Proton launches two centralised logistics hubs

Proton, through its subsidiary Proton Edar and logistics provider Konsortium Logistik Berhad, has officially launched two centralised logistics hubs, one in Sijangkang and the other in Tanjung Malim. The company says that the hubs, in offering a fast delivery system and centralised supply chain, will allow it a more competitive edge in the global marketplace.

The Centre for Logistics, Allocation, Storage and Services (CLASS) hubs were launched by Proton advisor Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad at an official opening ceremony in Sijangkang, Kuala Langat, yesterday.

With both hubs in operation, cars from the Proton Shah Alam manufacturing plant are now sent to the Sijangkang hub for staging, storage, pre-delivery inspection and pre-shipment inspection before being sent via trucks to sales outlets, to be subsequently delivered to customers.

Cars from the Tanjung Malim manufacturing plant go through the same processes at its CLASS hub, located within the plant. Other services provided at the hubs are logistics planning, vehicle storage, stock storage maintenance, washing and fuelling.

Operational wise, Proton Edar, from April last year, has outsourced the task of managing its deliveries to KLB in an effort to improve its supply chain. The event yesterday also saw the signing of a service level agreement which officially sets the service level of Konsortium in terms of storage maintenance, pre-delivery inspection and delivery preparation.

Both CLASS hubs have been operational for a while now, catering to local demands. In the second phase, both hubs officially began preparing cars for shipment to the export market on April 4 by means of a rigorous pre-delivery inspection.

The 50-acre Sijangkang hub, which started operations on April 1 last year, can accommodate 7,000 cars at a particular time while the 45-acre Tanjung Malim hub, which began operations in June 2010, can accommodate 6,000 cars at a go. In April this year, the hubs successfully delivered a total of 14,573 units of vehicles to its distributors and dealers.

Proton Group managing director Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin said Proton would be able to maximise its logistics efficiency by reducing costs and delivery time, thereby helping increase customer satisfaction domestically and globally.

“Previously, pre-delivery inspection was handled by local and international dealers at the respective service outlets prior to handing the cars to customers. That is no longer the case, as the process is now done at the hubs,” he said.

“The hubs will help us standardise the pre-delivery inspection of all vehicles, and this is significant in ensuring fast delivery of cars for domestic market. The CLASS process enables us to reduce a host of problems, including multiple handling by 40%, unnecessary waiting time to a maximum of three days, secondary defects and excess inventory at staging points,” he added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• samyyd on May 12, 2011 at 11:01 am

since when we have to wait for proton?… ever demand more than supply?

• st3wp1d on May 12, 2011 at 11:17 am

“Dr Mahathir, who is also Proton adviser, said Malaysians who bought Proton cars were doing a charity because when Proton becomes a success story and prospered, many Malaysians would get jobs and could support their families, some of whom have big families.” – wth?

• Kama Irahsa on May 12, 2011 at 12:03 pm

it is true though..

• stupid mahathir. as if without this joke of a car company, malaysia cannot attract foreign carmakers to set up shop in malaysia ala thailand.

• squall_shinoda on May 12, 2011 at 6:49 pm

Having a national car is not wrong at all. What is wrong is about our automotive industry policy. When Proton was first established, the price margin with competitors was reasonable by only a few grand (e.g. Proton Saga’s RM14k vs Nissan Sunny’s RM16k) and yet Proton was still able to dominate the entire market. The quality, technologies and equipments were on par. But then the price margin became larger and larger, and now a 2009 Honda City Grade S subcompact is more than RM30k more expensive than a top-spec Proton Persona compact which is around RM56k, which is totally ridiculous.

The original intention of the birth of Proton was to create a new lucrative industry in Malaysia that was capable to transform Malaysia into a new industrialized nation. But then, with the lack of automotive standards, we were left behind our neighbours. Even a made-in-Thailand Honda Wave has fuel injection. Even some Toyota models like the Avanza, Hilux and Innova are designed by Indonesians and not Japanese.

• you don’t get what I’m saying.

do you honestly believe that No proton = No malaysian automotive industry?

• squall_shinoda on May 12, 2011 at 8:33 pm

The industry is still here even without Proton. But the most important essence from the industry is so that we have all the know-hows to build our own cars properly, from merely assembling the cars until developing an all-new car model with a new engine and a new transmission from scratch. Do you think by simply letting armies of foreign carmakers to set up their factories here then we can totally get all the know-hows required? The answer is definitely no. Even if you yourself is a chief engineer designing new car models, once you quit your job then you have to destroy all the blueprints of the models from your possession.

The main issue here is that our automotive industry does not treat carmakers equally. While local car models only have sales tax and very low excise tax, foreign models have 300% import tax + excise tax + sales tax. Even if the models are Asean CBU models or even CKD models, they may have low import tax, but then the excise tax will be raised kaw-kaw.

• tiadaid on May 12, 2011 at 11:10 pm

Squall, I think you’ll find that the maximum tax now is 145% for CBU cars above 2500 cc from non-ASEAN region, as stated here http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm.

What pisses me off is that carmakers (the usual suspects from the land of the rising sun) who are in the lower tax bracket (85% excise & 0 import tax for cars below 1.8L) are not giving out the best quality product they can, but are giving low quality products so that their profit margin gets fatter! Thank god now there’s more option in that bracket.

• squall_shinoda on May 12, 2011 at 11:54 pm

Thanks for the data bro, I appreciate it.

• squall – mahathir was talking about how Malaysians would get jobs and could support their families with proton around, but I say the same can be achieved even if there was no proton in this country, while you are talking about technology knowledge which I have not been referencing about at all.

now answer me this; malaysians cannot get jobs and support their families if there was no proton created in this country? please focus on the job creation aspect by foreign carmakers and nothing else.

• squall_shinoda on May 13, 2011 at 12:53 pm

DK, if you really mention about job creation, you’ll need to think about this scenario. When Proton was established, it started as total assembler where all components came from Japan. The only jobs created would be factory operators and car dealers. No engineers, no designers; those were all Japanese. Then the components were reverse engineered and thus spawned part vendors, creating more and more jobs for Malaysians.

If you claim that the Malaysians could still get jobs even without Proton, can you tell and clarify whether similar scenario may happen without Proton? Would there any engineers, designers or any other automotive-related jobs? Without Proton, when foreign carmakers set up their factories here, would there were Malaysian parts vendors suppying parts for them? No, that wouldn’t happen at all. Even if there were any, they would need to have a proven track record before being accepted as suppliers for the foreign makes. And the only means to do it was through our local carmakers. Do you know that in the so-called local assembly cars there are only a few Malaysian parts inside them, the rest of the parts were sourced elsewhere from Japan, Thailand, Indonesia and even China? That’s why it is an undeniable fact that the creation of Proton (or any other national car brand) has spawned more automotive-related industries and jobs that are not possibly created without a national carmaker. Without GM, Ford or Chrysler, can the US becoma a nation associated with cars?

And there’s another thing that you should remember. Without Proton or any other industries spawned here, your parents would remain as poor farmers, and then you yourself will become a poor farmer and then your children and grandchildren will continue as poor farmers. Is that all that you want? That’s why from the creation of heavy industries, Malaysia has transformed as an industrial nation and become prosperous, attracting foreign investments and therefore providing more jobs for us.

Anyway, I am not a fan of Dr. M, just stating based on facts only. I hate his automotive policy that has resulted in heavy taxation which only gives Proton an unfair advantage, but I can’t deny the fact that the creation of Proton has spawned many jobs for us.

• tiadaid on May 13, 2011 at 12:53 pm

To be honest, think logically, if CBU units are not taxed as heavily as they are now, do you really think it is cost effective for foreign car makers to open up shop here?

Malaysian labour costs aren’t exactly cheap, compared to Indonesia & Thailand. It is my sincere belief that if Proton hadn’t existed, foreign car makers would have gone out of Malaysia long time ago.

Take a look at the electronics industry. Back in 2001, in Shah Alam, you have JVC, you have the sprawling Matushita factories etc. Now? JVC’s factory is a logistics warehouse while Matushita’s presence in Shah Alam is smaller. They’ve also closed & torn down the factory in PJ. So we can’t depend solely on foreigners because when the rug is pulled from under us, the fall will be mighty painful.

• squall,

let’s just say, with or without proton, there will be jobs created in this country, regardless. it looks like both of us agree on this.

on a separate note, you seem to have a low opinion of malaysians, who you assume without proton, malaysians cannot get jobs as engineers or designers simply because they don’t originate from the country the car manufacturer comes from.

really, then why do i see car companies from japan and korea have design stuidos in US, where they hire the westerners to work for them? you cannot assume that malaysians cannot get the same jobs.

i still hold firm in my belief that without proton, we would be an even better ‘automotive nation’. i may not see eye to eye with your comments, but i choose to respect it anyway since that is your opinion. let’s agree to disagree then.

• thai tax max for import car is 137%..quit similar rite

• jtiongwl78 on May 14, 2011 at 12:07 pm

I think if without National Car, Malaysia will still have local automotive industry. In my opinion, the current NAP is not functioning in a proper way, as well as a healthy way. For example Australia also have their own National Car – Holden. But, does Aussie Government protect Holden as what our G do for Proton? Check car pricing for Australian market, and compare them you will understand that, THE ANSWER IS NO.

• Ash Menon on May 12, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Where are you getting this? I don’t see it in the article?

• LatukBandar on May 12, 2011 at 12:24 pm

he wants us to drive proton but never encourage himself, his children and grandchildren to drive proton. You and I know why – not safe.

Out life is cheap, his is expensive. I’ll buy a proton when he ditch his favorite Porsche, or whatever foreign marque he is driving now.

• MoFaz on May 13, 2011 at 2:02 am

his official car for official functions was Proton Perdana. Similarly, all ministers and deputies must use Proton Perdana for official functions.
          who cares if he bought Porsche for his personal use? if he use the official car for non-official or personal trips, u guys would accuse him misusing the taxpayers or rakyat money!

• LatukBandar on May 13, 2011 at 2:29 am

That is exactly the problem. Proton is his pet project when he was PM, he should LEAD BY EXAMPLE because he is the LEADER of this country and only use Proton, nothing but proton.

He told us to be proud to be Malaysian, buy Malaysian first. Look at him and all his ministers. Drive German, Dine France, Wear Italian, Use Japs Electronics, Children edu in UK, Speak American at home.

Our proton cars not good enough for them? Our University not good enough for them? No confidence in our edu/car/electronic (pensonic)?

• jtiongwl78 on May 13, 2011 at 1:30 pm

If they dont do this to you they dont have sufficient fund to maintain the style as what you mentioned.

• do you confidence with malaysia product? pikom pc vs acer pc? sony ericsson vs csl? pensonic vs samsung? hikayat hangtuah vs lord of the ring?

• Wisdom on May 13, 2011 at 2:49 pm

Ayyo. Like this also problem aaa?

For your weekend, family and getaways, buy a steady car of any makes.

For daily abuse and being so-called patriotic, buy 1 proton.

Malaysian is rich with cars nowadays. Some resident even didnt have enough area to park cars. Every house now have at least 2 cars. Why not one of em is Proton?

Everybody happy……..

• alfie60 on May 12, 2011 at 1:16 pm

This is what it has come to. Since Proton cannot sell base on their quality and now appealling to us to to charitable to them.

DONATE MONEY TO PROTON AND GET A CAR FREE. WTF!!!

• autojohndoe on May 12, 2011 at 5:22 pm

proton sell a lot of cars in march…

i talk facts…

• LatukBandar on May 12, 2011 at 5:35 pm

Yeah, I got many A in SPM coz my teacher gave me the answer…. and I deserve it.

I talk facts.

• squall_shinoda on May 12, 2011 at 6:59 pm

Hell yeah… while others worked hard by their own selves to score in their SPM, you scored so many As in SPM simply because you have your teacher as a supplier for your army of toyols. Good fact, I like it. That’s why when others have to search the sources of statistics data to be quoted, you simply create your own statistics. So clever.

• greasemonkey on May 15, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Well guys,I think you guys are so passionate about P1,anythink and everythink abt them,you all will comment and bash dengan penuh perasaan! Simple solution to this problem,if we dun feel like doing charity, dun donate to P1.Cheers.

• breaL on May 12, 2011 at 2:13 pm

which will be in year ????never!!

• jtiongwl78 on May 12, 2011 at 3:39 pm

If they are sincere, and are able to face the challenge, why dont they push G to open up the market? If they can do this, and still can survive in a proper manner, I salute them and accept that they are sincere and honest.

• Unforgiven on May 12, 2011 at 7:37 pm

Are we able to ask D M to use a Proton for his daily/official ride?
        Better still if you are able to ask S’wak CM to use that, LOL!

• squall_shinoda on May 13, 2011 at 12:15 am

Taib Mahmud tu jenis lawan tokey punya orang… he rides a Rolls-Royce Phantom which usually only Sultans and super millionaires can afford to have one. What not, he exploited Sarawak’s resources through the monopolization by his family’s own companies to fund his wealth.

• who cares about the news anyway?

• quattro on May 16, 2011 at 12:01 am

yak pernah dengar pulak proton kene waiting tima lama3..kalu honda toyota tu adalah juga kawan2 cakap lambat..

• tiadaid on May 12, 2011 at 11:19 am

Saga & Persona have a waiting list.

• jtiongwl78 on May 12, 2011 at 3:41 pm

I think someone, include them are the one who create the crowd..

• sheffol on May 12, 2011 at 11:36 am

marketing gimmick..

• alfie60 on May 12, 2011 at 12:42 pm

I think Proton is about to implement the TRABANT (east germany car) marketing and business plan which is to BAN all cars except Trabant that can be sold in east germany that created about 16 years of waiting list. I think the Proton CEO is due for his Tan Sri ship for the success of this marketing plan.

• autojohndoe on May 12, 2011 at 5:25 pm

keep talking about trabant…

in 25years… other carmakers never fail to make a sell…

i think you just desperately want to buy an imported car… loan got rejected…

then, blame everybody but ypurself….

• lonelyobserve on May 12, 2011 at 1:08 pm

I think it’s the manufacturing plant has too many ready stock not able to clear for so long. Proton tries to find storage warehouses to get rid of its ready stock from the plant.

• jtiongwl78 on May 12, 2011 at 3:37 pm

People are big baby, demand the mother to breast feed him/her for his whole life. Sorry to say that you should realize this and accept this as the reality fact in NAP.

• swift on May 12, 2011 at 11:29 am

Waste of public funds.

• john doe on May 12, 2011 at 11:38 am

guyz, they are improving. just support their effort this time. at least, i know my taxes been used for other malaysians can enjoy a better car.

• how ignorant.

taxes are supposed to be used to build public-accessible projects like roads and schools, not subsidize other people’s cars!

• shawal on May 12, 2011 at 7:37 pm

you are right, i cannot see any schools and roads in Malaysia, dumbass

• john doe on May 12, 2011 at 8:10 pm

i aint ignorant, i know what should be used from the tax money, but our so clever govt decided to waste on proton, so, at least, this is better than ‘puduraya makeover’.

• MoFaz on May 13, 2011 at 2:10 am

if they didn’t upgrade Puduraya, you said it’s terrible, crowded, banyak ulat dan tak ada kemajuan,…
          when they upgrade it to be modern and comfortable, you said it’s a waste of taxpayers money, bla bla bla….
          so what the hell you want?

• kenot on May 12, 2011 at 11:42 am

So..with this hub, proton can make sure the car will 100% free problem before sent to the dealer or customer? Some of the dealers is not professional when make an inspection. i hope with this hub, proton can make sure the car will be in good condition in all aspect.

• MALAYSIA. I LOVE YOU on May 12, 2011 at 11:42 am

Konsortium Logistik
    Please check who own this company. If not mistaken, Mokhzani Mahathir is among board of director cum shareholder

• Mastermind on May 12, 2011 at 12:27 pm

No la MISC ….I WORKED there….

Jgn kasi naya sama org!!!!!

• jtiongwl78 on May 12, 2011 at 1:15 pm

Why we dont say that he is the actually big boss? I think major stake or share holder ( more than 51% ) belongs to him, and he is the ONE MAN SHOW and executive Chairman.

• tiadaid on May 12, 2011 at 5:31 pm

Mokhzani is not in the board of directors, according to the webpage. And the majority stake holder in Konsortium is Ekuinas (Ekuiti Nasional Berhad), a government linked equity fund, and Mokhzani is not on the board of directors of that organization too.

• potong on May 12, 2011 at 11:45 am

Konsortium? Mirzan?….

• Lim Kopi on May 12, 2011 at 11:58 am

Dr M ,

I suggest you just retire and stop making ridiculous statements, only making urself look bad:

http://star-motoring.com/News/2011/Don-t-blame-Proton-for-high-car-prices,-says-Dr-M.aspx

• lonelyobserve on May 12, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Correct. But nvm, old man’s mindset is getting retarded. So let it be until he goes to graveyard.

• jtiongwl78 on May 12, 2011 at 3:45 pm

Dont know when he can be packed by using boxes. Probably due to the ” TOO GOOD ” maintenance he has.

God really stupid and blind already..

• HirumaKecil on May 13, 2011 at 3:36 am

Now even god also being bash by the basher… What a joke man.. u want better car, u pay more la.. What?? dun have money… Wth.. u dun have money why blame other.. even god also u blame…. Work harder la…

LIM kopi..

Mahathir retarded? World listen to him.. not u…. Even now world need him…. Outsider pay him millions of $ for an hour talk….. U ask him to stop talking?
          What is ur achievement? What did u do for RAKYAT? Who r u? U cannot even buy ur dream car….. Bloody retarded…

• jtiongwl78 on May 14, 2011 at 11:43 am

Do you know that his act and action taken makes people pay high price? Use your head to think first. I think with the implementation of NAP it benefit you? Or you have persona interest inside? Are you sure I don’t have money? How do you judge this? Who are you? I blame others, I am only blaiming NAP who make such policy which makes every body suffer, and pay high price for their cars, and pay high price for fuel again recently. Please calculate the car pricing first before you say anything without going those statement in your pig head.

Does world really listen to him? You better check properly. World need him? Where is the proof? I personally don’t ask him to stop talking, but please be fair to everybody. I think you’re the one who ask him to stop talking.

How about you? What is your achievement? What has you done for the people? You tell me first before you ask me this. You yourself don’t even do anything I think, then you ask me. Who are you? I throw back that question to you as well.

Personally, I own imported car. I drive German cars.. How about you? Why you say I can’t buy my own dream car? I think you’re bloody retarded as well. Remember that when you point at me, using your finger, other finger are pointing at the direction towards yourself.

Please, I think you shouldn’t function like a “KATAK DI BAWAH TEMPURUNG”.

• scgtimk1 on May 12, 2011 at 12:07 pm

Hahahaha

Dapat jugak mamak madet ni buat duit dari Proton………owner CLASS tu kroni die……

Sebelum ni Pak lah dh tendang kroni madet Mahalel tu sebab tu dia marah sgt kt Pak Lah… sekarang DSZ tak leh kata pa dah no more power.

Today is the start of the day Proton will be backwards again until this this ‘old mamak’ dies, till then.

Pandy Kutty betul…..

• the_fighter on May 12, 2011 at 12:24 pm

racist again…when talk about nationality all said we re malaysian…we should be equal..when goes this matter ..mamak la, pandy kutty la … apa la ko ni ..racism betoi

• agree…

• autojohndoe on May 12, 2011 at 2:06 pm

still, he was the one who revolutionize malaysian…

from agriculture country to industrial…

• hantu on May 12, 2011 at 8:18 pm

only the cronies were benefited on DR.M policy.

• HirumaKecil on May 13, 2011 at 3:41 am

I’m not his crony… I got alot of benefit.. My father taxi driver only.. got banefit.. guess what… Who pay for ur school? Every people get benefit.. dun be greedy la… u want more that what u have now, then u need tpo wrk hard la… xkan saja2 mahathir nak bagi kat u Porsche sebijik…

• squall_shinoda on May 12, 2011 at 3:07 pm

Even though I totally disagree with his automotive policy which had contributed to ridiculously high taxes to non-national carmakers, we still need to admit that without him, Malaysia would never be as prosperous and industrialized as now.

• LatukBandar on May 12, 2011 at 4:07 pm

ur high on drugs? I heard many BN supporters say if it wasn’t for Dr.M, we won’t have internet in Malaysia. I mean, what nonsense is that? Funny, you have Internet in Singapore and they don’t have Dr.M.

I think we’re better off without Dr.M. Look at the damage he done to the nation. Our courts are a shame, corruption accelerated under his watch, police went from bad to worst, we once was better than Taiwan, South Korea, Hong Kong, Singapore, China… where are we now?

• autojohndoe on May 12, 2011 at 5:20 pm

You can condemn on history… what had been done…

but, at the time of mahathir leadership… what did you do?

enjoying all the prosperity, isnt it?

• LatukBandar on May 12, 2011 at 5:33 pm

What did I do? I vote for the opposition. Don’t get me wrong, am not partisan, if pakatan comes to power and ruled for 2 GE, i’ll probably vote them out. Absolute power corrupts.

Yes, I enjoyed some ‘prosperity’ – prosperity burger from McD.

• EncikKariPintar on May 12, 2011 at 7:22 pm

trueeee…

in his time, the debt of the country put onto our shoulders are significantly increased… until now, all we have to do is to endure the subsidies cut!

this old man is not genius, he’s just want people to think he is… that the genius of him!

• squall_shinoda on May 12, 2011 at 6:19 pm

It is you who are high on drugs. Singapore is a different country la idiot… so of course there’s no Dr. M there. Singapore becomes what it looks now because of how Lee Kuan Yew manages it. He did jail his political enemies and yet still in power (through Senior Minister and later Minister Mentor positions) until now. But still, his contributions to Singapore are evident and cannot be denied by anyone because everything has been written in history. Same thing as Dr. M or any other person in entire time.

• alfie60 on May 12, 2011 at 12:16 pm

The logic of having a logistic hub will increase Proton competitiveness globally is RUBBISH!!!

Who would buy these shitty cars? Has Dr Mahathir convince all the world leaders to impose high taxes internally in their country for other cars brand so it will help to sell the shitty Proton.

I dont think having a life time warrantty on the power window(what it means is unlimited replacement at no cost) will make the Proton increase globally.

As I said numerous time Proton is like a person suffering from bad body odour and when people avoid them,they think the public dont like the design of their shirts and there is nothing wrong with their bad body smell as its unpatriotic to tell them about it.

Whats the point of having a globally hub when there is no global demand for the shitty cars.
    SYIOK SENDIRI AJE. :-)

• the_fighter on May 12, 2011 at 12:27 pm

so what u gonna do bout this?? just barking here and there like there re no world to live..

• blokee on May 12, 2011 at 1:33 pm

routine comment!!..next please

• Mancini on May 12, 2011 at 2:50 pm

check this out

http://www.matjoe.com/2010/08/hub-proton-sijangkang-lembab-sakit.html

• squall_shinoda on May 12, 2011 at 3:18 pm

Poor that fella. There was a Proton Edar dealer in Segamat which was closed about six years ago due to its shitty service.

• squall_shinoda on May 12, 2011 at 3:41 pm

So what are you going to do about that? You’re just like a Rottweiler barking at a large tree and yet the tree does not do anything at all.

For me, the only thing that Malaysia should really have in order to make Proton more competitive is to have our own automotive standards. In my opinion, it is due to lack of automotive standards that have put our carmakers in “comfort zone” and thus making them slacking off lethargically without the initiative to constantly develop cars that sips less fuel, produces less smoke and provides better protection against fatal accidents.

For the crash standards, we do have MyVAP which is based on Euro NCAP, but currently only the Exora and Alza had undergone the assessment. It should be made mandatory for all car models being sold here to undergo the assessment.

As for emission standard, we do not have a set standard but rather implementing the very orthodox and outdated Euro 2 which was introduced in Europe more than 2 decades ago. Currently, the Europe is now moving towards Euro 5, and that shows us how retarded our automotive industry is. Even India has its own emission standards, which is currently at Bharat Stage 4 (equivalent with Euro 4).

We also need out own fuel consumption measurement system, because the fuel consumption data in cars being sold here are inconsistent. For example, UMW Toyota claims the Prius to achieve 38 km/L, which is impossible to acieve by average Malaysian drivers as it is based on Japanese 10-15 mode which is inaccurate in real world. On the other hand, Honda Malaysia claims the Insight to achieve 21.73 km/L based on estimates, which can be easily achieved by average drivers (the Insight’s 10-15 mode figure is 29 km/L). Perodua uses estimated km/L which can be dubious (because we dont know whether the figure is for urban or highway driving), while Proton uses L/100 km @ 90 km/h, a similar method with Canada. In a nutshell, the fuel consumption data between carmakers here are inconsistent and may cause too-good-to-be-true claims. From the standardized fuel consumption rating, then only Proton and Perodua will work extra hard to develop newer technologies to enable their cars to sip less fuel.

• kagesenshi on May 12, 2011 at 8:08 pm

at jakarta right now, seems like these guys have 50% tax on imported cars XD .. though because toyota have local factories , the cities are rules by toyota

so .. erm .. well .. looking at it this way, while in Malaysia the money goes to Proton (Malaysia), in Indonesia the money goes to Japan ..

• Hameed Koyakuti on May 12, 2011 at 12:25 pm

Ini adalah langkah paling bodoh and mangkuk oleh P1.

1999 – P1 had terminate this company bcoz they too many defect to CBU cars and poor service quality

2001 – P1 again terminated this company bcoz of too large variant in stock number in their warehouse (again, inaccuracy in stock control)

2002~2008 P2, BMW, EON, TOYOTA terminated this company bcoz of very POOR service quality in handling CBU cars.

2011 – P1 appointed this company to handle their CBUs….

Conclusions:
    P1 never learn from their mistake
    P1 is a donkey
    P1 likes to be associated with companies with POOR service level and claimed that their product is an innovation.

I bet you 2 years from now, P1 will regret this move soooo much but cannot exit this partnership since all their expertise had left P1 and join this company.

Viva P1, maintain your stupidity, we love you that way !!!!!!
    DSZ is also another donkey who never learn from past mistakes!!!!

• hantu on May 12, 2011 at 8:27 pm

Its Dr. Mahathir plan. To make their cronies rich and richer!

• good job proton!

• mivec on May 12, 2011 at 12:31 pm

wah now my tax money gone for p2 and naza since proton improving a lot

• ecofriendly on May 12, 2011 at 12:40 pm

same cases when Dr.M want to build penang bridge,our own national car,KLCC,Putra Jaya,MiSC and etc, get a lot of criticism.. So does this time. But in the end, u guess what? always beyooonddd expectation..

• hantu on May 12, 2011 at 8:32 pm

now, the rakyat must bear in debt from gov.
      Subsidy rationalization your ass Najib!

• MoFaz on May 13, 2011 at 2:34 am

you personally have no debt at all? never take any loan?
        why do you think he does that earlier, and not wait until today..? Penang bridge, Plus highway, and many other infrastructure would cost few times more today compared to 1980s. A house in Bandar Utama during 1990s was only RM100k but now already more than RM700k. so, do you wait until you have enough money to buy that house or buy/build now at current market price?

• MyCarMyLife on May 12, 2011 at 1:02 pm

dear MM,
    Buying a house or a car is probably the biggest investment Mysians make in their life time on earth ,unless you want to marry a prince or princess and splash it like Kate and William.
    So don’t say it is ( buying P1 ) for charity and that we are concerned about the cronies and the few P1 employees , Just get the quality right after receiving the initial complaints feedback from customers ( not asking for too much! ) .enough said @#$%

• Panamera on May 12, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Hope they distribute and uses high quality parts!!

• autojohndoe on May 12, 2011 at 1:13 pm

It is OK for Honda, the Japanese to build it… but not OK for Proton, the Malaysian…

very weird la malaysian minded…

• alfie60 on May 12, 2011 at 1:53 pm

Stop daydreaming. Proton quality isnt the same with Hondo. Hondo exports globally Proton dont..
      You should donate all your salary and be charitable to Proton cause Dr M needs people like you to keep Proton alive otherwise Proton cannot survive.

• squall_shinoda on May 12, 2011 at 3:15 pm

Check your facts back. Right now Proton relies more on export market rather than domestic market, where export market contributes to about 60% of Proton’s total sales. The only thing is that most of Proton’s export market either implements outdated automotive standards (emission standards, crash standards, fuel economy etc.), or does not have any set standard at all. Only if Malaysia really has automotive standards on par with international standards, then Proton can really sell those cars in the US and Europe where the standards are very high.

• In your dreams lah, 90 percent of proton are sold locally plus most exports loose money and local buyers are absorbing it, thats why proton is considered expensive in M’sia..,thats why most people are pissed with proton..

• squall_shinoda on May 12, 2011 at 6:34 pm

You are the one who is still daydreaming. From which source did you quote that figure? In Wikipedia as well as official statistics by International Organization of Motor Vehicle Manufacturer (OICA) has clearly stated that Proton is the 34th largest carmaker in ther world with the total sales of 152,965 cars worldwide. If in Malaysia the total sales is around 72k (2008 data by AAM), then how can it become 90% as what you claim? Tak reti kira ka? Next time check your facts before posting.

• total annual production 150k, what the hell? 34th largest in the world? WTF..ini jaguh kampung je cerita..everyone knows that proton exports are much less than 30k a year..lots of proton staff here, stop wasting your time, go and start making real cars at real prices don’t you..not just making badges please..

• squall_shinoda on May 12, 2011 at 8:20 pm

jojo,

The reason why you are so idiotic is because you only hear people talk shit without even searching the official sources to verify the truth behind them. From which source did you hear that Proton only managed to export 30k cars a year? WTF, you don’t even check the official statistics and yet you create the numbers by your own. Orang makan taik pun kau nak makan taik gak. Patut la bodoh.

FYI, I am not a Proton salesman and I am not planning to buy a Proton car, but I cannot deny the fact that Proton is selling 150k cars annually. If you really insist with your 30k crap then I challenge you to see the head honchos of OICA all by yourself and challenge the fact. We’ll see whether you got the balls to do it.

• oo? serious ka?
            according to wikipedia:
            In 2006, Proton’s sales dropped 30.4% from 166,118 in 2005 to 115,538 for the Malaysian marke.

and according to your comment, here’s the proof that show you have a mistake with your statement!
            Proton sales in Malaysia in first half of 2008 (Jan – June) is 72,957

http://www.autoworld.com.my/aw/resources/stats/2008_Jan_June_sales.asp

Proton mostly relying on Malaysian market after all.

• squall_shinoda on May 12, 2011 at 10:59 pm

Correction…

Did you also take the data of domestic sales for that year as well? That one was the 2006 data which was compiled when Mahaleel was sacked, leaving Proton with continuous sales drop. The data that I took was the 2009 data, which shows a healthy growth under DSZ after sales drops during the Mahaleel regime. And the domestic sales data that you’ve quoted is exactly from the same source as mine, but that one is the 2008 data which does not match with the 2006 data at all.

• lol
            too bad there is big difference those who talked cock and talked with facts
            you don’t have to love proton or even drive a proton car, proton doesn’t need support from malaysian like you, i doubt you are a malaysian though

• wahh angry la, must be working for proton..some low level executive. well you can b angry all u want but the fact is that proton is still a piece of shit which is causing lot of m’sian a lot of pain. not excepted internationally and has to rely of local market, tu pun from 80 percent to 30 percent market share ( dok improve la tu..). i was in the car biz for ten years and had the same mentallity, did u knw the so called sales figures by proton is based on cars delivered to dealers and not no. of units actually registered? plus there i was once at a meeting to discuss the inflow of cheap MPV’s from korea and the impact to proton, while many suggested that proton get into the MPV market quickly..proton top executives was suggesting that duties for MPV’s to be raised..since that day i realised that was the real proton, afraid to compete and ask only for more protection, this was in 2005. Since you are so good with numbers, please run us through in details…its you that has been fed with too much shit until you… squall_shinoda can’t even think properly..much lacking in experience and inteligence…34th largest in the world…hahahaha..WTF

• Car lover on May 12, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Work with Volkswagen is the only solution

• tiadaid on May 12, 2011 at 8:43 pm

Not really. Work with Renault better solution. VW only wants the Tanjung Malim factory to churn out VW.

• jtiongwl78 on May 12, 2011 at 9:28 pm

Even if he is willing to work with Volkswagen, people want to work with him or not is another problem. He should put his head down, go and beg people to work with him.

• most malaysian unfortunately have mindset ‘ours are always suck’, low IQ level, as evident in all comment section from yahoo news (news website) to paultan (automotive website). at least have some sense of patriotictism (is it a word?) and appriciate what we have. it is not like we are currently so poor.

i hate when people keep politicking everywhere, even in this site. this never happen 5-10 years before. what happen to us actualy?

• bebek on May 12, 2011 at 3:59 pm

i agree with you. i don’t know when this mindset will change. pity them.

• agree with you, it seems that with internet (and computer) more ‘mentally sick’ people can write anywhere they want. they say their ‘sick’ comment in blogs and anywhere they can. now sick people control the world..

• tah la labu on May 13, 2011 at 12:12 am

Proton dibawah Kazanah Nasional. mahu tak mahu ia melibatkan org2 yg berkepentingan dalam kerajaan, sebab ia GLC.. bagi saya pelaburan kerajaan tak semestinya datang 100% dari duit cukai! sebab banyak lagi sumber kewangan kerajaan. contoh cmpny GLC yg besar2 menjadi sumber kewangan kerajaan, Petronas, Boustead, MAS, Kazanah dan banyak lagi. dan sebab tu la ada org boleh berkata mcm ni: “dia boleh turunkan harga minyak pagi esok” dengan aper cara? dengan ambik duit dari syarikat2 GLC ni lerr. (err boleh percaya ker? suka2 hati dia jer)

Ada org yg cuba untuk mpolitikkan isu sebegitu ini untuk kepentingan sendiri. tetapi tak semua benda yg org2 “G” ini buat adalah untuk kepentingan syarikat itu sendiri.. lihat dengan kes Tanjung Malim, tapak perindustrian luas kepunyaan Proton, tapi Proton masih kena buang duit untuk menyewa kilang di Shah Alam..
        nk jimat tentu la duduk kat rumah sendiri, betul?
        Proton juga terjerat dengan keputusan2 dari empunya syarikat itu yg kadang2 merugikan mereka kembali.. faham2 jer la org politik, kadang2 hangat2 tahi ayam..
        bagi saya biar lah Proton buat keputusan sendiri, sebab ia berada dalam dunia perniagaan bukan dunia politik, jangan jadikan syarikat GLS sebagai permainan politik, so bebaskan Proton dari org2 politik! tak kira dari sapa2 pun!!

• jtiongwl78 on May 14, 2011 at 12:11 pm

Think first, does Japanese Government protect Honda in Japan? I dont think so. And they can survive well in oversea. How about Proton? Do they survive properly in oversea? Even in their own country.

Why they dont dare to urge the Government to implement OPEN MARKET SYSTEM for automotive industry in Malaysia, and yet still impose tax structure which can protect them?

They suppose to support, or even pressure G to open up car market and change the tax structure, then we may have a high chance to have cheaper car .

• ViewerTR on May 12, 2011 at 1:42 pm

Buying a proton is not a charity since the buyers mostly a forced to do so. It is not for the greater good as well since the number of people benefited from Proton is much less compared to entire population in Malaysia.

• waimak on May 12, 2011 at 1:58 pm

wow, proton post never fail to attrack interesting comments.. :)

• As far as infrastructure is concern, I think Proton is doing well. But as for the products, its still far lagging behind. After so many years, Proton still talking about exporting to other countries. Whereas, Hyundai is already taking the world by storm and not forgetting their designs are getting far better each day.

Perhaps, if Proton can keep pride and ego aside, and employs some of the best brains in the industry from any part of the world to helm the company, that would definitely be a boost.

The result of Proton today still maintaining the “Jaguh Kampung” position is due to the protection and favouritism granted all along as we all know.

Anyway, in my opinion, the current MD seems to be doing quite a good job. Hope he does well and stay long enough to transform Proton.

• SeriuosSAM on May 12, 2011 at 3:12 pm

this is funny; the truth is proton bashers are LRGP fanboy too

LoL

• StillWaiting on May 12, 2011 at 3:35 pm

Enough with this. Stop trying. Just close down already. Malaysia do not need Proton and Proton has brought nothing but additional income burden to Malaysians. Stop producing crappy cars. Stop coming up with so-called improvement methods which did nothing but waste more money. Just close down and give back the people their right to purchase quality cars at fair market prices.

• edwardo on May 12, 2011 at 3:41 pm

mamak kutty, just cut the crap and answer this:

Why proton waja in foreign countries like Saudi Arabia only cost RM30k while we Malaysians have to pay RM60k for the same product?

• i dont know what to say this… why dont you try to find it out by yourself?? ohh wait… you just know how to bash only…

• Enuendo on May 12, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Harga proton kat UK lagi MURAH bang ! tak sampai 10 ribu pound pun..

But .. murah2 pun dlm value pound sterling la..

But if convert to RM :

Proton Impian in UK price tag – 10995 pounds – 11995 pounds.. 53,930.16 MYR -58,801.50 MYR

Gen 2 – From £9,195 OTR – 45,099.57 MYR

Savvy – From £7,995 OTR – 39,213.82 MYR

Satria Neo – From £8,495 OTR – 41,638.05 MYR

Ecologic – From £10,195 OTR – 49,970.56 MYR

————————–

Proton Waja in Indon – price tag – Rp 158 million (RM58,864)

—————————-

If your claim are true that Proton Waja price tag in Saudi only approximately RM 30,000 – maybe you should draw up some home work to respond to your question – why Waja price become so low in there ??.

For sure there is particular reason why the price become such appearance.

If you’re too desperate wanted to drive branded and inexpensive car, just wait ringgit value – RM 1 hit 1 pounds sterling. At that time car price doubtless become cheaper..

Hopefully soon it would happen..

• lonelyobserve on May 12, 2011 at 8:04 pm

Please take in consideration that the OTR price for Proton cars sold in various countries include the local taxation.

• Teh Tarik on May 13, 2011 at 12:40 am

Perhaps there is individual that still cannot understand what the meaning of :

Purchasing Power Parity – PPP

– An economic theory that estimates the amount of adjustment needed on the exchange rate between countries in order for the exchange to be equivalent to each currency’s purchasing power.

The relative version of PPP is calculated as:

S = P1/P2

Where:
        “S” represents exchange rate of currency 1 to currency 2
        “P1” represents the cost of good “x” in currency 1
        “P2” represents the cost of good “x” in currency 2

In other words, the exchange rate adjusts so that an identical good in two different countries has the same price when expressed in the same currency.

For example, a chocolate bar that sells for C$1.50 in a Canadian city should cost US$1.00 in a U.S. city when the exchange rate between Canada and the U.S. is 1.50 USD/CDN. (Both chocolate bars cost US$1.00.)

• boss coffee on May 12, 2011 at 5:07 pm

Malaysian sales tax higher. Don’t you know already? Jeez.

• Teh Tarik on May 13, 2011 at 12:01 am

So what ???

Every Malaysian know that the ‘imported’ car tax is higher unless it’s locally assemble..

Learn to accept and live with it until it is time for proton company to become more mature and vehicle market in malaysia will become more open for the market. ..

The effort towards that are being actively done by them..

• autojohndoe on May 12, 2011 at 4:32 pm

If Proton close, these bashers will happy, but just for a while because, Perodua is still exist which becoming their obstacle to get an imported car at low price…

Then, they bash Perodua to death and hoping it to close…

Then, it close…. happy again, but still, for a while… because naza is also there… again, holding them to get low price imported car…

They again bash naza to death…

• seriusSAM on May 12, 2011 at 5:20 pm

don’t worry… these bashers will never ever in a lifeTIME bash about proton so call “investment” in LRGP.. so stop worry too much.

LoL

• Guys, I think all of us should look at Proton’ s performance from other perspective, then we will get a clearer picture on why Proton has lose its reputation and gain more and more criticisms from fellow Malaysian. Proton is incorporated in 1984 and starts producing cars in 1985.

As a Government initiated project, I am sure no body will deny that the Government is using public fund to support the project. However, after 27 years of its so called ‘hard work’ and now Proton is still rely on Government’s public fund to survive. I wonder how much fund the Government has actually allocated to Proton since 1984 until now? hundred millions? billions or trillions? No matter how much it is the money must be from the tax payer. Bear in mind the tax payers are absolutely have NO responsibilities to finance any Government projects that had operated for almost 30 years and remained making losses. This is a serious mis-management of public funds.

In fact there are many others countries which have a stronger & even firmer fundamentals to do their national car project. However, most of it have been shut down operation or taken up or merge with other established manufacturers in order to survive. Because automobil industry is highly complicated sector that requires strong technical, design, R&D etc capabilities & fundamentals to support. For Malaysia, a country whereby many rural areas are still without electricity & water supply………do you guys believe Malaysia Government can do so?

For many years we, the fellow Malaysian are always urged by the Government that we should be proud of Proton, but why should we feel proud of Proton who can’t even stand on their own feet after almost 30 years of operation. So now how long shall the Government (or the tax payers actually) continue to finance Proton? another 30 years? what’s their future planning to turn this situation around? shall their future concept models called ‘ Pahlawan Series ‘ are capable to compete in both local & the overseas market?

For all Proton cars owners in Malaysia you are actually buying a car which is partly finance by yourself, and you are forced to own it due to Government’s high tax system imposed to foreign cars. For those who afford to buy foreign cars you are actually paying high tax to Government and at the same time paying income tax to support Proton as well.

Dear Tun Dr. M, would you please explain……….

• Anonymous on May 12, 2011 at 5:30 pm

Good statement. Thank you……

• lonelyobserve on May 12, 2011 at 5:36 pm

What a good elaboration. One summary, it’s true and it’s damn true.

• you have some good points here… but i think you also can think that what we have today will never ever get this if there is no proton… you should at least suggest to sell the proton to other foreign company… not close it…

i know that thailand has many auto-manufacturer invest in her… but u see, with all those companies, their GDP is still lower… far lower than us… u know why? because they do not have the capabilities for high tech rnd and manufacturing… thus even though they manufactured many cars, the investment will be until manufacturing the cars.. their engineers will only know how to manufacture a car… most of the money will be going into the company and thailand will be like that until forever….

Malaysia needs to be like the korea… not thailand or even vietnam… we need the technical know how, not just follow the instruction… korean manufactured cars and they know the car details from the material to produce an engine, to the pressure needs to stamp the steel for the body panel.. you cannot just know the pressure, you need to understand it… fortunately, they have all the knowledge because they involve in ship industry… but we do not have that…. if we do not learn it from scratch we would forever like this…. proton for the first 15 years, only know how to follow instruction from mitsubishi… they know nothing about cars… until they build gen2… they learn that from hard way… do you think those japanese wanna share their knowledge?? NO….. for example, the japanese put 2 screws while proton engineers only put 1 screw because from engineering analysis, 1 screw is enough… but later that part give problems.. the solution is putting 2 screws instead of 1… but why?? only the japanese know about that… so we really2 need proton not because of the money, not just because of the jobs, because it can turn us into knowledgeable country… country that can invent something… high tech industry… so our salaries would just like the korean, australia or singapore…

• squall_shinoda on May 12, 2011 at 8:43 pm

I totally agreed with that. Acquiring the technologies and knowledge is the essential part in our automotive industry. I admit that Proton is still a slow learner, but at least it still learns rather than becoming robots who only know to assemble. About automotive industry protection, even the US also protects its carmakers. The issue here is whether the degree of protection given is fair to all carmakers to be competitive. Imported cars are taxed in the US as well, but not as heavily as us. Even 40% import tax is considered too much there.

• MoFaz on May 13, 2011 at 3:17 am

Yes, Malaysia and Thailand were always compared against each other’s automotive policies. Based on GDP and export volume, Thailand seems to be in favour of most reviewers. However, I would like to point the facts that it’s better to learn and develop own industry rather than becoming a mere ‘assembling’ facilities. I agree with zoro, we need to be like Japanese and Koreans, not Thailand. We won’t have Honda, Toyota and Hyundai today if Japanese and Korean just continue to assemble cars for GM, Ford and Chrysler instead of developing their own cars!
        If we talk about assembly plants, Thai have advantages. Population is 2.5 times more than Malaysia, means there’s more labours. if they want cheap labour to work in factories, they wont choose Malaysia, but Thailand which apparently cheaper than China. The annual salary for a Honda worker in China currently as high as US$4,500 to 5,500 (RM14k -RM17k), which is about twice that of Indian workers, and 33 percent higher than Thai workers. if Honda pay RM700 to workers in Thai, who would work in Honda plants if they open here? I guess Bangladeshi and Nepalese would have more job opportunities in Malaysia.

• squall_shinoda on May 12, 2011 at 7:01 pm

Good statement, a thumbs up for you. What you say is true because the reality of our automotive industry is so cruel.

• jtiongwl78 on May 14, 2011 at 12:14 pm

Very good statement, which is fair and straight to the point.

• shawal on May 12, 2011 at 7:53 pm

Expecting a lot of bookings soon…?

The revised saga , persona , exora & even Inspira are all good cars (maybe i dunno)
    BUT
    I always wonder how they will fare in a EURO NCAP test…

• hantu on May 12, 2011 at 8:41 pm

Lets make a demonstration in front of PROTON factory this Saturday!
    Come on Malaysian!
    Show your guts!

• awan nano on May 12, 2011 at 9:55 pm

nak buat stor aje pun habis 30 tahun punya hal kena kutuk. akal pengkomen politaik.

• rudzuan on May 12, 2011 at 10:15 pm

Guys if you dig deeper you would see that this Konsortium Logistik
    was fomerly known as Diperdana/ Konsortium Perkapalan.
    And no points for guessing who is behind it :

Mirzan Mahathir / Konsortium Logistik Berhad / Pengerusi Eksekutif Kumpulan

1)Did you not assist your son Mirzan by rescuing Konsortium Perkapalan Berhad (then owned by Mirzan) and which had debts of RM1.7 billion using funds from Petronas? Was it not your administration which forced Malaysian International Shipping Company (MISC) to acquire the assets of Konsortium Perkapalan Nasional?

2. Salah guna wang Petronas RM1.8 billion di mana PM sendiri yang meluluskan sendiri (bail-out) untuk syarikat Mirzan Mahathir, Konsortium Perkapalan Berhad/Diperdana. Membelanjakan RM836 juta untuk membeli 11 kapal tangki dari KPB. Pengambil-alihan syarikat perkapalan MISC (Malaysia International Shipping Corp.) pada Nov 1998 (62% ekuiti).

Enough said and we have readers here who claim that they work here
    and yet don’t know its history – shame on you!!

• Paul Tan for Prime Minister on May 12, 2011 at 11:36 pm

When they started Proton Jürgen E. Schrempp ( CEO of DaimlerChrysler ) said

” Proton is doomed ! (condemn to death) ”

Quoted from page 154 “Hard Truth To Keep Singapore Going”

• Protong can laugh and smile for as long Encik “M” is still around. Well, here’s the good news, nobody lives forever. Once he’s gone, Protong are no longer protected!

Nobody advocating Protong to close shop. It’s Protong’s failure to deliver (quality) making it to be the most hated brand in Malaysia.

Do you think the Rakyat care if Protong open up 100 storage facilities and 1000 Tanjung Malim equivalent Tin Milo factories? Here’s another news, nobody gives a crap! Cause we know its The Rakyat’s taxes, oil and gas money.

Somebody up there said without Protong Malaysian Automotive industry will not flourish. That’s my friend, is just another CRAP statement. What do you think of the car industry before the 1980’s? Besi buruk industry? Nobody buys cars before protong? That’s all crap and lies. Ask your Grandpa/Grandma (if there’re still around) what car they used to drive before Protong? I bet they would say Bentley, VW, Mini, Merc, Bmw, Jaguar, Alfa Romeo, Toyota, Daihatsu, Honda etc.

The fact remains, when Protong entered the market in 1980’s, it marks THE END of our local car industry. Import cars were taxed heavily as high as 200%. AP system (enriching the cronies) was implemented. Literally, bulk of the “Rakyat” was refused access to good quality cars.

We Rakyat are NOT greedy people (like those filthy politicians). We don’t expect ourselves to drive high-end cars like those Datuks such as Aston, Ferrari, Lamborghini, Bentley, Porsche (ask Encik “M” son on this brand) and those other Millions Ringgits cars. We just want reliable, fuel efficiency and cheap cars. That’s it.

After 25 years we are now VERY VERY CERTAIN Protong is not even near in our fuc*en wishlist.

• Another useless project, what good does it do to Proton ? what is there to test before delivery …..?? make sure your vendor is up to quality !!!

• Yet again, Proton still putting the cart before the horse.

What’s the point of a revised logistics if the crony faulty parts vendors still leeching on Proton?

Kill off the sick leechy crony vendors, one of the root cause of Proton’s pathetic quality then talk anything heaven knows like lifetime parts warranty, world-class logistic etc.

So what sending Proton car fast to customers, but still resend later to dealer to rectify the faulty parts.

“Proton – Putting The Cart Before The Horse, Always!”

• oleoresin on May 13, 2011 at 9:34 am

To SYOH,

Please syoh far2 away from here. You’ra totally Toyota fanboys dan leader of proton basher. How much salary you get being a basher from people who ever torture your grandpa during Japs occupation? Although you hate proton but no need to tabur2 fitnah. Says something that is not true is criminal !

• For as long the admin of this respectful, neutral, website still allows me to comment means that I’ll always be here. And, who the heck are you to tell me get out? You pay my internet bills? Are you paying my cars? Heck, are you the owner of the website? Cause I’m very sure that I’m NOT in “oleoresin.cakap.besar.org.com.my”. Spreading lies? Did I worship ONLY Japanese cars?

I still can recall (in my previous comments), I did mentioned Continental and American cars such as Alfa, VW, Ford, BMW, Merc and etc in most of my car comparison comments (other than Honda and Toyota). The ones who are misleading and spreading lies are YOU!

I say, you should drink more milk, finish your primary studies and 20 years later once you’ve fully grown (and mature) please comeback to this website for further in-depth discussion.

• nobody on May 13, 2011 at 9:45 am

proton just need to be more aggressive in terms of producing new and improved models. just follow what the koreans are doing- kia and hyundai new models are miles better than the previous models. to the engineers and designers at proton, please wake up, dont slug and make us proud.

• makeitmine on May 13, 2011 at 10:33 am

So the next big wave is coming. The logistic hubs are to prepare for the export production of Proton global car models – Proton Tuah & Emas.

Come on Proton, start exporting the Inspira and do send to Lotus for some tweaks. It will be a good sell!

• biggie on May 13, 2011 at 1:12 pm

I don’t know why ppl keep harping that it is their money that finance proton etc. If you buy Proton then yes, you finance the company but if its not then of course not.

The govt only give the capital to Proton and currently it survives on its own income. The tax money that you pay to buy local/imported cars go to the govt. not to Proton. The tax money paid will be in the same bracket as your income tax, sales tax, etc..etc.

Proton only get R&D grant which is the same grant given to other industry in Malaysia.

• StillWaiting on May 13, 2011 at 2:30 pm

biggie: It is our money that finance Proton, indirectly. It is because of Proton that we have to pay through our nose to buy crappy low-end Toyota, Honda or other quality cars.

So even if our money doesn’t go directly to Proton, it goes towards the protection of Proton. So even when you don’t buy Proton you are indirectly paying more just for their survival. If they really are quality cars then they don’t need such protection. Why not market their car in fair market price?

Would you buy Inspira at RM90K or would you buy 2011 VW Jetta at RM60K (avg US selling price USD20K) or Passat at RM85K?

• MoFaz on May 13, 2011 at 3:22 pm

US price can’t be used for comparison. US market is much bigger, more than 10 times Malaysia’s car market size. So, Toyota/Honda or any other manufacturer need bigger profit margin per car here. Prius in US and Japan is RM70-85k including tax. in Malaysia, after 10% sales tax plus RM10k for AP, the price should be below RM100k. so, what make it jump to RM140k?
        well, that RM40k is the ‘extra’ profit for Toyota Thailand. because Prius made in US and Japan are RM70-85k while made in Thai costs RM120k.

• Kopi Kaw on May 13, 2011 at 8:24 pm

StillWaiting says:

Would you buy Inspira at RM90K or would you buy 2011 VW Jetta at RM60K (avg US selling price USD20K) or Passat at RM85K?

————-

Hrmmmmmmm… interesting… hopefully you could do a study on – why the vehicle prices in U.S were different with prices in UK. Sure it has reasonable ground.

Jetta ‘S’ OTR price in UK :

– from £18,410 to £19,735 = 89,890.70 MYR – 96,366.53 MYR

Passat ‘S’ OTR price in UK :

– from £18,880 to £22,390 = 92,187.89 MYR – 109,326.63 MYR

Lancer 4 Door

– GS4 – 1.8 Mivex – from £18,399.00 – 89,857.90 MYR

• StillWaiting on May 14, 2011 at 1:12 am

Simple. The amount of sales tax imposed. While both UK and US have sales tax, UK impose emission based sales tax. Thus most non-hybrid cars are taxed higher.

In UK, tax imposed on cars are NOT used to ‘swayed’ car buyer to certain brand or to protect any car companies. But rather they are used for other governmental needs, or for the people such as free healthcare or if directly at cars it is meant to improve certain criteria in the car industries such as emission tax.

• makeitmine on May 13, 2011 at 2:21 pm

If suppose Proton car quality = Proton vendor parts quality, to eliminate the quality problem is to eliminate Proton vendors producing inferior parts. End of story.

If no Proton, how many jobs can YOU create? Salaried citizens, you don’t quality to answer.

• rudzuan on May 13, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Talk about accontability.
      Rather than take the blame
      Proton prefers to divert the attention
      elsewhere and blame the vendors instead.
      We had enough of this vendor excuse for the
      past 25 years .!!! That is why until today even
      DSZ acknowledges that the power window problem still exists !!
      Don’t be fooled by this “no job” threat by Proton
      cos when the auto industry is liberalised you’ll
      see the end result !

• makeitmine on May 18, 2011 at 11:59 am

DSZ acknowledges that the power window problem is gone. That’s why giving lifetime warranty!

• leonardo on May 13, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Why the Air Asia look alike shirt design?

• Mat Korner on May 13, 2011 at 6:42 pm

Only Proton has this hub here, other oversea car maker don’t have hub here because they have hub in their own country where some of you do not know and you think what the hell is this hub hub.