Chevrolet Certified Used Car programme to start here

Chevrolet Certified Used Car programme to start hereGM South East Asia is planning to introduce a programme called Chevrolet Certified Used Car in Malaysia, as part of its plans to help elevate the used car value of Chevy vehicles here, according the the company’s SEA president Martin Apfel.

Having used Thailand as a successful test bed for the programme, the initiative is set to make its way to Malaysia, with the company already working at identifying the appropriate outlets to act as the pilot for the programme.

“What the programme does is that it allows dealers to take in used cars, any brands but largely Chevrolet, and then to sell on the car after it has gone through our battery of checks. This in turn has helped to lift the resale value of the vehicles because it gives people the confidence that there will be a buyer for their car when they want to sell it and the dealer is interested in taking it in, because for him it’s good business and we’ve got the data for that,” Apfel said.

“We’ve used Thailand as the test-bed for something that’s called ‘Chevy Certified Used Car’, and we now have more than 30 outlets that operate that distinct line of business. We’re looking at expanding the business to 60 outlets by the end of the year,” he added.

In Malaysia, Apfel said that the plan is to have around 10 such outlets by the end of this year. “We know it works, but we need to pace it as it’s a special facility and therefore requires a bit of work, as we need to train the staff. You don’t want to be the used-car salesman from around the corner, as there is a specific service and a specific guarantee we give on the car that is sold out of the ‘Chevy Certified Used Car’ programme. That, in turn, will give customers more confidence in the resale value,” he explained.

The company is also planning to test a number of other initiatives for Chevrolet customers in Malaysia, in an effort to keep ownership costs predictable and low. One of these will concentrate on maintenance, where assistance will be extended to Naza Quest to help keep parts prices affordable.

“We have done extensive work in all the countries in ASEAN and also in competitive research to make sure we are competitively priced with the competition. The goal is to be on par with the market leader. We have a very competitive cost of ownership in Malaysia and though we haven’t done price benchmarking yet, based on a four-month observation, many fast moving items are competitively priced, which goes against the consumer perception that Chevrolet’s are expensive,” he said.

“People in ASEAN have a budget in mind when they start shopping and purchasing, so you’ve got to fit in there. If you’re unpredictable in the marketing funnel between awareness and consideration, you’re going to go very thin when it comes to purchase intention.”

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• squawk on May 30, 2011 at 9:13 am

Chevy checks are better than Puspakom?

• vertigo on May 30, 2011 at 9:22 am

will there be a rhd corvette?

• khylie on May 30, 2011 at 3:33 pm

will there be cadillac CTS-V?or Camaro?

• Kumar san on May 30, 2011 at 5:13 pm

To Vertigo and Khylie,

The Vette will only ever be sold in LHD.It will never be made in RHD.Unless of course if you can get it from Australia where they have some companies that do a RHD conversion at a very high cost and much to the behest of the Yanks.All Vettes have only been made in Bowling Green,Kentucky.

Was in the U.S for 12 years where i was educated,worked and lived.These are awesome rides,have driven them all.(C1 to C6).Have also owned the the legendary 1969 Chevrolet Camaro Z-28 RS with a 750hp 427ci blown big block V-8.Not to mention having owned Dodge Challengers,Plymouth Roadrunners,Dodge Darts,Ford Mustangs,Vipers and what not.American muscle is all attitude,there is nothing else like them out there,before or since.

As for the CTS-V and the current Camaro,i really doubt if they will offer these cars here for Malaysians.The road tax alone will scare almost all of the potential buyers except for me.They are a different breed,these American cars.Those that have owned American iron in the states will grab the chance to own one here.They are very,very reliable cars and seldom is not never break down.

Then again we shall see,you might never know.Cheers guys.

• naim jonn on May 30, 2011 at 9:43 am

good good good.. macam Toyota Topmark lah… as long it benefits us as the end user, anything good is welcomed.

• i was thinking of getting a used aveo as a second car. anyone had any experience with the aveo hatchback 2005-2006?

• Vincent on May 30, 2011 at 2:52 pm

So, finally they learn that in Bolehland, to sell a new car, you got to have a contol n used car market… the higher the used car value, the higher the unit you able to sell…..

Part also need to be easy available with fair price…

After 5 years, you will see people in Malaysia start to accept facts that reliable car can be others than T, H , N….

End of the day, peole is comparing total ownership cost!

• TFazuin on May 30, 2011 at 4:34 pm

Finally they understand, GM people are known as Goverment Motors in the US, a little too slow and too arrogant for their own good. Chevy isn’t a bad car but the way they price the parts are impossible to comprehend.

How else can you explain RM700 for 4 pairs of shocks in Hatyai and a whole windscreen replacement with Saint Gobain brand for below RM500 but cost RM1.4K for shocks and RM1.8K for windscreen. Factoring the 20% tax, it still doesn’t make sense.

8 years to figure out the right answer, that show’s they are poor listeners. Hezeri of CBT pointed out Proton sells more cars in Thailand than GM, though they do not have a manufacturing plant there. A car needs more than co branding and glitzy advert to sell…

• khylie on May 30, 2011 at 3:32 pm

does that mean that we can used chevrolet tahoe or suburban or avalanche or even cadillac escalade imported frm US here? weeeeeee :)

• Kezsz on May 31, 2011 at 12:47 pm

Chevrolet should come to us and ask us what we are going through first..SC in Johor shut down and the temporary SC is not for chevy, they service all other brands…no support at all and worst still they can still talk about the brand…no wonder they are dying….

• So few sales for Chevy, how to have enough service centers ? Only Captiva was selling well but now under NAZA. Any improvement ??

Previously under Cergazam Auto was okay but now Cergazam also have become another VW dealer instead and has abandon Chevy ….

The current Cruze limited edition looks good but way underpowered and a bit overprice