Team Lotus to ‘take a clear step into the midfield’ with blown diffuser update – expects to be one second quicker!

Here are some updates on Team Lotus ahead of this weekend’s Spanish GP. The Hingham based outfit isn’t the only team on the grid bringing updates to Catalunya, but the Malaysian owned team is looking at a major improvement, one that will make lap times quicker by a full second. This will allow the team to ‘take a clear step into the midfield’ according to tech chief Mike Gascoyne.

“What was pleasing about Turkey was that the qualifying performance was really good, but we hadn’t brought any updates as most of the other teams had. Our update package is coming for Barcelona and that is a very significant upgrade package.

“We think our update is going to allow us to take a clear step into the midfield so that we are qualifying with them and out-racing them more and more. I think that we are reasonably happy, but Barcelona has got to see the next step forward. I think we’ll see a big step and I think there is more to come over the coming races,” the Brit said.

What’s it really about? “It’s a Red Bull-style exhaust and diffuser package,” Gascoyne revealed. “We didn’t implement a blown diffuser package last year, (and) were only able to really evaluate (this year’s) in the windtunnel from Christmas onwards, so we were playing catch-up in this area. The good thing is that it means we can catch up with those in front who already have it,” he added.

So far, Team Lotus hasn’t scored points, something which it set out to do consistently this year. Let’s see if this round of updates to the T128 will move it closer to that goal, and beat struggling midfield teams such as Williams in the process.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tokmoh on May 19, 2011 at 10:36 am

Meanwhile, in thestar today:

“Thursday May 19, 2011
    FIA crack down on engine management systems

SILVERSTONE: Formula One leaders Red Bull may not be so dominant in Spain this weekend after the sport’s governing body clamped down on the use of engine management systems to gain an aerodynamic advantage.

Some leading teams have gained performance by keeping exhaust gases flowing constantly through the rear diffuser even when drivers are not on the throttle…”

So umm… we’ll how much will change then…

• SeriuosSAM on May 19, 2011 at 2:15 pm

that decision is now has been postpone until FIA technical regulators finds a way on how off-throttle exhaust gas feeds into diffuser can be monitor

• Bujang Lapuk on May 19, 2011 at 10:38 am

Let’s hope for the best. Onwards!!!

• Hopefully is real from the Technical Director.

• Murray Walker on May 19, 2011 at 11:49 am

here goes again the statement from team Lotus. well lets see the result

• wow..they always came out with an interesting statement, but yet, the results proved nothing..

• racefan on May 19, 2011 at 6:21 pm

yes, they tend to talk too much BUT their results show that they have indeed made progress. Look at their current lap times relative to the leaders.

• Joanneshu on May 19, 2011 at 5:06 pm

when they minus a second on performance, others also do the same.. so they will end up at the same spot.

• evolva on May 19, 2011 at 6:13 pm

u really dun understand anything about performance gain in f1 do u?
      Those established team which already had this kind of blown diffuser cant improve by a whole 1 second but maybe a few tenths by tweaking the system to perfection.what u are telling is not logical.

• Eyesore on May 20, 2011 at 11:55 am

but then…. putting in a blown diffuser also does not mean you can cut off 1 second from the lap time….

• racefan on May 19, 2011 at 6:17 pm

I read the Autosport article which this story originated from. The title was a little misleading and even more so in paultan’s article.

If you read the source, what Gascoyne actually stated was that the updates are potentially worth 1 second and if you’ve been following very carefully his first hand predictions since the team started, he has been careful and realistic. He has not overpromised, something other Team Lotus personnel seem to have trouble doing.

Thus he DID NOT say that the car will be 1s faster in Barcelona. What he actually said was that the updates introduced this weekend are worth 1s BUT it will take a few more races to optimise and realise the 1 second gain. Read the Autosport article on the original interview story from Team Lotus.

However he does seem confident that for Barcelona the car will be ‘substantially quicker’ but not ‘1second’ quicker

In terms of the ‘rate of progress’ across the paddock, a back end team will find it easier to gain 1s compared to a front end team trying to gain 1s. Therefore whilst everyone else is also moving forward, it doesn’t mean that Team Lotus will stagnate.

In other words, as you move up the grid, the gains diminish given the same amount of effort. Next year will be even tougher for them to show progress. Fortunately 2013 season will level things out.

Having said all this Team Lotus should consider themselves very lucky if they score any points at all this year. It’s already coming to the time of year when they need to begin focusing on next year’s car…

• SeriuosSAM on May 19, 2011 at 10:55 pm

actually the interview with mike gascoyne is taken from team lotus notes for spanish gp

• In the industry on May 20, 2011 at 8:25 am

Why can’t Tony come up with anything original… Even Lotus Notes software also he wanna rip off

• SeriuosSAM on May 20, 2011 at 9:02 am

which year you’re currently in? 2010 meh? you’re too late for that joke.

lol

• anand on May 20, 2011 at 2:37 am

they need 2second update to negate any update from midfield team, 1 second is not enough

• ignoramus on May 20, 2011 at 12:07 pm

2 second progress would put them easily in Q3 (top 10 quali) even with progress from other teams factored in. If this happened it would easily make them the most productive team on the grid, given their limited operating budget

• Badol on May 20, 2011 at 5:23 pm

Buat macam mana pun slow jugak :ahahaahahah