UNiMAP grads complete Digital Engineering training at Perodua and vendors, MYPerodua @ Facebook launched!

We just got back from Perodua’s sprawling base at Sungai Choh where 20 fresh grads from Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UNiMAP) have just completed a six-month Digital Engineering and Prototyping training programme. Twelve of them underwent training at Perodua R&D, two each at Sipro Plastic Industries and Ingress Technologies, and four others at Sapura Industrial. The three companies are Perodua vendors.

Deputy Minister of International Trade and Industry, Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir was there to present the certificates to the trainees. Those who trained at Perodua have been given temporary positions at the company for a year.

This Digital Engineering and Prototyping (DEP) training programme was created by the Malaysian Automotive Institute (MAI), which is a non-profit organisation under MITI. MAI’s DEP programme offers students access to high end software and hands on training. The module includes CAD (computer aided design), CAM (manufacturing), CAE (engineering), CAPE (production engineering) and Product Lifecycle Management).

Encouraged by the success of this pilot batch, MAI has expanded the next intake to 35 students, to be selected based on CGPA scores and an interview with both MAI and industry execs. Next up, MAI will work with UiTM to introduce styling design as part of the programme, which will help produce 4,600 automotive designers in five years, in line with the target set by the government.

After the scroll presentation, Dato’ Mukhriz clicked “Like” on Perodua’s new Facebook page to launch it. The MYPerodua page with the catch phrase “Lagi Best” will feature a contest to drum up fan count. Called “The Perodua Auditions”, one basically needs to show how much they love Perodua in a video to win a RM10,000 grand prize and five iPad 2s. Head on to www.facebook.com/MYPerodua to find out more.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Cucukman on May 24, 2011 at 8:55 pm

So, this is the difference between P2 and P1…

P2 recruit student from previously university college..but P1 get student with 1st class degree…

That’s why they only focus to design bumper because they dont have the ability to do more than that.. is it true?

• atan senget on May 24, 2011 at 9:20 pm

^^ Agree Sangat Sangat Sangat

P2 R&D was not a real R&D, only a ‘pengemis mengharapkan geran penyelidikan kerajaan’ thats surely the people money…

• akmal on May 24, 2011 at 9:22 pm

It is regardless where university you are come from..it is all about your attitude..how keen you want to learn and grab the knowledge..dont ever tried to disrespect people by just looking at the university they are graduated. At least if it was IPTA im pretty sure the education courses have been approved by MOHE. The lecturers hve been trained well..if you are oversea student or 1st class holder but you only know theory but not able to implement it in our daily life i would say it useless. You need to be creative once you have enter to industry.Your degree is worthless once you start to do work.

• armandd on May 24, 2011 at 10:25 pm

Can you give some proof to support that statement? Is it university colleges really that bad? I bet you can’t even design and do FEA on a single bolt.

• Commoner on May 25, 2011 at 6:40 am

You sound too arrogant. Some of the successful individuals in the world does not even have a university degree. Never undermine people, you never know what are they capable of.

• P1 get student with 1st class degree…? haha..mcm tipu jek…

• You sounds so snobbish arrogant. Suit as a blind P1 butt kisser. Yeah P1 only knows how to recruit people but they don`t really good at building and develop the people. The reality is almost all of P1 senior managements and executives were ex-Peroduan which gained their initial automotive industry experience from P2 secluded plant in Sg Choh.
      Name it Proton Holding MD, Proton Edar MD and lines of Proton`s directors and GMs..all have been moulded from P2 humble plant before they can stand high and regarded as among the captain in Malaysian automotive industry. Don`t forget that..

• autojohndoe on May 25, 2011 at 8:27 pm

but, it also vice versa…

p2 grew thanks to p1 ppl…

during early days of p2, lots of p1 workers migrate there…

• Oh yeah..then could you please name a few of P1 migrates who contibuted in building P2 as where it stands today?

Also if that the case..don`t talk big by downgrading others if you know that in the real life..we need each other to grow..or else it`s already going to be late when oneday you only have just realized that you tumbled down and kiss you own foot resulted by your high nose attitude.

• benzema on May 25, 2011 at 7:51 pm

dude. i’m really not a p2 supporter or whatsoever and i don’t give a damn about them.

but at least, do not judge people where they graduated or came from either local university college or ivy league college. do not underestimate people for what they did or achieved. maybe u try to make a joke here, but it’s not that funny though. even though u are a 4-flat student who excel in your both studies and sports, but with this kind of attitude, i believe no one wanna hire u.

seriously, u got some issues man…

• ilove1msia on May 24, 2011 at 9:27 pm

this is not under the 1Malaysia project?

• car driver on May 24, 2011 at 9:28 pm

i personally know of a few individual that got recruited into P1. one of which is a girl, from my previous degree in UTM. they didn’t get first class. it’s freaking hard to graduate from UTM engineering courses with a first class degree. still they get in nonetheless.

and if the UNIMAP grads do not perform during they temporary position, then by all means can always fire them. or don’t absorb them into permanent position. it’s temporary attachement anyways.

• Eyesore on May 24, 2011 at 10:29 pm

you know…your degree is not the only one that interviewer looks at…. its the whole package… your attitude, confidence etc….

plus you might not get first class but if you excell in the subjects that are related / essentials to the jobs that you are applying, then there are high possibility that you’ll get hired…

• rifle on May 24, 2011 at 10:18 pm

am really proud to be a unimap student :)

• rilek sudah,,, ye tak??? hehehe… tgn org kan… sedap je tekan2 keyboard… kudung nanti baru tau,,… ahahahaha

• hantu on May 24, 2011 at 10:59 pm

The practical and theory should be balanced in universities curriculum.
    Nowadays, weightage in theory is much higher than practical thus the student can’t adopt ed what he/she studies in university.

I know most of the lecturers doesn’t have working experience and just simply graduated from Master and PhD then continue to lecture based on book.

• amirad on May 25, 2011 at 8:25 am

Nowadays, for the engineering faculty to be accredited by the engineering council EAC, a certain number of faculty members must have professional qualifications ie. p.eng. so as to balance the theoretical and practical aspects of engineering education. However, in reality practical engineering experience really doesn’t carry much weight in universities. University is all about qualification ie PhDs, research grants and papers.

• samyyd on May 24, 2011 at 11:29 pm

yeahhhh… more after market spoiler and skirting choices after this.

• beruk on May 24, 2011 at 11:40 pm

now i know how could a friend of mine can enter perodua.by this perodua campaign.
    sheeshhh i tot he so teror wan and enter perodua.lol.
    by the way.why do u make student to enter the PERODUA ECO CHALLENGE then dont give a chance for the student to get a job at perodua!
    ADVERTISING only a?

• alistair lim li wei on May 25, 2011 at 12:18 am

Can anyone tell me how i can get myself involve in this programme? Do i need to apply or something?

• Khoo loop on May 25, 2011 at 8:35 am

Buat facebook tapi kat opis xboleh masuk. Apa pun tak boleh!

• Kantoi on May 25, 2011 at 11:09 am

well, Degree from Uni is only the first step ( even if you are a Cambridge or MIT graduate) and end of the day, it is your working attitude and your performance that count. I had an ex colleague who graduated from Carnegie Mellon ( one of the top U in US) but his working attitude is like Sh*T and end of the day, he was forced to leave the company. So to me, a first class degree is just a stepping stone in your career and nothing more then that. On the other note, having this kind of program will definitely benefit the Uni students. A more hands on approach is definitely needed in term of Engineering.