KTM X-Bow – Clubsport and Street available in Malaysia

The KTM X-Bow, which was spotted during homologation testing at JPJ Putrajaya last month, has made its first public appearance – local KTM distributor MotoNation recently previewed the two-seater at the Auto-City Carnival in Penang, where it enjoyed a fair bit of attention, to put it mildly.

The X-Bow (as in Crossbow) will be available in Malaysia in two variant forms, the Clubsport and Street, though you can choose to dress it up in the same colours the top-of-the-line R version wears, like the one previewed in Penang.

The Audi 2.0 TFSI mill on this one offers 240 hp at 5,500 rpm and 310 Nm from 2,000 to 5,500 rpm, so there’s definitely no lack of juice. The block is mated to a six-speed manual transmission, and common to both versions are a carbon fibre monocoque (with crash box in visible carbon fibre) and a smooth surface racing underbody with a rear aluminium composite diffuser.

Also common to both variants are a mechanical limited slip differential, sports suspension, adjustable push rods and adjustable front/rear stabilisers, individually adjustable pedals and an adjustable/detachable multi-functional steering wheel.

The Street version features a keyless go system, painted wheels and a four-point safety harness, and opting to got the Clubsport route bags you a PowerParts package made up of side protection drops, a steel roll bar, racing head rest, race tow hook, an emergency stop switch, hand held fire extinguisher and a six-point safety harness.

The car hasn’t officially been launched yet, but KTM Malaysia has opened the order book for the car. Photos after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2303]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• drMpower on Jun 13, 2011 at 7:59 pm

now here u can get almost everything sold in other part of the world
    how much this ktm machine costs?
    i do hope it comes with that beautiful lady over there
    u know, good things come in two

• oleoresin on Jun 13, 2011 at 8:03 pm

I just want that lady…. You can have that car. Hehehe…..

• TQ.. Although I think I m in deep shat this time round, I want the car more than the lady. XD

• Mat Rempit on Jun 14, 2011 at 8:26 pm

I prefer buy an X-Bow over motorcycles when buying a KTM, although more expensive.

• Harrier on Jun 13, 2011 at 8:05 pm

nice !!

is it street legal ?? and pls bring ariel atom also !!!

what is the price range ??

need to buy 1 !!

• Brain on Jun 13, 2011 at 8:14 pm

what is the price range that we are looking at here Paul?

• TallPan on Jun 14, 2011 at 1:43 am

eh Brain… use ur brain a bit la… Paul not here la ;)

About the Author:

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better…

• aiya they all collectively known as Paul just like bon jovi, van halen, alice cooper, the jonas……….some handsome, some short, some tall, some geeky, some machoey…..

• Vincent on Jun 13, 2011 at 8:22 pm

It is street legal and will carry Malaysia number plate… But the question is, how long it going to take for JPJ to approve it…
    The Price is >RM400K per unit… KTM claimed that this car car cath up with Ferrari .. 0 to hundred less than 4 second…

• Speed Racer on Jun 13, 2011 at 8:25 pm

i want that girl

• Dartz on Jun 13, 2011 at 10:20 pm

why, o why? Please la guys, she just suam-suam onli…plus she carries lots of cellulite unlike the car. The girl doesn’t even do the car any bit of justice. We need a hotter girl.

The car is, well, a true definition of hot! And even hotter with the endless summer in Malaysia. Open top and all.

• Annoynimal on Jun 13, 2011 at 8:27 pm

They drive this car with crash helmets in Europe. :) I wonder if KTM wil be offering some sort of roof for this car. The car might be waterproof, the driver isn’t… and with the kind of weather we have in Malaysia, you’re definitely going to need one. Otherwise, it’ll be a bike with 4 wheels.
    Bila laa aku nak kaya…

• jay79 on Jun 14, 2011 at 12:32 am

it is more dangerous to drive this than riding a bike. i have seen the car on road few days back on jalan dato keramat. pity the driver. this car is too low for other road user to notice you. and ur face is most likely to be directly facing the exhaust of the car in front if you come to a traffic light. wanted to take the picture of it then but my honda c70was too fast for the car. i zoom past it…..

• wowze on Jun 13, 2011 at 8:29 pm

Does the homologation means it is going to be street legal? any news on the pricing? cnt wait to see one day there are lots of atoms, caterhams, xbow … etc etc otr

• pervert a lot here

• where got perverts….we just admiring god wonderful creation………..u know just like nature, flora, fauna, the hills and mountain, the wet valley……………..

• Malaysia KTM distributor is called MotoNation? Haha it would be more better as ModNation if you know what im talking about :)

• ericmaxman on Jun 13, 2011 at 9:45 pm

this car is awesome. even more awesome when ppl think KTM = Kereta Api Tanah Melayu…LOL

• So any update on the road legal price tag? my guess RM400k? hehe

• SpeakUp on Jun 13, 2011 at 10:39 pm

This car looks interesting and yeah, its a rich man’s go kart but the Lotus 2-11 will out drive this XBow :0)

• dodgeviper88 on Jun 13, 2011 at 10:54 pm

if Motonation was smart they would make this car available as a track car only. Then it would be much cheaper and more affordable to the ordinary folks like you & me. Of course if they should have an option of making it street legal as well.

• William on Jun 13, 2011 at 11:12 pm

Everytime I saw this car name the first thing come to my mind is X-box and Kereta Api Tanah Melayu : D

• more interested in that KTM RC-8 over by the side.

• gavin on Jun 14, 2011 at 12:19 am

i wonder if you go fast enough will you get wet in the rain?

• bondai on Jun 14, 2011 at 12:35 am

paint it all black, it’ll have the Batmobile look…

• Danny on Jun 14, 2011 at 1:49 am

Does the honk sounds like “choo chooo!!”?

• kocat on Jun 14, 2011 at 2:30 am

nice color, like angry nemo~

• loveit on Jun 14, 2011 at 7:30 am

is that really a car? look like magnified version of gocart to me

• izack04 on Jun 14, 2011 at 8:13 am

Nice car…..nice girl…….but u never buy car get free girls…..uiks
    This car is weight/hp is skyrocket high……anyone that try launching on traffic light with it sure eat smoke…..hehheheheee

• vromm on Jun 14, 2011 at 12:17 pm

No la……at traffic light any lorry can easily smoke this car kaw2 along with it’s driver…………..as long as he’s just right at the rear where the exhaust just nicely pointing to his face……….especially with our low grade diesel……..vroom!!! chuck! chuck! cough..cough………

• I want ariel atom~

• 1 thing for sure is every time u go out u need a Helmet & a jacket! if hit by a stone sure susah!!

• MrDDR on Jun 14, 2011 at 8:55 am

In Thailand they sell for 6.4M Bath. Guess how much in malaysia http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YgHiyHsSRd4&feature=related

• damn side mirror!! ……..i cant get proper view of the rear…..

• ThePolygon on Jun 14, 2011 at 9:47 am

Keratapi Tanah Melayu + X-Box = KTM X-Bow

This is a rich man’s toy… good to see, fast to drive… it’s manufactured for fun :D
    Attention grabber!

For a simple person like me… see no touch….

…. I am talking about the car… duh…

• nighttrain on Jun 14, 2011 at 11:07 am

Hopefully they can Malaysianize Caterham and sell it half the price of this X-Bow..

• at traffic light kena splash acid.. lol

• junaidi on Jun 14, 2011 at 12:55 pm

Blardy hell I want that RC8 next to it!!

• Mr. Bean on Jun 14, 2011 at 1:56 pm

raining how ah????? all WET??????????

• Julian Lee on Jun 14, 2011 at 2:28 pm

where to put road tax sticker? like this bmw better

• kecohlebih on Jun 14, 2011 at 3:11 pm

darn… this car is superb….

• how much is the car price??