ZF 9HP 9-speed auto transmission – details announced

ZF Friedrichshafen’s 9HP nine-speed automatic transmission, which was first announced earlier this year, now has more specific details about it, though there’s still no mention of when it is expected to debut in a production vehicle.

The unit, which doesn’t replace the 8HP eight-speeder and is meant for passenger cars with front-transverse drive, will be available in two variant forms, covering a torque range between 280 and 480 Nm.

The transmission, which is stop-start capable (with only one friction shift element that needs to be closed for restarting), features four individual gearsets and six shifting elements. A torque converter is used in the 9HP as the standard starting element, with a multi-level torsion damper system minimising hydraulic losses and quick bridging of the torque converter lock-up clutch facilitated at low speeds. In hybrid-based applications, the torque converter is replaced by an electric motor.

ZF says the unit, with its extremely high total spread of 9.84, offers savings of up to 16% compared to today’s standard 6-speed automatic transmissions in front-transverse installations. In ninth gear, only 1,900 rpm is needed to cruise at 120 kph instead of 2,600 in a 6-speed transmission.

With a view in installation in a wide variety of vehicle applications, the 9HP has been prepared as a ‘construction kit’ – for example, an additional transfer case can be connected for all-wheel drive operation. In this case, it can be mated to ZF’s AWD Disconnect all-wheel drive, which can be decoupled – it actuates the rear axle drive only when needed, offering a fuel savings of around 5% compared to permanent all-wheel drive.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• at this rate, one day we will be reading up news on a 15-speed tranny.

• tokmoh on Jun 13, 2011 at 2:19 pm

Wow, that’s a lot of gears.

Off topic: Harve? Danny? Anyone to report on Canadian GP race? :( Sob sob, so sad… but an epic race nevertheless…

• nabill on Jun 13, 2011 at 2:19 pm

if not tuned prperly with the engine…its gonna take ages for the GB to choose the right gear…it could be a nightmare…..
    personally it should not go beyond 6 speed for road going cars….

• DonkeyKong on Jun 13, 2011 at 3:16 pm

I guess you don’t know how auto gearboxes work?

• nabill on Jun 13, 2011 at 9:19 pm

nope..more like uve never driven anything more than a 4 speed auto…

• Kiddo on Jun 13, 2011 at 5:49 pm

gearbox nowadays are usually equipped with the +/- function or paddle shifters, shift the gear on your own lah. XD

• Mohamad on Jun 13, 2011 at 9:50 pm

this is ZF we’re talking about. not your campro with mismatched auto box.

• as you say.. “if not tuned prperly with the engine…”
      car manufacturer shall tuned it for you before you buy it ;-)

• YoDawg on Jun 13, 2011 at 2:25 pm

CVT Already !!!

• VW_fans on Jun 13, 2011 at 2:28 pm

9-speed!!!!! perlukah? why the company compare with 6-speed, didn’t BMW or LEXUS having 8-speed already? BMW is using ZF Friedrichshafen gearbox too. I think is more on “making more profit” by telling customer most advance technology & make them pay more.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 13, 2011 at 3:16 pm

Right right right. Then why move up from a 3-speed gearbox to a 6-speed gearbox? The answer is RATIO SPREAD. I take it you have no engineering knowledge?

• Kiddo on Jun 13, 2011 at 5:53 pm

besides making more money for the car manufacturers, gearbox with more gear ratios also benefits the driver by burning less fuel especially when crusing. So, there is definitely a need for such gearbox.

• read this:
      “The unit, which doesn’t replace the 8HP eight-speeder and is meant for passenger cars with front-transverse drive”…

This gearbox is for transverse engine (compact design), the 8speed gearbox in BMW and Lexus you mentioned is for longitudinal engine…

It is ‘perlu’ for better fuel consumption

• Vincent on Jun 13, 2011 at 2:34 pm

That the way the automotic industries move…

Not like here, to sell your car, you need to get tax discount to sell cheap…

• odi862 on Jun 13, 2011 at 2:40 pm

9 speeder!!! All efforts toward better fuel efficiency. P1 should try to catch up. If they can’t make better engines or transmissions, buy them. If both still can’t, better close shop.

• Kiddo on Jun 13, 2011 at 5:58 pm

hey, no offence but could there be any possibility that you’re the same guy that made the same comment?

”Only 100K testing? They should have at least 300KM testing for durability.

Dont waste time lah, just rebadge the Mit Grandis and ASX and make more profit. Another 4 years (2015) proton will close shop.”

The phrase ‘close shop’ sounds familiar. XD

• P1 is a car company and ZF Friedrichshafen is a gearbox company.

Why should P1 build better gearboxes than ZF? Why i.e. BMW, VW and Nissan buy gearboxes from ZF and don’t develop their own ones? ;)

• Wow… I wonder if they sell it as a kit for older 4-speed cars?

• Muhammad Hanif on Jun 13, 2011 at 2:56 pm

Proton should be using this!

• llgriver on Jun 14, 2011 at 3:51 pm

no..because this gearbox is must be expensive

no..because proton-designed litte cute 1.6 engines are no more than 200Nm as this gearbox is designed for 280Nm to 480Nm

• 120km/h in 1900rpm… i think there is some car can cruise a lower than this with 4 or 5 speeder… no wonder they claim 16% improve in fc

• You’re just shooting out from your ass.Even 7 speed DSG in Vw Golf cruises at 2400 rpm at 120km/h.Can you name me just one exampl of a 5 speeder which does better?

• Chris on Jun 14, 2011 at 12:07 am

I remember reading somewhere in a forum, some american rebuilt his camaro with a 5 speed gearbox and cruise at some 70mph at something like 1800rpm… but that’s a low revving V8 so I don’t think that counts, right?

• jeremy clarkson once say that lexus 8-speed box is simply to many. now there go to 9-speed gearbox!! dunno what to say

• loveit on Jun 14, 2011 at 9:48 am

the same way people complain 6 is too many than 5 that is too many than 4…in the end its what we call progress

and why would we want to hear from that Brit bloke..his comment is mostly stooupid..

• Wisdom on Jun 13, 2011 at 5:11 pm

I think the news lacks of 1 core information; how much is the relative % power loss (either speed or torque loss)?

Yes ZF u can boast a few more tenth of speed but what matters most in modern engine is the less power loss; the better.

And 1900 rpm at 120kph doesn’t guarantee improvement in fc if torque loss is there. ZF suppose to come up with example of a certain engine output (XXXhp, XXXnm) to relate to the 16% of improvement.

ZF release a premature, lack of info news….

• Paul Tan on Jun 13, 2011 at 6:35 pm

Alot of ZF boxes can run with a direct connection via lock up clutch, skipping the torque converter.

• Wisdom on Jun 13, 2011 at 11:36 pm

Yes that lock-up can be set early. It limit tranny slips but i’m sure they could forecast average loss for normal usage on passenger cars.

However, for a smaller engine with relatively low torque, setting excessively high ratio will only results higher FC.

• Unforgiven on Jun 13, 2011 at 5:18 pm

Some are still proud owner of Wira 1.5 3-speed AT…

• Carl Wong on Jun 13, 2011 at 5:54 pm

Just use CVT, they should be one of the most efficient type, most hybrids use it.

• Unforgiven on Jun 14, 2011 at 10:35 am

CVT is not as good as what you think in today’s World…

• Kiddo on Jun 14, 2011 at 3:04 pm

yes, there are indeed the downsides for the CVT but it’s still better than 4-speeder right? :P

The trend now is to adopt double-clutch gearbox but such gearbox has complicated structures, higher maintenance in the long run and expensive to make as VW and Getrag holds the patent.

• Yep I agree…..It will be a day when we get tired of shifing gears….imagine shifting 15 to 20 gears….pehh. next year ZF will develop 10 speed. Actually I’m not supprise as Tractors and buses have many Speed gears.

Mott : )

• errrr….this is an automatic gearbox. Why did you get tired? The gears shift by ‘itself’, automatically…

you are right. 10speed longitudinal gearbox is on da way… ;-)

• tractors/buses/trailers/trucks many speeds gearbox:
      actually they only have a set of 5, 6 or even 8 (example) gears, with 2 range selectors (high or low).
      eg: for a 10 forward gears, gear 1 to 5 is at low range while 6 to 10 is actually gear 1 to 5 at high range.
      confusing? find a trailer and ask permission from the driver to look at the gear lever and ask them to explain it to you ;-)

• ahmadmckk on Jun 13, 2011 at 7:35 pm

what’s next? ten-speeder in 2015?

• nebula87 on Jun 13, 2011 at 7:49 pm

i thought 9 horse power…>.<

• mizzuddin on Jun 13, 2011 at 7:55 pm

120km/h in 1900rpm…
    demm!!! my manual Persona Elegance run at over 3000 rpm already at that speed…
    hehee =P

but proton staff should know this. the PE munch the Karak (between the rm3 and rm5 toll, heading to KL) curves at 140 – 145 km/h with great steady attributes… tarak buang2 punya bang… without changing lanes… strictly without changing lanes sikit pun… single lane only!!!

i only feel the tyres “tergeliat” and grip loss little bit if go faster because the car run on stock silverstone kruizer 1 rubbers… i believe i can reach at least 160 km/h with better tyres…

applaud for proton staff… my stock 3 month old PE perform that well… the handling is great steady… the suspension performed great… and i love the campro when it starts whistling.. =) =) =)

don’t bother bashers… they didn’t push the PE that well… only bother when they bash the build quality… hiks =P

• frossonice on Jun 13, 2011 at 8:27 pm

Here is what James May take on gearbox

http://www.topgear.com/uk/james-may/may-razors-2011

I kinda agree with him. It should be just a simple forward and backward. That’s all.

• An651 on Jun 14, 2011 at 12:56 pm

save consumption by 19%… hmm sounds nice. but how much does it cost for servicing? how about service interval?

More gear = more complex gearbox = more money to service.

IMHO average speed highway is approx 100-160km/h; best balance between enjoyment & money wise we dont need such 9 gears. 5 to 7 should be sufficient.

• Kiddo on Jun 14, 2011 at 3:11 pm

the good thing about automatic gearbox is that the maintenance is low as the global volume is huge and sharing parts means lower cost to build.

I suppose maintaining an automatic gearbox won’t cost too much unless u needed an ‘overhaul’.. :P

• SimonH on Jun 14, 2011 at 3:53 pm

You know what? If someone can build gears that can grow and shrink, we only need 1-speed gearbox. And it would be smooth as silk too since there won’t be any gear shifting.

• it is called CVT.. its been in the market for some time already ;-)