wong on May 07, 2011 at 2:19 pm

Thanks man, what about Japanese cars? Can they be used for long distance driving?

• Carl Wong on May 07, 2011 at 4:39 pm

*Thanks man, what about Japanese cars? Can they be used for long distance driving?*……Before reaching 1000km?

• alcool31 on May 06, 2011 at 2:52 pm

For me, I would most prefer is my car is delivered with minimum fuel, maybe for 40km or so. Salesperson would probably fill in the cheapest priced fuel and I do not want to contaminate my tank with those fuel.

• damn it on May 06, 2011 at 6:11 pm

For all cars delivered,I got fill up minimum 40 ringgit petrol.even if it was blood scuking customer.i think its reasonably fair ma,at least ur car won’t stop in the middle of the road.some customers are very nice to me,so definitely i feel like they deserve more,so fill up full tank.mind u all this is cuming out from SA pocket.but i never left any empty tank before,i care enough about customers to not do that.but sometimes customer think we earn alot,thats not the case.we need to live too,dah la want discount,give discount then want sumore,cut comission.sumore request smart tag la,tint la,number plate la,interchange number gao dim la,then we sell car for what?give everything already sumore wanna take out pants,bend over and let u f%@k?

• Jordan on May 07, 2011 at 10:48 am

I totally agree.. i’m a SA too.. the consumer always think we earn alot by selling cars.. if we earn alot,why not join us? there is vacancy… our basic is damn low… even lower than an odd job worker’s basic pay. so,we only earn from commission and incentives.. do u guys know that we dont get to claim for our phone bill and petrol? the fuel wont cost much, but its not compulsory! its not even stated in the VSO (sales order). when the customer is nice,we’ll give without even have to be ask. Imagine if u sell 7 units per month (minimum requirement in our company), half tank per vehicles is RM35. X 7= 245. Thats not including the tinted and extra discount the customer would ask. Take a moment to think, if ur boss said that ur salary will be deducted RM50 every month,what would u feel? Just RM50!! and we as SA got our salary cut by the consumers amounting to THOUSANDS!

• Shaun on May 07, 2011 at 12:27 am

Just got my Sonata a couple of weeks ago from Hyundai Glenmarie, the SA Charmaine was nice enough to come to the showroom to hand me the car on Sunday even though it was her day off. The car was fully fueled up which i find really generous of her. I actually approached another Hyundai Showroom in Old Klang Road near where i live but the SA there was very cocky and i just didn’t feel comfortable buying from him, thank God i went to Glenmarie and Charmaine even offered me 4 tickets to an automotive fair in MATRADE and told me if i bought the car there i would get a free gift. So if you plan to get a Hyundai, consider getting from her la…

• Erran on May 07, 2011 at 9:59 am

the last time i got my cars in 2006 & 2008, both SA washed, waxed, filled full tank, gave free floor mat & free visors. and all this u never asked from them. Once delivered to you, all is there already.

• I am a Proton car sales person. Everyone one of my customer I will give, full tank petrol RON95, Steering Lock, Tinted Voucher, Touch and Go (for Inspira & Exora Customer Smart Tag) and an umbrella. This has given me a lot of repeat sales and the customers become my friend for the long term.

• Super White on May 09, 2011 at 12:22 pm

I think the issue is not whether the buyer wants to squeeze the SA dry, but for them to have the decency of not letting the new car owners drive away worrying if the car is going to run out of fuel. Sure the SA will say “don’t worry, sure can reach the gas station” but I just got the car and I don’t know how far the car can go with the fuel light on. Hell, I don’t even know how long the light had been on.

I’m very happy to take the new car, why ruin it with the feeling of impending doom? I don’t expect full tank, at least fill it up to the point where the light don’t come on. Is that too much to ask?

• Super White on May 09, 2011 at 12:23 pm

I think the issue is not whether the buyer squeezing the SA dry, but for them to have the decency of not letting the new car owners drive away worrying if the car is going to run out of fuel. Sure the SA will say “don’t worry, sure can reach the gas station” but I just got the car and I don’t know how far the car can go with the fuel light on. Hell, I don’t even know how long the light had been on.

I’m very happy to take the new car, why ruin it with the feeling of impending doom? I don’t expect full tank, at least fill it up to the point where the light don’t come on. Is that too much to ask?

• andyloi on May 09, 2011 at 5:28 pm

I’m lucky that my salesgal filled up > half tank for me when I got my Prius :)

• Shiraz Faruqi on May 10, 2011 at 10:32 pm

Yes, it would be good customer service on the part of the sales person/ showroom to fill the car with petrol. The value of goodwill a full tank of petrol will garner for the sales person/ showroom is worth much more than how much it costs to fill the fuel tank.

I’m actually surprised that car companies are so calculative about this. I have had the misfortune of suffering for this no-fuel-in-new-car issue.

I accompanied my Mum to pick up her new Honda. The salesman reminded her to fill up the fuel tank because it was close to empty. She missed the only petrol station along the way and went straight back home.

So, i took the car straight back out to go to the petrol station near her house. 200 meters from the petrol station, the car stalled. This was in the middle lane of the Federal Highway (opposite Volvo) during evening rush hour and it was raining. The Honda had only clocked 14km from the showroom to when it stalled!

Needless to say, it was a big hassle to deal with. i pushed the car to the emergency lane and made 3 trips to the petrol station using a make shift 1.5 liter bottle. It was a good 45 minutes before i managed to get the car started.

Drenched and annoyed, i wondered “why the hell can’t Honda just put some petrol in the tank?”

Had i not taken the car out, it would have been my Mum who would have gotten stuck in the middle of the Federal Highway… and that’s a dangerous situation for a groovy granny to be in…

• rosshadi on May 17, 2011 at 10:38 am

My MPS came with half a tank when I picked it up last Thursday.

• my bro bought alza few months back, asking for rm10-20 for fuel when we take it from their shop..the salesman refuse..not a single free gift, payung pon takde..kedekut.
    first stop sure petrol pump..haish…