Pre-FL Proton Saga used to test CVT transmission

This white pre-facelift Proton Saga with trade plates was spotted by Randall in the parking lot of a shopping mall. It seems to be some kind of test bed for the upcoming CVT transmission that Proton will be introducing into its cars.

Of course, finding a Proton Saga with a CVT transmission installed might not necessarily mean we’ll see the CVT in the Saga, but if it doesn’t bump up the cost and price of the car by much it wouldn’t hurt since CVTs are usually more efficient than slushboxes.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• WUN5678 on May 25, 2011 at 5:02 pm

IAFM + CVT = Why bother !! :(

• jtiongwl78 on May 25, 2011 at 11:38 pm

Not sincere at all. Once implement and introduce, sure another type of pricing which is extremely high.

On the other hand, will something such as current auto gearbox happen or not? I mean being faulty at all time. I believe a lot of people experiencing the problem of paying high price to change the whole gear box.

Dont know whether how true and how genueing their produce.

• Kim McClain on May 25, 2011 at 5:04 pm

Great! I wanna buy one. Myvi? What the hell was that?

• theanswer on May 25, 2011 at 7:48 pm

myvi? the best selling model in msia. handling like motorboat also can sell ;p

• People buy it because of its space… Different type of driver target different cars.. but if me i wont take myvi la… hahha

• jtiongwl78 on May 25, 2011 at 11:39 pm

No more choice. K-Car in Japan also can become top selling model here. What the hell NAP is doing?

• Raokata on May 26, 2011 at 9:33 am

Haha..some people just can’t really define what ‘good handling’ really means. One of my friend drove Myvi SE said ‘easy to drive (steering very light), can go very fast n easy to park in a parking lot’ is good handling! WHAT THE HE..??!!!..!!? Bodyroll? Stability in high speed? Accurancy while cornering? what is that?? hahahaha…that’s why kenari, kancil, myvi n vios dugong is always best selling car! hahahahahahah…EASY TO PARK CAR = BEST HANDLING CAR! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!!

• howitzer on May 26, 2011 at 11:10 am

hahaha…..good 1 bro..

• Raokata on May 27, 2011 at 6:32 pm

Hahah..now i know why many girls n makciks owns kenari, kancil, myvi n vios..it’s the best handling car @ easy to park Car!! they just speeding in straight road! and..drive 40km/h with countless braking at corner!! hahahahahahaha…

• DONDON on May 25, 2011 at 5:05 pm

Why they are using the previous design model for the test???

• Kim McClain on May 25, 2011 at 5:06 pm

Just for testing purpose.

• Since got old stock,maybe just use to experiment.

• Mohammad Suhaimi on May 25, 2011 at 5:20 pm

haiya… tarak baca title kaa

Pre-FL Proton Saga

it’s Pre.. means anything before current design..

• Savvy_Orange on May 25, 2011 at 5:33 pm

From trusted source, I heard Saga 1.3 & Saga 1.6 with CVT will launch before Raya this year…
      If true expecting low fuel consumption compare to current 4AT. Good news!

• i personally like the old design compared to the facelift version.

• i was planning to get a new saga and who knows they come out with the FL version.. make me turn away from saga :(

• jtiongwl78 on May 25, 2011 at 11:40 pm

No place to dispose already. Running out of budget to built new showroom or store to keep them. This will help to ease the situation as after using it it will go to hell and wont consume space in the storage anymore.

• MrDDR on May 25, 2011 at 5:06 pm

i want cvt for my fd1..

• manje on May 25, 2011 at 5:18 pm

hope they learn from both Perdana and Waja gearbox problem.

• rosdi on May 25, 2011 at 5:25 pm

IAFM+ … so there will be Saga FL IAFM+ … I wonder how much hp will it gain compared to the normal IAFM?

• freeze on May 25, 2011 at 6:34 pm

0.5hp.

Why bother with this junk? After 2 years, IAFM, steering rack, and accelerator sensor will fail. Now CVT will fail as well. Malaysians just don’t learn. No wonder BN still ruling.

Imagine during this Raya, you’re driving your brand new Saga + CVT. Suddenly the steering rack fails, and accelerator sensor fails or goes haywire. Your car crosses onto the oncoming lane at full throttle, and crash head on to a lorry. But you did not die, the rest of your family members are almost dying. The last question they asked you before they died “Why did you buy a Proton?” What are you going to say? You can’t say anything anyway since they just died.

• proton user on May 25, 2011 at 7:33 pm

The last question they asked you before they died “Why did you buy a Proton?”

I am being patriotic so are the rest of you..rest in peace….

• proton user on May 25, 2011 at 7:36 pm

The last question they asked you before they died “Why did you buy a Proton?”

I am just being patriotic and so are the rest of you… your death will be compensated by helping to feed many protong workers.. rest in peace

• theking on May 25, 2011 at 7:39 pm

Freeze,
        Typical P2 salesman since myvi d54t cant launch yet!

• nudin on May 25, 2011 at 8:05 pm

veri funny

• autojohndoe on May 25, 2011 at 8:19 pm

my steereng rack ok je…

so, what say you?

cakap banyak xguna… budak skolah pn boleh tulis panjang2…

• mcm jln ini cerita Toyota jer…accelerator sensor fail.

• ntahaaa on May 25, 2011 at 11:04 pm

no, its not toyota.. but it is lexus.. much more luxury model..
            lexus=toyota–>perodua

• HirumaKecil on May 26, 2011 at 8:14 am

More accurate is
            Lexusdaihatsu->p2

• jtiongwl78 on May 25, 2011 at 11:44 pm

Not enough time to tell them the truth they already ” leave you permanently”.

• Mr Wancer on May 26, 2011 at 1:19 am

Dont expect much in HP gain coz what it actually does is to improve FC not performance…

• alldisc on May 26, 2011 at 2:16 pm

cvt does improve mid-range acceleration hence, less fuel used but performance optimised.

• T4VR-Ralph on May 25, 2011 at 5:28 pm

nice to see proton will bring in CVT to replace the ancient 4-speed auto…

however, manual still the best.

• But the gear ratio quite short ar,( the manual gear). Not economical at high speds….curious to see the performance when they put in CVT

• samyyd on May 25, 2011 at 5:28 pm

it is to test how cvt will behave when drive to a mall during working hours… p1 dont want to have complain later that their cvt is not supportive of employee mia during office hour for shopping and movies.

• nebula87 on May 25, 2011 at 5:32 pm

No interior shots meh??

• kimi_ on May 25, 2011 at 5:45 pm

CVT enable good pickup power especially at low speed and low fuel consumption,

But CVT gearbox is problematic and need high cost to repair. Best evidence is the previous GEN Honda City where the gearbox had been repaired for few times since last year.

• DonkeyKong on May 26, 2011 at 5:25 am

It’s Honda’s problem if they use lousy CVT gearboxes. Fiat Punto had CVT gearboxes for more than 10 years already. Audi’s multitronic gearboxes are all chain/belt based CVTs. Nissan’s CVT gearboxes have developed a reputation for reliability and fuel economy, and we hardly hear of problems with them.

Proton’s CVT gearboxes are from Punch Motive of Germany. They are definitely better than the crappy low-quality Honda CVTs.

• Savvy_Orange on May 27, 2011 at 2:45 pm

If I’m not mistaken it is CVT technology from Punch PowerTrain, Belgium.

• kichiki on May 25, 2011 at 5:48 pm

i believe this is a test car only…
    how about Malaysian acceptance to CVT?
    Any Altis 2.0 or Inspira 2.0 CVT owner here?
    Maybe you can share your experience…

• ong chin aun on May 25, 2011 at 5:49 pm

But the gear stick of saga n FL seems not firm and very loose. why not test on persona or Gen 2

• mini cooper freak on May 25, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Everything in plotong is loose, so apa lu mau?

• hexagon on May 25, 2011 at 6:15 pm

yes…gen2 gear stick the best.. feel so firm.. unlike myvi, feel like old bus gear stick.. haha

• ntahaaa on May 26, 2011 at 12:53 am

haha.. agree.. but not exactly like old bus, just not that good.. apply to manual transmissin myvi only

• Darren on May 25, 2011 at 6:32 pm

The Saga really needs a CVT badly. I regret my decison to buy Saga over Myvi. My 4 year old 1.6 Altis has much better fuel consumption that my poor little 1.3 Saga IAFM.

• jtiongwl78 on May 25, 2011 at 11:48 pm

I think even CVT also in the name only, it wont improve much.

• DonkeyKong on May 26, 2011 at 5:27 am

Obviously you don’t know what a CVT is, nor do you know who is Punch Motive or ZF, the ones who are supplying these gearboxes to Proton.

• TFazuin on May 26, 2011 at 4:10 pm

ZF does BMW’s gearboxes among other things…

• jtiongwl78 on May 27, 2011 at 9:25 pm

Please. If other car manufacturer I will admit that CVT for them do make sense, in terms of fuel economy at least. But track record is needed for Proton and Perodua ( Stupid and Mouse ) as too many things happen already..

Are they able to handle the manufacturing, as well as technical support and after sales service professionally as what other manufacturer does? it is stilla big doubt I think..

• shawal on May 26, 2011 at 5:59 am

izzit a manual or an auto?

• new gen cvt should give better fuel economy, I just hate that rubber band feeling in the cars that i’ve tried..I want to see ‘direct injection’, in proton engines

• no worry ,nowadays cvts are made reliable.

another factor that might contribute to the lower fc is the engine itself, the torque should come earlier.than the current iafm campro. probally what it means by iafm+ i guess..

• mat koboi on May 25, 2011 at 7:30 pm

proton suppose to change the campro iafm engine to the ‘vvti,vct or vvt engine system which give more power and low fuel consumption..that’s the right way…

• Waiting for Campro+soft turbo+VVT+CVT=Campro CFE.. end of this year…

• Nazrul on May 25, 2011 at 7:41 pm

Cool, they injected small amount of drug to our Saga. Nice! Keep going forward Proton!

• taboogen on May 25, 2011 at 7:41 pm

dont worry the gearbox fromm getrac if not mistaken.. dont want cvt.. by auto lah.. why susah2… want high end car but cukup bulan duit tak cukup… apa lah

• teamsleepnine on May 25, 2011 at 10:32 pm

borg werner….i read somewhere…korek me if im wrong….

• Proton used Borg Warner turbine for Campro turbo and Getrag for manual transmission and a CVT system by Punch .

• DonkeyKong on May 26, 2011 at 5:30 am

That’s correct, it’s been covered by many blogs and news sources since last year. Borgwarner is one of the world’s largest producers of turbines. Getrag gearboxes need no introduction. Punch Motive was formerly a division of ZF, and their CVT gearboxes are used in Audis as the Multitronic, among other deployments.

Proton is really ramping up the quality of their supply chain and the components that they are procuring. But sadly, as a reflection of Malaysia’s backwardness, a majority will still bash Proton even if they have 90% German content and 10% local content.

• hantu on May 25, 2011 at 8:42 pm

I think this CVT is build for LADA.

• OMG…..CVT oooo…P1,good try..Pls try more and do more testing. We dun 1 NG engine.

• alfie60 on May 25, 2011 at 9:02 pm

Proton is like a person suffering from “bad body odour” who is in denial of its problem. They think people avoid them because their shirt is not in fashion and the dont suffer from bad odour.

Just like the gear box issue here.the real problem is the overall shitty quality of the car,shiity vendors,shitty reputation and shitty National Car Policy making other non proton cars very expensive to protect them.

They can change all the gear box they want but the REAL TRUTH is its a SHITTY CAR and those who think otherwise are like a person living in a shit toilet after awhile they dont smell the shit and ever deny that there no shit around. ;-)

• Simon Templer@ Seman Tempe on May 25, 2011 at 10:06 pm

Alfie60,

We pity your parents to see how their son becoming such a scum to the society. I am not a psycho specialist but I suspect when one talk like you talk usually when you were baby you must have eaten your own shit. You thought it’s your fomula feed so you seem to enjoy eating it. Over the years it become part of your system. So when you grow up you can’t stop saying shit, shit , whenever you open your mouth. I think Alfie you really need help man, immediately. To all readers, plse petition your support if you agree with me.

• Kim McClain on May 25, 2011 at 10:45 pm

After reading, what I can conclude is alfie60 is talking about the situation. but Simon Templer@ Seman Tempe is talking bad about a person (personal attack, he is accusing people is eating shit, what a bad manner), just like a goon. I hope Paul Tan should delete this type of message.

• alfie60 on May 26, 2011 at 12:06 am

Thank you Kim,you are a scholar sir. The essence of it is Proton is not above criticism. The issue here is no car manufacturer can built a perfect car except Proton and the public that supports them and have faith in this shitty car is SCARY.Its like a cult that has many hardcore followers who cant find any fault with Proton.

To me i am not impress, Proton is only a high class government agency/factory assembling automotive parts.Their staff are salary men reporting to the government and not the public interest.

If its private and driven by caliber businessmen to make profit thru global sales rather than subsidi for the survival of the company ,than i would say the game is more interesting.

I wonder how is LOTUS going to perform under our civil servant stewartships! ;-)

• ko malu saje... on May 25, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Alfie doesn’t put the others down, he only charm people. Ladies man and playa is different bro…

• makeitmine on May 25, 2011 at 9:13 pm

IAFM + CVT = twice the problems and noise unless P1 can learn from Nissan and give lifetime warranty for CVT transmissions

Why not just supercharged Campro on a 1.3l car? Supercharger start from the lowest RPM but end early. For city driving at low rpm, it suits better.

• DonkeyKong on May 26, 2011 at 5:33 am

Just a shot out of the basket.. I’m guessing you have no engineering knowledge?

• makeitmine on May 26, 2011 at 9:51 pm

Don’t need engineering knowledge.. since when Proton give you a first-world car?

With CVT, when you step on the accelerator, the engine races as it would with a slipping clutch or a failing automatic transmission. This is normal – the CVT is adjusting the engine speed to provide optimal power for acceleration.

Because the CVT allows the engine to rev at any speed, the noises coming from under the hood sound odd to ears accustomed to conventional manual and automatic transmissions. The gradual changes in engine note sound like a sliding transmission or a slipping clutch — signs of trouble with a conventional transmission, but perfectly normal for a CVT. Flooring an automatic car brings a lurch and a sudden burst of power, whereas CVTs provide a smooth, rapid increase to maximum power. To some drivers this makes the car feel slower, when in fact a CVT will generally out-accelerate an automatic.

Nissan has more than a million CVTs in service around the world and uses them in powerful cars such as the 290 horsepower Maxima, and says their long-term reliability is comparable to conventional transmissions.

Nissan says a car equipped with a CVT gets eight to 10 percent better fuel economy compared to the same car with a conventional four speed automatic transmission. The company maintains a CVT is also less costly to engineer and cheaper for the consumer to purchase than the more complex hybrid powertrain.

Did Mitsubishi get the CVT right?

Now, Proton must prove that longevity is roughly equal and repair costs are comparable, CVT is OK because it’s lighter, has fewer moving components, and gives better fuel economy than a traditional auto box using a torque converter. If it is from Nissan technology, I will certainly buy a Proton.

• fanacorner on May 25, 2011 at 9:40 pm

info dari kwn dalam proton. produk proton akan datang akan dilengkapi CVT gear. bermula dengan exora turbo yg akan lounch dlm tahun ni. sy dh test drive exora turbo pre production ( test car ) guna enjin turbo VVT + CVT. enjin senyap & smooth. pick up mmg power. saga model ke 2 akan guna CVT & model lain follow kemudian. CVT gear utk proton ni mmg baru, sebab tu proton akan uji sampai tahap kerosakan seminimum mungkin & kos repair yg rendah.

• Monster on May 25, 2011 at 10:01 pm

If willy got CVT than i can get 1 after 1 year change to NGV hahaha good car already kekekkee…

• alldisc on May 26, 2011 at 6:21 pm

fanacorner mentioned he tested exora turbo already, …

…..this means he is the insider. and this is first hand information!!

• clemenza on May 26, 2011 at 8:11 am

good info bro..wat about the price..can you tell us

• Tengokje.. on May 26, 2011 at 5:01 pm

Woo…interesting news bro…hopefully P1 can improve the quality and reliability of their products align with their new gearbox..

Salam…

• ko malu saje... on May 25, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Test drivers went shopping while on duty?

• Diesel pls….good fc, wt huge low down torque

• Mat Ron on May 25, 2011 at 10:17 pm

there are still some researches going on in local uni with the conjunction of the CVT tranny, and am sure this is still in the testing process..
    and the researches done were still confidential, where as the CVT completed later were designed by local students. we hope that this tranny will be the best as no local car company ever produced CVTs before.
    and for those who doesn’t understand what is CVT, the simplest thing i can tell is that the tranny used in the scooters on the road.. if u ever ridden before..
    the CVT will never have power loss during shifting of gears as in manual tranny, and i really hope that Proton will never let us down and produce a durable yet economical tranny for the Malaysian users and this is the next step in delivering the best for our beloved nation. Can’t wait for test drive!

• guys…help me out here..what’s the advntage of cvt transmission?

• ntahaaa on May 25, 2011 at 11:15 pm

1. the gear change smooth.. (no feel at all).. but there some car (not proton maybe) that use cvt and fake shiting feeling (just like auto trans.)
      2. save fuel (depends on your leg)..

• cvt mcm naik roller coaster. analog signal tp ada noise sket. normal transmission mcm naik tangga. digital signal. yg lain2 like normal wear n tear depends on the material and design.

• zainal abidin on May 26, 2011 at 10:46 am

We can read the advantages of a CVT but the downside is the drive chain will snap with hard use. The present auto tranny fitted to the FL is reliable enough to last years after the warranty expires.

• zainal abidin on May 26, 2011 at 10:49 am

We can read the advantages of a CVT but the downside is the drive chain will snap with hard use. The present auto tranny fitted to the FL is reliable enough to last years after the warranty expires. Just hope this SACHS CVT tranny will be reliable enough even after warranty expires.

• rexis on May 25, 2011 at 11:20 pm

The transmission is gonna cost more than the engine to replace.

• DonkeyKong on May 26, 2011 at 5:39 am

That depends on the architecture of the gearbox. If they can keep moving parts to a minimum through the use of nested gearsets to reduce the number of clutch packs, braking bands and planetary carriers, then the production cost as well as repair effort can be minimized. If it’s a chain/belt based CVT, it can actually make do with far lesser parts than a conventional auto transmission. A variable roller or variable disc CVT can have even fewer moving parts and be more reliable, but its slip ratio might be a bit unpredictable due to its higher dependence on friction compared to chain/belt based CVTs.

• zainal abidin on May 26, 2011 at 10:21 am

CVT is nice but what this car really needs is a bigger 45 to 50 liter petrol tank. My FL gets about 300 km urban cycle and around 400 km highway (PLUS) driving. When the fuel indicator starts to blink you know it’s time to refill ASAP.

• nasha on May 26, 2011 at 2:12 pm

protong, u better test betul2, tak mau nanti bila guna 2 bulan , rosak gearbox.

• KNCB potong, sudah pakai 2-hari keta bru FL 1.6, dah bunyi krek krek.
      SC kt ni bisa la, potong kos nahhh.

• pomen_gtr on May 31, 2011 at 9:19 am

CVT…just like a scooter… :lol:

but quite nice….

and actually a CVT transmission shud be made serviceable…since chain/belt and drive pulley face would wears out over time….and those thing need change..just like scooter..and after that it was totally like new…