Volvo S80 2.5T – limited units at an offer price!

Right, here’s the deal – Volvo Car Malaysia has a bargain in store for you if you’ve been eyeing the top-of-the-range S80 2.5T.

For a limited time only, Volvo’s authorised dealers are offering limited units of the 231 hp, 340 Nm beast at a special price. The company isn’t divulging what the price is, so you’ll have to find out more by heading over to the showroom. Do polish your negotiating skills – no two deals are going to be quite alike, given the fact that you’ll probably be trading in your old car for the purchase, that sort of thing.

To find out more, call or visit the participating authorised dealers, which are:

• Swedish Marque’s showroom in KL (1800-88 2222 / 03-9236 2822),
• Federal Auto showrooms in Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, Penang, Ipoh, Malacca and Johor Baru (03-2274 9300).
• In Sabah, contact the Volvo Gallery in Kota Kinabalu (088-485 544).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Alan Wong on May 06, 2011 at 9:51 pm

Looks like we got to go to Petaling Street to practice bargaining before entering the Volvo showroom…. so,shall we start with 30% of the original price and be happy with 50%??

• Speed Racer on May 06, 2011 at 9:54 pm

whats the price?

• MALAYSIA. I LOVE YOU on May 06, 2011 at 10:43 pm

new Volvo S80 will comeout

• Paul, what have your website become ? classified ads ? money making machine now … ?? at least let us know the indicative price cut !!!

• Paul Tan on May 06, 2011 at 11:56 pm

We don’t know the price cut. Volvo says you have to call them up. As Anthony has said, the discount sounds like an overtrade when you trade in your car, they’ll give you above market value. Perhaps you did not understand due to his tendency for creative prose. This is commonly done to protect the second hand value of existing owners.

• kenso on May 07, 2011 at 8:07 am

I understand what you mean, Paul … and to be honest, I have the same impression as CCLV. Don’t get me wrong; I have always felt that your site is an industry benchmark when it comes to automotive news. Truthfully, I would come here first before bothering to Google any information of a vehicle I am interested in.

However, this article sounds too much like an advertisement to me. The fact that it is focused on only ONE vehicle (with no additional information about the car itself), has financial gain for the car manufacturer complete and ends with contact details of the branches leaves me wondering the same question CCLV has. Perhaps it is as you say, Paul …. the method and style of how the article is presented may have something to do with this; I get the uncomfortably feeling that this is written by a marketing person from Volvo instead of an independent source as your site (no offense to you, Anthony). Unlike an article that, for example reports a promotion of low interest rates of a car manufacturer, there is a lot of sublimed messages in this article and actively suggests readers to go “check it out”. If we treat every single “bargain” from dealers that benefits readers (better pricing, better trade ins – all money related) as news worthy here, what’s to stop other manufacturers demanding the same treatment and making this great site, as CCLV puts it, a classifieds ad page.

I am very sorry to say this but this “tendency for creative pose” presented an image that has compromise the impartiality of objective reporting.

P.S: I am not working with any car manufacturer …. just sharing my observation from a sales/marketing perspective.

• In the industry on May 07, 2011 at 12:14 pm

What a bunch of ungrateful morons. It takes an incredible amount of time and effort to run this site. Just look at it’s competitors, no frequent updates, ugly design, etc. And they still survive year after year, coming up with great stories like the three way shootout review recently which took 5 people an entire day to execute. And you pick on one story with an enthusiastic style of writing and point fingers.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 07, 2011 at 1:28 pm

kenso,

First, no offence taken. I see your point of view and what you’re getting at. Clarifying the point, when the release came in, I bothered to make the call to find out more, something that is good practice when the facts aren’t all present and accounted for – the idea was to get a price, and as I told the PR person, people would inevitably post the pricing once they found out, if there was a fixed constant to it, so it would make sense to put it in. Such things are not left to subjective evaluation; to have not made the call to find out would have been wrong.

In any case, I was told that the idea was that they wanted people to call or visit, and that because of the point of different trade in values (or in this case, the ability of an individual to negotiate a deal), different buyers would get different ‘results’, for want of a better descriptive term, so they didn’t want to put a specific price on things.

The release itself, beyond this point, contained information that I felt was irrelevant or could be omitted (it spoke about the car, which everyone already knows details about). So, left with only the ‘mystery’ element to work with and the bare contact details, I worked with the barest bones, working on the idea that the information would be newsworthy to those who were in the market for or were considering a S80. Arguably, yes, the presentation could have been more austere, which I have since rectified in the piece; I am thankful for the observations, and the lesson learnt is that we will be more mindful of such angles when they come in, in the future, and work around or on that.

In ending, I think you will find that, aside from this particular presentation perspective, the bunch of us here are very much an objective lot when it comes to reporting and presenting facts – our reviews and news pieces beyond this single example speak on that account. Again, no offence taken, and thanks for taking the time to let us know what your thoughts on the matter were.

• kenso on May 07, 2011 at 4:57 pm

Thanks for clarifying, mate. Truly appreciate your quick response and the high degree of sensitivity demonstrated by your goodself. Without a doubt, I agree that on the issue of objectivity, you guys are a shining example to all who are in and strive to be in automotive journalism. Perhaps it is this high level of professionalism that has prompted me to view this article with such concern that such a great site may lose its focus and go off tangent. Once more, I applaud u (and your team) of the good work done. Do keep it up!

• one two three on May 08, 2011 at 8:07 pm

why weren’t there any complaints like this when they posted up the kia test drive contest? could it be because competing brand salesmen are afraid of volvo now that they have the new s60?

• this must be to clear old stock. 50k overtrade anyone?

• Check class according to Volvo platforms:

C-segment:S40, V50, C30, C70
    D-segment:S60, V60
    E-segment:S80, V70, XC70

• The S80 over here no longer has the 2.5T engine. There are two variants here: T6 AWD (224kW) and V8 AWD (232kW).

• wah, advertise or not advertise also can / can not …wahlau eh.